2006/2007-Twins/Triplets MTBs

hi alethea

The $69.90 playpen does not come with mattress. i got to buy separate mattress, OG selling at $26. i've got 1 hand-me-down playpen and 1 hand-me-down baby cot already. Now that i bought the new playpen, already got 3, so dun think will be buying anymore. i should think it is better for u to set up 2 playpens/cots if possible. In case one of the babies fall sick *touch wood*, u will need to separate them. Btw, when is the last day of the OG sales? u may wanna check in case it ends before wed...

twins_mtb, i'm also thinking of using the baby sling. Probably hubby will have to use the baby sling for one baby, while the other baby sits in the single stroller, while i handle the third one in another stroller... Dun think i can bring all my kids with me when i go out alone, sure need one more person to help out.

BK, nice to hear from u again.

Me exactly 20 wks today

Wow! Congrats, BK! Could be a combi of boy-girl twins! So exciting!

Dr. Ang seemed to have quite a number of twin pregnancies to handle this/next year. He said he's surprised by the number of multiple pregnancies he's seeing this year. So I supposed we'll see more photos of twins at his clinic soon.

34wk5d

Hi Chloe
Agree that we'll definitely need another pair of hands when we have to go out. Its just my nature to plan ahead for unforeseen circumstances. My hubby even ask me if I need to conduct a drill/exercise to see if I'm "ready" in times of "crisis"!!! Hahaha...

Oh, I was given the "Mums In Mind" sarong baby sling by a friend. She gave it up cos she couldn't figure out how to use it. I have not really tried it with a real baby, but the CD demo looks quite easy to use (hopefully). My hubby refuse to use the sarong baby sling cos its not "man", so we bought the double hugger sling from Kiddy Palace for his use. Its more sturdy and works for newborn (in sleeping position) all the way to bigger size baby (in sitting position). Cost $69.90 before 10% discount for members. You may want to go and have a look if you haven't bought one. I can take a pix of the item and show you too.

My detailed scan is this Wed. Can hardly wait!

Really praying hard that everything's fine, and that both twins are healthy and growing well.

<font color="ff6000">21</font><font color="119911">wks</font><font color="ff0000">5d</font><font color="0000ff">ays</font>

twins_MTB,
Wah, you very steady leh...I was just thinking if I were alone, I prob won't go out with the twins and also carrying all those things...hee hee, dunno how to cope...

chloe,
Hee hee, you going to use tripod...so professional. We just used the video function on our digital camera to record our US by hand, so shook a little when my hubby laughed at something the doctor said.
Give us an update when you go for your detailed scan...must be quite exciting.

14wks+

wow! so many posts &amp; a lot of info, i have missed a lot during the past two days.

twins_mtb,
Thanks for the info on the movement, oh how i wish i hav one gal in there...keke..

choco,
ya loh, having fun this weekend
;) the seminar seems to be ok for $5 whats important is that hb was with u cos men hardly read anything like what we do and its good for them to know. May be i'll try to go for the next one.

qoo,
welcome back, great to know that everything is going fine for u....I can see how thrilled u r, have fun!

chloe and choco,
ya loh...me having honeymoon for the past two days keke...
518732.gif
hubby just left.

Yesterday, i was calling hubby to go with me to buy baby stuff but he doesnt seem to be keen, when asked why he wants to know the gender first before buying. Oh i saw a very cute new born baby girl dress in kiddy palace, soooo cute its abt $19...do u gals think its possible to wear such dresses for new born?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
waiting for detailed scan on 10/10
16w6days

twin mtb,
thanks for the lists. i will start to pack the full pack when i start my leave.

Juz to check with those MTB, did ur doctor advise you to stop working @ week 27? My doctor advise me to stop work @ week 27.

26w++

Hi doggies mummy, at which week did u eventually pop? Any photos of how big your tummy looked like then?

M in my 21st week but already inviting comments from many that my tummy is very big and colleagues are speculating that it's twins tho' I've never confirmed anything with them.

ANtz Antz, my Dr told me to stop work at around 27weeks too. But I think it was too early so I worked till 30th weeks.

doggies mummy,
do u feel very uncomfortable when u work till ww35?

Alethea
do u intend to stop work at week 28 then.

I already looking forward to my long long leave. i will start my leave in week 29.

Jlyn/Jovia Ger
U are with Dr Tony Tan? How much he charges for consultation/scan , etc? Is he Senior Consultant? How do u find him?
I'm looking for gynae who is more specialised in twins. Thanks.

Antz Antz, I'll see how my stamina and condition are at that time. But paiseh to take such long leave, cos' I still have the intention to extend my ML to 16 weeks, if possible. Thus, I hope to work at least till 35th week, if my condition allows. Then, at least my poor colleagues don't have to slog so hard....

Hi AletheaT
I'm currently still working but planning to stop work by next Friday. That should be when I'm close to 35 weeks.

33weeks4days.

Hi goo_gal88

Yes, currently am with Dr TT (Consultant). However, he's moving on to Raff Hosp from Nov 06 onwards, so may not be following him there. Intending to change to Dr SF Loh from KKH, who's a Snr Consultant.

Hi Augrynzen

Wah, you are very fit leh! Am now reaching my wk 31, but already feel tired (legs aching, lower abs pain) if I walk continuously for more than half an hr)
kao_embarrassed.gif

Thk it's a good idea to stop working from wk 30 onwards and rest at home...

30wk6d

Good morning all
520335.gif

Hope everyone is goind great!!

Can i check with u gals, when doc says rest at home does it mean complete bed rest or just stop working? I remember doc telling me last time that i may have to go on rest fron 24th week. Does it mean i m not strong enough???

Doc Loh's patients,
When and how often will he check our cerivix and other signs of pre-term labour?? so far he has not done anything for me

```````````````
17weeks today

i was advised to stop work starting from week 20. i was very kiasu, so stopped once confirmed pregnant with triplets.

twinsmom, my dr din ask me to take complete bed rest, just ask me not to walk too much. i'm with Gleneagles, my dr checked my cervix twice so far, once in week 14 and another time in week 18. So far, no signs of cervix opening up *touch wood*. He wants me to keep a close watch for thick mucus (he said very thick ones called the mucus plug) and contractions of the womb, according to him, the contractions come and go in regular intervals during labor.

20wks3days

chloe,
Thanks for the info, ur doc really on one leh...he is really good, giving u lots of advice and info. Wonder why some doc's are not like that. During my last visit i asked doc Loh abt the cerivix test he said, its done during U/S scan, is it done like that for u too?

<font color="aa00aa">Chloe</font>, so early? Did your doc write u hospitalisation leave or something? Did u quite your job or took no-pay leave?

twinsmom

my dr does US on me every 2 weeks. There are 2 sessions which after US, he used his finger (with gloves) to check my cervix. All done within the same session. i'm going for detailed scan next week, dr asked me to remind sonographer to check the cervical length. Will update u again after the detailed scan next week. My detailed scan is done by sonographer, dr will not be with me like the normal scan.

Alethea, yalor, very early hor. i was on hospitalisation leave and MC earlier on. Then continued with annual leave. After that, dr helped me write a letter to support for no-pay leave. If i remember correctly, Verona (another sister who's having triplets) stopped work in her 21st week. Looks like for triplets, the critical period starts from week 20, i come across a few of them having contractions around week 23-25 (very scary)... Now that i am in week 20, i will have to exert more discipline, probably will refrain from even shopping in the weekends. Now getting tougher... i feel tired, tummy is itchy and bloated, belly button popping out, no appetite, heartburn (can't even sleep at night!!), backache... u name it i have it. Although i'm only in second trimester, the strain is as if i am very advanced in pregnancy already...

Wonder how is Verona now... i think she should be in her week 31??

twinsmom

Is US in KKH done separately from consultation?? If i am not wrong, for private, the US machine is in the dr's room and he can use it to scan anytime he wants. well, yes, we are glad that we gotten him as our dr, very caring and gives good emotional support. That's why all along the dilemma whether to switch to KKH, since we are so comfortable with him. Hubby wants to continue with him, so i think we just have to part with our money in the event that our babies need NICU services...

chloe,
For me, I m a private patient in kkh and my u/s is done in doctor's room also during my every visit, its just that the visits are short and doc doesnt really tell me anything while scanning except that the babies are ok. And dont think he has given me any info so far abt the pregnancy unless i ask but the last visit was very short only 5 min and he didnt even anwer my questions properly. and most importantly the interval between each appointment is pretty long at times, this time is 5 weeks
My detailed scan in 3 weeks time and it will also be done in the antenatal monitoring unit i think and my doc wont be there.

Ya u r in good hands and so dont worry abt anything, i m sure u can carry the babies to full term (for triplets), rest well!

me too having bad back pain at times that wont go whatever i do. And i cant walk much, dont know how to shop liao! Somemore hb not in singapore, so my shopping is gonna be a big ????

twinsmom

not easy to carry multiples hor?? Well, i guess we just have to take one step at a time lor. i suppose public hosp got more patients, prob that's why ur appts are often in a rush. My dr used to lecture in NUH before he switched to private practice. haha... maybe he treats me as his medical student, so tend to teach me more... haha... probably becos he is chatty in nature.

hey, switch to online shopping lar. i received the rompers liao!! So happy, 5 pieces for $12, carters somemore (but made in china lar). Very worth it, only $2.40 per piece. i bought it from the business marketplace in this forum. If u prefer to receive by post, just need to top up a bit. Hopefully i will know whether i have a gal during the detailed scan next week. Then, i can order more pieces, and this time, in pretty pink!!!

twinsmom,
Haha, I tried your website...got 60% chance of having a girl...you? Anyway, since we are carrying multiples, maybe only referring to the 1st multiple born?
Some of the questions really cute, like "does the maternal grandma have grey hair?".

chloe,
I'm like you. I went on no pay leave as soon as I found out that I'm expecting. Quite kiasu hor... Moreover, I had a little brown bleeding last week (it was gone by the end of the second day)...it really scared us...couldn't sleep that nite.
I had gone out window-shopping for a few hours that day, but did rest a few times for at least half hour in between. Good thing the twins were doing fine during the scan when we went to see doc the next day. Phew!
Doc said to further cut down on walking too much at one time.
nono.gif
After that scare, guess I will be scrapping any thoughts I have on going back to work part-time...once I think of all the travelling and sitting for long periods, not to mention the stress. Our babies are most precious now.

Also everyone's pregnancy is different. Some MTBs have no problems working until delivery, while some are encouraged to rest more. It's really up to us to decide, based on what our bodies and our doctors tell us.

choco_latte

Agree, everyone is different.
Very imptly, we all need to listen to our bodies, must know when we need to slow down and when to rest.

chloe,
ya la...u r rite nowadays doc loh has lots of patients. I m gonna order the rompers u bought after my detailed scan
Cant wait to stock up liao! Ya think online shopping is the best for us.

choco,
mine was 64% boy la...i m ok to have boys but just love to have at least one girl so that i can buy all those cute cute dresses! Ya rite i found the questions were very funny

Wow, I missed out so much when I'm not online for a day.

Antz Antz,
I was given hospitalisation MC from 30th week onwards. Although I feel I was still physically fit at that time, my job requires me to move around a lot, so gynae decided that I should rest at home to avoid premature labour. There is no need to bed rest. But I was thankful for the MC 2 weeks later when my ankles started to swell. Couldn't imagine working with a pair of elephant legs. Kekeke...

All MTBs,
Must watch our posture, especially since we are carrying multiples. The extra weight on our body will cause us to try to balance ourselves by comprising on our posture. If we do not carry ourselves properly, it will have long term impact on our back. Sorry to nag on this but I work with physio/occupational therapists, so tend to be very particular about such things.

chloe,
what size did u order? doesnt seem to have S size leh? M and L for new borns also? How to make payment? thanks
520562.gif

twins_mtb,
thank u for the info, u mean while we are sitting, walking and sleeping? what is the good posture? I sit long hourse in front of computer with legs stretched out in front of me on another chair, turning slightly to face the computer, is this a bad posture? Please advice.

twins_MTB,
so good ur doctor give u hospitalisation leave. i check with my doctor again. so i dun need to go on unpaid leave.I think is gds to rest at home.

i had been resting for a week at home for light spotting.Now my elephant foot are not longer swollen &amp; my legs were not so uncomfortable when u sleep.

twinsmom,
Good posture means keeping our back straight at all times. You will tend to bend backwards when your bump gets heavier later on. I'm very prone to this now bcos of the additional wieght in front of me.

For sittng down at the PC for long hours, you should put a pillow at your lower back to prop your back straight. If you have swollen ankles/feet, you'll have to elevate your legs up by resting them on another chair. Your legs should be straight across to the other chair, probably elevated slightly higher on a cushion. Else, you may rest in bed with your legs elevated on a pillow.

Antz Antz,
Are you better now? The light spotting has stopped by now, I hope.

I think its common practice for most gynae to give hospitalisation leave for mtbs with multiple pregnancies. The chances of premature labour is pretty high if we move around too much in 3rd trimester, so your gynae will most probably want you to rest as well. Talk to him/her during your next review. Maybe he/she has hospitalisation MC in mind for you but hasn't share with you yet.

hi twinsmom

i bought the M size, looks quite ok to me, i compare with those newborn sizes that i bought from dept stalls, should be not prob.

twins_MTB, thanks for ur advice, i will try to maintain a good posture.

gals, check with u all, my fingers seems to have some water retention prob, the joints are a little achy and now i can no longer wear my wedding band
Any idea how to reduce the water retention at my fingers?? Soon, i think will be my feet's turn...

Chloe
Try lifting your hands up and wriggle your fingers as a form of exercise. You may need to watch your salt intake too. Can also get your hubby to massage your fingers while watching TV lah.

good morning all
521120.gif
before even i m up i m thinking of food liao!

twins_mtb,
Thanks a lot for the info, really useful! will do that from now on. U take care ok.

chloe,
Icic, then i'll also order M but too confusing whether to order pink or blue, think will go for blue cos i have a feeling that i will definitely have one boy (hubby's family is full of boys).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
17w1day

MULTIPLE MTBs LIST 2006/07
521126.gif

<table border=1><tr><td>NICK</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>NO. OF BBIES/GEND</TD><TD>HOSPITAL/CLINIC</TD><TD>DR. </TD></TR><TR><TD>TCH</TD><TD>18th Aug 06</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>SF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>doggies mummy</TD><TD>12th Oct 06</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>Dr Fong </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorayaki</TD><TD>26th Oct 06</TD><TD>2 girls</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Audrynzen</TD><TD>7th Nov 06</TD><TD>2(boy/girl)</TD><TD>MtA</TD><TD>YC Goh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jlyn</TD><TD>13th Nov 06</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Tony Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Verona</TD><TD>15th Nov 06</TD><TD>3 boys</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>SF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jovia|Ger</TD><TD>23rd Nov 06</TD><TD>2 boys</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Tony Tan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ants Ants</TD><TD>Early Dec</TD><TD>2 (??)</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alethea</TD><TD>27th Jan 07</TD><TD>2 (??)</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>Cathryn Chan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>5th Feb 07</TD><TD>3(boy/boy/?)</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>LC Foong </TD></TR><TR><TD>BK</TD><TD>13th Feb 07</TD><TD>2(??)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Trips</TD><TD>5th Mar 07</TD><TD>3 (???)</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>SF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinsmom</TD><TD>8th Mar 07</TD><TD>2 (??)</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>SF Loh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Choco_latte</TD><TD>16th Mar 07</TD><TD>2 (??)</TD><TD>Private</TD><TD>Dr Fong </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irin</TD><TD>9th Apr 07</TD><TD>2(??)</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>John Tee </TD></TR><TR><TD>qoo</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2(??)</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</td></tr></table>

doggies mummy, soo excited for u, u r the next one to pop!

Ants Ants, please post the gender of twins, hosp and doc name.

Good morning everyone.

Check with u gals... do u experience pain at ur lower abdominal (very near to ur pubic area)? I'm experiencing that since last nite. pain was really bad esp with sneezing.

twinsmom,
doggies mummy had her epi c-sect yesterday already! The MTBs at the Oct06 thread just told me.

BK,
Yes, I've been through that stage before. It could be due to babies moving their feet the whole time since they were seated butt down then. Its quite painful, I recall.

twins_mtb,
O is it? so sweet! Thanks for sharing the info, any idea how many weeks is she now?

BK,
me too having that kinda pain but its not constant for me but on and off. Doc said its ligament pain.

Good morning everyone...
Had such good sleep, didn't even know it was already 10am when I woke up...

Anyway, after hearing you gals talking about shopping for baby stuff as well as the OG sale, so decided to drop into OG when I happened to be nearby. Ended up buying our first baby item *drum roll*... a door gate to put at the babies room, so that our little dog doesn't go into that room. Quite exciting to finally buy something!
Quite cheap at $59 too, I think, since the U.P. was $99. Haha, happy to have bought my first item...many more to come!

Chloe,
Went to the rompers sale thread you gave. Looks like all the blue ones for size M are sold out. So fast! Mmm, think will just have to wait till I find out my babies' gender first.

Twinsmom,
Where do you find such cute emoticons? Haha, dreaming of food shows that you have a good appetite...

Twinsmom,
Dr Loh does not check the cervix like how Chloe's gynae did. I asked him before and he mentioned that this is to prevent the risk of introducing infection unnecessarily. Therefore, you have to be more alert to any changes in the vaginal discharge or any lower back pain. For my case, only when I was admitted due to premature contractions, then the docs checked my cervix a few times! During that time, I also had 2 detailed scans to check the cervical length.

Chloe, that's right. I am into my 31st week and 5 days. Had an appointment with Doc last Sat and babies are about 1.5 kg each. I have put on about 16 kg in total until now. Doc is hoping I can "tahan" until 35 to 36 weeks for the delivery. Feeling very tired and heavy nowadays...but will try my best to "tahan"...afterall, have already come so far...

It's true that for multiples, especially triplets, better rest after 20th week. Since I was discharged from hospital (24th week), did not go out of the house AT ALL (except to see Doc). Even then, I have been moving around on a wheelchair. All purchases were done by hubby and MIL. Life is just eating, sleeping, watching tv, checking emails...

twinsmom
doggies mummy should be at week 37 today since her EDD is 12 Oct. So I guess its a good time to receive her princes!

choco,
I used search for emoticons all over the net and save them when i first joined this site, keke...i was crazy at one time. Ya yesterday eating and eating like no tomorrow, this morning woke thinking of potato sandwich but end up my mum messed up my recipe so lost the appetite and now waiting for lunch.

chloe,
ya like choco, me too will wait until we know the gender cos the blue M is no more ready.

verona,
Great u have made it this far, just a few more weeks to go and u'll be holding ur bundles of joy
521407.gif
521408.gif
521409.gif

icic, then i m fine as long as there is some form of monitoring i m ok. I do have white vaginal discharge and at times it looks a bit like light green, is this something to worry about? Back pain ya i have been having it right from the beginning. May be do u think i should mail doc loh and see what he says?

Hi MTBs, I've just gotten my detailed scan done yesterday and thought that I could share this (the detailed scan process) with you (which was what I've shared with the Jan mummies on the other thread too):

Before the gynae (not mine, but her partner who's a trained sonographer) asked DH and I if we already knew BBs' gender - we said no, tho' we did guess one's a boy, cos' my gynae revealed in previous scan that she suspected one was. So the gynae asked what we would like. And silly me went on a PC spiel, about how so long BBs are healthy and well, I wld be happy. He asked, 'yah, but what wld u want the combi to be?' So DH and I said, 'A boy &amp; a girl wld be most ideal!' And then he said, 'Ok, let's make it happen!' And both DH and I were like 'DUH! U just try!'

Twin 1 - This twin is postioned low, and lying transversely at my pubic area, so if via vaginal birth, most prob, this wld be the elder twin. All organs checked to be fine, all measurements taken, facial features checked. Beautiful spine, I must say! Gynae proceeded to his butt area, zoomed in, and showed arrow to point at an unmistakeable birdie! So, this is my belowed Jayden, weighing at 423g @ 21.3 wks. DH and I beamed.

Twin 2 - This twin is in breech position. Measurements taken, all organs examined, another beautiful spine is revealed. U/S zoomed in on the facial features, very cute, BB's lips were moving as if speaking to us. Gynae remarked that BB's legs are quite long, before zooming into onto THE area, and said, "Do u see the white lines? These are the folds. Congrats!" DH and I were like, "Huh? No birdie? So, it's a princess!!!" And that was when I teared with joy! My precious little girl weighs 422g.

Don't u think it was totally surreal that the gynae was so confident at the onset of the LFT combi?! Anyhow, after the scan, we popped by at OG to collect the infant car seats we had ordered 2 weeks back. Back then, we were already nursing a secret wish for LFT, that's why we had gotten a blue and a red one. Late last night, also ordered a set each of Carters rompers from RR! Now, cracking head to think of a beautiful name for my darling princess.
kao_love.gif

21wks4days

Alethea,
U soo lucky! how amzing to have b/g twins....I m soo happy for u.

Thanks for posting the info so that i will know what to expect.

Enjoy shopping from now on!

Thanks, Best_Twins. We also took along a videcam to film the process. It sure helps to make better sense of what the gyane said and capture all those precious moments.

Alethea,
Congrats on your kor kor/mei mei combi! Thanks for sharing your detailed scan with us...sounds so exciting! Your doc so naughty to tease you first! Looks like your instints were correct too. Can't wait for my detailed scan too...

Actually was wondering what's the diff betwn the detailed scan from the other earlier scans, in terms of the machine used? It's still the same ultrasound machine, right? Just that the doc spends more time to look at all their features? I've read about the 3D and 4D scans in books, have you had that too? Is it common in Singapore to have these 3D and 4D scans?

15wks