(2006/08) AUGUST 2006 MTB

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">Hi mummies! Sorry to intrude, i need to get Nestle Nan 3 milk sachets urgently.
If you have or know where to get them, please kindly PM me.
My budget is 50cents per sachet. Thanks for your help! </font></font>

wondering how r all the kiddies doing. my 2 kids r giving me a big headache on meal times. they take at least 1.5hr, sometimes even 2 hrs to eat a meal!! and they r already not drinking a lot of milk and i dun give much snacks to them. why dun they need to eat??

hi cj, my elder son also stop drinking formula. U ever try fresh milk? My elder son sometimes will request fresh milk.

Meal time : are they self feeding tat's y so slow? Wat kind of meals did you prepare?

hey CJ,

haha, i used to have this issue as a kid. same with my sister. drove my mom nuts...

by the time i am done.. it was almost 1.5 hrs later, food all cold.. and it is time for lunch/dinner... we had small oesophageous... it was tough for us to swallow that time. we had to eat often and frequent. problem worn off as we grew bigger. but we were really poor eaters..

the good thing? kids stay skinny lor.. try sneaking them high calcium snacks like cheese, wholemeal biscuits, soy milk with high calcium etc.

Jadelle very choosy with food also. but she love cheese and pasta.. so, i guess it makes up for the other food she refuses to eat like vegetables!! (I still gotta steam and grind it so it will be inside her porridge without her spitting it out..

Regarding meal time: Like to share this incident that happens yesterday since the topic now is meal time.

My usual small eater girl, Avelyn yesterday eats only a few mouthfuls of bee hoon for breakfast, a few mouthfuls of fried rice for lunch. Thought by dinner time, she should be hungry and willing to eat more. But she still dun want and requests biscuits.

Got fed up and scolded her. I keep scolding, scolding, then I ignore her and go eat my dinner instead.

She stood there quietly and after a while come over my side and sit down on the floor beside me. I then feed her again and this time, she opened her mouth big big and I continually feeding her until all finished.

I then ask her is the rice nice, she nods her head. Nice still reject my food in the first place. So angry.

As for vegetables, my boy and girl all dun like. What I did is I use scissors and cut up the leaves until very small and hide inside their rice and feed them. But wonder how long can I do this.

Sorry to interrupt.

I’m a new mummy turning to full-time piano teaching. Thinking whether to send your child for piano lessons? I specialise in coaching young children and teenagers. Able to teach for leisure or for preparation of ABRSM examination. Able to travel to your place to conduct the lesson. For any enquries, please sms/call me at 91230494. Thank you.

hey cj,
sherv also started to be very choosy with food recently! and sometimes only keen to hv her neh neh! i wonder why she behaves this way.

her hair has grown and we need to tie her hair up for school since she started school. and she is a vainpot now, so i used her hair as a "bait"! i told her tat she must eat alot of fish, veg and pork(i avoid giving her chkn), and she has been kuai kuai for abt 2 weeks now.

sigh... i hope she will continue to hv a balanced diet!

Would like to check any mummies bring their kids for Phonics lessons.

If yes, any recommendations please.

Any one of you heard of I Can Read and Jan &amp; Elly. Think both teaches Phonics. What you think of these 2 places that teaches Phonics?

kay doesn't like veggies in general too. he only likes to eat lotus root, potatoes and corn. so i give him more of these and fruits daily. have also tried cutting green leafy vegetables into very small pieces but he could still taste it and spit it out. headache.

hi crispyapple,
have not brought him for Phonics lesson yet. May wait till he turns 4 or next year. Heard from my colleagues that I can Read is good but there's assessment at certain points. If your child is good, he'll be 'promoted' to another level. Wanted to try but Kayden is still very reserved. Worried that he might not respond to the teacher's questions even though he might know the answers.

Am thinking of Berries for Chinese enrichment cos he's not very interested in Chinese. Hope it will create interest in him.

Charlotte does not liek to eat veggies as well. each time i feed her veggie she will start to show the vomitting. I guess she will outgrown it when she grow older. feeding wise she is much better then last time as least now she eat as much as i gave her. but she will not over eat as she will stop and telling me that she is full. she is a meat lover instad.

Guess our kid are almost the same..

erin,
ya, i heard berries is good. my colleagues here are bringing their kids there to learn chinese too. there's 1 at hougang, nearer to our side. the next nearer one will be tampines.

i heard their teaching is very interesting and kids tend to enjoy n more willing to attend the classes. but like u, i only want to start next yr, but must book in advance as their slots are limited n taken up very fast.

hi leobbsmom,
ya, heard that it's good from my sis's colleagues. their kids enjoy the lessons and grow to like the language more. din hear anything abt the enrollment. perhaps will sign up during june liao for next year's intake at the tamp branch. Thanks.

Hi erin,
I heard that for I Can Read, as the levels go higher, it is quite difficult. I also wonder if Aden can take it or not.

But I feel that Phonics is a very important skill for him to learn and me and my husband English not very good. Thus, feel it would be better for school to teach him, rather than us.

Mummies, I understand that there is also another quite popular Chinese enrichment school called Tian Xia. What you all think between Tian Xia and Berries?

hi erin,
if u r serious abt enrolling K then u better check with the school. be a bit KS abt studies is ok.. =P

i wonder where did all the mummies go, it's so quiet here nowadays... @___@|||

i give my kids home cooked food by the maids. they dun like veggies and will spit out too. It's the maid who feed them, if self feed will take longer or stop eating after few mouth.

xiaobaitwo,
at least ur Sherv likes milk. mine got to coax them to drink milk too and the gal even got to spoon feed otherwise wont finish. they still using straw cup to drink milk.

eunice,
i overstocked on FM so dare not try giving others like fresh milk, worry they totally reject FM and my money go down drain.

Crispyapple,
The schools already teach PHonics right? Actually i also have a question is whether there are any differences between all the phonics schools? As in American pronounciation, British, Singapore pronounciation... can anyone enlighten? Will we confuse our kids if send to a centre that teaches differently.

Hi cj,

Aden is in child care and I feel that the child care doesn't teach Phonics so extensively.

So, would like him to learn Phonics so that his English pronunciation is better.

I think Singapore is more towards British English, rather than American English.

crispyapple,
oh i c. have u decided which one to sign up? coincidentally, i received a flyer in the mail from an enrichment centre called Mindstretcher Learning Centre. they have phonics class for age 3.5 &amp; above. U staying Bukit batok? they have a centre there tel :6562 0183 . maybe u can call &amp; check.

hi catherine,
kayden's childcare does provide computer lessons but it's part of the language programme. No extra charges.

Hi crispyapple,
there's also one in tampines but dunno whether it's good or not. any reviews?

Hi CJ and Erin,
Thanks. Would check out mindstretcher too.

And I am living in Choa Chu Kang. Think Bukit Batok is nearer.

My parents lives in Tampines. So, I used to live in Tampines too.

any mummies here going on hols during CNY? i dunno if i wanna juz let sherv skip school during the CNY week, thou i'm not gog away... =P

how ant those mummies whose kids are gog to school now? any plans to let them skip school for a day or 2?

Hi leobbsmom,

I won't let them skip school although I am taking 1 whole week leave cos' want to have some "me" time at home. Haha....

Hi Catherine

My gal childcare do have computer lesson.

Hi Cripyapple

There is 1 mindstretcher centre at Yew Tee point. Went to check out on their phonics courses last week. They classes are all full. Now putting us on waiting list.

hi leobbsmom

Crisann will skip her class during CNY cos we are going for a short trip. The school do has activities going on....

Happy New Year!!!

Re: Meal time
Both my kids the same. . . dun like vege and take ages to finish their meal!!

SL,
Your CC got computer lesson for N2?

HI Mummies,

GONG XI FA CAI!

RE: Meal Time
Charlotte recently start to eat veg maybe becos i keep telling her if she don't eat her poo will become stone.. lolz... And i start to eat together with her instead of feeding her first. Eat veg infront of you kids show them how nice veg are. they will start to eat when they saw you u eating.

Re computer lesson

Charlotte's school does not include still need to pay additional fees.

Hi SL,
Do you live in CCK since you put Crisann in mindstretcher centre at Yee Tee Point?

Hi all Mummies,
Happy New Year to all of you!!!

Wishing you and your family a happy and Prosperous New Year ahead in 2010 and Happy Valentines Day...

Hi Cocomo

Her computer is once a wk only half an hr...

Hi Crispyapple

Yes, I'm staying at CCK. I just put her name is the waiting list. Now waiting for them to start a new class.

Wanted to enrol her to a school that is near my place. Cos I need to send her there myself. Than with #2 not easy to travel to far.

hi catherine,
perhaps cat's preschool's computer class is really on teaching them computer skills, hence the need to pay additional fees. Kayden's school's computer lesson is used for english and chinese learning(once a week for each subject), hence no additional fees required.

re: veggies
I usually eat veggies in front of kayden but he still doesn't like the taste. will spit them out.

Hi SL,
I didn't check out mindstretcher cos' I put Aden in waiting list for iCreativeLearner some time back and this is quite popular so I thought no chance already.

But recently the person called saying they open a new class for 2006 kids and there is vacancy.

May I know did you put Crisann in any kindergarten school or childcare? If yes, which one???

Hi Crispyapple..

Where is iCreativeLearner? Near our place... Can PM me the contact...

Crisann is in Church CC at Clementi...

Hello...

Leosbbmom,
Don have my gal pic leh. hehe.. think i didnt submit la haha.

everyone must be busy with #1 &amp; #2 or even #3 so seldom log in.. that is why FB is where we can see everyone updates