(2005/04) Apr/May/June 2005 MTB

Mummies whose tods are not feeling well...
take care of ur health too!

Thanks for all the well wishes, Zavier is fine today. I just wanna play safe so didn't send him to school. Everything will be back to normal tomorrow.

serrich,
I understand what you mean. Zavier spoilt a few of his pacifiers by biting on them already. We're thrown away at least 3 in a month cos of that. The current one also has holes in it. The problem is, we always have spares and whenever he comes back from school and fuss for his pacifier, my parents will be soft hearted and give in. I can't be around every day to reinforce that. Even if I am, sometimes I'll be soft hearted too. For the first few days I was able to delay it till his bedtime. But the whole effort went down the drain after he fell ill. Got to start all over again after he is well now but I need to take care of his emotions. Tomorrow's going back to CC is like a Monday. Hope he won't fuss in the morning.

krazy
Zavier's not toilet trained too. A few days of diahorrea resulted in rashes in his bum already. He always hated the potty, don't know why... I hope the CC teachers can help since they succeed in not giving him pacifier during the day. :p

<font color="0000ff">Evelyn,</font>
My hb and my airfare are free as I use my Krisflyer miles to redeem the tickets. I paid abt $300+ for Keanes ticket as he was under 2 yrs old when we fly.

Ours is a free and easy trip. We stayed at Rainbow hotel in Taipei which is at the centre of Xi Meng Ting. Cheap rate at SGD$94 per nite. Travelling with a big tummy is certainly more difficult. My son wants to be carried most of the time so I have backache. I brought along a stroller which Keane can take his afternoon nap in it. Overall, Taipei is more baby friendly than Spore.

<font color="0077aa">Poohy,</font>
We will continue to sponge Keane even though he will fuss and cry. I also do not want to traumatized him by forcing him to take the fever med in the mid of the nite. He will surely vomit the med out if we force feed him. PD told me that cool pad used on the forehead is not effective at all so I dun use that. I use those water pad that Keane can sleep on which I think is more useful.

Hi poohy, okay noted! I very kiasu mah... Edie very very seldom sick one *touch wood*, only two times got fever and the last one was when she was teething...

Hi eve, me seeing Dr Selina Chua at MEH. She was Edie's gynae, she specialise in Maternal Fetal Medicine. Now still dunno where to go for birth in KL... No lah, only 80% confirmed only, then hubby wanted 3 kids, so one more to go then can close shop...

tigger88,

Thanks for the information, will consider to go after my 1st trimester.

Flo,

Wow ur hubby so on, I beg my hubby like hell that he agree on #2, so tis time whether girl or boy we will close shop liao.

SOS HELP

Big Headache now.
My Matthan totally rejects bottles. Yesterday I tried not to latch him on during daytime, and managed to give him 20ml to 40ml of milk during each feed. (which is very little)

But today, bf him at 9am and passed him to my aunt (his nanny)while I'm out. My aunt keep calling me saying he totally reject bottles. Whole day just keep crying and refuses to sleep too. She is so helpless and feel very heart pain too, coz Matt just couldn't stop crying.
I reached home at about 7pm and latched him on, instead of harden my heart to force him on bottle. Finally he got to drink his milk after 10hrs without any fluid.

Now he is sleeping, and I wonder what I sld do for his feeds tomorrow. Cox I can't possibily direct feed him everytime.

Any of you can advise on this? SOS

(further information: the moment he sees bottle, he will be very uneasy & will start crying. He is now 4.5mths old.)

poohy:
how is s? better today? oh... the reports are new to me... i usually give c meds once her temp raises ... c's fever goes up very fast.. .and because of her history of fits due to high temp, i cant take chances. and i religiously give her meds when the 4 or 6 hrs are up depending on the meds and dosage. and i continue to give her meds even when she has apparently recovered from fever for 1 day before i complete take her off . i also dun know if what i am doing is right...

twinklet:
ash so cute! hahah make you sit too! company mah i guess. hee
ya.. the toilet training part is a big headache... but at least the holidays are coming up and i will be at home (not all the time but more than usual) so i guess i can do some form of "training".

poshies:
oh my... sigh... kids are so susceptible to viruses and god knows what...

zyp:
diarrhoea and rashes... aiyoh.. poor thing. i know of many kids who are actually trained by the cc..

babymilk:
hmm.... try not to be around when your baby is being fed from the bottle.. cuz he can smell you and wants you. i also read that we should not wait till baby is hungry cuz then baby will be frustrated.

Poohy,
How's Samuel? Better?
Me also have read abt those fever temperatures. But for us, we'll give her Panadol if we feel she's really hot & having temperature abv 38 deg. For 37.8, we wont give also. Same like Cheryl, her body temperature raises v high too. Normally once have fever, the initial temperature will be like 38.8 or 39 liao.

Krazy,
hee nope she insist my mum to sit on her toilet bowl when she herself sits on the Potty. At our own home, the potty is at living room, hee so noway we can sit wif her lor. haha. At least U got June holidays to train, me only wkend to train. Sighs, indeed headache. But at least now she willing to sit on potty, I think this is 1 accomplishment liao. Yday my mum told me she pee 1 droplet of pee inside the potty. hahaha!

Poshies,
Oh dear, tat sound really serious. Glad to hear Gerald is on the road to recovery. Did u start him on supplements yet?

Babymilk,
Ya agreed wif Krazy too, once he sees u, he sure wan ur B***** 1. keke. Initial stage is very difficult, but once he noes that Mummy is not around, he'll accept the fact & give in to Milk Bottle. Last time I also battle with Ash on milk bottles, & I gotta took 1 hr to finish 150ml of FM. For my case, she dun really favor FM also, & also got this nipple confusion during 2nd mth onwards.

<font color="0000ff">kids with virus</font>
Hi everyone.. just back at work from shifting. But will try to go on leave in the aftern and tmrw to help valerie settle in.. she is completely unsettled at night.. crying so badly thruout the nite. Cry until tired, sleep, eyes open.. cry...

Valerie also having fever. Started on Tuesday evening. 39.2!! But she was behaving perfectly normal, still playing etc. Just more grouchy. We thot it's the heat. That very night (2am+) her fever shot up to 39.8!!! Quickly fed her panadol and sponge her. I tried the cool patch on her forehead and she was so angry!!!

Yesterday morning her temperature still around 39.2, so I brot her to see PD. Stupid traffic at Lornie Road is so bad and I was stuck in jam for almost an hour!!! When seeing PD then I saw ulcers on her tongue!! So worried it's HFMD (worse thing is Tuesday late morning we brot her to check out a childcare!!). But no blisters on hands, feet & bum so doc ruled out HFMD. Said it's probably a viral infection.

Whole day not interested in milk, but eating mee-sua ok.. provided it's completely cooled. But overall feeding is not very good, thankfully still not less than 50% off normal.

Fever persisted at 38+ thruout the day. So we continue to feed her panadol every 4 hrly. Sigh..

Now I'm so zombie...

twinklets,
e bb on stroller is chloe ah...

sick tods,
wish all sick tods a speedy recovery... mummies n daddies must oso take care...

kaeden has been hving a few 'sounds' of cough after his french fries treat on sun night... then his sch got 2 bdays celebration in this week so worried his cough may worsen... sigh...

SC,
hee ya the bb is Chloe.

Think u can refrain him to have citric fruits these few days .. no cold stuffs.. & more h20 ..

Valmom,
Oh dear Val also fever. Hope she recovers soon. Today heard radio news, this period really alot of pple falling sick!! Time to boast up our immunity by popping supplements ourselves too!

Just got this info via online here. Quite interestg for kids excursion. U may like to bring ur kid along.

1. Hays Dairy Farm - Off Lim Chu Kang Rd at Lane 4 Website: http://www.haydairies.com.sg/
To get there: Bus no. 175 from Choa Chu Kang interchange. Alight at Lim Chu Kang Lane 4.
Visit early in the morning by 9 or 10am to see them milking the goats. This two-hectare farm has about 500 goats and produces some 250 litres of milk a day. Goats' milk has a natural hazelnut flavour and is richer in Vitamin B and mineral salts, and the fat globules are smaller than that of cows' milk, thus making it more easily digestible. It is thus said to be good for asthmatics, youthful skin, allergies and people with lactose intolerance. The children would love watching the kids (baby goats), learning about and identifying the different types of goats. You can taste & buy fresh chilled goats milk at the farm.

2. Quail's Farm, Lian Wah Hing - 5 Lim Chu Kang Rd at Lane 6F
Do not visit if you've been to the zoo or come into contact with any chicken or birds the day before as you may carry diseases that affect their fowl. There's turkey, ducks, chickens, and of course quails in this farm. You will get to sample some cooked quail's eggs and can buy them cheap & fresh from the farm too. You can also buy quails & herbs to bring home and boil herbal soups and tonics. Quite pleasant-smelling and tasting! If you visit on a Sunday, you can even taste the different types of herbal soups that they have for guests!

3. Jurong Frog Farm - 56 Lim Chu Kang Rd at Lane 6 Website: http://www.jurongfrogfarm.com.sg/
Bull Frogs, tiny frogs (don't know the name, but they tend to feed these to Arowana fish?), tadpoles, etc. These water bullfrogs are known to many usually as delicacies. Besides frogs, there are also eels, turtles, tilapias and snakeheads in the farm.

4. Aerogreen Technology - 115 Neo Tiew Crescent, next to Sungei Buloh Nature Park.
Singapore's first commercial aeroponics farm. This farm which uses aeroponic technology to grow vegetables. Aeroponics, which means growing in air as opposed to organic (soil), enables the growth of temperate vegetables in equatorial Singapore. Nutrients are sprayed directly onto the suspended roots of the plants and vegetables. Many types of vegetables are grown here namely Butterhead Lettuce, Batavia, Baby Cos, Kai Lan, Bai Cai, Lollo Rossa and Japanese Yukari (Chye Sim) as well as cherry tomotoes. The Butterhead Lettuce is fresh, crunchy, sweet and juicy. The farm produces some 500 kilogrammes of pesticide-free vegetables a day for local consumption. Sometimes, you may even be in the season for strawberries! Go on Saturdays and you can do harvesting. All the vegetables you can pluck for your bag for one good price! You can also buy their pre-packed salad bowls, lettucino drinks and jelly. Contact them to arrange for visits

And after you are done with the Aerogreen Farm, you might just want to pop over to the Sungei Buloh Nature Park. Check it out!

Others - that we haven't been to, but you can try & let us know!
1. Oh Chin Huat Hydroponics Farm - Plot 10,11& 13, Bah Soon Pah Road
2. Dairy Tecnology Singapore Pte Ltd - 8 Lim Chu Kang Lane 8A Open 10-5pm daily Tel: 67937769
3. Nippon Koi Farm: 45 Jalan Lekar, Open 9-7pm daily, Tel: 67631882 Nippon Koi Farm: www.nipponkoifarm.com
4. Qian Hu Fish Farm: 71 Jalan Lekar , www.qianhu.com

twinklets,
that chloe ah... she such a big gal now... looks a bit different from her bb photo leh... but ryan n her both got such big eyes... hehehehe...

hey thanks for the info... i interested to go qian hu... cos kaeden like to see fish... anyone interested?? mabbe can org n go to a couple of places one of these days... hehehehe...

sc,
ya i'm more interested in Qian HU now.. initially was Nippon Koi Farm.. I'm intendg to go this weekend. U wanna join?? But can u join or not? hehe ur #2 still so small leh..

Zyp,
Nvr mind. U can try again after Zavier recovers fully. Hope that u can succeed in weaning him off from taking pacifiers soon.

Poohy,
I super ks one.. Once Sheri has very mild fever of >37.5, i will give her abt 2ml of panadol syrup cos i am worried that the tempt might shoot up high later.. Is it wrong to do that??

Twinklets,
Ash looks so cheerful & cheeky!

Forgetmenot,
Chloe is such a big gal now.. Long time never meet u gals already and hardly see u in forum.. How have u been doing?

<font color="0000ff">Twinklets</font>
My in laws just took Valerie to see my SIL. She got many many ulcers on her tongue and refuse to drink milk. Fever up to 39.5degrees again!!

I'll be taking childcare leave later & tmrw as well to help take care of Valerie.

Sigh...

Valmom
oh my, Val is also sick!! I believe the "bad" warm weather plays a role in causing all these illnesses.

re: improve immune system
what have u mommies specifically given to tods for this purpose? so far I just try to religiously feed Cla with Cod Liver Oil. Feel that it does help to improve her immune system to certain extend, *crossing my fingers*

twinklets
Ash really looks like a big gal liao now, then is tt Hayden standing next to Ryan?

Sweetbabe,
so guai of Cla to take the CLO. Ash when younger liked it, but once big gal liao she hates it!

Feel like giving her supplements, but supplements better drink more water else constipate. She already constipated liao, then still give on that, then later worse I also duno. So also headache ..

Ya She's a big gal liao. hee. time flies hor.
Yes tat's Hayden.

Valmom,
in such cases, issit HFMD or throat ulcer? can give her some ice to relieve her pain.. really v pain for her..

Twinklets,
Wow, Ashley abt 1/2 a head taller than Hayden. That means also Ashley 1/2 a head taller than Denyce lor. Ash at least 90cm now? My gal seems can't grow tall. Alwasys stuck at current height.

Pneumococcal Disease
Do you think it's advisable to take this jab. Coz PD has strongly recommended to take. My gal is 2 yrs old.

twinklets,
On and off, i will take measuring tape to measure for her at home mah. Either ask her stand against the wall or lie straight on the bed to let me measure lor.

Jenny,
I think is advisable. I just read the papers yesterday or 2 days ago, that MOH is under review to make this jab a compulsory jab in future. As the cost of this jab is not cheap, that is why they need to review longer.

i want to... this jab and chicken pox and flu.... but my kid.. hasn't been completely well enough to take any...argh!

Sick Tods,

Wish all the little darlings a speedy recovery.

San,

Hayden is very short hor. Ashley called him Hayden didi leh. Imagine Ryan who is 2mths younger is already 1/2 taller than Hayden. Super stress man. He dun seems to grow upwards and sidewards leh.

Jenny,

My son took the Pneumococcal jab earlier this mth at a GP clinic. He is ok after the jab, no fever just a red bump on the thigh at the injection area.

Guess it's ard S$150+ S$160+ bah, cant really remember as my mum is the who who brought my son for the jab. I reimburse my mum the $$ together with other misc items. Not sure exactly how much is the jab.

Jenny/krazy
Ya, I think it's highly advisable for our kids to have these jabs (pneumococcal, chix pox etc).

My gal had the chix pox jab last month, followed by the pneumococcal vac 2 wks later. Decided to get her vaccinated esp since she's gg to school n will be more exposed n will be easily infected shud other kids in her class caught certain viruses.

San/twinklets
Cla also had it after she turned 2, apart from the high cost factor if jab administered at early age, I also feel tt it's not good to have so much vaccines jabbed on her.

side effect:
so far no side effect fr the pneumococcal jab, no fever after jab either as confirmed by doctor.

Jenny
Think the jab is $170 EACH. Then u had to add in PD consultation fees.
Depend on ur child age, also have to see how many jabs needed
Above 2, 1 jab
Between 1-2, 2 jabs
Below 1, 3 jabs

Jenny,
Just go GP can get the jab. Me 2 bring my gal to GP for most jab as there will not be consultation charge as compare to PD since i didn't sign any package wz my PD. For me, I think jab at anywhere also no problem. The jabs are from the same company only difference who do the injection for u.

Shadow,
hee, so Hayden want to change galfren? haha. Denyce can standby cos' both abt same height. haha.

twinklets,
cannot der lah. already 1/2 a head taller. later wear heels become 1 hear taller. Hayden will mind lah. Shadow hor? hehe. I must be the 'tio bo li jian' 1. haha.

Shadow,
The GP so good, nvr charge consultation fees..
U must get Hayden to jump everyday. Who knows he may have sudden growth spurt, grow taller than Ash?! Keke..

Twinklets,
Where did u get the info of the various farm from? It has been a long time since i bring Sherilyn to farm..

Toking abt galfren/boyfren, Sheri also haven meet Ryan for months leow.. Dunno they still got chemistry when they meet or nt..

San,
OUCH.. err.. ehh u got reputation here meh? kekeeke =P

Serrich,
Ehh tis morning tryg to find the address for Nippon Fish Farm thr the net, scully search all these info.

<font color="0000ff">Twinklets,</font>
Are you sure Ashley is very faithful? Did she still mention Keane gor gor nowadays? kekeke