(2005/01) Jan 2005 Mom-To-Be

My first gynae visit also cos about $160 subsequent one $9) plus (that includes scan and multi-vit).

Would be starting on the package next visit, $800 excluding tests and medicine. But I guess with proper budgeting, should still be able to manage. I believe most of all are from middle income and above family. Some couples, without a O level education and one person working, can still support a family... it's a matter of what level of "goods" we are contented with....

For yesterday's visit, I saw my small little bubble too. Aiyah, bot don't know the measurement. Will go back and see if can see what's the measurement. Anyway, would need to go back 2 weeks later (7 weeks plus) to check on heartbeat. Keeping my fingers crossed that all goes well

Sharon Chang,

Don't worry, TTC is a matter of time. Just got to be patient and relax... I'm sure you'll hit jackpot soon

good morning everyone,
hope it was a good weekend for all. As usual, i didnt really do much since still having MS. I think the vomit is less now, but i dont have interest in most of the food still. Had craving for mee siam though.
Anyone of you started taking any tonic ( bu pin ) yet? Like bird nest, tonic soup etc? Can someone share with me what are the things that we can take during pregnancy? I have very little knowledge in all these things.

dear ladies,

i tested POSITIVE last nite!!! veri veri veri happy now... according to babycenter's calculation, my due date will be ard 29 Jan..

i am in the midst of asking recommendations for gyane...
other than this.. i feel OK wif myself.. had a hearty breakfast earlier...

may i know when ur MS starts showing??

Hi tubby,
Congratulations! Read your post in the "Trying to TTC" thread oredi. Very happy for you too!
Well for MS, it depends on individual. I just had my first MS this morning - I'm now in my 6th week.
I will be going for my first visit to the gynae tomorrow. Yvonne Chan at TMC. Got recommendation from my GF. Not too sure if she is good.. will let you know tomorrow.

hi miao2,

thanks... the feeling of being pregnant is jus wonderful...

i am doing my research on gynaes, hopefully will select 2 & visit them before i commit myself to a gynae...

actually, i've always wanted to hv a male gynae, but after hearing so many nice stories of wonderful female gynaes, i am more receptable to female gynae now...

thks.. wow.. i think u can hear ur bb's heartbeat tomoro.. at week 6... enjoy ur visit tomoro... let us know ur visit to Dr Chan...

Congratulations Tubby!
My MS starts at 7th week, and i am on my 8th week now, my gynae appointment is this Thursday.. and i am really looking forward to it!
Since you can still eat, do eat as much as you can, cos once MS starts, it's difficult to maintain the usual diet.

was so sick yesterdat that i took MC.

the weekend was terrible with very bad indigestion, bloatedness and heartburnt. cant believe it lasted 24 hours and i cant get any sleep at night. somehow still have to struggle to work today..

was given antacid to relieve but it only helps for a while, really hope 1st tri can be over soon...my ms is more in the morning but the bloatedness is thru out the whole day even if i only take porridge. anyone experience it?

oh dear Dolphina, do take good care of yourself. I could understand how you feel... dont worry, it should go away in a few weeks time. I am still in the middle of MS, but some days it wont be so bad. Just tell yourself that it is a good sign that baby is developing well.
What i do is, i try to think very hard what i like to eat at that moment...eg Tom Yam instand noodle, Mcdonald breakfast, porridge, etc. I may not like the same food the next day, but as long as i can swallow that this moment, i try to eat. And in between meals, eating a few wang wang rice crackers, or soda/wheat crackers helps too. Drink fruit juice if you can't eat the fruit itself.
Hope these helps.

hi sun_moon,

ya, i am trying to eat normally now... dunno whether it's in my mind or wat, dis morning, i do feel like my chest area is abit queasy.. like wanna vomit like dat... but i was thinking.. MS dun start so soon rite??

anyway, i got a bad evening last nite... had to run after a bus & walk quite fast from the MRT station to my mum's plc... when i went to pee, i saw some pink stains on the toilet paper, then slowly thru'out the nite, i saw some bits of brown stains... was so worried dat i went to KK 24 hr's clinic at 12am plus...

the doc i saw says dat spotting is veri common, tell me not to be worried... i had vaginal scan but still cldn't see the bb... in the end, had to take blood test to determine mg HCG level... althou my urine test over there shows '+'...

was given dusphaton as 'an tai' medicine.. feels more assured after seeing the doc...

sun_moon, thks for the advise on 'battling' MS...
dolphina... do take care... ya.. it means dat ur bb is growing well...

thanks sun_mood,

feeling better after my lunch! hope i can maintain to end of the day.

tubby, forgotten to congrats u this morning cos in a rush to settle some reports... and welcome to the thread!! u take care too and dun move about unnecessarily and rest more okie.

thanks, i will try to endure as much as i could. oh my gynae also gave me dusphaton during my first visit. cant wait for my next visit this fri. last time i never used to dislike taking pills but these days, the thot of popping pills will make me nausea..

tubby
Congratulations.
I am in my week 7 and does not have any serious MS yet. Same as you, my chest area is abit queasy.

I am back. I have been getting terrible MS throughout the day. Dont take too much 'bu pin' tonic. I think I take 2 much that causes me to vomit. I took dang shen, red date with black chicken in the afternoon and evening my mon-in-law prepare dang shen, gou qi, dong cong chao and dont know what other things la..

I saw my bb heartbeat when I went to my gynae on last friday. According to my gynae I was suppose to be 6wks and 6days today.

tubby, congrats to your pregnancy.

Just would like to check with u. The test kit in KK showed postive, is it a very clear sign or faint line? Since you are doing a BHcG Blood count, when is the next time you need to go back and how much is your charges? Thanks!

tubby,
Aiyo.. you must be careful with your movement from now onwards leh. Be careful ok.
I've seen my gynae this morning....finally!! My gynae did a vaginal scan. Can see the sac and the yolk.... and most amazing hor... can see the heart beating leh... blinking and blinking leh... So exciting. My hubby was so fascinated when he looked at the screen.
I am now 6 1/2wks. My gynae says my EDD will be 16Jan 05. Will be going back to see her again in 3wks time. Cross my fingers. I hope everything will turn out fine.
I've not told my PIL and my own P yet. Not going to tell them yet. Wait until all settle down lor.

Take care everyone!!

i am in my 6 weeks tis week...i will be seeing my gynae again this thurs...my EDD is 25 Jan...my 1st scan showed only a small bubble at 3mm...so i am hoping to see it grow bigger by tis thurs...btw, 6 weeks can hear heartbeat ? that fast ? do u gals feel like stomach bloated ? i feel so bloated and stomach so big like 2-3 mths preg already...

passerby, the bhcg blood test at kkh cost abt $30+ (non subsidized rate) for each test. In order to compare, you need to take 2 test at least and that will cost abt $60-$70. hope this helps.

yvoyvo, take care. In fact, i envy you and all the rest of you very much. I am feeling very down today... cos i am feeling so lonely. Something that i didnt say before, but i am actually staying away from home in a foreign country with my husband ( because of his work )without the care of my parents and in-laws. I dont know what kind of bu-pin to eat and also no one to make such bu-pin for me. At times, I only survive on simple food and sometimes even unhealthy food. I feel quilty, frustrated, upset and lonely. I miss my mom and i miss being home. I dun know if you understand my feelings... but coming into this forum is my only way to talk to Singaporeans and feel more at home.
I am so sorry to sound so depressing so early this morning.

Dear Sun-Moon,

Actually I am in same situtation as you, here only my hubby and I, both my PIL and my P are back in Malaysia. We dun like to eat outside food because feel unhealthy, so almost everyday I have to rush home after work to prepare dinner (simple food of course) wait until my hubby come back at around 7:30pm then we eat and watch TV together. My husband always say I shouldn't watch TV too long, but what else can I do?

But after I am pregnant I seldom cook because can't stand the oilly smell, so have to buy dinner, really no appetite to eat, and feel guilty as well because like I am not taking good care of my baby. I didn't take any tonic as well, because of lazy to prepare and also dun know whether it's o.k. to eat now..

One way I try to ease myself from feeling alone or down is to read, like Yi Su's novel, those easy to read one. Borrowing pregnancy books also helps, I believe your down mood is partly due to your pregnancy/hormone change as well. Whenever I feel down, i tell myself "o.k., I am feeling down now, but not because of something bad, it is only because the hormone change in my body, so no big deal", and this help me a bit, perhaps it helps for you as well..

Do cheer up, and be strong, for your little one, o.k?

Give you a big hug..

tan tan

tubby, congrats!!! dun worry, your case sounds like mine.. could not see sac during scan and tested only got faint line after a long while..

Sharon, any news yet?

My nausea is not in the morning.. I am fine in the morning, but it gets worse during the day.. By the time I get off work, I am hungry and feel sick and with backache.. So I am very grouchy.. I nid dinner at 6 plus.. Been eating every 3 hours nowadays.. I hope it means the baby is growing well..

sun_moon, How long will you be overseas? Where are u now? Simple food can be more nutritious than the hawker food that we have in SG.. sandwiches, pasta and etc..

I am gng to see the gynea next monday when I should be 6 weeks already.. Hope to see the heartbeat..

thanks Tan Tan and Yve for your consol, i will try to think positive. It's just that last time, after work when i get home, mum always have black chicken soup, herbal soup waiting for us at the dinner table. Even then i was not married, not pregnant... but i felt so pampered and bliss. Now, if i want such food, off course i will have to make them myself... but i dun know how to make and cos i have not told my parents about the good news, i counldnt ask her how to prepare them too. Even if i did ask, i bet i am also too sick with MS to actually cook. So all in all, it makes me feel so down at times. I am staying in a place they call Fragrant Harbour....

sun_moon..

oic..
sometimes just soup and rice is good enough.. throw all the things in a slow cooker to do the work.. e.g. pork ribs, sweet corn and dried scallops soup.. Or pork ribs and carrot soup.. put enough water to cover then can leow..

I know how you feel.. I get very sick of eating hawker food too.. My mom will always cook dinner everyday even if she is the only one eating.. Now that I stay with MIL, she dun cook at all.. So every night eat out.. I really look forward to my twice a week meals at my mom's place..

maybe when i am feeling more energetic, I will try your recipe...! Would you mind if i ask you how to make tonic soup in the future?

gd morning gals,

hi jov & hopeful, congrats and welcome to the thread! so glad the no. is growing.

sun_moon, dun be sad, we are here to support one another okie. feel free to voice out anything.

like wat tan tan said, reading is a good, esp on pregnancy books, its so amazing...

yve, at least u can still eat at 3 hr interval, the thot of having a meal already make me sick..

yvoyvo, i heard that its better not to take too much tonic in 1st tri leh. my gynae told me no herbs of any sort... so girls please take note okie.

sun_moon,

oh i have actually plan to go over there to visit my col in aug who has just been transferred there 2 months ago. but now i dunno if i can still make it coz my parents and ILs will sure disallow me taking plane (knowing those folks)...

it will be nice if i can go and also meet up with you then...heeee

ya maybe we can all share share some secret recipes during our 2nd tri..sounds interesting..

sun_moon, it is true as dolphina said that we cannot take chinese herbs.. But on how to cook tonic soup, think the shops can advise when you buy the packed herbs from them..

dolphina, I also thinking of a short trip some where some time.. need a break leh.. maybe in second tri..

I have a soup to share with you all. My mil teach me, and it is easy to make. Red dates with whole chicken. It is good for preg women.

1. 1 whole chicken with skin remove
2. Bring a pot of water to boil.
3. throw in the red dates and chicken
4. boil over high heat for half an hour and turn to low heat for 2 hours.
5. Ready to serve

yve,

anywhere in mind yet? ya my col and i have been planning for the trip since early this year but come to think of it dun think i can make it liow. so sad coz it will be hard to convince the folks u know.... :p

thanks jov, that seems easy to prepare! but guess have to wait till i have better appetite.

oh no dunno wat to have for lunch again..no particular craving yet...arghh

hi all, thanks for all the encouragement and recipes. I will try making the soup when i have the courage to eat more.

Dolphina, if you ever do come... then must tell me, and i will be so happy to meet you. Btw, i am planning to come back singapore during my second trimester... definitely have to come back before i am grounded for the third tri and after baby arrives.

dolphina,
I thinking of some beach place that don't nid flying to.. Sure get a earful from mother and MIL if I want to fly to somewhere.. So it is either Bintan or somewhere in malaysia..

i find that i want to eat spicy food.. had indian thosai for lunch.. and bought some bread in case i get hungry later..

sun_moon,

sure will inform you if i am allowed to fly over. let us know if you are coming back to SG okie...hmmm maybe we can arrange to meet-up with the rest.sounds interesting ya. so u will be delivering in HK.

yve,
not a bad idea hor, no flying maybe the folks will agree..heee
me too wanna tom yam soup but decided against it coz gastric not too good past few days..but then hor i am a chili queen..so still take chilli just limit the amount

hi dolphina,

Thanks for the advice, yap my gynae also advised me no no to herbs...

Hi sun_moon,

If you dont know how to cook soup, then you can probably buy good bird nest and drink... probably from yu ren sheng... Which cause abt $50-$80 per bottle.

i will be informing you when i come back to singapore... and it would be so nice if we could ger together... i think it would be nice too.
btw... anyone of you are experiencing a slight expansion of your tummy? I didnt gain weight but my tummy's skin expanding these few days... and i wonder is it me getting fat or baby growing big ( isnt it a bit too early for tummy to expand now??? ) *scratch head*

dear dolphina, jov & miao2,
thks for the warm welcome... i feel like we can understand each other better cos we r going thru the same phase together... glad we have dis forum to support each other... !!

hello hopeful24,
i read abt ur postings in the other thread & i'm glad u cld join us here... veri veri happy for u when i read ur good news.. !!!

hi passerby,
i believe poohy has helped me explained the charges to you.. as a walk-in patient, u r considered a pte patient & the charges r quite ex oso... i merely see a specialist (not consultant) & each consultation is abt 55... my first visit to KK dat nite is 130 (doc fee=55.60, blood test=33.90, ultrasound (vaginal)=29.30, urine test=11.20)
i got quite a distinct '+' when i was there...

dear ladies,
past few days veri drama for me.. after my first blood test, HCG level is 1900, i was immediately called back to KK to do a detailed scan.. they can't detect anything in womb but docs insisted dat at 1900, must be able to see someting.. thus they suspected ectopic for me... was crying so much when i heard it.. & oso, the way the doc put it to me not veri tactful.. they wanted me to get admited immediately & ask me not to take food, cos they say might hv to operate anytime..
me & hubby insisted on not staying there.. we went for a second opinion at Glen E, the doc i saw was so reassuring.. he said 1900 indicates dat i got healthy pregnancy... ectopic wldn't hv high HCG one... did a scan there & he say my uterus is okie.. there's some changes going on but since i'm onie 4wks +, it's normal not to see anything.. finally, i cld hv a good nite sleep last nite...

now praying dat everything will be fine & dat i can see my bb sac soon...

tubby,

Oh, i got quite the same scare as you too.. I had terrible stomach pains and some spotting so I went to the private GP at Bedok. Did a Urine test, but the line is very faint after a long while. The doc suspect is ectopic and sent me to Eastshore to see gynea. Did an abdominal scan but did not see anything. So the gynea prescribed some hormone pills for me for the spotting with 1 week MC and to see her one week after. And 5 days later when I went to see her (went earlier cos gan cheong), the sac is visible already via ab scan. So much changes in 5 days time. Really amazing..

So glad things are okay for you already.. can sleep well eh?? Think you can see the sac the next time..

hi tubby,

dun worry too much ya, coz at wk 4 , maybe too small to be detected. when i visited the gynae at wk 5++, he kept telling me be prepared that we are unable to see anything since its still too early....

just relax and get more rest! and surely u can see your bb in your next visit. like in yve case, think in 5 days time, there are lots of development going on already.

sun_moon,

ya i also find my tummy protruding out more prominently (althou i also has one before preggies lah..heee) and my pants like getting tighter liow. oh gosh isn't it too soon to be seen.. oh are u visiting your gynae today if i rem correctly. keep us update okie

me too. Feel a little bulge in the tummy area now. (also has one before preggie lah) But seems more prominent now. I also got this funny bloated feel everyday. So dont have much appetite for food lately. Dont know if anyone also feel the same?

hi miao,

my bloatedness has turn for the worst since last fri...practically lasted 24 hours and affected my sleep too..it is so unbearable...sob sob

and i also feel so gasy and lots of wind..keep burping whole day...wonder how long it gonna last...

me too, though I has tummy before preggie, but it really grow bigger now (yesterday went to see gynae, scan show I am abt 9 wks now). Hubby has been saying my tummy is getting bigger since past two weeks.. :p I monitor my weight, it actually drop a little bit (1+ kg), but I do feel pants are tighter, so wear new skirts (bigger size) more often now..

By the way, the lenght of my "baby" was 17.4mm yesterday, is it normal?? I read from a book saying that it should be 2~3cm.. Anyone can share theirs experience?

Thanks in advance..

i just came back from my gynae vist... had a abdominal scan just now and finally for the first time i saw my bb. It is 1.46cm now, and i saw the heartbeat!
However, i guess i had over estimated the 'age' of my bb, cos doc says now is only 7th week and 6 days. Haahaha.

Tonight will ask hubby to take down the scan picture in the digital camera and see if can load it onto the web.

My tummy is expanding cos the skin are stretching and peeling... i have to keep in mind to apply lotions and cream.

sun_moon,

Great!! can see heartbeat already..

My stomach is also growing.. Cannot wear jeans already..

yve,

thks for your encouraging words... every now & then i keep telling my bb to grow well & strong so dat mummy & daddy can see him/her soon...

i jus came back from KK for my 2nd blood test results & it shows dat the hcg level has doubled, to ard 3800... guess dis will exclude the possibility of ectopic... doc told me if ectopic, will remain stagnant or even drop becos bb is not growing well... but i refused to go for the ultrascan in KK cos it's too traumatising for me to go thru' it again... i rather wait till dis sat to see my gynae

althou gynae says usually sac is visible at ard week 6... but i'm still hoping to see something conclusive cos dis sat, i will be exactly 5 weeks..

wow... u ladies r so fast huh.. wif stomach expanding & skin stretching.., yup.. must remember to apply cream & lotions faithfully.. mummy must oso look pretty wif smooth skin mah..

dolphina,

i do feel dat there r alot of activities going on at my abdomen area.. sometimes will feel a slight pulling sensation... sometimes will hv mild cramps.. hehee... veri interesting.. am paying veri close attention to every details dat's going on in my body...

i am hving alot of rest dis few days.. hubby is not working to keep me company & i'm basically lying on bed most of the times.. due to spotting.. still can see traces of lil' brown stains.. but gynae say can totally ignore.. but i still prefer to see it completely gone soon..

hi tubby,

think we mus be patient...today i juz scanned and also did not see the foetus...i am at 5 wks...but managed to see the sac abt 1.5cm as well as the yolk...gynae says will see foetus only abt 2 weeks later...so i think we dun be too kan cheong .... but tough la....i so eager to see the foetus now....even at 5 wks, my stomach so bloated ! horrible...

Hi Tubby,

If u r still seeing spotting, it is best to see ur gynae as it might also be a sight of miscarriage.. Get ur gynae to give u some jac or medicien... n dont walk too much...

Hi dolphina,

I also burp a lot of time... I also felt that my tummy seems to grow.. But i think it is too early to grow... Probably due to eating every 3 hrs... and sit down after every meals.. of coz tummy grow la....