(2004/09) Year End (Sep - Dec) 2004 Mothers-to-be

For those of u who r in 2nd tri, can u still squat down? Read from the postings n seems that some of u have pblm bathing. I can still squat n bend though not very comfy. When i'm scrubbing my legs, I even stand on 1 leg n lift up the leg I'm scrubbing. Hee...hee... Maybe my tummy not very big.

Yingzi,

I have back ache at times too. I was wondering if it's bcos I sleep on my left side, causing my back not supported. in fact, I'm doing wat Rochelle suggested, but instead of 2 pillows, i only have 1 pillow which supports my stomach n one of legs. Still, I have back ache. Wonder if it'll help if i put pillows behind my back but then like not much space (like so cramped).

Hi melody,

Not to worry. Like wat angelia said, it varies with individual. Mine also only slightly more obvious @wk 16-18. Even now, also not very big n I'm already at wk 24. In fact, only when I was close to wk 20, then I started wearing maternity tops n pants. Suddenly, most of my old clothes couldn't fit, except for some loose dresses. When that happened, I was simply ecstatic cos I can finally look into the mirror naked n see that I'm pregnant.
So dun worry. Maybe u belong to the petite category or ur bb is very compact (ie can keep itself very well).

Oranges,
me too.. last two days didn't drink apple juice so haven't clear my bowels .. today got blood too.. abt a teaspoon somemore.. have no choice liao .. muz go drink apple juice .. have to .. if not we own self suffer.. remember to drink more water too..

cubbiebb
Aiyo... u hvin the same problem as me. Luckily,I like to drink water if not it'll be worse man. Ya nw it's like both of us sufferin.

skyblue... i can still squat to wash the toilet flr too.
bt gotta slowly get dwn & up lor, cos heavy mah. so nw unless the flr is wet, i will sit down instead to do watever i need to do @ flr level.

Hi Rochelle,

Thks for the info on aqua fitness.

Hi are,

For me, squatting to wash toilet flr abit straining. My hubby bought a long brush cos he doesn't like squatting to wash toilet (he has a big belly) LOL... He doesn't actually like me to wash tyhe toilet now that I'm preggie but u know lah, sometimes wait for man to do things, it's faster if i do it myself. So using that brush, i can stand n wash the floor. Maybe u can consider buying that. I also sit down to do watever I need to do, if not very tiring...

skyblue... hubby bought tat for me even b4 preggie, but i prefer to get dwn leh, can scrub better.
bt prob cant do it much longer cos getting big recently.

<font color="aa00aa">cubbiebb,</font>
waho, u terror leh, still can tell abt "1 teaspoon"

i oso used to see blood almost everytime i do big biz.. but think since wk 21/22 then no more liao. then now hor, almost everyday will do big biz lor.. previously was 2~3 days once..

are, skyblue,

try letting your hubby do the washing of toilet becos not good for baby to smell washing liquids too often, especially toilet cleaners can be abit strong.

my hubby would also be the one adding the bleach if he wants for the washing machine.

Oranges,
Yes, i've checked with my gynae and GP as well. It even states on the packaging that it helps relieves constipation in pregnant women...

agreed with Rochelle.. better let ur HB do the washing esp toilet washing. those washing liquid are very stong, better avoid lah! nowadays HB always do the washing, toilet, clothes etc. he very kan cheong, sometime when he mop the floor @ living room, will ask me to go into bedroom to avoid smell those chemical..

tbl/rochelle... thanx for ur advice. bt i think i will still wash toilet till i cant. hubby is already doing so much liao, really poor thing leh. i usually use washing powder to wash the flr, so its juz the toilet cleaner tat has smell, which i actually like!
hehehe... juz a bit oni lah, pour then wash liao.

are,
need wat...backache...
nah nah...
wow then u must be looking petite still. My stomach is so obvious now that I simply can't wear my normal clothes. U still managed to squeeze in.

orange,
ya lah, my hubby always travel which I hope it will lessen now that I'm pregnant but can't simply tell him, cos I know he dun wanna go too.

skyblue,
no prob in squatting..sometimes ganna those squat toilet..now bo bian..always on the urge but just lately that I realised I can't realli bend down to scrub my knee area due to the backache. I hv 4 pillows now, add some more then my whole bed will be filled with nothing but pillows oredy.

yingzi... think u better consult ur gynea &amp; get the cream. i went to a GP once wen i couldnt walk &amp; he was v nice to do some simple exercise 'tests' to make sure its not anything other than normal cramp, like kidney prob or sprain.

no lah... i'm nt in maternity doesnt mean i can wear my previous clothes! hv been wearing my sis's L &amp; XL bottoms, &amp; some looser tops. some tops i used to hv r stretchable so i juz stretch &amp; stretch!
hehehehe... as long as its long enuff to cover tummy i will wear lor. din buy a lot of maternity clothes so will be wearing the same things wk aft wk when i finally start.

so i tell bb not to grow so big yet so mummy hv more clothes to wear!!!
will prob start maternity clothes next mth. tummy expanding quite fast now.

are, thks...hopefully the cream will help else I will feel like my back going to split.

me oso onli buy a few maternity wear so I will be wearing the same outfit 2x in a week, but dun care lah. Anyway another 4 more mths to go. My sis and myself dun buy L &amp; XL, so after I can't fit in to my normal wear, straightaway start off with maternity pants then when top oso feel tight, move on to maternity top...but gd oso then I dun hv to think of wat to wear each day...hee...cos they will be recycled...

yingzi... actually the clothes r my sis's early maternity clothes s well. i same s her, not v big tummy yet. she oni started wearing maternity clothes frm 7mths, so hopefully i'll be like her!
nw i oso left a few pcs oni, bt everyday headache how to mix &amp; match!

Came back from Bintan trip and a relaxing one. Went facial to relax today.

Anyone already wearing maternity dress , esp those in the same wk as me, wk 15?? I hve nt bought any, just some loose clothing.

My tummy gets bigger towards the end of the day esp after each meal. Is it normal?

108770.jpg

<font face="courier new"> <font color="0000ff">as @ wk 14-Jun
.. .. .. .. .. . EDD .. . Week

aurora ......... 08/09/04 wk 27
cubbiebb ....... 12/09/04 wk 28 MAH / B
expecting_mum .. 12/09/04 wk 28 TMC / B
lilo ........... 20/09/04 wk 26 TMC / G
mom ............ 20/09/04 wk 26 MAH / B
berry .......... 21/09/04 wk 26 TMC / G
bebechic ....... 26/09/04 wk 25 MAH / G
ww ............. 29/09/04 wk 25 KKH / ??
pets ........... 03/10/04 wk 24 TMC / G
angelia ........ 04/10/04 wk 24 TMC / G
SLK ............ 08/10/04 wk 23 GEH / B
yingzi ......... 10/10/04 wk 23 MAH / G
heather ........ 10/10/04 wk 23 GEH / B
blisse ......... 11/10/04 wk 23 GEH / G
are ............ 12/10/04 wk 23 MEH / G
mtmtmt ......... 18/10/04 wk 22 ESH / ??
dee ............ 22/10/04 wk 21 GEH / ??
micky .......... 23/10/04 wk 21 GEH / B
yeeyee ......... 24/10/04 wk 21
AC ............. 06/11/04 wk 20 GEH / B
cosmo .......... 08/11/04 wk 20
cirtusfruits ... 16/11/04 wk 18
young jes ...... 18/11/04 wk 18 MAH / ??
joyful ......... 20/11/04 wk 18 MAH / B
peg peg ........ 22/11/04 wk 17 MAH / ??
melbb .......... 26/11/04 wk 17
sybil .......... 26/11/04 wk 17
deer ........... 29/11/04 wk 17
chihiro ........ 02/12/04 wk 16
TBL ............ 02/12/04 wk 16
rochelle ....... 02/12/04 wk 16 RH / B
plong .......... 08/12/04 wk 15 KKH / ??
woof ........... 08/12/04 wk 15
kypf ........... 08/12/04 wk 15 GEH / ??
emma ........... 09/12/04 wk 15
jen ............ 09/12/04 wk 15
melody ......... 20/12/04 wk 15
chantelle ...... 12/12/04 wk 15
guess .......... 12/12/04 wk 15 MEH / ??
wendypooh ...... 22/12/04 wk 13 GEH / ??
oranges ........ 22/12/04 wk 13 TMC / ??
jov ............ 05/01/05 wk 11

<font color="ff0000">GEH - GlenE, MAH - Mt A; MEH - Mt E; ESH - East Shore; RH - Raffles</font>
<font color="119911">remind me if I left u out or get ur date wrong</font>

</font></font>

are,
I bought 2 bigger sizes T-shirt for home wear cos those normal T-shirt of mine is getting uncomfy on my abdominal areas but too informal to wear at work, that's why I got even limited wear at work.

Emma,
Definitely tat's common. sometimes after meals when my stomach is so heavy, I just feel like lying down, at least the weight of my stomach will not be felt so badly. Usually I will take some sour food to help in digestion.

Emma

Im in wk 13. Tummpy not obvious so not wearing maternity leh..
But I did bought some.. feeling excited to wear it ma.. heeee

Ya,, my tummp too get bigger towards the end of the day and usually morning,, very small only lor..

I heard the preg cannot eat durian leh,, but within3 mth,, i have eaten 4 times liao leh.. but each time either less than 5 or 10 lor..

But everytime, i eaten ,, i have a bad feeling,, (may be guity ma) and I scare will have side effect on bb leh..

Worries leh..
Have u all eaten durian ???

welcome mngo!

melody... durian is actually very 'bu'. but overtaking it will cause u &amp; bb to put on a lot of weight, plus sugar is v high, so u might wan to control abit. i'm oso craving for durians, bt reducing cos i put on a lot in a short time, so my gynea asked me to go easy on durians.

Emma, I am also week 15 and even though can still wear my normal clothes, I started wearing maternity as my SIL lent me hers. Feel alot more comfortable with all the space in front.. ah!!!

CubbieBB, me too, my stomach so tight after eating, I worry I eat too much
Stomach feel like bursting.

My MIL told me cannot eat durian.. so I was quite good for a while, until my grandma came over and told me when she was expecting, my grandpa bought her whatever she wanted to eat, so she ate lots of durians. She says some people believe eating durians will cause the baby to have rashes, but none of her 8 children had.. After hearing that I feel more relaxed but I guess as with everything else, durians should be taken in moderation.

Hi mngo and are

My hubby keep telling me tat durian has no nutrients at all...it juz make u heaty but of cuz is delicious. Get to know from my gynae ....bb absorbs durain very fast...so if you want your bb to grow fatter...durain might b a good choice.

Hi melody_vin,

Ya, I ate durian as well, on the week I went back to malaysia, I ate three times in a week (every second days), when back to Singapore, i ate only once (last week).

Very confused whether can eat or not, my colleague told me that his relative ate a lot of durian while pregnant, now the bb got sensitive skin, got rash easily. But my mum said durian is good, my sis ate a lot too, no problem with all her kids.

So i think if we take it moderately should be fine kua?! I ate 8 pcs at most each time.

guess jan/kypf... my mum told me tat ppl eat durian wen preggie to 'bu' the bb &amp; mum. bt if become to heaty, bb's head or skin might get rashes. &amp; it has been proven tat my wt went up aft my durian binge!

i wun stop durian despite all these 'warnings' tho', too much of a sucker for durian to give it up!!! bt gotta reduce lor, cos i dun wan to be too heaty then cant take tonics liao. now planning to take tonics every 2-3 days, so hopefully can slot in durian sometime soon!!!

i guess we take durians moderately is ok
somemore now is durian season leh .. cannot fang guo them !!
hv take durians 2x so far ...

melody, I've ate durians 3-4 times so far, just ate some good ones last Sat, will probably go and eat again this Sat keke...
What do you mean by bad feeling? what kind of bad feelings does durians give you? I only feel good when I eat yummy durians. :p

Guess_jan, durians are quite high in nutrients I think.

Girls, you all must check out Spring Maternity at Suntec City, I went there yesterday, they have very nice and trendy clothes, unlike the usual frumpy maternity wear found at most places. And the best part is that their clothes are all very affordable! I bought a top (only $49.90!) there to wear to a function that I'm attending with hubby end of this month. V pleased with my purchase.

<font color="ff6000">berry</font>
ya, i quite like Spring's clothes ..
hubby oso say their clothes r quite nice ..

Yingzi,

I borrow my younger brother's polo t-shirts (he buys more clothes than me) and I got american size S shirts so tops no problem. hubby also have lots of shirts that he is not wearing so can wear those.

see if your hubby got shirts/polo-t-shirts that he is not wearing. the guys' clothes cutting is longer so for me they will end at mid thigh (adequate coverage). I'll take the 100% cotton ones becos more cooling.

now eyeing those pretty maternity capri pants and demin jeans.

Those who buy maternity clothes already, what size do u get? Our present size or bigger? As my tummy is still not so big, I don't know which one to get.

What if after that I can't wear it anymore..

emma... for clothes w sizes, i wld advise u to try them. i've S s well s M pcs. was told the size is actually our pre-preggie size, bt most impt is the shoulder/bust fits. maternity clothes usually can last till full term, unless ur tummy v big in 3rd tri, then gotta wear full dresses liao.

I take durians about once a week becos in-laws would buy for us since they like to eat

durians nutrition contents (copied for website)
"Components Per 100gm edible portion
Food energy 153.0 calories
Moisture 64.1 g
Protein 2.6 g
Fat 3.4 g
Carbohydrate 27.9 g
Minerals 103.9 g
Beta-Carotene 140.0 mg
Vitamin B1 0.1 mg
Vitamin B2 0.13 mg
Vitamin C 23.2 mg "

think I would eat more durians since I am more worried baby would be underweight like me and hubby.

emma, just buy your size, cause maternity clothes are supposed to be able to accomodate belly/bust growth. For pants, the waist part is usually adjustable and for tops, the belly area can usually be tied back behind accordingly. Same goes for dresses.
Sometimes if your arms/thighs also put on weight significantly, then you might have to up one size later on in your pregnancy, no choice lor.

Rochelle, for pretty capris/pants/jeans, go for thyme or Motherworks, they have the nicest cuttings and most un-auntie designs. Slightly costly but you can wear them all the way.

Emma,

if buying dresses, make sure the stomach area and the bust area is made of very stretchable material so that the dress would stretch comfortable as we grow in size. the general guide is to follow your pre-pregnant size when choosing. also try to buy clothes after a meal when you feel most bloated. you need to feel comfortable in the clothes with a bloated stomache.

The overall I bought from mothercare had two sets of buttons instead of the typical elastic. now is loose but comfy for me on the first set of buttons. can change to second set when bigger, material is stretchy.

ya hor, rochelle...forgot abt eyeing on my hubby's wear but guy's polo normally veri long, looks funny. Nvm tonight ransack his top and see got anything nice that I can grab..haha...

I hv taken durians twice throughout my pregnancy. Ya yummy boy but it's realli heaty and so far my mum and MIL said gd for bb but true tat the sugar content is high, so eat in moderation can oredy.

Berry,

Saw a educational video where this lady was swimming laps in her string bikini until just before birth. going to buy a string bikini when I "outgrow" my current elastic bikini.

I've seen some nice bottoms at Thyme and Motherworks. abit costly but they look more classy (can wear to more places) and since we intend to have more kids so its okay.

Emma

I heard ppl say tat dou huay is make using somthing like "cement" to solidified the beancurd water into dou huay, so i guess is not good for bb. I've not eaten any...tho is quite nice to eat hor.

<font color="ff6000">emma</font>
dunno where dou hua is cooling or not
i juz had some yesterday ..
tink i oso ate it during my 1st trimester
guess everything in moderation is ok

Emma - only time i heard cannot eat beancurd was the doctor told me don't eat too much as it causes gas in the tummy.

guess jan/emma... the ingredient is 'shi hui fen', which is cement powder lah. not really tat harmful unless huge doses lor, else normal ppl oso cant eat rite? i guess to eat or not depends on ur comfort level lor. bt old ppl will advise to avoid cos of the belief tat watever u eat will be passed on to bb, which we noe is not true mah.

but it is true tat dou hua is cooling. else, try almond drink? its gd &amp; nutritious, cooling, &amp; gives bb great skin!