(2004/06) June/July 2004 Babies

Eureka,
A fast glance on your cookie looks like "Sotong"

Lyn,
Like Eureka says, time flies like rocket. Next month Adrian 1YO liao. By the way, he popped in the living room lar, not bathroom

GG,
I must, and again, comment about your skill on baking. It's really fantastic! I am hoping some weight goes from Alicia to Adrian too

Jeslyn,
Sorry to hear abt your dad. My dad was also hospitalised 2 years ago due to blood clot (breathlessness, and tire), but had since recovered, but must be on medication, and proper diet to prevent the blood from thickening.

Sounds like regine has fake measles. High fever for 4-5ddays, fever subsides, and rash starts to develop and will disppear for next 2 days. Have plenty of fluid. If fever continues with rash, advise to see the PD immediately.

I have 2 packs of SIA Dora activity pack (contains sticker, activity worksheets). Anyone wants?

Daddy n mummies,
Pls pray 4 me......today I am baking CAKE for the 1st time of my life n it is for my bro's bd tomorrow. Cant afford any 'mishap'
Learn not to take things for granted! Now self bake, i got2 buy box, buy candle n knife leh....all these we always shiok shiok take frm baker for free. What is the hassle hor, buy the cake off the shelf can liao mah!!!!!!!!!!! Haiz, i want to bake with my love lor...hahahahhaha

Tks for your compliment or rather encouragement. Melting moment is really very very nice tho the doggie cookies looks cuter.

Will read in details the post later.....very stressed now...gd stress tho........chat again!

GGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hope u dun have to stand by for my SOS call today hor
!

Saw your cupcakes frm another thread. Yours is really one of the BEST sweetest looking I have seen ard! U r very gd!

Giggler,
I still bz surfing for cheesecake receipes leh....blur......Local n foreign measurement...wah piang blur leh the conversion. Ah boy coming back liao, i kan jeong, nothing started!

Tks giggler...I will make sure it tastes good but design wise, I cant do much cos i dun know how to use any tips n paper cone for squeezing out the design even...hahahahahah.....go for tasste n texture 1st, the rest can wait...nice or not, still go into stomach n comes out ultimately...hahahahah...i make sure my guest eat the cake blindfolded!

U so sweet, I bake n let u eat next time...

Eureka,
Jia You! I am sure baking from the heart will come out with the best cake you ever bake

Bake for me also can???

Giggler,
OK, I pass it to you. SMS you on my delivery.

RE: SIA DORA Activity pack
All reserved.

As' Daddy, it's Dora now ah? SQ always seem to be giving away Nickelodeon stuff. Aiyah, you should have posted earlier, cos my parents are now on an SQ plane on their way to China!!!! Nevermind, ask them to take on their trip back! Heeheehee! Enjoy your studio shots at Foto-U! By the way, you know about the studio hop promotion they having with Studio Loft????

GG, what can I say? Really love your cuppies!!!! Healthy, pretty and tasty!!!

LYN!!! Jas looks like Jerald!!!! So happy that everything turn out well for u! See! All the worrying for nothing! Enjoy your bundle of joy and post more pictures for us ok?

thks for all the concern

my dad was discharge from hosp....during his stay in hosp, dr inject medicine into his body...was on mediation too!

as for regine, her fever was gone and her rashes was going off slowly...

Great!

Hmm...see all these pics, think I ought to get an oven. Any idea how much will that cost? Any "special" fuction that I should be looking at? Any recomendation?

Mummies & As Dad,
Thanks for the complements

QSG,
Bought the alphabets cookie cutter from Phoon Huat but that was few years back.
If you want, I will look out for it.

Emily,
Yah Im working. Lately din let my kids bake, cant afford for them to mess it up.
Basically need hb to take care of them or I bake when they sleep.

As Dad,
How to transfer weight?
Last week, Graces teacher called me up and told me what Grace has told her when she ask her why she din finish up her food. She can tell her teacher that she is on a diet, worse still she also tell teacher my mummy also on a diet too. Really dont know where she catches that word from cos we din use that word at home and Im still eating as per normal.

Eureka,
Congratulation, your cake must be a success hor cos din receive any SOS call from you, must post photo hor
You boh sim leh, going to bake for Giggler but never offer to me.
Actually I just finished baking too. My nephew request for a birthday cake for his birthday tomorrow but he says he dont need those pretty ones. Going to saboh him with a very ugly one.

Hazey,
Me still need to improve cant produce something as nice as some of the bakers.
Hee got butter, sugar & eggs how to be healthy. That day baked without using butter, hb says beh phang

Val,
Come and join the baking club

Currently me using Ariston built in oven. Before that using a smaller oven - Delonghi brand.
So far also hear good review for Baby Baling and Rowenta too. Baby Baling is ex, Ariston and Delonghi should be above $400 plus but not too sure for Rowenta. If you have the space, go for the lattest model longish looking ones. You can bake by putting the tray side by side, safe the trouble to switch tray around while baking.

gg,
seeing all ur yummy cakes n cookies pic really make me hungry..

hi mummies n a's dad,
wld u all b mtg up agn? mayb i can brg ash n cher.

i dun hv nice food pics to share, only pics of cher.
919691.jpg
919692.jpg

Reading back some old post....

EMILY!!!!!!!!!!!
Can die leh....sOOOOOOOOOooooooooooo cute that punggol mkt yong tao hu pink piggy fishcake!! very tempted to buy but think of the colouring, refrained. Very nice hor?

Alicia's Dad,
Dora pack...next time when u r on SIA flight, pls tell them u have dozen of godchildren!!!! 2 pack not enuff!

ya man, what a sight, I m probably 'hairer' than that man that u saw...Geez!

Yah, I am one of those NAN/'NUN' High school girl!

Yah, my hb also asked if I made squid cookies? So I put them in a 'fish' tray to serve!?!

GG,
I like the foto of grace n alicia!!!!! very cute contrast of the 2 gals'.......TUMMY!!! Very sweet!

Hahahahhaha, Grace must have heard it from SOMEwhere abt on diet! They are really brilliant little ones! Amusing! Once, my gal did not go to grandparent's house as scheduled. Grandparents asked why she did not turn up? She replied 'Cos I not free'.........

Baking, YES, u cant be more right! AS I bake, I oso think die lah, those butter, sugar n eggs...our cholestrol level how ah etc. How can it be as mentioned healthy rite? Only thing no preservative.

My cake....somehow U r right. It turned out well and nice. It was smooth n not slightest burnt after bake and I went out (with oven door ajar). When back home, saw a crackline right in the middle n very slight burnt by the side upon cooling! I did go for water bath during baking tho. Nothing much to salvage cos I do not have much of deco stuffs at home....so I salvage as such.

This is my triple layer (orea/chocolate/cheese)cheesecake. It tastes good! Help yourselves to the cake...giggler, daddy n GG if u all dun xian qi...

After baking n cooling down, what a dismay! What a blessing that it was not a spider web kind of crack!!

919847.jpg

Stressed, could not sleep, woke up at 6am the next morning to try out the salvaging work!
Dim light.....all still asleep....
919848.jpg

Finally,
919849.jpg
919850.jpg

eureka, how's your cheesecake? So when can I get a taste of your cake? What oven did u buy? I thinking of getting another one cos my current is spoilt. Wow... I'm impressed by your baking skill leh.

A's dad, thanks in advance.

hazey, yayaya... I got the Nickelodeon stuff from SIA too.

JesLyn, so you back to work alr?

val, I also tempted to get new oven too leh.

GG, hehehe... I think you did mentioned to someone and Grace over-heard that? But it's true that you're on diet rite? How's your ugly cake?

A's dad/GG, the first thing that caught my sight is Alicia's tummy... LOL

sanrio, your Cher really very cute and chubby...

Hazey,
Yeah, I think SQ has special tie up with Nickelodeon. I knew about the studio hop, but it seems confusing. I would like to just go to Foto-U, complete the shoot, and ask about it lor.

GG,
It would be a miracle if I know how to transfer weight
, I would probably transfer mine as well.,haha..It is so ironical to see Alicia wearing the Incredible "violet". It should be worn by Grace

Kids pick up sentences/word from anywhere, even when we made them unconciously. One day, when we were in the lift, wife and me leaned against the wall of the lift, and out of nowhere, Alicia shouted "Do not lean against the wall". Wife and me just stared at one another

Sanrio,
Cher is so chubby. Nice blog layout. I like the pic where Cher is praying, and looking up thereafter

Eureka,
Next time SQ 'black list" me, and charge for more taxes
Serving in fish tray, that's a genius.

Nice salvaging work! In technical term, this crack is known as thermal stress crack. It is due to the vast thermal mismatch between the external and internal ambient when the door is left ajar causing stress on the cake, resulting in crack...opps, job hazard!

GG, the alphabets are nicely done in pink. You add red dye to your dough? If you see the cutters again, let me know, i don't remember seeing them at the PH at Jurong East.

GG,
No more alphabet mould at phoon huat,. Now they have only numerical mould.

Alicia's dad,
Job hazard..hhahha...i got u. Somehow the cake needs to get out frm the baking oven rite?? So after 160deg in there for 45min, I left the door ajar in order not to let the cake go thru drastic 'thermal shock test'. If I pull it off from the oven n leave it on the kitchen top immediately, then it is really thermal shock! hahhaha....baking is more complicated or delicate than any of our industrial components leh. U selling reliability oven ah?

Giggler,
GG will be in better position to give advice on what oven to invest
. Also, there wont be any ugly cake coming out frm GG!!! Her nephew wanted ugly cake, I could have volunteer mine here to GG!

Sanrio,
ur ger is very cute and chubby.

brenda,
I saw u at Tampine Ikea last friday nite. I spotted ur handsome Jerome 1st then I started to follow him and found the family. hahahaha..

GG, brenda,
u have recipe for mooncake fillings or not? Anyone even try making their own lotus paste before?

HOng,
Y u dun ask me? I am a baking enthusiatic now mah
....last yr giggler also bake her own...

THink u nid pro's recipes like gg's n brenda's only. Actually they are all over the websites...blogs n forums!

LYN!
REmember to carry Jas n pose like jerald when she is old enuff as in the archive dated dec 03, 2004! Sure very cute n sentimental, rite?

eureka,
dun tell me u angry with me cos i didnt ask u hor.

Cos i keep seeing brenda and GG posting their creation mah.

I wanted self made fillings leh. I am betting on brenda and GG. Incase they tried some of the recipe before. I have no time to look up in blogs leh. U have any blogs that made mooncake fillings.

feeling very sian...really up to my neck with work and my maid is giving me problem too. just sent my 6th maid back to agency last Sat. we went home after Jana's shichida class and couldn't find the maid in the house, for a moment i panicked n tot she fell down the flat, then hubby realise her slippers are gone, she had sneaked out without our permission. we safekeep her money and yet she went shopping n came home with new bras, notebook & pen. When we sent her back to agency, the agency even found a handphone in her pocket. I've made a police report and the maid will be sent home on the next available flight. I really hv no luck with maids

eureka
wah! ur cookies n cakes looks solid leh! really pei fu those who are baking n doesn't hv a maid at home

u can get the alphabet cookie cutters from ntuc too.

EUREKA!! Woah... u also noticed the yong tau foo piglet! I also... but knowing my son who doesn't eat anything, I didn't bother to buy lor. Was so tempted too! U know, if u go to Liang Court supermarket, u can find even the hello kitty fishcake... u know the kind that u can put in miso soup or yong tau foo one. I even saw ninja turtle ones too! Your cheesecake looks very good. I usually do the non-bake cheesecakes. Safer. Very easy.. & yummy too.

Viv, oh no! Doesn't sound good. Don't stress out. Relax! What abt trying a different nationality? Maybe u will have better luck with another nationality? I also sian of maids. Actually, find them quite heartless, but cannot expect much lah... we also not happy change employer, right? :p

Viv
Hee... tat is a calling for you to be SAHM!!
My maid is ok, no experience, a bit slow, but we give her time to cope lor. She v scared when my hb spot check dust and areas not cleaned properly! Hahaha...

A's dad, so cuteee........ so when is Alicia due?

hong, I usu bot the paste from Phoon Huat.

viv, your 6th maid liao? Still cant get suitable one? Actually my maid also not very gd but she not as daring as your maid so still keeping her.

Emily, you got recipe for non-bake cheesecakes? Thot of eating cheesecake but dun have oven to bake.

Mom2Nat, you got maid also? You doing full-time now?

HOng,
YAH YAH, i am angry....your head lah!
I not keen on mooncake at all....knows nut. But really alot of blogs abt it esp those malaysian mums, they really specialise!

I come across i forwards to u?

EMILY,
Yah lor, it is a japanese pdt leh. I saw the whole packet advertisement pasted on the fridge behind the stall that indicates japanese pdt. Japanese really gd in such things hor? I saw it n immediately tot of MUST TELL EMILY! hahhaha, me siao one!

Yah, saw the non baked cheesecake but nid gelatine but my hse dun have, so nvr bake.

Viv,
solly, very ticklish leh ur maid! Boss(u) a shopping maniac the emplyee also follows suit? headache lah u....go nam hong lee n eat those jin tui up, imagine is your maids' XXXX....cheer up! Sulk more hor very suay one. I also very sian but sulk somemore, own self suay even more!

HHAHHAHAH Alicia's dad,
I read instruction with lots of care regarding baking! Ya, if take out all at 1 go, spiderweb's crack lor..

Giggler,
Cheesecake....I feel that my tummy growing an inch thicker like alicia liao! Ur iron flat tummy can afford to eat...go make the non baked ones!

giggler,
how is the paste from phoon huat. I asked n asked and may be i dun even have time to make any.

Eureka,
hee hee.. thanks.

Hong,
look under jodelibakery - recipes/chinese pastries. She has a few types of mooncake, some has self made one i think!

eureka, I dun have flat tummy anymore liao...
Very sad leh cos I'm attending 2 gym classes but still cant get rid of my tummy. I think the situation will be worse cos from next mth, I wont have chance to attend the classes anymore.

hong, I cant rem liao, think shd be not bad lah. I only made the mooncake for one yr and feel that bo hua to make leh. Hehehe

Mummies and 1 daddy, teacher's day is around the corner, what would you be doing for the teacher? any ideas/suggestions what to give to the teacher?

mummies who are baking, for cookie cutters, is the plastic or metal type better/easier to use?

QSG,
i am thinking to bake something for the teacher but i have to search thru my cookie book to chose one.

Eureke,

Giggler, here's the receipe for the non-bak cheesecake. And yes, as what Eureka says, need gelatine.

Lemon Cheesecake
Ingredients: -
(A) For the filling -
1 cake of Philadelphia Cream Cheese
2 Lemons
4 Tablespoons (the porcelain one) of Gelatin
1 tin evaporated milk (chilled)
1 cup sugar

(B) For the pie crust -
Biscuits (Digestive biscuits = best choice)
1/3 block of butter (melted)

(C) Equipment:
A large bowl
A sufficiently large tin pan
A wooden stirrer
A fork or a beater

Instructions:
Crush the biscuits in a tin pan until the crumbs are quite fine. Pour the melted butter over the biscuit crumbs and spread the biscuit out over the base of the tin pan. Put the tin pan into the freezer.

Add the Philadephia Cream Cheese into a bowl. Add the sugar in and mix. Add the evaporated milk and mix again. Squeeze the lemons and pour the juice into the mixture. Add sufficient hot water to the gelatin to completely melt it. Pour the melted gelatin into the mixture and mix properly. Pour the ingredients into the tin pan with the hardened pie shell. Leave in the fridge until the filling has set.

- I usually put the cream cheese in the microwave on defrost mode 1st so that it is sofer & easier to mix with the other ingredients. I usually add the evaporated milk a little at a time while mixing so that there will not be any lumps in the cheesecake.

Eureka, u not siao lah. U have me in your heart mah (wah! I am so honored!)... but must remember hor... skyblue & PV also stay in Punggol. :p

Giggler,
haha, no EDD one lar. We went for a walk in NTU yesterday, and she completed 15mins of walk before complaining abt "no strength". I have to carry her for another 30mins (with break in between). When we are in the running track, she seems to enjoy running on the red track

Eureka,
Alicia will show angry face if anyone says she has a round tummy

Viv,
So sorry to hear abt your maid.

QSG,
Your post comes in timely, I am also thinking abt this.

eureka,
Hahaha, i can't help but laugh at wat u suggested to viv. Eat Jin tui n imagine it's the maid's XXXX? Wats jin tui? ;p
Ur cake very impressive leh.

emily, eureka,
Wat wat wat? How come mention i stay in punggol?

GG,
I oso jus saw ur cakes in another thread. I salute u!!!

viv,
All ur maids so far r fillipinos?

giggler,
I oso have flabby tummy now, n worse, 'jiao jiao' somemore.

Emily...
Baking very interesting n got lots of little details! That porcelain gelatin is, I think, for non-beef eater! Cheem hor? nid soaking rite?

Ya, i know but till now I do not know where exactly they are staying, only u!

Skyblue,
Jin tui or sui is smthing very round one.......hahahhaha......viv's favourite lor.

Tks for your encouragement re the cake!

Giggler,
2 sessions of gym how to lose inches? u too critical abt own tummy lah.....

Emily, thanks copied the recipe.

As dad, oops so we cant tell Alicia that she got big tummy?

Skyblue, you so skinny, still got flabby tummy?

Eureka, I have 2 days of gym per week now leh. But cant do that anymore starting from next week in my new co.

GG, you got another thread to showcase your cake? Where?

eureka
wow u reli can bake hor

alot of u here can bake....so nice...

giggler
yes, im back to work on monday, 13-8-07....v sian...

sanrio
cher is real v chub.. :p

to all
some tupperware items are under promotion, any 1 interested? pls email me

Skyblue,
Jin dui.....

922161.gif

Viv,
Those that is more elongated form are they called jin dui? Macpherson coffee shop beside old chang kee got 1 stall selling peanut one very nice! U go eat that beef noodle then tabao this jin dui, nice!

Jeslyn,
Tks....

Dun seem to be able to find your tupperware pic! Tupperware things ALL i like but ex leh!

Giggler,
wow, twice weekly, no wonder you have so nice figure! U work out during lunch??

Emily,
I told myself to stop baking liao cos piling on weight lately. Last nite, cant resist again after receiving sms regarding baking. Browsed thru catalogue accumulated from women weekly/reader digest etc.

It depicts YES, digestive biscuit is the healthier choice! That day I bake with orea with the cream, wah piang....sinful hor. But i used LITE PhilaXXX cheese tho....consoling myself here!

Want to try the non-baked version soon........how to slim down!? Last time I dun bake n dun go gym. Now I go gym but pick up baking. Then I bake n bake n no time to go gym...irony is that i ought to go 3txs per week liao! Fated to be fat!

JesLyn, what were u doing early in the morning???

eureka, yup, I attend gym class during lunch but dun think I can do that in my new co lah. Although the new co has allowance for gym but not alot leh, only $500 a yr. You joined gym also? Which one? Amore?

Eureka, porcelain Gelatin? Porcelain is the spoon used. Gelatin is what u need to get. No need to soak the gelatin overnight. Usually, about 5-6 hours will be good enough for the gelatin to harden (like jelly) for consumption. Would be good idea to make it in the morning, then eat after dinner... or make at night then can eat the next day for lunch/tea or even breakfast etc. You will know lah... when it hardens enough... can touch to feel mah.

No need feel guilty. Can make up for it one... like eat only fish, veg, soup for dinner then indulge in dessert lor.
heheee... or indulge in baking then for whole week eat light meals. :p

Woah... that pic is also my favourite food. Very sinful!! Very heaty!!

skyblue, Eureka was thinking of me when she saw the piglet face yong tau foo at Punggol Plaza market... so I reminded her that u guys also stay there lor.

Giggler
I have a maid for abt 2 months liao. My job is flexi hours. I think I work abt 1 or 2 days a week only ah. Hahaha... These 2 weeks I no mood, so prob not working, unless necessary. On days I dun work, I will try to spend more time with Nat, bring her for a dip or play with her lor. The other days, sometimes I go to work, and oso go shopping!