(2002) Any 2002 babies?

The SPI bags selling at Kinderfun (Centrept) at $126 before 10% discount. Another one I saw is Campro at Popular at $39.90. My husband wants the exp one but I dunno whether isit really useful? Some of my colleagues also using SPI, they said its worth coz can use for 2 yrs.

hi luanee,

bag can use for 2yr, but must see whether ur kids wan to use it for 2yr or like my gals like to change bag every yr.haha

ya, kids especially when young will not know how to take care of their stuff yet. I will use the normal one and see how it goes because not sure how many books the kid will need to bring everyday to school. Furthermore the school is just few blocks away from home, not too much a distance for him to walk with the bag. think will be even shorter time for them to carry for those who take school buses.

I ever noticed one day my P2 niece's sch bag (ergo) only contains less than 6 books to sch. Kind of waste for spending so much on such kind of bag.

natellehcim

really!!!!! so less book. my gal got more than 10 book is bag(including exercise book). and got file too.

ya i was surprised seeing so few that time also. Not sure where the books go to. Asked her why so little, she said no need bring others... I'm also confused that time. that's why we never know how the school is handling their curriculum.

Hi mummies, I would suggest you wait till you've gotten their booklist then see how many books they will required. I've also heard that nowadays school very 'commercialised' also. They had stalls open up for vendors to sell their stuff during orientation period, including school bags. So maybe you will be able to get good deals over there.

oh yes i agree with natellehcim. during my kids time, the sch did hv ppl selling bags which just like SPI which got back surport. uniform, books, shoes and sock for sales.etc

Any idea, what books to bring on first day of school. Btw, is first day of school 2 January 2009 which falls on a Friday?

hi valerie,

my kids is in upper pri, wat they do is bring exercise book and workbook to sch on the 1st day of sch. bec teacher will collect them and keep some of the workbook. as for sch reopen is usually the day after 1st of jan.

Thanks cymk23. My eldest is p1 next year, not sure whether text books are require on first day. When do they get their time-table.
I hope it will be a smooth sailing day for all the p1 mummies on 2 Jan 09.

usually sch will give to them within the 1st week. if teacher is good will make a photocopy for the kids and give them. if not.hahaha. they might hv to write it on the handbook which is in the booklist.

ya 2 Jan happen to be on a friday hor... so sianz.... guess i will let my son bring all the 1A books then... only 1 text for each subjects, in case the teachers want to go through the introduction of each book to the kids. I believe some schools will collect and help to keep their exercise books and workbooks on the first day. Furthermore their 1st day we parents will be there so definitely will help to carry their bags...

Oh yes, i remember copying the time table on to the hand book. I shall do the same, nate. My girl has a spi bag, gift from her aunt. I find the bag too bulky. Have not decided whether should i let her use it leh...
kao_confused.gif

hee, parent r not allow to start in the sch for the whole day. u hv to go out when the bell rings. is good to hv the 1st day on friday. so ur kids only go for 1 day then can rest for 2 day again. at least they dont hv to go tho the whole week which might be suffering for them. haha. not use to new enviro

hi valerie, don't worry nowadays schools are unlike our days. Now they are very advanced and 'commercialised', furthermore kids are smarter. They will be well-taken care of.

Since you already have the SPI bag, just use it and don't let it waste. Guess she need a more sturdy bag for she's going to student care also.

My girl's school already gave us a list of books to bring 1st day of school, about 10 books in total I think... Including a report book and student handbook. Yah, maybe wait till orientation on 15th Nov see any good deals in school.

Any idea whether are we allow to stay in the sch till sch finish on the 1st day of school (2 Jan 09)? What abt 2nd and 3rd days (5 Jan and 6 Jan 09)?

i dont think so. for ats we r not allow to stay in the sch. im sure all sch do that too. the first wk or 2 canteen ppl will serve the food to their class room parents got to pay. after that will hv upper pri kids to lead them for 2 wk. then their will be on their own after that. parent r not allow to stay in the sch even on the first day.

Oh ya hah, so she must bring clothes to change. Aiyah, then the bag will be soooo heavy...

Friday for 1st day of school is good? Maybe due to their shock on Friday,
kao_scared.gif
they might resist from going to school on the next Monday. Aiya, maybe i worry too much...

wan wan,

The bag is seliing as below:

Bundle 1:

1 NIVPAK SystemBag + 1 NIVPAK ArtMaster + Delivery* = S$ 55
(Classic collection)

Bundle 2:

2 NIVPAK SystemBag + 2 NIVPAK ArtMaster + Delivery* = S$ 99.95
(Classic collection)

I have email them with regards to having school sales near my house, the person say normally school roadshows are priced cheapest. I might go to the school this sat to take a look at the real thing.

You may refer to this link http://www.nivpak.com/news.html

There will be NTUC back to school roadshow whereby according to the sales, say that they will be selling it at $49.95 for bag only.

Linda, I don't think they allow us in the school when the bell ring, not even during recess. I think it mention in the letter where they post us the booklist

Luanee,
Your school good hor, already let you know what to bring. I have no idea at all. Must wait till orientatoion

Hi milo

I only received the letter reminding us of the oriention and to bring our bank book that day. Sales of books, uniform and booking of transportation will be done that day. But no Book List leh..

The letter also informed us the class my boy will be going (classroom has been allocated). No diagnostic test.

linda,

My son's class has also been allocated, heard from my friend they will still allocate different classes for them when its time for them to promote to next level. At least that what happening in the school my son is going. How come you still have not get the booklist? Mine comes together with the letters.

My friend just called me with regards to the tuition thing, she told me there are 2 classes, one is math + eng - $80/mth the other one is creative writing $72/mth. Wonder which is better option? She say the teacher told her the 2in1 is better. Which would you chose??

hi milo, where's the tuition may i know? For a start think take the 2-in-1 better lah. Don't think they will have a lot to learn for the beginning years.

Hi Mimosa,
I also just rec'd a ltr reminding us of the orientation and the nec bank acc no. etc. But the ltr seems to suggest that the sales of bks, uniform will be on other days, not sure if I interpret it correctly but tpt services coy will be there. class also allocated.

Cymk,
Seems to be different from your gals' time?

Hi Milo,
Thanks for the link. Can share after you have gone to the sales I'm interested to check out more before deciding what to buy for my boy.

yeah, why is the tuition so cheap? How long is the session and I suppose it's once a wk? The creative writing seems interesting...

hi wanwan,
ya a little diff fr my gal time. but i think as long as u got the letter u just follow wat is written in side lor. wat is ur date for purchase of books and uniform. maybe bec they alocation the same time with those current students.

Hi cymk,
They indicated the sch bkshop will be selling P1 bks, stationary, uniform, white track shoes & socks with on 23/11, 29/11, 7/12, 20/12 & 28/12. Said bklist will be given on orientation day. I wonder what will be covered during the briefing.

Big sq ex bk? Many? sure! If you have any other text bks or useful materials from your gal that you want to get rid of, can also pass to me. Ha Ha kiasu! Are U gg to ats to buy bks for your gals, mayb can meet u there

wanwan
ya the date is for all student to buy books. aiya the orientation think is sure boring wan lor.haha. i think is on how ur kids will progress with ats for the next 6yr. haha.

i hv given away all the pass yr books, unless u wan my P4 books.haha. i dont think text book ur boy can use, bec now a days moe always change. but exercise for chinese spelling and big sq i still hv, bec buy too many, ask my gal bring to sch to exchange she dont wan. as for the other i must go home and check wat i hv which can be use for ats student. i'll be going to sch to buy books. but not sure which day. bec book list for us is not out yet, should be the those date given to u.

Not sure why so cheap? The 2in1 is a 2hr programme once a week. The creative writing is 1½hr once a week. Its in the neighbourhood of hougang call cleveland education centre or something like that. no website to refer to. i saw a list for 2in1 at mavis tuition cost about $110+/mth. but its 1hr each subject lah.

My friend was recommended there by another friend who commented the creative writing is good and she say theres improvement in her son compo so she recommend to me...Now that both seems quite ok, i don;t know which is better option??

Hi Milo,
Could you share if they have other branches? Would like to find out more about creative writing and what do enrichment centres focus on for the creative writing class. Tks.

i'm not sure if they got any branch i'm calling them later around 5pm, my fiend say the person told her they are open from 5pm. you may call and check, no.63873633

had received booklist today, and no english textbooks. School ask us to go online to order the books so that easier can collect on that day. No class allocation but only group allocation for that day orientation.

<font face="Verdana">Hi Mummies,
This is my first time visiting this thread.
My eldest is entering P1 next year too. I was looking around for reviews on school bags and was led to SMH Forum.</font>

<font face="Verdana">Thanks Milo for the info.
Hopefully I can visit the upcoming road shows for a hands on.</font>

hi, i believe Pacific Book Stores handles couples of schools for their books. Those schools under their charge, they can log into their web, and place order through them and choose self-collection or delivery @ a charge of $7.80

Hi Noe, welcome to the group.

kao_smile2.gif
<font face="Verdana">Hi Natelleh, thank you for the welcome.
Ooh. $7.80 is cheaper than what Popular charges at $10.00 for home delivery.
My boy's school has theirs handled by Popular.
We received the booklist today and probably getting them on Monday at the school bookshop (we could only purchased some items there itself) if there ain't long queues.</font>

noe, no problem for sharing. Think all mummies are here to share.

Wan wan, i have bought the nivpak bag, its slightly heavier than the popkids one ($69.90) i checked out yesterday, went to the fair and great to find out that they are selling the bag at $39.95. After chatting with the sales person who show me how their bags shoulder straps are made which was better than some brand. Even my petite son carry also just nice.

I also went to check out one of the brand sold by robinson, i forgot the brand, that one, selling about $89.90 but haven;t put anything inside already can feel the weight, I thought the interior bands design in cross like our luggage bag was better than the nivpak straight across ones though. But comparing, i think its worth to get this nivpak.

The popkids ones are wrapped in plastic bag and no one to assist me so can't see the inside. can't compare much but this one comes with a open top concept, got good got bad.

<font face="Verdana">Hi Milo,
May I know where is the fair that you have been?
The fairs listed on the NIVPAK website are in December.
There seems to be broken links on the website as I could only view the page you cited.
Otherwise, it might be my PC security.</font>

Noe, you may want to email their sales dept [email protected] for more info on school roadshow around your area. I went to the one in Fernvale Pri this morning as the sales is only for 2 hr and they are not having any sroadshow at my son's school. I ever email them and the sales person told me that price at school roadshows are the cheapest. The NTUC roadshow price is $49.95 for bag.

The roadshow are not listed there have to email them to check.

<font face="Tahoma">
kao_smile2.gif
Hi Natelleh,
That's great.
We too have to return on 15 Nov to liase with the school bus drivers on the fees they charged as well as some miscellaneous administration stuff.
I am not too sure on how the programme's like in your son's school but we didn't know that we could buy their uniforms &amp; order the name tags on the day itself in cash.
You may like to stand by some cash at hand?
The 4 sets of uniforms we bought came up to about $110 and we have to collect from BiBi &amp; Baba at Shaw Centre only in December as they sew the name tags on.

Hi Milo,
There was an agent (NexWav) selling ergonomic bags ( Firefly) at my son's school.
Though the P requested them to price lower, it was still a whooping $79.00.
kao_dizzy.gif

And it's strictly no trolley bag rule in the school.

Thanks for the info.
I will drop them an email.
It will be great to be able to take a look at the product.</font>

Hi Milo,
Thanks for the info. I think the school bag you have gotten is so much cheaper than the promo price. I've emailed them to check on the next roadshows around my area. Hopefully I could go &amp; take a look soon.