(2015/03) March 2015 mummies

For me, during my #1, I delivered in kkh. Everything was so nice and wonderful. Nurses was so nice and encouraging. The best part was, everytime the nurses change shift (be it normal ward or labor ward) the whole team will come to u and introduce the nurses who are in charge of u. Very nice gesture. And another lagi best part was, after delivery, I wanted to go n pee, th3 nurse help me down, help me into thebtoilet lock the door together inside the toilet with me, help me pull down my pants n panty, keep ask me slowly slowly. Den change my pad and panty for me loh!!!! I felt so vad and keep saying sorry n thank u. But the nurse was like "oh no no, its my job." How sweet n nice~~~~~~ gynae Dr Khoo Chong Kiat was quite a young man like 40+. Quite handsome and very funky. So cool that hubby and I like him so much. Hubby colleague's wife many also delivered by him. So, if u want, u can go to Dr Khoo, @j-assy

Thanks carine for all your info shared! And the kind words abt Dr Khoo, I've just called KKH to change my gynae to Dr Khoo! Will be seeing Dr Khoo next month, hope all will be well and looking forward to having him as my gynae. :) I called to check what's the "ranking" and professionalism of the appointed gynae given to me upon my first appt and follow up other appts, the gynae is actually the lowest ranking kind, consider as new doctor. Faintz! Scare the hell outta me! Thankfully for ur advices! ♡

Hi J-assy, i personally don't have a good opinion of KKH even though it is supposed to be our country's best equipped hospital for maternity and paediatric care. I have only been to KKH once for a A&E maternity visit. The nurses were nice but the whole place and the gynae on duty were terrible!

My sil's friend also had a bad experience there. She appointed a specialist but on the day of her delivery of twins, the gynae was on overseas vacation. So they got some young doctors and the number of midwives and nurses multipled by two as she was delivering twins. But none of them guided her how to breathe and push. They were just standing around her bed and watching her as if she was some performer. It was a very traumatic experience for her until she dared not give birth anymore. By the way, she used to see a gynae at TMC who just left KKH. But when that gynae found out that she was carrying twins, he referred her to KKH claiming that he has no experience in handling twin pregnancy.

Oh dear.... that's really a bad experience. What's shocking is no experience handling twin pregnancy. Must be hard on ur sil's friend.. Thanks for ur opinions, will take note of it. :) I'm also afraid of having young doctors, which I was earlier appointed to, I didn't feel comfortable with him and dn trust his professionalism too. Hence a 2nd advice from Carine I decided to change to the gynae she recommends, hope all will be well. :)

@j-assy me too don't have any food cravings, I don't feel like eating when I see food. I also wondering if its normal since they said early pregnancy will always feel hungry. I am going to see Gynae on 1st August, made appt with Dr Tan Poh Kok at NEX. Recommended by my colleague. Heard his price is ok. I will check it out.
Hope when i visit him, Gynae will be able to deduct my bb.

Yeah, u might want to try home cooked food u will not feel turn off by the food. Outside selling those Cai-Fan very turn off to me. So usually my lunch will be home cook food packed to work :) I have my appt with KKH with no preference doctor ytd, but now have just changed my appt with a preferable Gynae for my follow up appts. Hope all will be well for you, dont worry too much yea. Or u can go for an earlier date to see a gynae if you want to at least feel at ease. :)

@j-assy me too don't have any food cravings, I don't feel like eating when I see food. I also wondering if its normal since they said early pregnancy will always feel hungry. I am going to see Gynae on 1st August, made appt with Dr Tan Poh Kok at NEX. Recommended by my colleague. Heard his price is ok. I will check it out.

Yeah, u might want to try home cooked food u will not feel turn off by the food. Outside selling those Cai-Fan very turn off to me. So usually my lunch will be home cook food packed to work :) I have my appt with KKH with no preference doctor yet, but now have just changed my appt with a preferable Gynae for my follow up appts. Hope all will be well for you, dont worry too much yea. Or u can go for an earlier date to see a gynae if you want to at least feel at ease. :)

If paying pte rate at govt clinic, one can choose the senior consultant or head of O&Gv division. then won't get the young drs for scans.

read quite a number of cases where ladies from pte clinics are told to go govt clinics for further screening diagnosis (e.g. twins, chromosome screenings or down syndrome test screenings). just wonder don't pte hospitals have the expertise and medical facilities to check on these or the medical costs will be too high?

If paying pte rate at govt clinic, one can choose the senior consultant or head of O&Gv division. then won't get the young drs for scans.

read quite a number of cases where ladies from pte clinics are told to go govt clinics for further screening diagnosis (e.g. twins, chromosome screenings or down syndrome test screenings). just wonder don't pte hospitals have the expertise and medical facilities to check on these or the medical costs will be too high?

the pte hospitals are not as fully equipped as KKH. sometimes knowing that the baby/babies will come out pre-term, the docs at the pte clinics will also advise to transfer to KKH as the medical costs will be much lower with the subsidy.

it's a shame that KKH is not able to keep the really good docs though it has the best equipment in this country.

Hi all Marvelous mummies,
Used 2 guardian test kits and 2 Predictors last week. Predictors turned out negative but Guardian got faint line. So I tested using clear blue digital on Monday, and it's positive!
According to internet, Edd 24/03/2015 (same as my birthday!) :)
It's my #1, and i am totally clueless if i should go for gynae now. (Or can I see a GP to confirm pregnancy?)

Hello! Just went to the gynae to cfm..Calculated online my EDD to be 5 Mar but Dr said 16 Mar.

1st pregnancy and v excited! Very lethargic, totally lost my appetite and my sense of smell is superb ! The lifts, stuffy room, air freshener I used previously all made me want to puke. =(

Anyone like me ?

I rather be hungry...I really want to eat sashimi but was cautioned against it. Drools.But I doubt I will eat it all.For now whatever food I ate, I will stop after a few mouths.

Eh sorry, questions I want to ask you Mummies.
When you all found out you are positive and book a appt with the Gynae do you all take MC? Will the Gynae give you MC?
Because I booked an appt with my Gynae (1st time) on a Friday night (next week) and wondering can I report sick at work and ask the Gynae for a MC.

However, the time of appt is stated inside mc or time chit. hence it is not advisable not to report for work in daytime and get mc for an evening appt (unless one tells the boss that she is not feeling well before appt)

Hello! Just went to the gynae to cfm..Calculated online my EDD to be 5 Mar but Dr said 16 Mar.

1st pregnancy and v excited! Very lethargic, totally lost my appetite and my sense of smell is superb ! The lifts, stuffy room, air freshener I used previously all made me want to puke. =(

Anyone like me ?

Feels nausea in recent days. And also feel a little bitter always, have no appetite for any food.

I rather be hungry...I really want to eat sashimi but was cautioned against it. Drools.But I doubt I will eat it all.For now whatever food I ate, I will stop after a few mouths.

Congrats to you... Please no raw food allow... And have a balance healthy food...

Eh sorry, questions I want to ask you Mummies.
When you all found out you are positive and book a appt with the Gynae do you all take MC? Will the Gynae give you MC?
Because I booked an appt with my Gynae (1st time) on a Friday night (next week) and wondering can I report sick at work and ask the Gynae for a MC.

My dr asked if I needed a MC.

Thanks carine for all your info shared! And the kind words abt Dr Khoo, I've just called KKH to change my gynae to Dr Khoo! Will be seeing Dr Khoo next month, hope all will be well and looking forward to having him as my gynae. :) I called to check what's the "ranking" and professionalism of the appointed gynae given to me upon my first appt and follow up other appts, the gynae is actually the lowest ranking kind, consider as new doctor. Faintz! Scare the hell outta me! Thankfully for ur advices! ♡

Oooh. Hahahah! I misread ur msg, tot Dr Khoo was the lowest. Lolz!!! No worries. You will definitely like Dr Khoo. Eh, hope we both wont seh at the most time sia! Later Dr Khoo boh eng.

Hi all, I'm planning to look for Dr KT Tan in kkh... Apparently there r many reviews about her too...it's either v good or v bad... Lol...reason being she is a doc with not much words... She literally can snap u off if u r asking too much questions... M her consultation r v short.. Hence those mummies who needs extra TLC n prefer more caring words from Gynae, she is not the one.

However I must say that she is a very skillful doctor & ESP those patients which more complicated cases, she will take extra care of you. I used to work in kkh & a lot of nurses go to her for child birth... All will tell u that u r in good hands if u r under her but dun expect loving words from her.

For my case I may be having twins n I'm 36 too...hence I foresee complications (touchwood). So I rather go to KT Tan as I know that I will b in good hands rather than some friendly Gynae who might not be as skillful as her. For her, she could have easily come out for private practice for more money but she didn't. For your info too, though her reviews can b extreme but her patients r a lot too. Hence I suggest the high risk mummies to consider her

Experience brown spotting today, kinda worried so google bout it.
Unless it's red or pink spotting then need to be alarm.
Not sure if I should go to gynea as they said they only accept apt 8weeks onwards..
Is this normal?

Experience brown spotting today, kinda worried so google bout it.
Unless it's red or pink spotting then need to be alarm.
Not sure if I should go to gynea as they said they only accept apt 8weeks onwards..
Is this normal?

If it's not a lot then probably implantation? I have that too but very faint and just few drops.. Try not to walk ard too much if possible take mc?

Not sure what's the norm.. I visited 6 wks.. Called two diff gynaes both give me same date previously.. If u are worried might want to call in and ask if you can walk in or find another gynae or gp

Hi all, I'm planning to look for Dr KT Tan in kkh... Apparently there r many reviews about her too...it's either v good or v bad... Lol...reason being she is a doc with not much words... She literally can snap u off if u r asking too much questions... M her consultation r v short.. Hence those mummies who needs extra TLC n prefer more caring words from Gynae, she is not the one.

However I must say that she is a very skillful doctor & ESP those patients which more complicated cases, she will take extra care of you. I used to work in kkh & a lot of nurses go to her for child birth... All will tell u that u r in good hands if u r under her but dun expect loving words from her.

For my case I may be having twins n I'm 36 too...hence I foresee complications (touchwood). So I rather go to KT Tan as I know that I will b in good hands rather than some friendly Gynae who might not be as skillful as her. For her, she could have easily come out for private practice for more money but she didn't. For your info too, though her reviews can b extreme but her patients r a lot too. Hence I suggest the high risk mummies to consider her

Can I check how is her price like?

lets chat! Please keep me awake. Lolz! Ok, let's talk about baby names. Any idea? For me, few days before I found out I'm pregnant, hubby and I already compromise with #2 bb name. If girl we will call her Meegan (Cuz my first girl name is Mavise, so wanted something near jiejie name if is a girl.) if boy, we will name him Ruphael (Ru-fell). =)

I'm already counting down to lunchtime so that I can have a good lunch and take a nap before surviving the afternoon at work.

me too so bored at work. Now waiting for days to pass quickly for my gynae scan on 1st Aug.
Can't wait to confirm I am pregnant too so I can plan my wedding banquet quickly before my tummy grows bigger.

Weird, why I went to my GP to confirm pregnancy, she didn't want to take urine test or blood test to confirm.
But I am now taking precaution, like almost every 2-3 days I will take home pregnancy test or monitor if I have any spotting.

I playing ard with some names too! V tempted to start buying baby stuff.but I want to be certain of gender..don't want yellow or green haha!

hii all :) my edd is early march 2015
has everybody here found confinement nanny?
pretty expensive rate ehh? every year increase about $100 ++ o_O
feels like the new baby bonus is nvr enuf haha!!:p

how's everyone doing, 1 more day to long weekend!!

finally i am back in here again, after having my password reset..haha
Z2, my email [email protected]
Can you add me to the Fb closed group chat, thank you.

Yanqiu,
I be keen in the order, when's the closing date. Will try to put in order soon.
I have outgrown most of my clothes, even dresses fit for 5mths last preg, seems to be showing my bump very distinctively. n my butt expanded so much i feel.

hii all :) my edd is early march 2015
has everybody here found confinement nanny?
pretty expensive rate ehh? every year increase about $100 ++ o_O
feels like the new baby bonus is nvr enuf haha!!:p
hihi...u found? i check one out, abt $2600 but that is non-cny price.
my ex-confinement aunt will charge double if it +/- 10days CNY
better to confirm early, bbb

my gynae did not want to reveal EDD during my 4th week scan ....after i get to know next week, will have to start scouting le.

me too so bored at work. Now waiting for days to pass quickly for my gynae scan on 1st Aug.
Can't wait to confirm I am pregnant too so I can plan my wedding banquet quickly before my tummy grows bigger.

Weird, why I went to my GP to confirm pregnancy, she didn't want to take urine test or blood test to confirm.
But I am now taking precaution, like almost every 2-3 days I will take home pregnancy test or monitor if I have any spotting.
snowgirl 22, oh..how come? or you can go gynae to have bloodtest or scan done. some at 4weeks plus, can see bb sac le.
are you on folic acid or duphaston? Good to start folic acid early

I went to my gynae at week 5 coz was suppose to b there for Pap smear. But bb was too small so he asked me to go back on week 6 to confirm but based on the scan I Shld b week 7. Which the gynae ask me to go back again 2 weeks later coz of my spotting & to redetermine the edd.
Am on mc for a week and gynae told me not to carry my #1. But can't avoid coz hubby is travellin this week n m getting more tiring w this pregnancy.

Any mommies w kids plan to go holidays soon?
Seems like my holiday plans r being shelved again :(
Was suppose to go turkey for holidays in nov 2012 but preggie w spotting. Now nov 2014 want to travel gotta postpone plans again. Sob.

Can also add me in the closed grp too. [email protected]

@Sunneeboy Oh, my GP has ultrasound so she straight away scan instead but can't see anything.
She gave me folic acid to eat temporary. Ask me to scan again in 2 weeks time and take a home pregnancy test again to confirm.
So since many mummies advise here to straight away see a gynae to confirm, therefore I decided to go to gynae instead of going back to my GP.
Dunno whether I am pregnant so just take folic acid first.

usually, the stomach ultrasound can't really scan anything during the 1st trimester. have to do vagina scan.

my gynae is the kiasu and kiasi type. he doesn't allow his patients to go on overseas holidays and even business trips! was thinking of staycations but hubby is against the idea as he feels that we may not get "safe" rooms with no supernatural stuff.

lets chat! Please keep me awake. Lolz! Ok, let's talk about baby names. Any idea? For me, few days before I found out I'm pregnant, hubby and I already compromise with #2 bb name. If girl we will call her Meegan (Cuz my first girl name is Mavise, so wanted something near jiejie name if is a girl.) if boy, we will name him Ruphael (Ru-fell). =)
Why u like to chat here n not FB? Hehe

For me, my no.1 name starts with Z so this no.2 name will also starts with Z that's why my bick Z2 wahaha but it's v diff to find names starting with Z!

how's everyone doing, 1 more day to long weekend!!

finally i am back in here again, after having my password reset..haha
Z2, my email [email protected]
Can you add me to the Fb closed group chat, thank you.

Yanqiu,
I be keen in the order, when's the closing date. Will try to put in order soon.
I have outgrown most of my clothes, even dresses fit for 5mths last preg, seems to be showing my bump very distinctively. n my butt expanded so much i feel.
Hi, can you PM me your age, baby no. & edd, gynae & where u gg to deliver, n where you stay in sg (north, south, east or west)? Then I send u email invite n add u. Tks :)

hihi...u found? i check one out, abt $2600 but that is non-cny price.
my ex-confinement aunt will charge double if it +/- 10days CNY
better to confirm early, bbb

my gynae did not want to reveal EDD during my 4th week scan ....after i get to know next week, will have to start scouting le.
My CL charging me 2.4k. Thinking if I wana do 1 mth, 40 days or 2 mths..,

@Sunneeboy Oh, my GP has ultrasound so she straight away scan instead but can't see anything.
She gave me folic acid to eat temporary. Ask me to scan again in 2 weeks time and take a home pregnancy test again to confirm.
So since many mummies advise here to straight away see a gynae to confirm, therefore I decided to go to gynae instead of going back to my GP.
Dunno whether I am pregnant so just take folic acid first.
Actually while ttc shld start taking folic Liao not wait till preg

Annpanda, can you PM me your age, baby no. & edd, gynae & where u gg to deliver, n where you stay in sg (north, south, east or west)? Then I send u email invite n add u. Tks :)

usually, the stomach ultrasound can't really scan anything during the 1st trimester. have to do vagina scan.

my gynae is the kiasu and kiasi type. he doesn't allow his patients to go on overseas holidays and even business trips! was thinking of staycations but hubby is against the idea as he feels that we may not get "safe" rooms with no supernatural stuff.
I had never done v scan. My gynae u scan was q clear I think I cld see my baby in T1 for my no.1 preg :)

For my no.1, I went baby moon in T2. After baby born, we brought him for overseas hols when he was 6mo n 14mo. We planning to go again end of this year. Now waiting for 1st gyn visit, hope everything ok then start planning.

Wow Z2. I ought to travel when she's younger. Though I tried goin on short trips to batam n malacca end up engorged n gotta express. :( tats y can't hv a good holiday. Even now I hv to postpone all my biz trips coz gynae dun allow. My first pregnancy I had few spotting encounters n got to hv bed rest. Hopefully my next gynae visit he can clear me to travel :)

feel like lazing around in some thai resort but know that can't go lah. sigh.
I was planning to go Phuket this wkend but preg so discarded plan... There's a new como resort at Phuket *drool*

mummies, don't you find it very tiring to bring the LO along for overseas holidays? we brought our #1 to taiwan when he was 16 mths old. we even begged and sponsored my parents to come along to help babysit as they had been to taiwan many times. ended up my parents also surrendered after the trip! before reaching the destination on the plane, we were already so tired as my #1 was very restless and wanted to move around. i didn't have engorgement problem and didn't have to express since i let him direct latched on. so that was the only convenience of able to direct latch on.

Wow Z2. I ought to travel when she's younger. Though I tried goin on short trips to batam n malacca end up engorged n gotta express. :( tats y can't hv a good holiday. Even now I hv to postpone all my biz trips coz gynae dun allow. My first pregnancy I had few spotting encounters n got to hv bed rest. Hopefully my next gynae visit he can clear me to travel :)
I only bf for 4 mths. The trip when he was 6mo was easier just need to bring fm. Then last year I wana ttc for horse bb but my job requires me to travel every other mth n I was often away for 1 to 2wks each time. I became a Skype mommy n my boy grew closer to daddy. Now I'm preg, my boss exempts me from all travelling...

mummies, don't you find it very tiring to bring the LO along for overseas holidays? we brought our #1 to taiwan when he was 16 mths old. we even begged and sponsored my parents to come along to help babysit as they had been to taiwan many times. ended up my parents also surrendered after the trip! before reaching the destination on the plane, we were already so tired as my #1 was very restless and wanted to move around. i didn't have engorgement problem and didn't have to express since i let him direct latched on. so that was the only convenience of able to direct latch on.
No leh. My hb n I loved bringing our boy n it's always trois a ménage lol

my current job doesn't require me to travel after i told my boss my plans to start a family. my hubby used to travel a lot and he realised that our son became more distant to him. so he also cuts down on his business travels after telling the boss.

Why u like to chat here n not FB? Hehe

For me, my no.1 name starts with Z so this no.2 name will also starts with Z that's why my bick Z2 wahaha but it's v diff to find names starting with Z!

Zachary is nice! Haha. Bcuz if FB, with office computer, boss can see. SMH at least not so bad. Lolz!