Tiong baru/telok blangah/bt merah 2006-2007 babies n mummies

mist n jessica
ya ok to come to my place on 20 oct, not come up to my house, as its is terribly messy n cramped with junk. But u can swim at the pool and it has nice garden n lots of seats for us to sit around. ya come at around 4pm, where the weather will be nice

mist
ya i will be mil of 2 dil.. haha..hard to imagine leh. Next time i must treat my dil nicely! Sigh, dunno whether i will have any daughters or not. scally try 3rd one also son.

jessica
i am sure u want to spend time with shannon. just do wat ur heart feels, at most be a bit thrifty.

hi jessica,

wah i think i m confuse, i think i need to re-read a more times to catch it. hahaha cos I am not a SAHM so i m not very good in all these stuffs, aiyoh must learn from mummies here la.

Hi piggydamien,

ooh! which part u r confuse? about the class or others?

Hi Esther,

Shannon needs to wear swimsuit or not or just a top with swim diaper on, can?

who is luvbabe? Oh my gosh must be v heartpain to see ur son stitches!

Esther: Congrats on ur 2nd prince! They can kick soccer together! hee!

Piggdamien: My son attended Kindermusik for 1 term before. He is 32mths now. He attended tis yr around May. Not bad i find let them play and socialise abit.

jessica
no need to wear swimsuit, just a top n swim diaper will do.

bless
thks.. but i think 2 boys will keep me super bzz lor..

jessica,

i am not familiar with those enrichment classes what they do, like the right brain thingy, then the dot and the ESP programme, i m not familiar loh. but nevermind i try to find out more from the web or something. I only know phonics thats is bcos my colleague told me.

Piggydamien
If I remember correctly, Angela (one of the mummies here) signed up her boy for Kindermusik..maybe you can arrange to go with her.

Jessica
WOW...sounds like you did a thorough research on all the 3 right-brained schools..you went for their preview talks izzit? MInd to share with us what is the price difference between SM and LNT?

jessica
how much is littleneurotree? is it just once a week?
and as spring asked, is the price difference very great between this and shichida?

Am new here, due early december, currently putting up at Jalan Membina, anyone know any babysitter around this area? Am looking for one starting early march.....anyone can help?

am happy to find this thread so active
.....i didn't chance upon this thread, i was introduced to this thread by Jessica - hi jessica!

hope u guys r ok with a new member joining the thread

i'm a SAHM with a 10.5 mths baby gal, staying at queenstown
.....hope it's near enough to tiong bahru/telok blangah/bt merah to join this thread

piggydamien,
i had 2 trial classes (on fridays) at kindermusik already.....i kind of like it as i find it more relaxed than other classes & my girl likes music.....i think it's also a gd place for her to "socialise" abit else, it's juz me & her everyday!.....so boring for her :p

Hi Springdance, Isabelle & Piggydamien,

Abt righ-brain programme...it's really up to individual parents whether they believe or not. Some parents feel they are too young and prefers to sign them up on something related to play or arts & crafts or solely for socialising purpose. As for me....don't hv these luxury to pay for play ah! Unless like gogobambini or fidgets...cheap ma!

Sorry a bit long winded here....i do flash my girl when she was little as i bought 2nd hand Glenn Doman cards and she likes those right-brain video like brainy baby hence felt it is a righ path i do sign her up related to righ-brain. Initially did think of "baby jumper gym" as they do practice GD method but their class too far from my place --- bt batok CDANS club.
About Schichida cost...hmmm...learn that Mink & Elaine signed their kiddos there...if i m not wrong...term fee abt $800 + $170 (for parents to attend course to teach kid) + material cost + membership cost = slightly over $1K upfront lor.
For LNT cost $550 for weekend, $600 for weekend, annual membership fee $50. Upfront i pay $600 as i wanted weekday (cheaper also). For Igenius, not sure how much, but read from elsewhere, can be more x than Schichida. Think Angela did sign her boy. Maybe she can tell more.
LNT is a once a week, 1hr class (just nice) not too long.

Hi Springdance,

I didn't attend the preview talk as read from elsewhere they commented that the talk is just convince u to sign up..said how good/impt to use righ-brain. As i already more or less want to sign up...hence didn't attend as that time their preview talk at TPY Safra club too far...n on weekend...lazy to go to attend just for 1hr.

Hi Serena,

Finally "seen" u here! Do chat more here, ya? Great to hear yr girl enjoy the kindermusik class. Enjoy trip trip to Bintan. U bought the suntan lotion for yr girl liao?

Hi jessica,
no, haven't buy yet...but may do it later in the afternoon, my MIL will be here, so will go when my girl is asleep

i also thot of baby jumper gym...but yes, it's too far from our place!

Hi Serena,

U too thought of BJG? ya lor, too far and not near MRT...hv to take a feeder bus
and they only hv it on weekend for babies/toddlers as weekday is for older kids like 2.5/3yrs old onwards for 1/2 day course
. Hence, LNT is a preferred choice as they now expanded and hv several branches. Their main branch is @bugis/beach rd which is quite near to my plc

thanks jessica for the cost fee. hmmm ... will start to do a little bit of homework on these enrichment classes.

regarding sun tan lotion for baby...i totally forgot about it. may I know what brand to buy? where to buy?

hi serena,

I see you here as well....hehehe. me and serena so coincident going to bintan this weekend. so we might meet up there...hehe

hi serena,

oh so coincident you also sign up for trial class for kindermusik. so are you going to sign up for their 8 classes? I sign up tomorrow is because I will be on leave so I m free to bring my son to try it out. But quite sad, I need to go back to office for meeting and I told my boss is it ok if I attend I have to bring my son along leh. She said ok. Hmmmm....

piggydamien,
ya, i'm going to sign up for their package.....but will only do so next fri coz i'm not attending their class tomorrow
.....well, at least ur boss is understanding enough to let u bring ur kid along

as for sun block, i saw one type at great world city but forgot the brand, otherwise i will buy banana boat baby block (available at guardian)....me also quite clueless abt baby sun block :p.....maybe other mummies have better suggestions

its actually a very important meeting, my boss told me those on leave tomorrow already cancelled their leave. But I said I cannot because I don't have anyone to look after my son, not even for 30 minutes, if the company don't mind I bring my son I will bring loh. But I scare also don't know if my son will disturb i.e cry, cranky. Aiyoh must make sure feed full full before I come. The best is hope my son is sleeping during that time.

piggydamien,
ya, feed full full is the best bet and after a full meal, hope he will sleep lor....alternatively, can bring one or two of his fav. toys

esther, jessica, mist
yes yes, i wanna join the swim date... so confirmed on 20 oct 4pm hor...
see u gals then... but u all gotta bear with my boy's crying most definitely cos is his first time...hahaha.. so far we didn't bring him for swim before yet...oops...

esther,
so i just tell ur security i going to the pool har?? ya can collect my honey also...cant wait to try... initially wanted to go ur place this wk... but my monthly good fren is here...so i feel super tired...

nana, jessica , mist
swimdate gathering at esther's place on 20 oct, 4pm. so see u all next monday!

nana
ya just tell security u coming to Blk 3, then head straight for the pool.Or u can call me when u reach.

jessica
aiyo... i hear u taking abt LNT, ialso feel like bringing randal there to try out

serena, piggydamien
welcome, hope u all enjoy chatting here, and do come by more often to chat. We mummies here are a friendlly lot!

piggydamien
bring ur son for the office meeting? Hmm, if i were you, i dunno if i will do that, imagine at the meeting room, he suddenly turns cranky or misbehaves.. oh no!

bobo,
welcome to this thread!

Bless,
luvbabe is luvkid and is also Angela lah.... Luis fell and yes, he is definitely feeling much better. Hope he recovers in time and I am also hoping to take leave next Mon, so tat I can join Esther, Jessica, Mist, Nana and all for the swim date at Esther's place. Long story on why my former nickname was suspended. Tell you more about it when I see you all

Jessica,
I can fully understand where you are coming from especially making the decision to care for your girl full-time. Nothing compares to a mummy personally caring for their own child.

piggydamien,
I had called Kindermusik up and enquire and had actually gone for one of their trials. My boy loves the drum and his inclination to music is very strong. After the trial, he told me he like it very much. However, I was told to send him for another trial in the Tanglin studio as the trial he attended is at another location. Already enquired but no time to register yet. As I am working, I need to find an available slot for the weekend.

Spring,
Will you be interested to bring J to the Kindermusik class too?

Thanks for your concern about my boy's fall. Looks like I have missed out quite a lot from this forum and am happy to see active participation in this thread again. Dunno what gel the doc used on my boy. He said this is to speed up the recovery process, in addition to the stitches. A little 0.15ml cost $55 but I really don't care about the price lah. Most importantly is that he can recover quickly, which the doc also said he will coz he is still growing (as a baby).

By the way, I met Mink, her girl and hb for breakfast at Mac TB last Sun and it was a great catch up.

Esther,
I will also let you know (sms you) if I can make it for the swim date. That's providing if Luis' wound right above his eyebrow must have healed. We will be going to the doc on Friday for a review.

Serena,
For sunblock, I strongly recommend the Mustela brand (SPF 50), which is great for babies.

luvbabe,
oh, u are angela.... hehehe... am confused.

Nana,
dun worry, it's also my boy's "virgin dip" ... hehehe... cos every time when i wanna bring for swim, the weather is terrible or he's sick. in fact, he has abit of cough now, dun know if he can go for the dip also... maybe a fast one. ;p

mist, yeah....

i brought my boy to doc yesterday and it seems that his wound is not fully healed. Doc's comment is healing well. Need to visit the doc again on Monday. So, if he is fine, then only will I be able to join for the swim date. Will keep you all posted.

Have a great weekend!

My lil angel has turned into a lil monster!

Mummies, I am feeling vexed cos my lil angel has turned into a lil monster! He will have like 10 outbursts in a single day, he throws tantrums, he screams when he doesn't get his way!!
He has reached the terrible 2 stage, cos december is his 2 yr old birthday!!
And it doesnt help that I am preggy now, I lose my cool easier then before...
ANy of u also face this?

luvbabe, hope your son is better.

regarding the job, i have not started yet, but i am covering HR mkt. maybe once i have started, you can send me your resume once i get my wrk email ya

esther, i read some where the key is to ignore them, the slightest bit of reaction they get from us is gonna reinforce their behaviour, and sometimes the behaviour is gonna worsen cus they think they have not tried hard enough, but after reaching the peak, the tantrum starts to tone down after not giving them any attention, but of course easier said than done. dylan screams too, then he pretends to gag and choke, ....argh. sometimes he puts his head backwards, ---dangerous cus can hit the grd. other than that, i ignore that fella.

Hi Esther,

just talking about it, my HB ask me to read a recent article about terror @ 2yrs old. My girl now 15mths shows a sign already recently. Aiyo..hate it, man! Me too getting bad temper. Can understand how you feel esp. u'r preggie. If u r vexed, u need to de-stree yourself like going out shpg alone to cool down, ya? Heard it is a phrase and will pass but really hope will not be. C u tmr for swimdate!

Angela
I decided on Busy Buds to sign my boy up instead...so far, he DUN enjoy it except for puppet play part....hahah...but I still insist on joining coz I wanna let him get use to a environment with other kids & adults. :p

Elaine
My boy has got the exact "symptoms" as Dylan...scream & cry till like he's gonna vomit & choke big time...face all red! He';; do it till he gets his way!

Hey...is today your first day of work? Let us know how is it ya when you are "convenient" to come online.

Esther/ Jessica/ Nana
Hope you & your kiddoa enjoy the swimdate todate!

Looks like today is gonna be QUIET on the thread here....

I am back from bintan and now back to work. me and serena met in bintan over the weekend. her daughter is so smiley and cute.

hi ester,

yeah I was thinking its not nice to bring baby back since its a important meeting wat if baby suddenly screamed. So I did not go back to office.

hi luvbabe,

take care.

hi luvbabe,

last friday I was on leave so I brought my son for the trial class at Kindermusik, Tanglin Mall. I think I need to go for another trial class because he was crying during last friday class. But I am working and they told me for weekend classes I have to be on waiting list. My son loves the drum too.

Esther, keep your cool... At one stage, Luis also behaves like a lil monster, demanding everything with "I want ......". Like what Jessica said, many tell me that this is a passing phase and be assertive at all times. I couldn't take leave today so am back to work, coz there is an impt meeting. Therefore, won't be able to join the mummies for the swimdate at your place liao.. Enjoy.

elaine,
thanks much, think the wound on Luis is getting better coz he feels itchy. Was told that if he feels itchy, this means that the wound is healing.

Yes, once you've settled in, please let me know. I will send my CV to you.

piggydamien,
Yeah, I am also looking for weekend classes. Was told 2 weeks ago that there were 1 slot each on a Sat and a Sun. Since you were put on waitlist, this prob meant that they had all been taken up then. My boy loves the drum very, very much too to the extend that he must play on it everyday without fail. How old is your boy?

esther,
all kids go through this stage. my ah boy will knock his head on the floor if he doesn't get his way....

seeya later, and we can chat more... later probably not swimming liao, me hv menses! so cannot swim w my boy....

Piggydamien,
Wow, that's nice. My boy also learnt how to play the drum when he was just about 8/9 months old. He is currently 2YO and he still loves it.

LUVbabe, jessica, mist
ok i hope this monster stage pass soon. I will ignore hin when he is throwing temper or scold him sternly.

luvbabe,
thanks for the recommendation on the sun block.....my baby uses mustela for body wash

piggydamien,
it was nice meeting u in Bintan
.....hope u guys had a good rest on sunday.....Hannah was so tired when she came back coz she didn't really have gd naps there

Hi Esther,

Thanks for letting us use your swimming pool. Heng ah! Shannon begins to like swimming. Will book u n randal for swimdate often.

Hi Mist,

aiya...to bad didn't manage to talk to u more as my girl's dinner time is up and she's tired after swimming.

Hi Nana,

Hope u can join us in the next swimdate. How's ryan now?

Hi Serenan & piggydamien,

how was the bintan trip? is it a baby-friendly environment? What type of food u gave to yr baby to eat since they are on semi-solid food, right?

Piggydamien,
Yes, he seems to like music very much and loves to play on musical instruments. He had since moved on from drums, to electric guitar, shakers, keyboard, etc. In addition to drums, he is also very much into lion dance and dragon dance performances.

Serena,
My pleasure. I find Mustela products very good. My boy also uses the body wash, as well as the barrier cream (for rash).

Jessica, Mist, Esther,
Guess you all have a good time at Esther's place. I also look forward to joining you all for swim dates.

Hello

Oh so u r Angela! Last time jovan was also like ur son, love instruments and loves to dance around with music. But his interest is short term, after we bought the toy piano and guitar, play a few days then he sian liao! Now only like his guns, got 5-6 guns at home!!

esther: welcome to the terrible 2! Jovan used to "boo" and scream when he reach that stage. Even now, small thing also cry and talk v fiercely. I scolded and cane him. So now most of the time at my count of 1, 2 before i say 3, he will stop his act already! (And he even ask me to say 3!) Really must disciple them b4 they turn worse.

jessica,
bintan was great
though will be more relaxed if only me & hubby :p.....nirwana hotel is quite baby-friendly - with baby pool, no prob with stroller etc.....as for food, it was cereal & jarred food...but after a while, baby got sian with the food & didn't eat too much....

luvbabe,
the barrier cream is meant for wat kind of rash? my baby has a bit of heat rash, can use?

serena,

yeah it was tiring trip for my son, he slept like a log on sunday night 10pm (did not wake up for any night feed) and slept till 10am the next morning.

luvbabe,
wah your son into lion dance. i want to enrol him in the kindermusik but i do not have time so lets see how. Did you attend any classes before at gymboree? I read gymboree also have similar classes as kindermusik.

can i check if any of your kids are afraid to go in to water? how did you overcome?

serena

welcm
hope to chat with u often

piggydamien

u cn try this out n hope it wrks for u too : Get some new colorful water toys n oni produce it when u r at the pool/ tub. Playing with the new toys will distract them frm being in the water

re rt brain class
IMHO they r all roughly the same =P. my girl is in SM. they teach esp, mem link, spd read, various lang like korean, french, jap, spanish etc. neuro tree used to be called Trio ( they only teach 3 lang therefore their name). they hv a few franchises outlets nw (open last mth) so more accessible locations to choose frm. they r more activity based n slower paced than SM. u cn ask for trial class to help u decide (old price was $100 for 3 lessons , nt sure got change). hths

angela

pls gv luis big hugs . hope he is fully recvr nw

bless

u caned jovan? i hvnt caned my girl yet tho' she has ever gotten spanked =P. but i think my heart was more pain than her butt.

esther

congrats , 2 princes! agree with isabelle, hw the sons treats u depends on the wives. But think for u, shld be no problm to train them la. Congrats again!

hi jessica

bintan is quite baby friendly. Agreed with Serena if its just hubby and me it will be more relaxing. With baby is abut tiring. Most of the time I giving cereal, fruits and bread.Didn't bring my steriliser there, hahaha... just use warm boiled water to rinse.