Thyroid causes infertility?

<font color="aa00aa">Ling, can I ask which doc/dept I should book an appointment with if I want to run an antibodies (NK etc) test? TIA</font>

Hi yoti,

Glad that your condition is controlled now

The same question crossed my mind too, but my own reasoning was the effect of PTU taken before blood test should not have such quick impact in the blood stream. I am still on 4 pills a day and usually taking it after i settled my kids in the late morning and in one dose (else I might forget once I get busy again later in the day and GP said it's ok)

Not to get too concerned with your thyroid now and enjoy your pregnancy to the fullest! Cheers!

Hi Yoti,

I have asked my Endo before on taking medication before bloodtest and he also told me it will not affect the blood test results.

It is good to hear that your thyroid readings has more or less stablised and medication reduced. You shd be able to go off medication soon. Enjoy and feel your baby kicking

In fact, my gynae/ endo told me that I can take anything and everything, but in moderation. No need to go on any strict diet requirements as my pregnancies did not give me any problems at all.

Hi Cactusnah,

No pblm. I always felt that I am very fortunate to be proud mummy of 2 daughters despite my condition and I wish that you all can be 1 too. Jia You

Hi Cactusnah,Bin &amp; Snowball,

Thank you all for your reply. It seems like we have the same doubt for our condition. You girls (esp those given birth) are great - always so prompt on the forum and willingly to share your experience. I really appreciate that cos you girls "attended" to my doubts and this is very impt wen ones is really down. Thank you once again.

Cactusnah:My next appt with my gynae is 1 month later (end of Oct). I have just done my Oscar test. Now awaiting for my detailed scan ard Nov. Yes, shld be able to know the gender of the baby soon - but I am still ok cos after all I hope for a healthy and normal baby with my condition. Just hope this will be a smooth ones.

Bin,
Oic...So you take 4 pills at one go?? Yes, its not easy when you have children...For my case, I got very tired when waiting to take my medicine at night...I dozed off a few times and hubby has to wake me up for my tablet. Feeling is bad
I also try to wake up as early as I can to take my PTU cos I do not want the hrs interval to be to short for another dose as I do not want to affect my baby too much...I am just being too paranoid...Yes, will try to enjoy my pregnancy even though sometimes will still have negative thoughts now and then.

Snowball,
Think I shld be able to enjoy my baby kicking ard 5 months..Will look forward to that..
For medication wise, think not possible to go off as my gynae mentioned that most likely need to take throughout but maybe at a lower dosage...For my diet, I have tried not to take seafoods due to iodine... Yes feel proud of you as well despite our condition....

Hi yoti, do not worry that ptu can harm the baby.. the first time, i stop my ptu when pregnant, and i had miscarriage..this round, i faitfully take my ptu when my thyroid recur during pregnancy and i just delivered my girl, all test on her thyroid is ok

Hi BBtigger,

Thank you for the info. Congrats on your new born baby.

Kindly check u take your PTU throughout yr pregnancy? Is your dosage high?

Hi yoti, i took 1 tablet as my level not that high. yes, i took throughout my pregnancy. even when my thyroid is in normal range at the last stage of pregnancy, i took half tablet. only when abt a mth before delivery, my doc ask me to stop. once delivered, i continued.

We had got the report, my hubby's sperm quality and quantity are no good. Always very concern about my thyroid may cause infertility, never ever crossed my mind that there is other underlying problem. Think I have to go other threads to find some TCM recipes for him.

Good luck to all!! :D

Hi Princessleopard,

My hb too have sperm quality and qty problem. KK endo recommended that he take Swissoats which he took for about 1yr. You can try this. Its available in Pharmacies.

Hi Princessleopard,

Yes, ard a year. Actually, we nearly went on to try IVF after discussing with the gynae from KK (just before I knew I have hyperthyroid). We put off the plan when I was diagnosed with hyperthyroid.

Hi Snowball,

U mean when we have thyroid, its not advisable to go for IVF? At first we thought if its just quantity no good, we can still go for IUI, but now its both quality &amp; quantity poor.
Thanks for sharing. I will let him try the supplement. :D

Hi Princessleopard,

I was advised by Company GP to concentrate on treatment for my thyroid 1st. Hence, we decided to put off the IVF planning.

Initially, KKH also recommended that we do IUI, that is Y, hb go for tests. That is Y we got to know that he also got pblm. End up, he also need to C Endologist whom recommended that he take this Swissoats to help improve the sperm quality and qty.

To us, its really blessing in disguise that we are given 2 kids without any IUI/ IVF. We are very thankful for that

Hi Snowball,

It is indeed blessing in disguise to have kids the natural way!! Will ask him to take right away. Hope to have good news soon. You make me feel hopeful again!! Thanks!

hi all, my report oso says that my TSH level is slightly higher than normal. gynae ask me to get it recheck, can I go to any GP to ask for re-check?

sleepygal: U can do the thyroid function test in any GP or polyclinic. But i wld suggest u go to a polyclinic. (touchwood) In case, u need to be be referred to a specialist, u'll be charged under subsidised rate if u are referred by polyclinic instead of private rate if referred to by a GP. Do u have any symptoms? What made yr dr carry out the TSH test? Hopefully yr re-test result turns out normal. Take care!

hi catusnah, thanks for the advise. i went for pre-preg check at a gynae and the results was bad so my gynae actually asked me to re-test but gave me an option whether want to continue wif her and she refer to specialist in Glenagles or go to polyclinic to take a referal letter to go KKH under subsidize rate.

i have no symptoms at all. the level is slightly higher than normal. gynae says mayb is becos of stress leads to my higher prolactin and lead to thyroid issue.

sleepygal: Yes, stress is one major factor that leads to thyroid condition. To ease yr mind, it's best to go for the blood test soon so that u know what's the next course of action, if nec.

Hi Sleepygal,

My hyperthyroid also attacked me notknowingly as I had not symptoms at all. But, my T4 reading was more than 100 when I went for my routine checkup arranged by my company. Better to get it checked &amp; get yourself treated.

Hi Cactusnah, ok, I have made an appt at the polyclinic on tomorrow, but still not sure want to do the blood test there or get the referal letter and see the specialist directly.

Hi Snowball, hope you are well. So the doc gave u medications to control the T4 level? My results is as follows: T4 Free is 15.55 (11.50 - 22.70 pmol/L), 1.21 (0.89 - 1.76 ng/dL) and my TSH is 6.350 (0.550 - 4.780 mIU/L). Its my TSH that is the problem as its slightly out of range. the T4 is still ok within the range.

sleepygal, the blood test result takes a few days to one week to generate. So, it's best that u do the blood test in the poly aft doctor's consult and by the time u go for the specialist appt, the specialist will have a latest report to go thru yr case. Not sure how long u need to wait for yr 1st specialist appt, may be as long as 1-2 months depends. I usually go for my blood works 1 wk before my next appt. But let the poly doctor give u a more accurate advise coz we're no expert, just sharing experience.

Yr results looks ok, i thought. My free T4 was abt 40 pmol/l when i was first diagnosed.

Hi snowball,bin &amp; cactusnah,

long time didn't online as have been busy with work.however,on and off,will pop by to view those post silently.
Just went for my 4 month check-up yesterday.gynae has somehow saw baby gender-princess..though not 100% cfm but shld be cfm.....
However,just receive a call frm gynae abt my thyroid blood test which I did yesterday...my thyroid has dropped to 7.4 (hypo)...hai..gynae has reduced my dosage further from 3 tablets to 2 tablets! Hai has tried to relax for the past few months and now this new struck!!! Though doctor said not to worry...but I am really damn worried-it's like back to the feeling I went through the first 3 months....
The road ahead is really tough....;( ;( ;( ;(

Hi Snowball &amp; Bin,

That time when you are taking medication - is yr thyroid diffcult to control?

Really feel worried ever since I have received call regards my thyroid result....

Hi friends, I think thyroid problem is a signal that our body give to tell us that we have some nutrition lacking...

Hi Yoti,

For me, my thyroid was still on the high side when I was preggy. Tat is Y I was on PTU (2 tabs) until about 6.5-7 mths when my thyroid level finally stablise and go off PTU until after birth.

I guess your body is now adjusting the thyroid level due to the pregnancy and should stablise in the coming months.

Dun worry too much lah....You are doing very well....Nice to hear that you are likely expecting a princess
Your pregnancy shd be considered stablised now. Enjoy your bb start kicking real soon

Hi Snowball,

Thank you for your reply....

I really hope that my thyroid level will stablise in the coming months...Now I am taking 2 PTU and will monitor in 1 month time - also where I will have my detail scan...really hope everything will go smoothly.....

I am just worried that my thyroid level will drop too low (hypo)...but with dosage decrease..I really hope this will not happen!!!!

Snowball, thank you for actively coming into this forum to chat...It is really great to see reply esp when ones is damn down...Thanks so much....

Hi Yoti,

Congrats on knowing that you are going to have a gal, you'll love her to bits

Actually I think that your condition is not considered as hypo yet leh...maybe the higher PTU dose helped to bring down your free T4. Think of it as the medication is effectively controlling your condition instead okie?

My condition seems to be easier to control during pregnancy. Now I am still on 3 PTU due to out of range TSH.

Look forward to welcome your princess and start looking at all the pretty clothes online and in the stores...drive away all the negative thoughts and be happy
Take care for now!

Hi Bin,

Thank you for your reply.

I have been worrying since gynae called me on my blood test....I have try my best not to has negative thoughts...I just hope that with fewer dosage, my level will not fall too low...and hope that my 5th month detailed scan is clear.....

For me gender is not impt, I hope for a normal and healthy baby due to my condition...

Thank you for coming into the forum. Really appreciate.

Hi Yoti,

Hope things are going fine for you? You must be feeling your BB kicking by now

Hi Cactusnah,

I also just come back from my holiday trip. Was a nice break for us

Really?! I was there in early Nov, my 2nd trip to TW this year. Yup, i miss the weather though not much shopping for us since it's mostly winter clothings. But nevertheless, it's the ppl in the tour grp that matters

Hi there, not sure if anyone's still following this thread but i just want to share that i'm finally pregnant again with my no.2! Am into my 14+ weeks now but due to my high risk profile during the OSCAR scan(not related to thyroid but perhaps my age and blood), i need to go thru' amnio test in early Feb. Just wanna share my joy here and hoping that things turn out well. Take care and jia you for those who are trying. God bless........

Hi Cactusnah,

Congrats! You are into 2nd trimester! I was also also not young when I had my kids.

Take care and wish you a Happy Rabbit year (you will be expecting a Rabbit baby, ya?)

Snowball: Thank you for being here all the time to render yr support, be it during my miscarriages and now preggy news. Really appreciate.

Yup, this is gonna be a bunny bb. Wishing u and family a happy rabbit year too

Hi Cactusnah,

No pblm
Do take care and take advice from your Gynae/ Endo and you will be fine. Thyroid shd stablise in another few weeks, but, do watch your blood pressure/ blood sugar. I was blessed that I did not encounter any such pblms when I was preggy. Thank god

Happy Bunny year to you too.

Hi May,

I have been taking Folic acid with my Hyperthyroid medicine when TTC and during my pregnancies. No problem at all.

Mummies, need to check with you. For those still under thyroid medication, did u continue to breastfeed? Will it affect the infant? I'm thinking of investing in a gd pump but am worried that bb might also have thyroid conidition since i'm still on medication during pregnancy. Will be wasted if i end up not able to BF. Is there a cause for worry? Shall i go ahead and purchase a gd pump? Thank you!

Hi Cactusnah,

PTU is bf safe. I bf by kids during my maternity leave (3mths) no problem at all.

I used the Avent manual pump which is good enough for me.

Snowball: Thanks for the reassurance. I've also checked with my gynae who gave me the go ahead. I used Avent manual pump for my 1st kid but returned it to my friend. Will consider what to buy again for this no.2. Thanks again friend

Hi Cactusnah,

Takashimaya got baby fair this weekend. You can go c if you can get the Avent pump at special price. I heard good comments on Medela pumps too. But, I cannot comment as I have not used it before.

Snowball: Thanks for updating on the bb fair. I went there last week and bght a few misc items. Will be getting the Medala pump from US and get my friend to bring it bk for me. Much cheaper though there's no local warranty.

my menses is due on 26th jul..but till now is still not here yet. I went to GP and did a scan..but doc say maybe sac is too small..i did a urine test..turns out neg. arggh is driving me nuts.

the only sympton i have is missed menses, bloated feeling..backache (but i do have backache problem). how soon should i test again?

we have been ttc for 5 months now...