Support Group - Stillbirths

Hi everyone...

Angel - Hope that you have a good holiday and come back rested and relaxed! and yes, dun forget the yummy food!!

Estbaby - don't know of any sinseh to recommend who doesn't need to brew herbs but i did hear of one that is in the east who was recommended to me by a friend. seems that he helped some pple "bu" their wombs. if you want the contact, i can ask my friend

Am planning to organise a gathering when angel is back. Anyone got other suggestions other than vivocity?

Thanks! Steph, if you dun mind, can you let me know the contact? I am actually working in the east. The chinese sinseh I see is also in the east actually.

As for the gathering, maybe somewhere in town would be more convenient for everyone.

Hi patsy Saw that you also order from bulk purchase for kiddy bags.
Eliza is your elder?

Btw, my elder boy jared ashes is in the sea while you all have your babies ashes at mandai? i shd have done so too...at least now I can go over to talk to him when I want to. Sometimes I will just go to changi beach to talk to him...

hi kkf,
Don't regret having jared's ashes in the sea. Its also a good burial ground. I also had my first boy's ashes scattered in the sea, as that time everyone ask me not to have any reminder of this painful incident. But I regretted and for my second one I have a proper niche in a church. But when I think back, I think having a niche or scattering in the sea are both good send offs.

Just wanted to pat pat qoo gal and other ppl here.

Sorry can't write long story coz just started work after a 2 mths lobo at home. When I look back at my stillbirth past, I don't regret experiencing the pain and losses. It make me treasure my son alot and willing to make sacrifices for him. Although my previous job didn't have much OT, but a 5 day work week still make me miss my son alot. I am now in the teaching line and gives me more flexibility to spend time with my son. I am willing to accept a big paycut so long I can spend more time with him. ok damn tired liao, tok to u gals again..

Hi kkf, no lah, Eliza is hb's brother's daughter.. slowly preparing for Christmas, my eldest past away last april.

steph, gathering sounds great.. anywhere is fine with me

Hi sorry patsy, I thought Elize is your elder. I know Sabie is your daughter who has passed away. Does Sabie has a younger sister or brother?

Java, I am in teaching line too, but I find that I dun have much time with my boy leh because always got lots of things to mark, to think, and to plan.

Hi estababy,

Okie the sinseh is at Blk 81, opp the neighbourhood police post at Marine Parade Centre. Its open from 8.30am except Mondays. Got the information from a friend. I do know of a few people who went and it helped :p I am also thinking about going but the tot of drinking the bitter stuff is enough to make me want to puke.

hugs
steph

Thanks! steph,

I think I know where it is. think I ever say the address in one of the threads somewhere.

My mil might be helping me to brew, see how it goes. I havent ate the chinese herbs yet until I finish my western medication today.

Hi! How is everyone doing these days? All ok? of cos except for Angel who should be rest and relax.

Steph, I drank the chinese herbs yesterday, not too bad taste to drink, it's bitter but bearable, my mil say how have to brew for sometime. I think once I finish the 4 dose, I will switch to the one you recommend as that place is more convenient for me.

hi kkf,
I don't have much marking to do as I teach IT. But yes, have to do planning of lessons and set exam paper. I am also involve in project work and even competitions. So my workload may yet to increase lor.

hi patsy,
Was thinking of you recently. Now that I start work, I starting to miss my son liao. Was thinking how you are coping with missing Sabie.... hope things are well with you and your hubby.

sending a quick post before i run off to another meeting. It has been crazy in the office lately!!

etsbaby, had a chance to speak to my friend who recommend me the sinseh. she said he is very popular and the place closes at 4pm. Best time to go is during lunch time. So just nice for you can pop over during lunch break.

Hi everyone..

Shall we meet up this week for dinner? I would like to suggest Thursday evening.. somewhere in town so that it would be easier on everyone.

it has been raining... feeling so sleepy

Hi! Steph,

Thursday evening is fine with me. I think we can meet at Plaza Singapura area or Raffles City area, anyone got any good restaurant to recommend?

hi steph, chimjes there is tony roma's, lei garden, esmirada, a vietnamese (dunno if it's still there) and the sashimi place (yummy!!!)

I'm back! Just arrived on Monday morning 1am. The trip's fine but am down with fever + throat inflammation.
Had seen a doc last night, with antibiotics, I should recover in time to meet up for a meal this Thursday evening. I like Raffles City. There are a few eateries in the new basement, perhaps we can have a simple dinner and adjourn to a coffee joint for coffee/dessert after that?

Hey! nice to hear from you angel! better take care on the fever and throat inflammation as we are quite weak in health now so quite vunerable to infections.

I dun mind simple dinner followed by coffee/dessert. I luv dessert..yummy!

So far, I think only 4 of us is meeting up:

Date: 26 July 2007, Thursday
Time: ???
Venue: ???
Attending:
1) Steph
2) Patsy
3) Angel
4) Etsbaby

Anyone else???

Hi..

Am totally stoned out from staring at the computer screen.. work is overwhelming me. Okie, shall suggest the following:

Time: 6.30pm (since it is after all a Friday!)
Venue: Meet at Starbucks at City Hall

I love dessert too.. yummy yummy!!
btw, i started a blog yesterday.. am not mentioning anything about Gabriel yet.

actually, I prefer Friday evening too - end of the week, more inclined to chill and stay longer for chats - what do ya think? We can still meet at 6.30pm Friday at Raffles City.
or if you are craving some good italian food like me, we can meet at 'Spaghettis' at Paragon basement then head to 'Bakezinn' upstairs for dessert. Anyone else keen to join us?

hi..

Sorry, but can't make it on Friday cos have another appointment already. Can we still do it on Thursday night?

Ohh.. but Spaghettis at Paragon sounds super good too. Am okie for that!

I would prefer Thursday as I can't make it on Friday. Also Thursday, there is less crowd. I dun mind Spaghettis at Paragon and luv dessert at Bakezinn.

Steph - I went to see the tcm just now during my lunchtime. I find him much better than the 1st one that I saw. Cos he understands what I am trying to say and I know what he is saying. Also, I dun have to drink the bitter medicine everyday, just on selective days in a month which is great!

actually though i'm free both days.. i prefer thursday also cause Friday is Sabie's 100 days anniversary and I haven't decided what time to go yet...

wanted to post in the afternoon but thread was under maintenance. I wonder why? Ok, let's meet tomorrow 6.30pm at Paragon. Anyways, just remembered Bakerzin can be quite full in the evenings. Since they also have some decent Italian main courses, why not we head there straight? They're located at #02-09. Tried calling them to reserve a table but they don't accept reservations so whoever turns up earlier please book a nice table for 4?

Patsy, Friday is Sabie's 100th day? That means Joash's one is 4 days later, on Tuesday.
Will your hubby be back? If not, do you need company? I've appt at KKH at 2.30pm, perhaps can meet up with you and go Mandai together if you want?

ok steph.. ok!

angel, hb is in India and won't be back till next Thursday. Thanks.. but I haven't yet decided what time I want to go... will call you, ok?

So sorry. Can't join you all.

If really you can't get a place at Paragon, why not go to Cityhall? There is alot of places to eat. and really no space can move on to Suntec / Marina Square.

Hehehe....Enjoy your dinner and dessert

Hi! Ladies,

I will be late cos of the travel time from my office to Paragon and hopefully not held up by work, think should reach about 6.45pm, so you all just take your orders 1st ok? by the way, how do I recognize you all? I have not met any of you yet...hee...

Hi etsbaby..

was wondering how u are going to recongise us tonight.. I am in black top and pants with a off white sweater. Am going to PM u my hp number k? shall we meet at spaggies?

steph

I thot angel says to meet at Bakerzin directly and not going to Spaggedies??

So I see you all at Bakerzin. OK??

I have not received your PM yet? I PM you my HP number also

It was nice meeting up yesterday
We should hold another gathering soon!!

today is Sabie's 100th day .. my thoughts and prayers are with this lovely little angel.

hugs
steph

I wonder whether you all hv the same lost feeling which I hv lately.I seems to miss my bb so much that I cry.
Hubby say by crying can't do anything.Since he is now with the Lord,it's better coz no more pain & suffering

Hi! Fairytale,

Crying is a way we let out our emotions. Even until now which is already more than 5 mths, I still cry and look up the sky and wonder if my bb is looking at me. Man are more practical and dun share emotions. Cry it out to feel better rather than bottle it up and feel uptight.

take care! hugz

Fairytale, I totally understand how you feel... sometimes the emptiness is so great that it feels it will envelope and smother us, right? But feel blessed in the thought that our babies are at peace and will never ever again suffer any pain. Our Lord has given us this chance to continue to let His name be glorified... and may His love shine through us. It's a great responsibility and in our pain we often forget but we must be special for the Lord to choose us, right? Continue to have faith and cal on the Holy Spirit to fill you with peace and acceptance, though I know it's really really easier said than done. If you need to talk please feel free to email me.

hey fairytale

i am like you, i cry at the slightest thought of my babies or any recollection of the events leading to their stillbirths, and in Ashley's case, her last hours leading to her death.
even though my hubby too try to comfort me that crying cannot bring them back alive, it's the most direct way to express the hurts, disappoinment and sadness inside...Let the tears fall as it's a way of grieving and healing emotionally too. I'll be returning work on wed (1 Aug). I told hubby I dread going back to work cos it is as if like nothing ever happened (although so much did)...people are going to assume you're alright, give you loads of work to clear and expect you to perform like when you were before...no one's going to grieve your loss and be there to share your pain when you feel like...

I'll still very ill, nursing a nasty throat inflammation for the past week and a persistent cough that's causing me so much pain in the trachea...it's funny how throughout my 5months' pregnancy, I never once had a cold or flu but after I lost my twins, I've been ill almost every week, esp now with this full-blown throat inflammation that refused to be healed...will be going back to doc's tomorrow if situation doesn't improve...

Angel
I have been reading your posts though I may not have posted. I guess you will need some time to nurse your health back. I suppose sometimes when we went thru so much, besides the physical health, I think its the emotional part that may make us feel make fragile to common illness.

I assure you that when I lost my baby and the whole world tells me to nurse my health, I was really pissed. In my heart, I am thinking : " There is nothing wrong with me except the cervix!". I felt v weak physically after I lost my baby at 23 weeks too, but after that I just have to tell myself to sleep well, eat well & rest well to prepare myself with the next big mission.

I dreaded going back to work too as I work in a highly political & stressful environment and once they know you are pregnant, they pretend to be v nice, but its all an act. Whats more with complications like mine, they all the more see you as a liability of the company. You can see the big bosses attitude change, at least in my case.

I was v upset initially, and just dun understand why pple cant be more empathetic. But after that, I told myself not to self pity. I swallowed all the no so nice behaviours and face things bravely. There are pple who asked abt my case, some dunno thot I delivered, some are KPO, some are really concerned. But I say the same thing to all : " I lost my baby at 6 mths due to some complications. To be fair to my son, I also told those who asked that he was a healthy boy, but due to my physical contraints, I had him too premature and the odds are too high, so I had to let him go".

I know that is v painful to talk abt, but I tot abt it & realised its the best way. The concern colleagues would really wanna know what happened to you so that they also know how to manage your feelings going forward, the KPO can shut their mouths cos once you tell them, its no longer KPO news so they are not keen, those who do not know are innocent. Also, by doing this, the KPOs will go around spreading and less & less pple will come and ask you cos they already hear from the KPOs. To me, it reduces my pain and unnecc repetition.

Then, I brace myself and do my work well though first few weeks, I had tots of resigning, v strong. I regained my professionalism and confidence at work. And now I look back, I am glad i chose to stick on cos it is the only way to help one lessen the pain and move on with our lives. Its a painful experience but our life has many things and we cant let it stop cos of this. I wanna ensure I did not get into depression. When I returned to work, I has a colleague who was 4 mths pregnancy by accident. When I heard the news, it was so just so painful to accept. But I told myself life is just this and gradually I became v happy for us and even shop baby things with her. I told myself that is the only way to recover.

Sorry for the long post, but am just sharing my experience. I lost my son in Sep last year & went back work in Jan 2007. The feeling of lost & emptiness is still strong but I just have to keep bracing myself. I am not saying that my way of handling is def correct as different individuals are different. I just wanna share my experience with you.

From your last posts, I know you have used up all your frozen eggs. Have you tot abt what's next for you? Planning ahead may give you a direction and motivation. For me, I told myself to start trying in Jan 07 but still no good news as I have existing fertility problems too. If you have plans to start a fresh IVF cycle, you may wanna do some TCM & etc and try when you are ready. Still intending to go back to Dr Foong?

curl,

thank you so so much for taking the time and effort to post and share with me your experiences...I'm touched that there are many here who cared abt each other's recovery process...you've reminded me something important - that is to be fair to our babies, we have to tell others that there're nothing medically wrong with them because people sometimes assume that it's because there's defects with the babies, hence our body reject them and terminated the pregnancy. An annoymous person posted on Ashley's blog blaming us for being selfish to deliver Ashley to come to this world to suffer, even for 1 day when we already knew she's going to die...That is SO NOT TRUE! Ashley (and Joash and Nathaniel) were all HEALTHY babies, just that my body somehow goes into premature contractions and can't sustain the pregnancy...if they were not denied that environment to grow inside my womb, I would have 3 beautiful, perfect children to call my own now, rather than living my days in such gnawing emptiness...

I contemplated returning to work today (being the start of a new week) but woke up feeling feverish and choked with phlem (cough hasn't subsided either)
Never fell so ill in a long time. Going to the docs again after this post cos I really need to get well before resuming work, dun want to enhance people's perception that I'm a liability to the company (with so many month's leave taken). You're right that hubby and I have used up ALL our embryos, and we dun think we're going to try another cycle of IVF so the road ahead for us is either adoption (when we've saved enough) or natural conception (which would be a MIRACLE that I dun think God will ever grant us).

Dr Loh did say that if I ever conceive again, he fears I may end up losing it the same way and in so doing, subjecting my body to more harm cos my body seems to go into pre-term contractions mysteriously at around 20-22 weeks (think he's trying to hint to us to adopt instead). In fact, just seen Dr Loh on Friday, told him I've been bleeding for the past 2 months since discharge from KKH, he prescribed me some strong antibiotics and hormones to stop the flow and prevent endometrisis. My body's pumped with so much drugs I wonder what's wrong with me. Don't think I'll be going back to Dr Foong (although he is a v good doc too) since I'm not doing IVF anymore...what abt you Curl?

Estbaby, Patsy and Steph, hope you're keeping well. Hubby and I went to Mandai y'day morning amidst the heavy downpour, it's our Sunday ritual now to go and say hi to our babies. That few minutes spent infront of the niche is so poignant - you've so much to say but no words come out, you just ache for them in silence...

Hi Angel
I think you are just down with a bad flu & cough. I am sure GP can help you. Sometimes when we are down, we tend to think that something is really wrong with us. Also, I read that you went to Hokaiddo, you might have caught a flu bug there. Many of my colleagues who went there caught it too cos they say v cold.

Yes, I have a few colleagues who would come forward and try to advise me that its a natural process of the body to reject the foetus, so dun think too much. But I will always explain, at least thats the least I can do for my son.

I think that anoynomous person that posted in your blog is horrible. I really suggest you ignore, cos firstly this stupid person is not anyone close to you and 2ndly, sometimes they just write without going thru their brains. Being in the same situation as you, we know we will try our best to keep the baby in the womb despite the bedrests, injections & etc, even if premature, we hope for the best.

Frankly, I seem to have similar condition as you. In my first pregnancy, I got into contractions v early like 18 weeks... mild ones and by 19 weeks, my cervix dilated 8 cm for singleton. My take is that sometimes you dun know why this happen, but cos my cevix opened, they say its incompetent cervix (IC). But real IC has no contractions. However, I believe there are ways to help this. For me, besides the cerclage at 14 weeks, I think less activity, rest does help. Also, if experience contractions for > 1 hour, quickly go to hospital for drips. It can help to stop. When i was on bedrest in the hospital for 1 mth last year, there are a few ladies who are also on drips on prevent contractions. Apparently, they come in on Monday every week and be on drips and go home on friday and check in on Monday again. For one of the ladies, it was becos she has young kids at home and she would like to spend weekend with them. When I saw her, I think she was 34-35 weeks and has been doing so since week 20 plus. I also met a lady who has 2 cerclages by week 26 and was on full bedrest. All of them are just like us, determined to push thru all. Again, am sharing these with you that we are not the only ones.

Its understandable why Dr Loh will give such diagnosis as you have 2 histories. As a doctor, he saw you thru the sufferings & prob want to let things be easier on you. WHy dont you see Dr Foong or email him to ask for his opinion? If he is optimistic that he can help you, there is really no harm trying one more time.

As for adoption, I was lucky to be able to call a few fren's relatives who are able same age as us, went thru difficulties, multiple miscarriages & etc and finally decide to adopt. They are as happy and enjoying motherhood every single day just like any woman. For me, I am v open to adoption (natually love children) but the logical move is to try my best before moving to that.

For me, I am still with Dr Foong. I trust him and feel that he never give up on his patients yet I dun feel he is just trying to make money from us. For me, I have PCOS and a normal hubby (eg sperm count & etc all ok). I conceived thru clomid once (b4 I saw Dr Foong) but ended ectopic and I lost my left tube partially (making natural pregancy more difficult). Subsequently, I conceived again via IUI with Dr Foong and but lost it at 23 weeks due to IC. This round I have completed my IVF. The reason I chose to do this is becos I wanted to freeze my eggs when I am still young and having IC, I know even cerclage may not help for some cases, so my miscarriage rate is higher, so I wanted to have a few good embryos so that I can try a few more FETs if I still fail (as FET is still higher success rate than IUI).

I think I shared this with you before. I had an ex colleague who has PCOS and difficulty conceiving. Later like me, she found out she got IC too. She tried v hard, just like any of us. She lost 4 pregnancies, 3 of which all at 20-21 weeks and twins even with cerclage. For her, her waterbag just burst mysteriously at week 20-22 and followed by infection, followed by emergency delivery & etc. She still didnt lost hope, and she eventually delivered her boy on her 5th pregnancy. Her boy is now 5 yrs old and he is such a darling. She was in her mid 30s by then. And miraculously, she conceived again naturally recently (she is almost 40). Unfortunately, she lost at at 8-9 weeks due to no heartbeat. But at least she could conceive naturally but cos of her age, of course the egg quality not as good & etc. But who knows, she may conceive again soon!

I also dunno what lies ahead for me, I only know that if i dun try, I wont know. I brace myself for all the negative things that may happen, but also told myself to push on. I pray to my own religion and hope that I can be blessed everyday if I am pregbant thru the 9 mths.

Again, sorry for the long post, just wanted to share. Have a good rest today.