Premature babies support group

julbee, I'm sorry that your gal desat. I can understand how discouraging that is. My heart goes out to you. My boy took around one week of cycling before he was off the CPAP. Each day, we will be filled with hope but when hear of desat, its back to sqaure one again. I learnt something from David is that to keep cheering our babies!! Initially, I was really down in the dumps..... and David kept reminding me to be positive and to keep encouraging my boy. So each time you visit your gal, talk to her, tell her that she can do it! Well done, gal! Keep up the good job. Its okay, try again. Things like that. Cos' as you encourage your gal, you are also encouraging yourself. Try it =)

Viman, glad to hear that your baby has reached 1kg! Yay!! Your baby will continue to keep reaching each milestone. Sometimes a little faster and sometimes a little slower. Keep faith and press on, k?

Lilac, my gal has not even started the cycling.yea I haf been counting e days she is in ICU.e nurse said tat she is progressing, 1 desat. Isn't she positive?my Hubby says I m rushing our gal..n should let her take her time to b ready.i really hope she can b well enough to try e cycling test.
This is a tedious journey..I was in hospital 29 days before I m discharged! Now my gal is in ICU for 11 days n still counting.. How to continue being positive??

Julbee, you really need to be positive. Take 1 thing at a time, and try dun think so much.

For yr info, my boy stayed in hospital for 11 months plus . If I can overcame this, you also can. Be brave as yr child can feel it.

julbee> Sorry to hear about the desats. Sometimes babies just need a bit more time. The hospital/ICU really is the best place for them if they aren't quite ready yet. Better to desat in the hospital than at home where you don't know how to deal with it.

I had b/g twins at 29 weeks. My experience with cpap cycling was very slow. My girl was on 21% O2 on CPAP for 5-6 weeks. Cycle, desat, back to CPAP, repeat. Eventually she got off CPAP. It was very trying at the time. But don't worry..all this will be a distant memory soon. Now she's 11kg and cruising all over the place!

viman>Sometimes smaller babies will need more help ie back to the ventilator for short periods of time. Don't worry..she will come off again if there are no underlying problems. Hang in there.

xiaowanzi> I wanted to ask you this after I read of your story. My boy also stayed in kkh for a super long time - 9.5 months. He was on vent for 1 month, then CPAP 3 months and then the O2 hood for 5 months (!). Finally went onto cannula and came home.

My question is.. did you see any delayed motor development? If so, how slow/quickly did it resolve?My boy is just only sitting up at 9/10 months corrected. So we are a tad worried
Also *about* to crawl, but I'll count it when it actually happens.

Hi julbee,
U have to stay +ve.
My gal only pass her cycling test after 4th try... As for desat, i tried nt to count it anymore. Once she is breathing on her own, desat will sometimes happen too but they will quickly recover... Premmies are fighter.... we must have faith in them.

haven't been posting for a while. Today marks 2 months since my twin boys arrive.Still as ever thankful for the few (especially costa) I met in this thread
Thanks for keeping me positive/ sane on this tedious journey. Each journey is different yet we all went through it all. I'm still fighting it & staying positive.

David, thanks once again for your encouragement all along
Hope Danya & your queen are well too !

Some updates since my last posting. It's been a tiring journey yet filled with a lot of LOVE, happiness , anxiety and sadness too. But it's so true that our little warriors are GREAT Fighter. I'm still amaze how much they grow and how much they fighting daily.

Twin 1 is now 2.4kg still on CPAP. Still under NICU Isolated room but located at SCN since the rotavirus infection. He has NEC/ alot of different infections/ rotavirus & stoma set up when he is only 6 days old. Today, He finally recovered from the nasty rotavirus. They did some xray and now he is on re-feeding from the stoma bag. Stoma close up plan in another 2-3 wks time. He is finally off 3 types of antibiotics but still on TPN drips.

Twin 2 with lesser complication and smaller at birth. He is doing much better and now at SCN without CPAP. However, his weight gain is slower and finally now at 1.7kg. He still does desat at times but xray shows his lungs are clear . And his blood counts too. Dr said at times they are still learning hence no concern yet. This naughty boy is more playful and active compare to his brother . And I'm hoping he join us home really soon. He is still on IG tube for milk. Hope he graduate slowly at his own pace.

Julbee , I notice I can't rush them. They seem to grow in their own pace and timing. It's tiring and sad at times, but the best I note I can do for now is Just pray for them, fight with them and keep talking to them. I hope u can too. Hang in there.

Xiaowanzi, full of great admiration for overcoming the long 11 mths. Though I'm hoping the boys won't stay so long. I'm scare of the accumulating bills too.

chewy(mkchewy),

u are welcome!!!

you are very right...u cant rush them...time would fly past, very soon, u wld have yr hands full when they go back..More so if they come back together!!!

Xiaowanzi is an inspiration to me too....

bills wld not be so bad i guess as the most expensive part is the beginning when they need the most equipment/medication..slowly they wld taper off....

I guess I haf to try.its kinda tough at times when u r alone at home and the baby is not by my side.I m sure she can come home soon de...
Thank you for all ur encouragement.let's hope our babies will graduate soon!!

Julbee,
Your hubby is right - don't be in a rush to take baby home. Docs are more equipped to handle desat than we would be at home. Let bb settle down and get stable first.

Xiaowanzi,
I salute you and your baby for the strength and courage you have shown. Can't imagine the bill either - did medisave cover everything?

Fish,
Thanks for the words of assurance. You guys really inspire the rest of us.

Chewy,
Docs suspect NEC for my baby too. They have stopped all feeds, giving antibiotics and doing 8-hourly scans. Any advice for me?

<font color="119911">fish</font>,
think every child has its own pace of development stage. my boy only can flip when he is 6-7 mth. sit up only 8-9mth. only know how to crawl (but not much crawling, usually will use bum to move ard) at 12-13mth. so let the kid develop on its pace.

<font color="aa00aa">Xiaowanzi</font>,
u are really very brave to overcome the long 11mth stay.

Hi Viman,

Hmmm. CPAP Cycling. My princess cycle many time(Lost Count). Her 1st cycling is the most memorable, her lungs collapse(Due to secretion in her right lungs), she turn purple so fast. God blessed, our NICU nurse are really fast, managed to bring her back and the speed which they insert back the ventilator tube was fast. The very next day, Doc came to me. He say, "Your daughter lungs is very bad. After our X-ray review, the patient right lungs has a collapse thus the scaring is very bad." I ask for the X-ray, indeed, 60% of her right lungs is badly scared. I than looked at Doc, smile and said "Well, she did cycle for 6 hours, right? It is a good start." Doc is quite shock and puzzle with my reaction. At the point, my heart has hit the bottom, I really worry that Danya may not have a chance to grow up like a normal child. I walked back to Danya incubator and I told her, "Girl, daddy love East coast, Daddy love roller blading, daddy love cycling. Let's cycle together, let's cycling far far away from the CPAP. Mummy, Grandpa, Grandma, Uncle &amp; Aunty are all waiting for you at home. You are a strong warrior, you shall fight strong and brave. Daddy is very proud of you, daddy believe in you." Viman, continue to encourage your warrior, continue to believe in them.

Hi Chewy,

Danya is doing great with only 1 minor issue to tackle. Eating problem (Ha Ha). Your 2 warrior are doing great. Thanks to their warrior mummy, Jia Yu. I believe your twin 1 will be very brave &amp; tough when he grow up. He has gone through more than his brother. I can see that in my girl, very stubborn, very firm with her liking. Closing up the STOMA before coming back home is a good decision. Home care for STOMA is really a challenge task. Once the STOMA is close, your boy will be on drip for about 3 days. He's intestine will need about 3 days to "Wake Up" after the sugery. After that, he will have diarrhea as his colon is trying to restart and do it job. Watch out for that bad nappy rash.

David, very touched by the way you encouraged Danya. You have a very positive thinking and Danya will sure inherit the positive thinking of yours.

To all the mums n dads waiting for your babies home, stay positive, after rain there will be rainbow.

My took her small little steps finally last week, she is 18 months birth age, CA 15.5 months.

David,
Thanks so much for your message. You really inspire with your positive thinking. I hope Danya starts eating properly very soon.

Calling all moms of preemies who took expressed breast milk to the NICU,
I have been using the Medela disposable bottles given by the hospital to store and deliver the milk. The nurse was not sure how much they will charge me for the bottles. I'm wondering if there is a more economical way of doing it. Should I buy them outside? I was using disposable milk bags for a while but they said they prefer bottles as there is no risk of contamination due to toppling over.

Viman
the Medela disposable will b ex if using for long term.. when my boy was in SCN, we use the glass bottle from them.. bring home thorough wash and boil with hot water..

viman
the disposable bottles cost $15 per package through KK. If you buy from shops it's about $20.

You can ask the nurses in ICU/SCN to save some glass formula bottles for you. Your nurse in charge will know what to do. Then ask the nurse to save the bottle for you after using it for your own baby's milk. You will have to buy some plastic caps and ask the nurse not to throw those away also. The metal caps that come with the bottle will rust.

Like Jagie said, just wash/boil to sterilize. Downside is that you have to wash off the ID sticker everytime you bring it home. Or ask your maid to do it ;p

Hi Viman,

Alternatively, you can buy a disposable plastic bag call "Blue Egg". Can be found in OG. If I can recall 2 years ago, should be the cheapest disposable plastic bag which is safe for BM.

Blue Egg is good. I used that when my boy was in NICU. You can search the Bulk Purchase thread. I think they are selling. Alternatively, like what fish suggested is to request for glass bottles. One thing about using bottles is that they take up space. I had over supply of milk so my row in the freezer at KK was used up and hence went on to use milkbags. You can buy the caps from NUK. I remember Mothercare at KK has them. 2 pcs per pack for S$4, I think.

Hi Viman, I still keep about twelve glass bottles with caps. If you want i can give you 6 sets. I find them very useful and better than the plastic bottles.

hi viman,

a more economical way will be to ask for the glass formula jars from the hospital, like what Fish suggested. That is what I am currently doing too. I just have to buy the caps for the glass bottles which the hospital provide.

As for milkbags, you can consider using the milkbags from GnMA too. I find them not too ex as compared to other brands.

Continue to be positive, k? My daughter is currently still in NICU too. She has been there for 44 days and counting...

Viman, I m using glass bottles too.however pls check the metal caps as some of them r rusty.really haftowash thoroughly.I tried buying plastic bottles but will use up really fast.
Bonnystar, my daughter is also still in NICU.frustrating thing is the docs can't find any reason y she can't breathe independently when she is now 35 weeks plus.so they r telling mi that there could problems with ENT or brains etc..does anyone of u share e same experience??

Fish, Xiaowanzi, David and lilac,

May I ask if your premie's lungs are weak after using O2 for such long period of time? Did they have Chronic lung disease of preterm babies?

Ryan was on CPAP &amp; Ventilator for 2 days each, then he was on 23% FiO2 (hood) for about about 2 weeks. Now he is 8.5 months CA, but he's always having a cough or two with constant wheezing... Doctor says he has weak lungs due to long term use of O2 when he was a bb. They even warn me that he may need to be warded if he has another serious episode of cough/flu. Did anyone has the same problem?

Jagiebaby,
Yeah I think I'll do that!

Fish,
Oh they're more expensive outside?? Didn't know that! I'll get hold of the glass bottles.

David,
Thanks! I think I'll use bags once baby is home as the hospital prefers bottles.

Lilac,
Will check out bulk purchase, thanks!

Aixin,
Thanks so much for the offer!
let me see how many the nurse gives me, and if not enough I'll get from you.

Bonnystar,
Thanks for the encouragement. Hope our babies get stronger soon!

Julbee,
Have the docs done any scans yet? What is their plan of action? Remember to get a doctor to talk to you every time you visit. The nurses only give a general update, the docs are more specific.

Hi Berryfarmer

My baby Xavier does have chronic lung disease. He was on ventilator for almost near to 2 months, then CPAP, then canular, we stayed in NICU for 139days. 1 month after discharge, he got hospilized again due to high fever and went home with O2 for a month. He is now 26 months, and healthy. Throught these 2 years, we have been extra careful with his "lungs issues", he did have cough/cold/fever/lungs infections, but we could see that he is growing stronger and stronger...and docs told us that after he is 8, his lungs will fully recover (new tissues grow out)...

Right now, if ur boy requires o2, there is no other choice but to bear with the side effect...But all will get well, dont worry

Hi Viman,

I actually collected 200 bottles from the hospital, i took a bit everyday...hehehe... I bought the plastic caps from Mt Avernia, for SGD0.7-0.8 per cap if didnt remember wrongly. The bags are good, but after a while, it gets really unaffordable. I breastfed for 14 months, and i switched to bottles at the end. And after i am done, i returned all to hospital again.

Hello all!

I have gone to SG last tuesday and the NUH PD Surgeon is positive on Xavier's chronic constipation problem! I am so relieved!! After worrying about the "hirchsprung disease" possibility for more than 3-4 months, i finally feel lighter again! Xavier's intestines are dilated due to constipation (bad recycle) , so now we deal with this issue first and hope he improves as he grows older! Doc said it's a long term battle, but i m confident Xavier will fight hard, as he always does

A picture of him, my 650g baby, now 10kg @ 26 months. Petite but cute and healthy (well, counting out the constipation problem, hehe)
5303000.jpg

Jiayou to all mummies with babies still in NICU! It's a tough journey but really worthwhile when you see your babies growing stronger and healthier each day. Jiayou, all the best!

hi berrybaby, my boy does not have chronic lung disease. He was on ventilator for 2 days and then went on to CPAP. I do feel that he is rather prone to respiratory issue like bronchalistis and croup. Thankfully, we found Dr. Oh Meng Choo @ Bishan Kids Clinic. The medication that she gave helped clear his sensitive airways and he is better now. I feel I have to be more careful with him not being around kids who are sick. I am also planning for my boy to take the flu jab soon.

Jas!!! Thanks for posting pic of Xavier. So charming.

julbee, has the doc done the ENT scope? Hope that your girl can breathe on her own soon.

Just found out one of the moms who visited KK SCN has contracted chicken pox. I have never had it so my baby doesn't have the antibodies from me. They're giving some kind of protective jabs to all susceptible babies.

Jas,
200 bottles?! Wow. :D let me try and do that too. Returning it all back to the hospital is a great idea too,

Xavier looks absolutely adorable! Can't believe he was 650 gm!

Lilac, they haf done the scope for her n there is no abnormalities.

How do the docs decide when to do cycling for the baby??

<font color="119911">Viman</font>,
initially, I bought 3 packs of Medela disposable bottles from them. kind of ex $15 that time but they said got subsized.... but only used 2 pcks. then I asked them to help me to collect the glass bottles during my stay in hospital. so collected 70 bottles + and then I used glass bottles instead. more economical.

I kept telling the SCN nurse to take back my own glass bottles cos we washed it very clean (removal of sticker) and will not want to mix it with other. at least, the scn nurse did kept mine share bck.

for cap, I used the tollyjoy bottle cap. after I stopped bf for 13mth, I gave away all my bottles.

<font color="aa00aa">Jas</font>,
oh.....but at least, u know what is the root cause of Xavier is suffering now....thks to the NUH doc. Xavier is getting more handsome and handsome wor....esp his red cheek...

Hi Berrybaby,

CLD technically speaking is when our warriors is on ventilator/CPAP for more than 30 days. My princess has CLD and 60% scarring on her right lungs. Even for a full term baby, we have to be very cautious about they lungs. Please up keep the hygiene level to reduce their exposure to cough/flu. If our warriors has an episode of Bronchiolitis, they may have a high possibility of developing asthma when they are older.My princess has a Bronchiolitis on Nov 09, she was admitted to hospital for 10 days. On day 3 of her admission, she almost stop breathing. Bronchiolitis can be dangerous.

Hi Jas,

God blessed to hear that Xavier's is ok. With a great mummy like you, Xavier will always do you proud. Cheers.

Hi Julbee,

Many factors which Doc will consider before cycling. In the CPAP machine, there is an adjustment on the minimum air passage pressure to keep our warriors lung inflation. Once the pressure has reduced over some time with the reducing of SPO2 requirement, Doc will try to do cycling. They will also run a blood test to confirm the O2 level in blood. It was already 2 years ago, can't remember the numbers well.

Busy with my 2 kids, so unable to answer the questions promptly.

Fish,

Regarding about the development delayed, My boy has this problem due to staying at the hospital for so long. Discharged also with a nasal cannular for another 5mths. Everything was slow down. He only can walk without any support only at the age of 2yr 10mths (actual age). Speech also delayed. Heard from the doctor by 6 years old, they will on par with the same age child. He has referred by the doctor to attend the early intervention school. So far can see he has improved alot. He still followed up with the therapist at KKH.

Viman,
Both my hb and my medisave had been wipe out. We still need to forge out cash

Berrybaby,

My boy has CLD. Think most of the premmies will have it. Till now my boy still on pumicot. Just try not to let them catch a cold.

Julbee,
My boy also gone thru the scope, but was because he failed his hearing test. Regarding the procedure, i don't know cos i'm working that time. But i know they have sedated him. Maybe you can find out more from the doctor. Don't think it related to the lung or brain.

Jas,

Glad to hear that Xavier is ok. Keep up the good news.

David: thanks for the info.I Duno when e docs r letting my gal try cycling.right now, after they find that there is no abnormalities for my gal, e only thing they r doing now is wait n monitor her feeds. David I really admire ur positivity.I m doing my confinement but I really m in no mood to eat, rest well when my gal is in icu.Her growth is fine, wt is increasing it's just we see no change in her breathing. She is still on CPAP SiO2 21%.

Xiaowanzi: thanks we went through the scope procedure yesterday and all is well for my gal..

berry,

All preemies have weak lungs. The younger the preemie the weaker the lungs because lungs only fully mature at 37-39 wks.

Then you have to add the CLD effect to that also. Like David said, after 30 days of mechanical ventilation (I think that includes CPAP, not sure) the baby will have CLD. CLD is basically inflammation of the lungs and resultant scarring.

Babies with CLD will have a very hard time with colds, flus and coughs until 2-3 years of age. Both my twins have CLD.. my boy is still on O2 at 1 year actual. He will most likely need to be warded if he has any cough/cold/flu. We are very careful - limit outings to dr's visits (sounds sad, right?), use tons of hand sanitizer, avoiding sick people in public (even wearing masks on public transport!).

So far so good.. my girl caught a cold at 3 mos corrected and kk drs wanted to ward her but in the end it resolved in a few days. My boy hasn't been ill yet, but it looks like he's having some kind of bad reaction to his prevenar booster.. sigh. 3 days of fever plus runny nose.

Julbee,
It's good that the scans show no problems. Maybe she just needs some time. It's great that she is feeding and growing. You really need to rest well to keep up the milk supply. I know it's hard not to worry, but look at it this way - let the docs do what they can do, and you do what you can do, i.e stay positive and rest as much as you can so you can give the best milk to baby. All will be well.

Afcai,
Yeah I really should have found out about the glass bottles earlier. We must have bought some 10 medela packs from the hospital!

Xiaowanzi,
Oh dear. That's the reason why I moved from east shore to KK when I found out mine will be early delivery. The east shore bill would have killed us. I was in KK for a month before delivery, haven't even seen the bill for that yet.

hey just to check if any gd gynae at kkh that have experience with premmies delivery can recommend? since the last time i discharged and given the medicine now the medicine effect like wearing off and im only 32weeks..my gynae keep saying he cant help much if i am to deliver now..i tot wll be better if i can get another experience gynae in kkh to standby incase i really go into labour preterm

berry,

my son was born at 24wks and stayed in kkh for 5mths before discharge..he has cld too as he was on ventilator, cpap etc for a long time...the exact length of time i cant remember...

we just have to be careful abt his lungs, not too many furry stuffed toys..keep yr hse clean etc..infact, i wld say that my elder full term kid gets sick more than the preemie one...

split,
the doc who delivered my premmie son is Doc Kenneth Kwek he sees only hi risk and those wif many issues ...in my personal opinion, thk the gynae is impt but the neo nat team is also important...mbe you get an appt wif kkh and get them to advise you?

Split,
I agree with costa. Even I switched from my private gynae to KK once I knew my delivery will most likely be early and baby will need NICU. It was really the best decision I feel. KK put the high-risk consult on my case and really took good care of me. Now hoping the same for baby.

Can anyone advise on what is a good amount of EBM? My baby is 19 days old and in NICU. I pump about 7-8 times a day and am able to express about 500-600 ml a day. The KK social worker said it's a good amount, but the lactation consultant didn't seem too happy...

Hi Viman,

Just pump as much as you can. It differs in all mummies, some can pump more but some less. I would say 500-600ml is quite good, continue to drink more water, rest more, pump more, your production may increase over time. (actually 7-8 times are quite often already, last time I only pumped 5-6 times a day)

Thanks Lilac, Viman, Afcai, David, Xiaowanzi on your comments! Xavier is a little terror....but i tried to remember how he hard he fought throughout the last 2 years and tried to be patient with him, hahaha..if not, would have gone crazy liao!

Julbee,

Glad to know that the scan shows no problem. just give her some time, i am sure she will cycle off the cpap soon. JIa you.

Viman,
how is your baby on NEC? The dr will be watching closely and give all the necessary antibiotics. I'm sorry there is not much advise to avoid NEC which happen to 5% of the preemies. Hope all is well and your baby don't get it.
EBM , I think the volume is quite good. I having the same volume for the past 2 months as well.

Jas, Xavier is doing well. I bet you are as well and still coming on site to cheer us on !! THANKS !!

David,
Thanks for the head up on closing up on stoma after care. That's my fear too if the close up is done at the later stage. Worst is the damn Rotavirus now. He was cleared for 2 long weeks yet today blood test show he having the virus again. Hence operation need to be postpone
It's another 3 weeks or more wait for rotavirus to clear. Drs need 3 continuous positive result showing no virus before the op.

Ladies still visiting SCN @KK. Can we use the plastic bags for EBM? And I ask the nurse today about the chicken pox incident. She said nothing happen . Hmmm wondering if they are covering it up .

Jas,
The lactation nurse was quite aggressive. She said I MUST pump every 3 hours, even at night. The night sessions are the most difficult cos I am so sleepy and have to set an alarm to get up and do it. Glad to know the amount is ok in your view.

Julbee,
Very happy for you!! I hope I can carry my baby soon too!

Chewy,
They stopped all feeds and put her on IV and antibiotics only, with scans every 8 hours. She's stable now, may start on milk soon. I'm wondering if it happened because the nurse accidentally gave my baby formula when she had been on breast milk all this while...
Thanks for your assurance about the EBM volume. Today I only managed about 70 ml per session, so was quite worried...
Regarding the plastic bags, if your baby is not using up the bag in one feed, the nurses will prefer bottles. They told me that it's difficult to get multiple feeds from a bag as it tends to topple over and there is a chance of contamination. All mommies here have suggested using the glass bottles so I am doing that now.
Is the SCN the same room as the step-down ICU? The door says SCN but the sign on the top right says step-down ICU. That's where the chicken pox incident happened. I dun think they will cover up... not their fault lah. The doc told my hubby that they already gave the antibodies jab to susceptible babies including mine.

Hi Viman,
now it make sense on the chicken pox incident. Step down ICU is together with SCN BLUE area. My boys are at SCN PINk area further down from the entrance. Elder boy at isolated first room. And younger one in the common SCN.

Yes, i asking the nurses at SCN to please keep the glass bottles for me. NICU does it all the time but not at SCN.

Keep talking to your girl to poo soon too. I did that to my younger boy when he was suspected of NEC. Once they clear their bowel and back to feeding. The risk is lower tremendously.

Thanks for all the advise on CLD. Looks like I just need to be extra careful. Btw, is it safe to bring our little premie for a swim or is it too dangerous as they may catch a cold?

Ryan's now CA 8.5months and on porridge for dinner and lunch. Can anyone advise when I should stop blending his food into puree?

berrybaby,

My 24 weeker preemie was born in jun 2006 and i brot him for his first swim in sept 2007 which means at the age of 1 year three mths uncorrected and 11 mths corrected, i think....

i just let him wear those swimming trunks..on hindsight, i wonder if the whole suit wld be better?

mbe the first time just let him play for say 15 minutes then bring him back, dry him and see his reaction to it?guess there is no hard and fast rule on when to bring him its just tt my son got CLD and had to use the chamber when sick so i was apprehensive abt bringing him down earlier..

a paeditrician(i cant remember whether was it kkh doc or the outside doc which i consulted) told me that before exercise, if i wanted, to let my son puff the air chamber as he got sensitive airways...but i din follow this rule also..guess many things we have to play it by ear and see how..

i think mbe you can blend the porridge but not too soft for him and see how? my son was tube fed and had oral aversion so i was careful on his porridge but dun blend it too fine as kids need some texture in their food to aid their jaw development for other skills like talking etc...

hope that this helps..