IVF or ICSI

Hi Kimly
Thanks for inviting me to this link!

Understand that you have seen 2 chinese physicians. were you seeing both of them simultanously or one after another?

Currently I am seeing Dr Tan Kian Sing. Understand that he is good at treating male infertility, however not sure if he is as good for female issues. Any advice?

hi ladies.. saying abt ttc. this was a topic which i always go into last time..

I conceieved after i did a lap op to unblock both my fallopian tubes.. my gynae was then Dr CT Yeong formerly from KKH infertility dept also. but he went to pvt clinic.

Now i am pregnant, 21wks. and i also a KKH patient. I am seeing Dr Benjamin Tham in TPS.. Not neccessary say only preggy lady then can see in TPS. as long as u feel comfortable go TPS. i dun mind pay that extra few dollar with shorter waiting time & 1 station clinic that can do registration, appt & med & also routine test.

Talking abt TCM,
i also saw the JE Ying Chuan lady physician. alamak always diagnose pple with PCOS one lar. sian.. i seek another gynae advice, I DUN HAVE manz.. angry ar..

Hi hopeful gal,

The two Chinese physicians are recommended to me by a Chinese physician(from China).

Both of the Chinese physicians are holding doctorate degree from renowned TCM University in China. Both of them had spent at least a year in China hospital for clinical experience.

Dr Tan Kian Sing is currently the head of infertity group in Singapore Chung Hwa Medical Institution. He is mainly solving male problem. There is another female Chinese physician who is the head of infertity group in solving the females problem. As I am not comfortable with a male physician, I choose Dr Tan Siew Buoy to solve my medical problem. She is the expert of solving female problem.

I hear a lot of things about some local Chinese phyiscan who is very unhappy if their patient tells them that they are doing IVF or IUI. Some local Chinese phyisican even feel offend if they know the couple going to see another Chinese phyisican.

Both Dr Tans are very open as they are aware that we are seeing two phyisican. Most of time we will ask them to write their TCM treatment so we can pass to the each other. This will help to provide the best treatment for both of us.

Both Dr Tans are aware that we are intending to do IUI or IVF. They advise us to receive TCM treatment for preparing for pregnancy. The womb must be ready for pregnancy. If your body is not in a good condition for pregnancy, there is no point of trying many cycle of IVF or IUI.

I disagree with chinese physician who always diagnose people with PCOS because everyone is special. There is a lot of different reason why people cannot conceive naturally. You just cannot use one type of medicine to treat all.

Hi Elicia tan,

Thanks for explaining TPS or private suite to Hui.

Hi Hui

The private suite contact nos is 63945071

Kim n Elicia,

thanks..i will call n book appt for pap smear..

Hi hopeful gal

I am currently busily with my part time postgraduate studies, my pregnancy and my job. everything is fine so far.

Today will be my last time in Singporehood - forumboard. I will not be writing anymore. Yesterday, I sent out Dr Tan Kian Sing and Dr Tan Siew Buoy details to a number of threads. I hope someone will benefit from there. As I will not able to reply them, please help me to direct them to this thread to get some directions. I hope a lot of people will learn something from my experience.

I enter to the forumboard because I am very upset over a lot of sisters spending so much money in seeking wrong treatment or advice. I hope this thread that I have shared my experience will benefit a lot people.

I need to stress some points:

(1) I believe the combination of the treatment from TCM and western medicine will definitely increase your chance of pregnancy. You need to be very patient.

(2) Seek the right person for the right treatment. It is very important. If you get the wrong person, you are wasting your time, money and suffering the pains(unnecessary operation). I feel some of private infertility specialists are taking the advantage of many desperate couple by asking them to do unnecessay operation, treatment and IVF. One cycle of IVF is 25K, too expensive. Actually some of the couple's health condition are not ready for IVF or IUI.

(3) It is important to have a good health first before thinking of going for pregnancy. I hope any couple who is trying to conceive. Go and see a good western doctor to find what is the problem of the body and get your body in a good health. I feel TCM treatment is good in solving the root problem of the health but it needs some time to take effective.

(4) Remember to get a renowned chinese physician to solve your problem. As I have mentioned before, I disagree with people trying to conceive will be getting the same TCM treatment as everyone has different problem in our body. Please do not seek the wrong chinese physician for treatment. It will not help you yet damage your body.

I am happy that you are currently receiving TCM treatment from Dr Tan Kian Sing. I hope you will soon get conceive in the near future. Remember never give up hope!

I met Dr Tan Kian Sing last week to say thank you as he has treated my hubby by improving his sperm count and the quality of the sperm.

Remember to share with other once you have successfully conceive. I have the confidence with you.

Take Care and Good Luck

hi Kimly.
Thanks for your good wishes! I hope one day I will also succeed and be in the position to share my experience with all the sisters here.

I wish you a smooth journey in your pregnancy and all the best in whatever you are doing!

I was recommended into this thread by hui, as I was responding to another thread.

Here's my brief introduction:
I've just finished my 1st ivf in KKH with Dr Loh. Yesterday, I just got my most depressing news, I was NOT pregnant!! Now, I m still trying to come in terms with this distraught news.

Today, I am going to see Dr Loh to ask when can I begin the next transfer again. I want to get it over, as I could not concentrate on other things anymore.

Any suggestions on what I shld eat or take bef my next challenge?

Many Thanks.
Rebekah.

Hi Rebekah

Saw your post, sorry to hear that you have failed the first IVF. I am currently also thinking of seeking IVF with Dr SF Loh. Hope you can share with me your experience and the charges etc.

Do you take long before Dr start you on IVF eg, need to go through many tests or waiting time? Hope you can let me know more details my email is [email protected] thanks.

Fond,

you will not take long to start the cycle.. for me after all the check up like HSG, blood test then can start le.. very fast wan
.. i duno will dr Loh as your hubby so sperm test anot.. cause previously my gynae do a sperm test for my hubby and we onli can do ICSI...so when we went to KKIVF we were attended by Dr SF LOH..

Hi fond,

Dr SF Loh is a rather straight forward doctor. U can see him in The Private Suite KKH. Just get a full checkup with him and he will tell you what can be done. Normal consultaion charges are around $60++ per visit. Except for 1st consultation is abit more.

I am starting my next transfer on March, so taking a break for now. The waiting time is the most painful time.

Any good news fron anyone?

All the best!!

i was planning to see Dr. Sheila Loh at KK for IVF but i learn that she has resigned, does anyone knows that where is she going? thanks a lot!!

I am new here and also considering KKIVF. Can you gals share your success story and experience with me? My appt with Dr SF Loh is on 27/2 and i have a few qns:

1) Is it true that after seeing Dr Loh, we will be required to do more tests before he will agree to or advise us to do IVF? What if I already have blood tests, HSG, uterus scanning and hubby SA done since Nov 2006, will it be recent enough?

2) If all the test results are ready and we want to adopt IVF next (i have already tried clomid + IUI and failed), will there be a queue for IVF? Do i have to wait till many months later before i can do the IVF?

3) What are the procedures for IVF? Can someone share with me, via PM if its private?

4) Is it true that after IVF, must take about 1-2 weeks MC?

Sorry for the mouthful. Can PM or email me. Appreciate any advises, really! Thanks in advance!

Hi Maple Babies,

We seems to be in the same thread. As i have mentioned in the other thread... here are some additional points to your queries.

1) When I went to see him the last time, everything went very fast. Right after blood test and hubby'a sperm test, and the next thing we know we were already given a date for IVF the month after. He will advice you whether u need another test.

2) Is better to book the date earlier, as there are holidays round the corner. So there may be a long queue. But I don't think u need to take that long.

3) IVF proccedures. Go to this KKH site, they'll have all the procedures mention there.
http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/WomensHealth/ProblemsConceiving/IVF.htm

4) That depends. Some people can even go back to work right after the procedure. I am the unlucky one, I was close to having OHSS, over stimulation from the injections, so I was in great pain. The tougher part is before the eggs transfer. The 2 weeks injections will cause you a bloated stomach, that looks like 4 months pregnant!

I hope this infos will give u a better understanding.

hi Maple,

your above test exclude your hubby sperm test must not mre than half a year if i nvr remember wrongly..as for the proccedures is bascially injection, blood test, scan and follow by ER & ET.. the MC is 5 days form ER day...Good Luck To you!!

hi, I've ttc for 1.5 months. Till now no news at all. Me and hubby went for check up, and result was hubby has no sperm. my gynae said there's 2 possibilities -1. there's a blockage, preventing sperms from been ejaculated. 2. will be no sperm at all.

we are told to see a urologist. Anyone experience the same case as me? Any good urologist to recommend? My gynae said that probably I will have to go through IVF/ICSI to get preggy.

I'm very sad now. I dare not show out in front of hubby cos I dun wan him to feel bad.

Hi, anyone has experiences with Dr Kelly Loi at KKH? Im currently seeing her for IVF, but it seems that reviews are all on Dr SF Loh. Would like to hear some feedback on Dr Loi.

I am a new member to the group. Juz to answer CT, I ever did IVF/ICSI before and did got pregnant for the 1st try with twins but I was not in luck I had a miscarriage at the 4th month and till now I am not pregnant. Been married for 7 years already. I did the IVF/ICSI in 2003.

What I can say is if you are really very serious doing the IVF/ICSI you have to be mentally and physically ready to accept any positive and negative feedback. I have not regret doing the cycle and have not given up till now trying to conceive. Me and my hubby loves kids very much and would love to have one of our own! We are still hoping and praying hard for the day to come.

So CT, should you want to know more I am willing to share if you are ready mentally and physically....

hi there...been away for a while..just don't wanna think bout TTC...but that doesn't help for me...was on clomid for 4 cycles...all in total for about 2yrs..then metformin..did ovarian drilling last Feb...as i don't have my menses for sooooo looongg....and still AF never come..therefore no menses till aug...so no ovulation...just went back to see my doc...and last resort..IVF!!! i'm scared..what should i do? is this it?i really wanna have a baby...i'm only 25yrs..doc says since i'm young chance for success for IVF is very high..

Funny.. I posted long ago and not on 27th Sept.

Ronniemini> My gynae told ICSI is just another name of IVF or an improved version of IVF.

Sunnie,thanks.

I also checked with my doc,only to know that it's ivf also.
Sunnie,u should see the date on top of your post.u posted on Wednesday, September 05, 2007 - 2:33 pm.

hihi, happened to come across this thread by chance. I did IVF last yr with Prof PC Wong at HUH, he's very good and his success rate quite high. Might check with his clinic if interested. He also specialises in multiple births (he has a lot IVF patients who got preggie with multiples). I hv b/g twins who are now 5 months old. GOOD LUCK!

i'm new here.i'll be going for my icsi tis mth.i'm afraid that it was not successful.can anyone share their experience with me.
regards,
mochakoala22

Hi all, just made an appt with Dr. SF Loh @ KKH, will be seeing him nx week for the very 1st time. abit anxious n hve been TTC for 5 yrs coming 6.

hi, everybody. I'm new herre. hope to share and seed for more advices here.
i.m 29 this year, just went for IVF at SGH after found out my hubby has low quality in sperms. During the IVF process, I've 10 follicles, but only got 9 eggs, 4 immatured, 3 abnormal, only 2 became embryos, but my IVF failed...
Through the egg collection, get to know that my eggs quality have problem, wonder is anybody having the same problem? I heard somebody mentioned before that acupuncture can help to improve egg quality, anybody try before?

hi is this thread still alive??

i've an appointment with dr sf loh this month.. what is his success rate like? been ttcing for one year already, did 3 iuis..

my dh has poor morphology, count and motility..

we are seeing dr tan kian sing also.. thinking of doing both tcm and see what dr loh sf says..

been on clomid for 4 cycles already.. would he ask us to rest a few cycles out?

i m really hoping to get started asap..

anyone can tell me how's the ivf process like?

oh btw i m 29 this yr and dh is 35 this yr

oxidised,
sorry. i din have IVF before.
saw ur post and like to check with u.. is Dr Tan Kian Sing u are seeing the Clementi TCM??

yes.. that dr tan kian sing is from clementi.. been seeing him this cycle.. i hope and pray... n hope and pray somemore..haha

hw long hv u been seeing Dr Tan ar? mY sis is also seeing him nw. she says his schedule super packed one leh. hv to wait till pple withdraw then can get a slot to see him leh. very kelian. his hb last Sat went to do SA liao. my sis went to see for accupunture liao.

hi everyone, i m also new here. i hv been ttc for 5 yrs now. m thinking of iui or so-iui now. if anyone can share abt the success rate of these 2 procedures coz from the threads, nobody seems to hv much success. i don't want to straight away go for ivf. pls help. thanks.

Hello all
I'm new to the website and would like some advice from anyone who knows hospitals who specialize in IVF for women over 40. I've tried twice at NUH- it was not too bad an experience but the next time I want to try at hospital with success rate for women over 40. Thanks for any help!
Over 40 and time is running out ;)

im 34 and will be on IVF programme starting this month. My doctor is Michele Sook Lee in AMK Thomsons Womens clinic. Anyone of you who has been her patient? I have been her patient for 2 yrs and have tried having a baby of our own but no success as my husband sperm is weak. I register to know that I have somebody to talk to who is undergoing the same thing as myself.

My name is Vini. I have read through hundreds of forums written by yourselves and other women like you.

I am in the middle of my research for a programme called pregnancy and parenting.

Could anyone who is willing to give an interview about what it all meant to you.
I know this is a very sensitive topics something which is very personal. But like how all of you are sharing your experiences here.
I would like these experiences to be heard by many more.

It will give them answers to who to speak with , which gyne to consult, what is the reality which is attached to IVF and etc.

If any of you are willing to talk about it please kindly contact me on +65-98868894.

Vini

I'm so excited reading all the posts on IVF...
I've been married for 3 years and only started planning for kids last year.. as i was busy with my part time undergraduate studies... But my menstrual cycle is haywire... it either comes a few drips or it doesn't come... if not it comes for a month. and i'm also a plus size who cannot resist anything coming into my mouth * LOL*

Where shd i start first? consult a gynae or direct to IVF?

Pop by to say Hi,

I had delivered my girl last year

Had her via IVF

Jia you ladies

considering to go through another cycle to have siblings for her but i am so addicted to BF her now BF her coming to 14 months

Anyone tried doing IVF cost or ICSI or more common term test tube babies before?

Can share your experience and give some advice.

I am trying to have a baby for more than 5 years now and thought of trying test tube bb but I heard it's very painful and stressful.

Appreciate if someone can share their experience here.

No, I don't think it is any painful yes it could be stressful but its all depend upon the patient. Test Tube baby is process in which woman egg fertilize out side the body and than embryo transfer in woman body. Whole procedure under the guidance of expert and doctors. Yes the cost of IVF is bit high..