IVF or ICSI

SSL,

normally we inject into our tummy fat area
The fat will cushion the pain if there is any. But becos the needle so thin and short, most of the time quite painless.

Normally start from cd7, you need to visit your doc every alternate to 3 days to do a u/s follicular scan to see how u r responding to the injections. If not responding as much, the doc will increase your dosage

If you respond too well (too many follicles) then doc will either decrease dosage or offer ivf instead.

Especially in PCOS patients, we will normally respond very well and be ready for the iui pretty early in the cycle.. like cd9/10 for me. So the number of trips you need to made is not really that much.

If you do it in kkivf, they normally are available very early in the morning so that you can go and do your scans and then go to work without taking leave

Once your follicles (abt 2-3) is of mature size, doc will give u a hcg trigger injection at his office and perform the iui in the next 1-2 days.

Hi SSL,

Yup... normally the tummy area... around the belly button area... :p Like what poohy said.. the needle is short.. you dun feel the pain at all..
I went for my follicle scans on CD 7 and CD 11. On CD 11 itself, I knew my follicles were huge enuf, so.. did the trigger shot in the evening and I did my IUI on CD13. I maintained my dosage at 100 iu. For me.. the whole process from the start of the injections to the IUI procedure took 12 days.

Hi Picnic,

Thanks for ur ressurance. I believe that I will proceed on wif SO-IUI since clomid is not working for me. I'm not sure if SO-IUI would work for me but I'll pray hard. Hopefully, I will strike bingo on my 1st try

Hi Lisa,

I was quite adamant about SO-IUI as well.. but when I saw my follicles actually growing.. my worries were unfounded..
Good luck !! Keep us posted..

Hi SSL

I went to see TCM two weeks ago but didn't go into details becos that time I told her I am abt to do IUI with clomid. Now abort that because clomid not working.

Now I tried to take multi-vits and ask my mum and MIL to make tonic soup for me.

Hi Lisa

When will you start your SO-IUI and where? Keep us update. I would like to know the procedure and reaction becos I will do it in Jan.

Hi hope

I can onli cfm my SO-IUI treatment on my Nov appt date wif my gynae. I believe strongly dat my gynae will recommend it as he mentioned it to my hubby & I during my last visit wif him. I'm assuming dat if everything is cfm, I wld probably start SO-IUI in Dec 04. Will definetly keep u updated. Best of luck to u & wishing u success in ur coming treatment in Jan

Hi Poohy & Picnic

Thanks for the information.

Alamak, my tummy bery big, will the needle be too short?

12days! So within a month, if u react well to the injections, you can be pregnant.

Do u have to satisy any conditions before u go for IUI? Are there any conditions that makes one not a good candidate for IUI??

If i do the IUI at KKH, can i go back to my gynae for regular checks or do u continue your checkups with the doc that did the IUI procedure.

Are u claiming the costs against medisave?? I think I'm just worried that i will over-react to the injections. cos both jurong doc and Prof Chen said that i have more eggs than normal people but they are sleeping/lazy.

maybe i can ask the KKH doc when i see her next wed.

Hi hopeformiracle

U can prob try TCM as it takes time for the med to take effect.

At least they can treat the problem area. Personally, I'm going to the Jurong doc for medicine. I've also watched on TV the docs from Eu Yang Sang and Tong Ji Hospital also quite good.

SSL,

no problem.

haha ya u can say that if you react well and your hubby's sperm is ok, then you can be pregnant quite soon. Anyway the needle is not supposed to be intramuscular shot, so tummy big or small never mind wan... its just supposed to be shot just under the skin mah.

I guess for IUI, normally you will need your fallopian tube to be in tact and not blocked. and your hubby's sperm count and quality cannot be too poor.

After you are done with iui at kkh, you can go back to any gynae you want
Flexible, no hard and fast rule... I think its the same with all other ivf/iui practices.

I am not claiming medisave becos first I did the so-iui before the govt annouced the claim. Also, I think I will want to reserve the claiming for future use in case as I grow older and when I want to have my subsequent kids, I need to do the more expensive IVF.

PCOS patients normally will "over-react" to the injections... as in many many eggs will be stimulated. I think each sides of my ovaries produced more than 10 growing follicles the last time. Luckily, only 3-4 grew faster and so I managed to proceed with my iui. Else the doc will make me abandon the cycle or convert to the IVF.

you are seeing dr sheila loh ?

Hi SSL,

I got a big tummy too.. :p Ha ha ha ha.. definitely can tahan the needle cos it is short..
I guess... in order for the IUI to succeed.. you got to have the right raw materials... (that's what my gynae said).. supply him the raw materials and he just mixed them together. Actually.. to conceive or not.. depends whether u got good egg, unblocked tubes. good sperm quality, ideal lining... all these factors are crucial.. of course.. a little lady luck is very important too. As for medisave... I know I am able to claim but I have not claimed yet.. maybe i should but have not come down to asking my gynae yet.. maybe I should ask when I see him next..

Hi Poohy

Does it mean that if i over-react, ie. all eggs grow equally fast, then i cant go for IUI?? and must go for IVF?

Maybe i can ask Dr Sheila Loh when i see her on wed. cant wait to see her.

Will be seeking her second opinion on our test results from Glen E Doc. And see if its really necessary to go for laparoscopy surgery as what Prof Chen has suggested.

Will it be funny for me to request her to do blood test and HSG for me? or if she doesnt suggest, i just keep quiet?

have u seen her before? how does she look like? in her 40s?? i very scared if she's like my first gynae, very rough also. ouch.

Hi Picnic

i tot SO-IUI will involve putting the sperm in me and not mixing them together?? or issit IUI that has no mixing part???

I think if i were to go for SO-IUI or IUI (any difference??), i will claim using medisave. Btw, any idea if those receipts from the SA and tests be submitted for claiming as well? or only the surgery part?

SSL,

according to the nurses at kkivf, they told me if we over-response, they will advise us to convert to ivf else wasted. Cant do so-iui with so many mature follicles... u will end up with 7-8 babies lol
The recent cases of sextuplets in USA/UK are due to so-iui procedure. I guess in those case their gynae din really control properly.

I guess u just let Dr Sheila Loh advise u lor...

I only saw her once during a talk so I am not so sure abt her bedside manners. But she look like is in her mid to late 40s and quite motherly kind.

Hi SSL,

SO IUI is different from IUI is that SO involves the injectibles.... normal IUI does not involve injectibles.

IUI is the insertion of the sperm into your uterus. You dun mix them together. Once the sperm is inserted.. it is up to whether they meet the egg or not.. :p Cos by then.. the dr would have closely monitored and observed when will ovulation take place. That's why we had to take the HSG trigger shot prior to the IUI procedure.

Think better keep all the receipts just in case..

HI Poohy

WAH so many babies.

Hmmm..... will wait for Dr Sheila Loh's advice then. Tomorrow will b e seeing Prof for hubby's SA and my muscus test.

Hope that the SA result is not very bad for hubby (which the Jurong doc said he also got problem)

Hi Picnic

Oh.... thanks for clarifying.

So does that mean that SO-IUI's chances of conceiving is much higher than IUI? since they are being mixed and put into the uterus?

Hi, i am new here. I had posted a new thread " Homorne Jabs Anyone" earlier, but got no reply. So, i decided to try my luck here. I am trying to get preg...I had fine and normal, but my hubby got slow swimmers (he's on medication now). My gyne suggested IUI, but we have decided not try naturally, so my gyne suggested giving me HCG injectables (I had tried and was not given Clomid). My concerns are what are the side effects? And if they fail does that mean that I have to go straight to IUI? I hope someone can share their experiences with me if you had gone thru' HCG injectable and managed to concieve.

Corrections to my postings:
" We have decided to try naturally"
" I was not given Clomid and had never try Clomid at all".
I look forward to some advice.

hi straycat,

I thought HCG injections are either given to trigger the point of ovulation ( mature already developed follicles) OR to support a pregnancy. Why would there be any side effects ?

Unless you are refering to FSH jabs like puregon which is given to grow and stimulate the follicles. But since you dun have ovulation problem, that shouldnt be needed too. I think what you need is probably just the IUI alone if the problem is your hubby's sperm.

Hi poohy,

Thanks for the reply. Yes, the HCG injects are to trigger the point of ovulation. According to my gyne it is to give my eggs "some boost". So, can I assume that it is safe for me to try?

My hubby & myself prefer to try naturally before we go on to IUI.

me too plannig to go for it, any MTB success in IVF pls share with me your experience.
Any recommendation for gynae at Raffles Hospital for IVF program?

hi cheval and others,
there are many active threads for ivf/icsi in matters of the heart topic, come and join us there.

I did my IVF/ICSI with Dr Sheila Loh in KKIVF. It costs me about 7.5k. It is my first attempt. I am currently 14 week of preg.

I think it is much cheaper to do in KKIVF but need to wait for a long Q...

Unless you can wait, you might want try private gynae

Hi Hopes,

Dr Sheila Loh only sees her patient at Clinc D. You need to wait for 1.5 hours to see her in each consultation. Before you are allowed to do IVF, Dr Sheila Loh will arrange some test for U and Hubby. Test itself only takes about half an hour but you need to wait for 1.5 month to arrange for a test.

Just a suggestion:

My hubby and I did go to see TCM for a year before we try IVF as we want to conceive naturally. my hubby has poor quality sperm .

We want to see two TCM concurrently.

Dr Tan Kian Sing
TCM Healthcare Medical Centre
433 Clementi Avenue 3
#01-266
Singapore 120433
Telephone: 68723237
(Expert in Solving Male problem)

Dr Tan Siew Buoy
Singapore Thong Chai Medical Institution
http://stcmi.org/infertility.htm
Tel: 67336905
(Expert in Solving female problem)

Our body did improve after a year but we still cannot conceive naturally. In the end, we use IVF as our last resort.

As IVF is a very tiring process and expensive, it is better to improve our body before commencing IVF.

Good Luck!

hi Kimly..

thanks again... wow.. so each consultation must take like half a day leave already right..? jeez...

Hi Kimly

You mentioned total spent 7.5k does this include checkup? Are you a subsidised or private patient? How long you see her till she start you on IVF? How to book appt is it just call and request for Dr Sheila Loh? Sorry for so many question coz i thinking of going for IVF, thanks.

hi fond..

i also got alot of questions...hehe.. coz i think i'll probably need IVF too..

have u gone for ur first consultation already?

i was scheduled for some tests and scan on the first visit..but like what Kimly has mentioned..it was really a long wait.. (was scheduled 2 mths later for the tests )

for my case, i went to polyclinic to get a referral first..so the consultation and medical charges are subsidised.. however, eventually when we wanna choose our desired gynae and go for IVF treatment, there won't be much subsidy already coz it will be considered as private.

if you were to call and made appt with Dr Sheila Loh directly without referral, that will be considered as private rate already.. right Kimly?

btw Kimly..where is the Singapore Thong Chai Medical Institution huh..? i checked the website but no mention of the address. also need to check with what is the average cost per TCM session..?

Hi Hopes and Fond,

7.5k is only for IVF/ICSI treatment. You are allowed to claim 6K from your medisave for the first cycle. You just come out your cash for 1.5k. You need to pay The rest of the check up, test and consultaion separately from IVF treatment. I went to see Dr Sheila Loh as a private patient. Dr SF Loh is another IVF expert who you would like to consider. I doubt you can get subsidy if you choose your desired doctor, for example Dr Sheila Loh.

You can look for Elieen Loh from Clinic D. She is a nice nurse who is able to help you to book an appointment with Dr Sheila Loh or Dr SF Loh.

Dr Sheila Loh encourages us to conceive naturally from the start of the first consultation. The tests takes us about three months to complete and follow up check up for understanding the results are another few months. Actually my hubby has low sperm count and poor quality of sperm. Dr Sheila Loh referred him to see another visiting consultant, Prof Chia for treatment.

We decided to do IVF afer seeing Dr Sheila Loh for about a 1.5 year. During that 1.5 year, we seek TCM Treatment from the two chinese phyisicans.

Dr Tan Kian Sing is currently a head of infertility depratment in Singapore Chung Hwa Medical Institution but he has his private practice in Clementi. He charges my hubby about $26 to $28 per treatment in his private clinic.

Remember to get a copy of all the test report that you have done from your doctor in Clinic D. The chinese phyisican needs the test reports to give a effective treatment. In my opinion, a chinese phyisican who cannot understand test report from hospital will never know how to treat patient in term of infertiltiy problem.

I will like to stress that TCM treatment will improve your body environment towards pregenacy. But TCM needs sometimes to see the result. We needs to be very patient... Without a good body, the chance of getting preg is very low through IVF.

For Thong Chai, the chinese doctor does not charge you as there is a donation box for you to put some money inside the box. Do not worry. Donate what you can effort. The chinese phyisican will advise you and ask you to buy the medicine from outside.

I hope I have answer both your question and sorry for being long winded.

I went through a long journey and I hope you can have a smooth jounery too.

Good Luck!

Hi hopes and fond

You may want to buy Digital Basal Thermometer to monitor your daily temperature. The Chinese Phyisican, Dr Tan Siew Buoy will ask you to monitior your daily temperature for two month before you give treatment.

All the Best

hi Kimly

Thanks for your detailed explanation, it really clear my doubts. For Dr Tan Siew Buoy can we make appt to see her or just go to the clinic and request for her? By the way how you get your test report in KK? I remember i did several blood tests at KKH and when i requested the reports from the doctor she refuse to give it to me. May i know how you ask for it?

Hi fond,

You may like to call Singapore Thong Chai Medical Institution to ask when Dr Tan Siew Bouy see patient. You must tell them who you want to see. If not, they will just give you other chinese phyisican.

I ask for a photocopy report instead of the official report. Official Report that is endorsed by Hospital. You will require to pay for the official report. It is not necessary to have the official report. Just ask the doctor for a photocopy of the test result.

They will give it to you...

hi Kimly..

thank u so much for ur detailed explanation too..

during ur 1.5 yrs of seeing Dr Sheila Loh.. what kind of treatment did u undergo..?

why 1.5 yrs later then start IVF?

sorry..i'm just curious..

coz i already quite old.. i'm worried that the longer i drag.. the lesser chance for me to concieve... even thru IVF.

Hi Hopes,

In one of the test, Dr Sheila Loh discovered ovarian cyst. The Cyst has blocked the sperm to flow through to meet the eggs.

Dr Sheila Loh arranged another ultrasound scan. The test result showed the cyst was increasing. So she suggested to have a minor operation to remove it.

I agreed with her and get the cyst to be removed. After the removing the cyst, I rested for six months. During the six months, I see chinese phyisican in Singapore Thong Chai Medical Institution to assist me to improve my body.

After six months, Dr Sheila Loh asked us to try again to conceive naturally for a few months before thinking of IVF.

hi Kimly..

oic.. my case is more complicated i think.. i have ammorohea.. which means i am not ovulating naturally.. *sigh* i dunno what they gonna do abt it..

at least ur cyst removed already everything will be smooth..

who do u think is better..? Dr Sheila Loh or SF Loh..?

Hi Hopes,

A friend of mine has the same problems like U. In additional, she is overweight. At that time, she was 34 years old. She has only had "period" every two month. She went to Raffles Hospital for check up. Doctor in Raffles Hospital gives chomid...But it is not effective.

After a year, she went to see Dr Dr Tan Siew Buoy at Singapore Thong Chai Medical Institution. After a year of TCM treatment, she succeeded. She gave birth to baby boy at the age of 37 years old. This is a truth story.

Dr Sheila Loh is a research Doctor who carries out a lot of research. She will explain to you in details in your conditions. She will give you options and suggestion for the treatment. I will say she is very up to date.

I only see Dr SF Loh once when Dr Sheila Loh is outstation. He is a striaghtforward doctor.

I prefer Doctor who does a lot of research. In addition, I prefer a female doctor.

I think both Dr Sheila Loh and Dr SF LOh are good.

So who do you prefer? I understand there are a lot of people choose DR SF Loh...

Hi Kimly

Do you know which day Dr Sheila Loh/Dr SF Loh is on duty at the clinic D? Coz i already a subsidised patient at KKH (referred case) but wish to get one of them to check on my fertility problem. Pls advice thanks.

After hearing on your friend case so tempted to visit Dr Tan asap, thanks so much for answering our question in the forum, you are really a great help.

hi Kimly..

Hmm..I also think female doc better ... most close to heart..hehe.. but then.. SF Loh has a good track record also.. i can't make up my mind yet..hehe.. maybe I'll chose Dr Sheila Loh..since my previous experience with a female gynae is better

Fond..

even as a referred case, i think as long as we choose the gynae then we will have to pay the private rate already .. we'll no longer enjoy the subsidised rate..

Hi fond and hopes,

Dr Sheila Loh and Dr SF Loh are seeing patient in Clinc D every Tuesday and Thursday morning. Dr Sheila Loh sees her paitent in the Monday afternoon too.

Clinc D 63941482

If you want to relax and leave everything to doctor, you choose Dr SF Loh. He is a straightforward doctor. In addition he is handsome and friendly. You do not need to wait a long time to see him in each consultation because he spends about 10 to 15 minutes for each patient.

You need to wait for a long time to see Dr Sheila Loh because she spends about 20 minutes to 40 minutes for each patient. Unless you get the appointment to see her at 930am, you will need to wait till 1pm to see her if your appointment is at 1045hrs.

I do alot of reading about my medical problem and the treatment that I have received. I ask and challenge Dr Seila Loh with a lot of question in every consultation. I make sure she is working double hard for my medical problem since I pay as a private patient to see her.

Some of gynae who I know will just offer the solution after finding out a problem. There is no discussion between gynae and patient. I do not buy this idea.

Dr Sheila Loh offers me a lot of options and suggestion and She leaves it to me to decide what I want. I perfer this type of arrangement.

hopes,

If you want to relax in every consultation, choose Dr SF Loh.

Take Care and All the best

hi Kimly..

thanks again for ur advise.

thanks for giving aimless ppl like me a sense of direction

really appreciate it!

Hi fond and hopes,

I talk about the good side of Dr Sheila Loh and Dr SF Loh but I have forgotten to tell you about the bad side of the Clinic D.

The Clinic D is just like a wet market. Crowded with a lot of people. The administration in clinic D is very inefficient. Just imagine that you need to Q for blood test, payment, going to other department for scanning and collect medicine in the level 1 pharmacy. You can just spend the whole day there. Bring your notebook there to finish your work.

There is alternative place. If you choose Dr SF Loh to be your gynae, go to Level 1 private suite. The private suite is a one stop centre. The place is condusive and comfortable. Within 2 hours, you can see the doctor, complete all the necessary test, take your medicine and do your payment. But you need to pay an extra of $8. For clinic D, you pay $56 for seeing senior consultant but you need to pay about $64 to see senior consultant at private suite.

Just Consider it.

Take Care

hi Kim,

For the private suits only for those who is preggy they nd to do scanning or even normal gynae chk up n pap smear oso can?if can then i can choose Dr Loh as my gynae and see him in the private suit..