IUI at Raffles Hospital?

Sunnie----->how many times did you tried iui?
on wat circumstances that your gynae suggested ivf to you?
i'm going for my iui tomorrow.

Winniepooh, I find Dr Loh pretty good on my first appointment. She patiently answer all my questions and briefly tells me what to expect.

Koala, good luck to you, hope you strike this month ;-) **sweeping AF away***

Ronniemini, I only tried IUI only once. My gynae suggested IVF because my DH SA is not really good. Also, I am above 35, hence the decision.
Good luck for your IUI. Hope you strike this time. ;-)

Sunnie---->thanks Sunnie.
when will you be going for ivf?gd luck to you!Can i ask what is the cost of ivf?

ronniemini, I'm not too sure what is the cost of normal ivf, but I was told ivf-icsi will cost between $12K to $15K, first attempt can claim $6K from medisave

Sunnie, wish you good good luck with your IVF. has the date been fixed already? Must jia you ok

I can't wait to have a baby soon... suddenly many people around me are all preggie or just gave birth. Didnt used to notice it but now maybe I'm more sensitive lor. I even went to fortune teller to ask if I will ever have a child haahaa...

Hi Sunnie,
Would like to chk w u, u did IVF @ Raffles Hosp by Sheila Loh?
Can furnish me the cost of IVF?

Hi Anyone can give me any suggestion....
I'm planning to go for IVF @ Raffles Hosp next mth, but not sure how much is the total charges? How's the process?

Rily, best to get the process from gynae, cost wise I mention in my previous post is between $12K to 15K, u can claim $6K from medisave

Good morning ladies and thank you for your wishes. hehe... we all work harder and pray harder together.okay? ;-)

Ronniemini & Koala> I just went for my blood test this morning and seeing the doctor in the afternoon. I have no idea about the date for ivf yet but I was told I need about 10 days of injection (Help!!) and that sends shivers down my spine.

Koala> ya lor.. I have the same feeling as you. I am surrounded by preggie women. My office already have 3. So what did the fortune teller says? How many children did he predict? hehe...

Rily> Yes, I am going to do my ivf with Dr Sheila Loh. I was given the cost about $10-$12K like Winniepooh mentioned and a portion can be claimed from medisave.

I read briefly about ivf, it mentioned that the chances decreases with age, like 35 yrs old only have about 17% and 40 yrs have only 11% ( i think) so better have ivf earlier too.

Hi Sunnie...

Thanks for your reply...
cos recently I've op to remove cyst @ raffles hosp. initially they given me est. cost of the op abt $5-7K... BUT after the op the hosp. bill really give me a shock... cost arnd $10K

So 'm afraid the same case w IVF, not sure they est. and later whole cost come up even higher than they estimated.

Rily, op ext cost harder to predict, my gynae est my lap cost at $5K, but i'm very sure I'll see a bill of at least $6K to $8K. ivf cost is more fix but also depends on the medication that doc will give u, I know some ivf drug is rather costly

Winnie,
Can check with you if you had any problem claiming insurance for the lap previously? When you request your gynae not to indicate as fertility issue, was she hesitant to do it cos I a bit pai seh to ask from mine.

Sunnie
Same here, my office also got 3 preggie colleagues - so envious seeing their tummy grow bigger and bigger. I didnt ask how many kids I will have but the fortune teller very good, I didnt have to tell him I'm TTC and he already knows and even ask me if I wanna know which months to try. Anyway, I'll see how chun he is, whether I will strike according to his prediction month

koala, I yet to go for my lap, but i did tell my gynae that I'm going to claim insurance & she cannot mention in my medical report that its for fertility issue, she was ok cos she know the cost is pretty high. dun have to be paiseh to ask ur gynae cos the lap cost is way too high to fork out from ur own pocket

Thanks Sunnie & winniepooh.

i got check with my gynae abt the cost of ivf also,same as what you all said.
Sunnie,good luck to you for your ivf.

Thanks for your info. and all the best for ur IVF.
Will be seeing doc soon for the blood test too..

Koala> I hope your fortune teller is chun... can get some babydust from you..hehe. Hmm.. if good, maybe I can go and see him too. ;-)

Ronniemini> Most probably I will be doing my ivf in nov. BTW, which gynae are you seeing. Sorry I forgot.

Winniepooh> U are right to say, the cost is always higher than estimate. RH finally estimate the cost for me and due to medication, my total cost may increase to about $14K. Hope can strike the first time. Also, do you think it is advisable to change hospital after the ivf is stable?

Hi Winniepooh...

I'm also thinkg of the same way as sunnie, my hubby & I also thinkg of if IVF success & everything stable, hope we might be able to change hosp.

sunnie & raine,

I think we should be able to change hospital after 1st trimester, cos I got a friend, her sil also went thru ivf & change gynae during 2nd trimester & eventually delivered at tmc

Sunnie,
Hope it'll come true too. Will definitely let you know if so. Good luck to your IVF in Nov, must be very nervous right?

Just met my gynae today to arrange for lap surgery next month. At the same time, I will go to Thong Chai tomorrow to tiao my body for a month and also regulate my menses. I've decided to stop clomid from next cycle cos it's not good to take it for too many cycles.

koala, u can take clomid for a max of 6 cycles after that have to stop as clomid will thin the linning of ur womb

Raine> For me, the doc will ask me to go through a series of tests to make sure everything is alright with me and hormone level. Then, there will be a continuous self injection of about 10 days. On the day of ivf, the whole procedure will takes about 15 mins but need to rest in hospital for about half a day. This is what i know so far. Hope it helps ;-)

Winniepooh & Koala> Hope your lap goes through smoothly and painlessly.

Koala> Now still okay, not so nervous. But I think I will be when the days are nearer. I think I will be even more nervous during my 2WW. hehe...

sunnie, I'm counting down to my lap next tues, very nervous as the day draws nearer & hope I can cope with the pain well

Winnie, can check your lap next tue is your day no. what? Mine is scheduled mid Oct tenatively.

Sunnie, must relax and think of all good and nice thoughts during 2ww.

Winnie, may I know your lap next Tue is your day no. what? Mine is scheduled mid Oct tentatively.

Sunnie, must think of all good and nice thoughts during your 2ww and shoo AF away!

koala, next tues is my day 19, my gynae say can do lap anytime as long as I dun have my menses so I anyhow hamtam 1 date for my lap

Winnie, haahaa me also wanna do it quick quick and find out if I really have PCOS. Doc says she will do ovarian drilling if necessary. Are you also doing lap becos of PCOS?

I've just tendered my resignation and hope to take it easy for the time being cos my job is getting more stressful. But if no income, also stress... hianz...

koala, u can find out if u have PCOS thru ultrasound scan, not need to go thru lap, I'm going lap partly becos of PCOS & my gynae confirm will do ovarian drilling

my job also getting stressful as nobody can cover my work during my absence, but during ivf after ET I'll be taking 2 weeks break from work to rest at home

Sunnie> Thanks for ur info. will like to ask wat's lap u gals refering to? PCOS, wat's tat? sorri, I still v new in this and I haven't starting anything.

I'll be seeing doc next wk for blood test & briefing, thk 5 kinds of test.. before i can proceed to IVF...

Winniepooh> I read it is under the lap is under GA. So it should not be okay. Relax and everything will be over and the result is be good. Don't worry. ya lor, I was told after ivf, the doc will gives us one week mc but need to take another week to rest. Winniepooh, after your lap next week, when r u doing your ivf?

Koala> hehe.. hope all of us strike soon and have a baby mouse ;-). wow, so nice, can relax at home. hehe... your DH can support you la.

sunnie, lap have to be under GA cos the op is abt 1 hr, no GA will die of pain. after my lap next week, I'll be seeing Sheila Loh on 19/11, see what she says

Winniepooh> Sorry, I meant to say everything will be okay and fine. So no worries. ;-) I am also going to RH on 19/11. What time is your appt with her?

Rily, how long have you been TTC? Have you tried IUI already?

Sunnie, yey yey, hope we can all strike for baby mickey and minnie mouse!

Was at Thong Chai this week for TCM and noticed that the place is quite full of working ladies who are also trying.. wonder if some of them are from this thread. Anyway, the herbal medicine taste horrible... have to keep pyschoing myself that it's my favourite chicken soup haahaa.

Winniepooh> Mine is 12.30pm. The last time when my appt was at 2.30pm, I waited about 1.5 hour while when my first appt at 12.30pm, the wait was only half an hour. hehe... so I chose the earlier timing.

Koala> I tried TCM before too and the medicine very very horrible. For the sake of conceiving, I told myself too must drink. Haha.. that's is why mother's love is the greatest.

sunnie, normally I choose to the last appt slot for gynae appt, from wat I observe waiting time is much shorter, after that no need to rush back to office & can go walk walk with my hubby

Kola, I've not try IUI, doc advice to IVF.
Will be gg to Sheila for blood test soon... hope result ok, and can proceed to IVF..

winniepooh> thanks for the advice. I think mine is the last appt for the morning slot. **heng**
ya.. better go more dating with DH before your baby is out... hehe...

Rily> Don't worry so much. You will be fine. let us know when you going for ivf okay?

hmm... am I the one going for ivf soon? any one going before me?

Sunnie> I'll be starting Puregon injection next wk, hope i can manage with the poking of needles...

So when will u be startg the IVF?

Winnie, how's your lap today? Hope it went smoothly and not painful. Wonder if you are resting at home or in hospital... Are you able to walk immediately or have to be complete bed rest?

Rily, I'm sure your results will be fine so don't worry too much for now. Let's give support and encouragement to each other

koala, my lap today is good, everything went on smoothly but the waiting time to go into OT is terrible, I requested to be discharge after my GA wear off, i can walk immediately to toilet but have to do it slowly lah, I got appt with my gynae next week then she'll show me wat she done during the lap

Rily> I have not started the self injection yet cuz my gynae going for holiday. I will b doing my ivf in nov. When is yours?

Winniepooh> Take care and rest well.

Ronniemini> where are you? Any good news?

Kola> Thanks... good luck to urs too...

Sunnie> mine starting next this month... ur gynae is Sheila Loh? she never mention to me abt she's on holiday? u any idea when she's gg holiday?