Dr L C Foong from Gleneagles

Lyn,
you js taking BCP at the moment rite? Yet gonal f, then dr know only 2 potential follicles?

I think he don't mean you have no chance. He's saying such low follicles amount will waste your effort and money on this. E.g if you are given too high unit of gonal f, you will hv OHSS and also it's not means high unit of gonal f will gv you more follicles. I saw in the thread, there's ppl in kkivf was given 700IU of dunno puregeon or gonal f, they only hv 4, 5 follicles. They suffer from bloatedness even during surpress period, the tummy like 9 mths pregnant and yet can't get good quality of eggs. And not all eggs retrieve will fertile and not all fertile will survive. Coz a lot of ppl will get a few follicles even with clomids. Like you are with KKIVF, the condition the same.

Maybe you can try to check with him how to improve the condition. Or consult other specialists in ivf as well??

Try to cool down and think the nxt step ya... don't be dishearted with this so soon.

Vinwee, dr f didnt advice me to take or do anything to improve the condition. So i m kind of discouraged by wat he had said. He didnt say i have no chance but he didnt say my chance of pregnancy will be low but this comments is tough enuff for me to take..
Anyway i will be seek other fertility doc advice on this.........

lyn,
hope you are feeling better and as I mentioned to you yesterday, dr wants to catch the best "wave" before embarking on Ivf. Considering the costs, I think he is being prudent and managing your expectations. Hope next month will yield better results.

Lyn,
Ya... like what dream said, hope next mth yield will be better.

I think it will be hard for your to digest if he let you go ahead in this cycle. The emotional suffer with low eggs or even the dr (whoever s/he) let u go ahead, and no eggs got fertlised, is hard to accept.

Cool down, try to seek another advise and see and compare what other dr advise.

Hi Vinwee,
Am fine and looking forward to our new family member....... Enjoy shopping for baby items too. How are you feeling now? Guess by now you already know you are expecting prince or princess now?

Bluegal,
HI, hi, how are you? When is your due date? You already check the gender? , For the matter of fact, I am not keen to know the gender at all.

I hv yet do any shopping. And I hv yet get anything for myself yet. Just started to apply the strech marks oil.

What have you bought so far fr your baby?

Lyn
I feel for u... I know how hard it is to hear negative comments when hope is high.. Maybe its becos the last stimming affect the natural condition of the womb.. So resting one or two cycles more may yield better results.. Currently u still taking bcp? Take bcp is it to regulate cycle? Yr cycle not regular? Cos i never take bcp.. Dr f also nvr talk abt bcp with me... Is it only short protocol need to take?

Tml im seeing dr f... To discuss abt the failed ivf and to discuss abt the fet.. Its been near to 3 mths since the last ivf.. Feel like ages..

Vinwee
How come u not keen to know the gender? U purposely ask dr not to tell u? U dont need to know the gender so u can buy the correct color clothes

Lyn,
I have read your comments on the other thread and I think it is great that you are spending quality time with your hubby and taking a break from all this till end of this year. your hubby seems a very caring, loving and romantic hubby! So, just enjoy each other company and "relive"!

Baby,
I guess Vinwee will buy white clothes..and the great thing about white clothes is that it can be passed down from one sibling to another one!

Otherwise, don't be lazy. Go for accupuncture. Should put all your chance on this FET. you got great embryos so go for it, ok.

Keep us updated on your appointment.

Vinwee,
Seems you are doing better. MS over? Managed to gain back the weight you lost and add some more? How many months are you now? When are you due?

Did you manage to visit your family in JB? What did your mum say?

Bluegal,
Yep, enjoying my little bundle of joy, except the night feed! somehow, he does not like to sleep much at night and usually quite cranky around 3 am..when I am a zombie!

Dream, ya i m already tired of all these... Ya i really appreciated my hubby for wat he is and wat he had done for me. From this infertilty journey i have learnt to cherish him more... U must be very happy with ur boy now

Lyn,
Are you feeling better.

I am sorry if I do sound like I sided dr f. In fact i am not, but just want to try to figure out other possibility or any reason behind this. I know you hv been trying hard since your last cycle and how dissapointed of you that you cannot proceed for the IVF. Maybe seek other specialist advise 1st while you are resting in this cycle. Trully hope everyting will get better.

Baby,

How's your review with dr f?

I am not sure why I am not keen on the gender. I just hope for healthy baby and healthy pregnancy.

Not sure if is that dr will js tell us or we have to ask. Everytime i only dlb check abt the progress and nv touch abt the gender issue. Also, the baby keep twist and turn inside me whenever we go fr check up. I hv a friend, he got to know his baby gender by week 15. See how's the next check up then.

Dream,

Hahah... i am not thinking to buy anything (normal wear clothing for newborn). Just get from other people. Or just buy white color as u mentioned. I can always get the clothing aft bb birth maaa.....

I only intend to buy bottles, look for formula milk (in case not enuf breastmilk).

yeah, i went back to my hometown last week. My parents said everyting smooth and all us healthy will be ok liao. I'm not as skinny as last time. definitely gain a bit. I known as big eater all this while and I eat a lot even now. but still can fit my dress, skirt and short. The jeans also can but i dare not wear ( coz all fitting one, so the waist area will be tight aft meals).

Vinwee
Review with dr f is ok... Saw him at 430pm.. Maybe its end of the day.. He seems tired.. Not much laughs from him today..

He say i can proceed with my fet next cycle.. He say mine will be a controlled suppressed fet.. Will need to take prognvona from d2 af... See him on d14 for scan see whether lining is ok and whether im supressed enough to prevent ovulation..

Dr f told me that his fet yields better success rate than fresh cycles.. He assured me that i hv good chance.. Maybe my 8 embies can allow me to do 2 to 3 fets... He told me he is abit surprised i failed my fresh cycle cos he feels i hv good chance..

This time he sugg to put in 3 embies to boast my chances.. I think so too... I wanna maximise my chances.. Looking forward to my fet.. Feeling confident.. Will most likely go for my accup next wk...

Lyn
How u feeling now? Dont feel despair.. Rest one more cycle then scan again.. Dr f told me today that for fet.. The 2nd norm af can start do fet.. But for fresh cycle must wait till the 3rd or more to start a new one.. So i believe its good to rest more.. I know its hard to wait.. But tell yrself that the wait is worthwhile when yr body is more prepared..

Are u deciding to see another gynea? Who u hv in mind?

Hi Vinwee,
I'm fine enjoying the process of pregnancy. My due date should be around 25th - 26th dec between this 2 dates. Am expecting baby gal.
Well I went to taka fair to buy steriliser, pampers and those baby clothing detergent, wet tissue. Tomorrow will go and get stroller. Baby cot and play pen shall be hand over from my sis lor.

Dream,
Great, will be like you in few months time. Am both scare and excited....

Baby,
Good luck to your fet and lots of baby dust sprinkle on you. Don't give up cos me too try very long to have this little gift from god.

Bluegal
Thks for yr encouragement...

I will not give up.. Will pursue on! But hopefully i will be lucky for my fet..

Hope every gal here can hv their baby dream comes true very soon... Only u gals here can understand my desire and feelings for the ttc journey...

Lets all jia you !

baby,
great to read your updates. Feeling excited for you. When are you expecting your af? Have you decided on which accupuncture to go to? Raffles or dr Zhou? I think should follow advice for 3 embies but be prepared to put 700 for insurance. But it is worth it as it boosts your chance. Did dr say how much FET will cost?

Bluegal
congrats on your bb gal and I am sure she would be your best Xmas present. Just add dr f to add a bow on her after delivery

Vinwee
should shop in Malaysia for bb clothes and stuff. Everything much cheaper there especially since Sgd so strong.

Hi vinwee, no u didnt sound ur r siding dr f i understand wat u mean..

Baby, i feels that dr f dun really seems interested in my case nowadays or maybe i m too sensitive. When i was with him when i started tryng for 6 mths i went thru scanning and BT with him and everytime he is so confident that i will get pregnant that cycle and of course he is wrong in my case and iui he also told me the same thing. Then when i saw him after my cancelled cycle in kkh, he told me i could be oversupressed by lucrin and advised me to start fresh cycle only after 2 normal AF and both me and DH heard this. But when i called up to confirmed again he said i can start BCP anytime so i made any appt to confirm with him and he say ya can start without telling me the reason. Anyway i suddenly felt that its not worth spending 10k plus for a cycle with him whereby he isnt confident to deal with my case and ivf successful rate also depends on our own body. So since he say my pregnancy rate is not as high as others then i felt that this dr is not suitable for me anymore...

Lyn
Dr f also say i hv good chance everytime... From the start when im on clomid and iui.. He say i respond well.. On iui day.. It always the right timing.. So i always tot i will succeed.. Thou one or two times my hubby sperms are not too good.. Me n my hubby felt v disappointed.. Cos dr f give us high hopes but we did nt succeed..

So when 4 iuis failed.. Dr f sugg ivf... He say i will hv gd chance cos be find no problem in me.. And suspect i may hv thick egg shell.. Ivf is the only way to find out.. So we proceed to ivf.. Everytin went well.. I respond well.. Even on the day of et.. Dr f told me he is confident.. But i fail...

After all these failures from iui and ivf.. I did doubt dr f.. Even my hubby sugg we change dr.. But im just too tired to start all over again with a new dr.. So i understand hw u feel nw...

If u are not prepared to trust dr f again.. I also dont thk u shd stick with him... Cos without having confidece in yr dr.. Yr battle is half lost... So since im with him.. I will continue to trust him...
Try to do more research on other gyneas.. See which one has gd comments...

Btw why u hv a feeling tat dr f is not interested in yr case? Is it u feel u are getting yr own med so u feel he not interested to handle yr case?

As for u saying u heard him say must wait for 2 afs before trying again.. I thk dr cant rem what he said before.. Cos it happen to me as well... On my et.. He told me i will hv only one fet chance for my 8 embies.. Cos not all are good... But today he told me all is good to transfer and i should hv at least 2 fets and maybe 3... So i thk its quite normal for dr to differ in their words.. Cos they hv too many tins to handle.. U dont take it too personal thinking he not interested in yr case... Btw hw long u wih dr f?

Vinwee/dream
I thk i will try dr zou for accup... Cos raffles too exp la..
I also ask dr f abt acccup.. He say no harm to try but if scare of needles then dont try.. Cos will be too stress...

I shall remain positive for my fet.. Hope this time dr f will bring me hope and success... Thou with all the failures amd disappointments witn him... I still trust he can make me conceive.. And also i heard too many horrible stories abt other gyneas.. Dont dare to try others..

Didnt ask dr f abt the charges of fet.. But the pricelist when hosp gave me for my er.. Shows et only price is 1k plus.. So i assume after adding dr f charge should be 2 to 3k...

Lyn,
I guess it is good to seek a second opinion and from there, you can decide which gynae is better or suits you better. But remember that there are some gynaes who are just after your money and will give you empty promises. Anyway, just enjoy your holidays first! and refresh your mind.

Baby,
To be honest, I really hope that I had found Dr. F when I was younger. Things may have been different. I really think you are in good hands. So, continue to be positive and trust him. Yep, I encountered quite a few bad ones before Dr. F and some of them discouraged or pushed us so much that we decided to stop trying.

1k for ER is not too bad compared to 7k for IVF.

Dream/baby, ya i will seek 2nd opinion at nuh and sgh. From there then decide.....

Baby, as for why i felt dr f is not really interested in my case coz his gesture shows. Maybe coz of me using my own med or wat i m not sure. But recently i overheard dr f and angeline conservation abt a pt calling to enquiry abt things from dr f and i heard dr f saying 'how can they expect perfection' and i feel dr f does have personnal judgement abt certain pts.. or maybe i m also slowing doubting him already.
I saw him in july 06 after trying for 6mths, went thru 2 cycles of monitoring and everything is ok. Sept06 till may 07 my colleague diagnosed with CA breast so i stopped seeing him coz i cant take leave. Started seeing him again in june 07. Bet june 07-oct 08, i had tried clomid, iui twice but failed although he say i responsed well to clomid and DH sperm is good. Only went back to him in july this year....

Lyn,
It is good to get a second opinion and then decide from there.

I am sorry you feel this way and I can understand how you feel. Wondering whether it could be due to the fact that you went to KKH first. Anyway, try not to think about it. You should just relax and enjoy your holidays with your hubby.

Lyn,
Rest for while then embark in ivf. You may seek opinion 1st. Let your body rest and resume back to normal condition 1st coz all the med last fr a fw cycle. Don't let that affected your nxt round IVF. You travelling soon? Have a good hols and enjoy.

Don't think too much that dr not interested in yr case bcoz your buying your own med. I think if he don't like it and will just tell you no coz he is the one decide ma...

Which dr you you gano seek for 2nd opinion? I saw dr chew b4 fr my previous MC to seek fr 2nd opinion. Find he is quite money oriented.

Baby,

Ya... last time when we check with dr abt the success rate. He did mention in fact a lot of his client success in FET.

What I understand is, other than the help of dr in ivf, we need the womb to do the rest of the job. Try to make sure your womb is noutrish. I told my friends abt a sinseh in yishun, he and his wife seeing the sinseh to improve his wife condition as well. And also our womb lining, cannot be too thin or thick, it can't hold the embbies even aft transfer. And i read that, in ivf, bcoz of the stimulation, it will gv false measurement of the lining.

Ya.. try the accu with dr. zou... if might improve your condition.

Dream,
how are you copping now? Did you slim down?

I hv yet buy anything for my baby. Don't know what to buy... maybe will shop around aft my hubby come back or aft we are back from holidays. My due date is in end jan.. still have time to prepare.

baby / Dream / Lyn,
I think we must understand a lot of things dr cannot control as well. I do seek advise from a gynae b4 dr f. Before that we hv yet try for baby and I am naive that iui will make things easy and one time will settle it!! Stupid me, rite... and I truly understand how does it feel fr the fail cycle. And that times, u wanted sth so much that, aft the iui, it develop false signal of pregnancy. I think this is what our mind gv us.

When is saw dr in my last visit, i also heard the angelin told dr f coz one patient call and tell them that she fall on her stomach, what answer we expect dr to gv us? s/he can only ask if there's any bleeding, coz w/o any sign, nothing can be done also.

Like fr me, js aft I almost in the end of my 1st tri, i got flu, sore throat, GP refuse to treat me bcoz i am pregnant, public hols gynae not open. Then aft that I went down to A & E to see MO. Aft that then call dr f, he ask me what MO gv me, and said it's sufficient enough at that moment. Unless i got fever etc. Tell me dun really hv to see him even if I really want, ask me go down fr the last appt coz over there got lot of preggie patient. So Lyn and baby, better take flu vaccine b4 started your IVF again. I try to check with GP few days ago coz I hvn't see dr f lately, the gp said better dun take such vaccine during pregnancy coz some vaccine got mercury, and ask me better check with my gynae. So i think better take all precaution before pregnant.

Bluegal,
Wow, you started to buy things? I have yet go for shopping. None for me and baby yet...

Where did u get maternity dress? I am lazy to walk and shop around. Everything shopping is chop chop, know what I want and go to the plc to buy. That's it.

You bought bottle? I heard Dr Brown bottle is very good? Which one you bought?

Btw, did u travel during pregnancy?

Hi Vinwee,
I just bought few items which I need, try buy everything during your 2nd trimester cos by 3rd trimester, you'll be too heavy to walk. Walk too much, now my leg and ankle already swollen. Guess got to stop shopping liao.

So far I only bought 2 skirt from Spring to match with my normal T-Shirt which is stretchable. Mostly what I am wearing now are not for maternity, I just bought those big size doll dresses to wear, so that after birth I can still wear them.

I bought Pigeon steriliser and they give free starter kit which include their bottles lor.

Am suppose to travel to US for 3 months business trip during my 1st and 2nd trimester which was pre-planned since last year. Consulted Dr F and he have no issues with that but my hubby do not allow me to go thus have to last min beg my other colleague to go on my behalf. Wanna go holiday too, no problem with me if we go free and easy, then again that hubby of mine don't want me to travel. Miss my usual yearly holiday trip. If your hubby don't mind, should go holiday during your 2nd trimester. But should plan a free and easy one instead of package tour so that you can rest whenever you like.

I have book my accup with dr zou on mon... Hopefully its not too late to start before my fet...

Come to thk of it... Its been abt 3 mths since my ivf in june... If it been successful i would be in my 2nd tri now... Sigh... So sad hor... Hmm... But can only look forward now.. Hopefully i can succeed my coming fet... I hv also started to drink yomeishu few days bk.. I only took once before bedtime.. Duno its enuff not.. Maybe i will drink twice frm tml onwards... Morning n night...

Lyn
Hows tins with u? Decided which gynea to go for? I heard sgh ivf centre is quite good also... U will go govt hosp or pte gynea?

Vinwee, i m in medical line so i know many of the private drs r very business orientated. I will seek advice from both sgh and nuh...I m travelling 2 weeks later...but maybe not go if i dun like it coz this trip only 3 days too rush and DH no time to go accompany me coz got meeting thru out the 3 days.. As for whether dr f mind abt me using my own jabs is not important anymore.. I most likely not gtg back to him mostly coz i had been getting too many negative from him and I also dun wish him to waste my time in keep wanting me to wait till the 'best cycle'. I got a frd whom i recommended to dr f 2 years ago for fertility issue too. She had very high prolactin and dr f straight tell her that if her prolactin level is not to wat he expect he will reject her requst of doing ivf under him. My frd went to kk did her ivf in march and she is now 5mths pregnant. At that point in time i feel dr f is a very careful dr which is good but sometimes in medical certain thing is difficult to judge and certain cases u juz got to trial and error. I personally feels that maybe he thought i m having fiancial problem coz i request to use my own jab thats y he explains to me if i proceed with this cycle i m actually dumping my money away. I appreciate his understanding 2wards the money issue but i do not wish money issue causes me to waste certain chances coz as i wait i m getting older not younger.. Therefore as this point in time my gut feelings tells me to move on to another dr rather then stay put

Baby, i m fine... Will be gtg accu soon too although i will only try again next year. Good luck for ur FET.

Lyn
Understand yr tots.. I guess i may feel the same if im u... I find that those who is gng thru fertility treatment tends to be quite sensitive.. Anytin that comes out frm dr mouth will goes deep into our hearts.. I dont thk i can withstand negative comments frm dr too.. Luckily for me.. Dr f is still optimistic abt my case.. But of cos he has been optmistic all the long frm the start when i first see him for iui till nw... Really hope i will succeed this fet else i duno what to do... Try again? Change dr? I dun like changes.. Hmm...

Lyn, what is prolactin? Those blood test i took before i nvr see this leh... I guess dr f is too careful.. Lucky yr frd try at kkh... Did dr say why high prolactin cannot do ivf?

But one tin to note is from all these at least can show dr f is not too money oriented.. If nt he will just push ivf for every patient.. He will nt reject u and yr frd to do ivf... I feel maybe he just wants to boast the chances to a more likely cycle...

Lyn,
You will seek advise from Prof Wong in NUH? Hv you consider L C Cheng from TMC mentioned by dream?

Ya... what is prolactin?

Baby,
It's not too late to start accu. When will be your FET? In oct?

Aiyoh, don't think abt your previous fresh IVF cycle. Most important is adjust your body for your FET.

I think what IVF specialist can do is help patient in infertility problem but non of them can guarantee the patient can get pregnant. It's like what Dr Lof from KKIVF said in the interview.

So what important is make yourself relax while preparing your FET.

Bluegal,
Thnx, i will consult dr when i nxt visit him. Act we asked b4, he said np to fly. Anyway, will see him b4 if going for any trip.

Emm.... ok... will try to shop around b4 dec. I can't stand the crowd during festive season. Just too lazy even b4 expecting.

Vinwee
Yup fet next mth.. Wait for nxt af to start prognova 3 times a day to suppress ovulation n increase lining..

Today just went for my first accup w dr zou... I quite like her... She also say i shd hv succeed on my first ivf try cos im young.. No endo.. Not pcos.. Good fsh.. Good embryos.. Hmm...

Vinwee/baby, prolactin is a kind of stress hormones.. For my frd she is having a bening tumour at the pituary gland thats y causes infrequent or no menses. I m quite surprise that dr didnt do this test for u? Its an important hormones test to determine fertility status too.
Ya dr zou is a very nice lady, she has given me good support during this period of time.

Lyn
How to test for prolactin? Thru blood test? I only test for fsh, lh and estrosdial level.. Tats all le... I nver even heard of prolactin..

U seeing dr zou now also? She ask me to do accup twice a week.. So will go see her again on thur.. I thk alot people see her for fertilily... So i go during office hr cos i thk aft work sure v packed...

U will do ivf next yr? Meantime will u be seeing any gynea in sgh or nuh? Did dr zou give u anytin to improve yr no of follicles since dr f say u have little follicles

Lyn,
Thanks fr your explanation of Plolactin.

I dun think I do any such test. I only do the normal to the normal test then dr f discover that my hormone level a bit diff. That's why if i used Ovulation test, it will show I ovulate earlier.

Baby,
Good that you like Dr Zou. This is at least make you go to visit her. Since she suggested that you should go down twice a week, js follow since u r free during day time.

Jia You.

Baby79,
Just to boost your confidence, I went to Dr Zou too when i was trying to conceive. When she heard of my pregnancy, she felt very happy for us, but I stop seeing her alreadt cos I puke whenever i drink her med during my 1st trimester.

Bluegal
Really?? Thanks for telling me..

U went to see aft u tested +ve?
U conceive naturally or thru ivf?
Did u take dr zou med when u r trying to conceive? Cos she did mention abt taking her med and ask me to think abt it... But i scare abt taking tcm herbs as i scare it will mess my hormones... This is what lyn experience.. Her fsh is normal but aft taking tcm her fsh change...

Hi Baby79,
I went to her months before I am pregnant. Being taking her med till tested positive. She actually ask me to try acu but i dare not lor. I conceive naturally cos I also took clomid and Dr F usually will scan and tell us when I'll ovulate and when we should babydance. I even took med every month to have my menses, so can you imagine my cycle is very very irregular, everything also need med. Was quite devasted then cos my chance of getting pregnant is quite low. I did ask Dr F if I need IVF, he told me to try few more rounds as he think I still have chance to conceive naturally. If i remember correctly, my fsh is not normal lei..... so her med should be helping me a lot.

Baby,
Great to read that you finally went for accupuncture! and it seems your FET is around the corner. Excited for you!

Vinwee,
I bought Avent bottles. Supposed to reduce colic. The bottles are big, so not so stressful when preparing milk.

Lyn,
keep us updated.

bluegal,
thanks for sharing your story and boost baby's confidence

i had read your previous posts, thinking to consult Dr LC Foong as planning to have first child

is his consultation expensive? for ladies who had tried IVF with him, can u share me the total ivf costs?

I'm expecting my 3rd child with Dr Foong and am wondering if he is pro-natural delivery. I'm hoping to do a VBAC this time round and wondering if I should change doctors.

taregal
First consult with dr f is at $150 excluding scan, blood test, med etc... Subsequent consult is at $60... Total ivf cost will depend how much drugs dosage u need... For my case i spent abt $13k plus in all... After 6k medisave i fork up 7k plus in cash... And for my case my doaage is low... So if u need higher dose will be more.. Cos the drugs is exp...

For the old gals here...

I went for my 2nd accup today with dr zou... Not much to update cos didnt talk much... But she ask me to take my basal temp... Which i hate cos v tedious and troublesome... And i also asked her after et must sleep with back flat or can sleep on sides.. She say preferably lie flat... Omg.. Cos i dint do that last time.. Cos lie flat will make my back pain...

vinwee
No la i didnt thk abt the failed cycle liao.. I just wana make sure i dont repeat my mistake for my fet.. I thk i better lie flat aft et.. Haha.. But im sure if i ask dr f.. He will say it doesnt matter..

Didnt see lyn here for quite some time liao wor.. But i do see her in the other thread.. I guess she will not come in here as often liao since dr f will not be her gynea... Hmm... Miss her thou...

Everyone seems to be busy.. Dream busy with her boy.. Lyn busy with the other thread... Sigh.. Its getting more n more quiet here lately...

Baby,
not posting as nothing much to update but I am definitely giving you full emotional support and following your journey! Glad you have started your accupuncture. Must make sure that all chances are on your side. May be can ask Dr. Zhou whether it is ok to drink dom.