Dr. A L Lim from TMC

Hi jaspire, thanks for replying. My discharge has always been slightly yellowish in colour , even before I got pregnant. But no smell.. currently taking yogurt as advised by some other people as they say it is good for such things. Will monitor for a few more days then see how. Thanks!!

Hi Evon,
I tested positive on the pregnancy kit on the 1st day after i missed my period. I went to see Dr Lim on the 3rd day after missing my period and he did an ultrasound to check that my pregnancy was alright. The scan showed the "egg sac" in the uterus meaning the ovary has implanted itself in the womb. This is important becos some pregnancies have to be terminated when the egg is implanted in the fallopian tube (ectopic pregnancy) instead of the uterus. Since you have missed your period close to 2 weeks, I'm sure the ultraound can see something lor. Perhaps in the early stages, it may not be obvious for everyone.

Oh yah, forgot to mention. Becos Dr Lim could see my egg sac from the ultrasound so he didn't even need me to do another urine test. Dont worry lah, if you tested positive on the pregnancy kit, I'm sure you're pregnant. Everything will be fine.

hi evon

i think to early for check up coz i also same like u cannot see anything. every 2 week dr. lim ask me to come back for scannin & also same cannot see anything. Until about 2 mth plus can see egg sac.

Hi Jaspire and other MTB,

Yes, I managed to return to spore on fri and saw Dr Lim through my friend's recommendation. I must agree i am comfortable with him and feel that he has quite a far bit of human touch. Yes, think i will use him for my first baby delivery.

I have to return to see him in another 3 weeks for tests. Now i am 7 weeks preggy and can see baby' heartbeat. I am so relieved.

Jaspire, are u taking the duphaston without fail? Any symptoms like worse nausea, etc? I took on fri and sat then didnt take liao. I feel ok and didnt see spotting so i thgt maybe ok. Just wanna to check before i continue. I am still uncomfortable on the idea of taking any medication during pregnancy. I need more assurance from the ladies here. Please help.

Yes, I am confirmed to be a high risk preggy case and Dr Lim said I am very fortunate to conceive naturally. He wants me to take care coz if not i may not be so fortunate the 2nd time without the aid of ivf.

Simp,
Dr Lim also gave me Duphaston for the 1st 2 months. I didn't have any spoting/bleeding but he said it's safe and i can just take it as "an tai yao". He stopped giving me when he said my pregnancy was very stable at around 10 weeks.

Don't worry, you will still need to take some form of medication during pregnancy whether is it folic acid or prenatal vitamins. I was even on a course of antibotics when I had a very bad flu and cough. Dr Lim said the antobotics my GP gave me was safe then I felt comfortable taking them.

My fren had reco Dr Lim to me n my 1st appt will be in Mid Sept. Read above good reviews of Dr Lim and it indeed boost my confidence level further. Juz to chk, any idea of Dr Lim's delivery rates?

Simp, Dr Lim gave me Duphaston. I have spotting and cramps and he say its very safe as it is "an tai yao". I am finishing my first 20pills by tomorrow and he has given me another 30pills of duphaston. Tmr I will be in exactly 5th wk.

summerdaze, I like Dr Lim alot cos he is patient and doesnt give false hopes nor make u worry. And the plus point is his consultation charges is really reasonable.

Ladies, do you know how much is his delivery charges and for ceasarean, natural, with and without epi? I like to do my maths soon. Do you know if the nurses has the information?

Hi Yvonne & Xiau Ling...

Thks for the advice... Hopefully later can see, i m very worry but must think positive...

So when both are you going to delivery??

Hi Yvonne and Jaspire,

After hearing from both of u, i feel relieved to take duphaston. Ok then i should faithfully take them as well as other forum sisters also encouraged me to take.

Hi Xiau Ling,

Can i check when u had c-sec in 2004, is your confinement done differently like meals, cleaning, breastfeeding and post-natal massage? Any thing to be careful and take note of? I am concerned that it may be different from normal delivery.

simp
confinement i just eat steam fish ngo he & soup for more breastmilk. Cannot eat chicken for my neighbour say. I not do post natal massage. Just be careful cannot take heavy things.

i m also Dr Lim's patient. Agreed wif all of you here tat he is a nice & patient doc.

currently i m expecting my 2nd bb which will be due in Dec this year. my first bb also delivered by him.

simp, i had spotting in my first trimester, so Dr Lim also prescribe me with Duphaston.......& glad tat after completing the course, my spotting is gone. my 1st delivery was via casearen, i ate alot of fish & also eaten chicken...so far so good

Thanks Xiau Ling and BBtree,

Ok it's good to take fish, soup, the healthy stuff. Any ginger, garlic or tonic ingredients needed or just fresh produce with simple seasoning. If this is the case, i must advise my mum how to do confinement for me if i have c-sec, should be different from normal delivery.

When can we bath after c-sec like wash hair and shower using herbs. Can we take water, i saw from website that can only take red date drink to purge wind? Is that true?

Hi Evon,
I'm due in Jan 2008. Just went to see Dr Lim yesterday and also had my detailed scan done. The lady who did my detailed scan said my placenta was low-lying but Dr Lim checked and said it's totally alright so I have nothing to worry about. But as usual, he will nag at me to cut down on sugar intake and stay away from soft drinks, etc...his advice is usually accurate so must listen to him.

Hi Yvonne...

Good to hear tat you ok... Must take care okie... I very scare now cos tomor goin to see odc and dun kw can see the baby and heartbeat a not... Hpefully can lor..

hello,

two ladies here recommend to go to Dr AL Lim.. i just make an appointment with them on the coming tuesday. I am very excited. but i m wondering such checks should be considered as MC or leave?

by the way, i went to my GP then i realised i m pregnant, he did not prescribe me with the folic acids, do u tink i should buy from unity now?

cheers!

Hi pkum, hee... Dr Lim will give you MC. If he din give you can ask from him. He is not stingy with MC, in fact, he encourages mummy-to-be to have more rest. He always remind me to sleep at least 9 hrs every day. Hee...

Regarding folic acid, you should eat. But if you seeing him soon, maybe you can wait till you see him and for him to give you. Else just buy form any pharmacy oso ok.

usually i have no problems sleeping.. and would lied on the bed.. but ytd since i knew i m pregnant.. i wake up early and in fact i woke up in the middle of the night. and even made daddy to bring me a glass of water..

i have so many things to ask him.. hehe hope he dun disappoint me...

daddy is too busy with work that i have to plan the gynea issues myself.

Hi all mummies

Im also seeing Dr Lim currently now for my 1st pregnancy & currently at 26wks+. Yes, he is indeed a caring & patient & experienced doc & I feel very comfortable with him for this pregnancy process.

Few wks back, I had some brown discharge which inturn lead to bleeding & i went to him almost every wk as bleeding came on & off. He is indeed patient enough to find out the root cause & finally found out with his experience that I have a small pc of "flesh" that is at my viginal which cause the bleeding. So he did a very minor surgery on tat day to remove that "flesh". During the surgery, he kept telling me jokes to remove my tension as I was quite nervous during the surgery & keep assuring me that the surgery is painless. Indeed, I dun feel any pain at all & he even show me the "flesh" tat he remove.

Never expect that he will joke with me during the surgery as I tot tat he always look very serious. I have no regrets being with him but its just tat sometimes he is a bit naggy & very concerned abt mother's weight. Everytime I go to him, he always remind me to cut down on carbo & watch my weight as my bb is a bit big sized...

I believe his nagging is also a way of showing his concern to his patients..

Hi, mind to advise if Dr. Lim is pro natural birth? And mind to share what's the total bill like for his delivery charages for natural delivery and Cesearean? Thanks.

he is very nice and always answer our doubts patiently. he always make us feel at ease. fees is very reasonable. we'll go back to him if we are expecting our no.2.

the only negative point is the long wait but its worth it.

my bill for c-section, 4bedded comes up to 2k plus.

Hi, I would like to comment on Dr. Lim Ah Leng. I am a filipino and my hubby is american. We are almost completing one year here in Singapore. MY EDD is March 24,09. I started seeing doctor Lim since January 2nd week and at first he was actually an ok doctor, cheap charges. I do not find him a versatile and transcultured doctor. He asked me not to eat too much anymore because baby is 2.2 kgs already for 30weeks baby, he advised me not to walk too much, he advised me not to eat too much. The thing is my baby is half american half filipino baby, and my first baby was actually big just like what i have now. I was feeling scared after walking out of his clinic because he told me if i eat a lot and walk a lot, baby will be stressed and will have lack of oxygen. I felt the sibcerity on his advice ,i tried to follow halfway,because there is no harm on taking his advice and i trusted him. So my next appointment with him is supposedly picking up a date on my cesarean section in two weeks. They explained to me of the charges and the policy of advance one month to pay doctor fee before the scheduled date of operation.
My hubby was so concerned of the advance whole amount pay to the doctor because, we americans never encountered this kind of policy. I explained to my husband that this is singapore and we should just follow the rules and regulations of the professional. He still wants me to ask the following questions like;
1. what if i go into labor earlier before the scheduled date of operation and we rushed into KK or some hospital, is the money we paid to him be refundable? And he answered ,it is refundable 100%
2. Will he be available always in case i go into labor earlier? He said 99% he is available

Then somehow, he got irritated of me asking my husband's inquiry. He told me FIND A DIFFERENT DOCTOR, ANYWHERE THAT IS THE POLICY, IF YOU ARE WORRIED ABOUT YOUR MONEY THEN GO TO DIFFERENT DOCTOR. I was surprised of his reactions and what he told me. And it hurts my feelings for him to make me feel being kicked out of his clinic. I tried to keep a humble reaction, i explained to him, Dr. please understand my inquiries because we are foreigner here and my hubby's experience in states is most of the time the doctor is not available on the day of delivery. My husband just wanna make sure you are available and he just want to get an answers from you since my hubby is busy with work. Then Dr. Lim said, here in singapore is very safe, I DO NOT THINK I CAN WORK WITH YOU WITHOUT YOUR TRUST ON ME. I replied back, it is not the distrustful with you, my hubby just want to inquire about these things because we are foreigner here. Why you will kick me out? I have been looking for the gynae for many months till i saw a good comments about you in motherhood portal.

He still insists me to find a doctor, and i try to insists to him that in my situation now, i will be due very soon, i have been seeing him, then why he will want me to switch doctor. I left the clinic peacefully and he appointed me to come back 2weeks after for scheduling of operation.
2weeks my next appointment, i wasn;t able to go to his clinic but i made a call to the staff. the staff said i can make another appointment the next day. The next day, i was having a brown spotting problem, i called his clinic, the assistant said they are open and Dr. Lim will be in the clinic 1 half hour. So my hubby and i went to the clinic, we waited for 2 hours, till the assistant communicated Doc Lim, and i was referred to Dr. Beh. Doc Lim cannot come asap that is why he refer me to Dr. Beh.

Then the next week again, i try to call Dr. Lim again to schedule for an appointment,they told me it is already fully book for the day. Same thing happened over and over again for almost 2 weeks. Till today, the assitant finally told me that they will call me. So i jsut go with the flow, i am thinking that i have to talk with dr. Lim to schedule the operation, and just go to the clinic to pay the doctor fee. I finally talked to him, and he subtle scold me that why i did not show up on the day of my appointment, why i have to call for the scheduling of my operation which instead i have to go to his clinic for operation date and pay the fees.He also said to me, I DO NOT WANT TO WORK WITH U,I HAVE SO MANY FOREIGN PATIENTS HERE BUT YOU ARE THE ONE WHO IS DIFFICULT TO WORK WITH, OUR RAPPORT IS NOT TOO GOOD. I told him, i have been trying to book an appointment with you for almost 2weeks but they always told me it is fully book. Plus i was always instructed to call in the morning for the queue of appointment. And he told me finally, that my rapport with him is not really good so he cannot assist me with the delivery. FINALLY, that is all i need to know, that he really do not wanted to assist me. Not trying to avoid me all the time of seeing him. I only got less than 3weeks to find a doctor of my own and i do not need any alibis of DOCTOR IN SURGERY, FULLY BOOKED, CALL BACK LATER. I need him or at least one of his staff to tell me to find a different dcotor. He wasted my time and days calling his clinic.
The thing is jsut because of my husband's inquiry, he do not want to assist me? He could have handled the inquiries professionally. I am registered nurse, but i am not flaunting to the world that i am knowledgeable. But even if a regular person/patient has the rights not to be refused by our respectful doctors. Me asking him of things regarding the fees, he could have answered professionally. I am a patient who is the one building a rapport with him. I am a patient who don't really ask questions to him and just taking his advice because TRUST is important with your healthcare provider. Instead he told me our doctor-patient relationship is not good, and telling me i am a difficult patient to deal with.
He hurts my feelings and wasted my time for giving me alibis.
That is all. I am thinking if I am a Singaporean, or we have been here in singapore for many years, we will not end up asking him these questions that made him kick me out of his clinic. I wanted to complaint against his misconduct but i will just leave it alone. I know i should be complaining against him. I just hope that i was not the only one who suffered . I believe i am the one who is building rapport with dr. lim, i communicated with him all the time, that even my hubby's busy schedule, i relayed to Doc Lim hubby's inquiry. I do not understand why he accuse me of DIFFICULT PATIENT TO WORK WITH. Maybe yes because of my mistakes, but i did try my best to follow his isntructions. Anyway, I know everything will work out right for me and the baby.

Gondina

Im sorry that u have such an unpleasant encounter w dr lim. I hope this is only an isolated case n the rest of the gynaes in sg r more understanding.

When r u due for csec? i think e most impt task now is to find a comfortable gynae that u like n have chemistry. If it is still not too late n u r delivering in tmc soon, there r a few other very famous gynae that celebrities also go. The clinic is also in tmc itself.

I assume that ur pregnancy for csec is planned n healthy w no complication thus far during ur checkup for the past few months. It would be easier to find another experienced n reputable gynae ard. If fees r not a concern then i think it would not be too tough.

I think perhaps there r misunderstandings between e 2 groups of parties. If u r not comfortable w dr lim or vice versa then i feel it may be better for u to get a gynae that is experienced n understanding towards your case.

Hope all goes well w u and your baby.

Hi Simp,
I believe he misinterpreted the inquiries of my hubby i relayed to doc lim. But even so, he cannot just tell me to instantly to find a different doctor. I told doc lim, you cannot just ask me to find a different doctor because before i go to your clinic, i researched a lot of doctors in TMC. One factor i go to him is the reasonable charges as i dont mind the long waiting time. Plus i was almost 8months when i was searching for the right hospital and right doctors. We do not have CPF fund, and we will pay everything in cash. I walk many milles already from KK,TMC,mt. alvernia, and SGH. Only TMC is the best suitable for our budget. Anyway, it is the emotions that got me to tell him he cannot just tell me to switch different doctor. He do not know how much i have been through since i am foreigner here, and hubby always at work. I also dont have family here. I tried to explain that to doc lim that it is not that easy to go through the process of finding a different doctor. My onli point is his assistants should tell me frankly that doctor does not want to assist you, then i could have not wasted my time anymore calling him for the appointment and end up talking to him being accused of not communicating properly wif him. I believe that maybe he misunderstood my inquiries and becuase he is more than 20 years of experience, why will someone dare to ask him that kind of inquiries. Which I completely understand.
Anyway, today, I went to see Dr. Beh, i meet him second time after 10 days when Doc Lim gave me an alibis that he will not be available for another 3hours to check me asap since i am having brown spotting. When i first meet Dr. beh, he was very friendly and very accomodating. I felt the compassionate care from him. After the meeting with him, i am still such a loyal patient to pursue with Dr. Lim.
So today,for the second time around of meeting dr. beh, i feel the chemistry and he is really nice and very positive chi/energy. He discussed with me the charges, and asked me if we have CPF. So i said we do not have cpf hence paying cash for everything, and he gave me a discount of 7% like gst free. I am happy with that. less than 500 dollars more for cheerful, knowledgeable,compassionate and open minded doctor, it is really worth it. I did not ask for the same inquiry as i asked Doc Lim because we already know. But then he explained to me upfront the dates he is available, he gave me 3dates to choose, and all i have to do is call his clinic to assist.
I am so happy that we went to Dr. Beh today, after Dr. Lim REJECTED me to be his patient. Because Dr. Beh said i should have done the operation 2weeks before the EDD, so he end up scheduling the operation NEXT WEEK. Hmmm.... i am happy that it is right on time Doc Lim rejected me, if not , i will be really upset especially with my increased hormones now. I know everything will work out right despite of what happened.

Advice to other mums, do not go by the cheapest rate. Must go see a doctor whom you have good chemistry and broadminded. Like there should be a 2-WAY COMMUNICATION, because that is how you can build A GOOD RAPPORT with your doctor and vise versa. Thanks SIMP for the concern and all the mothers out there who understand me.

God Bless You All...

hihi, we had very good experience with Dr Lim too. Mine baby was delivered on 23 Oct 08.

Guess, there is always exceptional or isolated cases. Its not easy to please everyone.

Anyone here gone thru natural birth without epidural with dr lim??? Cos i read that most of u gone thru C-sect. Hmmm. wondering???

Oh cos my SIL also went thru C-Sect then I read that those people posted that they had a C-Sect too. But seldom see people posting that they had gone thru natural with him.

Okay great that you guys went thru Natural without epi with him. Cos i wanted a Natural Birth instead of C-Sect.

Hi Bellerichez,
I am just about 6weeks...looking for gyna....How u find him?Is nature birth for stitching not important coz we cant see?

Oh. He's good. Very patient he won't rush his patient he will explain everything in details to you, if u have any questions or anything that u don't understand u can just ask him. I was referred by my SIL. Cos my SIL first son was delivered by him too. So far so good.

I've been seeing Dr Lim for the last few months and will be delivering in a few weeks time

I have to agree with most of the mummies here that he's a really patient and caring doctor who charges very reasonably. Gives you the feeling that he is not driven by money unlike many exorbitant docs out there.

Anyway, charges aside, I like how he doesn't rush you through the appt and takes the trouble to explain any worries/doubts. He shows alot of concern too and was very serious in monitoring my condition when my amniotic fluid was low for awhile. He is also very polite and respectful and never made me feel like I'm asking stupid questions, I always grin at how he likes to shake hands at the end of the appt. Very old-fashioned but very gentlemanly!

guess the only bad thing is the waiting time, at least 1-2hrs even after being told the approximate time of your turn. But I understand from other friends that this is common for many gynaes so it may be unavoidable for popular docs.

I was recommended to him by a friend who had 3 kids delivered by him and swore by his great stitching skills, so will be looking forward to my own delivery soon!

I been seeing Dr Lim during my pregnancy and my lovely gal was delievered by him last month

Agreed with most mummies that he is a caring, respectful and patient DR
Dr Lim had to perform C-section on me as my water bag broke during my 35 weeks and baby was breech . With Dr Lim around, I am glad that I was in safe hand .
Indeed he had great stitching skills. Will see him again for my 2nd pregnancy in time to come .
Though the waiting time might be long but it worthwhile =)
Thumb up for doc lim =)

I'm currently 11 weeks and seeing dr lim. He's just awesome other than the super long queueing time but after seeing him u know it's all worth the wait. He's very patient n understanding and my hubby n I felt amused by his handshake at e end of e appt. But great gesture for a doc.

Nurses are all v friendly and e meds are super cheap. Though folic acid is not free unlike last time, it's priced at 10 cents per tablet which is still super affordable.

I went to see him when i had m/c
he acted very fast and did d&c immediately as i was feeling very painful

after d&c, i didn't feel any pain
thanks to his great skill

agree with all of u that he is very patient, care and polite doc.
1 week after d&c, went back to check-up
waited more than 2 hours. almost decided to change other gynae.
but my aunts keep tell me that i should continue with him.

On my 3rd visit, i decide that i should not change any other gynae

he's really great

hi Esth3r, just like you i also had a m/c few days ago. I also dun feel pain after the d&C, but i was quite scared before i did the surgery.

yes i agree he is a very gentle & caring doc. I will also continue to see him if i am to be pregnant again. However, my appt is 6 weeks later how come ur is 1 week?

Not active thread. But his clinic still very crowded!!!

I went to see him in end mar due to heavy period n pain. I need to go there on 25 april again.

Hi Catherine, still under observation, may hv a cyst or dunno what's that....
anyway ladies! If u hv prolong n sudden heavy period, dO not wait n wait. Quickly see a gynea.

I only hv a lovely princess now.

hi pkum, thanks for replying. Actually i still on MC after the D&C, so long time no came in to the thread so just visit to see if any similar case like me. Found this thread, but not active so tink nobody will post here.

Glad to have someone to talk to cos i am still very lost.