Breastfeeding Support Group

Thanks Jen

i cant recall if they asked me or not.. perhaps i was too exhausted after 12 hours of labour. i will bear that in mind. a fren also told me that try to latch on ASAP and as often as possible. she said it is this that are impt, the pumps etc are secondary

Jen,
if ur brs still feel hard after expressing can b due to blocked ducts or cant create let-down. will know it is blocked ducts when after achieveing let-down there is still a hard lump n this hard lump will get painful over time. if get blocked ducts try to massage the affected br with warm towel n try to express as frequent as possible. the best solution is to ask bb to suck. so now u can dun need to worry ss not enough since it is still more than dd right?

tulip,
this time round try to bf straight after delivery even though u r tired. coz if the first few feed for the bb is fm he/she will get use to the fast flow of teat n refused to suck brs for milk.

girl,
so your EDD will b end of this yr? like tat it is like a one yr gap esp when during study next time. this age gap is not too bad since both siblings will b closer to each other.

Hi tulip...I was also asked whether to total bf wen I delivered @TMC. In fact, TMC encourages bf, they even have "consultants" coming around to teach and u can also attend free classes during your stay there. Call Parentcraft @62514043 to ask for assistance, the nurse/consultant will go over to your room to assist you.

Giggler,
why your relatives are against bf? what's the reason behind it?
Jen,
I think you got blocked milk ducts around your breasts. Even after expressing, if that particular area is still very hard and painful, could be due to blocked milk ducts. Got to massage it and express the milk out. If not, after some time, it will be very very painful. Coz i experience it. What i did was i massage it very hard. I didn't tear. I cried like hell! *bang my head against the wall.
Tulip,
Usually the nurse will ask you whether you want TBF, mixed or FM. But if your baby doesn't get the milk, probably no choice have to supplement FM. Coz, after my delivery, i had to squeeze & squeeze while baby latch on...but seems like baby sucking air. So, i had to supplement..if not my poor baby go hungry. But the moment i got home, i keep latching on.
Any girls know where to get cheaper nursing bras? I bought 2 nursing bras at mothercare for $80. A bit to steep...

hi gals... ok... now I know what's block ducts... I keep thinking it's some white spots I can see whick I dun have lor...

tulip, icechoco... the antenatal class informed me that the bb does not need much milk for the first 3 days... rather they need the colostrum (yellow/translucent liquid before milk flow) from ur brs... so no need to worry bb will go hungry... I fully TBF at first though I had no milk, only colostrum... cos the colostrum will help to clear out the meconium (black shit) from the bb's intestines... by 3rd day, milk came in cos bb kept sucking colostrum for first 2 days... 4th day I was badly engorged had to go and see LC... the pain was unbearable... haha... I scream and scream... the LC oso buay tahan... =P

ic, not sure why my relatives are agst bfg. Think they belong to the older generations who think that fm is better than bm. There's no need to supplement for the 1st 3 days cos you'll only have colostrum mah.

Jen, you really got gd ss leh. Imagine that you already got engorgment on the 4th day.

ic....try John Little @Specialist Centre, it comes in a set bra + undi

Why older generations are so against bf - heard a saying that the baby will be very attached to mummy and does not want anyone else.....can you imagine that!!! Anyway, there's nothing wrong with that, the baby belongs to the mummy!!!!! Old folks are just plain jealous...I suppose.

Jen, Giggler,
Yah, i was pumping it so hard during my 1st 3 days. But my breasts was so engorged that not even the colostrum came out. That's when my mother stepped in. (*luckily she in medical field, so she can help me out but she just couldn't stand the way i "sayang" my breasts. She said that's not massaging. She demonstrated "her massage" on my breasts! That was when i cried & bang my head against the wall due to the pain. LC = Lady Confinement???
Tulip, Aggie, Giggler
Think we're lucky we got supportive mothers who encourage bf. Ok..thanks. I hope the one at John Little is not too steep... coz would probably need to buy a few. Luckily got Robinsons card..heh.
Now i know why some older generations are against bf. But the sucking blood...interesting. I know some younger generations they stop bf due to pain. Can't endure. Had a friend who told me, when she pumped the milk, becoz her nipple is already sore, there was even blood while pumping the milk out.
Any girls know where to get fashionable nursing tops?

ic, you got engorgement during the first 3 days? So you also got good ss? My mom was agst bfg initially, but after sometime she accepted. And now, she even encourage my cousins who are giving birth to bf their bb.

Hi Ic

the shop i go to for maternity wear also carry nursing wear.. spahetti type. about $30ish? very un-nursing wear
it is called staceyheidi at katong mall. they carry nursing wear from mums r us

Jen,
Was searching for the PM..when realize it was at the "other" forum. Thanks for the link. Very useful.
Giggler,
Your mom was against it due to what the relatives said? Glad now she encourage you. Probably she did her own reading on the benefits. To say, i got good ss, doesn't seem like it leh.. but i noticed my ss is increasing slowly. Just have to keep latching on. Coz i've only been bf for only 2 weeks.
Tulip,
Great! Katong mall quite nearby my place. I will go check out. The price seems reasonable.

Hi mums,
got Q to ask. These past 2wks my bb(8mths) woke up 2x to bf. Last time could slept thru the night.
Now this is her mealtime.
7am-11am she would drink (abt 2x).
12pm-7pm she would eat solids but not very much (2 solids).
9pm-10pm she would drink n sleep.
Does she eat n drink enough or else why woke up at night? Wanted 2 cut down her nightime bfg cos didn't want it 2 became a habit. But afraid she had not enough cos she very skinny leh. Any advice?

Hi Ic

call them before going cos i know they dun open at night except on friday nights. 64404847. i intro a few frens there.. they go there.. shop close.. i so paiseh

ic, you're rite just latch on when bb cries for milk now. DD = SS.

Arieslim, my gal now 10mths also kept waking up for milk leh. She used to wake up every 2hrs and every 3hrs (slight improvement). My fren taught me to feed her with water instead of nursing her. But my gal doesnt want lah.

Hi giggler

my gal now 14 mths still wakes up for night feed.. effectively, the number of times she slept thro the night can use fingers to count..
pple say child will outgrow.. gosh.. i am WAITING

tulip, huh? Your gal still wake up for nite feed? Some pple find that it's not rite that they still wake up for milk hor? But I still got no heart to let her cry leh.

tulip,
ok. thanks! Anyway, now i still in confinement, so think can go during day time.
Giggler,
my baby also sometimes cry cry even though already fed him with BM + FM. Not always... just once in a while. So i reckoned that he could be thirsty? I gave him a bit of water..he drinks though he doesn't like it. He will cringe his face and give one funny look while drinking the water. Hahah... he knows can't trick him..but he drink only a bit after that, he will go to sleep.
Jen,
curious??? PM me. PM in this forum oh.. I seldom go to the "other" forum already.

Hi giggler

she really can cry until tears roll if she is not fed. so bobian. now my mil take care at night, surely will wake up to feed her, the couple of times she slept with me.. she din get up.. she had fever for the past few nights (day time okay).. today again.. 4am high fever.. dunno why? hubby bringing her to see dr later.

tulip, same lor. My gal will cry like she's being tortured if you dont nurse her. How come got fever only at nite? Better see doc to make sure that she's ok. Seems like quite a few bb fall sick this period leh.

My girl is 7mth old now. Almost gave up BFG during the 1st mth cos no support, but now I find BFG really very convenient. Hope to cont to BF as long as possible, but can't seem to express out. Painful when I tried during confinement. (maybe can try again, lazy me)What to do when a teething bb bites during BFG? Has been direct BFG.

Another question, anyone's 7mth old bb sleep thru the night now? hb feels that FM more filling, should give FM for night feed. but I want to maintain my supply cos bb taking cereal for lunch and porridge for dinner.

trishbb, my gal bite me abt 2-3times when she's teething. But once I slapped her she stopped doing it liao. She bit me really hard that time till I got no control liao.

Hi Giggler
Hee, my hb slap her buttock when she bite me, but she thought he's playing with her. Sometimes when she bite, I say "no no" and she'll stop. but she'll bite again another time.

Your girl still wakes up for milk? Are you working? I'm going back to work soon, really hope my bb can sleep thru the night, else I'll be like zombie the next day. now still can nap when she sleeps.

Hi trishbb

My bb has been sleeping thru since 2.5 months and she was on full BM til recently. She's now 10.5 months (same age as Giggler's) Was told that some bbs take longer to sleep thru. How long does she sleep and what time does she wake up in the night? Any way you can change her going to bed time a nit later so she can wake later?

trishbb, my gal is getting better now. At least she only wakes up once in the nite. I'm working but I guess I'm used to her pattern liao.

Hi firstmum, what I'm doing is put the EBM in freezer on Fri and use them on Mon.

absolut, so envy you that Ally can sleep thru the nite since 2.5mths. My gal keeps waking up every 2hrs till 9mths, now every 3hrs and if I'm in luck then once a nite.

I'm a first-time mum. I intend to contimue bfging after I start work. My plan is to give my gal EBM when I'm working, will latch her on when I'm back from work and during weekends, hoping this way I can maintain my ss. I'll like to check with the mummies here, when it comes to Fri, do you all store the fresh EBM (produced on Fri)in the freezer and take it out and use them on Mon? (as I dun intend to feed her EBM on Sat and Sun) Or how do u normally do? I hope u all can share with me.

Many thanks!

this morning i was so tired... woke up late to exp before work... and then, i topple the whole bottle of milk on my sofa...
i more sim tia my sofa cos it's micro fibre, cannot just dump in washing machine to wash... hiaz... then come into office kanna bua... think today is my xiong day...

Jen,
same here.. Very blur today. Forgot to being the funnels to work.. Lucky got bring manual pump. Pump and finally got let-down, the white valve drop out.. While adjusting it, I topple the bottle and spilled all 1 and half oz of bm into the sink.. haiz.. very sayang..

Hi Trishbb,
also direct bf my bb(8mths). Last time she slept thru the night until recently woke up 2x to feed. Now on 2 cereals feed(bb doesn't really like porridge) so she didn't drink frm noon to 9pm. But still pump out to maintain ss. Maybe daytime didn't drink so much so nightime drink lor. Also a way to maintain ss lah. But maybe reach 1yr will tried to wean off her night feed.

Hi Absolut
lucky you. At least now i know BM equally filling.
Tricia wakes up every 2-4 hrs at night, no matter what time she sleeps. last time, when she wakes up at night, i can just feed her and she'll go back to sleep. but recently she always wakes up crying, and after feeding her, I'll have to carry her else she can't fall asleep again. guessed she has problem sleeping, not so much the milk problem.

giggler
Good to know your bb getting better. looking forward to once a nite feeding too...

Arieslim
Does your bb bites during bfg? my bb loves porridge, always finish whatever amount i prepare. she used to like cereal, but now that she started taking porridge, she always cannot finish her cereal. "xi xin yan jiu". read that should give cereal till 2yrs cos iron fortified.

trishbb, could your bb be teething that's why she could cranky at nite? My bb really getting better liao. Last nite, I last feed her at 10pm and she only wakes up for milk at 5am.

Hi Giggler

Dun envy me. Recently Ally's been waking up in the night. Dunno is it coz I have insufficient BM already. So try and feed her FM 90ml. Past few nites, she refused to drink FM and insisted on sleeping so woke up abt 530am. When she managed to drink FM, can sleep til 630am - 7am. Last nite gave her FM first then latched her and she woke up at 5am today. She only slept after being latched on. So sian coz in the past she used to sleep by 8 plus and work up abt 7am. Now can sleep at 10 plus and still wake at 5am. Dunno is it teething or she's now used to waking up at 5am. What's more, I'm already used to getting my good night's rest.

giggler/absolut... my gal has her last feed of EBM 140~150ml at 11pm... but she still woke up at 4~5am... doesn't seem hungry though... eyes big big... smile smile... kick kick... latch, suck finish STILL eyes big big... peng san... WHY!?

Hi Jen

Does your gal sleep a lot during the day? Maybe she still doesn't know that it is night time and should be sleeping longer.

only 2 days ago she started this funny pattern... previously she has always slept until 6~7am... sometimes even 8am...

Hi Trishbb,
bb still no teeth yet. Bite me b4 although no teeth still very painful. Scold n slap on the leg. Now no longer bite. Sometime when she fussy or milk flow not fast enough, she'll pull away w/o releasing then will not beat her lah.
Although cereal is iron fortified but not so easy absorbed by the body. It's still best to let bb eat meat n fish.

Hi Arieslim
Thanks for info, didn't know cereal not well absorbed. Maybe you can try giving her porridge again. bb's taste will change. she might like porridge now.

Hi Jen

Any change in her day sleeping pattern? Maybe she's just adjusting. There was a period Ally also woke up in the night and didn't want to sleep. So left her in the cot to play on her own and in the end she fell asleep herself

absolut, nope... fed her 160ml last nite... she woke up at 5.45am this morning... i was so tired, i ignore her... hubby carried her to the bed and tried to play wif her!! OMG... told him dun play wif her in the middle of the nite... then i latch her and she *luckily* fell asleep...

Hi Jen
5.45am not bad already. At least almost 6am already. Sometimes Ally also wakes at abt 530am. Also try to ignore her but sometimes she will yell for attention. Usually latch and hopefully she falls asleep. If not, either leave her on our bed while we still try and sleep but tough coz she'll climb all over us. If not, we'll put her back in her cot to play while we rest.

I got some problems with breastfeeding I'll like to ask.

1) Do we have to sterilise the breast pump before expressing?

2) When I express out milk for my baby, she is full after drinking from the bottle but when i latch her on 20 min on each breast, she would still be hungry after 40 min of suckling and cries for more milk. why is this so?