Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi Masshiro and ruffy
You are bringing your boy to learn swimming? Form how old on wards can a bb learn swimming? What do they teach? Parent must follow?
moon

Hi! Mummies
I'm back from Perth, wished I could hv stayed longer. One wk is so fast. Ivan was quite restless on the plane, end up having to walk and stand at the cabin kitchen.

Absolute
Read abt ur worries on bf. I think its definitely more convenient to bf while on holiday. I bf my boy in public over in Perth, its quite discreet, coz got one extra jacket on. BTW, I did not use nursing wear. In fact, I managed to shut him up a few times on the plane and bus, while he was restless with sitting too long.

Hi Winnie,
Hope this helps:
- Think not a prob to highlight hair...I've done it twice. Think Sahm's gyne did mention that also can highlight hair during preggie period cos chemical is not strong enough to affect baby.
- I usually leave for one hour and if bb still don't want then I'll throw away.
- I bring down the frozen milk the night before and half-submerge the bag in water. By the next morning, most of it is thaw, except for some ice so can pour into bottle already. So when MIL warm it up, the ice will melt and she will finish these milk within the day, hence, less than 24 hours.
- I just use hot water to run thru the pump before pumping. So far so good....no major problem from bb. If you read cclare's posting above, she uses sterilising tablets. That's a good idea too

Hi absolut,
Since you've confirmed going to Japan, just try your best to enjoy yourself. Don't think too much. Otherwise, you might get too stress up even before going. Maybe start training hb a bit first so he can help

Giggler,
How's Van's "constipation"?

Hi ruffy,
How much, on avg, does these infant swimming lessons cost?

Hi Soyabean,
I did take Fenugreek initially but has since stopped as ss has increased. I'm not sure if it's due to fenugreek though cos I also take oats every morning cos the LC at TMC told me it helps to increase ss. If you are worry about the side effects, you may like to read up these sites:
http://www.breastfeeding.com/all_about/all_about_fenugreek.html
http://www.breastfeedingonline.com/fenugreek.shtml
http://www.breastfeeding.com/reading_room/herbs.html

Moon,
have already brought Ryan swimming since he was 4mths. He has just completed a 3mth swim class with swimfast. Didn't want to continue coz the management was bad. Will try out with Aquaducks this weekend.. If he likes their lessons will sign up.
1Parent must go into the water with the bb to hold him and assist during the lesson. They teach how to blow bubbles/ kick, hold breath under water while associating each step with different nursery rhymes.
Masshrio the one at Holland Rd is Mardson Swim School.. tel 64738353. They only had sun morning 9.30am class avaliable so didn't really want it coz too early..had to wake up 7am + and prepare the bb .

Hi QSG

Staying at a hotel called Keio Plaza. Is it any good? Understand it may be quite a walk to the train station.

Hi Jul

That's a relief to hear.

Hi Desert

yep ... that's my purpose too. Just in case she fusses on the plane, I can just direct latch her to keep her quiet. The most she'll just be really full while being on the plane. Sounds like you had a good trip. Did you go on the holiday alone with bb and hubby? Did you have to return to the hotel a couple of times a day for his naps?

Desert, dun think u saw my previous posting asking u abt Perth. i am planning to go there in Dec. Could u share with me your itinerary ? What special things did u prepare? /is it quite hot there now? I'm afraid my boy will not be able to adjust... he'll be 6 mths old then. Thanks!

QSG
you should start now to reduce the pumping sessions as it take a few days for the ss to reduce such that you don't feel engorged.

berry
yap, normally what I do is that I will heat it to slighty hotter before bringing out, then by the time the bb want to drink, the temp will be quite alright, still a little warm, to feed without warming.

winnierabbit
I try to provide some comments on your questions:-
- can i highlight my hair if i'm still bf my bb?
=> I'm not sure but I know some mummies had done it, so I presume it's okay.

- EBM that has not been completely consumed in a bottle, how long can we keep it? I usu place it in the same warmer i heated the bottle up, and still give to bb within 3 hrs
=> for me, I will discard it if more than 2hrs.

- I;ve just started to collect EBM to prepare for my going back to office. the thing is, we are supposed to thaw frozen milk overnight in the fridge right. So, if i do that and transport to my mum place in the morning as the day's supply, it would be more than 24hrs in the fridge already, isnt it?
=> bring the frozen EBM over to your mum's place and thaw in her fridge instead.

- must we stil sterilise pump if pump in office? use hot water only can or not?
=> me using hot water too. What I do is after washing with tap water and the pigeon detergent, I will go over the pump with hot boiled water.

jul,

we wanted to book Keio initially but fully booked already since it was the sakura season then. It is quite a distance from the train station, u may want to check with the hotel concierge if they provide shuttle service to train station when you reach there. My friend told me hilton does. It may not be easy for you to just go back hotel and rest once you are in the shopping district in shinjuku...kinda tiring to walk all the way back and go out again so usually u go out in the morning then evening go back hotel.

Jas, will supply reduce by alot after reducing the pumping sessions? My supply is already not alot about 120ml every 3-4 hours (pumping about 6-7 times now), afraid it will reduce by so much that baby will have to rely mostly on formula.

QSG
definately the ss in a way or another reduce with the reduction of the pumping sessions. For me, it will reduce by about 100ml each time make reduce the pumping session by one. Example, I used to pump 4x a day getting about 700ml a day, then I reduce to 3x and getting about 600ml a day, now reduce to 2x and getting about 500ml a day.

Jas, wow you reduced to 2x still can get 500ml. Looks like once i reduce i am only left with very little
Did you eat anything particular to help build up your supply initially?

hi Jas,
So long never chat in this thread. You are still b/f

Good for you and bb joel (did I get your darling name rite?)

QSG
I didn't take any drugs or anything to increase ss, just that I drink plenty of water/soup and take more fish. I do take fish oil supplement. Not sure do it helps. However, every pumping session I took an hour which is considered long. I know normally is around 15 - 30mins. I didn't pump non-stop for one hr, rather with 5-10 mins breaks in-between to massage the brsts before starting for another 10mins pumping.

miu
yah boy.... you sure MIA for a while. Yeap, me still BF, what about you? You got my darling name right.

hi Jas,
Same here. Still b/f. My ss reduce considerably. Now can get abt 400ml wif 3 pumps daily. Currently on exclusive pumping, trying to reduce ss do didnt latch on my gal for 1 wk++ liao. You are amazing can get 500ml wif 2 pumps!

Jus when I am reducing my ss, I realize my gal appetite increases. Haiz..naughty gal.

<font color="0000ff">my nipples so sore
nurse &amp; massage lady said my nipples are "short" so prob bb will hv diff latching properly

maybe that's why i'm hving sore nipples and my gal likes to bite &amp; twist my nipples, esp the left one, hiaz...</font>

miu
when you want to stop BF? Okay lah, not really amazing coz I got to massage and squeeze like mad before can get such amount.... imagine doing the cycle, pump - massage for several times for an hour... tired man esp early in the morning...
One thing good is that my boy appetite is small, so the amount still manage to meet his needs but sometimes with 1 FM supplement.

angelia
how's your confinement? You can use some BM to apply on the nipples after every nursing to sooth sore nipple, alternatively you can use Purelan cream.

angelia, don't give up. Everyone goes thru' this "sore nipples" stage. After a while, when your baby gets better at latching and you are used to it, your nipples will be "seasoned" and u won't even need nipple cream any more! My Purelan cream is less than one-third used!

Jas,
Intend to b/f till my gal turns 1yo. Not ez cos I am down with terrible cough and sore throat for 1 wk aredi.

How abt you? Same target as me?? Stylobb stopped b/f aredi rite?

miu
Hello!... Me stopped when jesse was 6.5 months...ss was also dwindling that time, could not keep up with his demand. Now he can take 180ml at 8pm, then gets hungry at 9.45pm.. he will take around 180-200ml before he knocks out...
I thot I was gonna have sore throat then can be on mc...scully recovered for no reason.. sigh....

Absolut
Yup, went with hubby and bb. Actually depends on ur bb, my boy quite hyperactive, he dun like to sit for too long, so quite a headache to hv him on the plane for 5 hrs. He managed to nap for 2 hrs, played with his toys for a while, we also walked ard the cabin with him. When all else fail, I just latch him on and he will be quiet for a while.

Jul
My boy was 8 mths old when I went. If u hv not started ur bb on solids, u might want to wait, more convenient to just tbf.
I went for 7 days:
day 1: arrival at 3.30pm, by the time we reach hotel, its already 6pm, so dinner and just stroll ard.
day 2: Self drive to farm, overnite at farm
day 3: Left farm at ard 12, went shopping at suburb.
day 4: Local tour to wildlife park
day 5: habour town shopping, whale watching.
day 6: took train to fremantle
day 7: back to singapore

Check list for bb:
1. bath items
2. Fd- For solids, I fed him wheat cereal for bf, and rice cereal + veg for dinner. No need to buy if u dun want to bring over, they sell heinz over there in perth
3. daiper/wipes - I just checked in one pkt.
4. stroller/sarong sling
5. clothes - we got him a sleveless romper to wear inside, b4 putting on the t-shirt and jkt. We let him wear socks and shoes, to keep his feet warm.

Tt's roughly what I can recall, ask me again if u got further queries.

mon_mon,
r u going to start your bb on swimming lessons? Infant swim lessons mostly for water safety and familiarisation with water... My son loves it too much so won't stop his lessons. He knows how to flip over to his back to float while in the water now so he won't drown. ...has learnt quite a bit so find it good for him.

Hi QSG

Thanks for the info. Will have to take it into consideration when planning our itinerary. So where did you stay in Tokyo? My in laws just asked us to consider staying in a service apartment but then we won't be in Shinjuku. Have to check with my hubby where the svc apts are.

when your babies are about 3 months old, do they drink milk at regular intervals and amount? My baby has very irregular intervals and appetite which is kinda frustrating sometimes to feed her. For eg. you thought that after sleeping for 3 to 4 hours she would be hungry and you give her more milk but she end up drinking only 60ml of BM,imagine the wastage everytime this happens.I am concerned that when my parents and in-laws help to look after her when i return to work next tue they would not have the patience to slowly give her the BM and top up when necessary for each feeding and would one shot give alot which results in wastage. They do not support breastfeeding and would not understand how precious BM is to us.

Anything i can do to help my baby feed at more regular intervals? She can't stick to a 3-4 hour interval now hence the amount she consumed also vary alot, difficult to estimate how much to give each time.

Hi QSG

If your bb doesn't finish her milk, can leave it warmed for abt 30 minutes then try to feed again?

At 3 months, my bb was drinking at 3-4hour interval when bottle fed.

miu
wow good for you. me intent to stop end of this month or latest mid Nov when my boy reaches 10mth.
You feeling better? Hope you get well soon.

QSG
my boy also need to feed two times around that age to finish one feed every 3hrs interval.

desert,
thanks for all that info! u didn't do anything in Fremantle? I am on tbf, so thot it would be more convenient to go before weaning? Did i misinterpret your post? Which wildlife park did u visit? How's the weather there now? I hope it won't get too hot in dec.

absolut,

If she din finish, i will just try to feed her again without keeping it warmed.If after 2 hours, still got leftovers, i just throw away. How much did you give your baby during the 3rd month?

Jas, since your boy usually need to feed 2 times, do you give him the whole amount of bm the first time you try to feed him or give half first?

Any idea why some babies can just finish everything within 1 time while some have to spilt into so many times? Does your baby get distracted halfway through the feed and kept turning her/his head left and right?

Hi again all!

I've been real busy these days cause baby is not well, so havent the time to post regularly.

BTW, I went to paed yesterday and got some colic drops for my baby- they are in syrup form. The things is, my baby doesnt want to eat it. Spoonfeeding doesnt work at all, and I also tried to put some on a clean finger and insert into her mouth, but she spit it out immed. Anyone has any idea how to feed her this?

QSG
Normally I will just make one full feed, if he can finish the whole feed in one session, then good else will try to feed him the remaining about 30 - 1hr later. My boy very kaypo type, like to look everywhere, sometimes he gets distracted and will stop drinking.

berry
some add the colic drops into the milk feed.

desert
Welcome back. I was in Perth years ago, found the place too slow for my liking but my parents who went last year enjoyed themselves. Maybe I'll enjoy it more now that I have no energy to do anything but zonk out..hehe... I cannot get over the shopping hours leh but there's nothing much to buy.

berry
Try a syringe? That's what we did but must be careful not to poke too deep into her mouth ah..

absolut
Hey hey hey everyone's concerned about your trip and bb... think you go and enjoy yourself, just that it may be a bit more tiring since you have luggage, winterwear and bb in tow.

QSG
My bb finishes all his milk in one go leh...his feeding time is more regular now compared to when he was three months old but he used to get hungry every two hour.

Hi Absolut, Keio Plaza is a good hotel. I think it has free broadband access in the rooms available for guests. Actually, you can take a Limousine Bus from the airport to get to Tokyo. It is very convenient and it will actually drop at some of the major hotels in Tokyo. Actually, Shinjuku itself is very big. The JR Shinjuku station has got >4 exits and several levels of platforms! If going there, forget abt bringing your pram and jus carry baby along. Actually, you dun have to worry abt breastfeeding there. Even if there are no nursing rooms, jus go to the toilets in the shopping malls. I remember I was so impressed with the toilets in Takashimaya! So beautiful!

http://www.keioplaza.com/map/index.html

For your reference.

Jas, if your boy doesn't finish the whole feed, do you keep it warm or just leave at room temperature?

Hi Absolut,
I'm looking forward to my trip next year. I love going Japan. Used to go every year but haven't been there since I got preggie. Thinking of going Disneysea. Dunno to bring baby or not leh..It'll be nice to bring baby to see Mickey and Donald. but also means we cannot go on rides already.

How's your itinerary going to be like? Me only going next year but planning already.

Hi Hazey,
How to go Japan without a pram..aiyo.. I dun think can carry a few hours man..Pram would be useful when baby is sleeping but of course when he doesn't want to sit, got to lug it around.

absolut,

I stayed at shinjuku washington..wanted to book shinjuku prince also no rooms already, it is much nearer to the shopping district than washingon. You can go to the internet to look at the positions of the hotels on the map.

If not bringing pram, then you may want to consider a sling, the moms in mind sling allows you to carry bb in different positions but if you want to use this you have to start soon to get use to it.

Hi QSG

Fed baby abt 150ml each time. Some bbs can take more at one time but some can only take less each time but more often. Dunno why also ... like adults lor... some can eat more and some eat less but snack in between?

Oh yah... just checked with PD abt my trip and she said bb is too young for flu jap so we'll go without it.

Thanks hazey for the info. Really ... should forget abt stroller?? But I won't be able to put her down even when she needs to sleep... super xiong man.

Masshiro, haven't planned out the itinerary. WIll share with you when it's done.

Absolut, or get a really lightweight pram. Maybe that's why Aprica is so popular with the Japanese. Cos the struggle is with a lot of stairs, esp at the stations! If you need a book of shopping in Tokyo, can loan from me...but it is in chinese though....

Desert

I'm bringing my bb to New Zealand when she turns 8 mths in February 2005...have recently started introducing her rice cereals in very small amounts...just wondering, when u went to Perth...how often do u need to bfeed baby since already taking solids?

Hi QSG, I just used hot water from water dispenser to sterilize, that's all. My gal drinks every 3hrly interval if bottle-fed and 2hrly interval if latch direct.

Hi Masshiro, but I scared too cold for Van if she wears bikini leh. You also going Japan? Me envy envy leh

Hi absolut, my period also not back yet. Any idea when will we start to have menses again?

Hi mon, no improvement on Van's constipation leh. She hasn't poo for 3 days liao.

Hi angelia, you've given birth??? How's bb? How long do you latch bb on? I think you can only let bb suck for 15min each side per session.

Hi mummies, i'm back in town...so bz clearing back log no time to post.

No time to express when in bangkok - 2 bz shopping, eating... now my ss really v.bad only managed to get 6oz each day?!?! anyway me going to stop bfg so i'm not affected by it.

now my milk quality so thin i take it as bb drinking water - hv to top up with fm.

<font color="aa00aa">giggler,</font>
yup, induced on 07 Oct 11:25pm, Shanice borned on 08 Oct

usu bb will suck for abt 10~15 mins then fell asleep, so i can't change side

<font color="aa00aa">jas, jul,</font>
thanks. will work hard to persevere!

<font color="0000ff">btw, cos am doing malay massage this week, i pump into bottle to feed bb and she can finish abt 80ml at 1 go.. but hor, when i feed at breast, she falls asleep after 10~15 mins. how??</font>

lyn_tan
welcome back...
where in bangkok did you go? Heard a lot of people who went there comment about the good shopping and eating but I have been there twice and find nothing interesting leh... Can share your itenary, maybe would like to visit there again.

giggler, since after i return frm maternity leave - my ss dip sharply....slowly even the quality oso getting worse!! frm milk full cream white to now like porridge water - cloudy, greyish white!!! even taste a bit bland liao?!?! my colleage who bfg till her bb is 1yr said my milk qty so inferior better stop giving to bb - no gd!!