Breastfeeding Support Group

Thanks ladies on the breast pads n BF. Silly me- didnt thought of just folding it downwards. :p

BTW, I found a few diaper rashes on my baby today, so I think I'll start using diaper cream. My question is- how thickly/thinly is it supposed to be applied? Do I apply it only at at the affected area (near anus) or all over her bum? And during e next diaper change, I realised that some bits of the diaper cream cannot be throughly removed from the creases (at the anus area)- is this normal or am I supposed to wipe it all off completely before applying a new layer?

How is everyone today?
Hb/I have not been having good sleep cos jesse fusses on and off at nite/early morning... I really dun know what he is fussing, will cry and he is like searching for a comfortable position to get back to sleep..the more he fusses the more uncomfortable he makes himself to be..aiyoh....anyway he was hungry this morning, so no choice, I had to get up and make milk for him...so blur...if this continues...think I need to take leave....

Masshiro
Saw the pics...your boy looks so comfy in the bumbo...are u sure jesse's trying to sayang him...maybe he was thinking: hey! that's my bumbo! Haha...joking... I saw the other pics, seems like jesse was having a field day, in the background lurking around and exploring, quite funny.
Btw you mentioned you made passport for bb, how much is it? For the photo, must we go to the immigration office to take pic?
Can give me the details? Thanx.

Mon mon
No worries, will let you know whenever they have the gathering... me also dun go all the time, cos sometimes we have our own appointments and errands to run, sometimes too far.

jas / Giggler
Haha! Funny....! So jas, when are you going stop b/feeding?? End of the month? Then can start on the slimming package?

Berry
Can't remember cos my boy has very little nappy rashes that time... I think just apply on the area... I think better to wipe everything off then you apply fresh layer... my opinion. What do the other mummies think?

Berry, yup, you'll find a way of folding down your bra with your breast pad in due time. I usually wear breast pads when I go out though nowadays I don't leak that much, only from other breast whilst I'm feeding one side. Today I went to walk walk around Ikea. They have a very nice nursing room - well ventilated, with a comfy (though not spotlessly clean) armchair and some child's decor. It was reasonably spacious too. Avoid nursing (if you can) at the Immigration Checkpoints Authority nursing room. The room on the 6th floor was about as small as a closet, and had only one plastic chair and a small changing table. Not really any ventilation. Not much space at all inside, no decor at all.

About nappy rash, just apply a thin layer, don't rub it in. It is a barrier cream, so leave it smeared on.

priviledged, so am I supposed to clean off ALL traces of it during the following diaper change? Cause I'm using mustela barrier cream that contains zinc oxide, and it leaves a whitish cast that is not easily wiped off. I dont dare to use too much strength to clean off the barrier cream in case it leaves baby's skin sore.

giggler, does your nappy cream leaves a whitish cast as well? Do you make it a point to completely wipe off everything at the next diaper change? And where do you apply? At buttocks only or including outer vagina area?

Yep ... I'm quite shocked that my baby is drinking so much milk so pressure is definitely on to be able to pump out as much as she drinks each day. The worst thing is I can only match 2 of her feeds when I pump in office so I rely on the morning tandem pump to match her 3rd feed. So if I can't get 200ml at each of my pumping session, I'll get quite stress and hope the next pumping session will be able to have extra to balance it up. If not, sometimes will pump at about 10 plus - 11pm coz she's now sleeping earlier from 9 plus.

Actually I'm wondering whether I need to feed her one last time at 8 plus - 9 if her previous feed was about 7 - 8pm. Sometimes she is already deep in sleep but I gently wake her to drink coz I'm afraid that she'll wake up in the middle of the night.

Hopefully her weight gain will be sufficient at her next jab, so PD will not ask me to start on cereals. I went to Friso website to ask for samples for their rice cereal and Friso 2 last night.

Giggler ... are you intending to stop breastfeeding after 6 months? I'm intending to bring my girl to Japan 1st week of December so need to maintain supply then i can direct latch her during the trip. Otherwise it'll be quite a nightmare to bring diapers, FM, hot water etc etc. Wondering if I should start cereals only after we come back from the hols ... she'll be 6.5 months then. Not too late? Actually it's winter in Japan, so it'll be quite a challenge to latch her on with all the winter wear. Looks like I just have to depend on a thick winter coat coz will have to wear nursing blouse if need to latch her on in public.

giggler
me on KIV list for the next gathering

stylobb
yeah me end of month stop BF coz going to HK on 8th Nov. Start slimming??? Maybe after my trip to HK... coz got to eat the good food there first mah...

absolut
Did you mention about her weight gain the last time? Considered underweight or weight is ok?
I can't imagine how you gonna b/f in thick winter coat in Japan..hehe...

Jas & absolut,
Wow...you are really brave and adventurous hor....bringing bb to holidays already. My SIL is planning a chalet in Dec and I'm like "wow...must bring so many things there" siong man!

Absolut,
You going Japan...then you can try out the Japanese diapers...must be really good. Think Sahm and Stylo will be very interested...hehehe.

Hi Berry,
I used diaper cream (Johnson) for every change...I squeeze about 5mm from the tube and use all around the butt..also near the anus area. Will try to wipe off completely. I know sometimes the cream kinda leaves some white marks at the crease area. I just try my best. If you are worried, use a soft wet cloth to clean, it should come off easily.

Stylo,
You poor thing.....maybe you should take some days off to rest....must be very siong.

Hi Berry, I just leave the whitish cast on till the next bathing time. And I apply at buttocks and outer vagina area too.

Hi absolut, so envy your girl leh going to Jpn soon. I intend to stop bfg at 6mths but I still haven start on cereals. Only intend to start that when she's 6mths. So I guess I'll prolong bfg for some time. Quite reluctant to intro FM leh. Sounds difficult to bf in public with all the winter clothings on hor?

Hi Jas, okie maybe I shd do a list like M2B at the other thread liao. So you going to stop bf soon? How you feel? Reluctant?

Hi mon, me going for chalet end of the mth too. Think only need to bring clothings and diapers cos I still bfg.

Hi Stylo

Weight gain was too low ... she was suppose to be at least 6 kg (double her birth weight) but she was only 5.77kg. Apparently now she's in the 25% percentile when she was previously around 50% - 75% percentile. Now she's drinking so much, hope she gains back sufficient weight for the next check in 3 weeks time.

How's Jesse doing? Hope he's sleeping better now.

Mon_mon

Actually I'm getting cold feet abt travelling esp since it's winter. Worried bb will get too cold. It's my hubby that is super adventurous but he's not the one that looks after her when she fusses. He's the type carry awhile then will either want to pass her to someone else or put her down. We are gonna bring her to Disneyland somemore. I insisted that I cannot handle unless my in-laws or parents come along. He couldn't understand why ...and still wanted to go when my in-laws weren't sure if they could make it. Certainly dun want to spend $$ on hols then come back dead beat and feel more tired before going for the hols. And leaving bb at home is certainly not an option coz he knows I'll be super xian throughout the trip coz will be missing her and wondering how she's doing.

Yep ... should check out the diapers over there... hopefully can figure out what to buy coz everything will be in jap.

Hi Giggler

Am also intending to stop bf when bb is 6 months but wondering now if I should still direct latch her for her first feed and last feed if I still have supply. Maybe just stop pumping in office so that can be cumbersome and not very nice to take time out to pump. Although it makes me feel a little selfish to stop providing her with EBM because of convenience to mommy.

berry
I feel should wipe off everything before you apply a new coat. That's just my opinion and what I did. I use the cream from Mothercare, I find it very good yet mild.

absolut
OIC.. so it's good now that she's drinking more. Dun worry, am sure she'll do fine.
About the trip, you raised very valid considerations. Cos you surely dun wanna end up more tired than prior to it, right! It'll be good to have another two adults around so that you can be relieved since you foresee hb won't take care of her for long. But she's lil too young to enjoy Disneyland now? Better check the temperature in Jpn too. Why not some other places where it won't be so cold and you dun have to lug the winter stuff? Can you imagine, as one person, we already wear multi layers with the /heavy/ coats, wool scarves and all, what more with a bb? And how strong will her immunity be? Just some of my thots, not to discourage you or anything.
Yah, check up on diapers for us just for fun, hehe..

Jesse still fusses/fidgets on and off, dun know what happened to his sleep-thru habit, I give up trying to know why, just try our best to help him get back to sleep when it happens.

mon mon/giggler
I dun think I wanna go chalet, to me it's like 'suffering' .. I rather stay at home...but hb/I still thinking whether to make a trip to KL as sort of experiment. No doubt with a bb now, everywhere we go we have to bring extra baggage...hehe
Yah gonna clear some leave soon anyway so it'll be good time to 'recuperate'...

Hi absolut, it'll be better if your parents or in-laws can join you for the Jpn trip. It'll be very tiring for both of you leh. I think I'll cut down on the time of pumping session in office too. I don't think I want to let her latch on for the last feed as I'm afraid that it'll be difficult for me to kick off her habit leh.

Hi styloBB, so you got enuf sleep last nite?

Hi Stylo ...

Hubby and I love cold weather so when he asked me if I preferred aus or jap, chose jap but didn't think it'll be that cold. Now freaking out coz he said weather may be below 10C. Actually chose japan coz could get free air tixs and I wanted to eat sashimi - otherwise if I get preggie again, cannot eat again!

In the end, my free air tixs required us to fly on malaysia airlines and do a transit in KL etc , and that got my in-laws worried so now they're paying for us to fly on SQ. Then I found out that japanese like smoke while eating ... so it'll be tough to find non-smoking food joints. Sigh! Not very good for bb.

Tried to gently persuade my hubby to re-consider Aus with the additional airfare cost and weather suitability for bb and super expensive hotel accommodation, but he's done so much research etc and we are such disney fans so he's still going ahead with it. Was telling him even if in-laws pay for the flight etc, not very nice and may not be worth it ... but it's sorta fallen on deaf ears and now flight is abt to be booked. Definitely gotta pray hard baby will be fine throughout.

Thanks ladies! Can always count on you all for advice and support

One more thing- If I want to bring EMB on a trip out with baby to feed during outing, how do I store it (in a cooler? warmer? heat up before going out?)? How long does it stay fresh for? Thought it'll be good to have some EBM with me during outings in case I cant find nursing room readily available.

Hi absolut, since that's the case then all you can do now is try to enjoy yourself in Jpn and pray hard that bb can adapt to the cold weather.

Hi Berry, sorry can't help. I don't bring EBM out, I usu latch bb on direct when I go out.

Hi Berry

If baby is gonna drink within the hour, I'll warm it up first and put it in a warmer before going out. If it's more than an hour then will keep it cold and only warm it up when she needs to drink. But that means you'll need to bring hot water and a cup to warm the milk which is more troublesome.

Recommended time to keep warmed milk is 2 hours but some people throw it away after 1 hour.

Used to bring EBM out but now I think I rather just direct latch even though my in-laws seem quite uncomfortable abt it when I'm out with them.

absolut...
why u worri abt not eating sashimi? hehe... so fast planning for 2nd one liao arh?
well, think oni in spore smoking in public places quite restricted. but most other countries are more lax when it comes to tis.

Hi absolut, ya hor? So fast you plan for No 2 liao?

Hi soyabean, me not taking fenugreek. I think it depends on individual rite?

Hi Giggler,
I was intending to bring him swimming now but hubby thinks shud wait until he finishes his 6-mth jab. I'm still looking for swimming suit for him.

Actually wanted to sign up with Total Swimming for the infants swimming class but learnt tat they no longer do it at KKH's heated pool..it's outdoor pool now. I thot it'll be nice to use a heated pool..so now still thinking whether to sign up for course. Think the course is more for us parents to learn how to handle baby in water, rather than for them to learn how to swim cos they're too young.

Hi Stylobb,
Cute right the pic. Maybe will get the bumbo if there's sale. John Little now got sale. I'm going to take a look at their car seats. Actually I like MAxi Cosi Priori but only from 9 mths onwards. I scared if I introduce car seat to him at 9 mths, he'll resent it.

Hi Soyabean,
I take 1 capsule of fenugreek every evening but supply still no good leh..I think it depends on individuals.

Hi Absolut,
Wow.you really courageous..going to Japan in Winter and thinking to breastfeed. Where are you planning to breastfeed..I hardly see any Jap ladies bf leh..so dunno if they're receptive towards it.

I'm planning to go Japan next Mar for the sakura season. Haven't decided whether to bring my boy along, but prob I would cos want to introduce him to my friends there. I'm worried that he'll have problems on the flight..not sure if the pressure will make him uncomfortable and end up he'll be screaming on the plane and disturb the other passengers.

Also in Japan a lot of the train stations no lift, so very shiong to have to carry baby and barang barang to climb the stairs.

I'm still considering about the pros and cons of bringing him. Like you, I'd very much like to bring him to disneyland too

hi masshiro...
been reading up on the web... seems like 1 capsule is NOT enuf... u bgt fr GNC? i bgt mine from gnc... its 500mg per capsule.
i read fr web dat in order for it to reali work, got to take 3 times a day, each time 2-3 capsules. somemore the westeners' fenugreek dosage is at least 580mg per capsule.
btw, i understand fr gnc they going to discontinue the product...

Hi Soyabean,

I dun dare to take more leh, cos the instruction said 1 per day mah. Also I read one of the side effects is diarhhoea so I scared my baby will get it. After I finish this bottle, think won't get anymore. Did they say why they discontinue? Is it becos of side effects?

hi masshiro...
i dunno why they discontinue it... i dun think its cos of side effects. anyway, once u tk fenugreek and ss goes up, can stop tkg it liao...
dats wat i read fr the web.

mon_mon
not me, I go on holiday without my boy... intend to bring my boy to holiday only next year when he pass his 1yr mark.

giggler
in a way a bit reluctant but also looking forward to it coz at least I can resume my life without BF. Expressing simply takes up too much of my time. Morever, as my boy gets older, he seems to be able to differentiate food taste, give him FM he can finish all very fast, give him EBM takes him a while to finish and sometimes got to coax or split into two times to feed him to finish one feed. Morever, he likes solid food and esp fish. After thinking through, decided it was the time to stop. I have been giant for so long, time for me to start getting back in shape... I was telling my boy, mummy did the best to give you BM liao and now it's time for mummy to do something for myself..... hee hee ...

absolut
if the plan to Jap still go ahead, I think it will be good to check with PD is there any need to give bb the flu virus injection since you going to the in winter.

berry
taking about bring EBM out, me an expert lah... coz I don't direct latch my boy. It depends on how long the outing will be. If the bb next feed before going out is less than 2hrs, just heat up (make hotter than usual) the EBM in the milk bottle, then put in the warmer. If it is more than 2 hrs, I will put in the cooler bag and only heat it up when needed.

giggler/masshiro
I also intent to let my boy try swimming at my aunt's condo during the christmas party, so looking for swimsuit now too. But I saw a shop at Forum selling swimsuit for kids, I didn't have time to go in and take a look.

I am returning to work on 26 Oct and have to cut down pumping sessions since my office dun have place for me to pump and not very nice to keep taking time out to pump.Can share when i should start reducing the pumping sessions so that when i start work i won't be engorged during office hours? I am targeting to cut pumping sessions from 7 to about 3 or 4 for every 24 hours when i start work

Hi giggler, Jas,

I can find the swimming trunk but not the wetsuit leh..Now OUB 2nd floor got baby sale and they sell swimming costume. Maybe you all can go take a look. I want to buy the so called wetsuit so baby not so cold. I saw something near my office but selling at 50+ no point lah so ex. Cannot wear long also.

Hi QSG,
Are you able to pump like 3 times in the office at least for the first few weeks first to establish your supply then cut down slowly. cos sometimes when we go back to work, supply may dip, so need to pump more first.

I started with 3 times and now down to 2 times.

JanTan, so I can just heat up EBM and put in warmer, then bring out, so when baby needs to feed, just directly feed her without warming it up again?

Masshiro,

I couldn't bec no place for me to pump. I have to thick skin abit to ask my boss to lend me his room during lunch to pump, other times unless i pump in toilet if not no where else. Dun want to use the toilet as it is not very hygienic, somemore no chair or tables to put my stuff. Can't imagine staying in the toilet for at least 15 min when somemore making big business there.

Hi Masshiro, I saw those swimsuit at Sportslink but the smallest size still too big for Van leh.

Hi QSG, does your office has executive toilet? I pump in exec toilet leh. I pump twice a day in office.

Giggler,

My office only has normal toilets and only 2 cubicles not very big.

How you manage to pump in toilet, where do you put the pump , caps,etc?

Do you sterilse your pump in office? how?

Hi Berry

The warmer should be able to keep your warmed up milk 'warm' for some time so I think no need to warm it up again.

Hi QSG

I basically started pumping according to the schedule I planned for work about a week before to prepare my body.

Masshiro,
Have you tried the swimwear shop at Tanglin Mall..they have wetsuits..and quite reasonably priced.KP also have wetsuit style for less than $50 Have you enrolled your bb for swimming lessons yet? I'm bring Ryan for the trial by Aquaducks at suntec. Don't recommend Swimfast coz the management is bad.. he was under there for 2mths..instructors are okay.. but management is another story. There is another school MArdsenswimschool but they only have sun morning classes ..so considering.. this one is cheaper than aquaducks and use their own private pool at holland v.

Berry,
How r u and Faye..the other thread " SAHM of two kids" died ..so looking for you here..

Masshiro,

I saw wetsuit suitable for 6 - 12 mths in a shop at United Square. Although the size is '2', for age 2 yrs, the size looks pretty small. I think can fit my boy at 6.5 mths. But only 1 selection, others are too big. Costs $38.

QSG,
I also pump in exec toilet. There's a latch for me to put my things.
Sterilise in office - i use the sterilising tablet. Dissolve in cold water and soak your pump inside. So need to have a big container. My colleagues call it 'fish tank'.

Hi QSG, I pump in exec toilet so it has a vanity top inside. I place everything on the vanity top while I pump. Then to sterilise, I sub-merge the pump in hot water inside a plastic container every day.

Hi ruffy, how come 'died'? What happened to the regulars like sahm and Pink Tulip?

Hi Masshiro

Er... actually dunno where I plan to breastfeed also leh. But should be able to be quite discreet since I got the winter jacket to cover up. Probably will be wearing nursing tops. Actually you're making me think twice abt bf in Japan also. My mom-in-law just insisted that I have to bring FM there in case bb needs. Reasoning ... i dun know why?? If that's the case, I might as well wean her off and just feed FM. Just that I have to make sure that I have sufficient hot water for the whole day.

Will let you know how i do in japan with my girl. As for the flight, decided to take the night flight out leaving at 1030pm and reaching at 6 plus am since that's within her sleeping time... I definitely hope she'll be able to sleep soundly. if she's awake when the place takes off, will prob latch her on so it helps to ease the pressure on her little ear drums.

Hi Jas

Hmmm... looks like I should consider whether bb should get the flu jab. Dunno if she's too young leh. Will think abt it.

Giggler, dun need to use boiling water? So nice, got vanity top somemore...the thought having having to cut down supply of breastmilk makes me kinda sad, will probably need to supplement with formula.

Absolute, which part of japan you going? I went to tokyo when i am 5 months pregnant and it is kinda tiring...alot of walking even to train station and quite a number of stations dun have escalator plus the distance. There are so many exits/entrance linking to different places within the station and if you go to the wrong one u will need to walk quite abit to the right one.Actually it is not a good place to go if pregnant or with babies, like some of our ladies said alot of smoke...they smoke everywhere even in air con places like restaurants.

Hi Giggler,
Thanks for the info. I think if Van cannot wear, my boy also cannot lah...for girls, can buy bikini. So cute.

Hi ruffy,
Thanks. I'll go take a look at Tanglin Mall then. I have not decided which school..maybe Total Swimming or Aqua duck. Let me know after your trial if they're good ok. tks. Do you have the contact of the one at Holland? Private pool sounds good. maybe not so many people. I opened this account at uob for kids and got this voucher for lesson at total swimming. 20% disc for 1st 6 mths and 15% for next 6 mths. they charge $80 (normal price) for 4 lessons.

Hi Absolut,

Oops..dun mean to discourage you from bf. I totally support bf and I must say tat u r great for thinking of doing tat. jus wanted to highlight some practical difficulties esp in japan. Jus try yr best and nurse whenever it's convenient if not can supplement wif bm or fm. most impt is u enjoy yr hols
I also did some reading on taking babies on flights..hope it won't be too difficult.

Hi Masshiro

Dun worry, I know you mean well. Actually I thot of Bf in jap so that I can avoid bringing formula and hot water around. hee hee ... will see how lah. Got one more month to think abt it.

Hi QSG

I'm going to tokyo but prob gonna take things easy except for the 2 days at Disney. That's why we're paying a premium to stay in Shinjuku area... so can walk around the area a bit and when bb is tired, bring her up to rest. Now the biggest headache is the smoking... perhaps I'll be having takeaways most of the time then.

Yep yep... already considering when to have the second one but can't try so soon also coz period is not back yet. Can't imagine going thru this again at a later age .... not sure if got enough energy to tahan. :eek:)

absolut,which hotel u staying in shinjuku? I stayed there too. Some are kinda far from the shopping area.

Need some advise from u all on bf:
- can i highlight my hair if i'm still bf my bb?
- EBM that has not been completely consumed in a bottle, how long can we keep it? I usu place it in the same warmer i heated the bottle up, and still give to bb within 3 hrs
- I;ve just started to collect EBM to prepare for my going back to office. the thing is, we are supposed to thaw frozen milk overnight in the fridge right. So, if i do that and transport to my mum place in the morning as the day's supply, it would be more than 24hrs in the fridge already, isnt it?
- must we stil sterilise pump if pump in office? use hot water only can or not?

Sorry har, so many qns... i posted some before, but cant find where i posted.... :p

Absolut, met a Japanese lady in the Taka nursing room before. She said breastfeeding is very common in Japan because most of the women do not work, unlike in Singapore. She herself was breastfeeding still at 10 months.