Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi sahm,

Thks for the info. My mind is more at ease now.

berry,

it happened too quickly n that time, the hygiene issue didn't dwell on me. Was more worried that bb will choke if the milk flows back. Hopefully, it won't happen again.

Skyblue,
Dun mention, I merely shared wat the SBCC NB booklet depicts. My girl is 3mth old, also gd that I have some 'refresher' knowledge! gdnite.

Aloe

The Mustela Stelatopia Emollient cream u mentioned last time, can it be bought off the shelf in Kiddy Palace? I'm interested to get it.

Hi Stylo,
How was the gathering? Sorry I couldn't make it cos hubby was working late and baby refused to sleep in the morning....kept pestering me till I put her on our bed and thought of taking a bath before I prepare to leave for your place then she automatically fell asleep.

Stylo & Sahm,
Wow....really envy you...your hubbies so capable. Think if I leave my girl with him and I go out, he will either end up going crazy or pop over to MIL's place and hand the baby to her

On Aelwen's good days, I wish i could stay home with her. But on bad days, I'm glad I'm working and not be with her everyday
She's very active & alert...want people to carry her and walk around so she can look see look see. MIL has been complaining about this.

Jas,
Sorry didn't managed to answer your question about the warehouse sale cos was very busy on Fri and didn't log in. Did you go eventually?

mon_mon
No problem. Nope, didnt go eventually, coz nothing in mind to buy.

My boy also loves to be carried around, but now as can crawl, so sometimes will just let him crawl around instead of carrying.

mon mon
Alamak! Yah lah quite disapppointed you did not turn up. Me has the chance to meet Giggler in person and her Van who really has champion thighs...! Van looks so chubby and cute, a 100% b/fed bb!!!! Giggler's bm is really powerful!
Also met Cla and Matt from the other thread.
About hb, they gotta learn, otherwise how can we cope right, esp working whole day and coming back to look after bb...really no joke. Me also feel the same, when he fusses, aiyoh, quite glad when my mum takes over!

Me having a busy day at work...

sahm
Nepia's promotion is only until 13 Oct if I remember correctly. MP also until 13 Oct. I can go and double check tomorrow.
Btw Masshiro, Giggler and jas saw my stock of diapers... hehe..

REALLY? Stylo, then i got2 run to ntuc soon! My stock depleting liao
Thks gdness, nepia n pp seems to have endless promotion! Dun think can afford these 2 brands for my 2 kids when not having sales

hmmm....yummy... cornetto cookies biscuit ice cream...shiok! How to lose weight?

sahm
if you run out of stock can get from stylobb.... ha ha ha...

talk about ice-cream, me still have the walls ice-cream in the fridge, will attack it tonight... hee hee

MonMOn
YA....agree wz stylo....papa got to learn. I believe other than Bfing, papa can do anything for our bbs too. Well, we mummies also started off knowing nothing too! Whose bbs' motion have we cleared b4? Whose infant have we bathe b4 etc? We also learn along the way.

Stylobb is more fortunate. My hb was trained n prompted to help only when the 2nd bb came along. Surprising he is gd, dun under-estimate men! When come to playing wz my older boy, hb is also more creative n my boy really enjoys his companion! I tried playing the same game hb played with him, his laughter's decibel is much lower! Me no face mannn..........
but of course emotionally wise, ah boy more attached to me....balanced!

Jas!
Hey, tis cornetto cookie biscuit is delicious leh. Scolded my hb for not buying the traditional type but ended up I enjoyed!

Attack huh? How r u going to lose weight huh?
nono.gif
.....SAYS WHO AH? hahahahhaha

Yah, I know stylo wont let my kids go diaperless too! Hahahahah

Oh yes JAS,

Hb just made tis remark 'Dear, U cant go on lying or deceiving pple tat u r still pregnant hor.....' n grinning away! So 'idiotic' hor?

So u still tink I am slim tall type?

jas/sahm
I think should be 13 Oct cos I happened to see that day, will confirm tomorrow. Sahm, your Nepia M all gone already? I need to get the L MP diapers.
Masshiro gave me a tub of H.D. tiramisu... must remember to eat it...!
What cornetto cookie biscuit is this?
sahm, funny, mine is the other way around, he likes daddy to carry but when I play with him, he chuckles very loudly!
Same, I won't buy if not on promotion. Sat morning, so funny, my dad came over to pass us something, he said 'how come you have ten packs of diapers in the room?'

sahm
yeah lor... so far all the mummies I met are belong to this category, so I presume you also in this category too.

your hubby so cute...

stylobb
you still wants to get more diapers ah????

sahm, turns out, my baby has thursh. The symtoms: white coating on tounge that canot be removed by simply wiping (those are fungal growth, not milk residue),itchy/painful tounge. And paed said that could be the noises she is making is due to discomfort from tounge, not because of blocked nose. Now keeping my fingers crossed she'll be fine soon.

Hi stlyobb
Sorry for not appearing at the gathering. Quite last min. My boy was sleeping till quite late and when about to go he poos. then got to change him. And hub said about 4 plus already and he said by the time we reach all mommies and bb gone hee.If the photos ready, can I se them?

Hi Jas /Giggler/masshiro
Miss the chance to meet you all. Hope to see you all next time.

Hi Berry
How is your gal? better now?

Hi sahm
I can'e resist eating all these sweet stuff too. Me too has put on quite some weight after delivery.

moon

styloBB, its not clear how she got it, but I know that I'm supposed to air my nipples as much as possible cause thursh bacteria breeds in warm and moist environment. In worst case scenario, the baby's mouth and tounge can be so sore that baby will decline to drink, and will affect weight gain. Also supposed to change my breast pads as much as possible to keep it dry all e time. The noise she makes is a cross between a grunt and sounds like she is trying to clear her thorat.

serene, I think she is a little better today, yesterday she was v uncomfortable, kept wanting to be carried and nursed alot for comfort. Today she didnt make as much of those 'noises' with her throat, and seems more settled down.

Just finished my dinner now.....HOW CAN I NOT GAINED WEIGHT????

My girl has loose stool for the last 3 days....poor thing, changing diapers every 1 to 2 hrs....backside also sore n red! Appt with PD at 7.30pm tis evening but only get to see him at 9pm!! So funny, met HB's friend there n the wives started talking. Hb later asked 'U know his wife well, ur frenz also?'....he doesnt understd mama to mama alot of thingss to yuk, though met 1st time!

As usual, viral infection...advised to take soy protein milk. N the clinic nvr sell....after consultation, we got to carry our weary n cranky bb, dashed to NTUC to buy!! Then rushed dn to MIL's pl, picked my boy up......Phew...all alseep by now.

Jas/Stylo/Serene
My hb used to buy HD, Ben n Jerry ice cream n imagined the richness compared to normal ice cream. Told him to cut dn n just buy frm dnstair mama's store ice cream. Still sinful tho. Stylo, cornetto ice cream cone, surely u know rite. Cookie biscuit is just another of their flavour lor. My Nepia diapers will deplete v soon as MIL's pl will be using this brand instead of petpet.....so need to stock up.

Berry,
That is the last thing I expect Faye to get! Normally thrush is due to prolonged suckling of pacifier, unclean teats. Faye is on TBF now, so it is likely to be infected frm ur nipple. Yapp, got to change breast pad more often, airing nipples as much as possible. Luckily Faye didnt reach the stage where it is so sore to even drink! So now, is Faye on the application of Darkarin oral gel? Dun worry, it will be cured within a day or 2.

BBs cannot fall sick.....v heartache.........hope my girl n Faye will recover in no time.

Gdnite.........going shower now!

Hi Sahm,
How's your girl? Poor thing....like I said last time...poo too much we worry....not poo also worry (like my girl....only poo once every 3-4 days)

Berry,
Try to change the nursing pads as often as you feel you need to. I change everytime I take a shower....sometimes shower 2-3 times a day. There are times i look at the "not-so-dirty" nursing pads and thinking to myself...very wasted leh. But I still throw away and change to new ones.

Sounds like Faye is settling down so don't worry too much.

Stylo,
Sorry to disappoint you. Actually i was very tired and stress out on Sat. Woken by Aelwen at 4.30am and she don't want to go back to sleep. I'm so tired and stress out that when I pump, I can only get 2oz each session...very jialad...then become even more stress.

I saw Serene mentioned that there's pixs from the gathering? Can I see also? Can send you Aelwen's pix....but only those before we trimmed her hair. She's botak now...brought her for her hair cut last Wed.

Stylo & Sahm,
Maybe your hubbies more experience cos already second kid. Hopefully after the training from this first one, my hubby will be like yours when we have the second kid.

sahm
Ok, glad to report that Nepia promo is until 31 Oct. MP promo until 13 Oct...

monmon
I understand... nevermind, next time ok?
Ai, me only first kid ok... hehe.... second one nowhere in sight... nowadays so tired...

Hi Mon Mon,
Girl still sleeping.....hope to nurse her back to pink of health before sending her back to MIL's care. Tis evening will be v chaotic again, with my boy back frm childcare! Ok...I am concerned but calm since she is wz me. If wz MIL, I will be v worried. But tiring.....

Stylo only mum of 1! Tat's Jesse!
. Me mum of 2! Will one, just dun pamper hb too much, they are gd when trained!

Stylo,
Hey Ya, during younger days, my boy was pretty entertained by me too. But as he grows older, standard becomes higher n finds me not as interesting as dad! Maybe they r more loud n rough? They even synchronize in their laughter!

Any idea the Soy Protein milk can be taken for long term? Will my girl be under-nutrition since no milk added? I ask just in case she is lactose intolerancce. But not likely since she already on enfalac for 3 mths n partial BF. will monitor. Imagine when we have loose stool, it's so disturbing, what's more, an infant , poor thing!

Stylo,
So the promotion ends with the date's digit switched? 31 n not 13....sound familiar......something u mentioned earlier!

Tks.....so gonna stocked up b4 halloween.

Sorry haven't pop in for some time coz busy at work. Thanks for all the replies to my question. Decided against starting my bb on cereal even though it was recommended by PD coz she's only 4.5 months. Would rather she remains on total breastmilk til 6 months. Anyway, decided to increase her milk intake from 170ml to 180ml and surprising she started crying after her 2nd feed so we decided to shorten the meal interval from 4 hours to 3 hours. But she still cried after her 2nd feed so we increased her feed from 180ml to 200ml and now she seems happy. Now her intake is 200ml every 3 hours ... and she finishes every drop of it. Was wondering if I should increase further but it seems a lot already. Thank goodness she's on breastmilk coz FM surely cannot feed so much.

Was thinking maybe will start cereal just for tasting purposes when she hits abt 5 plus months.

sahm
I think soy protein milk can be taken on long term but as it is pretty heaty (stool harder than drinking cow's milk), need to drink lots of water. Normally for such cases, once the bb recovers, will switch back to cow's milk gradually.

berry/sahm
hope a fast recovery for your bbs

Hi styloBB, great to having such gatherings. At least, I got a face to attach to your names when talking to you now. Shall we have one for this thread?

Hi jas, you're at Stylobb's place on Sat? How come I didn't see you?

Hi monmon, I'm very lucky cos my hubby willing to learn and is a fast-learner. Now he's more expert than me at reading bb's mood. I guess it depends on whether they interested to learn or not.

Hi Serene, maybe we arrange to meet one of these days among us in this thread?

Hi absolut, me also will only start Vane with cereals when she's 6 mths old. Wow seems like your bb also take quite a lot hor?

jul
MP now sold at $17.20 at NTUC...valid till 13 Oct (which is tomorrow).

jas
I bought the L diapers cos Jesse needs them for the nite... I have the XL diapers... a little loose for now so I'll keep them. Thinking the T.P. will be too ex to wear for the nite. Anyway I'm sold on MP and Nepia....hehe...
Seems we are similar in many areas... our boys are so active, really tire us out! We also have to work hor, to earn our keep...hehe... we also have issue of who to take care of second bb next time...

absolut
How have you been? Bb eating more? That's good.
No worry, you dun need to give her cereal now, no hurry, can wait till 6 months. Bm is good, boost her immunity.

Moon
No problem, can meet at next gathering. But I was hoping to see LH though.

Giggler
Glad you enjoyed... usually I will talk and get to know the mummies...for the bbs, just let them crawl here and there...hehe..
FYI my hb only remembers the 'champion thigh' bb!! Hehe.... and hope Vane's hair grows more soon!
Actually there are only very few of us here, jas and I usually meet over at the New Mums thread... fyi next meeting is on 06 Nov at m2b's place...
You are so blur, jas was with her hb and Joel (the bb in the Astro bb t-shirt)...hehe... she never talk to you ah, she's the shy shy one....hehe....
You are right, much depends on the hb, if he's simply bo-chap, then quite difficult. If he really wants to know and learn, he will try... my hb subscribes to the babycenter so that he can read up on bb's progress.

berry
You know why I ask ? Cos my fr's bb is also grunting so I'm wondering could it be the bb is having thrush. How you know that bb has thrush? So difficult to see the inside of the mouth leh.

giggler
yeap, me also there leh.. I saw you and even touch your gal thight leh.... Me sad you don't know me leh... me very easy to recognise one, the biggest in size among the mummies there lor...

stylobb
we are quite similar in terms of issues except I don't have your size.... hee hee...

stylobb, for my case, my baby is obviously in discomfort when she makes those noises. Can tell from her expression. Plus, can see her tounge when she yawns or before she latches on- white patches on tounge.

Jas,
Tks for ur clarification. Got u! Doctor asked us to get Isomil which only come in BIG can n he asked us to feed for 2 days only. So wonder wat to do with remaining?

Hi styloBB, I think I was overwhelmed with the response that Van got for her thighs liao. Come to think of it, I think I talked to Jas leh.

Hi jas, sorry hor? There's too many mummies and bb till I blur liao.

Hi berry, your bb got thrush? How is she now?

Hi Giggler,

Yah..you'll know the faces once you attend more gatherings. I remember most of the faces even though met only once. Maybe that time at Marche we were all sitting on same table and eating..no babies to look after, so impression stronger.
The Jan mums all slimmed down already..

Jas actually helped put the names to the faces on the pic last time..but this time we didn't take any group pic. Alamak, I didn't take pic of Van's thighs. She really very cute.

Hi Absolut,
Wow you baby can drink a lot now..my baby now 5 mths only drinks 150ml every 3 hours. I also planning to introduce cereal in another 2 weeks..just a bit to let him get used to it. I bought Heinz rice cereal already.

I'm contemplating signing up for the baby swimming class..anyone else interested?

masshiro
You must show me your pic of bb in the bumbo...
How old (or young) can bbs learn to swim, surely a parent must be there to guide/carry bb? We definitely want jesse to learn how to swim but not now.
Cereal - you start with a bit first and let him try.

Giggler
Haha..I did think of name tags you know but scully someone took your pic and your name tag shows who you are... dun think the mummies want it ..hehe..
I agree with jas, after a while, you'll know...guess for her and I, it's easier cos we knew and met up since we were preggie... and for me, I'm quite good with names and faces lor.

Hi Masshiro, I got a hard time cos I need to link your nickname to your faces and then to actual name. Wow... a tough job for me as I'm quite absent-minded now.

Hi stylobb, you're good at names and faces! I was amazed when you can recognised Van.

Just checking, how many of you are still using breast pads? And how old are your babies? Will I leak as long as I'm BF? The thing is, last weekend I went out for a while to centrepoint with hubby and baby, and I realised that its impossible for me to unhook my nursing bra with the breast pad with one hand. I have to unhook bra with one hand, and remove pad with other hand and put it aside, THEN can BF baby. This makes it v inconvenient for me cause this means I'll have to put my baby down for a while. This also means that if I ever cant find a nursing room and need to BF in the toilet, I wont be able to do so cause in toilet there is no place to place baby while I unhook my bra, right?

Do any of you nurse in public toilets (clean cubicles of course) for convenience when you're out with baby? If not, then what do you do when you dont have easy access to nursing room when you're out?

berry
How come so difficult for you... you wearing nursing bra right? You just unhook the front and put bb to the br. I think the most if you 'sacrifice' a breast pad ie if it drops out, throw it away and change to a new one... but the br pads have adhesives what, should not drop out either.
Leaking brs is a good problem...hehe... I experienced that a few times...at least it means I have bm...

Hi Berry,

personally i dont like the nursing bra with drop cup feature which u need to hook n unhook. I find that those leisure bra, which u only need to pull it down aside to feed is very convenient. U can take alot at them at Taka L3 Bb's dept where they also sell Pigeon Bra. Alternatively u can purchase similar ones from Motherneeds. With these type of bras, i nurse my bb without much hassle, n u wont appear so clumsy too.

Hope my suggestion helps!

Hi Stylo,
Aiyo...me so blur....so sorry. Wow sounds like a lot of people turned up the gathering. Me would be glad to go for the next gathering. Saw you mentioned that there would be one on 6 Nov but not a good day...it's my MIL's birthday...we better plan something nice for her cos she's been taking care of bb. And 7 Nov is my mom's birthday. Every year these 2 days very busy....sometimes can clash somemore

Giggler,
Now Van famous for her tights liao

sytlo, giggler & sahm,
hubby also willing to learn lah...just that I'm a very fussy person...also perfectionist at times. Can't stand it if things are not done properly...must close both eyes when training hubby

I just bought some storybooks recently and hubby would read to her when they wait for me while I shower after reaching home. She loves it when hb reads to her...can giggler until got sound. But her attention span very short....after 5-10mins she not happy already cos she's lying down.

Hi adsolut,
Wow your bb quite a big drinker. Aelwen is 4mths and only takes 160ml every 3 hrly. I let her taste some cereal over the weekend. After I feed the cereal into her mouth, all she does was smile at me than all the cereal came back out again. Very messy...after a few spoons...i gave up. But will keep trying over weekends.

masshiro,
Me also keen in letting Aelwen learn to swim. We planned to look around when she's 6mths. Do you know of any good place?

Hi Stylobb,

Just sent the pics to you. Got one with Jesse trying to sayang Xavier.

Will mix the cereal with bm and let baby try 2 weeks from now. Looking forward to see whether he likes it.

Hi Giggler,
Yah agree with you that Stylobb has a good memory. She can remember all the babies' names. Maybe also becos we less active in the New Mom's thread where most of the mums are so more difficult for us.

masshiro
yeap, all Jan mummies slim down already except me lah...

giggler
huh, put name tags ah... reminds me of schooling times.... no lah... actually I hate putting on name tags.... me shy to let people know my name..

berry
I am still using breast pads now... my boy is 9mth, sometime still have leaking. Sorry can't advise on the public nursing thingy as I am on exclusively pumping.

Hi Berry, I still put on breast pads when I'm out with my 4-mth old bb. I used those disp pads that can stick onto my nursing bra. In this case, I don't need to remove the pads if I want to nurse bb. Usu, I'll nurse in nursing rm or toilets. And if I wear nursing wear, I'll just nurse in public.

Hi mon, I think cos Van's thighs are really big that's why so famous for it liao. To me, I'll close 2 eyes if I want hubby to help. I scared that if I criticised too much, he'll get fed up and doesn't want to help out anymore.

Hi Masshiro, so we must go to New Moms thread more often? So where u intend to bring your boi for swimming lesson?

Hi Jas, why shy? I won't eat you up one leh. ;)

giggler
I am very very shy type... stylobb can prove that... I'm not afraid you will eat me up, coz I know you do not have such BIG appetite...