Breastfeeding Support Group

stylobb - u sure slim down fast leh?? me still look like 3mth preg - or worse - i think i start to look like Ms Piggy distant relative liao!! Yeh i 'run' to my mum's plc EVERYDAY!! to deliver milk n to b with Jerald....occassionaly i do stay overnite esp when hubby on nite shift - no point go hme since no one at hme....

sahm, sat wen isetan parkway oshgosh selling 1 set pants n top over $50++ c oready i put back.... :p

soyabean, normally like jas, i feed Jerald @ hme first dan come back in time for nex feed otherwise, must let him latch on in toilet or in car lor. but if u going i out for long dan i'll put the emb (still in the glass bottle abt 3oz) in a hot flask n bring out!! i didnt bring cooler n transfer into hot flask later cos v.troublesome.

Lyn,
Really not worth buying frm departmental store lah. I mean in States, these brands are cheap too. Y mz we buy when we can buy frm elsewhere which is cheaper? Our darling will still look nice even in cheaper Osh Kosh baju...
Me cheapo mum perhaps
, like many other mums...hahahahah

sahm
you cheapo mum? No lah... me lugi cheapo coz I haven't really bought a proper brand new set of cloth for my boy before. At most is those cheap $5 per set at home wear.. coz I got quite a no. of clothing hand-down from sis or friends...

lyn
How long do you intend to b/f till?

sahm
I dun think it's cheapo, we are just being practical. Look, jesse had two NB Oshkosh overalls, he only wore like 5 times each and then outgrew it. That's why my hb put a stop to over-buying clothes, no point since they grow so fast. We buy in basic colours and just rotate them for the weekends.
I really must tell you this: you said NBs sleep a lot, I raise my hands and legs in protest!!definitely not the case for my boy!!! He hardly slept the first two-three months, so terok... I never quite managed to rest....

jas
I dun mind buying but I dun spend excessively.

skyblue
Sorry...hehe...hope did not scare you... housework, if can dun do so much, then dun lor. For my case, my mum came over to bring me lunch and my mil came over in the afternoons to help look after bb so I could get some rest. Indeed not easy, if you have mum or mil to help, it'll be a bonus, cos looking after bb alone whole day is no joke cos for my case it's not only physical, it was emotional --- post-natal blues...

HI jas, sahm n privileged,

Thks for ur encouragemt. Seeing my little one now handled by the confinemt lady seems so easy. I'm jus worried abt the part that bb can't stop crying, I won't know wat to do. Most likely, I'll end up crying with the bb then.

sahm, no mummies here a cheapo - we jus know how to make those dollars n cents work for us!! as stylobb said - no point buying so much when bb outgrow him quickly.

when i found out i preg last yr - bought only 3 set of overall during sogo x'mas sale till now bb only wore 2 sets each abt 2x only. the other set is for 12-18mth so its too big for him rite now.

stylobb, i duno maybe 6mths?? me going away for a few days in oct may not hv time to express so frm there only express 2x a day (day n nite) dan frm there let ss decreasing slowly till nothing @ all....but i a bit guilty not giving bm to Jerald?? *sigh* headache...to give or not to give???

Jas
U are taking a slimming package? With which co? But these packages always end up spending a lot.

Stylobb/SAHM
ya lor, my ss still the same, nvr increase much no matter what I take. But I dun hv to express, so direct latch dd still = ss, so carry on feeding lor.
I've tried the oats b4, dun see any significant increase leh. Anyway, dun need to increase now, coz my boy's milk intake now not so much, coz already got 2 solid meals.
Stylobb
The bf part I dun really agree, coz all the bks I've read recommend bf beyond one yr, if its feasible and if ur bb still wants. The natural weaning age of a child shd be ard 3 yrs.

SAHM
The shop sells mainly adult stuff, but got some bb/kids stuff at the entrance. We got car, so still ok, usually go there for lunch and shopping once a mth. But difficult to find parking there.

Hi Sahm,
How's your oat breakfast this morning?

Gotta do another insertion last night again cos she didn't poo for 4 days already. Yesterday bought gripe water and pear juice for her. Starting gripe water and diluted fruit juice today. So hopefully can help.

Soyabean,
I don't bring EBM along during outings...only when I go over to MIL or mom's place. I will normally feed bb first before going out, then will bring along one feed of formula when I'm out. If I can find a nursing room, I'll let her latch on, if not then on formula.

Lyn,
You r right! we are just being practical. I also hardly buy any clothes for my girl. Only bought a few pieces before delivery. Then recently bought those "ventilated" tops - those which little holes, as she perspires a lot so ask mil to let her wear those.

Hi skyblue,
Not to worry, if you can't cope with housework then leave them all till weekends and your hubby can help you with it. As for meals, can prepare simple lunch like sandwiches, etc. Then can ask hubby to ta bao dinner for you when he's back from work. This means that you can have all your time for your little one. I did that for one week when I went back to my own place one week before work. It was fun initially but kinda of boring for me after a while, can't wait to get back to work. Guess I'm the workaholic type

desert
yeah got a slimming package with Chrysalis Spa, the same salon which I done my facial. True, it's not cheap but since signed up already just make the best use of it lor.. Anyway I have already determined not to spend anymore on this area. So if they ask me to top up this and that again, my answer will be a firm 'No'.

mon_mon, how big ur gal oready?? can start fruit juice??

dear mummies, y'day let jerald lick apple n "ya li" his reaction so cute (he only 11wk+) i knnow better to delay solid food till 5/6 mths but b'cos he's oways in his rocker when he eat can c that his little mouth n tougue moving like v.interested in our food!!!

BTW, TOLLY JOY WAREHSE SALE!
DATE: 23/9 - 26/9 (THUR - SUN)
TIME: 11AM - 7PM
VENUE: 29 CHANGI SOUTH ST 1, CHANGI SOUTH INSDUSTRIAL

FREE TRANSPORT OUTSIDE BEDOK GIANT/7-11
THUR & FRI (EVERY HR) 11-6
SAT & SUN (EVERY 30 MINS (11 - 5.30)

80% ON SLECTED ITEMS
30% ON REGULAR PRODUCTS
20% ON NEW PRODUCTS (TO BE LAUNCHED)

SPECIAL BUY @ $0.20

wET WIPES 100X2 + 100 REFILL $7.90
BABY SHOES $2.50 EACH
BABY CAPES $1.00 EACH

hi hi mums..

i am a new mum...baby just 7 days old...trying to breastfeed him....fall sick after came back from hospital due to the heaty confinment food and sleepless nights....

just want to ask you all that...
how to solve the engorement...
once i feed him...or empty the breast...within 2 hours..my breast will become engored..

somemore my baby very impaitent...once hungry..keep crying...so got no time to express the milk out before feeding him...

hope you all can give me some valuable advice...

Adeline, try doing manual expression to relieve the engorgement partially. Faster, no need to sterilise equipment, just pre-sterilise and standby bottles. Good that you have so much supply to feel engorged after 2 hours! Keep up the latching!

Adeline. let your baby latch on every 2 hrs then. If he is sleeping, you can wake him in the day. At night don't let him sleep more than 4 hrs. Your supply will adjust after a few days. Wish I had so much milk when I was at your stage.

Gals
I feel quite groggy today, but at least busy at work so time flies......cos jesse again woke up and fidgeted at 6am, he refused to sleep and even sat up in his cot looking at me with his big eyes and giving me this big grin but daddy/mummy were both in dreamland... put him on our bed and he crawled here and there... after a while, it was time to get up and know what? He fell asleep... now I am tired....

Desert
OIC... I am no expert on this though so I can't comment. You would know better since you have been diligently reading up and checking on this matter. I can't imagine ever to b/f until 3 years. You have skipped some intervals?
So you did try the oats.... I also dun know why our ss was not enuf.

mon mon
Sorry to hear that your girl is having poo-poo problem again. Hope she gets better. Really some bit of concern when she does not shit.
You must be one of the few mummies who did not buy lots for gals...hehe... cos step into any shop and all we see are girly stuff, things that even my hb says are so cute and sweet.

Jas
I really dislike those 'hard sell' tactics. My beautician did not pester me that time cos I paid package but now and then she will sms me about her promotion... I dun bother about it.

Hi Lyn,
Aelwen is 11 wks....i give very diluted fruit juice. Bought those bottled pear juice from supermarket....dilute one teaspoon with 100ml of water and gave it to her this morning. Will monitor her bowels. Thanks for the sale info.

Adeline,
Either you let bb latch on or pump it out. It's ok if half way through your pumping bb is hungry. Just stop pumping and let bb latch on. If after that still feel full can continue pumping. Anyway your bb only 7 days old so should not be taking a lot of milk, that's why you are always engorged. Better start storing your EBM now cos most of us here suffer a great decrease in ss once after confinement.

thanks to all the advice

hope i can preserve the breast feed...
fall sick since sunday night...haven nurse him for 1 day....scare him resist the BF...trying hard now...

Hi mon_mon,

Think I'm like u, prefer to work than stay home to look after bb. Hopefully, my mindset will change when I care for the bb on my own. At the moment, I'm doing confinemt, but already feel that working life is much better.

me just bck home running some errands n so how's lunch today?

Me stranded at NTUC 4 almost 2hrs...ended up buying more things n rain simply refused to stop. Got to lug those heavy stuffs n ended up took a cab home.

P & G too much lah....now Pamper Premium going at 3 @ $57.70! No more stocking up frm me tho.

mon_mon, aelwen 15wks liao no wonder can take fruit juice...i think jerald got to wait another mth or so b4 i give him fruit juice.

sahm,pamper hving sale again!! i think me stocking up "L" size liao

Jas,
U r not alone. I have a lot of hand downs for my boys which my girl is wearing now. I did not buy much for my boy too, except a few rompers which I got tired of seeing him wear....my girl has got not much clothing n watever she is wearing now is so boyish
. Pity her lah, n as wat Stylobb's hb said 'so cute, so sweet' , I totally agree tat girls things are so lovely, so giving in to the temptation. Trying to control now..........

Mon_mon,
Me ate Banana Nut Crunch frm Post tis morning. Yummy. Probably will try ur oat/milo discovery tml

Poor girl of urs...constipate again. izzit her 'chang wei' no gd? Y not try massaging or chinese tui na? Read frm another mother's forum tat it is gd!

Desert,
I got u, think we r referring to the same shop. Will check it out on my next rd there

Stylobb,
Wat time Jesse goes to sleep every nite? U mz be a zombie now. Nvr mind...'tong', leaving soon. Make some 'pao shen' to drink lao....put few slices in a cup n add boiling water. Simmer for awhile n drink.

Skyblue,
1 good sign tat u observed liao....UR bb seems OK so far.....nvr give CL much trouble, rite?

My girl was a terrorist immediately after my CL left. Cried fiercely. Perhaps she smells mummy different frm aunty...got 2 get used to. Nw at 10wks, she luv my 'smell' more than any1

Yapp, I agree tat when bb cries badly during the 2nd mth, I cried along too. Maybe hormones n emotions not too stable yet....a little post natal blues? Feel at loss.

BBs luv n can sense routine. So try to fix a routine for her to follow. Bbs cant differentiate day or nite. So dun let bbs sleep more than 3,4hrs in the days. In the evening, 'sponge bathe' it n change into pyjamas. Before bedtime, on a 'orange' dim light for it to indicate it is night time n thus can sleep longer.

Daytime, try to allocate time for her to sleep. Like after morning bath n feed, pat pat her to sleep. Turn her sideways n pat her buttock.

I adopt same routine n habits for both my boy n girl n no major problem.

BE steady, dun fret, have fun n everything is fine. Hsework leave it to wkends or once u know bb's pattern, u can do during her nap. Cook simple nutritious soup, steam fish n 1 meal is settled. Cook mee sua with lots of veg, fish also another simple nutritious meal.

Dun worry....it is really fine n fun!

Lyn,
Ur mad PP diapers' sale race is on again. hahahah!

Btw, how much is jerald drinking now? My girl is proportional but somehow find her so petite!

sahm, bo bian - pampers is gd quality consumables. but too expensive must got sale dan worth buying.

currently Jerald is drinking 100ml every 2.5-3hrs. used to give him 4 oz (abt 125ml) but he oways cant finish so give him 100ml @ short interval.

but if he on fm - can drag for longest 3.5hrs-4

sahm
I thot you disappeared leh, whole day never see you. Bought more things to get more stamps ah? Check your email?
Lately he takes his late feed around 9.50-9.45pm and after that he goes to bed. Actually this morning he got up around 6am...we were still asleep...I still never get down to adapting, if my sleep's interrupted, that's it.. feel so lousy... My mum is funny, I told her I am suffering cos jesse made noise, she said, aiyah, he never made noise in the nite right, let him make some noise lah, poor fellow's teething what, then she said be mother is like that one! I found her remarks quite funny.
So they are having PP promo again?

lyn
Jerald's coming to three months yes?

Can someone advise me how many tin of milk powder will my boy consume in one mth, if I feed him abt 180ml-240ml a day?? Coz by the time I go back to wk, my boy already 11 mths, so those follow up formula can only be use for 1 mth, dun want to keep too many tins.

Stylobb
Yup, he bf abt 2-3 times in the day now, mainly in the afternoon coz I've not started him on solid for lunch. He's so funny these few days, tried to flip over when I bf him lying down, then he crawl over and want to bf on fours. When I told him no, he will give me this innocent look like why cannot.
Actually I am still quite undecided whether to continue to bf him when I go back to wk. Part of me want to continue coz I dun want to wean him off b4 his time and I do enjoy the bonding time with him. H/w, part of me want to stop so tt I can diet and hv more sleep at nite.
So, I'm still thinking. U know, both my hubby and father were bf until 3, so 2 of them quite pro-bf.

SAHM
Go and take a look if u go down, the denim dresses really sweet, I'm soooo tempted to buy. So good to hv a gal gal to doll up.

Adeline
So gd to hv so much ss, really envy u. The gals are rite, u can start to store up, but just pump to relieve the engorgement, not to empty the breast, if not u will get even more. For the day, dun let bb go more than 3 hrs w/o feeding. For the nite, not more than 4 hrs.

Any babies here have their appetite decrease when they are about 13-16wks old?

Hi Skyblue,
When I was doing confinement...I missed work like hell. But now that bb is able to respond to us with smiles and gigglers at times, I would miss her when I'm at work. Have my screen saver change to incorporate her pictures.

Stylo,
Think this time I'll wait till the 7th day and if she don't poo then have to call PD again. I read on quite a few websites that bb on total breast milk can don't poo for as long as 7 days. As long as the stool is soft, it's OK. Aelwen only takes one formula a day and stool is soft so decided to wait and see if she will poo herself.

MOn Mon
REmemebr my boy was not too keen on his milk feed ard that period of time too for abt 2wks. After that, he resumed his normal intake. It is normal, shd be, as I asked ard my friends. Theirs also likewise. Maybe u can ask ur PD during ur next visit. Probably will say teething discomfort again.

sahm
huh??? still got offer for PP? Is it the old stock they are trying to clear? Coz now PP got new stock and packaging which is different from the old ones. Actually, new or old stock not much difference. I didn't see it at NTUC Tampines when I went yesterday.

Jas
I was at TYP NTUC n vividly saw the promotion. Those green packaging lor.....old or new? Not those 'cotton', 'Dry fit' (new?) blah blah lah

Pampers Baby dry also on offer, 2pcks for $19.95. Bot for my girl to try out for 1st time. Remember my boy kena rashes when he used them.

I think BabyDry is quite lousy... the area made for absorbing urine is even smaller than Drypers'!! And more plasticky also.

Hey ladies, 2 questions:

1. if u BF, do u still have ur monthly AF?
2. when weaning ur bb off BM, will ur breasts feel hard/engorged?

need help again. I started my boy on solids but now he doesn't seem to like his cereal. I tried Heinz and Nestle. Both he rejects. But when it comes to fruits he wack like anything. Any advice?
Also, how to replace solid feed with milk feed. He seems hungry 1 hour later

Jul,
Gone case lah. Baby Dry no gd huh? My boy kena rashes but I tot my son's skin is super sensitive, cant take all brands of diaper.

Now trying out on my 10wks old...hope things is fine. BTW, dun seems to be able to find S sizes diaper easily! LYN, do u find it too? Limited brands..........

sahm/desert/jas and all
I feel like a grumpy woman today....
Jesse has been waking up for three mornings in a row, bawls and then sits up, then stands up in his cot. This morning is the worst, cos hb/I must have gotten up six times trying to make him sleep but the moment we put him down, he will cry so loudly...really dun know what's the problem...only happened this week... all the while he has been sleeping well....at least if I know I can remedy it right? We are adamant of not putting him on our bed cos all the while he has been trained to sleep in the cot. Finally I cradled him and he fell asleep, more like tired out than comfy..sigh... I was more exasperated cos I dun know why he was crying than the tired part. But if this goes on, I will be exhausted plus I gotta help my gf at her wedding this Sat... growl...growl.....I have to pop 'energy' pill this morning.....

jenjen
1. Mine came at the 4th month
2. Still will be hard, you can continue to express but dun pump full-time, take lesser time. Then next interval, express again but dun empty. Over time, the bm will go away.. cos your brains get the message and not much is needed and body will produce less.

mya
I think important thing is you dun force him...let him try a few spoonfuls and then stop if he does not want.. give him his milk. What about porridge? You try? Can make porridge and add vege and fish...

jul/sahm
We also dun like BabyDry, so plastiky and not so good leh. Like no ventilation like that.
I think MP has S.. but I think bbs dun wear S size so much, mine switched to M, then L pretty fast... the thigh area lah.

jas
I still haven't tried PP, I have no complaints about Nepia and MP so I will stick to them.

Stylobb,
poor thing, sayang u la. My boy also, he just doesn't sleep through for the past 2 months. I think I've given up. Sometimes resent him leh. (so bad) But yesterday i felt something poking out of his gum. Hopefully it's all due to his teething and it will be better soon.

Is Jesse developing his molars? Or still too young?

stylobb, yah jerald coming to 3mths so soon (he look so different compare when he's newborn) *sigh* mumy's bb boi going to grow up liao??

so how...u feeling tired....u working or staying at hme?? if @ work dan no choice lor....tore between work/family n bb (like me lar) they want to c when u "peng shang" only!

Stylobb,
UR mum's remark I quite agree tho. Being a mum is not easy at all, furthermore u r a working mum. But at times, esp, if we really do not know wat's bothering our bbs, we will just resign to fate n say 'Be mum is like that 1 lah!'
They give us bundle of joy, also mz give us some hardship lor. All in the package!

My boy till now still needs to be 'fook si' at times in his sleep. Cries when want pacifier, cries when pacifier drop out, cries when cant find his bolster (he kick until not within reach), cries for nei nei, cries due to bad dreams (says papa scold in his dream)! Sleep is still disrupted! Of course only difference is at his age, easier to guess wat he wants.

So stylobb, dun scold me, i am going to say 'be mummy is like this 1'!! This phase will be over soon. Drink lots of water, drink 'pao shen', v gd!

sahm
I believe is the old packaging. Those new ones are in light green packaging. My boy also don't like Pampers Baby Dry.

pampers, petpet, sealer has S size diapers. You mean you can't find S size stock on the market easily?

jen
1) it depends, when BF it is known that menses will be delay. Some people menses will be delayed till stop BF, some only returned few months later. For me, menses returned on the 5th month once and till now don't have. I believe once I stop BF, it will return immediately.

2) depends on you are weaning gradually or suddenly. Whatever the case, if during the process you feel engorgement, just express out enough to relieve the hardness will do, after a while, you will not feel the engorgement, coz the ss will be lesser.

Brsts size will shrink a little when stop BF.

mya
have you tried to give your boy porriage instead? What about those cereals with fruits? Like apple or banana cereals? My boy don't like plain cereal but he loves apple cereals and porriage too. My boy takes about 1 small bowl of porriage or cereal and replaces one of his milk feed and will give him milk about 2 - 2.5 hrs later.

stylobb
wow siong man... you must drink more red bull then..

mya
I think is too young to develop molar now..

mya/sahm/lyn/jas...thanx ah, feel beta after ventilating...I think confirmed it's due to teething cos I read the babycenter info.

lyn
I still went to work today, thankfully not so busy so can dong until I go home. But I was more exasperated as to why he behaved that way.

mya
I know what you mean, in the wee hours of the morning, can really feel resentful and irritated. Dun know why he cried and cried, already cradled him still like that.

sahm
Yah I quite poor thing today...sigh... times like these I'm glad I dun stay home whole day to look after bb... at least can 'escape' to office..sheesh...your boy sounds like a handful..

Jas, Stylobb,
My boy at 9mths already has 4 teeth. 2 on top n 2 below. Think Jesse is having teething discomfort..........

Sealer is a brand not all shops n malls selling. Ntuc dun sell them. Expensive brands like MP, PP, Nepia, I only buy them during sales n for NITE use only. So left with not much choices leh. Besides PetPEt, I tot of trying other brands lor. Dun like dryper, so wat other choice do I have?

stylobb

hi!

Can it just be a phase your boy is going through? my elder gal also stood up in her cot and 'looked down' at me in the wee hours last time but i pretended to sleep (hubby continued to sleep... fathers are better at this I think...kekeke...). we filtered out the noise. let jesse play, roll, flip, stand, crawl,... and maybe after a while he will fall asleep again. don;t get up to carry him and try to make him sleep cos after you have carried him, he will probably want your attention and cry when you, wanting to get back to your sleep, put him down... just a suggestion lah...babies go through phases one...sometimes behave like this for a few days, sometimes like that for a few weeks...

pt/sahm
He didn't just stand up and then stare, he stood up and bawled .. very loudly!! Went on for a while. Thankfully this morning, when he was about to cry, I cradled him back to sleep.....

sahm
What about Fitti? Huggies?

stylobb,
Did u manage to sleep better last nite? Me couldnt go into slumberland...surf the net till 5am n went to get some sleep. Pumped bm for 90min n only 20ml came along........pathetic. Maybe I shd get an electric pump like Jas at the 1st pl? Now get too late liao.......

I am giving Fitti a miss cos both my boy n girl kena redness at the tape area, other than that it is ok tho. Juz gave away a packet of fitti NB to ah boy's expecting teacher. Outgrow so fast! Huggies, my son has been using it, may consider