Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi Giggler,

So how's your next pump? Better? Did you check the pump's parts. Anyting worn out? I realise that during my menses period, supply seems to decline. My MIL went to refreeze some leftover milk yesterday. Told her cannot refreeze, so ended up throwing away the remainder. Heartpain.

Congrats Winnierabbit,
I'm not sure if can colour or not, but for me I'd rather not cos got chemicals. I'll just hang in there till I stop bf.

Hi Sharon,
I did a medical checkup b4 trying. Also to make sure I still have the rubella antibody (we had jab during school last time). If not, advisable to have the jab. Advisable to wait at least 3-6 mths after jab before trying for baby. Also I had hep b jab I think.

Hi stylobb,
I agree dun need to be over hygience conscious cos our baby needs to build up immunity also. Last time the children also roll around on the floor. Of course, must maintain minimum hygience level lah since baby still young.

Hi mon, actually our breastmilk not very hot also mah. So our bb used to not so hot milk liao. Sometime I even close 2 eyes one.

Hi Masshiro, got better liao. At least can get 6oz after lunch.

Hi Winnie, I think can colour and rebond hair lah. But I don't dare to risk myself.

Hi Giggler,

That's great..even at my peak, i never reach 6oz before. Max is 150ml I think, after whole night. Pathetic right.

Saw your gal's pics from the other thread. So cute..she's really chubby. Your bm really "power". I tried sending you my baby's pics but got bounced back.

Hi Masshiro, you sent to my hotmail acc? I try to clear mails from there. My friend's mom even request me to give her grand-daughter my milk. heehee.....

SAYANG SAYANG ALL MUMMIES on Brown Rice query,

HOW would I still go chinese medical hall at my pl n asked if they grind brown rice if I know how to do so myself? hahahahahhaahh....u all ah....jokers!!

Yapp...brown rice, white rice is different things though after cooking, they are porridge base!

Just cook in slow cooker till vvv smooth n digestible for bbs. I STEAM porridge for my bb too....think healthier n tastier, convenient, dun have to jaga spilling out at the stove.

Mon_mon,
A DEFINITE NO NO to diluted formula. Infants have nothing other than formula or BM. How to get the necessary nutrition when u dilute it???!!!

But we may dilute a little when bb is not well...less heaty. Check wz GP n gynae n they gave the green light to do so, only when bb is ill.

U not cunning, u doing the appropriate thing! Convince our hb n our hb will convince the mum! Afterall, ALL of us have our bb's interest at heart!

Stylobb,
Yappp....Yah....yah....same here!!! My in-laws dotes on my kids n popped by our hse too. I feel vvv uncomfortable 'cos they always come v late, say 8+, after dinner. We also feel tat we want our space n time together..........sometimes I even secretly pray that it rains, so that they wont be able to come (on bikes)!....me bad hor? But I dun mind lugging my kids to go their pl to let them play. Go ard 6+ n bk home by 8+...ok. ILs comes too late lor : )

Yah...agree wz u. Stay with ILs? Best to avoid. Not tat MIL is sure to be bad, wat abt ourself? We may be petty/sensitive/fussy too. So best to avoid staying together. But respect n gd term with them are still vital, I feel.

sahm
Yep we know they luv grandson and we never stop them from coming but cannot let it become an everyday affair! Very terok on us.... that's why Sundays is our own little family time. I run out of topics to talk to my inlaws anyway. For parents, sometimes also quite tiring, all I want after a day's work is some peace and quiet... I stopped my parents from coming over on Sunday evenings, the only reason I know why they come is to see grandchild altho I dun understand why since they look after him and see him everyday and they tell me they are tired but come Sunday they would call and wanna come, anyway we stopped them for about two months plus, either we are out or bb is sleeping....

Stylobb,
Can understd ur awkward situation.......

Wow, ur parents v cute leh....Monday grandson oreadi going back to their care rite, still wanna come on sunday?! Miss him so badly!

Know what?!! If our MIL start a thread, it would be about how we, DIL, fuss about their method of taking care of their grand child.

Hi Sahm & Stylo,
So I'm quite lucky, my ILs didn't request to pop over, neither did my mom
However, my MIL will either ask us to pop over to her place for dinner every Sat or Sun. Not that bad for us though, at least we can have a break - don't need to prepare dinner.

Sahm,
you very funny! We thought you more expert than us, the first-time-moms mah

Hi Winnierabbit,
I've coloured my hair twice after I started working. Think should be OK.

Giggler,
Your ss very good hor? I can only reach that level when I don't pump for more than 6hrs. But hor, recently my girl's appetite dropped so my ss is more than demand. Have to store in the freezer.

Been still debating with my sis on 'is heng chai the same as spinach?' though I have posted a reply that they r same. Sis is my senior n she claimed that she has checked with 1 aunty that they r the same...heng chai bo chai.

But I was not too convinced....remember that they look different....spinach has longer stem. So tis morning I asked the veg vendor n clarified tat THEY R DIFFERENT VEG!

Anyway, both green leafy veg r known to be good for bbs.............

Mon_mon,
'With the birth of a bb, a mother is born too.' I am still learning though I maybe little more experienced. No lah....we learn frm one another....when come to BFing, definitely any1 of u is much better an expert than me!

Ya....as much as r sharing or 'gossiping' abt our MILs here, they will be talking abt us DILs too!! hahahahaahahah...........

Just overheard 1 ah ma relating to another 2 ah ma tat her daughter lao sai 'cod eat too much sushi over wkends. Daughter also not spared....hahahaaahh........never give face huh this mum! I grinned n walked into the lift!

sahm,
heng chai n bo chai are different. bo chai is spinach. heng chai usually comes with the roots that has quite alot of soil. both veges are soft so good for bb.

what kind of fish can bb eat other than the ghor fish?

Mini,
I give nothing except ghor fish to my bb till he is over 1yr+, then I more adventurous. Feeds cod fish, red snapper. Beware of more bones tho.

My sis lor...thinks she is rite n want to convince me they r same. I remember when cooked, bo chai/spinach is darker in color than heng chai too. And yes, heng chai alot of soil n comes with round or sharp leaves

Aiyah, my boy fell from our bed this morning, I thot put him with me cos he kept making noise (he flips here and there, burrows his head,then make noise, I can't tahan and carried him to the bed), I thot won't roll over cos king-sized bed and then cos hb was sleeping in the other room as he had fever. I woke up when I heard a 'thud' to find him nowhere and there he was on the floor, guess they are really acrobatic in their sleep, can roll until fall over, fortunately his head landed on hb's Bible, so that sorta broke the fall. Of crse cried... for more than 5 mins. What did I do? Cuddled and prayed over him lor... later I checked and he was back to his usual self...I really felt so bad. Just called my mum and she said he is ok...

FYI only the Nepia training pants on offer @ NTUC, the diapers for M and L size are back to their original price...so mummies, take note.

Hi Sylobb,

Oh dear..I hope Jesse is alright. Thank god for the bible. Poor baby. It's part and parcel of growing up. They always knock here knock there..think got to pad up my furniture when he gets older, if not bruises everywhere.

Alamak, should be taken the last 2 packs of nepia as well. I thot promotion until end of month can buy later.

Need some adv on storing EBM in freezer. I used those bottles that I got from the hospital. Put the EBM in the freezer last night and realised that the cap pop open when I open the freezer to check this morning. Does this always happen? How to prevent it? With the EBM there, can I put other food like raw meat & fish, in the freezer? If I need to put other food in the freezer, is it safe if I put the EMB in a covered box?

Hi Stylo,
Aiyo so scary....this something that I always been worrying about. I always let her sleep beside me on our bed cos I let her latch on lying down so I will tend to fall asleep. However, I usually woke up in the same position. My hubby always worry that he might squash bb in his sleep
so he usually sleep near the edge on his side. Think he might fall off the bed instead of bb

Masshiro
Did you buy M or L??? Yah I thot promo still on but I went to see this morn, no more, only on for the training pants. I won't be getting the diapers anymore cos already stocked up ... I think by year end jesse can wear XL...
I have always been careful, but scully it happened. So scary right, beta be more careful next time.. yes, falling is part and parcel of it but still when it happens, you feel so painful for him....anyway now crawling everywhere, bound to knock here and there, also want to plunge from the bed not knowing the meaning of danger...

mon mon
Me too...always have been careful... with two adults it should be ok provided both of us dun move about. We dun sleep with bb, he sleeps in cot but last nite I thot easier for me, since I have the whole bed to myself but who knows.....
Haha...so it's your hb who falls off the bed ah???!!!
I only used the disp bags to store EBM and my fridge usu has no fish or meat.

STYLOBB, must b quite a scare for bb when he fell off the bed!! hope he's alrite!! Jerald also sleep with me. but u'll find him in different position in the morning!! he cant roll over yet but jus got to b xtra careful - i use pillows to block him off @ the other side. n hubby sleeping on the flr jus to make sure.

mon_mon, those glass bottles i got frm kk dun fit properly after opening since it was vaccum seal previously - so i used nuk sealing cap instead. normally i leave them on the freezer door - away from other frozen food.

Is it ok to breastfeed if i'm having a slight fever? (less than 38 degrees) been feeling hot ever since delivery.

And can i mix the breastmilk which i pumped out at diff timings? Now that i don't bf, I pump out once a day to relieve myself of the engorgement. Only manage a pathetic 10 - 20 ml. So was thinking of combining so that can accumulate more but worried that will pass on fever to my newborn. Such a waste to throw away the breast milk. Sigh...

stylobb,
mz be heartache to the core when u realised Jesse fell off! Do call again to check for any fever...............

Skyblue,
I learned frm here tat can combine bm of different pump but mz be of same temp.

stylobb
Glad that jesse is okay now.

mon_mon
I do keep frozen EBM with those meat and fish, I put them into a box. I used avent storage box to freeze EBM, use only glass bottle for storing fresh EBM, didn't use for freezing.

skyblue
if the medicine you are taking is BF-safe, then it's okay to BF. You can mix BM but they must be of same temp. before mixing. Do remember that the oldest stock cannot be more than 48hrs old.

mon_mon
sorry, I am trying to say that I used avent storage bag instead of box to freeze EBM, then put all the bag into box in the freezer.

Hi Stylo,
Aiyo my MIL would always pass us a BIG bag of veg, fish, meat, etc every Fri night for the weekend. hence, have to store the fish and meat in the freezer.

Hi Jas,
I tried using both the bag and bottle. Think bag is better. Have to go get more of those Avent bags. Will transfer them into a box tonight.

Hi Sahm,
Cannot combine at diff temperature? I always combine my morning and afternoon pumps into one bottle. Then I would pour them into the required amt for feeding. Is that OK?

mummies/bluesky, i combine my ebm within 24hrs into one big 8oz bottle otherwise where got so much space in the fridge??

i throw away all my ebm for 3days when i was dwn with flu n fever. i was on medication @ tat time.

Thanx, lyn/sahm/jas/mon mon, for the concern. Yep, definitely not a wise thing that I did ...never again...Can you imagine waking up and finding your baby 'disappeared' ....not a nice sight....thank God somehow he was protected from a bad fall...

lyn
Btw May from Nepia said she mailed me my $20 cash voucher last week but I did not get it, got bad vibes that it's lost in the mail...she said I should get the $5 one this week.
About the bm, if jerald cannot finish 8 oz, why dun you split into 2 bags?

mon mon
YOu have BIG bag of food ah?? If my mum gives us to cook, usually it's all apportioned out so quite clear cut one...

sahm
Nope, no fever, he is as happy as a lark...thank God...
Surprisingly my mum is so calm, she said, falling is part of bb's growing up...

Masshiro
Btw is your bb ok already? Seems quite a number of bbs not well..

Stylobb

wow, must thank God for the STRATEGIC position the Bible was in! Good to hear that your boy is fine. My gal too fell from the bed once at around 7 months old. She cried for only a short while but the mummy was very worried...

You very helpful leh...always informing us about NTUC's diaper promotion/no promotion! Thanks!

Stylobb,
Think next time U would be as calm as ur mum, telling other mums tt bb falling is part of growing up!
My boy has nvr experienced such fall frm bed, not that we r tok gong careful parents. It is because he nvr flip n barely rolled vigourously. We were abit concerned of his development but who knows, he crawled n walked within a week at his 9th mth!

Envy u, having a gd n steady/calm mum to help u out.....even help u to do marketing n sorting them out! U mz be her dear girl!

ptulip/sahm
Now gotta be more careful...not that I was careless previously.
Yah he is ok, last nite, made noise cos he was sleepy, slept at 8pm, woke up 9pm+, I fed him milk and then pat him to sleep.
About food, it was last time when I still cooked, nowadays dun cook... mum is nice lah but sometimes she over tires herself with too many things to do...
Diaper thingy - no problem cos I pass by NTUC everyday to work..

Hi Stylo,
Good to hear bb is alright.

At first she just purchase some food for us...then over time, the amount of food she gave us kept increasing, until we gotta tell her to cut down the amount. Can't event finish and have to bring them back to her on Monday

Although it's nice that she help us do the marketing but no variety. She usually gives us similar stuff. Sometimes, we went marketing on Sunday so we could have something different like steak or spaghetti.

Lyn,
I just ordered the Friso from Eunice and her colleague is delivering this weekend. I found out from her that her boss is a good friend of my gynea.

Stylobb,
Sometimes hard to predict when bb is tripping or falling too...guess it is really part of growing up to kena bumps n knocks! We will continue to get heartache!

Later going to TPY NTUC to collect stamps again : ). Got 70 of them, changing a free wok. Left with 2 wks, ambitious me want to achieve another 20 of them, top up little$, get another pan! Hahahahhaha........me super ah soh! U buy so many diapers, mz have many stamps too, u want to help me?

U working ard TYP, who knows, like in movies, we just walk past each other as strangers though we communicate thru such way?

sahm
Must collect 70, jialat, so many!!! The green stamps is it? Can only exchange for wok? I think I have, you want, I can send to you, no problem, since I don't use, in fact I was wondering what they are for. Click on my nick for my email addy.
No lah, I dun work in TPY, I live in TPY, my flat is within walking distance to the MRT, so everyday I walk past NTUC to the MRT... anyway dun you agree the HDB Hub is a crazy place? Always so crowded and so noisy!!!
You ah soh? I also getting more ah soh, accumulated the Nepia seals to get the $20 voucher so can buy more diapers... hehe.

mon mon
Can imagine your freezer stuffed with food... yummy I love steak, esp you grill it after adding pepper. Last time my mum already prepared all the raw ingredients eg if she knows we want to make fish soup, her container will have the fish, ginger, sliced tomato, spring onions all cut and I just boil everything with water.

stylobb, aiyo $20 can get a bag of diapers liao - hopefully u get ur voucher soon.

i store my ebm in big 8oz bottle - i pour out require amt for his feed n quickly return the big bottle into the fridge. I think tis way acceptable hor??

mon_mon, the world so small??!! anyway me oso got to call her again soon - cos Jerald on ebm n fm, each tin last only 12 days!!

mummies, glad u all still find time to cook - the last time i made decent meal for my hubby was b4 i pop (that i think more than 3mths liao)!! me n my mum oso used to go mkting n share our goceries but now both of us taking turns looking after bb - dun even hv time go toilet - how to cook - tot of ordering tinkat liao :p

lyn_tan
me same as you, seldom cook coz it's MIL who does it. I still do some marketing though which is my speciality...

stylobb
your mum really take care of you...
Can accumulate Nepia seals to exchange for NTUC vouchers? Any idea whether PP got such exchange too?

Hi Stylo,
Your mom is really calm....my MIL would have freak out if she knows bb fell. My MIL very "freaky" one...like now bb constipation, she can come out with all kinds of logic or reason to freak us out. Your mom also really loves you...prepare everything for you. I have to make preparations first before cooking....but my hubby cooks most times. I let him choose between cooking and look after bb, he chose to cook.

Lyn,
Wow Jerald's consumption very fast. Aelwen only take 1-2 fm per day so stock moving very slowly. Plus now have to mix Friso1 with Frisovon due to her constipation so even slower.

Sahm,
i have the same thinking as you...whenever I saw someone with young bb, I will think maybe she's one of you here

How do I combine EBM that r of same temp? For eg, if I express now, I'll store it in the fridge. Then maybe 2 to 3 hrs later again, I'll express again. So how do I combine these 2 together?

I'm not taking any fever medication cos fever only 37. smthg.

MOn Mon
Ya lor.......maybe we already met b4!!!!! We v gd imagination.

Imagine we talk n share often n might have bump on2 each other along the street/malls without knowing! hahahahha

skyblue,
ie 1st bottle of EBM oreadi in fridge. 2nd bottle of EBM tat u expressed 2,3hrs later, also put in fridge 1st. Let it stand for 30mins to 1 hr. So both become same temp. Now you may mix them together. Got it?

Jas, m I right?

jastan, i love to cook, cos i v.greedy like to maken type - but scare getting fat

mon_mon cos my ss declining so i give alt ebm n fm dan frm 9pm till nex day 7am total fm (he wakes up once or twice to feed @ nite only) tats why it seems quite fast. but mum told me if bb on total fm can finish 1 tin/wk

sahm, me oways pour ebm 2gether?? hope its ok??? nvr tot cant do it this way??

Sahm,
Maybe will be fighting over the last pack of diapers at NTUC once day...hahaha.

Anyway, how do you mommies thaw your frozen EBM? I thought just bring it down to the lower compartment will do. I brought the required amt to the lower compartment last night. Woke up in the middle of the night to pump so check on them. Realised that the bags of EBM are still hard as rock. So i partially submerge the bags in water and leave them in the lower compartment. Luckily managed to thaw in the morning, if not bb won't have bm today. If I just bring the frozen EBM to my MIL's place, she'll freak out again. Then got all mixed up and feed bb wrong amt.

Mon_mon
U damn funny n ticklish.............hahahahaha, Ya, I will stare hard at u n think 'this woman, better put back the last packet leh!' heheheheheeh

I do just wat u do to thaw my EBM. Guess we r doing the rite thing hor?

BTW, I patronize tpy ntuc most often. do u?

Lyn,
Wat's done cannot be undone lah....Jerald is perfectly ok, so shd not be a prob : ) I read frm bbcenter n frm Jas that best to mix at same temp.

Mon_mon,
I mean I always submerge my EBM in half glass of water in the lower compartment of fridge to thaw.