Breastfeeding Support Group

Hi SAHM,

You went for the concert too? It was great..we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Two fantastic singers..very entertaining. Listened to their songs when I was schooling. I dun usually go to a lot of concerts, but this one is really worth it.

Hang in there...your milk ss probably affected by your fatigue and stress. I still have phobia over the 1st few weeks. Boy, that was really a tough time.

Hi Stylobb,
I bot another 2 packs of nepia. WAs "kind" enuf to leave the last 2 packs for someone else

Mon_mon,
No lah...cos I got 2kids at hm....so buy, mz buy for 2! Cut cost mz go in pair lor
! But I guess it is also a little of 'herd' influence (gd influence) tat automatically will go to diapers' section when in NTUC! Stylobb lor.....
Tks

Brown rice takes longer time to cook, so I cook in slow cooker for my bb. Heard tt bb reared wz brown rice very tough n strong! My bb 1st fd was 2 to 3 spoonful of Nestle Brown Rice...yummy!

Masshiro,
Hahahahah........u joker...ticklish...left behind 2 pck for others? Me so lucky to 'wallop' the last 2 pck on the shelf!!!

The concert was great. I went there with more intention to watch Jeff...to re-captivate those romantic feelings tat I bore during schooldays in library. U know those days where Ur dun know how many luv/infatuations, 'I like him, he likes me not' days?

Ended up I cant help but think Sky is so much more talented, more all rounder! Can sing, can compose, can play the piano so well!!!! No wonder he scores As in many subject in Berkley top music school! Jeff I think he is still gd but somehow I have lost all those romantic feeling liao! Maybe now another phase I am in, mother n wife...........If u then already par-tor wz hb n now go concert wz hb, sure VVVVVVVVVVVVVV wonderful feeling! Jeff's costume a bit dated leh? Sky Wu more trendy.

Sky Wu wonderful......
kiss.gif

BFing....I just try to 'tong' as long as possible!

Hi Masshiro, my email add [email protected]

Hi Serene, thanks for your help.

Hi sahm, does that mean you don't give whatever you eat to your boy till he after 1 yr old? When did you start feeding your boy the brown rice?

got such an exciting experience yesterday while I was expressing milk, halfway through the power adaptor not working anymore after my boy gave a few pulls at the cord. Hubby tries to fix it but can't, so he faster rush downstair to get batteries so that I can continue. So sian... even now the adaptor spoilt, hubby joking tell me it's another signal for me to stop BF...
Now I can only use batteries, but the power is not lasting, after a while, seems like not enough power already.

Hi giggler,
Yapp...I dun at all. Not exactly after 1yr old...I start to become more liberal (also still selective)in letting him taste our food only when he was 15/16mth. I heard some mums till 2yrs old still very 'on' n strict for bb's diet. Not a single additional flavouring! Go golfing/holiday, slow cooker mz go along even though boy is 24mth+!!!!

Brown grain rice...abt 8/9mth. Nestle brown rice at 5mth+, 1st intake of food

Hi sahm, so you started solids at 5.5mths liao. My mil kept telling me that she going to start my gal solids next mth when she 4mths old. Do u think this is too early?

Hi Jas, so how? You still express now?

hi mummies - noticed alot of ur babies starting on solid food. anyone here had/intend to tried on Pigeon bb food?? Saw them @ taka and Isetan parkway - packaging look attractive.

my bb only 10wks - to early to start on solid but now i give him porridge water once a wk only (noon time) - so far so good

stylobb, tried my nepia diaper sample y'day - v.good!! at least the tape doesnt stick to bb's thigh while changing (cos it's velco). there's few occassion the tape got stuck onto his skin - he scream when i try to pull it off - so heartache

Hi SAHM,

I enjoyed Sky Wu more cos he's really talented and I enjoyed hearing him play the piano. He's really very entertaining and very funny when he tried to act cute. Ya..I thot Jeff's clothes like not very nice and he looks funny trying to dance.
Great concert, great singers and great songs.

Masshiro
So considerate ah, leave 2 packs behind! I have enuf lor...will get MP instead. Btw I tried the Nepia training pants on jesse yesterday cos I didn't want him to wear shorts at home and was putting him for his afternoon nap, wah, pretty good eh..so comfy and nice.
So you enjoyed the concert..that's good.

lyn
You like Nepia too... soft right? Yah, I think some is those adhesive, kena stuck on the skin and that's it, yank it off and it's quite a shock to the bb,hehe...

jas
You so drama, looks like you really use your breast stuff to the max, cos the funnel cracked and now the adaptor is spoilt.... so no regrets hah.

Me and hb on leave today, we have a bit of leave... me making porridge now, have been making porridge for the past two days and so nice to see bb finish it all..

Hi lyn, you like Nepia too? I haven got it from NTUC but I bot the Pampers Premium from Giant.

Hi Masshiro, good that you enjoyed the concert.

Hi styloBB, going anywhere later or just take leave to be with Jesse?

Giggler,
I only started feeding at the 5th mth, ONLY during weekends when he was back home.

I did that bcos I told MIL (foster bb to her) to start feeding him only at 6mth. Seeing her all so keen n excited to feed him at 4th mth freaked me out. Read from somewhere tt best to delay feeding solid food 'cos bb's body system not fully developed yet n BM or formulae is all that they need prior 6mth.

I was concerned tat mil will feed him 'full blown' (1 bowl?)for his maiden feed. So secretly at home from the 5mth, every wkends, I started to train my bb 2 to 3 spoonful of Nestle brown rice first. He luv it n I got to see his cute anxious expression on eating. V cute...I even have a montage picture of his feeding time!

Masshiro,
U same sentiment as me huh? My 2 friends who are still single prefer Jeff's performance....

Good concert but the trip home was hell killing!

stylobb,giggler - agree nepia v.good compare even to pampers!! will ask hubby to get them during his nex day off.

i think pampers is hving offer @ parkway giant - saw them y'day but cldnt remember the prices liao?? but drypers is ard $18

carrefour is hving petpet sale for 2 days only 11/12 for $13/pkt. didnt buy cos dun hv car - v.troublesome if taking cab/bus

Giggler
You have to decide lor, I started jesse only at 5.5 months.. now he takes porridge twice a day at my mum's, once day on weekends at my place.
Probably we go funan later to get a mouse for our new notebook... then to the bookstore...

lyn
So you are now convinced nepia is good ah... I like MP too...

Stylobb,mums
Have been using PP n MP concurrenlty for nites. Think MP is better. PP kind of saggy but MP is still in shape after 1 whole nite. Only thing is PP has Dermacream topsheet n urine indicator (but dun need since for 1 whole nite usage)

Hi sahm, I'm having the same concern leh. I got a feeling that my mil will just go ahead and feed my gal starting from next mth. Sian.. I not sure if I shd stand out and tell her to let me decide when I want to start feeding my gal. Sigh. I interested to see the foto of your boy's maiden feed leh.

Hi lyn, Pampers Premium is selling at $28.75 per pack. I got one M size cos not sure if my gal can wear it.

Hi styloBB, I know I've to decide but I fear that it's not up to my decision lor. Cos I'm working and mil is taking care in the day. Even if, she feeds her I also don't know rite?

sahm
yeah lor, seems like. recently got few problem with the pump, first is a crack on the funnel and now the adaptor. I find no point getting new replacement coz thinking to stop soon. Now seems like got not much choice left but to stop BF..

giggler
yeah me still expressing by using batteries. If your MIL wants to start semi-solid for your bb, if it is 'bee gor' than I think is fine. But do let know to start with small portion first.

stylobb
me drama?
yeah lor must make the investment worth mah... maybe i should wait till the pump motor to be spolit than stop BF...

me also planning to take leave on 5 Oct with hubby to celebrate our anniversary...

Giggler,
Wanted to send my boy maiden feed foto to u but ur email address? Just realised we frm same White Link boutique! My photographer not Alex thou!

Ah ma also luv grandson....so u try to speak to MIL tat wait a litlle longer, at 6mth then feed. If she secretly feed, U bo bien also lah. But at least u make ur stand clear. Or ask the son to tell her?

Giggler,
can understand how u feel. my MIL also anxious to feed my boy porridge when he was 4+mths. then i told her wait till 5mths then give him abit of cereal n 6mths then porridge. but along the way she kept talking abt feeding porridge saying can start to give porridge already. but everytime will tell her wait till 6mths. was glad she respect my hubby n me n she wait until today(my son 6mths old) then feed him porridge. old people always have the thinking drinking milk alone is not filling n not nutritious enough.

Hi Jas, mee gor is still ok? I guess I got to trust my mil to know what's good for my gal.

Hi sahm, so 'qiao'. You from WL too. I know shook also from WL. My col also signed with WL recently and find her album very nice leh. Don't know if they'll change our album to their latest style or not hor? My hubby gone case one, he finds it rude to tell his mom what to do. Sigh....

Hi mini, so I got to make my stand to them outright? But what reason you gave to stop her from feeding on solids?

Hi sahm, my hubby is on my mil's side one. Recently, my mil is suspected to have TB. Knowing that TB is contagious, I try to forbid my mil to carry my gal. But my hubby doesn't allow lor. He feels heartache to prevent his mom to go near bb. Sigh.......

Giggler
That's quite difficult leh, if your mil looks after your gal, how to prevent her from carrying her?

sahm
Haven't tried the PP cos all XL... but really pleased with MP, keeps its shape and does not leak..

Hi Berrywife!

Wow, you're just a week away from delivery date! You must be so excited to see your baby finally! All the best! I can recommend you my bb's paediatrician at Thomson Medical Centre. Dr Ong E K from SBCC. He's very nice and handles bb well. Always able to answer all my questions and he is definitely pro-bfeeding. Actually if Im not wrong,all paediatricians now encourage bfeeding. The clinic staff are all friendly and cheerful, especially with kids. And there are lots of toys to keep the kids occupied. You may wanna consider him.

Berry,
At TMC, after u gave birth, 1 pd will be assigned to ur bb. My 1st one was 'assigned' by my gynae n my 2nd 1 is I opted. U will be giving birth at TMC, not many choices, Dr ANG or Dr Ong EK (but always seems away on leave). Dr ANG....alot of negative feedback.....I opted for Dr Ong EK but he was again on leave, so SHaron, his colleague came on behalf. Besides, my 1st boy failed to see him for his immunisation jab (on leave)....

Stylobb,
I think MP is still better than PP! Juz bot MP training pant........24pcs for $17+. Mp best, followed by nepia n then PP.

Giggler,
My photo shoot was not frm WL though. Eng Howe frm Montage Studio was my photographer then.

If I were u, hubby does not want to say, then I will say........

Unavoidable tt Mil not to carry bb rite? In worst case, I will look for alternative to look after bb.....if bb's health is concerned

QHL, pringles n SAHM, thanks for your reply!
After some sourcing and asking around with my more experienced friends, I've decided to use Dr Tan from Olive tree (her clinic is at forum). Heard pretty good feedback about her from few diff mums. Plus, I like her clinic's location (can just walk over to to the major malls for shopping and makan hehe...).

pringles, yeah I am indeed v excited, can't wait to pop lol!

Hi Giggler,
I understand your position with your MIL. My girl also taken care by MIL. Everytime, I need to tell her how to do something in a certain way, I would be very stress. have to wait for the right moment to say the right thing. Usually I wait till before I leave her place then I tell her. At least I won't have to see her "black" face till the next day
The other day my hubby just had an arguement with her about me taking calcium tablets. MIL kept insisting that bb having doesn't poo cos I take calcium tablets but PD already said it not due to that. Then when I reach there, the whole atmosphere was so tense man!

I agree with Sahm....must be firm lor. My MIL hasn't talk to me about feeding bb solid yet...hope she doesn't bring it up till bb is 6mth. Maybe I will also secretly feed bb over the weekend with semi-solid first. Let her experience it first. What I'm planning to do is that I will buy for her the stuff I want her to feed bb with. In this case, I know what bb is taking at MIL's place.

Hi Sahm,
Thanks for the info...will check out the Nestle Brown Rice. Where do you get the ground brown rice? Do the shop grind for you?

Hi Giggler,

Must be tough for you handling your MIL. Yah..must be careful with baby's health esp at this young age. My baby is now down with flu, running nose and cough. Heart pain when I see him coughing and trying to breathe through his running and sometimes blocked nose.

A normal flu for an adult can also be very tough for a young baby. I think you should talk to your MIL if she is suspected to have TB. She should understand that it's for the good of the baby.

Yah I agree that it's easier to ask the son to talk to her. No matter what, they'll forgive their sons right?

Hi styloBB, actually I also can pass to my mom to take care but my hubby doesn't find it rite to do that to my mil lor.

Hi sahm, I didn't want to cause unhappiness in the family cos we still need to face one another mah. I was so worried that I couldn't concentrate on my work last week. But after I gave my PD a ring, I feel more assured now. My PD said that my gal already got BCG at birth so shd be able to protect her from contracting TB. Really hope so.

Hi mon, I'm in a worse situation than you cos my mil stays with us. So I can't really do anything behind her back not even on weekends.

Hi Masshiro, my mil knows her condition and my sils even helped me to tell her not to go near bb. Also, they even suggested that bb to be taken care by my mom. But my mil doesn't want to let go lor. To my hubby, he feels that I shd feel fortunate that my mil dotes on my girl cos she is known to be "zhong nan qing nu" one.

HI....
Hope I am not the bad influence ah....secretly feeding bb be4 MIL

When my gal was barely 7wks old, MIL oso expressed her eagerness to feed her solid food 'Cant wait to feed her porridge'. I 'froze' upon hearing tat! SHe bought many sleeveless clothes 4 my gal. I remarked 'hmmm...nice but too young to wear now. Some bb still wrapped with napkin but I think dun need lah but dun wear sleeveless yet hor'. Recently, saw photo shot with my gal oreadi wearing those sleeveless stuffs!!!!!!! My bb at 7wks also given pillow to sleep on!!!! Peng san.....I stopped her..........

Whatever, I will let MIL know my stand. If she wants to do it behind my back, I just bo bien. Do u know tat my boy when younger day, couldnt finished his milk, wat MIL did? She diluted the milk 4 him, claiming tat he's wasting milk! So milk powder put lesser, put more water, take it as drinking water!!!!!!!!!!! U scared anot? I asked her 'when we cant finished your soup, do u cook lesser or dilute the soup for us?' Imagine my son's iron intake mz have been deprived for quite awhile.

Old pple are like that..............

hi mummies, it seems we all hving problem with our MIL (on the neg side i prefer to call my the Empress Dowager)!! Below r my personal views

Lucky me, b4 marriage i told hubby either we get our own flat or his mum n bro hv to pack their bags!! Do i sound mean??

After marriage, i told my hubby if u planning for kids either let my mum jaga, he let me b a SAHM or NO KIDS AT ALL, his mum is out of qns!! Even i pop 4 @ once i rather slog myself to death than to let MIL look after my kids!!!

Yeah, i sound mean, v.mean...i put my hubby in difficult position. Yeah, i sound like a spoiled brat by my own parents.... but if i hvnt make myself clear b4 marriage/child bearing...etc I can imagine myself in ur shoes like (giggler, sahm...etc) n who knows how many more daughter in law suffered frm stress/headache from their MIL??!!

Either u be firm or u b gana 'eaten' after all she's ur hubby's mum. u cant offend her neither u wan to strain ur couple relationship rite?? so suggest u make a firm. V.FIRM stand!!! Better to voice out than to suffer in silence.

THink we r deviating away frm the Breastfeeding Support Group liao.......

Yes, I agree tat we have to make our stand/view clear to MIL in a polite nice way. Sometimes it is just different views/methods/styles between MIL n us. Ok to speak up n also give thanks n praises to MIL as well. The rest, if not too adverse, just got2 close 1 eye lor.

Afterall, she definitely luv our kids too.....

Mon_mon,
I tried asking chinese medical hall if they grind brown rice at my pl. They all say where got pple do so nowadays...all go for convenience liao...............

Think u can start feeding bb ard 8mths onwards for brown rice. put a spoonful into slow cooker n cook till smooth lor........it works!

Giggler,
most importantly is being firm with ur stand. also need hubby to support u. easier for your hubby to explain to MIL abt starting solid late. i told my MIL it is recommended to start porridge only at 6mths. luckily she din question too much. know she dun feel justified but glad she din do her own way.

ytr she gave my boy porridge n my boy refused to eat! think mainly the porridge not tasty enough. not sure wat she add in but heard have vege n fish. my intention is not to add any fish first but she so kan chiong go n add. i din wan to ask her much abt what she want to put in n how she want to cook as i know she will b unhappy with me. she will think she is so experience n how come need to hear from me. somemore she at 1 shot add quite a few items to the porridge. this is the first time my boy is eating those food, v hard to know which is the one if there is allergy reaction. so far think the food she add in quite safe so i dun interfere with this. then she commented becoz we give porridge too late as baby has gotten use to cereal n refuse porridge.

agreed it is v tough when we let MIL take care. they have their own ways n we have ours. nowadays i try to close 1 eye if what she did is still acceptable. no matter what she loves the bb too n want to provide the best. tough we as mothers, hope to be the decision maker rather than MIL right?

Hi lyn, I don't dare to be rude to my mil lor. Maybe I respected her too much lah. She alone brought up her 10 children leh. So most of the time I just kept quiet unless it's really unreasonable. To be fair, most of the time, she also very chin chye one lah.

Hi sahm, I thot you started feeding your boy brown rice earlier than 8mths?

Hi mummies, I only managed to pump 2oz just now leh. I not sure why the drastic decr. I used to be able to get at least 6oz one. Sigh..........

Giggler,
Nestle Brown rice at 5mth's weekends only.
Porridge daily frm 6th mth onwards.
Brown rice porridge occasional meals frm 8mth onwards.

I introduced new food slowly n tends to be 1 at a time, to check for allergy n bb's reaction.

giggler,
does your brs still feel full after pumping? if so means not able to get let-down. try to see if can slot a pump session say 2hrs later n try to get the milk out. if not brs sure feel v full during the next mth.

Giggler
Now I remember, mil stays with you. But for the sake of bb, she should not feel that as if it's a sin to take the bb away right? Really not easy.... best solution of course is we take care of bbs ourselves, then no one can say or do anything behind our backs. For me, mil does not comment about food becos she cannot cook! hehe... but she is particular about cleanliness... in fact my hb says she must freak out when we let bb crawl all over our floor cos she deems it dirty but bb also ok what.. we feel a little bit of dirt is ok lah, can't be 100% germ-free...
Your ss affected??

mon mon
Heheee...I sure understand how you feel... mil does not look after my boy but she comes over in the evenings to see him... sometimes when we go back late and try to tell her not to come, we had to wait for opportune time to tell her, she ever suggested she will fetch bb and wait for us at home! We said no!!! Initially yah, quite stressed to break the news... but lately, I think things are beta cos she knows we also want some time out on our own and does not come over if we say we are back late...

lyn/sahm/giggler
What lyn says is quite funny. Lyn, wah, you sound harsh leh. But I agree with you about the no-staying together, cos staying together very stressful one. Plus I like a little bit of peace after work everyday, if I am gonna hear this and that, sure feel stressed and irritated.

sahm
Can we buy the brown rice and grind ourselves... altho dun know how to...??

Hi sahm, so brown rice and brown rice porridge are 2 different things?

Hi mini, ok I try to pump again after my lunch later. Guess I didn't achieve any let-down.

Hi styloBB, I don't know how my mil feels leh. Sometimes, she remembers to get away from my gal if she coughing/smoking but at times she forgets.

Hi Sahm,
Yeah....how to grind the brown rice ourselves?

Giggler,
Althought we are staying on our own now but few years down the road we'll have to stay with my in-laws cos my hubby is only son. He's got 2 sis but they are staying with their in-laws, so no choice. I try not to think about it now.

Like Mimi, I also close 1 eye as much as I can. As long as it nothing I can't stand or endanger bb's health, I'm OK.

If I'm not wrong, u also use the Philips bottle warmer right? I just bought one, just want to check with you - the bottle is not very hot after warming right? My MIL says milk is not hot enough for bb's comsumption. Then when I reach her place, I saw her warming the bottle the traditional way again.

hi Sahm,
My MIL also told us to make a more diluted formula feed when we start my girl on formula. She says can add 1 spoonful lesser than require so that its not so heaty. I was shocked to hear that too. So I found some reading materials that says must make formula as instructed and the side effects of not doing so. I asked my hubby to read. Then, he automatically told my MIL that must follow instructions
I very cunning right?

Hi mon, I used the Philips bottle warmer too. It can warm the milk quite fast, I think less than 5mins. Did she turn to the right mode?

Hi all mums,
anyone know if i need to go for any medical checkup / injection before i get ready to get pregnant? i had chicken pox when i was young already, so wat other things should i take note of? thanks!

stylobb,giggler yeah i sounded v.harsh n rude. but since our dating time me n my mil seems to be of different poles?!!

she did express her interest in looking after my bb but i reminded my hubby on our agreement so thats why more unhappiness. no matter wat i do will nvr pleased her - so give up trying long ago.

when pple ask me anything abt her - i jus say no comments.

Hi lyn, then both of you better don't meet up so often to min any misunderstandings hor? I think my mil overall still ok, she quite chin chye. It's just that she's heavy smoker and suspected got TB now. Also, she got her own way of bringing up her children. Most of the time, I at the losing end cos she more experience in looking after bb than me.

Juz to chceck - can I colour my hair if i am breastfeeding my bb? Pregnant woman shouldn't colour hair, wat abt lactating mothers?

My bundle of joy arrived 3 weeks back, and i intend to continue breastfeedingat least thr'out maternity leave period...

Hi Giggler,
Yes, I set it for her....all she needs to do is plug in and switch it on. Guess she not used to feeding bb the "not-so-hot" EBM. Need time to get used to it.

With regards to MIL, sometimes have to close one eye lor since they have brought up our hubby so should be more experience lah.

Pok Pok,
Glad to hear someone out there does that too.
At least I don't feel that guilty
Think easier for our hubby to tell MIL then doing it ourselves, right?