Breastfeeding Support Group

<font color="aa00aa">mummies,</font>
what did u use to "mash" the food/fruits/veg to feed ur kid?

wonder what kind of "blender" is good/can mash the fruits/veg to very fine puree....

Hi styloBB, ok so I must buy Nepia to try then. Maybe my only gal that's why I very protective towards her? I also don't know leh.

I saw the nepia sample at NTUC, it's very soft but seems thick also. Hubby worry will it be hot since it is thick. Think bb doing Ok with Drypers now so will stick to it. Anyway, MIL changes her diapers quite often so no worries.

Anyone knows is PetPet any good?

Giggler,
Me also jealous when bb wants to play with hubby. You know if both of us lie on her sides, she would rather face him and play with him. Only when he is not around, then she will play with me. She also will get distracted during feeding if hubby is with her vision zone. me SO JEALOUS!

Sometimes, grandparents like to try their so call "tried &amp; tested" methods on our bb...very scary one. Like recently by girl did not poo for many days, then MIL told me she tried to give my girl diluted honey. I was shocked to hear that. But luckily my girl didn't want to take it. So have to tell her not to give her sweet stuff before 6mths so that she will not dislike the milk taste.

Hi Lyn,
My car seat is a hand down from my SIL. We have been using it since my girl was 1mth old. Read in this month's women's weekly that the capsule type can be used till bb is 9 mths. Think my SIL used till her boy was 1yrs old.

giggler
yeah, i think so. Overall I think MP is the 2nd expensive after Pampers (comparison is based on original price - no promotion).

stylobb
Wow, I think you are the champion now...

mya
I also feed my boy fresh apples and bananas

mon_mon
PetPet is not bad also, personally I prefer petpet than drypers.

angelia
I didn't use any blender, but I know some recommend the tollyjoy or piegon brand where they got those tools to mash the food for bb. They are not electric type but rather manual type.

So exciting to see you guys discussion about feeding. Can't wait for my girl to turn 6mth then I can experience the same enjoyment

Hi Jas,
Thanks. Maybe will try out PetPet when Drypers runs low...now got 3 packs of unopen Drypers. If I buy somemore, hubby will nag at me

Hi Stylo,
Will wait for the samples and try out but unit price a little on the steep side.

Giggler
I just sent u a PM regarding the ameda pump, can sms me the price if its still available. I am thinking of getting one coz I think I might need to express at least one time when I go back to wk.

Mini/Mon_mon
Regarding when to start the introducing solids, I personally think its ok to give one/two teaspoon after 4 mths, just to get them accustomed to the idea of eating from the spoon, and the taste of solids. If not, u can watch out from clues from ur bb, when milk no longer satisfy them, this happen between 4-6 mths, u can start introducing solids.
I started with rice cereal for bf 1st at 4 mths. From 4 to 6 mths, I only feed him a few spoons. At 6 mths++, I added a porridge meal in the evening for him.

Mya
My PD advise is to hv one veg and one protein fd in the porridge. So, we usually cook combinations like veg/minced pork or veg/fish or veg/egg yolk, or veg/tofu. For the veg, if its green veg, need to steam separately and then mix with the porridge. This also applies for the protein fd. For veg like carrots, pumpkin, etc, can steam with the porridge. So far, we do not add any seasoning in the porridge, but sometimes we will add in a piece of meat/fish to cook with the porridge, just to give it some taste.

Stylobb
Wow, u really stock up a lot of pampers.

Hi mon, I quite like PetPet. It's cheap and good. Hahaha so I'm not the only petty one. Aiyo, I already feed my gal honey liao cos my mil kept nagging at me. Sigh..

Hi styloBB, I find that the unit price for Nepia not cheap also hor? Is the material comparable to MP?

Hi desert, sms you liao. My friend's mom add in one slice of pao sheng into her gal's porridge and cook in slow cooker. Very bu hor?

Hi gals. Giant advertised jumbo pack of pampers premium ( the old one ) M84 for $28.75, so only abt 34 cents per piece. Cheap cheap!!

mon, babies under one year old not supposed to take honey because of risk of botulism... not so much cos of the sweetness.

Stylo,jas and desert,
thanks alot for ur input. Will try them out. My son is 5 mths, is it ok to give him fish now?

Giggler,
i read somewhere that not to give honey to babies before 1 yr old. Can cause some allergic reaction. So better not.

Regarding the diapers, i tried petpet also, but somehow always leak. Its really cheap at Sheng Shiong but then all the washing that has to be done afterwards...

So now in the day i let my son use drypers and at night MP. So far so good. Coz we still change him once in the middle of the night. He pees too much. And last night he decides to poo. So big clean up.

stylobb, jastan, thks feeling better oready with 3days mc - do nothing but sleep. BB @ my mum's, Hubby bz with his project n work so .... both r not here to disturb me!!

jastan, i feel heartache when i pour away my emb, but wat to do - i on medication - even my mum asked me not to give bb ebm until i finish my med???

mon_mon, actually i find buying car seat waste of $$ cos my bb prefer to be carried - tried only once to let him get used to it - he scream all the way hme - so now the car seat is jus for show - dare not put bb inside anymore!!

my boi now using petpet/pampers @ nite n drypers (day). petpet/drypers equally good.

Lyn,
I feel the car seat is a safety precaution. Anything can happened on the road...we may be very careful but some other inconsiderate drivers are not.

My girl also will scream when the car stops...but when the car is moving, she seems very happy and can sometimes fall asleep.

Giggler
I find Nepia is softer but maybe you don't like. MP's material is pretty good.

desert
I checked and found out the MP's XL is for 12kg+ so most probably I'll get that.

mya
Dun like Drypers, saggy when wet.
Your boy poos middle of nite? O dear. My mum has established poo-ing routine for my boy which is normally after he takes his porridge daytime.
Can give fish. I also ever boiled the pork meat with the porridge but never feed the pork.

jul/mon mon
Then I must be thankful for my boy ...cos he never fusses in car-seat, will guai guai sit, usually after a while (with the rhythm), he will fall asleep.

sahm,

I read from the thread that you had your menses soon after your lochia stopped. Does the medication you are taking to balance the hormones affect your milk supply?

I also had my menses few days after lochia stopped worse thing is menses stopped already few days later come again. Gynae said could be due to infection of lining of womb or hormones went haywire. She gave me antibiotics first and if doesn't help will have to take medication for the hormones which will affect milk supply. My supply already kinda low worried that i have to give up breastfeeding bec of this.

Hi Stylobb,Jas,
Thanks for the info on mattress.

Hi Lyn,
Thanks. Which brand/model did you get? I like the Britax one but very bulky and also very ex. more than 300 bucks. As I do nurse in the car, I find it difficult to put baby in car seat. So maybe wait till he around 5-6 mths then I buy. In the meantime, scout around and see if got good bargains. I scared if we introduce car seat too late, he might reject it.

Hi jul, looks like I got to stock up diapers too. Thot of buying Nepia and now even Pampers Premium got offer.

Hi mya, I stop feeding Vane honey now but I not sure my mil still give her when I'm working. Sigh My petpet won't leak but Fitti leak.

Hi mon, thanks for the article. I'll read later.

Hi styloBB, I haven buy Nepia to try. I'll try to get it over the weekends. BTW, is the cutting small or big? My gal can't really wear Petpet M cos the cutting too small or rather her thigh too big.

masshiro, sorry leh cant ans ur qns b'cos it's hubby who bought it - me deadly against the idea of buying one since me not going to put bb in the car seat and bb himself dislike being belt up!??

giggler, i got fitti samples from carrefour not too long ago - personaly the feel that cutting too big "m" size - got leakage.

Hi mashhiro/Jas /
Thank you for the photo. I will email you all shortly.
Stylobb
Can I have your email address so I can email together. So you are going for the gathering?
Very far not sure can make it or not.

Hi Jas
Joel had changed a lot. Very handsome now. Like a big boy already.
Hi masshirro
First time seen your boy, he is very cute and chubby. Look like you, don't seem like leh. Maybe look like your hubby.

Hi giggler
You got the marker already? You going for the gathering? If I see at book shop I can get for you?

Hi stlyobb
Nepia more exp than PP? I have not used before but it seem that you found it really good.

Hi giggler
Funny hor Pet Pet won't leak but Fitti. Pet Pet cheaper right? My boy used PP will leak but ot sealer. I wonder nepia will leak or not

Hi desert
Your menses not back yet also. Mine too. So you already planning for a second one? Me not sure when leh. SInce no menses that means won'e get preggie if try right? Hope to meet you one day cos I have not seen you before.

moon

Hi Desert
Forget to ask you how come fish meat and green vege must steam separately . Can I put together in the slow cooker to cook instead.

moon

Hi lyn, I don't like Fitti too, got leakage.

Hi Serene, you go to the gathering lah, ask maro along lah. I haven got the marker leh. Me very lazy, haven start making any cards yet. If convenient for you, can you help me to get the marker? Ya lor, Petpet cheaper but better.

Serene, bf will not have menses but can be pregnant. tat's wat my gynae told me. once stop bf, menses will come.

Hi Seren, Desert, Pok Pok,
My menses came back within 2 mths..maybe becos I'm not on tfb. It's such a chore. Miss those 9 mths without menses.

Hi Serene,
My boy 90% like his daddy. Only eyes like mine. So overal he still takes after his dad.

Hi Lyn,
I also dun like car seat, cos takes up so much space in the car. But no choice, think it's still safer to put baby inside. WAiting for big sales to get good bargain.

Anyone going for the Jeff Chang and Sky Wu's concert tom. Me going wif hubby. Need a break. The only regret is I've got to miss like 2 feeds. But I suppose we deserve a break also.

Hi pok, me tbfg but still got menses when bb was 2mths old. But now no more menses again.

Hi Masshiro, I also want to see your boi leh. So nice, going to pak-tor with your hubby. Enjoy yourself.

Is ur menses like leaking? cos my gynae say if not tbf will have a bit by bit ler.

but no menses does not mean cannot pregnant. still will.

Masshiro, enjoy urself at the concert.

Desert/jas
Diapers - yeah, I think I went nuts already.... I still have KP vouchers, hmmm...wonder whether they sell MP at KP TPY???

Masshiro/lyn
We have a carseat in our mil's car. He is ok with it. It's chicco brand. I dun know how old can that take him to... any idea? You mean have to change carseat later??

Giggler
I'm not sure about the cut, seems like it's more flat but the shape looks quite cute...it's like low cut at the waist..aiyah I also dun know how to describe. The thigh part is rather soft too. Usually they have samples there in NTUC for you to feel. Do you want a sample cos I can send you? I have spares, individually packed. Can email me.

Masshiro
You like Jeff Chang? Me too... but my hb know nuts about Mandarin music.. he only likes those jazz, and gospel music. Anyway I hardly listen to Mandarin songs now...
We are bringing jesse for his maiden dip at friend's pool...

Moon
You just click on my nick for my email addy lah...
Yah I confirm going for gathering cos never show my face for so long...

stylobb, according to my hubby the car seat is adjustable (someting like tat) frm infant up till age 4 no prob??!! but one experince tat's it!! not putting bb back there again

masshiro, so good can go enjoy, hv a break...i isolated myself for 2days now missed bb v.much..rushing off immediately after work to c him. my mum said he a bit cranky 2day??? maybe he missed his mummy :p

Hi pok, no I've full blown menses for 3-4days. But after that, no more liao.

Hi styloBB, no need lah. I'll just buy one pack and try it out. Maybe I'll get the L size just in case. How many mths is Jesse now?

serene
thanks, yeah joel has grown bigger and so has me... hee hee
You started making the cards already? I haven't started on anything yet.

fish got to steam separately then later add into porriage to feed bb, cannot put into the slow cooker to cook together with porriage coz it will be hardened and not nice to eat. For vege, I will add into porriage at the end about 5-10mins before the porriage is ready.

masshiro
me also not really TBF but since my menses cames at 5th month, till now no sight of it yet.. I think it depends on individual. If you miss those no menses days, have another one soon...

Hi Pok,Pok,

My menses quite a lot, jus like b4 preggie. It still comes every mth.

Thanks gal. Will enjoy myself at the concert. Looking forward to it.

Hi Stylobb,
I think car seat normally can last till 4 years, at least for those chicco ones I saw. Chicco brand not bad.

Ok everyone,
Have a nice weekend. Talk to you again next weekend.

Giggler,
What's your mail add?

Masshiro,
Let's enjoy the concert tonite. But I m going wz frenz 'cos hb does not listen to chinese songs. Wah, u also frm their era?

QSL,
Sori, missed out ur query....too many posting here

My gynae didnt prescribe me any antibotic, straight away on hormones n iron medicine/vit. He also said no side effect for BFing.

My EBM has been miserably low after my confinement lady left. Now it is mere 40ml per 30min session, regardless of BEfore or AFter the medication.

The medicine tat I am on is PrimolutN n Sangobion. Btw how much were u charged for ur visit?

Stylobb,
Perhaps I should stock up training pant. Slip of mind. Haiz.........siow liao....so many diapers...all for my girl?

Wonder shd I buy nepia or MP training pants? Wat say U?

sahm,

how many weeks old is your baby? how come supply drop after confinement ended?

I only left with 2 weeks before going back to work, by right should start storing up EBM but i got no excess to store

My gynae is from KK, senior consultant and i am seeing her at private suite so consultation is about $63 each time. How about you?

I was not given any iron tablets or vitamins. Told to see if the menses stop and doesn't come back after 1 week.

sahm
I have both the MP and Nepia training pants, but have not tried them on my boy. Training pants lagi more ex, and only 20 something each pack.

QSG,
My gynae was a private one frm Tanglin Shopping center. My bill for tis visit abt 100+. My menses (initial with heavy n big blood clots) subsided after 2/3 days of taking the hormones medicine. Dun know if I shd ve waited for that 2, 3 days then c gynae. Who knows it is just menses after labour? My came at 6th wk, stop for abt 1 wk, then shocking outburst again.

My bb is coming to 9wks+. After CL left, I was all stressed up handling 2, v overwhelmed n flustered tat affect my ss.

Urs 6wks? Try our best lah. Give watever we have.......

Hi mummies! I'm due to deliver my baby on 22nd sept, so am looking for a paediatrician. The reason why I posted here is because I'm planning to BF and would like to find a pro-BF paed. I'm looking for a good paed who is pro-bf, patient, gives very detailed advice, and the clinic to be of a nice and cosy environment (eg, friendly nurses and clean toilets etc..). Any recommendations?

hi Berrywife,

I go to (Aglow Clinic) Dr Ong at United Square. His clinic is at 2nd floor (near Toys R Us). Quite ex, but he very soothing - quiet spoken and generally nice. I used to call his clinic once in a while with queries, both he and the nurses are generally very helpful.

5 in 1 jab is about $120; consultation is $45.

Hi sahm
What is Heng Chai, is it spinach? White bait are those tiny silver fish? Dried Scallop can eat already?

Hi giggler
ok I will check out at popular over my side, if ave I buy for you ok.

Hi PokPok
You mean no menses will get preggie also? How come? I thought no ovulation?

moon

Anyone feeding bb ground brown rice? Is it any good? Or is cereal better?

QHL,
Hmmm...didn't know there's a Toys R Us at United Square. My work place is not far from there, must go and look see look see.

Sahm,
You are really crazy about diapers hor?
Think me influence by you all. Nowadays will head straight to the diapers section whenever I visit NTUC

Moon
Initial plan when preggy was to try for 2nd one next yr, but dun think its possible now lah. Will put on hold 1st.
U are going for the gathering at M2B's hse? I cannot cfm yet. Yup, I just sold my flat, got to clear b4 8 oct, 2nd appt. How long do u intend to bf LH??
Fish, green veg and minced meat cannot be cooked for too long, so hv to steam separately. Or u can be like Jas, add in in the last 10 mins.

Pok
Tt's what my gynae says too, she says bf not 100% birth ctl. But I read in bks tt if u tbf exclusively and menses not back for the 1st 6 mths, its an effective birth ctl for 1st 6 mths. Subsequently, menses shd come back when bb is taking solids and taking less milk. I think my boy milk intake still quite a lot, that's why my menses still not back yet.

Stylobb
Most of the car seats can last up to 4 yrs. I got a problem with Ivan, he refuse to sit in the car seat and stroller for long, tried to ignore him, but will start to scream and cry.

mon_mon
my mum occassionally feed my boy brown rice, most of the time is porriage. I think whether brown rice or cereal they are equally good.

desert
why not possible? bec menses not back yet?

Serene,
Tot they r same? Heng chai bo chai? Bo chai is spinach? So shd be same. GD for blood.

Sometime u will cook until running out of idea...I prefer fresh 'gor fish' but at times I cook white bait wz green leafy veg, bb luv it n it is v gd nutritious! Add a 'short thick slice of pork' to add flavour but i nvr feed bb.

White bait mz tell seller that it is for bb, want those not saltish type. Dried scallop expensive but read frm SBCC tat it has no nutritious value, just for sweetening/adding flavour purpose. Can eat! Old pple think it is v nutritious thou?!

I am pretty cautious abt my bb's diet till after 1yr old...more liberal. More variety of fish by then...cod fish, snapper, chicken etc. Also no soya sauce/salt until after 1! Honey is a big no no till probably after 2.