Breastfeeding Support Group

stylobb

toddlers wear diapers till they are potty-trained. Naptime and night-time still got to wear. My gal can stay dry in the day even during naptime but not throughout the night. At night, she still uses a diaper.

Stylobb
Hee... but in reality, my menses not back yet lah, not much chance for 2nd one.
Ivan always very interested in our fd, if I am carrying him and he sees me eating, he will pull my hand to put the fd in his mouth. When I refuse, sometimes he will throw tantrums. But so far, I still insist on delaying adult fd from him for as long as possible.

Stylobb
Hee... but in reality, my menses not back yet lah, not much chance for 2nd one.
Ivan always very interested in our fd, if I am carrying him and he sees me eating, he will pull my hand to put the fd in his mouth. When I refuse, sometimes he will throw tantrums. But so far, I still insist on delaying adult fd from him for as long as possible.

Hi Giggler,
Yah.you girl very guai. My boy likes to be carried. I'm on urgent leave today. My boy is running a fever. Started crying at 2am, thot he was hungry. Then realised he's running a fever of 38.5. Dunno how come got fever. Dun think he's teething yet. Gave him some fever medicine now better already. If it goes up again, will have to see doc.

There's only a 10% disc for the footprints..the cheapst package already $168, plus extra for the frame you choose, wordings, etc. Are we talking about the same kind of prints, the gold moulded ones with the frame? You sure it's $100+?

U keen on the gathering at M2B's house? I'm not sure yet, but may pop by if I can. Haven't seen the Jan babies for so long and looking forward to seeing them again.

Hi Jas,
Thanks. He's chubby but I think pic makes him look chubbier. I took so many pics of him already. Burnt a hole in my pocket developing them.

Hi Stylobb,
So you going to M2M's place? Aiyo..I hope she's not scared to know so many thinking of going to her place. I'll check with her again later to see if it's convenient. If not, I can always join later rounds. It's almost time for Giggler's and my baby to make their debut

OK, need to go back to take care of baby.

stylobb

heh heh, trying to see if you should start stocking XL as well?!!! Hee.... OK, for your ref, she is 2.5 years old and she weighs about 15 kg (so she is considered heavy for her age). She has been wearing XL for a looonng time... Realised that MP's XL is bigger than Drypers XL and thus more comfy. But now she is using PetPet's XL since just one diaper at night, no need to buy expensive ones (MP's price is on the high side ya? But it is of good quality...).

not sure y this wk my boy rejected frozen EBM. he was ok with it last wk. the frozen EBM is a mth old. do u all know if frozen EBM has the same taste as fresh EBM? or frozen EBM has some kind of taste? so far i know got a metallic smell but not sure abt the taste. dunno is it becoz 1mth old too long liao.. but my freezer store mainly EBM only. will try to give him those 2-3wks old frozen EBM to see how. so heartpain to throw away. hope bb will still continue to take those 2-3wks old one. but m glad bb is 6mths this wk so will start give him porridge next wk. like tat he will be taking 1 feed of ebm lesser n my current ss should be just enough for him. thank god!

Masshiro
Hope he is beta... we adults feel more lousy when bbs get sick... everyone looks very downcast .. I like the way you put it --- 'make their debut'.... hehe.. yeah, I should be going cos I never show my face for so long already, wanna see the babies too.
Jesse also loves being carried but now that he can sit and also crawl, easier on us.. but every nite he must have hb's patented koala position at least once.
This morning he let out a loud fart and gave us a very bashful smile, like so paiseh, so funny...

pinkt
Yah, yah, I wanna buy some more but dun know if should get L or XL. L fits him very well now. I will stick with MP cos I find it's very good and my boy only uses it at nite so ok. Dun mind paying more....

mini
Could it be it's no longer fresh and bb knows??? They are smart beings....

mar_mum
I also BF my boy and he also fall sick once when he is about 2mth old. Just bring the bb to see doc and continue your BF.

mini
so far my boy is fine with those 1mth supply, anyway I will try to have stock less than a month old, I have thrown away those older than a month. I remember that's a short duration (few days) when my boy don't want frozen EBM as well.

Hi styloBB, I'll mark my calendar on that date.

Hi angelia, so you must tell bb to pop only next mth liao. Heehee

Hi Mar_mum, have u brought your bb to see doc? I think there is flu virus around, that's why.

Hi mini, I think one mth old frozen EBM still ok for bb's consumption leh. Maybe he not feeling well?

Hi Masshiro, my gal quite guai hor? At least, she waited for me to finish my lunch.
We're talking abt the same thing. I think the salesgirl quoted me the cheapest price that is $168 but didn't tell me the details. I'm keen to M2B's house, you come along too lah. Then I got the chance to see your bb mah

Stylobb,
yar lor..dunno is he getting smart that he just can tell fresh n frozen EBM.

Jas,
any idea y ur boy dun want frozen EBM for a few days? after how many days u re-start to give him again? i should think there is nothing wrong with the ebm. but think my MIL is scared of giving him frozen ebm already. then she said got a plastic smell n suspect it is due to the avent disposable bag. but i told her the smell is due to freezing n thawing of ebm. have to persuade MIL to give frozen ebm again. must try first before throw away hor?!

jas,giggler,
do u know if frozen ebm have the same taste as fresh ebm?

stylobb,jas
ur bbs close to 8mths already right? how heavy was he when he start wearing L-size diaper? also how many solid meals a day do u give ur boy? i m thinking from when should we start giving 3 solid meals.

mini
I got no idea, just that during that time we always need to feed him two times with about 30mins to an hr interval in-between before he can finish all the milk. What my mum did is that she will try to coax him into drinking the EBM, if he really don't want than didn't force him, wait till his next feed than try again. Back then wasted quite a lot of EBM but no choice.

The plastic smell is not due to the bag, even when I try on Pigeon bag, the smell is still there. There was a time when I just throw away packets of frozen EBM older than a month old, and give my boy the newer batch about 3weeks old.

Basically there is no much difference in the taste between frozen and fresh EBM except the smell part. I have taste frozen EBM to make sure they are still good once.

yeah, my boy is 8mth this week. I don't know how heavy was he when I switch him to L size diaper, coz I upgrade the size diaper based on the tightness of thight area instead. Normally when noticed that the thight area is reddish due to the rubber part of the diaper, I will upgrade the size. Now he is wear L with the waist portion a bit loose but thight is okay.

At my mum's place will give him two semi-solid meals, noon and night. At my place, will give him one either noon or night. My mum only start giving him semi-solid to replace a milk feed when he is about 6.5 to 7mth old.

Jas,
thanks for sharing! hope my boy will take those ard 3wks old EBM. think those 3wks old one smell not as strong as those 1mth old.
my MIL v eager to start him on porridge. keep telling us to give porridge when my boy is 5mths old. but we told her when 6mths. so now 6mths she sure want to start. but will make sure give only 1 feed of porridge. think my boy will be drinking lesser milk once on porridge, so dun feel so heartpain to throw the ebm. sometimes have to be hard hearted to throw else bb will always be clearing old stock n not drinking much newer ones.

mini
yes you are right. I also have to be heart-hearted to throw away 1mth old frozen stock. I just take them out from the freezer, close my eyes and off they goes into the wastebin, and I don't think about them anymore.

Stylobb,
Ya, I still have a quite NB, 2mths+. It is easy to start all over again. No sweat......everything is still fresh in mind but hor.....HANDLING 2 is damn jialak
, esp, older 1 is so gluey nowadays.

Ya, visit her during wkdays, bring her back on fri n wkends.

My boy is small sized I think, wearing L sized so far........Oh YES, I stocked up Nepia 2 pck again.............todate inventory 11 pck!!

Now my personal verdict of diaper ranking is
- MP
- Nepia
- PP
- Sealer
- PetPet

Stylobb,
Ya, I still have a quite NB, 2mths+. It is easy to start all over again. No sweat......everything is still fresh in mind but hor.....HANDLING 2 is damn jialak
, esp, older 1 is so gluey nowadays.

Ya, visit her during wkdays, bring her back on fri n wkends.

My boy is small sized I think, wearing L sized so far........Oh YES, I stocked up Nepia 2 pck again.............todate inventory 11 pck!!

Now my personal verdict of diaper ranking is
- MP
- Nepia
- PP
- Sealer
- PetPet

mini
I can't remember when he started wearing L size, maybe when he was six months??? It's more the thigh area, too tight..
We started him on porridge when he was 5.5 months, now he takes two meals of porridge, followed by fresh fruit. Still takes his milk.
For the EBM, I used to feed him direct so my stock was manageable in that sense, and hardly more than 1 month old. He had no problem taking the EBM, bm or fm, something that I am quite thankful for. So far he has good eating habits ie finish up his bowl of porridge rather quickly, and later will 'make noise' for his fruit.

SAHM
You wanna compete ah.... hurry, Jas, join in the competition...hehe!!

jas
Hope joel gets beta.... next time cannot bathe him too late, if late, must make sure windows all shut so no wind comes in.

Stylobb,
AYo I surrender liao.....no more purchase liao....scary!

Last 2 pck was walking up n dn the asle trying to decide shd I buy anot...so cheap...$15.90!

Enuff enuff......

Hi mini, I not sure if frozen and fresh EBM have the same taste. But I think one mth old frozen EBM shd be ok. My mil and mom also very eager to start my gal with solids at 4mths. But I quite reluctant to start leh.

Hi sahm, Nepia got offer meh? I quite tempted to try it if it's cheap.

Giggler
You dun know meh, never read the news here...! On offer at NTUC till end of the month!! Hurry, whilst stocks last!!!! HAHAH!

Giggler,
Yapp.........on offer $15.90, usual price I think $19.90 ~ $23.90??

Good buy.........Good value for money! GO BUY, shelves emptying liao..............

I'm back, was on leave yesterday cos have to bring bb for 3-mth jab. Plus also consulted pd why she has not poo for 5 days.

We were amazed by her yesterday cos she didn't cry during the jab. My hubby distracted using her toy. She was given medication into her butt to stimulate her to poo. Then she poo 3 times when we reach home. It's like we are all waiting for this day...the POO DAY!
PD also introduce Frisovon, which contains fiber for bb having constipation.

Also went to NTUC yesterday, Drypers also having promo - 2pks for $23.90 so stock up again
I also saw Nepia promo but after calculation, unit price a bit on the steep side.

Stylobb
I also agree tt the thigh area always quite tight

Mon_mon
I think nowadays the PD does the jab quite fast. so far, my boy also nvr cry during any of his jabs, unlike our times, jab sure cry.

mini/Jas
My boy is on 2 solid meals a day, bf and dinner. I've not decided when to increase to 3, but we do feed him a few spoons of mashed veg in the afternoon.

desert/jas/stylobb
thanks for sharing. any idea when should start giving the 3rd solid meal? my MIL sure v eager to give 2 porridge meals but i want 1 meal to be cereal. so will start with 1 cereal n 1 porridge meal. then thinking mayb give the 2nd porridge meal when he is 8mths old.

ytr my MIL used 4wks old frozen ebm to make cereal n my boy only eat half of it. later on think he realised it is frozen ebm n refuse to take. today gave my MIL a 2wks old ebm to make. hope my boy will not fuss. quite glad can get substainial amt of fresh ebm for him these 2 days though still not so enough. but tmr dunno how liao.. have to take a pack of frozen ebm to try. his current intake is more than my ss hence everyday have to use 1 feed of frozen ebm. next wk should b better since will start on porridge. yo my boy so smart to tell frozen ebm from fresh ebm.

giggler
if possible try to delay the starting of solid as after give solid milk intake will somehow be affected. if ur girl is satisfied just drinking milk no hurry to start. i gave my boy some cereal at 5mths. will give porridge at 6mths.

My girl is 3 mths old...i'm not sure when to start her on semi-solid cos I know some starts as early as 4mths. Experienced mums, what difference does it make? pls adv. thanks.

mon mon
I read that it is not recommended becos some bbs' digestive systems are not yet fully adapted to take solids and milk should be their main source of nutrition, simple as that lor...I feel at 3 months, really no need to give semi-solid lah, you have all the time later...what's the hurry? Just my opinion....
I still wanna buy MP...hehe...

Hi styloBB & sahm, so the offer till end of Sep huh? OK, I'll buy one pack to try it out. I just bot Fitti Premium from the recent JL sales. But I don't like it leh, it leaked one.

Hi mon, your bb didn't cry at all? She very brave leh. My gal cried abit when the PD withdrew the jab. Heehee. I got the same qns abt intro solids.

Hi mini, my gal still very satisfied with her milk now. Just hope that my mil won't start nagging at me next mth to rush me to start solids.

Hi styloBB, thanks for your advice on intro solids. MP got offer meh?

GIGGLER,
Dun know when offer ends but grab fast as stock moves v fast.

My boy used to use Fitti Premium, ok except tat kena redness at the flesh near the tape area. My girl got it too, so switched to PetPet during the day.

stylobb
Me got enough stock for the moment and no place to stock up anymore, so cannot join in the competition liao...

I tried on the sample for MP pants and not bad, my mum says it got very nice shape, but the rubber at the tight leaves a mark, not sure is it too tight. You have such experience? I am getting the Nepia diapers sample, maybe will only receive it next month.

joel is better today liao, but very sticky to my mum, maybe he's also going through the teething process again for his top teeth.

giggler/mon_mon
my opinion is that you can start to introduce semi-solid to your bb after 4mths but amount given is not to replace any of the milk feed but rather to let the bb experience with spoon-feeding. To start off can feed apple or banana using spoon. Normally it will be messy for a start as they are trying spoon-feeding, but after several times, they should be okay with it. I do mix some rice cereal into the milk and feed through bottle for my boy when he's about 4.5mths. It is only when my boy about 7mths that we replace two milk feeds with porriage/cereal.

Hi gals, my boy just had his first 5-in-1 today. Hope he doesn't get fever. Cried for a while only cos I quickly latched him and distracted him... hehhehe...

U gals still talking about Nepia ah.... looks like I have to try... will go check out NTUC tomorrow. I am very happy with MP and PP leh.

Giggler, I agree that Fitti Premium leaks, despite the elastic area behind... dunno why. Don't think I will use it anymore.

mon, don't start so fast! Bad for your baby!

Frozen EBM.... my boy doesn't seem to know the difference... he just screams when his lips touch the silicone/latex teat... gotta spend a lot of time coaxing him, make him very dreamy and falling asleep liao, then he will suck a bit... wasted a lot of EBM during my training over the last couple of weeks. I've tasted it myself, hate it! THe fishy taste is disgusting! Argh... stronger in frozen EBM than fresh milk.

Thanks for all the adv. Since it's all that messy, think I'll stick to milk till 6mths
Hope MIL don't say anything.

Jas,
I've also sent in the form to get the Nepia samples.

Stylo,
My hubby very keen to feed bb solid...he's very excited. He was very excited about bottle feeding as well cos when bb latch on directly, he can't do the feeding. However, bb don't want to take the milk when he feed her. She wants to play with him instead. When he feed her, she would smile at him and "talk" to him. Think her brain processed Daddy's face as "play time"
He was quite disappointed that bb is not taking the milk.

hi ladies, back after 2days mc - down with flu n fever - today still on mc, rest @ hme. Miss my bb very much cos my mum doesnt wan me near Jerald for fear i pass the germs to him or anybody in the hse. Hv bn throwing away my ebm due to medication - feel so wasteful...even tot doc say it's ok to feed bb - but better feel safe to throw away.

stylobb, sahm drypers got offer?? think shd stock L size oready cos i oready got 8 pkt of 'm' size??? will go n c later/2moro.

RE: Forzen EMB, jerald hates forzen emb, tasted myself found it has a bit of rusty taste?!?! HORRIBLE!! fresh emb hv sweet milky smell n tasty. now due to declining ss, i nvr store ebm for more than 5 days.

solidfood: personaly feel that best to delay as long till 5/6mths. milk still his/her main source.

Hi Jul,
Ur boy just got the 5-in-1...he's also about 3mth old? Aelwen just got hers yesterday. She's 3mths + 1wk old.

lyn, I thought if the supply is dropping, all the more you want to give that to your son instead of throwing away.... I continued to breastfeed when I was on antibiotics for mastitis. No problem at all cos I know which antibiotic is safe. Panadol is safe also. Take care!

Aiyoh, why u need to buy so much Drypers? Try others lah! Hehehehe...

Hi sahm, ok I'll try to make a trip to NTUC tonite to 'grab' the Nepia diapers.

Hi Jas, thanks. At least, I feel safer if my mom or mil insists to feed or feed behind my back. Sigh. That's one of the disadv of not taking care of bb myself.

Hi jul, I decided to finish this pack of Fitti and that's it. Thot of trying Nepia out since it got offers.

"Hi mon, Vane regards her dad as playmate too. She always smile very radiantly once she sees her daddy. Makes me jealous at times leh.

Hi lyn, I also think that best to delay till 6mths before intro solids but my mom and mil kept talking abt it now liao. Sigh

I also got qns about feeding solids. Now I'm giving my boy a cereal/porridge. But running out of ideas what to put in porridge. Any recommendations? And how do u all prepare the porridge?

Hi jas,

Just saw your baby's pics..so cute. Got big eyes. My baby takes after his dad, but he's got my eyes.

Hi Giggler,
Saw you on another thread..you selling your pump already?

Hi Stylobb,
So you're the nepia advocate here..seems like there's a nepia craze raging here..I'll be stocking up on nepia over the weekend. Thank god my baby's fever has come off.

When did you all start buying car seat for your babies? Any recommendation? Rear facing for babies until how many mths? Thanks for advice.

Also anybody knows where to get thick mattress that can fit playpen? I've got a playpen with a bassinet which can only be used til 6.5kg. After that need to remove the bassinet and use the playpen instead for baby to sleep. But playpen is too low so difficult to carry baby. Thinking of placing a thick mattress inside.

jas
No need to buy more, just compete based on what we have now! Hehe!
Jesse is also cutting two front teeth, and he is grinding them (or the gums??) real hard! and gives the 'tremble' kind of look... you know what I mean? So far have not tried the MP training pants altho I have one pack, only the MP diapers. I find it is good for night use. Got marks at the thigh ah? Then I think Nepia is beta, cos very soft and does not leave any marks. Too bad it does not have XL for the diapers but L is up to 14 kg...

monmon
Jesse also hardly cries when it comes to jabs, he'll go 'ngah ngah' and then forgets about it. The other time was bad though, due to his jaundice, they had to draw blood from his feet and hand, so painful for us when we see him being pricked...but he only cried a short while.

Giggler
Again hah, you never read the news here..(tsk...tsk...)!!!! Yeah, Desert and I gave feedback that Fitti leaks... altho I used to get Fitti, I won't continue after the present pack runs out. Dun know if $18.30 for MP is considered on offer at NTUC (jas, you know?) ... think I'll get XL cos I have L at home... you tried MP before?

lyn
Was just wondering about you, have a good rest and hope you get well soon. We mummies now like robots, cannot afford to get sick....

jul
I think then it's really the smell and taste that's why the bb rejects... me scarty cat mummy, never try the bm.... most of the time, my boy gulps it down.

Giggler
My boy has not shown preference for mummy or daddy, I dun mind lah.

Masshiro
Me bringing Jesse to meet hb for dinner tonite..
How is your boy, is he beta? Seems quite a lot of bbs are sick... either virus or teething..

Masshiro
Glad to know he's well. You back at work?
Nepia - yeah, as if I own the co. hor?? But I find it really good and MP is good too, so I'll stick to these two and XL PP.
Mattress, there is a shop near my place that cuts customs mattresses with varying thickness, maybe your estate has such furniture shops as well? Can try asking. We give up putting Jesse in playpen, think started too late, he hates it, so we leave him in the open area to crawl instead, but hai, he is attracted to the dirty stuff (slippers, shoes, bags, floormats.)

may
Me also quite blur.. follow mum's instructions. Usually it's fish porridge with either carrot, tomato, scallop, potato or vege. Mum bought pumpkin too. She also taught me to use a grater to grate the veges before boiling. I boil porridge the conventional way, so it usually takes me more than an hour, but I dun mind, cos I love seeing my boy eat.

mya
Sorry, I typed your name wrongly...
You want to know how to make porridge?
You scoop a small scoop of rice, add to pot with about half the level of water and put to boil, got to watch it that it does not burn, add more water later if needed,
add vege. Stir well till it becomes semi-liquid of nice consistency.
Add the fish only when bb is about to eat, cos if cooked too early, it becomes hard and not nice. Add a dash of soya sauce. In case porridge is too hot, you scoop out small portion each time to cool as you feed. Take care you dun feed bb the skin of tomato in case gets choked.
OK? Get it??? Me also no expert but now I'm getting beta, in fact I rather enjoy it. After porridge, I will feed him fruit, eg apple or kiwi, just scrape the flesh but for kiwi, I remove all the seeds.

jul, i throw away my emb - so heartache liao - dun scold me!! cos i on medication - even doc say can bfg, but me, even my mum n hubby think tat better dun let bb take cos u nvr know how bb going to take?? so no choice throw lor.

buying more diapers - since cheap can buy mah?? since i got 6pkt pp n 2pkt petpet (all 'm' size)- no harm stocking 2more pkts of drypers - but this time maybe getting 'l' size

giggler, if ur mum/mil insist on giving solid oso 'boh bian' dun worry lah, they wont do anything to harm their own grandson. now i stick my mum forbid me anywhere near jerald - so sad so goto stay hme n isolate myself

masshiro, i got my car seat frm bb kingdom @ kaki bukit - can go c c . but fyi, actually bought till now sitll hvnt use - for show only incase caught up with tp.

stylobb,

thanks. Will try fish tomorrow. I gave him carrots and porridge and put it in the slow cooker. But think not very tasty although my hubby says it tastes ok. My hubby is rubbish bin la, everything i cook he'll say its nice, so not zun.
do u blend ur porridge?

Apple u scrape the flesh? No need to put in blender?

Oh ya must inform u of my nepia experience! hee.
Finally i got the nepia samples after a month, it's very soft. And I bought MP too. I used them at night, so far MP is more absorbent but nepia is really really soft.

Hi Masshiro, no lah I not selling my pump but I got lobang to buy Ameda pump. The bassinet only for certain weight? Oh I got to check mine then.

Hi styloBB, aiya too many postings so missed out your remarks on Fitti liao.
I've tried MP before but my gal got rashed leh. But I don't know the rashes was leftover from the Drypers effect or not lah. So far, only Pampers got no problem on her. My gal got high-maintenance cost hor? I got jealous when my gal smiles more readily to her dad leh.

Hi lyn, I know they won't harm my gal lah. But I find that I become very protective nowadays leh.

lvy_tan
why throw, it's wasted. When I was down with cough, fever, cold and ear infection, I still let my boy drink the EBM.

mya
normally my mum will use potato, pork, spinach and carrot to put into the porriage, it a combination of either two or three. Sometimes will put pork liver but so far only twice. She uses a slow cooker to cook the porriage.

masshiro
thanks, my boy also same as yours, takes after the father but got my eyes which I rather not coz only single eyelid.

you can get the mattress from kiddy palace, I think they sell mattress too. Alternatively, you might want to place order for seahorse mattress, they do custom make according to the size you need but might not be cheap though.

stylobb
like that ah, I lost liao coz I only got total of 7packs diapers...

yeah, $18.30 is the promo price for MP at NTUC.

jul
M - 51
L - 42
L training pants - 30
B training pants - 26
All cost $15.90 on promo.

jas/SAHM
I think I have about 14!

lyn
You feeling beta?

Giggler
MP more ex than Nepia (when Nepia is on promo.)

mya
I am not sure if Nepia for my boy can last thru the nite cos he pees a lot so I dare not let him wear so far, I only use MP for the nite and am very pleased with it.
I never blend the porridge but I will keep stirring and mashing it. Maybe can try sweet potato?
For fruits, I know some mummies blend and some steam, but so far I feed him fresh apples and he is ok with it.

Giggler
Relax lah, why so protective? She will know who is her mummy is... is it becos she's a gal that's why you feel so protective?
PP - never mind, on sale so much cheaper than normal price.

monmon
So your hb can't wait to feed bb other foods? My hb was the opposite, he said only when bb was 5.5 months...which was fine with me too.