Brazilian Waxing Safe?

Hi, bebe. I done brazilian waxing till eight months pregnant. But make sure the waxer know how to do for pregnant woman. I got mine done at hollywood secrets, michelle.

I never try the St**p outlet cause they don't sound too confident.

Celine!!!
i am juz tryg to find out if its safe to do during pregnancy. oh gosh, now u mentioned need to make sure waxer noes how to do 4 pregnant women ah?
Hollywood Secrets is pretty exp rite? how much did u pay?

OH Strip dun sound confident? i was thinkg to visit them coz prices r pretty reasonable.

Eh price still alright lah. I did mine for 50 bucks, cause beforehand some infection below so michelle actually help me to pluck out instead of waxing. Which I find is very professional of her, cause not the easy way out. But in terms of room is not as good as the St**p outlets.

She is at the paragon branch. I used to go St**p before I was pregnant cause cheapest around but think the price has increased to $45 already.

i dun wanna strip off everything like my 1st time, juz wish to "trim" it and make it a bit neater. so strip got diff categories tt can cater to my needs. thus thot of tryg there. hmmm, looks like i gotta reconsider. btw do u noe wats the diff doing it 4 pregnant women?

Yah I used to do brazilian so I thought it was the best thing to do it before I delivered but I had such a bad reaction and all the hair follicles got infected and had pus. Ended up with 2 weeks of agony and my gynae had to prescribe creams. Aiyoh, didn't know my pregnancy skin would take it so badly

When you are pregnant, your skin tend to be more sensitive. Different pple react differently to the wax, so it's up to you if you want to do it. I stopped doing it when I got pregnant. Don't want to take the risk.

Anyway, one contra-indication of waxing is pregnancy.

Celine,

Thanks for the recommendation. I went to Hollywoodsecret last week to do the waxing and Michelle did a gentle, good job for me too!!!

In case, someone comes to this thread again...
Can try Strip at wheelock. They are confident... just tell them you're pregnant, think they'll assign the right therapist for you.

Am so embarrased & conscious to do a brazilian at this stage...I'm in my 6th month. Forget it, I'll stick to shaving..ehhe

Can...sure can...i did mine at wax affair at holland village..Diana is very professional and quick...Try her.

I go to Strip for waxing. They won't do you, till you're past your 1st trimester.... coz by the 2nd trimester, your baby would be pretty stable.
So far no issues with my skin after waxing though. If you have sensitive skin, you can consult the beauticians there coz they have a range of skin care products specially for that area.

mamaliz,

the first time is always an uncomfortable experience. In fact, though I've been for waxing for ages... I still feel kinda uncomfortable having someone prodding around my privates. But what to do... vain lah! :D

Anyway, just remember that the beauticians... or maybe they're therapists? They see such sights all the time... so you're no different.

hehehe...i still feel kinda scared/paiseh to go even though i deeply wished to have 'it' smooth...haiz....never mind maybe 1 day i will have the courage to go...hahah..for now juz have to stick to DIY...shave/twizzers/etc;...
thank you dudette....

i go to honeypot, i think they're the best, better than strip!

not sure when is the latest you can go, better to just check with them to see if they're comfortable doing it. i'm coming into my 34th week and plan to go soon

I am at 38 weeks now and i just went for my brazilian. Actually the therapist(Honeypot) told me that there are alot of preggie going for waxing lately. So it should be safe to go.

Hi i went for my very 1st brazilian wax at Strip Holland V just 1 day before i delivered (39wks)! I delivered via elective C-sect and my fren said better to get waxed since the nurses don't do a good job shaving. It was ok, no problems for me. Though i did get some little 'pimples' 1 or 2 days after the wax, but didn't bother me much.

Am glad i went for a brazilian coz it's so much cleaner, esp with the lochia flow after delivery and all.

Just like to find out where is Honeypot for waxing?

Recently I had been having infections, UTI and Fungal infection. I thought BW might be able to help since hairs trap bacteria?

Hi there, I would like to know if someone can help. I live in South Africa and I have a Babywell espresso machine...it wiorked fine until a month ago, i think the poor thing is overworked , my twins like their milk. I need to know if some would be so kind to find out why my water light stays flasing even if there is water in it, therefore it doesn't heat the water...the agents in south africa are nowhere to be found...please help.

Hi all, my sis in law wants to do brazilian too, but i've read from this forum tht there r some who experienced infections. Since it's been some time since the last post, can anyone share their experience on that? is it caused by waxing?

This is my 2nd pregnancy and I'm still going for brazilian waxing. My first pregnancy, I went right before my EDD, so when I was at the hospital and nurse came in to shave me, she was very pleasantly surprised, "hey you took care of it for me!" LOL. So embarassing lah if nurse have to shave and cut for you.

Not sure about infections.. I didn't experience any so far. I go to Honeypot at Raffles Place, just tell them how many weeks pregnant you are, and they will assign experienced therapist to u. My therapist was sooo good, she was done in less than 30 minutes.

I bought a package at STRIP (for waxing) before i give birth to my baby gal last year. Anybody interested to buy the package? Worth $365, expire May 2013. To let go at a discount... please pm if interested..

Definitely you will put yourself at risk of bruising which can happen even when you're not pregnant.

And yes, waxing is fine during pregnancy. However, I would go to a waxing studio rather doing it yourself (make sure it is a good one) and also make sure you tell them you are pregnant over the phone while booking your appointment.

All the best!

Try HoneyPot- done in 20m! branches at Raffles MRT & Taka.

Best to wax aft 2nd trimester, bb is stable. Mksure you tell them you are preggie when making appt over the phone.
(fyi- i won't come back to this thread again, any q, PM me).
If you hv nt wax before, best nt to wax when preggie.

hi gals..would like to noe if brazillian ipl will affect our internal organs like ovary, uterus, fallopian tubes etc during ttcing period? any of u who have asked this qn to ur gynaes? tqia...

I go to BLUSH. They provide really good service. However, it is in the T&C that they don't do for pregnant women. =(

It is ok to do waxing. You got to remove them before you go into labour. I went to STRIP. Just tell them that you are pregnant and they will handle you carefully.

But those mummies-to-be that are ard 3 months or below cannot do any waxing.

I do Brazilian waxing a couple of days before I am due because in case the doctor needs to cut I hope he will do a better job as its cleaner when he stitch it back up. However, due to the healing process I cannot repeat the procedure for another 2 months and the itch from the tiny hairs growing out was so unbearable it drove me crazy!

I don't recommend unless you can handle the itch or you are confident you are a fast healer and can repeat the process fairly quickly, to me Brazilian is not a one off procedure. You need to maintain otherwise the itch is not worth it!