Babysitter Charges & Woes

I agree oso lar... In CC's case, it is like a test to them lor... Testing of their immune systems to the bacteria outside... As for falling sick... I veri bad lar... The other round when i am down with flu and cough, i still carry my son...Lucky he wasn't down with flu or cough... But nowadays, he is so prone to the cough and flu... Bad weather... haiz...

was reading thru this thread, and had really expressed the concerns of being a mum!!

i'm actually contemplating if i shd send my boy to infant care when he turns 2 months in July cos i nid to go back to work.

after much debates w my mum and mil, conclusion: we will get a nanny to BS first for the time being.

Now, where to get a good and responsible nanny who will not just leave ur bb sitting in the living room and watch tv??

btw, mummies, do u actually know what ur bb does during day time?
does BS tell u or plan something for your bb?
or would u tell them wat to do w the bb during daytime???

so many qns marks here.... sigh..

Hi Ciarie, only sent my gal to BS for a few months, that time she is few month old so most of the time is sleeping lor. But you can discuss with your BS on what you want her to do with your bb (if it is not so complicated)...what my frend did is look for 2 or 3 BS and interview them then choose the better one.

Hi Ciarie
my boy is with my nanny for coming to 3 mths.. My nanny is responsible and care for all the kids she took care of... With little little things coming along, she will discuss with me and see what i think abt it.. If i dun reali wan or agree to it, she wun go and do it lor.. Most important is have an open communication relationship with the nanny..

Here is my answer to your qns:

1)Do you actually know what your bb does during day time?
<font color="ff0000">yes, i do noe..he eat,slp,play & play & play.. Can play until veri "high".. haha!!</font>

2)does BS tell you or plan something for your bb?
<font color="ff0000">yup, she will ask for my opinion before she feed him with medicine or other things lor</font>

3) would you tell them what to do with the bb during daytime?
<font color="ff0000">Certain time lar... esp when he is sick or too over simulated.. but usually, i will leave it to the BS to take care of him as long as he come home safe & in 1 piece</font>

To all mummies here
Hope i dun scare you with this posting. I was browsing thru a certain thread and one of the mummies there brought up this case. Her fren(not sure if it is) hired a BS and in 3 days time, her child was gone. Why? The bb was found to have a blood clot at the brain area. When qn the BS, the BS claim to have no idea why. But after repeated qn-ing, the BS finally said that it's her son who actually swing the bb's head against the wall, when the bb is in the sarong cradle(yao lan). I brought this matter up to my BS as my son oso slp in sarong cradle. She asure me that no such thing will happen to my son.

Mummies, pls do not let a single case like this scare you away from hiring a good and potential BS. I'm sure you will get a good and potential BS who love your child like her own.

Hi June,
OMG! This BS out of mind??

Hi Ciarie,
Is best to interview few BS then choose them based on yr gut feeling. I have actually interviewed 5-6 BS before deciding.
Anyway for infant usually they will drink, sleep, play nothing much.
Only when older like 18mths suggest you can switch to CC where the learning begins.

I'm back after being suspended from the forum (for selling/exchanging in the FREE thread :p)!!!
Looks like my days as a SAHM are slowly coming to an end and I will be rejoining the workforce....
So I'm thinking of getting a babysitter to take care of my DD. How exactly do I find one? Ideally, I think better I interview a few first. Any suggestions?

You mean why I got suspended from the forum? Cos I was selling/exchanging my maternity wear on the FREE thread. Not allowed. But I haven't been active long enough to post on the SELL thread so put it in FREE instead. Not allowed kenna banned!

aiyo.. haiz... next time dun go there lor... go to motherhood.com and do the selling there lor.. let this be a lesson ba... oh ya.. the job you offered to me too far lar.. plus not enuff qualification.... i stay tampines wor... tuas too far for me.... but still, thanks!

Yaaa lah...learnt my lesson already. Hmm...never been to that website...will check it out.

Anyway, am looking around for a babysitter now. Was thinking I would send my maid to the babysitters house too...would that be feasible? How to go about finding a babysitter? I live in Holland area. Anyone know of a good one nearby?

Liana
sorri! wrong webby... sorri sorri... here is the correct one.. www.motherhood.com.sg

Maid to babysitter's house??? Sure?? i dun think it's feasible ba... There are a few ways to look for babysitter:

1)goodwill/ppl's recommendation
2)agent
3)be an eagle!(scout ard)

My one is thru agent lor.. if you dun mind, i can pm you my agent's no den you give him a call to see if he have any ard holland area... Den "interview" those babysitters... And most importantly, ask if they mind having ur maid ard their house.. Some is happi tat got ppl to help them with their housework(plz dun let them take advantage), some bs will mind lor...

my ex colleague got a nanny to come over to her place everyday 8am to 7pm (only 5 weekdays) after she knocks off from work reach home then BS leaves. she paying her $1200 per mth. nanny travel from telok blangah area to serangoon. is Public holiday fall on weekday nanny off too. my ex coli buy all food n her bb stuff. nanny salary does not include all these.

Waaa...DaBee....that's ex man! I think we bring baby to BS house lah! Save an extra $600 per month!

June, yes please...can you PM me your agent's contact and I will start sourcing for a good BS.

I want my maid to go over there to help out and keep my girl entertained in case BS busy with other kid/s etc. I trained her to wash super clean too...so she can wash all the baby stuff.

Ya June, you are right...must make sure maid not overworked at BS house or I kena whack by MOM for illegal deployment. I will email MOM first to get the ok...after getting the ok from the BS of course.

I'm scared to go back to work actually. This job is going to be really hard but got to save $$$ for the future lah.

Dabee
from telok blangah to serangoon is veri veri veri veri far...............

Liana
for BS to go ur house is market price lor for tat... Still, i will still advise you to ASK the BS if she is ok that your maid is there to help.. But for this, i wun lar... Personally i think if you wan to put ur child with BS, den you 2 muz have the trust there for each other, plus BS and you muz have open communication...

Have PM you my agents' no.. Do give him a call and let him know your requirements and at the same time, ask him if he has any previous case whereby maid together with bb go to BS house one anot lor....

Hi June,
Thanks for the contact. I called Adrian and he was very helpful. He's getting together a list of babysitters in my area that I can interview. I asked him if I can send my maid over too and he said he will check with each BS if they are ok with it. The reason why I want to send my maid over is to help out when needed a bit but also I don't want my maid at home alone watching tv and on the phone all day. I never trust them no matter how good they appear to be lah.

Hi Liana,
so sorri not replying to your over the weekends as i was away at the chalet celebrating my bdae... hehe... Ya.. Adrian is sure one great agent.. He has mani mani mani client who are from govt sector holding high post, plus his client gave his good testimonials.. Not able to give you his webby here to see coz i think sgmotherhood ban certain wordings put together... But still, i have introduced mani frenz to Adrian and i am given veri good feedbacks...

I agree Adrian is really really good. Even though I did not get bbsitter thru him eventually but he is still very polite and not at all upset. And he will not intro those bbsitters whom he finds not good to you.

Hi aquarius
Hi 5^! yup.. he will not let any bad nanny get into his list... He make sure all the nanny he gets are of top quality..

Liana,
See.. not onli me who give him thumbs up! But still, no matter how good Adrian is, you muz still keep an open communication with the BS.. With open communication, you can put ur child with the BS at ease..

For my BS, i place my J with my BS and she dote him like her own son, thou under her, there are 2 more toodlers and she have 3 kids.. Still, she love J like her own.. Whenever things like not eating well, or not sleeping well... etc happen, i will let her noe, den she will monitor and let me know if there is any progress during that day or even tat whole week...

Now, whenever there is a need for me to feed certain food to J, i will ask her to see if i can feed him.. At times, she will also ask me if she could feed him certain food.. All the best to you in interviewing the nannies.. Make sure you go to their place and see if you think that environment is suitable for your child ya...

I am here to complaint my bs oso... she is taking $600 from me after my son turn 8mths.

Noticed my son got bruise on his right arm and tight area. We dun even dare to confront
her just hint why he got bruise there and did he knocked himself...
she like not happy saying that she did not hit my son...

later we discover that only when her grandson came, my son then have porridge with meat....
so we make it a point to tell her the $50 ($550+50 porridge) is for the ingredients for my son porridge twice a day...
she not happy saying it is her rightful increment.... so angry with her...
she even say she dun want to take care of my bb cos we dun trust her... knowing we can't find any bbsitter last min...

initially we found on new bbsitter but her hb is like very mah fan type so we did not enage her service
and plead my current bs to continue her service with us...
she oso can't find one so accepted to continue... now problem again... she now only give my son 1x porridge in the noon and evening time cereals...
tell her can give him twice porridge now cos my bb is close to 1yr old and
cereal like not nutritious, she still don't care and insist cereals is ok...
She initally say no dogs , no smoker in her hse, now son got smoke,
daughter bring dog to her hse almost everyday.... she is like a lier ...

anyone got solution to this? very sian...

grace
find another babysitter... may take time but it is better than letting your son be in the same house as a smoker.
or consider childcare/infant care. at least they are more professional and your son will have friends to interact and play with.

Hi Grace,

like wad other mummies have said, it's either you get a new BS or consider childcare. Not sure why u do not like dogs but since she is dishonest abt it, i realli suggest you to change a new bs if possible.

I heard from some babysitter that we have to give AWS and when start work in CNY have ang pao. Is it true? Please advice.

Sky, there is no such things as giving BS AWS... cuz we not company. for ang bao wise is just to give as a thank you"gift" any amt will do... and by right they will bao one hong bao for ur kid...

woof: mmm will u be going to ur BS house?? cuz i find its impt to know how the hse is like in order to check how their lifestyle is like... also check the kitchen hehe hehe

Hi woof
if you can, check out the house for these things:
- where the baby cot/hammock will be - airy? drafty? too bright?
- general cleanliness and hygiene, especially floor, kitchen and toilet
- who else is at the house - other children, any smokers?
- are there baby cots, hammocks, bathtubs, baby high chairs, bouncers, play mat etc already? If not, you may have to buy a second set.
- general environment - noise, use air-con, fans, is the TV/radio on most of the time? religious alters with joss sticks and candles? place is bright and airy or dark and dingy?

then questions for the babysitter -
- experience? when was the last baby? why stopped?
- food - will be be preparing porridge, cereal, fruits when baby is >6mths?
- what does she normally do with the baby? takes baby out for walks in stroller? baby play activities if any?
- timing... what happens if you pick up later?
- off days/ sick days arrangement?
- does she come across as a strict, methodical lady or one who will shower baby with love?
- diapers - cloth or disposables?
- bottles and teats - does she sterilise? how?

after the first interview and you are comfy, bring baby along for 2nd interview and let her change baby's diapers... observe how she handles baby and how baby responds to her.

I'm just wondering how much is the market rate for nanny if my son (now 25 months) going for half day childcare in the morning? Means nanny will have to pick him up (childcare nearby nanny place, walking distance) at 1pm & stays at nanny place till abt 7pm++ when I'm off work to fetch him.. now I'm paying her $600 & next Jan 2008, I wanna put my son half day coz I feel he can learn more in childcare, do u think $350 is reasonable to give to nanny or how much is reasonable? She's a good nanny & I want to continue let her taking care my boy

Have the same query as chris27. Am considering to let my gal (now 21 mths) attend half day childcare either next yr or when she turns 3 yrs old in Jun 09. Wonder what rate shd i give my sitter then. Currently paying her $600.

Also wish to know the mkt rate for looking after 2 children. Will be having my 2nd 1 next Apr.

Next year i will be putting my 2 yrs old gal to play grp (1.5 hrs, 5 days per week). My nanny would be bringing her there and fetching her back to her house. Currently, I m paying her $600 for 5 days week day time from 7.30 to 7.30 +/-. Next year i intend to increase another $50 to make it $650.
Jus to check will it be too little or too much for her per mth? Pls advise.

Hi chris27, horlicks & stephen & iris,

actually, the best thing is to talk to your nanny abt this.. If she is willing to take eg. $350, den that's great. In my opinion, it is still best to communicate with ur nanny before making ur final decision. Otherwise, you can actually call up babysitter agent to ask for their professional advises.

Horlicks, usually, nanny charge by per child basis.. If you wan to let her take care of ur child, it might cost u $1200.. BUT, still talk to ur nanny abt it.. She might charge you at a cheaper rate since she is already taking care of ur 1st child.

kao_babydust2.gif

Hi Chris,

My boy attends kindy in the morning and returns to nanny's place around 1145am. He stays there till 730pm+. I pay her $450 for his 2 meals there. However, I do not pay her extra during school holidays cos she says no need. I used to pay her $500 cos she says its one to one care, until she found another infant to babysit and I reduce to $450.

Horlicks,

my nanny will charge $900 for 2 kids if they are siblings. But 2 separate kids will be separate charges.

Like June said, best to discuss with your nanny.

Hi Minnie, June,

Thanks for the advise, yeah, I do agree it's best to talk to nanny abt this but prior talking to her, just wanted to know how much is reasonable. Currently she is only taking care of my son only & after discussion with my hubby, i'm thinking to discuss with nanny on around $450 a month

dear gals

I desperately need to help someone I know, who is a young single mum to look for a baby sitter, she is delivering next week. she needs to go back to work to support her child after confinement as she does not have a lot of support from her family for wanting to keep her child.

can u pls share contacts of anyone u know who would like to babysit? pls email to [email protected]

Thanks a lot.

I have a story to share...from one of the Taxi driver.

He have a BB abt 7 mths and he bring the BB to BB sitter. The BB sitter ownself have 3 kids and all are quite young(younger 3 yrs old). She charge for $600 and $50 more for solid food. Of cos disper have to provide to the BB sitter. After one mth he put the BB to the BB sitter, the BB lost weight and the second mth the BB go even thinner, so one day he spot check the BB sit and he found out that the BB sit is working some part time outside(not at home) and person at home is a maid. The BB sit have another 2 more BB less then 5 mth in her house to take care. So just imagine, total there are 6 BB/child in her house to take care and she is not there to take care of them instead she is working part-time outside. And she just leave all the BB sit job to a maid to take care.....
After I hear the story I feel so angry and wonder how come got this type of pple around and just imagine if her own child being treated this way, how will she feel....

I have a 2 mth old baby girl and would like to leave her with the babysitter next month when i start work. Would like to find out:
1. do you let the babysitter wash the baby's clothes, or do you bring them home to wash?
2. do you provide sterilizer, baby cot, bath tub, baby's stuff to the babysitter?
3. does the babysitter babysit on public holidays?
4. what do you do when the babysitter goes for long holiday?

Hi bugbug,

Hope below answer helps..
1)Babysitter wash for me
2) Yes
3) Nope, but sometimes if I got urgent matter to settle, she can help to take care
4) the last time my babysitter whole family go for 6 days long holidays, my hubby n I take turn take leave to take care.. no choice lor unless u have mother or MIL that can help temporary

But it's best to discuss with her all your querries so that you will be comfortable with the nanny..

Hi bugbug,

hope my will help you:

1)babysitter wash
2)depends on what things..I provided yao lan, pampers, clothes, baby bathe..etc Sterilizer,tub, not provided
3)No, unless got urgent matters..
4)haben got such experience yet, but probably take leave or leave him with my MIL or my mum ba..

like chris27 says, do discuss with the nanny with all the queries you have in mind.. What matter most is, you are truly comfortable with the nanny.. oh ya! and importantly, between the nanny &amp; you, be true &amp; honest to each other.. If you think, during the interview, you are not comfortable with her, dun force urself or even ur child to adapt to her.. Hope it helps!!

m looking for a bs for a 2mth old ger. if u know of anyone with good records, pls pm me..
i prefer thru recommendations.. like u all hv used her or know of someone who used her
eastern side of spore (bedok/chaichee/tampines)
can i hv the agent contact too?

<font color="aa00aa">I have a good auntie to recommend, area is Woodlands/ Admiralty. I called her Mdm Lim, she is my friend's mum.

She is experienced mummies of 4 children, all grown up so she is free to look her any children.

She used to look after her own grand daughter, who always said "popo cooks very nice" .
but because of the distance, she is not looking after her own grand daughter anymore.

Mdm Lim sets her own rules also, like she will not take in too many children if she is thinks she can't cope, unlike other nannies, who takes in too many children and ended up abuse them ( confine them in a room )

One good thing about putting your child there is because Mdm Lim has got a daughter, a SAHW and she is also a experienced nurse (my friend) who works in KKH before resign, She will go to her mum's house on daily basis and is it that good to have a nurse to look after your child at the same time?

I myself is going to due soon, so most likely I will let Mdm Lim and my friend to look after my baby so I can go back to work after my maternity without any worries.

So mummies, if you are looking for a good nannies/babysitters. Can try to contact my friend, the nurse to discuss more. If you need the contact. Please feel free to PM me.</font>

im looking for a part time baby sitter (3 times a wk, 3-4 hrs each time) to come in n be an extra pair of hands for me. Im a SAHM. Willing to pay abt $10 an hr. Im located in Eunos. Any recommendations, pls PM me.

Please excuse me for riding on this thread, sorry...

I am helping mum look for baby-sitting assignment. She is 59 years old Chinese lady lives in HDB near Bukit Panjang Plaza.

She took care of my two daughters and one nephew. The kids are all grown going to secondary schools so mum wants to occupy time and earn some pocket money.

Email me at [email protected], thanks!

Anyone knows any reliable nannies to take care of my 18mth son ? Prefer nanny staying in Sengkang, punggol, buangkok area.

Also looking for someone who can help to cook lunch for my gal, send her to school in SK next year 2012 when she goes P1. School should be SK region around Rivervale or Compassvale. Also perhaps some supervision in her schoolwork in mornings.

Let me know if you are interested or know anyone in Sengkang region ... email me contact and rates:

i'm looking for an experienced babysitter <u>to come to my place</u> in Rivervale Link to babysit my baby.

Mon - Fri: 8am - 8pm

($$ can be further discussed.)

We have a helper at home so she can assist you and you just need to focus on caring for the baby.

Please call me at 96569 665 if you have the experience in taking care of baby.