B{TINGKAT dinner..which caterer is good?}

Like to add on.. I stayed at CCK. Food reached about 4-4.30pm.

I tried..
1) House of Catering = more hokkien / teochew style of cooking. (1mth)

2) Jack Delight (MeiHao99) = they can accommodate to 4 dishes without vegetable. Though their menu is only for 3 dishes + soup, hence I will get a mystery dish.
Been trying for coming 2 mths.. so far still acceptable.

hi 2BQ,

i'm interested for tingkat dinner. can u email your menu and pricing to me? and what's the delivery timing to amk? thanks

2BQ,
emailed you. Keen in trial, lunch for 2 pax at seng kang. pls let me know if email not received.

In order to provide better service and better quality food. We will use Oliver Oil to replace normal Oil for our vegetables.

We will continue to improve on our service and food quality to provide our customer a more health diet.

Please continue to give us your feedback and support. Thank you.

Contact No.67897514/81927887

We have tried both Hilltop (96612703)and 2BQ. In general,Hilltop is better. At least you can taste the difference in the dishes.I agree with Audrey (poppyqueen) that being a cantonese myself,the soup does not taste like its been charcoal boiled.So it is not worth paying the extra. Couple of times the fried fish still had scales fully intact! Vegetable tasted boiled and they just sprinkle salt in it.

the food from Hilltop is tastier and portion is better too. Soup is on par with 2BQ and you pay less!

Hi, anyone have tried chu yi kitchen catering ? Is it nice ??

Yes, am interested to know abt Chu Yi too. Like their website. Seems that you can customise your order conveniently online.

Moms Cooking Pte Ltd is nice.
Always timely & their soup is not stingy on ingredents. They have stated that no msg used. I don't feel thirsty after eating their food

I am currently having mom's cooking for dinner. Have been with them for 3 months now. My husband is already sicked of the food, so does my children. We have decided to continue until the year end school holiday. But I am now having 2nd thought (cancelling sonner) after talking to the boss today over the phone.

When I first signed up the service, the lady staff asked if there is any kind of food we do not eat. I said not really. The reason she asked is that if there is, they can replace with something else. Since we do not really have anything and this is our first time, I would just give it a try for everything they servce.

After 3 months of service, we would like to get a replacement for fish dishes. Because everytime they cooked fish, we would throw away the whole dish because it taste and smells too fishy for my entire family.

The lady staff is indeed friendly and explained things well. But too bad, today the boss answered the phone. He was extremely rude and arrogant.

2 of the things he said that pisses me off big time on top of the many other things he said was:
1. He said: " I understand many company would do whatever the customer request. Yes, we can cater for no duck, no spicy food, and etc request, but not no fish." I asked "why?" He said, "because we don't want to do it."

After more arguments, he mentioned they can cater no seafood request. So I said, "in this case, I would go for no seafood". He said "you will get fish even with no seafood. There's no way you can get no fish" I asked "why?" He giggles "It is common sense that fish is not part of seafood"

This is the first time in my life that I heard fish does not belong to seafood group. I searched google and wikipedia Fish is seafood. Is it the entire Singapore or just this arrogant boss thinks Fish IS NOT seafood? Pardon me, I am a foreigner. But someone, please, explain to me.

The boss u r talking about does sound very irritating. I would probably scold him.

But about the fish thingy... Yeah although fish is from the sea, local Chinese don't consider it seafood cos for example those sensitive to seafood can eat fish and those who dislike the seafood taste may actually not mind fish. So when we have wounds and old people say we cannot eat seafood, it's like referring to squids and prawns etc which are considered toxic, whereas fish is considered to be healing.

I tried out 2BQ after reading the recommendations here. Food is healthy, soup tasty, delivery timely.

However... Ingredients seem boring and cheap.

Yesterday there were carrots in all 3 dishes + soup and potatoes in 1 dish + soup.

Today the menu was tofu with bits of minced pork and mushrooms, broccoli/cauliflower, some lean meat with bittergourd and cabbage soup.

Very different from the menu I received.

IMO, they are good for health conscious, vege lovers and for young kids but ingredients fall short of the $$ I'm paying. $6-$7 per person and barely any traces of meat!

hi it's me again... to do 2BQ some justice. I've decided to update my review.

peline is very accommodating. she has responded positively to all my requests. very satisfied with the dishes. tasty and healthy. highly recommended for those with young kids!

I'm sourcing around for tingkat food which taste fresh and less/no MSG. However, i'm having difficulty of accepting the fact that the food will be prepared since 3pm/4pm onwards, and we get to consume it (after heating food) only 4 hours after food is cooked. By the time my little girl, hubby and i return home it's already 7:15pm.

Any suggestions, mummies? Or do you know of any tingkat food that is cooked and prepared later instead of the usual 3 or 4pm? Thanks.

I agreed with welovepeace!

II have similar unpleasant experience with the boss Kelvin Ong - a very arrogant fellow whom does not value my business. Refused to pick up my call and when eventually got through, cut off the line! And all I want is juz to clarify if the dinner is coming.

Can u imagine if your food is being prepared by a company run by such a person?

I think we should boycott them to let them know they are not the only catering company in Singapore!

It cost a company three times more to acquire a new client than servicing an existing one. So why would a catering company decided to terminate a customer's service ? People often choose to tell one side of the story. From the recent reports of young kids refuse to give up seats for elderly, you can tell there are still many ungracious people out there. Many businessmen would agree what I share here. There is a growing number of customers who think they are king when they are consuming a service. One of my property friends once told me some of his clients choose not to pay the commission or deliberately delay the payment despite the transaction has been completed. Many customers choose not to pick up the call or response to sms when you chase them for payment because they have "extremely important things" to attend to. When things do not work in their favor, suddenly you realize they have all the time they want and keep calling you non-stop. isnt this ironical ?

Hi,im working at catering services and notice that many family need us to provide the delivery services.so if any mom or family interested to order lunch or dinner can drop msg to me and i will help to get a valuable prices...Thanks for support =)

Just FYI, 2bq cannot be trusted, they abruptly stopped service in feb, and despite phone calls n multiple smses over many weeks, they did not refund me my balance payment of $300+ n just Mia. After that, Hp no. also cannot use.

i have been on tingkat like more than 1/2 a yr n tried neo garden, and recently switch to jessie catering for a change.
Conclusion:

DON'T EVEN CONSIDER JESSIE CATERING!!!
1. food turn bad on 3rd day of delivery. Within 1/2 hr of delivery!
2. portion tiny and cheapo food
3. serve canned food. they actually have the cheek to say, "we don't serve canned food, we cooked it (canned food) together with minced meat. Crap!
4. add salt like nobody business.

Anyone has any good suggestion for tingkat delivery? Else will switch back to neo garden....

Had bad experience with mum's cooking boss too. Damp arrogant, rude guy. Will definitely not continue after the trial. I do not believe in paying premium for low class service especially from the boss. Cannot imagine I get this type of service in Singapore. Think the boss really need to go for some sort of customer service course.

Boycott, boycott them....

Hilltop dishes are nice, and a lot of variety...

Empirefood, some days good, some days bad. I got a shock when both of the dish on the same dinner had cuttefish balls.
1 sambal, 1 plain.

Intend to try Chu wei san tong...any comments?

Hi, want to share my experience with the various vendors I tried in the past 1 yr.
1. 2BQ Place. Found their food good, not salty or oily, wholesome enough for children. Portion enough, soup nice. But it appears they have mia since feb? See Pauline's post above. Food good enough for me to try total three rounds w them
2. Empire food- not so nice food, portion ok but food oily and unsavory. Worst of all, my whole family of 2 adults and 3 children had bad diahorrea once after taking one of their meals. This seems to be in line with earlier posts in this thread that food easily spoilt. Ended service with them right after first round of 20 meals. Do not recommend at all.
3. Hilltop catering. Definitely recommend. Tried hilltop from Jan 11 all the way to sep 11 when my family finally got tired of the variety. Portion is very generous, quality and variety of food good. Not salty or oily. Definitely value for money.
4. Signed up Neo garden despite restrictive terms of no cancellation if on 4-day week. I have tried their catering service several times before and was happy with quantity and quality of food. Was thinking that similar standards will be extended to tingkat service. Total disappointment. See pix.
Decided to cancel their service after the second meal (first being combo meal). See pix - would you serve cucumber slices as veg dish, 2 veg fish balls per pax, 1 over fried chicken wing and hotdogs for dinner if you have pride in serving wholesome food for families? Cancelled immediately. Their only saving grace was that they allowed me full refund without penalty after my complaint.
Problem with uploading pix...msg me if you would like to look
5. Will try kim's kitchen next. Seems to have quite good reviews about them. Safer choice, most definitely.will keep all updated

2BQ already MIA.
i still got package with them & they did not want to pickup my call also. Really very upset with this kind of ppl

Yes 2BQ stopped abruptly in Feb and refused to answer calls or refund payment balance. I still have $70+ with them. Maybe we should all gather to lodge a report. Anyone keen? Pm me ur details.

Hi! Thkq mummies for recommend of Hilltop
Just switch from Mei Hao catering lor.. Food ok but tired after 3mths .. My mum also prefers Hilltop despite we have just tried for 1st 2 days le..

Thkq!
Oh ya n nice to know tat Hill top don't charge Gst like Mei Hao n Neo Garden .. Yeah..!

goh hc:
thanks for your contribution. but u didnt come back here to update leh...what other caterers have u tried to date?

we are on kim's kitchen since May 2011 till now. so far so good. we got tired of their menu and decided to change after this month. and they also announced that they going to increase their pricing in 2012.

Looks like hilltop is one of the recommended. maybe will go for that

Hilltop is not bad. Food quite healthy. However, as with all caterers, not that suitable for young children and I was also sick of the repeated food. So I stopped after a month. I guess generally I can't find a Tingkat that I like but I would say Hilltop is quite good already. Price reasonable and service is also good.

where does the delivery man put your tingkat food? on the floor in front of yor door or hang somewhere? is it safe?

ok thanks all. i tried using the s-hook to put on metal, but the tinkat will be a bit slant...scare the soup will leak out...

Hi, I tried chu wei san tong for about 2 months. The food is very tasty. However, the portion is super small. For my husband and I, we have to cater for 3 pax. They said other customers also feedback that their portion is small but there's nothing they can do about it.

i am taking hilltop. like what others said, the food and rice are generous for 1 pax. i like the food on moz days. the man who delivers to my house is always blackface n expressionless. ha but its ok.

Hi, finally an update since Oct '11. Tried one round of chu wei san tong, found the portion was too small & switch back to Hilltop again for 2 more rounds. Hilltop is still the best value-for-money, serving decent food....but really tired of their food now..after so many rounds

Trying Kim's kitchen next...when the school hols end

Hi Moms,

Looks like Hilltop is quite good, I must give it a go.

Am currently catering from Neo Garden. Have to say that among all the food caterers, I find they offer the best balance. Agree that they are quite calculating with food such as chicken wings but there are also worse off who serve portions are that not enough to feed a mouse.

Also had a horrible experience with Mom's cooking's male boss. Maybe all the good press coverage on their post-natal catering has boosted his ego so big. The feeling its like take it or leave if, we have so many other customers who can give us business. And just look at the price they charge now.

To all Mummies affected by 2BQ

Yes, I've been quite persistent. I've been calling Peline every few months but she has never answered the phone. I even sent her an email recently, but of course to no avail.

Today, I randomly used my hubby's phone to call her, and she finally answered! Surprisingly, she didn't change her number.

When I asked her about my tingkat refund, she just act blur and said, "huh who are you?" When I went on about how she has left many mummies stranded, she then said, "uh you give me your name I will call you later". I doubt she will ever call back.

$ is small but the person's character is disgusting. Just FYI that she is still alive and her number is still valid, should any of you wanna press for payment.