Anyone had premature babies < 36 weeks?

i delivered my son at 32 wks..he is healthy &amp; well at birth..weight at 2.1kg...
He doesnt need to stay in the incubator..but had to stays in hospital till 35wks for observations.

i am suppose to deliver at Gleneagles. but my gynae worries dat my baby's medical bills will kill me if he's born too small...easily $20k.
so she adviced me to tfr to KKH...but she'll nt b able to deliver for me...

got myself transferred and delivered in KKH 5 days later...after trying to hold back the delivery for as many days as possible.

Bill is only a few k and fully deducted from our medisave. Boy is now 18mths old..&amp; i'm expecting my 2nd one for 6mths now.

U had a premature baby too? care to share with all of us?

My boy is a premmie too.
He is born at 34 weeks, weight at 2kg. Thank goodness that he is very healthy and only need to stay in NICU for half a day for observation.
However, he had to stay in hospital for 1 week because of jaundice. He lost a bit of weight then and when he was finally able to go home, his weight drop down to 1.9kg.

Anyway, he is now 2.5 months and weight 5.7kg
We still don't know the reason for his unexpected early arrival but he is now doing well and that matters to us more.

As for hospital bill, I delivered at Mt E, I think we have to top up $1000 plus after deduction from medisave..

I delivered my princess when i'm about 34+ weeks.My gynae managed to delay my birth for 2 days and she weigh 2.410kg, 47cm at birth. Didn't have to admit into incubator and discharged from hospital 2 days later. No jaundice for her. Really really very very lucky, cause that time when I was admitted to A&amp;E at midnight, I was so scared that something will happen to her. Thank god, not only did I delivered her smoothly, she can even go home with me on the same day. PHEW!

Hi pageup,

I also delivered in Mount E! But in my case, I'll have to fork out $4k in cash as I was pushed down every night to delivery suite to stay and being monitor and also have to be on drip with antibotics to delay the birth and to protect my princess from infection cause my water bag burst.

My girl is 4 mths this week and I'll be bringing her to Mount E for her jab.

Wah, I think your boy's weight is very good. My girl weight 5.71,60.5cm at 3 mths and the PD told me that my girl is huge!

My sister and friends told me that the reason for my girl's earlier arrival is probably because I'm not eating well enough to feed her. Haha...given that she's feeding herself very well now, I don't doubt what they think/suspect.

May all our babies live a very healthy life!

I delivered my boy at 33 wks at Gleneagles. My waterbag leaked at 32 weeks, managed to delay for 1 wk+. My boy weighed 2.015kg at birth. He didn't need the incubator, but stayed in the NICU for about 3 days, after that transferred to normal nursery for 2 days. Had slight juandice, hence stayed in the nursery for extra 1 day. He had antibiotics dose immediately after he was born to prevent infection.

I stayed twice in hospital. Once, when I found that my waterbag leaked. After my condition somewhat stabilised, I went back, only to go back to deliver my baby about 9 days later. Total about $4k in bill, but offset by medisave. Had steriod shots to strengthen the baby's lungs and the CTG monitoring.

It was a worrying experience...I was so scared when my waterbag broke. Even cried in the hospital until the staff nurse came to console me. hehe...

well my boy is now a happy 1 year old child. His weight managed to catch up with normal kids, even peaked at 90th percentile when he was 6 months. But his milestones are slower, e.g. He only flip at 5months, sit and crawl at 8 months, now still crawling at 1 year old.

Never mind lar, as long as he is growing well and happy, I am happy.

Yup, may all our babies live a very healthy life!

Hi mummyluv and aurora,

Premature labour is indeed a very scary experience. For me, it happened so fast that I diden't even have the time to be frightened.

My whole labor only lasted for 3 hrs..It started off as contraction but it didn't occured to me it was actual labor because the baby didn't show sign of ready to come out during my last visit to the gynae. It was until 2 hrs later when I was rushed to hospital's delivery suite, the baby came out in less than 1/2hr time. My husband didn't even have the chance to sit on the comfy leather couch.

Though it is considered easy labor and my baby turns out healthy, I don't think I want to go through another premature labour. Now, I'm pretty scared when thinking about having 2nd child.
kao_scared.gif

I read that preemie's developmental milestones should be based on adjusted age and not chronological age. So for my boy, he is born 6 wks early, he should only be around 1 to 1.5mths.
Anyway, think they will catch up with the rest of the full termers as they grown older lah..

yah.. may our preemies will grow up healthy like the rest.

I had my pair of twins at 29wks in Jan. They were delivered at KKH weighing 1.35kg &amp; 1.39kg respectively. They had to stay in the NICU for abt 3.5wks followed by another 2 wks in the SCN.
They are now very healthy at 7mths and both weighing around 7.5kg.

The hospital bills for their stay amounted to 23K in total, on average abt 10K per child. Thank god for us we were able to settle them all using Medisave.

i had my boy when i was on my 36 weeks. He's also consider pre-mature, small and underweight. His weight was 2.15kg and 44cm in length at birth and Thank God he was able to go back home with me on the same day i discharged. He had to be on special formula milk for one month before switching to normal infant formula milk. Still giving him breastmilk as and when i have (not enough breastmilk to go on full breastfeeding).

Hospital bill was less than 2k after deduction from Medisave.

now baby is 1 month and 1 week old liao and he is healthy, growing up well. Now he weigh about 3.8kg.

Hi worshippertemple,

Did u have a natural birth or c-section?
Heard that it's pretty risky to have natural birth if baby is of low wt.

Any mummy of preemies succeed in full breastfeeding?
Till now my boy refuse to suckle. I can only express the milk for him, as a result, the supply is miserable. I'm only giving him 1 feed of breastmilk per day..Felt so guilty.

Hi Nicole

I had a natural birth at 34 weeks and my baby only weigh 2kg. In fact, his weight drop down to 1.9kg when he was finally able to go home.
He is doing well now

Hi Pageup,

I did not manage bf successfully.

I was very sad. Baby just refused to suckle.

I think he was too used to the bottle already when he was in NICU. This is due to inconvenience and also I think the nurses don't encourage direct-bf for low wt babies because low wt babies may not have strength to suckle and hence may develop difficulties in breathing. The fuuny thing is that the nurses dare not directly oppose, just kept asking me to express the milk out.

When I tried to bf him at home, he just screamed and screamed. So no choice, supplement with formula. My supply was pathetically low as a result. I remembered like 60 ml per breast.

Anyway, also better lar, my hubby can then help in the night feeds...haha. Also I don't see diff in bf babies and formula babies...maybe savings in milk powder ?

Nicole,
I had my first twin naturally although he only weighed 1.39kg and my second twin via c-sect. It is normal for preemies to have a weight loss the first few days or wk after they are born, they will gradually pick up on it. I am happy to hear that your boy is doing well

aurora,
Like you I also did not manage to bf my boys, they had gotten used to be bottle-fed. I also had the same prob as you, had to keep expressing...low supply which depressed me. In the end, gave them formula.

Hi regi_meimei,
How old are your twins now? I hope they are doing well.

My twins came so suddenly that it was too much to take it all in at the beginning. I started experiencing contractions which I had thought as stomach cramps on New Year morning. By midnight, could not tolerate the pain so went to hospital at 2am. They found out I was fully dilated so had to start on medications to stop contractions as they did not want to deliver them yet.

2nd Jan, 9.23am: Had my first twin by normal delivery. God knows, I have never seen so many doctors and nurses in the delivery suite...

More medications to stop contractions. My second was in breech position. Started getting backaches. Doctors suggested epidural which I did not want but went ahead anyways to try and reduce pain since they did not know how long I was gonna be there for.

Apparently medication to stop contractions did not work. Found infection frm first delivery and had me rushed for emergency c-sect. Worst experience of my life. They had stopped my epidural like hrs before that and there was miscommunication btw the staff. They had thought I was still on epidural. Wehn I was in OT, cld feel them cutting and ripping me opened. I complained and they put me on GA.

3rd Jan, 2.30pm: My second twin was delivered. Hubby said there was a code blue announced on his birth, meaning difficulty in breathing.

I did not get to see my sons until 3 days after as I had to heal frm my c-sect. All I saw was pictures and videos my hubby took. They were so small and fragile. First time I saw them, I was so overwhelmed I cried. Was so heart breaking seeing them in the incubators wt all those tubes on them.

Every day was an emotional battle. We were worried that they might not make it. They had lots of complications like hole in the hearts(PDA), weak lungs which resulted in apnea(meaning they stopped breathing), feeding problems as their stomachs was not mature and one of them had a cyst in his brain(PVL). They had their good days and bad ones too, for every one step they moved forward, they seem to keep moving 2steps back. Spent abt 3wks in the NICU. We were relieved when they moved to SCN cuz that meant they were more stable.

We visited them everyday, spoke to them, sang them songs, touch them and held them. I had to express my breast milk for them. Did not manage to breast feed them fully as they were fed by a tube. They had to gain weight until they were at least 2kgs and had to learn how to feed frm a bottle. They were discharged after 2wks in SCN.

My boys are doing relatively well now. Most of the complications have been resolved. They still have to go back to the hospital monthly for their routine check ups wt their doctor, the therapists, dietitian etc etc.

That basically sums up my journey. What abt yours? Look forward to hearing frm you soon and hope you are having a good weekend.

PS: Have you heard of this organization called TwinsPlus?

Hi sasha,

I'm glad to hear that everything is ok with your twins.

I can understand how you must have felt, cause I was so afraid for my girl when I realised that I'll have to deliver her pre-maturely. All I could think of was whether she can survive and whether she need to be admit into the incubator. Thank god that everything is ok with her. Nevertheless, I feel for you. I understand how you must have felt when you see them so tiny and fragile in the incubators.

But that prove one thing, no doubt, they're preemies, but they're survivors!

Again, may all our preemies live a very healthy and happy life!

Sasha
I am glad to hear that your twins are ok now. Can't imagine wat you went thru. And looking at the previous photos you posted, they were so chubby and cute. Din expect they were premmies... But you've done a great job!!

mummyluv,
thank you. considering the pain they went thru at such a young age and having to fight for their life, i hope that they all grow up healthy and strong.
they are definitely the true heroes!

mom2nat,
i think credit shd definitely go to my boys for having such a strong will to live. yeah, they are growing really well and i am proud of them.

Thanks for sharing your stories. I'm most probably going to deliver my bb prematurely due to pregnancy complications. My gynae told me that I will be injected steroids to mature the bb's lungs. Anyone had experience on that? Any side effects, heartbeat faster, cold sweat, adrenalin rush?

puffybelle,
Premature babies tend to me more fussy and unsettled. I think it is very important to bond wt them when they are in the NICU or SCN etc. My boys are now 8mth old. They receive the same amount of care and attention as their older sister did when she was a baby. I try not to over-react or panic when they cry, juz treat them like normal babies when they came home. They are doing really well

miracle_bb,
How many mths pregnant are you now? I also had steroids injected into me while I was in the labour. Like you said, its to help mature the lungs. As for side effects, I dont recall having any at all so dont worry abt it.

Hi miracle_bb,

I was on drip for two days to delay my bb's birth for her lungs to develop. And I was injected with steroids. The side effect that I have is that my heartbeat beats faster. Other than that, nothing much. Don't have to worry too much, if you did experience that, do inform the nurses immediately.

Hi puffybelle,

I think it really depends. Cause even though my girl is born at 34+ weeks. I treated her like a normal baby and her PD also told me to treat her like a normal baby. In fact, she's even bigger size than normal babies! Unless the baby is very premature, otherwise, I guess it's as per normal.

Hi Sasha &amp; Mummyluv,

I heard that it is good to apply olive oil on premature baby...is it true? Did you all do anything (eg flash card) to stimulate their brain development? since they will be slower in development, I was wondering if there is a need to put in extra effort on their development..

Did any of you experience this: According to my gynae, my baby was 27weeks when I delivered. However, when I transfered my baby to SGH, I was told that my baby was in fact 32weeks aft they did a series of test. The PD also mentioned that my baby is small for her actual age. So does it mean that my gynae had not detected that my baby was not growing sufficiently &amp; shd advise me to eat more? I am still so confused over this discrepancy...

Hi puffybelle,

Apply olive oil? I've never heard of it before, why is that so????

I didn't do anything special or extra to stimulate her brain development or other development. As my girl is born at 34+ weeks, her PD told me that I can actually treat her like a normal baby since she's not too premature. And the comforting news is that, her PD did notice/comment that despite being a premature baby, my baby is growing well and rather advanced in development, as in, same rate as full term baby.

How could it be with the discrepancy of the 'age'of your baby!??!!! Did you ask your gynae about it? Actually, I was told the first EDD that your gynae gave you should be the most accurate. When baby is around 12 weeks inside your womb. I don't know how true is that though. But that time when I was admitted, they counted back and determined how old is my baby based on the first EDD that my gynae gave me.

Normally, premature baby will be much smaller in size. BUT it's really hard to say. Cause that time, when I was pregnant, I didn't gain much weight and my gynae told me that my baby will be very small. Around, 2.1kg. But ended up, she's 2.410kg and 47cm! Which is considered very long! So it's really hard to say...

Anyway, how old is your baby now?

puffybelle,
massaging does helps to stimulate them and also calms them. i have been applying this oil(not sure what it is. its a traditional indonesian massage oil)on my boys since they came home. other than that, i did not do anything special to stimulate them.

please remember that since they are premature babies, they will definitely be slower in their development. take my boys for example, they were born in jan so that makes them 8mths old(actual age). they were born 29wks premature so that actually makes them 6mths old (corrected age). most time, i wld compare them to babies of their corrected age instead of their actual age to gauge their development. they will pick up on their development by time they turn 2yrs old. so dont pressure yourself or your baby too much

Hi Mummyluv &amp; Sasa,

I heard to use olive oil to massage on baby.

My baby has been in the NICU for more than 1 month and last week was transferred to high dependency ward to gain weight. Unfortunately, yest she was back to NICU due to pneumonia (lung infection). Now praying hard that there is no other infection &amp; hope she get well soon. Really heart pain to see her on drip again. But it is definitely encouraging to hear that all ur child are doing well!

Ya, I understand that they will be slower in development, so as parents we juz have to be more patient.

Hi puffybelle,

I only applied body lotion to massage her at night before she sleeps to moisturer her skin.

Hmm...sorry...though I have a preemie, but since she's not admitted...i'm not sure what does NICU means?

Don't worry, your baby will be just fine!

puffybelle,
i heard frm my mom that it is gd to apply olive oil on the baby, if not normal baby oil is also fine. its not abt the oil really but its the massages that helps.

mummyluv,
NICU stands for Neo-natal Intensive Care Unit...ur lucky ur baby was not admitted here.

Hi Mummyluv,
Which brand &amp; type of boby lotion did you use?

Hi Sasha,
Where did you get the traditional indonesian massage oil?

Hi puffybelle,

Initally, I'm using Physiogel Cream as recommended by my girl's PD. But then, I find it too expensive and my sister recommended me QV lotion. Which is good. I'm letting my girl use QV wash too. It's soap free, fragrance free and Proplyene Glycol free.

I just talked to TMC's financial advisor. Told me that NICU's room rates and hospital charges are separate. At level 2a, its $230 for room, $400 - 600 for hospital charges. Its very ex, but from the postings are read from here, pageup, mummyluv, seems like at the most, bb stay in NICU 0.5 - 3 days.

Actually I did consider delivering at KKH, but my gyane doesn't deliver there and I don't know any good gynae in KKH. Also I have a complicated preg history. So I tot better to stick with this gynae in TMC.

But if I can deliver my bb healthy, well and alive, any $$$ is worth it!

I m a mother to a premie born @ 31 weeks weighing 1.9kg.My boy was delievered @Gleneages and stayed there for abt 1 mth coz his lungs immature dispite 4 painful steriod jabs!
Cried so hard at that time and now when I look back the past few mths, dunno how i went thru it!

hi elaine,
can check when did you do the steriod jabs and what type of steriods? I was advised to do it later and now worried it may not work or have side effects!
hope your baby is doing well now.

Hi ah may,i did it when i was in hosp.1st when i was in my 27th week and later in my 31st week.doc worry baby come out anytime so have to do the jab...forgot the name of the jab liao.My baby is ok just that the is sensitive to a lot of thngs that gives him upset tummy and respiratory probs.hopr he grows out of it...

my water bag leaks at 34.3wks and i managed to delay to 35wks.

i delivered my son at 35 wks.He birth weight is 2.47kg.He need to stay in the open incubator for 5 days.

i delivered at TMC. My gynae did advise me to go to the public hospital (KKH, SGH, NUH) as he worries the medical bills will be ex for premature baby.

That night i go through KKH and transfer to SGH but end up at TMC. I request go back to TMC when I realised my gynae cannot deliver my baby and also the nightmare at SGH.

My bill is $5k before medisave. I have no regret to go back to my gynae......

thanks Piggy,
I am still considering the option of whether to do the jab. when did you give birth to your baby? Are the effects that you mentioned due to baby premature? Hope your baby is getting better now.

Hi Piggy,
Is your son under Dr YY Yip ?my girl was delivered premature due to growth redaration and her stomach had already shirked.was put under Dr YY yip.R u still following up with this dr?

Hi ah may,i gave birth last nov.yup preemies usually are more weak.the jab is painful and qt ex ah.i had no choice coz doc made me do the jab.
Hi Faith,yup he is under Dr yip.when i was in hosp, dr yip was on leave and my gynea called him and he came to attend to my son.my son is still seeing him coz my son'd lung immature and he have resriratory probs on and off.howz ur girl now?

My twins were delivered at 25 weeks gestation, weighing 600g and 720g. They spent 103 and 118 days in KKH.

They are at corrected age 6 mths now and are growing well. We are blessed and will be pleased to share our experiences with parents of new preemies.

Hi miracle bb, dun rem coz abt 1 year ago liao.more than 100 if i not wrong.i had it when i was hospitalised for few days so i din notice the price and i din ask the price before the jab coz since itz the best for bb,how expensive oso muz jab!Muz warn it painful leh...coz the nurse told me itz inject oil-based medication.Not sure if its gonna b the same as wat u r gonna get.

Does your preemies fall sick easily? Cause I was told that preemies, as they're not 'full grown'when they're born, therefore, their immune system is even lower than those normal full term babies? Is that true?

Also, is their development much much slower?

Hi piggy,
my gal is ok now,but she always fall sick,at least once a mth,if nt wld b more.still seeing dr yip.was hospitalised abt 2 mths back as she had acute bronciolities.r u a working mum or SAHM?I m SAHM as i cant trust others to help to look after.Btw,can share with me your baby bills?

Hi twin mummy,
can check with u whether your babies hospital bills is huge or not as i wld love to have another baby,but worried about pre-mature again.

Hi piggy,
my gal is ok now,but she always fall sick,at least once a mth,if nt wld b more.still seeing dr yip.was hospitalised abt 2 mths back as she had acute bronciolities.r u a working mum or SAHM?I m SAHM as i cant trust others to help to look after.Btw,can share with me your baby bills?

Hi twin mummy,
can check with u whether your babies hospital bills is huge or not as i wld love to have another baby,but worried about pre-mature again.

Hi Faith

Thank God my gynae at kkh advised us to choose C Class ward. The babies received the same professional treatment regardless of which Class we choose, he claimed.

The bill is approx 50K.

How premature was your first baby? Chances of getting another preemie is quite low if the complications of the pregnancy is not due to you. Your gynae should be able to advise.

My boy oso always fall sick.Now down wif flu.i stayed at hme for 6 mths before returning to work and now my boy is cared for by my mom.Tot of being SAHM but cannot lah boy expenses so high.I oso cannot trust others so i tried so hard then managed to convince my mom to look after him.
I paid over $10K to $20K for his hosp bills alone.Then almost every month tis boy will fall sick then c doc.In the initial mths went to both his PD and NUH so expenses high.
Twin mummy,i heard chances of another preemie is rather high if ur first born is a preemie leh...so qt scared leh.

Hi TwinsMummy,
I also having twins, will be delivering at KKH, which gynae are you wif? Can I chose C class ward? I also worried about the expenses, currently in my 24/25 weeks.

Hi ah may,having twins ah?congrats!how does it feel like har? stomach v big or not? dat time when i had my boy my stomach v small...when i wear big tee,cannot really tell

hi piggy,
thank you. Tummy huge, just now went prima deli to buy waffle, the lady give me the bouchure for one month celebration. think the rest see I like gg to give birth soon. :p actually ten weeks, I start on maternity wear cause tummy show a bit even though I first time preggie.

hi twin mummy,

too bad that the complications of the pregnancy is due to me.was in n out of hospital b4 delivering her.As i have PCOS,1st tri was nt stable,was on lots of jabs,and hormones,2nd tri onwards,i have high blood pressure and low aminotic fluid level.baby was v.small.was below average.my gynae wanted to do c-section on me on 28 weeks,which by grace of god,i managed to pull thru till 35wks when she started to go into growth retardation and her stomach had start to shirk.at that moment,she was only 1.9kg.i had a c-section immediately the next morning at gleneagles which my gynae had ask dr yip to standby.my gal was supposed to be in NICU for a week,which again thru graces of lord,she didnt.but she was nt strong either,always fall sick.had been in hospital twice in less than 2 mths.

hi piggy,
u r lucky that u got your mum to help u.i am totally alone looking after her.got no help at all.hubby dun even knw how to look after her.till nw i have yet to change PD.thought of changing due to the transport (taxi) whenever needs to go there.but i think shall wait awhile .u mean u bought ur son to NUH also?can see both sides doctors?