Advise on SO-IUI vs IVF?

hi ruru, haze, im not too sure leh.. i tot its because of Sunday, and that's why they schedule to mon. haha

btw, how to we count DPO? starting from ER or ET?

Haze, i think i was in front of ur bed leh, heehee.. coz i heard dr zou discussing with someone abt the D5 and also Dr zou mention abt thomson medical.

how come u dun take the herbs? i have been taking dr zou's herb and she will prescribe me herbs to be taken after ET, will there be any problem taking it?

Gillian
Is it? U're there today at Dr Zou's? aiyah.. u shd hv call me n let me know!

I didn't take her herbs all along.

I took TCM b4 abt 3 yrs ago... for half a year. But that tcm eventually told me it doesn't seem to work for me. So I nv took herbs anymore.

Some ppl response well to TCM.. but maybe not me. If u've been taking all along n it's ok for u.. why not? U c ur response this time for IUI, it's really gd.

Dr Zou is pretty ok with patients jus doing acu only n not taking her herbs.

Oh.. I thk I rem hearing Dr Zou wishing u gd luck.. n u asking her abt ur temp n she said u shd already hv O. So is that u? hehe

Relax during ur ET.. rem dun drink too much water when u're at home.. thk it's better to start drinking when u reach KKH, cos u'll be there early (being kiasu sporeans! haha.. I'm one of them too!) n likely u'd hv to wait.

Ruru,

For the folic acid, Dr loh said no need to take from 2nd trimester liao, the Obimin is enough. So that's why I didn't bother to top up on folic acid. We can also get folic acid from the food we take, so I guess should be ok lah.

Regarding the DHA, I bought my first bottle from Vitakids at Forum. Cost $50+, Amazon sells at US$24.61. Will be getting my sister's SIL to repack my purchases and ship back from US. So I believe shipping should be slightly cheaper. Confirm cheaper than buy in Sg.

Anyone interested can let me know.

Hi Gillian,

The day you jab the HCG jab, 36hrs later u will have 'O', then that is the day 0DPO. But for IVF program, we start counting from the day of ET, so for you, mon is 0DpET, and u can do your HPT on D11-D12pET as yours is a D3 transfer. For KKH, the BT is around D17 (I think).

Hi Haze,

Oh really? Then I have to take care of myself as my HCG is 247 on D13 for D4 embbies transfer.

Hi Strawbearbi,

Thanks for the offer, will buy 1 bottle from Vitakids 1st to try, maybe smell straightaway want to vomit liao??

I am not a fish-lover u see

Ruru
Wot dr zou said is jus a guide lah.. thk as long as it doubles up nicely for u.. u'll be fine.

hehe.. u cat-lover but not fish lover..

Ruru,

Yah I think u try first, see if you like it or not. One tip, you take before food, coz I realized that when I take after food, sometimes burp will have the fishy smell one... quite nauseous. But if take b4 food, usually ok one no smell no taste.

Have fun!!

Hi RuRu, Congrats to u! It has really not been a easy route for u but u have make it. Yahoo!!!Sprinkle more babydust to us and hopefully we will be able to join u soon.

May I know what's FET?

I'm also considering seeing Dr S F Loh fr KKH. Can I find out more from you gals is he friendly and patient? Is the queue at KKH always veri long?
Thxs!

BBAngels
Dr Loh is very popular at KKH, being the Head of KKIVF, suggest u arrange for a consultation with him 1st. His consultation charges are comparable to Private gynaes. Be prepared to wait a while for ur appt as he's a real busy man, hving to do IVF procedures n also deliveries.

I thk if u want to c him now, appt date shd be abt a mth later.

Other than that, the wait at KKIVF itself is stil acceptable.

Do note u'll only get to c him 3x: ur 1st consultation, ER & ET. In betwn for ur scans n BTs, it'll be done by the KKIVF doc-in-charge or nurses.

So if u hv any questions, ask him during ur 1st consultation!

Hi all.. I am going for ops this month as my right tube is blocked.. Probably that's the reason why i was unable to conceive.. but my left is ok and still cannot conceive.. Haizz i don't know.. My doc in kkwh advise after the ops i can try soiui or ivf.. My hub not into ivf so i was thinking of soiui. But how does it go about actually? and what's the charges for it? Should i go ivf straight or soiui? Cause i know the chances in soiui is not much but i don't know.. Really get very upset every month when i come my mensas. Sometimes i feel like giving up.. Please, please explain to me how and what should i do best... Thanks a million guys!!!

hi vi4n,

Thks for ur info, i found the complan at guardian np.. It doesnt sell in one box, but in separate sachet. I thot it stated there $2.60 per sachet but when i pay for it, it costs $2 only.. So i buy 10 at one time as i thot it is cheaper to buy in onebox . But jus now when i read ur past post then realise if buy one box for 15sachet cost $34.50. Which is more expensive since buy at guardian now will cost only $30 for 15sachets.. Hmm.. Think will go get somemore since now is consider cheaper.. Ya, like wht u say, it dun hv choc favour.. Luckily i like milk alot so will get vinalla favour..had get one pkt of strawberry favour to try too. Forget to ans urquestion, i stay at sembawang area..;) very near to ur place..

Hi Mzzz,

If your doc-in-charge at KKH tells u that the blocked right tube is your only infertility problem, i.e. you don't suffer from PCOS, irregular menses, endo, fibroids, polyps, cysts etc, then after the op you should be able to try naturally right? Did the doc explains why he wants you to do SO-IUI or IVF instead?

How about your HB? Did your doc ask him to do a sperm analysis? Sometimes not being able to be preggie can be problem from both the couple, not necessary the wife's problem only.

Age is a very important factor also, as a woman's fertility drop drastically every 3-5years as she ages.

For the cost of IVF vs SO-IUI in KKH, i think the cash upfront for IVF is lesser than SO-IUI becos:

IVF Cost est around $7-9k minus $6k medisave minus $3k Govt Co-fund = $1K cash maximum??

SO-IUI is around $1-2K depending on the drug dosage. SO-IUI cannot use Medisave and no Govt Co-fund.

**Ladies, please correct me if I am wrong, don't want to give wrong advice to people!

SO-IUI success rate is around 20%, which is very close to the success rate of an optimal natural cycle. IVF success rate at KKH is around 40%.

My opinion for you is do do your operation 1st, then spend 2-3mths to recover physically and then make an appointment with your doc for a review and maybe he can advise whether SO-IUI or IVF is a better opinion for you.

But if your HB is not into IVF, then perhaps u start with SO-IUI 1st, as HB's support in fertility issue is VERY important, as u need all the support in this tough motherhood journey!

Hi BBAngels,

FET = Frozen embryos transfer

During a IVF cycle, usually only 2-3 embryos are transferred and the remaining embryos are frozen for future use.

Hi ruru,
How r u?? Do u need to go back do a bt every 2 days or wait for ur scan another 2 wks later?? So u had cancel ur appt with dr foong? So happy for u that had succeed.. Do sprinkle us with lots if ur bb dust woah..

Had just try the complan milk, it really taste sooooo nice woah .. Very pure feel.. Hee., think later will go guardian at sun plaza see whether hv or not.. If oso at $2 per sachet then will buy more to keep stock since is cheaper than buying one box.. Fr ur experience, how much u gals buy for one box of complan? Is it oso at $34.50 cheapest?

Hi strawberri,
Is it true that complan got more selenium? I see the ingriedient for ensure and complan, not sure how to compare as their unit is
mcg compare against mg??hmm..

Hi Ruru,

Yes my hub have gone for the test and the doc says his sperms are healthy and good swimmers... I am just wondering if it really helps after the operation on the blocked tubes and maybe i can be natural.. I am really hoping for that..

My doc did mention that (if im not mistaken) both could be deduct by medisave but not advisable cause maybe in future i may want to try the IVF which is more EX..

But is it because of my blockage that i am unable to conceive? Should i stay with KKWH or private hospital?

If i go for SOIUI, how long will it take me to get preggy if succesful? I am really hoping to preggy by this year...

Thanks RURU...

Hi Mzzz,

Oh yah, I forgot. Yes, a married couple can actually claim medisave 3x at $6k, $5k and $4k for fertility treatment in either a private or govt hosp respectively. But for the $3k Govt co-fund for IVF treatment, it is applicable only for govt hosp.

Yes, your doc is right, hardly any couple will claim medisave for SO-IUI as it is not so worth it and like what your doc says, better save the medisave claims for IVF if the need arises.

You have to check with your doc regarding the question of whether the blockage makes u infertile. Hmm... in theory, since u only have 1 blocked tube with the other tube working, it should not affect fertility so much right?

Oh, btw, if you decide to do IVF direct, perhaps u don't even have to do the op to clear the blocked tube as the IVF procedure doesn't need the tubes to be in 100% working condition. Most importantly for IVF is the ovaries must be healthy and produce good-quality follicles, your womb lining thick and soft for embryo implantation and your HB's sperms are strong and fast swimmers.

Perhaps u check with your KKH doc? Maybe ask him the medical questions u are puzzled over? Like after the op, why must go for SO-IUI or IVF? Why can't do natural? Is it becos of the blockage that you are unable to conceive? If I do IVF directly, can I skip the op?

Regarding whether you want to stay with KKH or private clinic, it depends on your budget. For SO-IUI, the difference between private and govt is not very significant, maybe $500+ more only. But for IVF, the difference is alot. $13-15k vs $7-9K, and since only Govt hosp has the $3k co-fund grant, your cash upfront is significant for private.

Hmm... like I say, SO-IUI chance is the same as an optimal natural cycle, so it really depends. U can be lucky and strike 1st time or 2nd time or you can try and try until you give up and moves on to IVF.

In this thread, except for a few lucky ladies who succeed with SO-IUI, actually most of the ladies had tried SO-IUI and failed and moved on to IVF.

Hi Joanne,

I have already did 2 BTs liao and my gynae is ok with the results so she told me to see her 2 weeks later for the scan. Will update u ladies, don't worry!

Hi RURU,

Thanks so much for replying.. appreciate it so much.. Well that's the thing, if 1 tube is normal i should be able to conceive but like some people say both will be better. Don't know how true is that.. The doc didn't say i have a problem with my womb or uterus. They even say that every month my egg did come out. And she also said that it's not urgent for me to unblock the right tube. But me wanting to get preggy so badly, told her to proceed with the ops..

She also let me decide if i want to do the SOIUI and IVF.. So i told her i would wait a little bit after the ops and try again.. If a few months still nothing then i want to try for the SOIUI.. Or maybe straight IVF.. Not sure yet..

So i guess now we just wait lah after the ops...

Thanks again my friend...

Hi Mzzz,

Just to add on about the Medisave part, for IVF, the govt co-fund of $3k is utilized first before your medisave is used.

For my case at KKIVF, my total cost comes up to abt $7k, so first deduct govt co-fund of $3k, then deduct my medisave of $3k (out of $6k max claim for first claim), then the remaining of about $1k is those expenses which we cannot claim medisave one. In summary, my cash outlay is abt $1k, medisave deduction abt $3k.

Joanne,

I forgot whether complan has more selenium than ensure or not liao. Maybe you find the conversion ratio to convert?

Btw, mushrooms has selenium too!! Can eat more of that ok?

Hi Ruru,

Congrats on your BFP....wish you have a smooth journey ahead.

Have been busy at work and also need to take 2 half day leave for this week review, so never log in for a while. I have just done SO-IUI yesterday. Mmm....wondering if i should go work tomorrow. Funny that my gynae told me to test myself 3 weeks later this round. Lots of worries now.

Just to add on a bit, i have 3 friends gave birth last month, so need to attend their bb showers next week and week after next. And also another friend who TTC with me, her 2nd one already 1 year old. Also celebrating her birthday this month. For those mummies, what present does your friends or relative give your child?

My sunflower,
I was at Dr Zou on Friday nite - was that u and hubby in there? I was soooo tempted to peep out and say some words of encouragement to u...I had been through what u had gone through and I know how it exactly it felt...hope that u will have a better ending then mine...

Ladies - I am not too good...my AF kept coming and the spotting seems forever!! Cannot start anyting now like that - can't even try nature! Dr Zou gave me some very bitter med...tink next week need to see Dr Nair for a scan and see what he say liao....sianzz

Btw, where can I find complan hah? I bot the Ensure from NTUC since I can't seems to find complan

Ruru: don't anyhow start yr supplement so soon lah...did yr doc gave u progestrone to help? That time I even have to go Dr Nair there for jabs every other day to help support preg...(although did not help for my case)

Hi ah kat,
Some ntuc do sell complan, i jus saw sunplaza ntuc got sell chocolate favour at $33.50 for one box but i didnt buy as i worry heatiness.. Like wht vi4n say, some guardian do sell too.. Cold storage and carrefour oso got sell.. Got to search ard.. ;) better asks ur gynea why ur af oways got spotting.. So that u can hv a ease of mind..i guess my af for this mth will delay too as already 22days and still hasnt ovalute yet..think shd o this coming week for me.. Sianz.. Not sure why af take so long too.. Usually my cycle is 35 days.. Super sianz..

Hi strawberri,
Thks for ur feedback.. Will take complan for the time being.. Oh ya, i dun dare take mushroom for time being as one of my collegue ever told me mushroom will cause anemic so better dun take too much for my case since i got server anemic.. Thks for ur advise though.. Wonder is there any other food got natural selenim?? I believe this selenium really can help in implantation as i read it in one of the pregnancy book too.. U gals r really 神通广大to know so many things.. Hee..

Hi Ah-Kat,

Eewww... I hate bitter chinese medicine, cannot tahan, sure will vomit out!

I bought my Complan at Carrefour, no discount though, quite expensive. Why don't u try your luck at the Guardian at Mt E when u see Dr Nair next week?

Yah, I am on crinone insert and progynova tab to support the lining now.

When u are at Dr Zou, u should have talked aloud on your bed and said "Ah-Kat calling out to My Sunflower and mini-sunflower" and see got any response right?

Hi Snowies,

If u are feeling fine, with no stomach cramp, then u can work tomorrow. Just remember not to carry any heavy stuff.

I usually give the new-born 1mth birthday NTUC vouchers or mothercare vouchers or even a red packet. If want to give toys, maybe something like Megablock (it is like lego pieces but much bigger in size). If u buy the original and not the fake brand-type, the Megablock can last for a long time and tahan the wear-&-tear.

Rurucat.. congrats.......!!! *HUG-HUG*
Hope got the babydust too..

I'm feeling ok.. only cramps at my back, lower abdominal and tender breast...

Eating my folic acid, anti-biotic and another medicine which need to insert one very diligently...

Not cant laugh so much, quite pain at lower adominal...

Hazeline & ah-kat, Jia YU......

Ruru,

Alamak! heheheh sorry le...by the time i reached home, i am so tired, I didn't even use laptop to check my emails. I'm soooooo happy that when I log in, I see lots of Congratulations for YOU!

This round is really meant for you - despite the horror you had during your ET.

As for me, I have seen Dr SF Loh thrice and will be back again after my July or August AF, then will start IVF then. And I am planning to take NPL from July or August onwards, since KKH is not as liberal in giving Medical Leaves as in Mt E. Will keep you posted here, ya!

Ruru, any chance for twin or triplet? since you put 3, right?

Joanne, I cant' remember how much i paid when i bought my first few sachets at Guardian NP leh. maybe they are having promos? Oh NTUC at Sun plaza selling at $33.50 per box? then when i finish these 2 boxes I will go there to buy. =)
Very yummy hoh the vanilla, I also love it so much until i told hubby i wanna drink 2 sachets a day. hahaha.. Im a very milk person loh.

Btw, isn't it Complan also can be drink for Pregnancy? the packet info said so, right? Why need to change to those mommy milk?

This morning, i can't stand and did BBT, and temp at 37. So shall see how tomorrow. if by Friday still high, then I will test.

morning ladies...
just wanna ask can i take h2O the one without gas?? I'm addicted to it...

feeling very lazy lately, and I can sleep for so long....

Hi Juliana,

Do u intend to do HPT before your actual BT on 20th April? U can try with 1st pee on D12pET with Clearblue HPT, quite accurate by then.

Do control your sugar intake, it is better to mix the H2O with some water so that it is not so sweet. Yes, do rest as much as u can. Oh, when is your HL until? Two full weeks?

Hi Vi4n,

Ehh, sorry, when did u do your IUI? I thought it is just 2-3 days after me? It is on the 23th march?

I only have 2 thawed embryos transferred in the end, so no chance of triples unless like Sam, one embryo split into 2. Hmm... with my low HCG level, should be only singleton. Will keep u ladies updated when I go for my 1st scan next thur.

Hi Vi4n,

Oh, regarding mommy drink vs complan, actually most of the ingredients are the same, just that Complan is so-called marketed as a complete protein drink (meal replacement) and not so much as a mommy drink. The price difference is also quite alot.

Some special ingredient that Mommy drink includes is prebotics, DHA and folate. Not sure whether Complan has anot.

Hi Mystyy,

Oh, u intend to take NPL during the 2mths u are doing IVF? Good, good.... ur job is too stressful lah, better take NPL and kick back on the sofa to relax.

U take care and do log on occassionally to say hello ok?

Hi vi4n,

Yes, ruru is correct.. Once u bfp, is better to drink pure mummy milk and not other supplement.. Oh ya, i remember u did ur iui in beginning of week too.. I think u can test urself now since temp still high.. I think ur chance very high of having bfp neh.. Congrat to u in advance.. Maybe u will get twins or triplet since u got 4 or 5 embroys when doing the transfer rite ? Do test tomoro to let us know abt ur gd news.. Then u wun need complan anymore..;) btw, do u feel full when taking complan? That is can tahan w/o a meal by just take complan?

Ruru, Joanne,

I did IUI on 24 March. But me IUI leh not IVF. means still need to give time for the sperm to meet the egg first before implantation. Not like IVF where when you inserted the embryo will just wait whether it implanted or not, right?

I very very scared to be disapppointed again. So prefer to wait and i don't buy the test kit first. so not that tempted yet.

I like Complan leh.. so i don't mind drinking more complan.
and I think it has folate. but the other 2 i don't know. have to go home and check liao.
and yes i will feel full after drinking that, that's why i can skip dinner or b'fast and lose weight loh.

Ju, same with me. since last week i super sleepy kind. especially noon time. last weekend can't even stay late. 8pm complained sleepy already. hubby said me piggy..

So.. I can say that for IVF, there will be cash involv is it? Even when they deduct by medisave, i will still have to come out cash? Wow.. The cash is for what actually? Do you think you could give me the break down?

Anyways what is TTC?

I am really wishing hard to get preggy this year.. naturally...

Mzzz,

Cash outlay is required for IVF. Mainly for medicine which you can't claim from medisave, injection services, some tests, insurance for the transfer... Details I can't remember off-hand, maybe Haze or Bambi can help.

Ju,

Rest well ok? Sleepy could be due to progesterone also. Don't read too much into symptoms hor. Blur blur maybe higher chance??!! Good luck!

Ruru, strawbearbi and all

I read through all the messages from top to bottom, i don';t understand about some people they got this thing where they have to jab themselves. What is that for? Can i do that?

My doc advise me to take folic acid to prepare myself. but when i take those i start to gain weight like really gain weight!! i eat a lot too!! I have been eating it for 4 months now but stopped last week.. Should i continue eating or just stop?

Haizz.. I feel so happy for you RURU.. You went through IVF too? Did you try SOIUI first?

I am counting the days for the operation.. Feeling scared as this is my first time to go for operation...

I hope everything goes well..

Mzzz,

For IVF, you gotta jab yourself. 2 types of drug typically, one to suppress ovulation, the other to encourage the growth of the follicles.

Even for SO-IUI u also need to jab yourself, but only for the drug that encourage the growth of the follicles and the dosage is not as high as IVF. Coz for IVF, we want as many follicles as possible, but for IUI we don't want too many because of the risk of multiples.

Folic acid you shouldn't stop. U shld take up till the end of the first trimester at least I think. U can check with your doctor if unsure. Btw, who is your gynae at KKH?

If you eat a lot, maybe you have to exercise more since overweight also no good if you are trying to conceive.

Strawbearbi hehehehehe... Yeah.. Overweight by 4kg.. Hehehehe.. maybe i will carry on..

My gynae is Dr Marianne.. she is the one who talked to me since my first day of appointment and she is the one doing the operation too..

Can we actually choose Dr? I think all the gynae in KKWH should be good, rite.. I hope...

how many times did you try dear?

Hi Mzzz,

Oh, i started with infertility treatment since Mar 2008, so took a full 12mths of almost non-stop fertility treatment to reach today's status, so don't be discouraged ok?

All in all, for the 12 months, I did 2 rounds of clomid, 2 rounds of SO-IUI and went for 1 poly removal surgery and 2rounds of IVF.

Don't give yourself deadline ok? It will be mentally torturous when the months go by and nothing happens.

My opinion for your case, since u are so anxious to be preggie, and even willing to go for op, why this fear of doing fertility treatment? Why u want to get pregnant naturally only?

If you do IVF, you can even skip your tube repair op, and IVF offers u 40% chance of success, which is 2x higher than trying naturally.

hi vi4,
if u do iui on 24th.. Actually today is oreadi consider d14.. Can test urself 1st now.. Think ur chance r high since still at high bbt.. Wish u all the best.. ;)

Joanne,
last cycle me also high BBT on day 14post IUI mah. at the end also nothing. So let's just wait first lah.. i dont wanna waste money buying the kit.
btw, i thought tomorrow then consider as Day 14.

Wah. Ruru, you really did so many things in 1 year?