Advice: Piles - what issit like?

Need to ask a rather embarrassing question here.

What are piles like? I have noticed a "growth" in my anus that pops out. It's about 1cm big. I've also been experiencing constipation.

May I know is the "growth" so called piles? Will it go away in future after giving birth? What effects will it have? Is it common to hv this condition?

btw, I'm about 30 weeks now with my first baby...

the growth is like a lump rite? yup, i believe u may hav piles (haemorrhoids). unfortunately, it may reduce in size but it will not go away. the growth is actually a result of straining during poopoo and the blood vessels get inflammed.

as for the effects, if you continue to strain, it will grow bigger and may bleed during poopoo. if it gets too big, it may become painful for u to sit. it's quite common for pregnant women to get constipation and piles.

i already kena piles twice, after first time (nothing to do with pregnancy) i had it removed. 2nd time it came back when i got pregnant, and i had it removed again.

hi, I experience it during my first and sec. Childbirth. Like what dumbger say, is a lump and it cos thru' straining while pooling and it doesn't go away. if it grows bigger, it will cos discomfort and pain while u sit.

It is best u avoid spicy food and heavy stuff as well. Try not to strain or sit on the toilet for too long, instead walk around and try again when u have the feeling.

For me, I didn't remove as my gyne said it is not serious and it will reduce and only skin tissuse will be left. Best speak to ur gyne.

thanks for the advice. I hope it'll get better n reduce in size in future... Been trying to eat lots of fruits lately to relieve the constipation.

is it painful? if yes do get some cream to apply. i find that it helps. if not painful, then just have to live with this "extra lump"..mine got worse during later stage of pregnancy.

I am " an expect" for piles. Think I had it since 10 yrs back (nt due to pregnancy). There are two types of plies, internal or external and one may be having both. If you can feel a lump most likely external. If not serious, can take oral medication(not avaisable during pregnancy) or topical types which helps to strink the piles. For internal piles, it will usually cause bleeding while poopoo.
Removal of internal may be done by ligation (using "rubber band" to remove it) by GP.
Removal of external usually can only be done by surgery done by specialist. I had my internal ones removed about 5 years ago but my external ones remained until now. Did not go for surgery cos was told pregnancy sure come back again and since its not that serious I just leave it. Now that I am pregnant in my 3rd trimester now, I can say that the piles gets bigger but no pain unles kena strained by poopoo and standing too much. However, I have immediate remedy. Apply the topical cream and push the piles back into the anus. Sounds disgusting right but thats the best way to reduce the piles in size thus reducing pain. Now I only hope that after giving birth will not explode haha.

Hi Acneery Gal, i am also having the same prob. My gynae prescibed some cream and medicine for me as it is too painful even to walk and sit.Can ask you if pushing the piles back to anus is it painful? I dun even dare to touch it now. Have tried to see in the mirror, though only small little pile but it caused me so much pain.. I was nearly in tears.. I am worried bout during labour the condition got worse or even burst.. ah.. v sad now. Pls give me more advice... thks

Hi Tarotgal

The first time that my piles became super big is during an overseas trip 2 years ago. I seen GP when I am back in Spore and its first time she assisted me to push back to a anus and I can say its damm painful that I cried. However, it will not remain inside for long cos after walking or poopoo its will drop out again. I must say that it takes a lot of courage to push in yourself initially. But if yours is small then should be alright ba.

After many pushing and over the months I am already used to the pain.My edd is end Sept and now its getting worst that almost everyday I got to push in every night so that it will strink slightly the next day. Think I had a bunch of them now very disgusting right? Haiz.... no choice but to endure lor.

I ask gynea if can be removed during labour so that I do not need to go through pain again, he said cannot as will be too tramatic if both viginal and anus pain together haha.

oww... it's painful, have mine since my first child. If your are not preggie can take medication from pharmacy, if you are better to consult gynae. chinese medicine also have cream, weikaihuang it's called. works damn well for me... can give it a go... life saver..

Just a tip, mummies. I spoke to my gynae about my pile and he said do not go for surgery during pregnancy as it is unlikely to be accurate. Blood vessels are "looser" during pregnancy or something like that. He told me about his pregnant patient who had to go for 3 painful surgeries because the Dr over-corrected each time! So i'm just living with my piles since I'm 3 months pregnant...I don't even apply steroid cream to it since it's not too painful. The only thing I can do is eat oatmeal every morning to ease constipation.

i just realize i had this big lumps(piles) too & i am now on my 38th weeks of pregnancy. i went to gynae yesterday & was given oral medication & cream to apply.

Does anyone knw will it affect my bb or i cant go through natural birth if i suddenly on labour pain??

does anyone with piles experience itch? I was diagnosed with pile around 3 mths into my pregnancy. I have gave birth 3 months ago already and the piles is giving me itch everyday without fail.

Anyone keen to attend a talk conducted by a Chinese Physician with 23 years experience on piles, fistula & rectum cancer.

Her success rate on treating piles is 98%. Come and understand more.

Date: 31 Oct 10 (Sunday)
Time: 3-5pm
Venue: Jurong East

Strictly by appointment only. Pls PM or email me at [email protected] for more details.

i had piles during pregnancy and after delivery a few weeks back, it has not gone away yet. i can feel the soreness the past 2 days. what should i do now? leave it and wait for it to strink? but will it ever strink?

Anyone knows about the estimated cost of removing external piles? I have 2lumps.. It's not painful but very disturbing and unhygienic.. Everytime got to wash and wipe very thoroughly, very difficult to clean well.. At home poo ok.. Problem is when I need to poo outside.. Nightmare!

And the rough process? Got under GA? After wake up, what type of pain?

Hi, Pearly
Have u seen a doc regarding ur piles? I having 1 internal 1 external piles and recently had bad constipation, i think i over-strained when passing motion and cause bad bleeding. The next day when i go see my GP (a bit embarassed cause 1st time but lucky is a lady doctor). She chk my piles n prescribed medicine (Diosper) for my swollen piles and syrup to ease my constipation, said if able to shrink the piles after medication then no need to go for surgery. Now about a week taking the medicine, my piles are less swollen and i'm able to pass motion better.
See a GP or go polyclinic 1st and let doc assess and refer u to specialist in hospital if u really need surgery.

My internal one will swell and stick out if i'm constipated, i will push it back in but abit uncomfortable and a little painful. While the external one will always be outside there and this is the frustrating one cause i can always feel it, lucky it's a smaller one so if it's dun swell, it's still bearable.

Ohstrawberry,
Hi.. I have seek my gynae on this b4.. It came from my pregnancies actually.. He isn't concerned abt it.. I don't have constipation, almost never.. And my piles are not painful.. In short, it's not crucial to remove.. I feel that it's affecting my hygiene that's y i hope to get some insight on the removal costs & process.. Are there medication to shrink piles?

Pearly, mine is exaggerated by pregnancy too. Before my natural birth, it's still quite a small lump. After that it's become so big that r so irritating. But i scared to go for surgery. If still bearable for me now, i will not bother about it. My piles become very less swollen now after the course of medication, but does not shrink. I'll just make sure i drink lots of water to prevent constipation again. My mum did mentioned last time she get a cream from doctor and it can shrink the external pile, but it's very painful when it's drying up. Dunno now still can get or not. Try ask your doctor.

Is it true that when u r pregnant it is not advisable to strain ?

What to do if u are constantly constipated for days?...

I understand a high fibre diet and enough hydration can prevent constipation but what if u r already constipated and it's not advisable to strain during pregnancy ?!?!

Whether pregnant or not. It is not advisable to strain or force to poop. Some ppl say will cause stroke.

During pregnancy due to hormone will cause constipation especially during 1st and even 2nd trimester. Try to take some prune juice. If really constipated, pump those sodium water into anus, can be bought from medical hall. Advised by my gynae.

This is a very common product. Shld have. I think guardian shld hv too. But not sure young kids can use or not. Usually my babies I try massage rub tummy. You can also rub the end of spine near the buttock every now and then to help them poop. I do it on myself also.

I rmb when young my grandma also pump the sodium water for me though.

agaga, thank you so much ! I will keep a lookout for it.
Sometimes my son stools are really very hard, and he will cries and scream everytime he poo.

the growth is like a lump rite? yup, i believe u may hav piles (haemorrhoids). unfortunately, it may reduce in size but it will not go away. the growth is actually a result of straining during poopoo and the blood vessels get inflammed.

as for the effects, if you continue to strain, it will grow bigger and may bleed during poopoo. if it gets too big, it may become painful for u to sit. it's quite common for pregnant women to get constipation and piles.

i already kena piles twice, after first time (nothing to do with pregnancy) i had it removed. 2nd time it came back when i got pregnant, and i had it removed again.

Hi Tarotgal

The first time that my piles became super big is during an overseas trip 2 years ago. I seen GP when I am back in Spore and its first time she assisted me to push back to a anus and I can say its damm painful that I cried. However, it will not remain inside for long cos after walking or poopoo its will drop out again. I must say that it takes a lot of courage to push in yourself initially. But if yours is small then should be alright ba.

After many pushing and over the months I am already used to the pain.My edd is end Sept and now its getting worst that almost everyday I got to push in every night so that it will strink slightly the next day. Think I had a bunch of them now very disgusting right? Haiz.... no choice but to endure lor.

I ask gynea if can be removed during labour so that I do not need to go through pain again, he said cannot as will be too tramatic if both viginal and anus pain together haha.

Hi Arneery Galz,

so now do you still need to push back your pile everyday? is it a 3rd degree internal pile?

Hi, How do u get it removed? I am contemplating a surgery bec I have a bunch of them externally and internally. Can recommend a good specialist for me?

Piles are swellings containing enlarged blood vessels inside or around your bottom (the rectum and anus). Anyone can get piles - they don't just happen in pregnancy. When you're pregnant, piles can occur because hormones make your veins relax. Medicated wipes are safe for pregnancy, as are some creams and suppositories. In any case, you better consult with your doctor and not seek an answer on the forum.

Need to ask a rather embarrassing question here.

What are piles like? I have noticed a "growth" in my anus that pops out. It's about 1cm big. I've also been experiencing constipation.

May I know is the "growth" so called piles? Will it go away in future after giving birth? What effects will it have? Is it common to hv this condition?

btw, I'm about 30 weeks now with my first baby...

I suggest you to use a Neo healar for hemorrhoids treatment.

Depending on your symptoms, piles or haemorrhoids can either be external or internal. For internal haemorrhoids, they have different grades depending on the level of protrusion. Haemorrhoids are very common and mostly harmless, although they can be a source of embarrassment and discomfort. Smaller ones usually resolve on their own and have no symptoms. However, if piles are very painful or severely prolapsed, the doctor may recommend surgery. I personally had consulted with a colorectal surgeon about removing a haemorrhoid and underwent the procedure. His name is Dennis Koh. He mentioned that surgery is really the only way to permanently and effectively remove piles. Fast forward to now and I have completely healed. I'm thankful I had a skilled surgeon, but I definitely don't want to have piles again :D