Advice on Mt E Hospital & Gynae

wildhoney

Hello! My hubby is keen to have me deliver in Mount E as he was a Mount E baby. We went for a seminar over there today and was very impressed with the environment and staff.
Just wanna hear from anyone who has experience with Mount E and who were your gynae?
I'm not expecting yet... But wish to go for a pre-preg checkup with my hubby. If possible I would like to stick to the same gynae from that point onwards. So pls do give me your comments/recommendations wrt Mt E gynaes. Thks!!

My Gynae's name is Dr. Kowa Nam Sing whose clinic is in Mount E Medical Centre and he only delivers in Mount E itself. He has been my Gynae since 2002 and now looking after my 1st pregnancy. Dr. Kowa is a highly skilled n experienced professional who is most
friendly, patient and detailed in his consultations. His clinic staff have served him for a long time and are also friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Give a ring and find out for yourself: 62351151.

As for the hospital, can't tell you much as I have not delivered nor gone for the maternity tour yet.

Hope this helps. All the best!

My Gynae's name is Dr. Kowa Nam Sing whose clinic is in Mount E Medical Centre and he only delivers in Mount E itself. He has been my Gynae since 2002 and now looking after my 1st pregnancy. Dr. Kowa is a highly skilled n experienced professional who is most
friendly, patient and detailed in his consultations. His clinic staff have served him for a long time and are also friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Give a ring and find out for yourself: 62351151.

As for the hospital, can't tell you much as I have not delivered nor gone for the maternity tour yet.

Hope this helps. All the best!

wildhoney: just to share...my gynae is Dr Douglas Ong...both hubby and I like him a lot....we find him very professional and reassuring...
i delivered my bb at Mt E too in 2010...the nurses I met during my hospital stay are quite nice...i will go back to Dr Ong if i ever have #2...hehe...

Hey enmummy, wonder why you didn't choose mount A? I am with Douglas as well but not sure which hospital to choose...

anewmummy: cos' Mt E nearer to my home lor...you can consider Mt A if its convenient for you...the rates are cheaper too...
are you seeing him at mt e or bt timah?

By timah ;) I thought Mt E cheaper maybe I am wrong. Will visit Mt E to take a look. I don't really like maternity tour as all they focus is money.

Hi anew mummy,

Mt e is more expensive than mt a. I had deliver my no 1 in mt e in 2008 and will be delivering no 2 this year in mt e as well. The reason I choose Mt e is becos it is nearer to my gynae and pd office. So thet walk across every morning and evening to follow on check up. The hospital you choose should also base on the ease of access of your doc to the hospital.

My gynae is dr yap lip kee. Very experienced doc and he was initially my fertility doc, he manage to help hubby and me to conviece no 1 after we try 5 years ourselves and with other doc. Hence we are impress and stay with him as gynae, we went back to him after I manage to conceive naturally for no 2.

anewmummy: i did go for mt e maternity tour but they din give us pressure to sign up with them at all so dun worry...you can go for both hospital's maternity tours to compare then decide...

hello..

My doc is Dr Kek lee Pin, nice lady doc.
had an unhappy encounter with the Mt E business dept (sort of customer dept for billing)

They overcharge me on the bills and keep insisting me to pay up first and later compensate me. of course I refused and ask them to amend the bill. they says need to report to higher management for approval.. and need 5 working days.. I was like ??? in the end, i insist on waiting while they fix it up. later on the staff nurse told us that we can leave after an hr... and the dept will get back to me for the payment.
during my confinement, i called everyday.. and it was the voice recorder who answer.. and I gave up after 1 month calling almost all the dept.. and my call was like transfer here and there..

and just as i expected, they billed me on the 31 dec 2010.. on the accounts closing day.. and the bill is still not revised and they charge me for late payment.. and I was HOT and the things did not resolved till Feb 2011.

but the nurses and doctors are really very goods... shame on their biz dept.. really a shame...

one point to note is.. CHECK your BILLS.. cos they charge me a lot of unnecessary stuff which I did not use.. such as epidural which I did not use.

but becos of the doc, I think i will have to go back to the same place for #2... but this time.. i will be wiser...

My Gynae is also Dr. Kowa Nam Sing whose clinic is in Mount E Medical Centre. Was introduced by my gf who delivered her #3 with dr kowa. Her 1st n 2nd one were different gynae and she felt that the best choice is still Dr Kowa even though my usual gynae is Dr Esther Ng at Mt A so i decided to go Dr Kowa. Nice and friendly.

Hi eino,

Thanks for sharing your experience. I will check my bill carefully. I had admitted to mt e twice andvi never check bill. I will be delivering my #2 soon at mt e. Will check carefully this time.

I strongly recommend Dr Kowa Nam Sing. I delivered my boy last year. He is so fatherly and patient. I seldom see doctors with that kind of patience. 2 thumbs up for him.

i dunno how to check my bill leh.. cause i had induction and was put on ctg machine.. so on my bill i see many ctg machine charges. $500 per usage. i just pay lor. my #1 cost me $11k leh..

I just went for my first visit with Dr.Douglas Ong. Very nice n gentle guy, it's a good experience for both my hubby n myself who are first timer.

<font color="aa00aa">I delivered my #1 in Mt E too but that was in 2006.

Can someone please update me regarding breastfeeding during your stay?

That time, I think the nurse just brought my baby to me once during the night or maybe dawn for breastfeeding. Do they still practise it now?

I thought for breastfeeding, the baby should be brought to us every 2 - 3 hours even though our milk may not come in?</font>

Hi moi! I gave birth at Mt E in July 2010. Every time my baby cried due to hunger, the nurses would bring her in to my room

<font color="aa00aa">Does it mean it's more than once in the night?

I think I remember the nurse said they will feed glucose water if the baby cried in the night but not sure if the practice still remains the same.</font>

chloe: nice to hear that
...we were also first timers and we find him very professional yet reassuring...i wish you a smooth pregnancy and delivery ahead!

moi: when filling in your pre-admission letter...i think there is a section that allows you to choose total bf/ partial bf...if you choose total bf the nurses will follow your instructions and bring baby in whenever he/she is hungry...

Mine was Dr Kek Lee Phin. Everything went smoothly and perfectly. Most of the LCs at Mt E were very nice. I liked Guat Choo a lot as she helped me get my first drops of colostrum. It was a little painful (she asked me if I could bear with it first) to clear the ducts but after she did it, I had lots of milk!

For establishment of bf, I guess it's really up to you. You must make it clear to them what you want. They will follow your wishes. I was very firm about total bf so they did bring baby in every time she cried but later on my baby had jaundice and fever and needed to spend more time on the bilibed so my pd recommended a bit of glucose water through syringe for hydration and every 3 hourly feeds (my baby was sleepy due to jaundice) till my milk came in. I guess you have to play by ear, see the situation and decide what's best for you and baby. Discuss with OBGYN (i got a medicine to help my milk come in), discuss with pd (my baby had jaundice problem and fever) and the experienced lactation consultants. Be patient and persevere. Once milk comes in, it will be a lot easier. And the nurses will follow YOUR instructions so decide on your course of action and let them know.

Personally, I would think that a good &amp; responsible gynae is more important than hospital as you'll be seeing your gynae for close to 40 weeks and he/she will be the one seeing you throughout your pregnancy, ensuring that you have a smooth pregnancy &amp; delivery, whereas you'll be staying in the hospital for few days. Most hospitals in Spore should be quite ok. Hence, I think should look for a good gynae first and decide on the hospital later, depending on which hospital(s) the gynae goes to.

Also, it depends on one's condition. Like, for me &amp; hubby, both of us need help to conceive, so our gynae is one who is able to look into fertility treatments, and do procedure such as IUI. But not all gynaes know how to do fertility treatment.

hihi, i delivered both my babies at Mt E in 2009 &amp; 2011. The rooms were newly renovated when i delivered ny no.2 so its very nice! (i stayed single room). The nurses also very nice. I total breastfeed so whenever my bb is hungry they'll bring to me to BF, even at night! So dun need to worry as long as u inform them u want your bb to TOTAL BF meaning no mixing of feeds with formula. they will bring u your bb whenever its time to feed. The lactation class &amp; bb bathing class also very useful so do go &amp; attend during your stay. My gynae is also Dr Douglas Ong : ) Went to a few gynaes but both hubby and I like him best! Agree with enmummy, he is very professional and reassuring. Hence going back to him for my no.3 due in Jun this year. Of course at Mt E as well : ) Hope the info is useful to u!

Called Dr Kek Lee Phin's clinic &amp; wanted to book a appointment for Saturday for prenatal checkup but got rejected coz they don't attend to new patient on sat..

Don't feel good with this kind of encounter!!

Any better recommendations for doctor in Mt E??

sweetstarry: wow..you are so "productive"...haha..your #2 and #3 very close gap right?...
me still *shudder* at the thought of having #2 yet...hehe...

I'm currently with Dr SC Chew from Mt E. I strongly recommend him as he is very fatherly and experienced. His machines (scans) are among the most advanced ones in Singapore. Can see very small details even at early stages. You don't even need to for the 20+ week detailed scan because his scans are detailed enough.
However, his charges are not cheap. He doesn't do packages and each visit you pay average $200-$300+. I have extensive insurance coverage so this is not so bad for me. I personally think he is worth the steeper price. I have a friend who had a c-section by him and said his handiwork is very good. She was able to walk the next day, no pain at all.

Hi minigingerbread, do you have the contacts to Dr SC Chew?

I would sincerely appreciate more feedbacks on Dr Kowa &amp; Dr Douglas Ong. Also, is anyone using Dr Ben Neo?

I'm currently being seen by Caroline Khi @ TMC which I really like her alot but unfortunately we discussed &amp; she concluded that she would be bound in TMC for dragon year. It's a dilemma, cause after my 1st prenatal visit to her clinic, I kinda got traumatised by TMC itself, so is HB...

My gynae's Dr Kowa from Mt E too... My 3 boys were all delivered by him... Hv been seeing him since 2001 when I was preggy wif ds1... He's really very friendly n fatherly... His nurses are very friendly too, hv sort of become friends wif his nurses and always chit chat wif them when at his clinic cos been seeing them for so many yrs... But be prepared for long waiting times during appts cos his clinic is always full, esp on Saturdays... All said, no regrets gg to him

Hi All, just wondering if you had the same experience with Dr Kowa like I am having.. I am now 15 weeks and have been seeing Dr Kowa since I found out I was pregnant. But everytime I have an issue (some skin problems and constant headaches), Dr Kowa would say it is not pregnancy related and would want to refer me to a dermatologist or neurologist. But online research shows that these are common pregnancy symptoms leading me feel like he does not want to be responsible for anything other than the pregnancy itself. His nurse also advices that I go to my GP, who in turn tells me it is pregnancy related. I am super confused

Dont get me wrong, Dr Kowa has been very nice so far but this point just erks me. Its like I cant really get the answers that I am looking for.

Hihi, so far I dun hv any such issues wif Dr Kowa. He's nvr tried to refer me to other specialists. Perhaps u could tell him u read from Internet that those are actually common pregnancy symptoms and see what he says?

Else u can seek 2nd opinion from another gynae if u really dun feel comfortable?

I just tested BFP and was being recommended by my friend to see Dr Kowa. However, I heard from my friend that Dr Kowa does the oscar &amp; detailed scan personally. There's no referral to sonographer. Is it true and can his machine be so detail in the detailed scan? Can anyone please advise me as I am confused whether I should go ahead with my friend's recommendation.

My 2 babies were delivered in KKH and has went for oscan &amp; detailed scan. However my previous gynae has gone to TMC which I dislike due to the crowded spaces this dragon year.

Hi minigingerbread
You don't accept pm...
May i know what extensive insurance coverage you have? What is the name of the insurance n how much? You may pm me back if you want... thanks