(2014/08) August 2014

Mummies, where do u all shop for affordable maternity clothings? Anyone tried Bella belt?
Tried looking at those maternity shops but they are not exactly cheap.. for me I just get a few sets for work to last me all the way until end of the term... At home I wear hubby's clothes lol

Maternity clothes are not cheap or that great looking. I have been trying to buy regular clothes in bigger sizes. Those a line dresses

Thanks for the assurance that it's fine not looking the bit at this stage. It's prolly just my impatience coz i kept thinking this isn't right. I was hoping to be spotted a pregger. JUst last night, we shared the news with a couple friend and the wife was asking how many weeks I am when we shared the news. I said 16, and she was shocked. Said she was expecting a 12 weeks or less answer coz she couldnt spot the slightest sign. I was in denims overalls (shorts type) with a singlet. I was hoping she could tell after sharing with her, and she said no.

But I'm pretty sure it shows when I'm seated down. The bump starts from breast down, is that right?

Another fear, I woke up this morning with a slight cramp at the lower abs, it lasted throughout the shower and after. It has since gone, but I am concerned if this could mean anything. Googled and found answers like ligament pains due to uterus stretching, but cramp should not last more than a few seconds. Mine lasted a good tens of minutes...

anyone experiences the same?

Thanks mummies for your inputs! Much appreciated.

Anyone experienced/experiencing dizzy spells? I was in church today, standing up. Suddenly felt breathless. Next I knew, my vision went blur and so did my hearing. Then I broke out in warm sweat. I grabbed hubs and took a seat. Took me around 10 mins to feel better. Hubs later told me that I was trembling.
I had breakfast in the morning.. My blood pressure has always been on the low side, but never experienced this before.

I'll be calling my gynae tmrw to check if there's any cause for alarm. Meanwhile, is this something common to be expecting? I was really quite scared! Can't imagine what could possibly happen if I were alone walking on the streets and this happens again.

Are you feeling better now? What did gynae say? I had this fainting spell once last week, but it was only for a split second. Was choosing grapefruits at NTUC and had this sudden fainting spell but it went away as quick as it came.

If it happened again, always grab a seat or hold on to something firm for support, if our reflexes are quick enough to react that is.

I think the raisins idea is good, I shall get a pack of that. Think the sugar level should be ok unless we drown ourselves in boxes of that.

Thanks for the assurance that it's fine not looking the bit at this stage. It's prolly just my impatience coz i kept thinking this isn't right. I was hoping to be spotted a pregger. JUst last night, we shared the news with a couple friend and the wife was asking how many weeks I am when we shared the news. I said 16, and she was shocked. Said she was expecting a 12 weeks or less answer coz she couldnt spot the slightest sign. I was in denims overalls (shorts type) with a singlet. I was hoping she could tell after sharing with her, and she said no.

But I'm pretty sure it shows when I'm seated down. The bump starts from breast down, is that right?

Another fear, I woke up this morning with a slight cramp at the lower abs, it lasted throughout the shower and after. It has since gone, but I am concerned if this could mean anything. Googled and found answers like ligament pains due to uterus stretching, but cramp should not last more than a few seconds. Mine lasted a good tens of minutes...

anyone experiences the same?

for now, the bump shld be below the belly button..

i think the cramps could be juz ligament pain, uterus stretching or baby turning position, nothing to worry abt. unless it's accompanied with bleeding, then better go see ur gynae immediately..

my whole family is down with flu.. i'm having running nose, cough, throat itchy, whole body aching, breaking out in cold sweat, etc etc, feeling terrible...

for now, the bump shld be below the belly button..

i think the cramps could be juz ligament pain, uterus stretching or baby turning position, nothing to worry abt. unless it's accompanied with bleeding, then better go see ur gynae immediately..

my bump seems to start from below the breast, when i sit down. And even when standing, from the side profile while naked, I see the curvature starting from breast down...instead of from below the belly button. Is there not normal?

@waiwish - I called the clinic this morning. Was told that dizzy spells are common. When dizzy, angle head downwards until feeling better. Not about the sugar level.

Interestingly, I drank sweet stuff yesterday afternoon and had a bad sleep. Kept feeling slight cramps on right and left side of stomach. I also asked abt this this morning and was told its common. Could be uterus stretching or baby moving (maybe sugar rush for mine hawhaw). As long as not continuous sharp pain (like bad menstrual cramp) and no bleeding, don't need to be alarmed!

my bump seems to start from below the breast, when i sit down. And even when standing, from the side profile while naked, I see the curvature starting from breast down...instead of from below the belly button. Is there not normal?
Waiwish, my bump starts from mybreast down .different women different pregnancy body.dun worry.

Called gynae coz my cramps returned, like a constant dull ache at lower abs. He said if the cramps subsides after 30mins rest, shd be ok but i told him mine started from I woke up at 7am and is on and off since. So he asked to see me this morning.

I pray it's just baby doing somersaults...

All's Ok. Gynae is concerned with my every call as he has classified me as a special case due to my history. It is so nice to be with a reassuring gynae who really cares despite seeing numerous cases in his job.

I feel very well cared for, and thankful he wanted to see me to rule out all possibilities before confirming cramps as being uterus stretching. He could have easily said its uterus stretching but he did the extra steps to make sure placenta in good position, cervix still closed and no signs of bleeding via scan.

Thankful! And prayers continue...

my whole family is down with flu.. i'm having running nose, cough, throat itchy, whole body aching, breaking out in cold sweat, etc etc, feeling terrible...

Try taking food high in antioxidants such as gac, pomegrante etc. I started taking gac juice with my #2 and I recover 3-4x faster from my flu....#1 going to infant care now so he brings back all kinds of viruses.....*sigh...

Called gynae coz my cramps returned, like a constant dull ache at lower abs. He said if the cramps subsides after 30mins rest, shd be ok but i told him mine started from I woke up at 7am and is on and off since. So he asked to see me this morning.

I pray it's just baby doing somersaults...
I also had these dull aches at lower abs... Not long lasting but frequent...

Yesterday I went for my mthly scan and when we did the ultrasound, bb is moving and kicking but I cannot feel.. lolz. Its like happening right in front of my eyes and I don't feel the kicks. I tell my gynae i have too much fats for the kick feeling to travel up to the surface. Thats why I don't feel. Haha..

Am having a Princess. Although not 100% but we didn't see the penis. Saw 3 lines. So gynae concluded girl but of cos detailed scan will be 100% and its end mth.

Try taking food high in antioxidants such as gac, pomegrante etc. I started taking gac juice with my #2 and I recover 3-4x faster from my flu....#1 going to infant care now so he brings back all kinds of viruses.....*sigh...

yeah I got my flu from my boy who is attending child care & then my hb got it from me. is gac juice safe? where can I get it? :)

Yesterday I went for my mthly scan and when we did the ultrasound, bb is moving and kicking but I cannot feel.. lolz. Its like happening right in front of my eyes and I don't feel the kicks. I tell my gynae i have too much fats for the kick feeling to travel up to the surface. Thats why I don't feel. Haha..

Am having a Princess. Although not 100% but we didn't see the penis. Saw 3 lines. So gynae concluded girl but of cos detailed scan will be 100% and its end mth.
Congratulations!! Can't wait to find out my baby's gender.

I can't wait to find out my baby's gender too. went for my monthly scan yesterday as well. my baby was sleeping with legs tightly closed like chopsticks. haha. hubby guessed that it might be a girl since baby refused to open.

I'm from Oct-2012 and Oct-2014 mummy.

Intrude in to check it out how much did you pay for your 20weeks detail scan, which hospital?

Many Thanks

I'm from Oct-2012 and Oct-2014 mummy.

Intrude in to check it out how much did you pay for your 20weeks detail scan, which hospital?

Many Thanks

$480.45 including OSCAR scan. Did mine at Thomson Diagnostic Ultrasound Centre at Novena Medical Centre..

I understand the detailed scan for 20 weeks cost 190 sgd at Thomson done by a nurse
In Gleneagles a Dr can do the scan too but his fees are 280 sgd

I understand the detailed scan for 20 weeks cost 190 sgd at Thomson done by a nurse
In Gleneagles a Dr can do the scan too but his fees are 280 sgd

Hi thanks for your input. I remembered paying around $120 during year 2012 at Mt. A

But not sure if the price hike by now.

Has anyone started drinking milk?

Which brand is recommended in terms of tried and tested benefits, given that taste is truly subjective?

I have been researching on the real needs of drinking milk during pregnancy since we are already consuming calcium supplements and getting other nutrients in our diet. PLus one of the clinic assistants actually told me milk is more for mommy, not the baby. So I have been debating if I should start drinking. I have been sampling brands from clinic though, like enfamama, dumex and friso gold. In terms of taste, I like enfamama chocolate flavour. But I take only half a cup and perhaps once a week or 4/5 days with the samples so far.

Would appreciate your advise and input!

Which brand is recommended in terms of tried and tested benefits, given that taste is truly subjective?

I have been researching on the real needs of drinking milk during pregnancy since we are already consuming calcium supplements and getting other nutrients in our diet. PLus one of the clinic assistants actually told me milk is more for mommy, not the baby. So I have been debating if I should start drinking. I have been sampling brands from clinic though, like enfamama, dumex and friso gold. In terms of taste, I like enfamama chocolate flavour. But I take only half a cup and perhaps once a week or 4/5 days with the samples so far.

I read somewhere that we need 1200mg of calcium a day, thereabouts. And our body only absorbs around 500mg each time.
I've started on Anlene (mixed with a bit of milo powder) in the morning. My multivits has 200mg of calcium which I take in the afternoon.
If I'm not lazy.. I'll make myself an Anlene + Milo at night. But rarely la! Tend to make myself a chilled Anlene Milo Dinosaur on weekends only. Haha.
I buy the Anlene concentrate 4X milk. One packet has around 500+mg of calcium. So two a day should be good enough.

My colleagues pointed out those milk formula meant for mothers have higher fat content so I have to be cautious when taking them. I am taking fresh milk now (Meiji) and trying to take in more calcium rich food liked leafy veg, broccoli and nuts. I think natural source better bah. On top of that, my super health conscious colleague told me before that cow milk is actually not very suitable for human body so rich calcium food is more effective in providing calcium. But I love milk and all diary products so I still take them as my main source of calcium.

I have been drinking all along.. But just normal fresh milk from magnolia.. has 500mg of calcium per serving.. seems sufficient for me. I drink 2 servings at least a day..

@wawish gynae advised to drink two glasses of milk per day.. Previously I told her I drink milo, she said milo calcium content too little.. Asked me to drink those HL choco milk instead..

But recently I started taking two calcium tablets per day (prescribed by gynae) Each calcium tablet has 300mg.. So I get about 600mg from calcium tablets and multi vits pill has 250mg of calcium.. In addition, I try to drink a glass of low fat high cal fresh milk :) since we need 1,200mg of calcium each day.. Not forgetting the food intake has calcium too..

I taking the Anlene 4x milk. Also drinking regular fresh milk. All daily. Kiasu hahaha

I bought maternal milk powder but gave up cos it actually worsen my constipation. . So I am taking HL milk. We have to continue taking milk cos bb developing bones and needs ro strength as they grow.. I started gum bleeding already so I have to increase my milk intake liao..

I find milk formula heaty too actually. I usually wakes up with very dry throat if I were to drink half cup the night before.

If normal Meiji and HL milk does the work, I'll give those a try instead.

Anyone has plans to place ur little one in infant care? I will have to and would appreciate suggestions and sharing.

I'm considering infant care.. Already place my contact with the one opposite my future house..each time they only take in ten infants, so I'm in waiting list.

I felt sad that I have to leave my little one in IFC :( but not much choices left.. My mom said she could offer to help up if I'm still in waiting list though..

My mom is already taking care of my baby niece who is turning 2 this year, along with a 7yr old niece and 12 yr old nephew. And my SIL just announced she's one month pregger (mommy of the baby niece) with no2, so for sure there's no room for mine in the house already. My parents are not young and though there's helper at home, it's going to be a handful for sure.

So I definitely hv to consider infant care. I'm thinking of kinderland at TPY Safra club, relatively new branch there. TPY Safra Club has a nice environment overall and new establishment.. At least I'm not too concerned with the human traffic flow there. Will check out kinderland itself.

Anyone has experience with kinderland infant care?

@starrynine , u r already put on waiting list? I'll need to check out the place tmr then!

Hi all mtb, i'm a silent reader here.. been reading since 8 wk pregnant.. i'm in my 19th wk now.. edd early Aug.

Hi shirley.. my gum been bleeding almost everytime i brush my teeth.. does drinking milk helps?

@wawish ya my future house at buangkok area.. So I suppose infant care service will be in huge demand.. Another infant care which my Frd recommended, my husband tried to call them and they said waiting list till march 2015.

My little one will be my parents' first grandchild.. But my mom also not young.. I'm afraid to tie her down and tired her with my little one..

maternal milk very high calories, will put on weight very fast. good for those who have trouble eating/ putting on weight. else normal fresh milk will be good enough to supplement the calcium intake.

I'm not taking any fresh milk or milk formula. Previously I have researched that milk is acidic and body will release calcium to neutralize. Thus body release more calcium then those we consume from milk.

Also get advised from nutritionist that milk contains animal hormones which is not good for human thus milk should not be taken as the main source for calcium.

But my gyne still think otherwise. Doctor n nutritionist advise usually conflict. :/

For me, I chose to consume calcium from supplement and other source of food.

@starrynine Oh buangkok and sengkang are populated with young couples so I'm sure infant care will be relatively higher In demand compared to matured estates.

Which infant care did ur friend recommend?

does drinking milk helps with bleeding gums?? I had lots of mouth ulcers, swollen gums & some bleeding. gurgling salt water & listerine twice daily helps get rid of them so far.

my #1 was in infant care, then now in the same child care. will be placing my current one in the same infant care too. already registered, hopefully got slot by dec.

mummies do register early if u intend to place ur child in infant/child care as the waitlist is usually super long.