(2014/08) August 2014

I been eating hock lam beef noodles add tendons summore :p
serious?! you had hock lam beef?!?!?! that's really tempting to me now...

my mom couldnt understand why I cant take herbs too....but i remember one TCM physician telling me not to take chinese herbs when pregger, there was a list but I can't recall exactly which herbs. Definitely no dang gui.

My chinese sinseh said coz for Bak Kut Teh, some vendor will add herbs which is not suitable for preggy woman. She said best to avoid unless is home cook one those peppery type.

Waiwish,

I also craving for beef soup.
Had hock lam beef soup noodles a few times Liao.
The stall at boat quay is too good to resisit.

Lol

I been craving strong n heavy food like laksa, beef noodles, prawn noodles etc...

N must be hot b spicy.

Happy Friday to all....

Bb journey,

Hi u know ur bb gender already?
I suspect mine is a gal.
N my temper so bad.

My 1st one is boy. Totally different.

I'm craving for sashimi :(:( but I can't eat until 5 months later at least

Me too! But i choose those reputable ones like sushi teh, & some other jap restaurants....where their 'sashimi' turnover is faster due to their busy business....moderation is ok!
d only food i hvn eaten is Ya Kun eggs & rojak! afraid of bacteria....hehe

I tried a trial pc for merries & goon. merries feels soft & comfy, very luxurious like that, but sadly doesn't contain my boy's poo well, also abit ex. goon is ok, slim cut & absorbent too, but only available at baby fairs & online, inconvenient to buy.
Me too! merries didnt suit my girl. alot of my frens highly recommended. it leaked big time for her!! hv u tried mamy poko? I think is quite gd too....

But steak has to be medium rare to be nice, yet we cant have medium rare now. So that's a no go too...
Wa
Waiwish, u made me crave for steaks too! Awwww.....me also keep thinking of steaks & korean bbq meats.....

Oh yes...another thing,
for new members who wanna join our fb group, do check your email for invite grp name:-
14milocereal08. most of them hv been added by other mommies.....

I am more kiasu cos I always remembered the Indian rojak food poisoning incident which resulted in a lady having a miscarriage. For me abstaining for a few months is to give me peace of mind

mudpie, korean bbq meat!!!! ... i love steak too. Droolzzzz...
Maybe we can hv a gathering to eat beef/steak. Hahahaha
hahahaha....ONZ lah!!! i think korean bbq is better cos its BBQ over the grill...so it's cooked! but the downside is eaten with raw veg & kimchi!!! so dilemma rite? lol

my frens all concluded tt i love meat, spicy, savoury & cheesy food, hot tempered = boy!! they said their personal experience!!!! oops.....
but seriously this preg symptoms quite different from my 1st....:D

hahahaha....ONZ lah!!! i think korean bbq is better cos its BBQ over the grill...so it's cooked! but the downside is eaten with raw veg & kimchi!!! so dilemma rite? lol

my frens all concluded tt i love meat, spicy, savoury & cheesy food, hot tempered = boy!! they said their personal experience!!!! oops.....
but seriously this preg symptoms quite different from my 1st....:D
Omg, mugpie now that you mentioned kimchi is raw.. I have been eating hahaa.. I feel okie after eating kimchi but not salad.. I miss my sashimi too! Husband said will bring me to buffet after I deliver... But by then need to breastfeed or go on diet..

Why cannot eat salad ah? Been eating loads!!

LOL....dont worry as long as "eating at moderation" I alwas believe in moderation...wahahaha
I read somewer we can eat salads too...otherwise how the angmohs survived in their countries. But u need to be a little more careful in salads...try to eat home salads where u washed them real clean & preferably not tos leaving in the open at tos salad bars...

I thought by BF will lose wgt very fast & no matter how much we eat also will not put on wgt! that is the best time to indulge in buffets! hehe....
eating sashimi & salmon during BF is gd cos it will aid in milk production...alot of my frens told me tt.... & during BF will tend to feel hungry easily wor....

I'll be 16 weeks tmr, but i'm still not quite showing. Jeans are getting tighter but still wearable. No one could tell i'm pregger. I'm concerned why it isnt quite showing.

In fact, only my mom knows about the news. Not anyone else in the family, they see me day in day out and didnt notice a thing!
I really hope to see the bump so that I know it's for real!!

I can see it myself when without clothes, coz I used to have relatively flat tums, i can see the curvature of a bump. With clothes, i look just like any other day...can't wait and bit worrying too. Tho gynae has assured me that some don't show till 20weeks even...

Anyone experiencing the same?

I have finally put on some weight though, 1.5kg i think.

I'll be 16 weeks tmr, but i'm still not quite showing. Jeans are getting tighter but still wearable. No one could tell i'm pregger. I'm concerned why it isnt quite showing.

In fact, only my mom knows about the news. Not anyone else in the family, they see me day in day out and didnt notice a thing!

I can see it myself when without clothes, coz I used to have relatively flat tums, i can see the curvature of a bump. With clothes, i look just like any other day...can't wait and bit worrying too. Tho gynae has assured me that some don't show till 20weeks even...

wow so envy. I showed so much earlier this time. need to change to maternity pants at 10weeks & put on abt 3-4kg already.

I feel more energized during my 2nd trimester, however, i get tired easily. For example, if i go out today, I'll need the following few days to rest at home before i have the energy to go out again. Is this normal?

I'm experiencing similar effects! My family members & I can see my stomach expanding (coz they know I'm pregnant) but my friends & colleagues couldn't tell at all. In fact some of them jokingly says that they are in the 3rd trimester alrdy if my size belongs to a 2nd trimester pregnant lady.
Unlike you, I'm actually happy that no one can see my bump yet. I seriously think a small bump is easier to manage than a big one. I even pray it will remain relatively small throughout my whole pregnancy.

I'm just afraid they use chinese herbs in the broth and gravy preparation which is why i am still hesitant.
Like the famous Hock Lam Beef Noodles, the service staff told me chinese herbs are used in their preparation. But he said he did see pregnant ladies eating at their shop....

Think it's just me being super scaredy cat.

In fact, i've been craving for beef noodles from these three places:
1. Lavender food square - the corner stall, really yumz
2. Toa Payoh Lorong 7 - famous beef stall with long q every lunch hour, near my office
3. Hock Lam Beef Noodle at far east square

My cousin had the TPY beef noodle v often during her #3 and urged me to eat beef noodle too. So I guess it's fine? Since her #3 came out perfectly well..

wow so envy. I showed so much earlier this time. need to change to maternity pants at 10weeks & put on abt 3-4kg already.
Im a first time mummy, albeit 4th pregnancy. :)

I heard second time mummy show earlier, but i really look forward to showing and seeing the bump for real! It's a surreal feeling and it gives me assurance that there indeed is a life in me....hopefully the bump will suddenly show one day, one SOON day!!

My cousin had the TPY beef noodle v often during her #3 and urged me to eat beef noodle too. So I guess it's fine? Since her #3 came out perfectly well..
hmm...really super tempting now....i need to get pass my hubs next. He doesnt allow, fearing the same. But I do know beef is good, rich in protein and iron. So beef alone definitely is good.

But steak has to be medium rare to be nice, yet we cant have medium rare now. So that's a no go too...
Ok, i am really hard to please!!!

I really miss beef noodles....wish i have an ultrasound scanning machine at home like those blood pressure monitor. That way, i get to check baby is doing fine, after i had beef noodles!!! :)

JTS- Idk how true it is but im told that UK gynae is against frequent ultrasound scan as the wave might affect the foetus. Eventho there's a hand held doppler available which midwives in UK use on the mummies which if want, mummies can get for own use to hear the heartbeat for comforting themselves. But again.. it's said that the effect of frequent use of these devices are unknown as not much research had been done on it. Wonder if it's available in sg.. if it is mummies who are paranoid about the baby wellbeing could probably get it to assure self when need to. :)

I'm craving for sashimi :(:( but I can't eat until 5 months later at least
Me too! Craving for sashimi all the time! My fave food before preg! I mentioned to someone around me that I would revenge and eat a lot of sashimi after giving birth but was told that breastfeeding also cannot eat!! Super upset! Must confirm this with gynae at the later stage. Hope it's not true!

I am more kiasu cos I always remembered the Indian rojak food poisoning incident which resulted in a lady having a miscarriage. For me abstaining for a few months is to give me peace of mind

Omg! I didnt hear of this before.. still continue eat indian rojak! Hahahha

I'm ftm now 17 weeks but nobody know I'm pregnant by look. Unless they observe my walking and tummy rubbing or saw me during my first trimester (with the puking and labored breathing) else they wont know.. just like how I won't get a seat in public transport if I dont ask. If i lift my clothes or wear those lycra tight fitting clothes then can see a slight bump.. hb told me his colleague was the same with no obvious bump till 3rd trimester then it grow really huge! I follow a msia blogger (cheeserland/cheesie) she's now 20 weeks and her bump is extremely small still! So it's nth to be worried about especially if it's ftm.. the uterus had not been expand before so it takes longer to stretch and grow. No worries! ;)

hmm...really super tempting now....i need to get pass my hubs next. He doesnt allow, fearing the same. But I do know beef is good, rich in protein and iron. So beef alone definitely is good.

If u scare ask the seller if there's any ingredients not suitable for preggy before ordering la.. they also dont wan to be sued if anything happen to u after eating their noodle. :)

@angelmh, tcm ok?? A lot of things we can't eat I thought? Such as Chuan Bei.. I used to take black plum and hornet when I got really bad, n my husband suggested Tt I take it this time. I'm just abit paranoid.. Not sure if I can..

you can go n see tcm and ask the physician. i always feel that tcm doesn't harm our body as compared to western medication. western medication we will get alot of side effects, whereas tcm we don't..

The list show prawn Mee too...
Tats my favourite for now too.

I ever ask the lady at Hock lam, she say can't disclose the herbs tat they use. But she say pregnant ladies been eating too.
So I also eat Loh...
Just she is kind to inform the chef that my slice beef to be fully cooked.

Bb journey,

Mayb we can go cocoa steamboat buffet.
Their thinly sliced beef is also cook and we can also make sure that the beef are fully cooked.

me too....

for #1, even at 5th mth also quite small.....suddenly it expanded more over 6th - 8th mth...
this current 1.....hai...now at 4th mth looked like im 5-6mth....but on mrt, standing infront of reserved seat, either they pretend to sleep or pretend not to see me!!

Baby-yun, I love coca but now cannot eat the oysters now. hehehehe

For my #1 also can only see towards end of 2nd trimester. Now i board train, got pple give up their seat or the other kind passenger will ask them to give up their seats for me. LoL

i'm in my 14 weeks, eating fine, but still didn't put on weight yet... but as long as baby is growing well, it's ok. don't worry. For my first preg, my tummy only show at late of my second trimester..

Im a first time mummy, albeit 4th pregnancy. :)

I heard second time mummy show earlier, but i really look forward to showing and seeing the bump for real! It's a surreal feeling and it gives me assurance that there indeed is a life in me....hopefully the bump will suddenly show one day, one SOON day!!
I know what u mean and I can't wait for the bump to be more obvious. I am in my 18th week going 19th soon. I bloat after eating so whenever I wake up on the morning I will lie flat on the bed and touch my belly, evaluating the size since it is the most accurate then. And I will stand and stare at myself in the mirror while asking hubby for the umpteen times if the belly is obvious. Hehe.. It is still small in my opinion. :p

Better be no guts than sorry ah.. right.. ppl do it and nothing happens probably to me is thy are extremely lucky. But luck may not be on our side all the time.. so since its avoidable. . Just avoud ba. 5 mths to go only!

That's true! will try to contain my beef noodle cravings till perhaps third trimester....or even after if i can.

will perhaps go with the suggestion of eating steak, just have to make do with well done steak.

We should have a beef party like one of the mummies suggested!!

Mommies can I check if the massage lady massage is served to relive the back ache? The back ache are starting to get bad for me ..

Hi mommies, just a gentle reminder. according to weather forecast the haze is coming back. It's better to stock up some good quality surgical masks. Pls note n95 mask is not recommended for pregnant woman. I would suggest to have air purifier at home too. Drink more water n vit C. Let's stay healthy!! :)

Mommies can I check if the massage lady massage is served to relive the back ache? The back ache are starting to get bad for me ..

most prenatal massage only start after 6mths leh. try swimming (breaststroke) & doing pelvic rotation on a gym/exercise ball. Just started doing the pelvic rotation on the gym/exercise ball everyday & swimming twice a week. helps relieve my backache! jiayou! :)