(2014/08) August 2014

I have been missing so much for this group...

Went through many tests and check up for the past few weeks.. All have been good so far.
Oscar result was ok... falls under the low risk but might have Thalassemia so went for another blood test again.

Think the Thalassemia is genetic and all my siblings got it so can't avoid that... hopefully will not affect the baby...

My mum and sis also have thalassemia so I also need to check for this.
So far been a week liao and the nurse haven't call me yet so I hope I don't have...

I have been missing so much for this group...

Went through many tests and check up for the past few weeks.. All have been good so far.
Oscar result was ok... falls under the low risk but might have Thalassemia so went for another blood test again.

Think the Thalassemia is genetic and all my siblings got it so can't avoid that... hopefully will not affect the baby...
As long as your husband don't have Thalassemia the baby will be ok. My mother and my siblings also have Thalassemia. My #1 is a healthy boy (but don't know he got Thalassemia or not) and this is my second. We tend to be tired easily ya

Any mummies experiencing diarrhoea?
I was told last week by gynae to slow down ny weight gain - too much pasta.
So have been having salad and fruits. Last night middle of the night stomach felt very gassy.
Returned to eating carbs and meat for lunch but I'm passing a lot of gas today and diarrhoea twice. :(

So have been having salad and fruits. Last night middle of the night stomach felt very gassy.
Returned to eating carbs and meat for lunch but I'm passing a lot of gas today and diarrhoea twice. :(
Diarrhea no but I need to avoid oily food if not I keep burping all day long and vomit everything... in fact I had constipation in my third month. Milk is another thing that makes me want to throw up but have to tahan and continue with the milk for the calcium

How much have u gained so far? I have put on quite a fair bit too and my dietitian is saying I eat too much,but nothing is enough to make me feel full :( so far I gained 7kg, now at 4 months exactly.

Both my husband and I are alpha thalassemia minor and hence I have to take Cvs test for every pregnancy to check if the baby is alpha major. Really very stressful for each pregnancy but very fortunate that all my 3 pregnancies turn out ok. I agree that being a minor thalassemia, we tend to tire out easily. Btw, wendily and xuefen_tan, are u alpha or beta minor?

Diarrhea no but I need to avoid oily food if not I keep burping all day long and vomit everything... in fact I had constipation in my third month. Milk is another thing that makes me want to throw up but have to tahan and continue with the milk for the calcium

Same here. I am so sick of drinking milk.

Both my husband and I are alpha thalassemia minor and hence I have to take Cvs test for every pregnancy to check if the baby is alpha major. Really very stressful for each pregnancy but very fortunate that all my 3 pregnancies turn out ok. I agree that being a minor thalassemia, we tend to tire out easily. Btw, wendily and xuefen_tan, are u alpha or beta minor?
Hmm I thought thalassemia is tested via blood samples from both dad and mom? That's what my gynae did leh...

congrats to those with good results ...

my result are no good therefore gynae advise me to go for my amino test ...which i will be going ... just hope for the best n prepare for the worst too ...

do be careful abt the salad dressings. had severe vomiting & diarrhea (probably food poisoning) when I had caesar salad during #1. had to take 2 jabs to stop the vomiting & diarrhea. was so worried that will get dehydrated & affect baby.

I ate lots of carbs & beef, & gained 20kg, when I had #1. but I rather have the weight gain & have a healthy baby.

How much have u gained so far? I have put on quite a fair bit too and my dietitian is saying I eat too much,but nothing is enough to make me feel full :( so far I gained 7kg, now at 4 months exactly.
Ive put on 5kg. At 13weeks now :(

Kopibeanie - how bad was yours? My stomach has been queasy all day. But not painful. Just gassy. And the diarrohea.
I was told if I put on too much, I might have issues in third trimester.. Too heavy, fatigue etc.

Wow, it is really stressful for you and husband. Great to hear that all your pregnancy are ok. Is there any different between alpha or beta minor? I'm not sure which I have..

Leanne, blood samples are needed from the person to test whether he or she has thalassemia. Both my husband and I did a blood test at KKH to determine whether alpha or beta after our blood test in normal health check show abnormal results.

I am not sure which group I belong to... Coz the blood test from Oscar showed I have low red blood count so Gynae suggest I take another blood test for Thalassaemia ...

They never call me so hopefully it's ok... Even if I am I hope that my husband is not.

I want to grumble on one thing!
Are you all experiencing frequent peeing alr?

Basically I have to wake up at least once in the middle of the night like 3-4am and I cannot sleep after that. I alr clear my bladders before bed and try not to drink water but still....

Usually I will try to hold it but it doesn't work hahaha still have to wake up and go...

Xuefen_tan, there are differences between alpha and beta. What I know is if a person is beta major, he or she will require frequent blood transfusion. However if alpha major, this could result in stillbirth.

Ive put on 5kg. At 13weeks now :(

Kopibeanie - how bad was yours? My stomach has been queasy all day. But not painful. Just gassy. And the diarrohea.
I was told if I put on too much, I might have issues in third trimester.. Too heavy, fatigue etc.

I vomited & had diarrhea every half hr or when I take water. started ard midnight. rushed to GP early in the morn & had the first jab. got better but didn't stop. so went to gynae in the evening & had a 2nd jab & scan to check if baby is fine.

btw, I feel gassy & bloated when I take vege too. used to love veges & fish, but can't stomach them now. craving for junk & fast food nia. :(

try exercising instead? I did prenatal yoga & swimming during #1. started aquafitness at 13W this time round. also current job requires lots of walking too. guess does help slow my weight gain.

Basically I have to wake up at least once in the middle of the night like 3-4am and I cannot sleep after that. I alr clear my bladders before bed and try not to drink water but still....

Usually I will try to hold it but it doesn't work hahaha still have to wake up and go...

me!! constantly thirsty & need to pee!! I got to get up ard 5am. super irritating.

I vomited & had diarrhea every half hr or when I take water. started ard midnight. rushed to GP early in the morn & had the first jab. got better but didn't stop. so went to gynae in the evening & had a 2nd jab & scan to check if baby is fine.

btw, I feel gassy & bloated when I take vege too. used to love veges & fish, but can't stomach them now. craving for junk & fast food nia. :(

try exercising instead? I did prenatal yoga & swimming during #1. started aquafitness at 13W this time round. also current job requires lots of walking too. guess does help slow my weight gain.

Wah ok.. Mine not that serious. Glad you got better then!!
Super dislike veg and fish.

Yessss. I will get my lazy butt moving. Once I buy a swimsuit. Haha.

Just woke up for the same reason and have a little snack as I was typing this post. =P

me!! constantly thirsty & need to pee!! I got to get up ard 5am. super irritating.
Constantly peeing yes, I wake up 3-4 times each night to Pee. Cant really get enough sleep every night, end up the next day so thirsty.

But the thirsty part, watch out for high sugar content which thirsty is a symptom.

Ditto! Wake up at least 2 times in the night.

Kopibean where are u taking your aqua fitness? Do we really maternity swimsuit? Or it's for later stage. Want to start exercising. So lethargic.

Hahha i wake up 2-3 x a night 2 pee haha.. go pee groggily den head back 2 slp haha.. most of d time its b4 d sun rises :(

I am in week 16 going 17 on Fri. I have never had a night that I can sleep through without waking up to pee.. at least 2 times. I didn't have much liquid before I go to bed at 10pm. This is making me tired and exhausted in the morning with no urge to go work.

I can feel it sometimes. Very mild type. The hard type will be when I am in some awkward position and bb doesnt like it and it will give me a good kick.

I cannot tell if its baby or just gas. Lolz.. sometime I got like a kick but I cannot tell if its from baby.. can they really kick so hard?

Hmm.. Not yet I think. I just cross 16 week. I think whatever movements are just gas

Yes! But u can't really see your tummy move... It's more like cramp feeling. Coz when I was doing oscar... The sonographer keep shaking the tummy to make the Bb move... And I was having the cramp feeling at the same time...

Wow 7kgs.. :) u still feel v hungry? Baby always makes me throw up things.tt baby doesnt like :( ystd was sesame ice cream... i hate throwing up boooo
I'm eating more than ever ... Last time I don't eat breakfast.now breakfast is a must else my tummy growl ... And afternoon I get hungry at 4 plus ... Actually gynae tell me I put on too much already

So nice that some of u can feel bb movement. So far I only feel pull pain like bb is pullin my umbilical. I read on line and was told usually movement can be felt after 18-20 weeks.

Congrats Xixin! Journey here on will be smooth and blessed...

I do not have good news to share. My genetic scan at Camden last Friday makes things worse, Prof Ananda says for my case even if harmony returns ok, it is still best to do amnio. NT seems to have increased to 4.1mm from the previous already high 3.3mm. And he found 5 soft markers...

I am still praying, praying for a change to have things looking brighter...we are still waiting for our harmony test report.
Might go with Amnio at 16w but really hesitant due to risk of miscarriage. I cant afford to risk this...i had 3 miscarriages in last yr, it is devastating.

I continue to pray for miracle and healing...

I do not have good news to share. My genetic scan at Camden last Friday makes things worse, Prof Ananda says for my case even if harmony returns ok, it is still best to do amnio. NT seems to have increased to 4.1mm from the previous already high 3.3mm. And he found 5 soft markers...

I am still praying, praying for a change to have things looking brighter...we are still waiting for our harmony test report.
Might go with Amnio at 16w but really hesitant due to risk of miscarriage. I cant afford to risk this...i had 3 miscarriages in last yr, it is devastating.

Believe that your baby is strong. I have a friend who skip oscar and did amnio as she has some bad family medical history.
Now her son is 1yrs+ old and starting to learn how to walk without support.

No doubt that amnio do have some risk of miscarriage. There are some who did amnio and baby is fine.

So... believe that you baby is strong and will pass the amnio! All mummies here are praying and supporting you!

Oh dear.. But nothing is certain yet, so stay strong, yah?
Continue to talk to your baby, give him/her lots of love..
With love, the best miracle and healing will happen..
Will pray for the best for you and your baby!
Jia you!!

Hi waiwish, will keep u in my prayers. Rest in His sovereignty while you wait. Cast all your anxieties to Him for He takes care of ALL things. How far along are you?

Waiwish 加油!God will bless you !

Stay strong ! Hugs

Waiwish we will continue to pray for u. Please stay strong and positive for ur little one. If u dun mind me asking what were the 5 soft markers that ananda found?

I guess u can eat anything in moderate besides raw food. I have been craving for coke everyday. . Its so hard to suppress the crave. . My 1st trimester I really didn't even take a sip and in my 2nd, I kind of loosen up and when I had my first can.. boomz! I want it almost everyday. Before preg. . I m already a coke lover. .