(2012) TTC for #1 2012 Mums!

lynzi, can share your receipe?? for nutella lapis?? 10 eggs seems better than 20... hee

ooo if you guys got banana cake receipe can share too? but not cheese cake though... im lactose intolerant... and i hate the smell of cheese...

lynzi>> me too...
i also wish to learn the nutella lapis from you.
can pm me?

thank you!! i love you ppl! u will help me be good housewife... my husband always complain im a lousy wife cuz i dont know how to satisfy his stomach.... hahahahaha

all this talk about baking make me hands itchy to go bake my cookies now!!

<font color="aa00aa">I post here easier can?

500g butter
180g sugar
1 tsp ovalette
10 large eggs
1 can (397g) condensed milk
260g Hong kong flour
100g Horlicks
200-220g Nutella
Another 200g Nutella to drip over</font>

<font color="green">

nb01, what a dearly wife heee.. i love to cook but no chance for me
buttermilk , NTUC have else Cold storage but those NTUC at mrt station or mini supermarket wont have

<font color="aa00aa">Beat butter, sugar n ovalette until expand. (around 10 mins)
Add in eggs one by one and continue to beat (around 7-8 mins)
Slow down the mixer n add in condensed milk.
Turn mixer to slowest speed n add in HK flour n horlicks bit by bit. Beat until all evenly mixed.
Separate batter into 2 parts.
The first part, leave it.
Second part, add in Nutella n mix well.
Bake layer by layer.
On the chocolate layer, use a spoon to drip Nutella on it.
Continue baking layer by layer until all the batter is finish.
Bake at 180 to 210 degrees depending on your oven.</font>

peapea
I am also craving to bake my cookies! Esp since I just bought 2 new 3D cartoon moulds! Can't wait to try them out! But someone mentioned cannot eat too much butter? So still holding back for now. Sigh...

missycandy
First Cuisine... But still share the pics and feedback!

SJX
I am an ok wife only. My hubby will say I am a lazy wife coz always trying to take shortcuts in cooking and nowadays getting lazier so he is starting to see the same food on the table. Haha..

Lynzi
I also need step by step guide! Tks!

Lynzi
Tks for the recipe! Looks easy and can use mixer so might try it out!

Btw, as missycandy asked, can omit ovalette? Also, if don't have horlicks, how?
And, if want to make normal lapis, just omit nutella and horlicks?

<font color="green">i am so glad i get to know u all haaa as can get free baking tips..
decided! start baking since dont have to worry here and there anymore</font>

lynzi>>hmm..was wondering how come can put the whole egg n not the egg yolk only? will the texture be the same as the normal lapis? i guess i will need to improvise abit as looks too sweet for me le.

nb01, by the time i am done baking right, i have no more appetite... it is just to satisfy my craving to bake and smell the cookie... then hubby will finish them up! my niece loves to come over and eat the cookies too... sometimes she can like take one tupperware of cookies back... horrible...

i have winnie the pooh mould! but used it once when making butter cookies.... now i stopped... bake choc chip cookies only... hahahah

ahhhh i really want to buy a mixer!!!!!!!

peapea>> sure, no problem.
will pm you tmr. i have a book of my own receipt at home.
for banana, i prefer to make it into banana milk shake.
add banana, ice, full cream milk, vanilla ice cream. blend it!!! yummy!! NICE!! especially hot weather now. is a healthy drink.(apart that it is cold:p)

<font color="aa00aa">Peapea,
can use handheld mixer but u need someone to help u either with mixing or adding.

Yup can omit ovalette.
Each layer only bake 6 to 8 mins.
First layer start with top n bottom heat.
Second layer onwards only use top heat.
If use top n bottom heat for all layers, the lapis will become dry n not so nice.</font>

peapea
I am also like you! Only like to bake and not eat! Haha.. My hubby always has to finish up and last time, I would give to my colleagues and get them to be my guinea pigs too! Hee...
A mixer is very useful and help to save time. I still like creaming by hand but think mixer helps a lot. Maybe can get a smaller or cheaper one to try and then can upgrade to Kitchen Aid!
haha.. I am bad!

You have the winnie the pooh mould? Good to use? But can only use for certain types of cookies right? I also make more chocolate cookies and cannot use cutter. Sigh.. Still trying to see if I can just "stuff" it inside the mould and use! Haha.. But will not come out nice as cannot see the shape clearly and so many "polka dots"

nb01, i will try to convince hubby to get a kitchen aid instead!! so skip the smaller/cheaper step... cuz once i have one, he wont let me buy another!! hahahaha

lynzi, my oven is like those oven cum microwave hence only two layer... shld be alright right?

<font color="0000ff"> I'm eyeing kitchen aid!!! But hb says no
kns! Currently I'm using some cheapo one. But can use ok la. Worried it burn out . Lol. Sometimes can smell burn smell when mix long</font>

nb01, i think difficult to use the mould to make chocolate chip cookies lei... and i prefer choc chip cookies than butter... i think i bought the rice mould too where u can stuff rice into the mould and use it for bento... all these in anticipation for my future dragon... hahaha...

eh i know, make mini pizza from the cookie cutter... but damm small la...

my friends got me the pooh frying pan too to make pancakes but erm... havent even touch yet... ha!

(no im not a pooh freak... i just find pooh cuter than the others... )

peapea
Wah.. you are smarter than me! I kena conned by my hubby coz he said buy smaller one first and next time, can upgrade and now he says no $$$ and since the cheap one works fine so no need upgrade!

bearGE
Your banana milkshake sounds fantastic but fat leh... Nowadays, I do fruit smoothies with bananas and fruit juice so it is less fatty. Hee..

Nb enjoy your trip... Let us know if it is nice... Cos lalu became very expensive per night after the Korean sHow... But very nice n romantic... Now ttcing... Need to save $$$ but don't let hubby go there, he would sulk, say work so hard, should enjoy...

peapea>> i bought mine last weekend in the philip warehouse sales. Was thinking to get a better 1 end of the year(christmas sale) together with a coffee maker.

i told my hubby i smell of cakes after finish baking.
hee..hee...

Ya, pls do not bake the lapis with both top and bottom heat hor... i only bake with top and bottom heat for first few layers. you need to gauage your own. normally i would prefer my bottom layers abit brown.

missycandy
My hubby also says NO! *sob sob*
Maybe next time when I have my little dragon, I say buy for me so can make nice food for little one. Hee...

peapea
High 5! I also bought those sushi moulds! For my little dragon! That is the one I am thinking of stuffing the dough into. Haha..
I also find pooh cuter than other designs but I bought mickey and tigger. You should know why, Mickey and not Minnie, right? Haha...
I want that pooh frying pan too! Where to get? Only saw on overseas websites!

misscandy>> i line my baking tin with the baking paper.

nb01>> you can replace with the low fat milk.
For me, i love full cream milk. Hubby said the way i eat, lucky i dont gain weight easily, if not, his pocket going to burn 1 big hole for me to slim down. hahahah

Jessica
What Korean show? I dun watch Korean show.
I was deciding between Lalu and our hotel and hubby preferred ours coz newer and also it is the only one in Sun Moon Lake that is in the Small Luxury Hotels of the World. We like this kind of boutique hotels so giving it a go. Hope it is nice! Will let you pple know! And hopefully my water dragon will swim to me too! Hee...

bearGE
You are really lucky lor.. Add vanilla ice cream somemore.
I really need to lose weight so holding back on all these. Haven't eaten ice cream for months!!! Boo hoo...

btw, where you ladies bought your kitchen aid mixer arr? Trying my luck see whether hubby wants to sponsor me or not. test water.. wahahha

nb01>> no lar..my mum kind of worry for me lor..as worry i malnutrition since when i was young. thats why i need to eat healthy especially full cream milk. As for vanilla ice cream, i also choose milk type. so that i can intake more milk(calcium).

bearGE
You are really going to buy huh? I am so jealous!!!! I can only psycho hubby to buy the products from Cold Storage so we can enter the lucky draw to win the KA mixer! Wahaha...
I was also mal-nutritioned when young and my mum also fed me all these full cream milk and ice cream and eat until I balloon so much during my teenage years! ARGH... I don't mind being skinny. At least better than being fat like now lor...

nb01>> no lar..i am trying to test water first. He sure wont buy now lar. as i just got 1 from philip ware hse sale,remember? where can see the mixer arr?

<font color="aa00aa">I also wana get KA mixer.
Think must wait for mayer warehouse sale then cheap.

Missy,
line with baking paper.

Ok going to cook liao.
Today only making fried macaroni with shredded omelette.</font>

Nb01, I help u find the link for the frying pan. I also want mickey, but my hubby wants minnie ;)

Ok ppl I'm leaving. Signing out from the kueh lapis/baking class for today!! Hahaahah

Nb, remember to post pictures... Hehe I also never watch Korean shows... My friends told me.... That should be a good recommendation... Just enjoy n be romantic ;) and u wld have a swimming dragon...

Hmmm my holiday like don't have water... How to get my dragon?

nb01>> Although KA is nice , but i find abit complicated leh..very scare of too complicated machine.
Lucky my taste is not as expensive as yours. hahaha. i guess if i continue baking like this, i may get another mixer real soon.

bearGE
Complicated meh? I thought it is just a normal mixer. But then, I never "play" before so I also dunno.
My taste is expensive but got no $$$, so expensive also no use! Hee....