(2012/02) Feb 2012

hi mummies, does fenugreek really works?

Im doing all i can now, but dont seem to have enought supply!
Im drinking papaya soup, eating the papaya and fish! Drinking red date longan tea. Drinking water and also drinking NAN's milk for breastfeeding mum.

When i pump fist thing in the morning, the most i ever achieved was 80ml. Subsequent pumps are 30-40ml.

When i latch, after a while (20mins or lesser), my baby unlatches himself and starts to wail so loudly! I assume i dont have anymore milk. It this assumption correct? I supplement with FM thereafter.

I wonder if i should try Fenugreek as the Lactation consultants at Mount A advises against them..

My bb is 3 week old this monday. Born 27th Feb @ Mount A.

Serene- if you are taking Motherlove no need separate fenugreek, there is fenugreek in the supplement already. I think combo of Motherlove and Dom is enough, no?

Joeles,
My bb 5 week old also latches for 10-20min then unlatches herself, then scream out loud! I try put my nipple into her mouth agn and she stil suck vigorously.she can do this few times in one go. So either she is in unconfortable position when she latches, or she feels hot n uncomfy of her body eg behind the neck etc. after adjustg ste seems fine. Usually after she pui my nipple out, if she feel contented, she will dozed off immediately.

I took fenugreek 2 tabs x 2 for 3 days. Today stop liao. Seems supply went up, or is mental. Also getting v fast let down and milk sprays from nipple by itself when it happens. Sometimes can get 160ml.

Joeles, I bot gnu fenugreek recently. Definitely won't be able to use up the 200 capsules one. If u wan to try I can send u some. Did the LC say y not advisable to take fenugreek?

GG, that's a good increase! Mine still can't see the sight of 160. Haha.
My girl is still looking slightly yellowish, on the face and corner of eyes. But much better le.

Beemummy, regarding fast let down, I read somewhere tt mummy shld lean backwards when feeding, instead of forward, so tt the letdown will not be so sudden for the bb.

Happytomato, Tracy does not advocate letting bb cry out. Her method is carry bb off he bed if he cry, once stop crying, put bb back to bed. Bb cry again, carry n comfort, put back bed again. This can repeat many times though until bb learns to self sooth on his own. Will b very tiring but worth it in the long run. I still trying, but so hard to comfort her. Not sure how long I will take...

To mummies who have finish confinement n breastfeeding, what drinks do u all take now?

Khim I just fin my confinement! Celebrated the end of confinement by having a nice italian dinner and wine!!! Been like almost year cannot touch alcohol, missed a glass of good wine! But had to dump 2 pumps though. Never mind la enjoy 1 day the will be a moo moo production again.

Bringing my gal to pd tmrw for a check. Her rashes getting worse and I scared it lays the foundation for her complexion next time man! She is a gal, dun wan her to be pimply when she grows up man!

On drinks, I will continue with red date for another 10 days. But won't be as strict, I will occasionally take water, milk etc. As compared to only taking red date water, Milo and horlicks.

And I wanna get a gong cha for a sip later!

Watched a documentary yesterday on 'breast ironing'. So scary, some African countries the mums will iron their daughter's breasts once they start developing breasts, using fire heated stones etc. Purpose is to flatten and distort the breasts so won't attract attention from men and so call ' protect' the daughters. Result is the breast tissues are totally damaged, breasts out of shape of flattened down or scarred due to burns. And they couldn't breastfeed at all when they become mummies next time. Super inhumane leh. Me and hub totally grossed out!

Hi sweetcorn, yes! Let's Jiayou together! Yesterday I got into an urguement with my mom, so stress till I really thought of giving up bf. so I went to the mall n shop since I no need to latch bb on... Who knows when I came back 4hrs later, suddenly can pump 95ml!! So, the mood can really affect the supply. But it's really tough to tell oneself not to be stress, when u see bb's needs cannot be met. Especially after seeing dr last week n he said bb not growing the rightful weight.

I believe we can do it, just a matter of time n the mummies who persever will get the sweet ultimately,

Besides taking fenugreek, how to have a fast letdown eh?

GG, congrats on r end of confinement! At least now not much restrictions for food. Hehe~

My girl also having rashes on her face n tummy area. Have to bring to pd?

Actually I already taking cold drinks. Wonder if will affect bm supply?

Hi ging3r, same like u... I express the milk out too so that I know the amt. but I still latch on so that bb can helps stimulate the nipples. So the routine is latch on for 10-20min or till she fall asleep. Then when she wakes up, usually 1hr later, feed expressed milk n top up with fm. In between latch on and next feed, I will express milk to prepare for the next feeding session. Hopefully this wil work to up the supply.

Khim, yeh! But as long Bfg still will have restrictions lor like probably can't anyhow eat raw food (oysters, sashimi etc) or processed food like fast food etc. Will wan to eat as healthy as possible.

My gal rashes is v bad. Face and neck. Tmrw bringing my elder one see pd so bring my gal too. Read dat rashes are itchy one so thot she quite poor thing, cld be itchy but can't say. Me and hub was just reflecting for no 1 dat time he got like 3-4 dots on his neck we already rushed to pd. Bb no 2 now so much rashes and gal some more and we just let it be. So decided to go bring her. And can get overall 1 mth assessment of her well being too. Weightwise she seems to be doing well. Put on 1.4kg from birth, hitting 5 kg.

Bought my bb see doc yesterday as he had bad flu

Ask doc a few questions and hope can share with u girls too

Re: frequent puking of milk
It's not a concern as long as baby weight gain is ok. Average 1kg a month is good. After burbing bb, try not to lie them immediately, make them sit upright for another 10-15min.

Or we could change formula to Enfalac AR as is has a kind of thickener so that it could stick to bb stomach.

Re: patchy on eyebrow
It's like the scalp. Just apply baby oil on it 30min before bath and later during bath - clean it off with do.

Scared tea, anyone taking?

Suggest u can blend it yourself, I went to this shop 723 north bridge road. U can buy the fenugreek seeds, milk thistle and mixed it yourself. For the same pack, its less than 10$.

Nana- your bb got flu? Thought newborns supposed to be healthiest cause of their vaccine n immunity level?

Regarding the heat rashes on neck n head- think weather is really hot these few days, my baby had some too on neck. Can we use snake powder on babies' heat rashes?

GG- can I have some of your feenugreek to try, can pm me? I'm on yogi tea which contains feenugreek too but din seem to help.

Really? Duno leh ... Maybe it's my fault as I got flu myself and hence passed to him. Hopefully he can recover fast. Today (Monday) is the third day already ...

Long time no "see"! By now, all of us shd be very busy wif our prince/princess.... super tired and deprive fr sleep!!! Argh!!!

Can anyone advice on lochia... Currently entering my wk7 but I still having lochia... not really heavy that need to change pad frequently but still consider as bleeding as I can see few drops of blood coming out when peeing...Is it normal? ..... Pls help to advice?

hi sweetcorn, thanks for sharing your experience.
will make sure to check and let him be comfortable.

Hi GG, thanks but i found out my neighbour has some and will be getting it from her soon.
Anyways, the LC advises against it because she knew of somemoe who took it, den oversupply, had to undergo surgery to stop the supply.

Anyways, i sprained my left wrist. Guess could be too much carrying or wrong way of carrying. Now, i am wearing a wrist guard.. anyone has the same issue?

Also, my bb has alot of bb acne on his face. Is this similar to heat rash?? How can i help him get rid of them?

need your advise on when we shld start to stock up bm?
how shld i go abt it to stk e bm in freezer?
accumulate a few pumps, put in chiller 1st den trf to freezer?
my bb is gg to ifc in may.
any gd recommendation on storage bag?

Hi mummies! I'm back! Been busy settling 2 children coz it's school closure today! Finally both napping at the same time.

I think I had enough of tingkat meals. Would rather go to those zi char stall and pack back. Don't order from this Chu Wei San Tong. 1)The taste is very bland 2) Lunch arrived at 920am! Expires by 1220pm! 3) Canned food eg hot dog etc

Hilltop - the other tingkat I ordered is not bad. Feels healthy portion is just nice for 3! But I still prefer to cook myself! So I ordered a Happycall pan!! haha!

Today my lunch reach me at 920am! On the label it states I need to consume it by 1220pm! This is so ridiculous. So don't bother ordering from this It is worse than buying mixed vege rice from the hawker!

Joeles
I can feel my wrist and fingers aching too. Just short of spraining it. Been trying to be very careful with the method of carrying baby but sometimes in the process of positioning bb in a certain angle to clear a block duct, I will twist my fingers. I think the wrist strength also matters. So I usually try to put bb's head on my arms then I'll lift him up.

My bb also has a lot of bb acne! It comes and goes in days. But it seems quite bad today! I usually apply california baby aloe vera to clear it. It's the bb's holy grail! Maybe I'll bathe him with jing ying hua in the evening to clear it.

geyser
I am still having lochia too. It came back after I became more "active", going around running errands! A few mummies mentioned it's normal.. I am monitoring!!

Nana
Take care ya. When bb is sick, usually mummy is the one who gets sleep deprived. Hope your bb recover soon!

GG
Congrats on completing your confinement! I just graduated from my 40day! Here comes the cold drinks! Heee...

Looks like many mummies here love bubble tea leh! We should have a bubble tea outing!

Wahlau is hell after CL left! Almost like never sleep last night! Keep waking up as bb cry, either for milk, shitted or just wanna b carried. I am so tired! Wonder how all the CLs can tahan the nature of their job!! Today my supply suffered tremendously! Think not enuf sleep and stress.

Jen, sure! Just give me ur address to send.

Joeles, tks. Oh if dats the reason I not so worried. I doubt I will get into dat over supply stage.

Joeles,

I brought my 6 week old gal to the PD this mrng cos she has red patches and scaly bulges that looks like pimples on some parts of her face and neck...diagnosed with heat rash + eszema...so sad

Doc says it will be gone if constantly apply the extra gentle shower foam and shampoo (cos kena her scalp also), cream and moisturizer...poor thing.

Now need to monitor coz lately weather very hot, so must make sure she has fan blowing her and keep her cool....sigh..

geyser,
im also into 6 weeks and still having yellowish lochia...hoping it will subside soon.

GG Lee,
hang in there! it's parenthood and the phase will pass very soon. me and hubby kept telling and reminding ourselves. let's jia you together!

Recently, my gal having one of those growth spurts...cranky, wakes up regularly at night...non stop feeding (hourly) ...cryyyyyyy until hoarse voice...jialatt. doc says its just one of those phases...boh pian one..

it's true, time flies...and when you realise your precious one has grown, you are contented with the achievement. and smile that at the end of the day, it's all worth it

and don't stress, if you dont have enuf supply, let baby latch still. baby latch will enhance milk supply but need to be patient...now my left side has higher supply than the right...total also not enough to feed my hungry baby...i just let her suck right side more. then if cry again an hour later, let her suck right again. next cycle will be left. im tryin this method..hopefully can balance up soon.

Sweetcorn, tks! Ya man, yesterday age keeps wanting milk I gave fm hoping she will sleep longer at night. So tired! Today see my supply even more sianz! Yesterday day time was still ok one but tks to a sleepless night suddenly supply super drop. Still trying to fig out her cues. V heartpain when I heat up ebm thinking she needs a feed end up she din wan drink and I had to dump away!

Hey mummies, my sis suggested using 小苦瓜to boil water and add it into bb bathing water. It helps to relieve heat rash for my niece. My CL recommend the bathing solution LACTACYD. We uses that to bath bb, for hair and body. Available in NTUC. So far so good, my boy heat rash was better after a few bathe

GG! Ganbatte ne!!
Ya it was super tiring after CL left! But 1 week after, things seem much more manageable now. I am juz glad that bb goes back to sleep right after drinking for the night feed!

I also feel that bottle feeding will have more wastage of BM! So I will latch if I am home and bottle feed when I am not. On the ave about 3 bottle feeds a day! Hence not so heart pain.

Sigh my dear bb is afraid of cold - no aircon no fan! How to cure his rashes?? But I think his condition is worse during confinement compared to now.. hence it might be the heaty food we ate? My face was also full of bumps then! Really like mother like son! haha

Evon
1. You shd start storing once you have excess.
2. Store in amounts that your bb drink. Eg 100ml/120ml/150ml/180ml. The max size for milkbags is 180ml so far. Coz you can only keep thawed EBM for 24hrs in the fridge. Storing in smaller amounts reduces wastage. If bb needs more, you can always top up with fresh EBM. There are milk trays that allow you to freeze into 30/60ml bars like ice cubes. But I find that contamination will occur with all the transfer from trays to ziplock bags.
3. You can accumulate and store but ensure it's pumped on the same day else the expiry follows the "oldest" milk. I will also note down the time on the bag too.
I personally prefer to freeze freshly pumped milk directly to the freezer to retain as much nutrients as possible. Same concept as buying fish/meat from supermarket and freezing it to retain its freshness.
4. Do note that milk in fridge expires in 48hrs. Freezer 2-3M. (Depends on how frequent you open the fridge and temperature). Deep chest freezer at -19degC 6M.
Milk has expired once it smells bad or taste sour. (Some milk will smell bad even though it's not spoilt due to some enzyme that's present in the mummy's milk. Rare but it happens - like me! :p Pre-boiling bef freezing is supposed to remove the enzyme but I'd rather bb put up with the smell than kill all the nutrients!)
5. Milkbag recommendation - lansinoh! Double zip lock and BPA free! Volume marking is accurate though it is not an essential. So far it has not leaked on me when I thaw the milk. It's affordable if you buy it online or direct from states. (half the price of SG!) Else there are alternatives such as BOOTS (Can buy online or from BKK), Some korean brand, or others that comes in a long continuous roll and you can use cable tie to seal it. Chk out bulk purchase/overseas spree thread.

HTH.

Babymummy, tks! I will try latching bb more now dat CL gone. But I scared if bb dun latch well never extract enuf v fast will need latch again and I really won't get any rest. Far cry now w/o CL. Was so relaxed during confinement. And this bb seems more sticky wan carry compared to no 1. Maybe cos gal?

Re tingkat, think I will end up getting Neo garden. Think getting sick of confinement food plus I still a lot of leftover herbs, probably if wan can cook myself now and then rather than eat confinement everyday. I make my own red date and herbs drink now.

Keep fingers crossed bb will guai guai tonight!

Hihi ladies,
Been super busy after sending CL back. Taking care of 2children rely nt an easy task. Super tired n lack of sleep.
Nw i cut down expressing session cos rely cant manage 3hrly pump. Sianz.
Bb on 3meal FM n 5-6meal BM. But she cant poo leh. Been to PD once to insert supp to release e poo last wk. nw she again didnt poo for 2days le. So stress up abt her pooing system.
Any1 has same prob? I already change her FM. Frm enfac to similac. Dunno needa change again anot. Argh!!!

can i ask for mummy that are tested GBS postive is there any additional tests needed to do for baby when they are born.after our labour will we still be on drip? i am due soon just tested GBS POSTIVE so quite worrying thus asking for advices.thx

Natbaby, ya I fully understand man! Totally exhausted with no 1 running around and no 2 crying due to poo or hungry or gassy. When CL around was so much better. My bb also poo less now that I give 1-2 fm at night cos I really cannot tahan having to feed so many times bm at night. My CL always encourage bb poo by making the mmm mmm sound, with bb legs up and diaper open.

Since u still give bm as well, can try eating papaya or drink prune juice. It goes into bm which will help bb poo too.

For moms that pump, I need some advice please. When I pump both sides are uneven, so don't know how to store the milk. If I get 90 ml one side, but only 60 ml the other side I store them separately. But what to do with the 60 ml - just combine with another "small" volume milk from another day when feeding baby?

I only pump 1 time a day (if that) and don't want to just throw milk away.

And how do moms take care of their bean sprout pillows please??

Kristen, u will put be on anti biotics for a wk to clear the GBS. If u deliver before that, you will be on antibiotic drop thru out labour. I delivered before the GBS was cleared. After bb was born, the pd just run a blood test to confirm that bb did not get the GBS infection when she passes thru the vagina birth canal. Anyway, with antibiotics, the chances of bb getting the infection is greatly reduced.

Beemummy:
Yup usually I will combine the leftover from previous pump
But I make sure it will b consumed within 12 hrs from the initial pump..
Even though fresh milk is added, the lifespan is still calculated from the previous pump
But since u only pump once a day maybe it's not advisable to combine them

Any mmummies here will feel sore down there when walking too long?
Mine was v sore yesterday n hav to sit down n rest before I continue walking =\

Al, no need to buy the tea u can buy the leaves fr the market tekka market or indian veg stall. Add them to your soup. The leaves v cheap too. Indian and Filipinos eat it a notmal veg .

Tried 2 days don see any effect.

hazel

if i completed my antibiotic before birth that mean i would be putting on drip during labour is it. How can the gyn be sure that GBS is totally cleared after antibiotic medication.also does my baby need to do the GBS testing if i completed the course of medication before labour.thanks

Kirsten, cOmpleted the antibiotic course means cleared already lor. U worried then asked your gynae to test again after that.

Hi Netbaby,
Why not u try Friso1 milk?
I heard it good for digestion therefore I started this brand for my #1 and #2. Both no issue at all with pooing. Almost everyday poo at least 3 times.