(2012/02) Feb 2012

Hi ladies! Something to share when we feel discourage when comes to bfdg..

http://sg.******************/breastfeeding-is-just-so-hard-and-i-feel-like-giving-up-why/

Xia,

Thanks for e assurance, guess I'm over reactive by e info found online.. now aft hearing fr afew mummies I feel more assured

Thanks mummies!

Sorry to disturb.

I have a very good condition Medela PISA backpack pump for sale. Bought it about 5 months ago, and this is a spare pump which I only use in the office once a day on weekdays. As I have anoher pump at home, for this one that I am selling, I only used the pump itself, hence all the accessories + backpack are brand new.

What is included (ALL brand new) :
Backpack
Battery Pak (8AA batteries not included)
Removable cooler carrier
4 collection containers & lids
2 x 24mm PersonalFit Breastshields
2 valves
4 membranes
2 Tubings
Cooling element
Instructions

Will also include the following extras :

30 Lansinoh milkbags
4 Medela Pump & Save Bags
2 valves
4 membranes

As this is an US set, it comes with the voltage converter as well. The original box the pump came in is also included.

6706444.jpg

Selling for $290. Pls PM me if interested. Thanks!

Gg, give half half? Best of both worlds? ;p

Really so many hubby going overseas, abit bad la, but I feel better now.. Was thinking where got ppl leave wife alone so soon after birth.. Felt so sad.. Guess work wise, they really no bian hor..?

Hi icyclaw, hee me already gave $28 for the first day AP so won't be changing le. But the last day one can give big if she is good
Like a performance bonus

icyclaw:

what ive read is for us to avoid chicken essence for the first 12 days after delivery....based on my own c sect experienced for #1. i drank fish essence n later chicken essence n kena keloid n my friend with 3 kids say it is a no no es fish essence...then i read somewhere tat we r supposed to avoid soya sauce for the first 12 days or so too.....cant rem why. let me google n get back to u

oops:

hi "5" we r in the same boat man!! so many similar situations! we shld meet up for coffee after we deliver :p
the reason y i m trying vbac is also becos i cant afford the long down time too as hubby is actually stationed overseas. he is jus waiting for me to pop n he'll leave....
so in a way i m going to do confinement in spore w/o hubby...hiaz...
my #1 is 3.5yr old. wat about yrs?

u hang in there!!! remember to bring yr binder to the hospital in case u need it. if u have previous keloid n need another c sect. rem to tell dr to cut off the old keloid. frm what i hear....u dun even need this...if u can already stretch to 2.5cm! u r on the right track to a successful VBAC! :p jia you!!! really waiting for yr gd news! rem wen contractions come. take a deep breath...in n out n the pain will somehow b able to manage. try to relaz as much as possible n if really cant....dun play hero n ask for epidermal if u r too tired or u cant take it but try not to ask for it too early ...try to "tong" to 5cm...anything b4 that might slow down labour but listen to yr body

Pineapple you stay in the east? TMC have pd at 112 katong Dr Menon, quite a nice lady. We've only been once though FYI. Not sure if wanna take jabs there or at Polyclinic. Lol supposed to see her again next week for follow up. She was rather detailed the first time and spend almost 30-40mins with me and dd to find out her history coz premmie.

Anyone got Facebook can add?

icyclaw, haha I think both chicken and soup nice. It is sweet, but in a nice, different way! I like confinement food lah... so maybe different from most ppl :p

kirsten, I think usu the gynae will recommend PD? Not sure about TMC...

Chewie - LOL! Tink it's ok ba. Prob a few weird stares. But plane itself also v noisy and pple with headphones watching movies so tink nobody really cares. Heh. Eh v nice ur Dom chix? Can share recipe pls? =p I got alot Dom left over from last confinement! My CL dun cook tat leh. My mil kiP ask me to drink neat... =.="

Babybreath - no probs! Enjoy the rest of ur preggy days! =)

Kirsten, pineapple - my pd is dr ong WH. Recommended by my gynae. His clinic is called aglow at united square.my #1 still seeing him and #2 I req for him too. I like him cos he v nice, frenly and reassuring. Downside is the waiting time to see him abit long cos he quite popular. =) if u mean a pd at tmc itself there's tis other dr ong eng keow I tink. Discussed with happytomato previously. Cannot really rem. Was from her research. Haven seen him b4 so no comments but u can chk it out cos heard got gd reviews also. =) can chk with ur gynae also.

Wah indo maids also $450!! I can't imagine how much I have to pay philipinos then.... Oh dear..... Which maid agency is good? I think I need a maid soon... Once my confinement ends, I will be alone with 2kids.. So scary!!

Hubby also left sg for work... Counting down the days ... Looks like a lot of our hubbies all very bad :p keke

We intend to bring baby overseas when she is about 6 months.. I think the suction from the pumping will freak the rest of the passagers out!! Haha

15 days into my confinement, 15 more to go!!! Must tell myself to hang in there!!

For all mummies who are still waiting. Let's Jia you! My edd is Tml and I'm also waiting it out. Gonna have a hearty breakfast before Gynae visit in the morning, just in case need to admit immediately. I hope to see the little one soon!

GG, my girl having jaundice too. Eyes n skin yellow. With the gloomy weather, Just let ur bb drink more milk so that she can flush out frm her system thru poo n urine..

Mummy I took my maid from advance link at bugis . Tel no i think is 63343003....Very pleased with my maid. Personally I think it a heng suai thing. If lucky u get a good one else chg n chg. My maid w me for 2 plus year. Since I had my first one. I like fresh from indo maid w prior exp from indo. Dun like maid w experience outside indo cos they know market n can be hard to manage. U need to decide what u want maid to do so easier to choose. Ie is ur priority cleaning or cooking or looking after kids etc. It took me 3 mths to get my maid cos I was lookin for maid fresh with experience looking after kid in indo . so I found one who looks after a dr kid. Well train n clean helper. Good luck in Maid hunt

Zeal, I wear until the massage lady comes. Can really see my preggy tummy has flatten quite a bit.

Re pd at TMC
Mine is Dr Ang Ai Tin from the bb clinic in TMC. She's quite ok but always very busy. Queue is also super long, can wait up to 2hrs just to see her.

To mummies taking fenugreek,
Do u all experience diarrhea when taking 3 capsules 3 times daily? Read tt diarrhea is one of the side effects n I kanna quite badly. Have stop taking le.
Any idea if sacred / lactation tea really works?

Jiayou to mummies who are giving birth soon! Ur turn soon to see your little precious!

Khim, tks! Have u gone back for pd review on jaundice yet? Mine supposed to be today but hub overseas a bit hard to bring. Yet worried seeing her yellow eyes. I heard can also do jaundice test in polyclinic?? At least slightly nearer than go all the way to tmc. Any mum go polyclinic for such bb checks before? How does it work? Need appointment or just walk in ok? Normal pd like Kidslink etc can they do jaundice blood test??

My CL suggested we buy this herb from medicinal shop, supposedly good for jaundice. Is to bath bb in it. My mil went to get liao. Going to try it out. Hopefully tomorrow got sun also so can sun bb as well.

Yup been breastfeeding bb mainly plus 1-2 fees of fm. Bb been passing shit 6-8 times a day, hope it clears the bilirubin soon. My 4 day old drinks 60ml every 2 hrs now.

GG, I will be gng back tml to do the review.
I know that some mummies bring their bbs to polyclinic for jaundice check-up. I think you have to call the clinic nearest to yours to check if they have such service.

I also got a chinese herb to bath my girl, not sure if it helps. But can just try.

GG, take bb to polyclinic & press new born on the q number dispenser. New born no need to q. Also, results out on the spot. Eyes yellow better bring bb for blood test. Dun wait for hubby to be bk Leow.

Morning gals, I'm in office today. Hahaa... everything went bk to normal last nite. Think the manual induce (stretch cervix) don work for me too. Really worried I won't dilate again leh. Cos no reaction even I'm aldy 2.5cm dilated.

Pineapple, ur hubby worst leh, stationed overseas. At least most of our hubby only fly in and out of sg. Thanks for the advice. My #1 going to be 18mths in a few days time. Going into the terrible 2 stage now. Super sticky and naughty. Don knw how to handle 2 young kids on my own leh. Are you working or a SAHM? We can meet up after our confinement.

Scared tea, also contain fenugreek. Can go this website on scared tea. .
http://breastfeedingwomen.com/index.php?route=product/category&path=59
I tried it once but done see the difference. Only find it expensive, one week supply is one packet $30. Whereas capsules only one month $30.

FENUGREEK SEEDS and POWDER Combo: (Trigonella Foenum-graecum)
(increases milk flow) - Fenugreek seeds contain hormone precursors that increase milk supply. Scientists do not know for sure how this happens. Some believe it is possible because breasts are modified sweat glands, and fenugreek stimulates sweat production. It has been found that fenugreek can increase a nursing mother's milk supply within 24 to 72 hours after first taking the herb. Is widely used today by herbalists as an agent to stimulate milk production by nursing mothers to increase inadequate breast milk supply.
Fenugreek is one of the world's oldest medicinal herbs. It has a variety of uses, including increasing breastmilk production.

Aldalfa
Alfalfa is One of the more common galactogogues (milk supply increaser) enriches quality & production of milk supply . Alfalfa is used with homeopathic remedy Lactuca Virosa to stimulate milk production in breastfeeding mothers. . - the alfalfa proteins contain essential amino acids such as arginine, lysine, theronine and tryptophane. These amino acids supplement any deficiencies due to lack of essential nutrients in the diet.

Khim, no offense pls, but personally had bad experience w Ang Ai tin.. Wld not bother to go and queue for so long to see her ever again..

Gg, great! Hope that your CL will be fantastic! ;)

Kirsten, think best to confirm and dun leave it to chance. I left it to my gynae to arrange as my usual pd does not go gleneagles, thinking just use 3-4 days, nvm.. But he actually charge me $1200 for the pd charges (still charge me things like bcg vaccination charge etc!), when market rate is ard $300 only..

Chewie, yes, do share recipe.. I aso have Dom left dunno what to do w it..

Pineapple, Tks for reply.. Shitz! Hope that I dun get keloids again!!

Sinking Merlion, Tks for info.. Now feel abit more assured n can ask my mum to cook the brandy Liao..

But mummies, I have a question 3 week plus baby gal drink how much Ebm in 1 session? My gal drank abt 120ml n refused to sleep and eyes still open big big n keep fussing until I finally latch on for 5mins then she sleep. Ebm left ard 30ml which we feared to push her to drink cos like too much and anyway she also kinda refusing..

What is the problem here? Issit cos she bad habit wan to latch then sleep or really wanted to drink more? Any advice?

Icyclaw, I dun like AAT. In TMC, no choice coz my gynae allocated my bb to her. Her PD fees r even more ex than my gynae's fees even though she didn't do any procedures while my gynae delivered me!

My belle is coming to full mth this sat. She drinks 105ml 3-4 hourly, EBM or FM Same. for EBM 2-3 hrs when she cries for milk we will give her. At times she can't finish too.. ESP in the middle of the night. Bbs r like this, at times, after feed, dun wan to sleep. Belle also.. ESP after 7pm feed,, she wana to be carried till 9-10pm feed! Haiz..

Oh, I took the dosage as recommended by TMC LC. Mayb o reduce the dosage and see if the diarrhea will stop.

Opps, dont worry so much. You are a strong mummy n will b able to handle.

Serene, thanks for the post on sacred tea n fenugreek. Any idea where to get alfalfa?

Icyclaw, no worries. Able to share your bad experience?

Khim, my hubby's PD friend also told us not good things abt AAT. Was told she ever screwed up things before n hv to refer the cases to other PDs to resolve. But my gynae told me she ever nursed a premature bb of 350g back to full term...

To me, some checks she did r not necessary & she didn't seek our consent before doing. Eg, she said belle has single umbilical artery (SUA) instead of 2 when she couldn't find the other artery at her umbilical cord when she did the drip. So, she sent her for an ultrasound of her organs (kidney, liver, etc). I google online what is SUA & found out that the other artery is redundant once bb is born. During pregnancy, if SUA, pregnancy is high risk as there is a concern of bb gets the nurition fr mummy, etc. Also, I had all my checks done at KKH specialist clinics before I followed by gynae to TMC in jan. no way KKH missed the SUA thing during 5 mths scan. I told my gynae that she did US on belle co of SUA. My gynae first response was the same as me as shared above. He also said US is not necessary since belle is safely born. What crap is that meh.. The US cost A few hundred bucks!

Also, when belle was in NICU coz of lung infections, she sent her for chest ray almost every day! Why wan to subject the young bb to so much radiation. Medication also takes time to response & can see she was gettin better when she cld breathe better without panting..

To me, she is super KS.. A gd PD shld do what r required not coz due to KS.

My bb PD is oso AAT.
Mayb aft the 1st month check up, I will switch PD. The carpark charges at tmc is horrible esp when parked at basement.
AAT say some full month bb can drink even up to 120ml milk.
Sounds alot for their small tummies eh..

Chilli, she told me belle shld be drinking 90 n then 1 wk later 120ml during the check when she was 2 wks old if not she wun grow! Goodness! She can't even finish & she was under 3kg then. We all know the Amt of milk intake is dependent on the weight of bb n te no of feeds a day. Not all bb can take 120ml. That time, I gong gong, tried to give her more. But no pt forcing when bb cant finish right? She enda up puking only.. My gf twins 6 mths old only drinking 150ml & so chubby..

Hey, do all of us take the same amt of food daily even If we r of the same age?

Hazel, my baby 3 days younger than urs! Even though I aso do baby shower this sat
105ml ah.. Wow.. Ok, maybe she really didnt have enough.. The good thing that came out of this exercise, she was doing 2hrly feeds most times, but last night after, she wake up to feed only aft 4hrs.. ;p

Aat - my #1 had flu n went back for a follow up visit and as she fell down a few days earlier, it seem to affect her walking, and when I asked her abt it, she say it's ok. I was explaining but she walks funny: she simply sort of twist my gal's ankle abit and say something like "see, she is not in pain, if hurt, cannot do this"! Also that time I was asking her what is singulair, seems like quite commonly prescribed for cough n flu, Issit something like lung tonic? Her ans aso quite abrupt n I left without getting any answer. It was only after I consulted an ent specialist then realise it is actually something for allergies..

Opps, wow u back to work??

Hazel, I totally agree with u. Some docs I find over KS end up overprescribe treatment. I din like the pd from tmc so far. So this round I decided not to go to her for the nb review. Will go to one of my regular Pds.

Wahlau x rays are v harmful lor, really shouldn't do too much. When no 1 went kkh the locum there wanna do x ray for his bad cough, we were like wat the hell?? Need or not? End up we refuse to let them, and went to a reputed pd and he proves to be good and he agreed x ray not justified at all.

Icyclaw, Dumex just sent me 6 cans of stage 2 FM & other stuff... Coz my bb is first 88 bbs born at tmc... But she is drinking enfalac leh...

GG Lee, yup, I'm back to work. Cos both my hubby and boss say better for me to be here. So many ppl around me and very near to KKH (I'm working in novena area). If I'm at home, I will be alone. Last nite I'm so bored and keep thinking when the contraction pain will come loh. Until I called my friend to chit chat then feel better. Tonite hav to ask my mum over to accompany me. I'm very lonely at home now every evening. Hubby at mil hse taking care of my #1 in the evening. And he also work late last nite.

Hazel, can sell or keep for future. Cos when change to next stage, bb might wan to change of FM brand. Cos different stage different content, bb might not like it or tummy cannot take it. If really wan to change, u can try tis sample out 1st instead of buying.

Hazel,
Wa at 2nd week, AAT already told u to give bb 120ml??
Thatz sooo much!

AAT play on the safe side but overly KS liao.
Good that u hav switched PD.
I'm switching soon too.. Haha

Mummies, pls advise.. For Ebm since every drop is precious and need to be chilled / frozen then how do u prepare for baby? Bottle can sterilise before hand.. But milk? Cry aldy then go and warm up? By the time warm finished, baby cry the house down? Yesterday w hubby, he warm, I sayang baby, so worried to wake #1 up. But if alone how? Yesterday, by the warm finished baby was silent and gave a very blank open eyes look! Freak me out!

And also how much to warm up? Since so far seems like baby this age can go up to 120ml, warm up 120ml and throw the rest if can't finish? Or warm 80ml & 40ml and let baby cry in the mean time?

Seems fm much easier at least can make almost immediately and the most is throw.. Ebm still gotta scared not enough supply.. Stressed!!

Hazel, ur experience much worse than mine le! Condemn Liao!!

Wah! So gd free so many tins of fm! Go sell la, anyway it's stage 2.. Esp if expiry date not very far off? And if really next time need samples can request.. ;p

I just delivered my bb girl last Friday through emergency c section. Just need some opinion from all of you. Do you give fm if your BM supply is low? How much ml do you give? I am in a stress mode now coz I wanted to give BM but now I have to resort to giving 80% fm and 20% BM.