(2012/01) Jan 2012

jac
super envious of ur gynae lo!!!
my gynae is a mono syllabus guy and dont say much lei...so i got to ask prompt him to ask him questions la...
errmm i presume massage is like normal massage before preggie? Got to lie down flat right? I dont feel comfortable lei...when I lie down flat for too long, i feel v tight on tummy area...

ya for chix essence normally i will drink like once/twice a week...my hub kan cheong lei...he was like scared i under nourish bb...kekekee but i also drink adhocly la...scared it will affect BP level also :p

jingles,

normally for prenatal message, you will be asked to lie on side instead of on your back or facing down.
I have not tried any prenatal massage before, one of the massage lady actually told me that it is not encouraged leh....but i do agree with Jac that it is a good pampering for pregnant lady

Jac: Thanks for the info. Will drop by TMC to get them

jingles: think just go see gynae to confirm. Scully it's nothing and you're scaring yourself with the self-test. I'm sure it's nothing so don;t worry too much

moscato: hehe..small co is good..not so much politics..hehe..i scared of those co that has alot of politics then everyday have to wear armour to work..sianzz..haha..and then kena arrow and die also dunno..stress sia!

so sleepy today.. baby kicked me hard in the middle of the night last night..haizz..cham ah..hope he will learn to sleep through the night soon when he's born! otherwise i'll be in panda club liao..keke..

meeiee
errmm my TMC dr also advise me before...that when go for massage for to be wary..cos scared ple anyhow press press..

vanessa
ya...actually my GP last time used to tell me also...info on the internet can kill -.- that is why best to see them and not self diagnose..

i am also v sleepyyyyyyyyyyy yesterday didnt sleep well -.- mayb the midnight storm stops - looking forward to the midnight storms so that the wind can lull me into a good sleep!

Morning mommies! Mid-week Wednesday! can start to count down to the weekend le! So looking forward ;)

Jac- wah so good take half day to go massage and shopping! So envy! So you got the baby kicks cloth diapers too? I didn't receive the voucher leh, they say their website down so they extended the validity of the voucher till end Nov and they will send them to me once their site is up or something. Did you get yours already? I quite like their cloth diapers. I got one 3G and organic one, material not bad and they use hemp material which is suppose to absorb better rite? I've been to bumwear at United Sq and yes the sales told me the same thing, can use the prefolds together with the one size then switch to inserts after 3 mths. I bot 5 pcs of NB and 5 pcs of premium size prefolds then. But I think we can also use the babykicks cloth diapers since they say can fit NB as well. I will see if the baby fair have any promo for moo moo kow cloth diapers cos their material look quite good as well. Alittle more ex, $30/set i think.

The disposable panty cost $4/pc ahh? I got the cotton type from Watson, $3/pkt (5 pcs in each pack) I think should be good enough since we are just throwing it away after 1 wear.

I also feel like going for pre-natal massage. My back is aching like mad! Especially the sacrum area, I guess cos I sit too long and the body weight is pressing on the nerves around that area. So painful until i need to ask my mum to massage for me for the past 2 nites, or else duno how i can come to work.

Jac- is the pre-natal massage for the whole body or they concentrate on certain areas only? So tempting, really feel like going for one too!

jingles, no need envy.. i paid her a bomb sia.. & also bombarded her with so many (stupid) questions (e.g. baby's leg shorter than mean how ah?, baby's weight heavier than mean how ah?, etc etc) that she got kinda exasperated & told me not to worry so much lo.. hahah.. prenatal massage u got to lie on your sides & back (never facing down).. the strength they use is also gentler but does help to ease the shoulders & back ache.. they'll also avoid the tummy (& breast if u tell them to) totally.. so i think it's quite safe ba.. juz got to keep to reputable shops (e.g. those who specialise in postnatal massages?) & do it after the recommended 6 mths.. but it depends on ya own comfort level lah.. i used to go for regular massages during pre-preggy (like once every 1-2mths).. so feel so deprived when i can't go massage during preggy.. so hit the massage centre immediately when i hit 6mths..

alicia: enjoy your bali trip!! muz be looking forward to it rite...

re work:
my peak is over so i self declared to come work late to avoid the crowds in the public transport. b4 my pregnancy, i always come to work early one. but now bb 1st. i now no longer want to "jeong" coz i have family comittment, rather go back on time...

re: maternity clothes
i started wearing my 1st maternity top...but guess what...no one offered me a seat at 1st. 1 man and 4 women seated there with eyes open. the one at the reserved seat wore heels somemore. haiz. after 3 long stops, then this man looked at me for a long time, then offered me a seat, haha. i told my dh i didnt give up enough seats to pp who needed it last time, so my karma now...lol.

jac
kekekeke wahhh ur gynae not bad lei..still will entertain such qns...i can imagine my gynae's face. He will sure go >.< big time!
ya..i feel uncomfy to lie on my back lo...i am more to a side sleeper now.
me too, last time i will go combine facial/massage but now better stop since advise by TCM dr.

jkids
u are v funny :p on the sentence "didnt give up enuff seats last time..."

mrs gui,

i got 2pcs of the 3G one.. coz more colorful &amp; looks cuter (shallow rite? hahah..) &amp; also it's waterproof..

i wrote to them regarding the voucher.. reply as below.. i'm also still waiting for their website to be up to utilise the voucher lo..
"We are sorry to inform that the launch of Zerzula.com has been delayed due to some unforseen technical issues.
The voucher validity has been extended to mid November on VoucherWow website.
Zerzula staff will contact you directly later with the gift certificate code after the launch of the site."

yeah, the moo moo kow looks good.. very nice colors.. but more ex than bumwear leh.. think i'll wait till baby grows older than buy more one-sized ba.. in case i can't persevere with all the washing of cloth diapers..

the TMC "disposable" panty is not really disposable.. it's a thin cotton with lots of airy holes.. easy to wash out any stains.. u can see moscato's post/review/pic a few pages back.. i will be getting the normal disposable panty for the first 2 weeks so no need do any washing.. then use the TMC "disposables" after that..

the prenatal massage is whole body except the tummy (&amp; breast if u ask for it).. u can also check out traditional &amp; holistic postnatal centre (http://jamumassage.com/) &amp; origins jamu (http://www.originsjamumassage.com/index.html) which are also highly recommended on forums..

Jac- ya I got the same reply as you! I think that is their standard reply ba! Shall wait for the voucher then see can get better deal or not. Ya the 3G ones more colourful, but i like the organic colourful buttons too. So decide to get one of each to try out. What colour did you buy? I got the bright orange one heehee...super bright!

How much is the bumwear one ahh? The last time i saw at the babyfair, moomookow selling $30/set but comes with 2 inserts so I think its quite worth cos 1 insert already about $8. Shall see if they got better promo during the Oct fair.

Oh i saw the disposable panty pic...is the one with holes. Ic...since can reuse, then it should be worth the $$$.

Thanks for the link. I thought of checking out traditional and holistic post natal centre. Ya i read from the forum, so mummies say its good. Aiyo so many options now. Duno which one to choose le!

So happy to see our Jan thread more active now

Mrt seats - mayb can tap the shoulders of those who r sitting at the priority n point them to the picture of preg n old pple needing the seat. Get to see their reaction n embarrassed faces!

Michele - it's a great idea to look at the remaining wks to delivery than now how many wks.. Seems much shorter tt way! Haha! But I'm just 6 days af u how come u only have 14 wks to go while I have 17 wks to go?? Full term is 40wks, right?

jingles: ya sometimes read too much on internet really will scare ourselves..hehe..:p

jkids: you very funny..."..karma.." haha.. next time just sayang your tummy and that should be enough hint for anyone to give up their seats! or better still learn from my friend who blatantly just told the fella sitting at the reserved seat while she sayang her tummy "I need this seat, could you please get up?"..hahahha!

mrs gui,

i bought 1 white (with multi-color buttons) &amp; 1 blue (with white buttons).. the organic one is not waterproof leh.. so u'll be using a cover as well?

bumwear is $27 each for the one-sized (http://www.bumwear.com/shopping/clothdiaper/catalog.php?category=14).. but think it doesn't come with any inserts.. then seems like moomookow is more worth it hor.. online also selling $30/set leh (http://www.pupsikstudio.com/moo-moo-kow-tm-one-size-cloth-diaper.html).. wonder if it'll be cheaper at the oct fair.. don't tempt me!!! muz psycho myself to wait for baby to grow older then get more one-sized!! hahah..

online reviews for babies bellies, traditional &amp; holistic, &amp; origins jamu all quite good.. so i chose based on price lo.. heehee.. actually i went for prenatal is also to check out their skills &amp; service before committing to their postnatal pkg.. so far quite happy with babies bellies.. so think i'll juz stick to it for postnatal ba.. but frankly i think traditional &amp; holistic has the most positive reviews.. so maybe u can try that if u don't mind the price..

hi mommies...been awhile since i logged in...wah so many topics covered!
Babyfair:
I'm definitely heading to the baby fair this oct to compare prices...not sure if its gonna be better then pre-xmas sale...i think we still got time to think right.

Cordlife seminar this sat:
any one else going? i was approached at the clinic by a cordlife rep..and i got a bit of an idea what its all about but hubs prefer listening more to it before we commit on anything.

MRT seats:
omg..no matter what i wear nobody gave up their seats! so jkids i totally understand how you feel. Worse experience was i was going for a seat and a teenager actually "fought" for the seat! and i lost..haiz maybe my clothes was too big for them to notice. so the next day, i wore tighter and more obvious to show off the bum and guess what a guy "fought" the reserved seat with me and the end i had to say "can I have the seat please" and he had no choice but to give it to me... what an experience!

anyway my details:
EDD: 20 Jan 2012
Hospital: TMC
Gynae: Dr Lawrence Ang
Child order : #1

happy mid week mommies!

Jac- i dun tink will use a cover for the organic one or else baby will be wearing so many layers le. Maybe put double insert for that one loh. Nber think of that...haiz....buy liao just try loh. I may get the moo moo kow one at the fair. I think they will throw in another insert ba, price should be the same. But as u say duno if we can tahan long enough to wash those diapers since I'm not getting a maid to help out.

Ya i'm now comparing the price for all 3. Seems Traditional &amp; holistic has better reviews and they teach you how to massage for baby also. Orgins one they do for baby for 2 sessions. I think for babies bellies, you have to pay for it. Maybe at the fair they got better promo?

mrs gui, i saw ppl selling a mini 2kg washing machine at raffles exchange (above raffles place mrt) last week.. $148.. looks really useful esp to wash baby stuff on daily basis.. but i din get coz gonna get maid.. hopefully she'll do a good job hand-washing baby stuff daily.. else i might consider getting the mini washing machine.. babies bellies also got 1x free baby massage (will teach u also) &amp; 1x free scrub if u sign up for their 7days or 10days pkg.. how many days u getting? i'm considering their 7days pkg.. $399 (for 7days) + $6x7 (for transport) = $441..

sweetchocz, i think jingles is also going for cordlife seminar? i wanna go but hubby working this sat.. can update me if got any cordlife promo? thks!

Hi Mommies hope all of you had a good lunch! 2nd half of the day! Getting nearer to the weekend! Jiayou!

Jac- yup I tot of getting the 7 days one as well. Seem babies bellies is the cheapest among the 3. S$441 is their nett price? They recycle the bengkung isit cos their website say we must pay a $20 refundable deposit for the bengkung.

Wah 2kg washing maching...must be small and cute! I guess will use my normal washing maching to dry baby clothes, will hand wash baby clothes if i wash daily i think the qty shld be quite ok.

mrs gui, babies bellies postnatal pkg is $300 for 5days, $399 for 7days &amp; $550 for 10days.. but got additional transportation charges (per session) of $6 if near mrt, $7 if mrt + lrt/bus, $8 if mrt + lrt + bus.. they quoted me $441 nett for 7days pkg coz my house is beside mrt.. yes, need to pay $20 refundable deposit for the bengkung.. i suppose is recycled ba.. but i dun relle mind since the towels/cloths/etc at spas are also recycled.. oh btw, the branch at United Square is offering prenatal massage at $39.90 for 1st time trial.. maybe u can try them out? no hardselling at all so no worries.. but dun sign up for their postnatal yet.. if want can sign up during baby fair to get the free goodie bag (they mentioned baby wipes, pampers, etc)..

will u be checking out traditional &amp; holistic? i'm interested to know if they are good &amp; if got any promo..

jingles, what made u decide to donate it?? i still undecide leh.. on 1 hand wanna save $$ coz read that the probability of using the cord blood is quite low.. but on other hand dun wanna stinge on baby juz in case if he relle needs it next time then will regret.. how ah?? $$ vs regret.. i'm more inclined to bank it.. but wonder if it's relle necessary..

Jac &amp; Jingles- talking about cord blood banking. I was actually quite keen at first cos my fren encourage it. But after reading, I've decide to donate it to the public cord blood bank.
I think if you plan to haf a 2nd one, the its ok cos we just need to keep one child's cord blood. And as you mentioned its pretty expensive, I think i will only consider for my last child. First one can do a good deed to donate to the public first.

Jac- thanks for giving me the rates. Wow the pre-natal massage sound even more attractive to me now. Got promo price! Ya maybe i should go try it then decide if i wana sign up their post natal package. That means I should go before the baby fair la! Duno they got slots of not!

As for Traditional and holistic, from the website, for 7 sessions is $530 and I'm not sure if they include transport or not.

mrs gui
"after reading"?
u read the article hur?
ya la...after reading, i also reconsider lo...
cos initially i am quite keen de

but for mummies u have to decide it carefully afterall once u decide to have an account, its a commitment of at least 20 yrs...must well invest in a better insurance policy...

pssstt..i am NOT an insurance agent :p

Jingles- i didn't read that article but i read others somewhere some time back. So that made me change my mind also...

Yes its a long committment...20 yrs leh...after that wana cont'd the child can continue to pay or something. My hubby say use the $$$ and buy a better insurance policy better haha! But for now..wun consider la. I'm sure we will have healthy babies!

cordblood:
i guess its a tough debate..but the article is really an eye-opener..i'll see how it goes after sat's seminar n see how then..

mrs gui
yes...and its not a guarantee when you need it, you can use it lei...due to so many factors. So may have invest on something that turns into nought when u really need it lo...

sweetchocz
yes, its a tough debate and a personal choice..so best is read article and decide for yourself before discussing with others so that decision wont waver.

Jac- Thanks for the recommendation, I just book the pre-natal massage with babies bellies. I need to get the motherhood mag to enjoy the promo price. Gng to buy later le! hehe!

If they are good..maybe can consider their post-natal as well. Duno got buddy promo or not, then we can sign up tgt. Wait till the baby fair the see what they haf to offer. When are you going to the fair? Fri or weekend?

Jingles- ya i agree. Cord blood banking is just for safety precaution, just like buying insurance. Pray hard no need to use la...baby will grow up healthy. ;)

mrs gui
yes its a lot of $...insurance if its under the policy sure can claim. But for cord blood, its rather shaky. Too many variables already.

i have decided to donate my #1 cos my hb &amp; i feel the cost of private banking is too high for us. Like what Mrs Gui said, use the $$ to buy insurance will be better choice for me.

And since SCBB officer told me i can retrieve back the donated cord blood if it has not been used, so why not donate it? Also depends on your family medical history la.

jingles, i read the article b4 liao.. but still can't decide.. sigh.. is it a must to commit for at least 20 yrs? cannot juz commit 5 yrs ah? coz i read that cord blood is most viable in the first 5 yrs nia..

mrs gui, need motherhood mag? i juz did a walk-in yest &amp; they gave me the $39.90 promo price leh.. :p u called the golden landmark branch or united square branch to book? i'm going on fri.. but maybe sat &amp; sun too if i can't finish buying all my stuff.. hahah..

Jingles, when i donated my #1 cord blood, i was told there would be a $20k fee if you need to retrieve the cord blood from sccb. If your child's cord blood has been used by someone else, your child will have priority in searching for a matching donated cord blood.

And do note there is only a 60-70% match if you intend to use one of you child's cordblood for another of your child

And sccb staff will call you at at 6 months and 12 month after donation to check on your child's health. Just to make sure the cord blood is ok.

Jac i called the United Sq branch...they ask if im a member, then i say no, so she ask me to get the motherhood mag. Maybe u r their member that y they offer u at $39.90? Oh you going down this weekend? I made my appt on 15th, nx Sat after my aqua aerobics class at KK. U still got alot of things to buy ahh? Did u go to the cotton on kids shop....their things so cute and nice! Aiyo i go there later end up doing shoppin again! haha!

jac
i guess when ple commit they norm do the 20 yrs thinggy...cos since already commit must well continue...so seldom they will give up halfway. But of cos you can clear all these doubts in their talk tis Sat

cordblood: I'm opting to donate..too expensive to keep..

wanna ask if any mommies still go for facials? do you feel uncomfortable lying on your back?

vanessa
i am doing self facial mask...
i cannot lay flat on my back for long anymore..tummy will feel v stretch..

i am using those TW face/eye mask

Vanessa- i went for facial when i was about 4-5 mth preggie, yes its alittle uncomfortable to lie flat on ur back for 1 hr but my beautician very nice...she actually move the headrest higher up so i'm like lying at about 45 degrees, when i had the mask on. So not that bad. But if your tummy too big...i suggest skip facial for now cos abit uncomfotable if we have to lie too long on our back!

Seem most mommies opting to donate to the public cord blood bank huh! Good...doing a good deed for your little one! ;)

jingles and Mrs Gui: yah tummy very uncomfy..i'm going for facial later...see what can the beautician do to make me more confortable..haha..need to go relax sia.. love the face massage! hehe :p

Vanessa- enjoy ur facial ;) Ya tell ur beautician that u cannot lie flat too long...see if she can do something about it!

Haf a great evening ahead mommies! Chat tomolo!

i didn't go for facial since i'm preggy. wanted to go during 1st trimester. Dilly-dally til i can't lie down for long on my back so no more facial for me.

Even for haircut, felt uncomfy lying on my back to wash hair. Last trim 2 mths ago, told my stylist to trim to the minimum length that i still can tie my hair and last til confinement over..haha

vanessa
relax and enjoy ur facial

moscato
talking abt hair cut, i just went last weekend. I got mine cut at ear length...i better start carrying short hair, if not all my coll. not gg to get used to it closer to dec....its also good la...shorter hair, shorter time drying my hair and faster i can ZZZZZZZZZzzzz

Also scared of dropping my mane during my confinement too :p

Hi mommies, i'm new in here and it's so enlightening to learn about motherhood from your discussions and advice

Just to share my details:

EDD: 5th Feb 2012
Hospital: Mount Alvernia
Gynae: Dr Vincent Lee

Mrs Gui &amp; jingles: Thanks!! will see what the beautician can do! hahaha :p

chat tomorrow!!
Have a good evening mommies!

Welcome Medory! How r u feeling now? We r going to the same gynae, using the same hospital for delivery n having a gal! Is tis ur 1st one? It's #2 for me n my EDD is 6 days earlier than urs
mayb we may bump into each other sometime!