(2012/01) Jan 2012

MayC: Congrats on the good results! =)

My oscar scheduled on this coming sat, will be bringing #1 along. Wonder how her reaction will be when she sees bb during the scan..keke I can't wait to see bb.

Can I check if any mummies here have a constant sourish taste in ur mouth? I do and it's very unpleasant. Duno wat to do to get rid of the taste.

piggB, I sure hv that. Most of the times after food, I mouth will sort of turn sourish and seems like its coming from the throat (occasionally its bitterish). Thats why I now hv to keep brushing my teeth after eating, evening munching something! Becos of this I hv no desire to take any sourish stuff like sng buay, etc, Yaks!

piggyB, i have this sourish or bile-like taste in my mouth too. Very yucky plus my vomitting, its worse.
I eat a lot of mint sweets. can take up to 5 a day. just to get rid of the taste, but its only temporary.

Morning all mommies! Have not logged in here for a long time... But have scanned and noticed that nearly all (??) mothers have seen at least a moving bb (mostly active bbs right?) and most of us have bbs with low risks? Yay, and congrats!

CT: so good, you know your detailed scan date already? How many weeks pregnant will you be then?

I'm guessing I will prob hv my detailed scan in mid Aug in my 20th week?

PiggyB: I don't hv the problem of sourish taste in mouth but wonder if minty chewing gum will help?

For those who see TCM, do you still take your TCM medicine at this stage? If so, do your physicians give you ginseng/korean ginseng?

I am craving for Korean Ginseng Soup with rice for lunch..but duno at 15weeks, can I eat something with Korea Ginseng..

Hello mommies - was out of town for a few days and have not logged in - read up the thread and happy to hear many have good scan results.

It's my 12th week and still having MS, excessive saliva and bloatedness - really hope it's going off soon.

Will be having my scan and blood test on 23rd July very excited to see bb again and anxious again about the test which will tell if I need amniocentesis or not - really really hope not too

rgdarding TCM: I used to see TCM and my TCM Dr. advise against taking any TCM during praggy, he say he will see me only after birth. My gynae also say not to take TCM.

Anyway I think if in doubt better do check.

toking abt chinese herbs..i just had some imperial chicken soup at a small eatery over the wkend..think they have some herbs inside..duno wat is it..but then already drank liao..so be it lor...

Ms Carpe-my gynae had pre arrange 3 appointments ahead of time.. therefore my detail scan will be after hari raya week.. by then i will be 22weeks preggy.. now i am 14weeks.

I've been reading the thread, but not joining cos I wanted to wait till my pregnancy was more stable. I'm coming to 12 weeks this week and will be doing my Oscar next week.

I'm feeling v nervous about whether the baby is alright esp after reading so many whose pregnancies stopped in the 1st trim.

May I know what is the frequency that you all visit your gynae? I'm also looking for a new gynae who will deliver at Mount A, cos my current gynae is quite ex, and doesn't have a maternity package, and doesn't deliver in Mount A. Anyone have any recommendations?

Welcome Blueydoo,
I had my boy deliver at Mt. A 4 years ago with Dr Koh Cheng Huat in 2007. His package was $500 from 16 weeks onwards till you give birth. The hospital bill was about $3000 at that time. My was a natural with epi, 4 bedded for 2 days. My boy was big, as he weights 3.77 kg and 53cm. U can call the clinic and check his package 6254 4022.

I'm seeing another Dr Tho at jurong east this time & his package with $700 after 16 weeks too. He also delivers at Mt.A too.

JTML,

Yup went for scar test during my first visit to the gyane coz I forget my LMP by the time I visited my gyane I am already 3 mth preggy and walk in for oscar check on that day itself too. Next sat is my 2nd time follow up with my gyane don't know why although I am a 2nd time mummy but this pregnancy seems a bit faster then the first
till now I still cannot feel my bb kicking cozi got no symptom at all am kind of getting worried.

Hi mommies, had buffet lunch at Amara Hotel earlier & am so stuffed now! Urgh.

Babybee - yes, this pregnancy seems faster doesn't it. Its already the 2nd trimester (week 13!) My belly is now beginning to show abit & at least I look more preggy now
Don't worry about not having symptoms of any kind - I have none too - & baby is developing well! At least the belly starts showing this trimester & the pregnancy becomes more real

Blueydoo - welcome to the forum! By 12 weeks, your pregnancy should be v stable already, so that is good news. Read that 90+% of miscarriages, if they happen, would occur before this. On frequency of gyne visits, its about once/month now. My next one is at week 16, then at week 20 for detailed scan. It gets more frequent (fortnightly, then weekly) as we approach the EDD.

Zhu zhu I drank 3 bottles of chicken essense with gingseng and codycceps before I knew should avoid... Ha ha.

Babybee And mayC ha don't worry... Good to hear your pregnancy are smooth...By now we can sigh half sigh of relief reserve the other half for the viability ...28 weeks is it?.Then finally at birth... PHEW!!!. I so hoping to feel kicks etc but nothing ler. But I do think 13 weeks is too early for kicks ler... Everyday I also trying to feel for kicks.

Bluelydoo initially my frequency was every 2 weeks until my Oscar, then change to every 4 weeks. So I saw gynae at 7 weeks plus, 10 weeks, 12 weeks plus(Oscar and appointment same day) , then next appointment is 16 weeks plus and 20 weeks plus.

CT haha 29 is hari raya eve then keke ... looks like I got long weekend coming on end august then heeee heeee. U asking the part time cleaners to clean your house one more time to prepare For hari raya?

Middle august asking them to repaint the house. they charge $400 for labour only 2 room and 1living room.Paint we get our self. u know any cheaper labour? than last week b4 raya clean 4 hours again 2 person $100 ...

Back from Oscar scan in noon and had a good sleep. Ate the flu med from gynae and finally runny stop but become block nose. kekeke...

Hope to receive good oscar result soon. Today, the sonographer scanned and the back fluid is like 1.46mm. Gynae commented that it is good. Hope really good . Baby very very active during the scan. Keep on flipping and kicking but rather cooperative at times for measurement. haha.. Asked to see gender but sonographer said too early already. Baby now is 6.68cm.

BTW, today paid $408 for oscar and week 20 NT detailed scan. After SBI discount.

EDD also change to 17 Jan.

My detailed scan scheduled on 1st Sep.

Oh yes, finally gynae said baby stabilized. I no need to eat duphaston already.. yeah!!!

Jamie, thanks. I will avoid zrytec. Just take the med prescribe by gynae

CT wah 400 is very cheap Lo ...

Jowinbaby, the NT thickness results you have is Very good.

Maybe cos is my first baby I feel so excited that I go window shop at kiddy palace but never buy anything, heng ah I can tahan don't buy.

jowinbaby: u paid for both scan together ah..sounds like a good deal leh..duno why the nurse never ask me to pay for the 2 scans together.

Re BB kicking: today at wk 12..yday was standing on the MRT train..then i think i felt a kick..not very strong..but i think it is a kick lar..

Hi mummmies.. i've been reading the forum but only decided to write now...

I'm already in my 13th week and EDD 11 Jan 2012. Just curious if any of you mummies feel uneasy/queezy in the stomach? especially at nite...

Hi JTML
The TMC sonographer said after 2.5mm, its consider high, but also have to depend on baby size. My gynae measured the baby NT thickness for me again in his clinic and told me, its good. I asked " eh, then why do i have to do Oscars since u said its good. It so ex.". He said blood test confirm more. FAINTZ.. haha!! Now's lets wait for the blood test result.

zhuzhu, yup. The nurse said its a package that my gynae opt for both to be paid. Its cheaper this way, i think.

I thought i felt 1 kick from baby too a few days ago.. hee hee..

Hi wawonie, welcome

Err. i m always feeling nauseas always especially at nite for me..

I have also been a silent reader.. in my 11th wk of my second bb now with EDD 31 Jan 2012.. yes, I have crazy stomach and sour tongue like wawonie, piggyB, valteen... it's unbearable sometimes esp after eating 2 mouths the sourish thingy happens!! everything taste bad... i tried gargling with 1/4 to 1/2 tsp baking soda in water.. it helps for awhile.. did b4, in-between and af meals!!! any other ways to help? for stomach I take gaviscon af meals.. it helps neutralise some acid and reduce the sour tongue! Hope such hurdles will be soon over for us!

JTML-$400 cheap? huby say try find cheaper. he everything expensive. I feel the price ok for 2bed room n 1living room.. paint i buy wat colour i like.

jowin baby - how many weeks are you? Baby is quite big at 6.68cm
Mine was only 5.7cm, but the sonographer & gyne both didn't give me a new EDD (don't think gyne bothered cos EDD keeps changing anyways).

Btw $408 for OSCAR and week 20 scan sounds reasonable. They didn't even offer that package to me; paid $288+ for OSCAR after the SBI discount. Meanwhile, have to wait for the next appnt at week 16 to get back the full OSCAR result slips from my gyne.

hkbaby - welcome to the forum. Hope your sourish taste in the mouth goes away soon.

Has anybody felt so bloated, you feel like burping but no burp is coming out? How did you manage it? I've been feeling this way since yesterday morning and it wouldn't go away no matter how much water i drink.

At 3am this morning i woke up to a very painful stomach due to bloatedness. I had to ask DH to gently rub my tummy to help me release the air. :p

hi hi... Jowin: Hope your runny nose is better already. Rest more ok! Rest is the best remedy for flu.

Just came back from gynea's visit. now at 14.5weeks, baby 8.4cm. I thought it was big. Last week's OSCAR was 7.5cm.

Wah... Felt so good after visiting my gynea. Almost wanted to hug him for being so reassuring & understanding all these years. Never met such an encouraging doctor. So happy now... can't describe... even though i am still feeling unwell. hahah...

Adding on FB: I have already announced a couple of weeks back, so add me too
Look under: Li-May Chew

PiggyB - added you!

Hi mayC
I am at Week 13 now. Haha, maybe baby is a fat one. My #1 gal did not born small too. She born at 3.54kg, consider huge for girl lor. Wish she is slimmer.

Yup. They had it all lump up. Gynae choose the package and circled the option on the form. So its $408.

They did not inform me on EDD, i saw it on the scan itself. Hee Hee.

Tulip7V, thanks! I m much better. No more runny but become block nose.

i haven announced anything on FB leh. So i add all of you next time when i announced ok? Would glad to have u all in
so fun.

PiggyB - don't know a Samuel Soh, he is just mutual friends with you & another mommy. Not on my FB friend list

jowin - baby is most prob bigger cos you are further along? A few days makes alot of difference! I missed seeing my EDD on the gyne screen during the U/S, & its not listed in the OSCAR scan printout, but its CRL seems about right based on online websites.

MayC, I am not sure. Supposingly, i should be Wk 12,4 days yesterday. But when scan, they said the baby size is at Week 13 exactly

I have a pack of bellybelt for sale for only $15 inclusive of normal postage. Brand new, but I have opened the box to take a look previously. Box condition is not too good, but the belts are in prefect condition.

Take a look at it. http://www.bellybelt.com.au/BellyBelt_Home.html

Its great for 1st and early 2nd trimester. Just clip it with your current pants/ skirts.

PM me if keen.

MayC: same same.. my bb also measured 5.7cm during my OSCAR scan at 12 weeks 2 days.. initially tot it was abit small compared to the mummies here.. but then seems abt right based on the table below.. got it somewhere from this forum..

Gestational age Length (cm)
8 weeks 1.6 cm
9 weeks 2.3 cm
10 weeks 3.1 cm
11 weeks 4.1 cm
12 weeks 5.4 cm
13 weeks 7.4 cm
14 weeks 8.7 cm
15 weeks 10.1 cm
16 weeks 11.6 cm
17 weeks 13 cm
18 weeks 14.2 cm
19 weeks 15.3 cm
20 weeks 16.4 cm

can't wait for my next scan end of this mth.. long long wait.......

Jac, I also cannot wait for my next Gynae visit on 25 July. I hv been counting down by the weeks.. Still 1.5 week to go. Hope baby is growing according to the table above.

CT: I feel 400 okay ler haha unless he has other lobang?
Tulip: good growth rate ler u babyis already 8.5 very good!
Ladies: u go fb already will u still chat here? ......

Jtml- my huby love to stress me always ask me find cheap cheap stuff. I dont care now. I know tat is the best price for now.

fb add: can add me too? [email protected] i havent announced yet. only a few closer frens knw. =)

JTML: try the durian ice cream on bp. its gd. =) also tried their rum n raisin. gd too!

gingerleaf: i had the peppery bak kut teh, super peppery and garlicky! @_@