(2012/01) Jan 2012

Nicky - why u intend to put both away leh? Ur working hah? Many mommies wldnt want to put young babies with maids cos of various issues.. I for once if have a maid, il get her to specifically do the housework while i care for the children myself. And the fact the baby wilk grow up not being close to u and instead to the maid will be very depressing.. Maybe if u have any problem, u can talk it out with us cos the way u write seems like u have some problem.. Dont worry.. We r gd at listening n providing suggestions..

Clinther - i gave birth at tmc abt a yr plus back.... I find service and amneties gd enough or exceed my expectation lor.. Juz my personal view... U contemplating on delivering there?

Astromum - we were predicting based on our instinct n gut feeling... Hehe

Jtml - haha... Same.. When i feel gd, i worry if bb is doing fine... Poor us... Whens ur next 'meet-up' with ur bb? Mines in two weeks time.. Like so long way to go.... Sigh.. Hehe

piggyB: my friend also recommended i-kare. She's using i-kare svcs right now. Quite good. I will get feedback from her at the end of her confinement. But she seems to be enjoying her confinement. SHe paid 2.1K now.. hers not cny period unlike ours. I have not called May yet. Is it necessary to book early?

kelly k: seems like booking cl for cny period must book fast. Coz i live in a house so not many cl wanna do. I call PEM, they told me their cls doing 3rd storey hse no more liao for CNY period. Called May yesterday, she told me she still have 1 highly recommended cl for me. tink betta book fast, if not last min cannot find good ones oso jialat.

Cheer Bear, thank you so much for the tip. Ok, desperate mummy me wants to get the red dates drink. Where did you buy these? From the chinese medicine store?

Clinther, honey makes my throat very phlegmy and worsen the nauseas feeling. That's why i stopped.

i have a maid or rather we have always have maids. She doesn't take care of the kids nor cook. Does only housework. And even that, she gives me problems. I can only say... having maid can be a pain. The worse is when it is attitude-related. And better still, u still got to see her everyday.

Nickynic, my experience tells me don't rely on the maid to cook and handle the baby for you when you just delivered. Its a nightmare. plus your MIL is anti-maid, you won't want friction when you should be resting and breastfeeding etc. I put my two kids to full day school. Even making their milk and refilling water bottle, we do it ourselves. I had bad experiences. So never again.

I have friends who had two kids, no maid. They put their first kid in school. 2nd kid taken care of by grandparents. maybe this is another option?

Wah, thread is moving faster than I can read through everything.

Maddie: Have fun in your OSCAR scan!

Blue_Y: Hope your MS will go off soon so you can start enjoying KFC porridge! Boy, you're giving me ideas....

Astromum: Just guessing out of fun. No basis.

nickyNic - we also have no intention of getting a maid with #2. #1 is already in childcare from 8+am to 4+pm (PIL picks him up abit earlier), and after my maternity, the plan is have my PILs take care of #2 during the day. If need be, just have #1 stay on longer in childcare till we pick him up after work.

I rather not have a maid, prefer to DIY & have the privacy at home. Plus too many horror stories with maids, especially for young babies that get ill treated but cannot complain to you.

If the grandparents are able & willing, then I think they are really a more viable option

For me...I had put my daughter to full day child care so that my mum can take care of my 2nd child...but i can see that is going to be a very challenging job...

For I-Kare... i had these 3 nanny whom othe forum mummies had recommended.. maybe you all can take as a ref? Hehehe...

Mei Hua
yuhua
Meiling

Hi Ladies, Thanks for the advice. I was thinking of a maid this time round coz I'm afraid my MIL cannot handle with 2 kids. My boy will be in K1 next yr and with the baby coming along, she has to do housework and take care of 2 kids how to handle? Though my FIL is not working but he will tend to go out now and then.

I thought a maid will help to relieve her burden, at least the housework will be taken care off both there and at my place.

Maybe I should do like what MayC did. Put #1 in childcare and #2 to my IL's.
Do you think at 5 yrs old they will get use to childcare?

mmm.. actually from my first birth there.. i gt quite a good impression from TMC nurse...cos during my delivery.. i got complication and almost need to go C-section but then the nurse actually keep encouage me to push and finally I manage to delivery naturally..so I am quite gladful to her...

But then lately from other forum...the mummies mentioned that the services had drop and the nurses are rather bad temper? So I am just curious whether is true abt those comments??

Nickynic, i am sure your boy will be able to adapt well. kids adapt to new environment better than adults. Maybe he'll make new friends there that he'll be so happy going to school. He should be N2 this year, does he going to school? like half day?

And maybe get those part time helper to do the major chores like ironing, toilets cleaning etc? It might work out well.

nickynic
does your MIL have a preference? I am in a similar situation to you. #1 will be in N1 next year, goes to a church kindergarten (3h a day). We will be engaging part-time helper and doing tingkat 2x a week. MIL will continue to look after both kids and manage daily housework + some cooking. I feel that you should relieve your MIL of the housework, rather than of childcare. My personal opinion is that if your child can be brought up by grandparents, that would be best (instead of maid or childcare). Of course, there will be exceptions, but this is just my personal opinion.

Yes he's in N2 and attending 3hr a day church kindergarten too. I have not talk to my MIL yet, but I believe I know she will not want a maid this time round too!
Will try to get a chance to talk to her and see what she say. Meantime I think I just have to stop thinking for the time being otherwise I will have sleepless nite again!

nickynic
yes best to just talk to your MIL directly about what she prefers. can get your hubby to do it, if it is hard for you talk to her. my MIL is also v anti-maid, so we have to pay more for things like part-time help and tingkat. But it is worth it if it makes her happy, since we depend on her for so many things.

trying to swallow my lunch as my MS is getting worse

btw, i realised for past 2 nights, I felt sharp cramp at my tummy when I lie down straight to zz..ie legs stretch, body stretch position. It doesn't go away even if i curled myself or lie side way. This cramp felt like our menses cramp, and last thru the night
anyone had similar experience?? *worried*

lebebe, could it be cyst?

stefsean, i couldnt help smiling when I saw the 1st scan! It looked like bb whistled a musical note!

Am in my 9 weeks now. MS suddenly came back and have been feeling nauseous for the past 2 days, but definitely not as bad as before. At least this time I can hold my self and not vomit all the time. Noticed that if I take leafy veg in the day, I will surely vomit badly at night and can still see the undigested veg. Dunno if veg is the culprit.

wow.. stefsean, your scan is so clear, so beautiful!! congrats!!

Im in my 12wks.. so happy.. but ms still there, especially in the evenings.. cant wait for it to get better.

it's so difficult to post in MH forum recently, always gets error.. hope this msg gets posted.

lebebe, do you have spotting? if it's continuous pain, better call gynae. I still have brown spotting every other day, but no pain, I give up already, just leave it as it is.. ;p

Lush : ya a bit...thinking of monitor since i jus seen gyna last wk (b4 the cramp). did u see gynea? I had a box of duphaston standby, but dunno if i should start taking....

Agree, these fews days posting always get error, and need to repeat many times...wonder y...

mummies, anyone using electric pump? which brand? I am thinking of getting a 2nd hand Medela dual pump...

I finally find a CF nanny .,. haiz....guess no choice better to get a CF especially during CNY period...

clinther - I still swear by Medela. But then again, that is the only brand I have ever used. Am borrowing the mini electric from my SIL but wondering if I should get the PIS as well cos I used to borrow from my sis, but she is also preggers now! Quite ex though, at $600+. Maybe buy & resell on SMHF after I stop nursing.

stefsean - so cute! I think most of us can't wait for our 12 week scan.

Temp & weight gain - so my temperature is up again, and weight went up too. I guess my worries were unfounded - hopefully! Read that our weight can fluctuate by as much as 1-5 pounds per day, so I better stop freaking myself out & weigh maybe just once a week!

Btw, do you all look preggy already? Like for colleagues who you didn't announce the pregnancy to, are they suspecting yet?

Hi Joy,

Can add me to the list?

Gynae: Woo Bit Hwa
Hospital: TMC
EDD: 21 Jan 2012

Second pregnancy quite different from 1st, 1st puke a lot, second think only 5% nausea which makes me think if i'm pregnant in the early weeks. Only till i saw the heartbeat at week 9, kind of feel at ease.

By the way, think I saw two December 2008 mummies in here. I just to occasionally post in that forum, but didn't really comment much.

PiggyB, yes indeed the legs, head and body are v clear. But I cannot spot the hands though.

Lush, thks!

Clinic just called to say Oscar test shows low risk.

Am looking forward to my 16 week Gynae vist..

Gingerleaf, haha.. Yes it looks like it's whistling a note..

MayC, each visit to the Gynae is so exciting, isn't it?

Clinther: me and my frenz are all using ameda dual pump, it's pretty good and abt half price of medele. so if cost is a issue, u can actually consider that

MayC: Second pregnancy shows very fast. Although i'm just 10 weeks preggy, but tummy looks like 4 months so big, and even bigger after a full meal. As I just change company & got myself pregnant, so bo bian must tell new boss. But other colleagues no idea yet since I wear baggy clothes.

MayC: hv not told my mum and sister yet and office pple also don't know. And they hv not asked me abt it. So I'm assuming they cannot tell yet? But I'm wearing all my bigger clothes now. So that tummy isn't so obvious..

Think I feel better now after pouring it out and getting all the advise from you! Thanks again Ladies!

stefsean: Congrats!! Looking forward to my OSCAR this Friday. Just realise our EDD date is the same...

Lush:I'm into my wk 13 and I'm also getting my ms in the evenings. Can't take much carbo for dinner otherwise I will throw out everything...
Wonder by wk 14 will it get better....

Clinther: I'm using Medela also but swing not dual. I use it from #1. Hopefully it's still working.

MayC: I definitely can't hide anymore, my tummy is very obvious now. I heard they say 2nd pregnancy stomach will tend to be bigger. not sure if it's true.

Cheer Bear, finally got my red date packets. Sipping the drink now. Feels like heaven.... hahaha...

Clinther, I used the Medela dual for my #1 & #2. Then passed it to two friends to use until it broke down last year. been in used for 6 long years... I heard Ameda's pump is less noisy but more parts to wash. Is that true?

StefSean, your baby so cute. Looks like he/she is sun bathing. Hand behind head and enjoying the moment.

Hello Hello to all and new mommies to this thread , was out of action cos MS was quite strong lasting way past midnight and having to bring boyboy to 1st day of school yesterday.
wah very tired.

Me too : hope MS will subside soon.

I tot I was the the only one that tum is showing, my sister told me "wah, only 10wks - looks like 3-4months liao" haha

MayC; I think my colleagues can see, though they didnt ask, I will let nature speak for itself.

StefSean - u haven't even told your mum & sis?
Wow, hehe...how come? Especially since your OSCAR scan is all good, can announce already. You are tiny though (smaller than me) so I am sure the tummy would be obvious quicker!

On the belly - I can still get away wearing most of my clothes, except the clingy body hugging ones - then I just look like I had a big buffet. Urgh. Am still wearing my usual 2-3 inch heels also, so I doubt anyone knows I am preggers if I don't tell them. I can't wait for belly to bloom though, I love being & looking preggers!

chrysalis, nickynic - yes, supposedly for #2 onwards, our bellies will show quicker cos everything is 'looser'? If you check our u/s scan, you would notice that the womb space is bigger compared to when preggers with #1. Hubby was commenting that #2 has to use 2nd hand everything, including a 2nd hand womb :p

hmm...but for 2nd hand pricing..is nt much diff..
ameda dual cost ard $200 whereas for Medela dual cost ard $300 plus only used for 3mths plus..
so now headache...don know which one to buy...
Any advice????
Don know whether am I too early to get one also??

Nickynic...I agree with MayC cos I am now 10wks but my tummy can be seen already..so sad...plus i start to put on 4Kg more ...i rem last time i had actually gain 24KG by the time i delivery..
I am so scare i will get fatter this time round..

Clinther, ameda first hand only $300+, why go for second hand since pricing not much diff. but medele pricing for second hand seems more reasonable as half price. Anyway, u manage to shed off 1st pregnancy weight gain of 24kg? I put on 15kg, managed to shed off in the 1st place, but i feel very hungry due to breastfeeding, thus eat a lot and gain a lot of weight as no control. So now second pregnancy, I dun even feel like stepping onto weighing machine.

Tulip7v, no idea how to define noisy, haha, i find ameda noisy, but never try medela before so can't compare. But for me, I never latch as has problem latching, thus the whole year of breastfeeding is thru breastpump. Didn't affect the amount.

tulip,
glad u found it and enjoy it

clinther,
i hv a medela double mini electric which i wish to sell off. u wan? pm me k

ya... i manage to slim down to my pre-pregnancy wt after 6mths.. but cos this 1yr plus seldom go exerise so now slight fatter liao...
Actually hor... I just know tat I am pregnant when i was 10wks liao..initially i use test kit but is neg so i thought i had grown fatter so go for those tummy exercises and even try those slim tea.. haiz..so kind of worry now...

CheerBear: I heard that Medela mini electric is louder amd the suction is stronger so is more painful?? the 2nd hand one that my fren fren is selling is a free sytle type??

MayC, I don't know why I don't feel like telling anyone this time. But i guess they will know soon cos I think by 16 weeks, the tummy will be super obvious.

I've decided to go for ligation after this delivery.

clinther,
louder - i cant compare coz that is my only pump used so far.
stonger suction - u can adjust the suction from 0-5 (5 is the max).

oh ur fren is selling free style? depends on wat u wan then.

chrysalis - I am not sure about 2nd hand pricing for Medela PIS (pump in style) but I think its more than $300. More like $500, depending on how old it is? But PIS is the quickest of the lot, so I like it alot. Useful for nite pumps when baby doesn't wake up & you just want to quickly express the milk in 5-10 minutes & go back to sleep, & for expressing in the office! I like the Medela mini-eletric too, cos its portable (smallish) & can operate using batteries. A brand new one is about $300+ I think.

clinter - the suction is not painful lah. Anyway, you can adjust the setting to something lower if it is too strong.

I think its too early to buy breast pumps. Maybe just before or after delivery, incase the milk doesn't come for whatever reasons?

Stefsean - maybe cos this is #4 for you? So quite 'pro' already & less kancheong to announce to everyone compared to 1st time mommies!

haha, for expressing in office, as no nursing room + all see through meeting room, i express in toilet. and i find it weird to have the pumping sound using battery operated pumps, so i went to buy a avent manual pump. but still, it has some squeaking sound.

clinther - I have never bought the 2 medelas I used for #1, both were borrowed from my SIL & sis. So not too sure about exact pricing, but $600+ should be about right for PIS (local store) and $300+ for mini electric. Just check at places like Robinsons?

They are cheaper from US, but you have to make sure the shipping costs are still worth it, the power socket/voltage works & that there is an international warranty.

Feeling sick nausea now still even thou i ate my lunch at 2pm.. This time round pregnancy so bad... At this rate, think i cant stomach dinner liow. I think i wana try the suggestion of red date tea.. Hopefully it help...

Stefsean - i have yet to tell even both set of parents.. What more colleagues or friends.... Guess they have yet to realise but know im weaker these days...

Nicky - yes, sharing will ease a little of ur problem although its up to individuals to decide.... Hehe.. Hopefully ul work it out soon kay...

Chrysalis - i like the avent manual pump too.... Very simple n fuss free.... Plus i feel the satisfaction of seeing the milk when i pump my own.. Lol... Funny rite...

StefSean, I am also thinking of going for ligation after this. But I heard gyneas usually try to discourage you (because of the national agenda to increase population).

I think i don't want anymore kids. I have endometriosis and suffered a miscarriage due to this. took us some time to finally conceive #3 without hiccups. Plus endometriosis can cause complications at a later stage of pregnancy. I think i can't stomach all these the 4th time... crossing my fingers my gynea will agree to do it for me.