(2012/01) Jan 2012

Aiyoh... moderation is the KEY word.

Seriously... i dun think the japanese woman can resist raw fish. Haha...

This said... this sat i'm attending a wedding. I'm so going to eat the sharkfin!

babytum,
thats is what my gynae told me.. to aviod salad.
She say nowadays, salad not safe..

(X),
yeah.. japs and their sashimi.. haha..
You sure you taking the sharkfin? if really taking, dont finish the whole bowl hor.. 1-2 spoon will do

Maybe I am being a bit revolutionary to say this, but I think all things in life come with risk. Unless we want to live in a bubble, don't eat outside food, grow our own vegetables and animals, cook our own food.

Unless something has been specifically contraindicated by your doctor, it should be fine to eat a balanced diet, with everything in moderation. Wouldn't it be silly to be overly cautious and end up being stressed over what to eat?

yes i think everything in moderation is fine.

i jus ate jap over the wkend and after that go home to hv a bottle of vitagen

ms carpe diem: I think i better stop eating canned tuna den.

Joy: Salad cannot ar..me this preg realli craving for salads, fruits & sandwich leh. So i eat quite alot leh. I guess dats y i dun get constipation oso.

My mum was like reminding NO MUTTON. So nvr eat mutton. Ya my grandma oso say del monte banana cannot eat coz too liang. My aunt say her chinese sinseh say cannot eat preserved green papaya coz very liang too.

y cant eat sharkfin?

re birdnest
i take a teaspoon of them daily since 1st trim till my #1 was born. I just started on this one. Didnt know abt the cooling part.

x, the wedding that u r attend, do he/she know u r preg? coz some pple will be pantang.. but if not pantang then jus go.. why not? ;p

piggyB:
gynae say no salad. i also crave for sandwish, so i only buy those with cucumber. No lettuce.
Oh ya, Iceberg Lettuce definately cannot.

And yes, no mutton. MIL keep repeating and repeating. Seems like its a huge NO.

Gingerleaf:
As for birdnest, if eat now, BB will have asthma.
Better aviod.

Babytum and joyojoy: I think currently it's because of the E.Coli scare. We don't know which vegetables may kena. First they say is Spanish melons, then German sprouts and last I heard, avocado from Spain in Thailand.

That's why my dad, a staunch vegetarian who had frequently espoused the benefits of raw vegetables did an about turn recently and ordered me to make sure all my vegetables are cooked!

i didn't inform leh.
But it's a catholic wedding. So... shd be ok lah. Heee... meeting another preggy ex-classmate at the wedding.

Salad
All the E-coli scare, u still dare to take raw veg?? Haha...

X - I am also attending a wedding this Friday. I doubt most people would be so pantang, cos I really have no intention of telling anyone there - especially since I haven't even told my parents yet! After all, I see preggy women at weddings all the time!

Yes, everything in moderation is fine. Don't need to overthink & overstress it.

oh yes birdnest , Snow frog (Hasma) these are not good to take too much , high in protein ( too high/rich) bb easy to get asthma and eczema

as for mutton... maybe old wives tale about getting fits , but for my #1 I craving , I ate a small bit lamb shank he seems ok.

shark(fin)considered deep sea fish - unless the rest serving jelly ..?!?!?!

Cheer_bear: I work in Little India. Pretty near Bugis. Can meet up one of these days!

Mummies, had my scan. Bb's doing well, strong hearbeat and all... So happy... #1 didnt get to see the bb afterall, he had to rush home for Piano lessons coz the gynae wait took too long (2.5 hrs). But we did bring home a pic of the scan. Can't really make out much of the pic thou'... Kekeke....

Joyojoy: My EDD is 28 Jan, Doc most prob Dr CH Koh, Hosp most prob Mt Alvernia. Prediction: chinese calendar says girl, I want a girl but my instincts tell me boy....

Salads:
I cannot dun have salad! I simply crave for salad this pregnancy... So die die i will still eat salad bah. Just maybe go to reliable sources for salad....

I'm sooo sleepy... *Yawn*

I think no mutton is bcoz of myth lah. But i guess better guai guai dun eat. Wait anything happen to bb..i will gena big time.

For salad, I normally buy the hygoponics lettcue & malaysia tomatoes to eat.

Joy: Y no lettcue huh? I actually very notti, I still eat ham sandwich..=P

piggyB: In normal times, I will really envy your appetite, all the healthy stuff! I can so imagine you have no constipation problems!

For me, my food preferences have really swung towards meat. Recently, I have craved really unhealthy food like KFC and fish and chips (I had the most heavenly fish and chips past Sun!) No wonder I'm depending on apples and prune juice to ward constipation.

(x) and MayC: I'm also attending a friend's wedding this Sat. It is nice to be part of a joyous occasion. I did tell her I'm pregnant just in case her in laws or parents are pantang.

Yeah i gues its all a risk game la.. salads got risk but cooked veg also got risk ma.. there is no guarantee cooked stuff no contamination.. like the childcare centre case.. also can kena.. i think i will still take salads la if not lose out on the vitamins and fibre..

Think u ask ang moh they will also ??? y we so many restrictions.. haha

Guava is also good to counter constipation.
Bought alot of guava and jambu back from Bidor (near ipoh). Hehe...

ms carpe diem: I oso will crave for fried stuff at times. My hb cannot understand my craving..haha. He forever complaining i eat non-stop. I quite unhealthy too..i like my salad with bacon, but i try to limit the bacon..too oily & salty no good.

May: U oso crave for salads?

not as healthy coz i eat with sour plum powder and sugar, chilli padi dark soya sauce. Hehe.... but it's very very yummy.

And yes, it helped clear my constipated bowels. Keke...

You all see see this table..
Got mistake tell me k..
I am getting a bit confused already

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD> EDD </TD><TD>Gynae </TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Birth order</TD><TD> Predicted gender</TD><TD> actual gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Carpe Diem</TD><TD> 31-Dec-11 </TD><TD>Dr Quek Swee Chong </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> #1 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiny Bubu</TD><TD> 4-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maddie </TD><TD>7-Jan-12 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheerbear</TD><TD>7-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>b_cup </TD><TD>8-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon</TD><TD> SGH </TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Felicia Low</TD><TD> 9-Jan-10</TD><TD> Dr Chen L.H</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stefseansharbabes</TD><TD>9-Jan-10</TD><TD> Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#4</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>styliciously </TD><TD>10-Jan-12 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>CT (yoyoblue)</TD><TD> 10-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Suzana</TD><TD> kkh </TD><TD>#4 </TD><TD>60%Boy-40%Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stella Rodrigues</TD><TD> 10-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr C.K. Khoo</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yong Hui</TD><TD>10-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peanut (Veronica Chau) </TD><TD>11-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua (TLC)</TD><TD></TD><TD> #1 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tuetecotage</TD><TD> 11-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Anita</TD><TD> NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>(X) ttcx</TD><TD> 15-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Cheng JP </TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD> #2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Idali</TD><TD>15-Jan-12 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bunnymuffin </TD><TD> 16-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly K</TD><TD> 18-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amaesing</TD><TD> 19-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>HQ</TD><TD>20-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Quek Swee Peng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>TBD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Echo</TD><TD>21-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jowinbaby </TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Cheng LC </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>50/50  </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinko</TD><TD> 22-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lebebe</TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Xie </TD><TD>24-Jan-12 </TD><TD> Dr. Hii Hoi Chin.Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MayC </TD><TD>25-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr WK Tan </TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>25-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr SP Teo</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>PiggyB </TD><TD>26-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD> 26-Jan-12</TD><TD> caroline khi</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blue_Y</TD><TD>27-Jan-12</TD><TD> dr eunice chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>May (zanie98) </TD><TD>28-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr CH Koh</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> #2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gingerleaf</TD><TD>30-Jan-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Apple Khoo</TD><TD>30-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jallo </TD><TD>end Jan 2012</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Millie'sMum </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SnowWhite </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chiffoncake (bigroundeyes) </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adel </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>joyojoy</TD><TD>6-Feb-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Girl</td></tr></table>

(X): aside from sugar, your condiments are q ok also, not unhealthy mah
. I had black soy sauce with my bak kut teh lunch as well.

PiggyB: It's nice that you have the self-discipline to limit the unhealthy stuff. Good for you!

Sharing a very good site.

http://www.babycenter.com/

Can register and fill in your edd, then you will get interesting infos abt baby's developement sent to your email address weekly. I remember looking forward to their emails!

Read that iceberg lettuce no nutritional value, so best to go for dark green leafy veg like spinach.

<font color="660000">hq &amp; piggy,
To count rice, grab some uncooked rice grains(not too much If not u count the whole day) n start counting. Even girl. Odd boy. Mine says girl. Enjoy!

For ocean fish like tuna, shark... Everything in moderation. Ur mercury levels wun increase alot unless u eat e whole tuna or shark. For veggies n fruit u can try buying organic for the dirty dozen ( e dozen fruits n veggies listed as the most full of pesticides.) n make ur own salads at home where you ensure cleanliness. Mutton can eat in moderation. Y ur discouraged to eat is coz it's high in cholesterol n can increase ur blood pressure if eaten everyday which is dangerous for pregnant women. </font>

Jojojoy - i have my gut feelings say its a boy although i wld prefer another gal.. So no nid to spend more to buy opp gender clothes.. Hehe

Its beeb a tiring few days of work... Lost track of the posts here cos it goes so fast.... I hope one say we can have a gathering with our big tum tums. Will b awesome...

Peanut: do yr in laws know u pregnant? What they say? My Mil ownself say better my mom do for me cos more 'comfortable'. Some ppl mil insist to do for them. Think u have to see yr mil what type. My issues with in laws only started after bb born.

Pantang food: think the big fish thing maybe true. We can't eat enough fish oil from fish better to take capsule. Raw veg coa risk of bacteria, more so now cos e coli thing. Soft cheeses cosBacteria. Think the rest not so clear, mostly chinese belief. Up to u whether u want risk it or whether you believe.

joyjoy: Bird nest is ok to eat lar..i started eating the concentrated bird nest when in Tri 2 previously...

Re: food to avoid
I guess everything is all in moderation...except no no for raw food..

Tried the gender predication calender...it says a boy again..

Peanut: Are u staying near MIL or ur mom? I think u have to consider the distance they need to travel also..Its true dat asking ur mom to do will be better cos its probably easier to iron out any issue or differences..maybe u wan to tok to HB and see wat is his view?

for mine case, I am staying near MIL..dats why I am intending to ask my MIL to do confinement for me

<font color="660000">ct,
I already hv a medela freestyle from my first pregnancy. I bought it 2nd hand us set. Jus changed the flanges
.</font>

wahhh mummies, that's alot of posts. i've been having constipation the past few days. suddenly poop alot today.. i'm 23, #1 baby. visiting dr lawrence ang!
edd 29 Jan. joyjoy can add me?

by the way, regarding confinement tingkat, any feedback?
i'm very worried abt the nutritional value for tingkat meals cos we cannot monitor their cooking.. but i can't hire a stay-in confinement lady 'cos my flat isn't ready. will still be staying with my parents ('cos my hubby-to-be is a malaysian).

wow! this thread is super fast! hahaa!

stella: thx for the info on the mutton thingy. u have any idea on sting ray? i love bbq sting ray! and i did eat during #1 tho. =p

mist8q: i feel the same way too. i have a whole big box of vaccuumed up bags of clothes from my girl and some worn prob 2-3times only. @_@

joyojoy: thx for updating me in! =)

peanut: Is ur mil the very particular type and has she been doing confinement for your sister-in-law (if you have lah)? If she has, den mayb she will want to do for you too. Ask ur hb to test water for you 1st?

For me, both my mil &amp; mother are working so confirm will get confinement lady one.

On food consumption, i believe that different races n religion have different cultures n beliefs. In fact just an eg, ang moh in the tv series 'i didnt know i was pregnant', they eat things as normal, no supplements, yet their babies were born healthy n see all pink pink cheeks. Malays have lesser pantang in food n many survive. In kampong when none have choices, babies are still born healthy. Some babies survive on drinking teh-o cos in those days cannot afford buy milk when milk no supply. No comparison here but everything eat in moderation is okay... Any fruits or even raw vege like salads. Get organic ones, wash properly n everything will be alright. I ate salads during my last pregnancy to watch my weight. Bought organics prepared at home wash n all. Helps in getting our daily intake of fibre. Rather than take supplement fibre pills, ori form better to me...
If we have so much pantang we'll be a worry wart.. Even our gynaes wont encourage tht.. Usually they'll advice, i know mine does tht(Dr Eunice Chua) .. Eat in moderation.. Thts all..

Anyone cannot sleep also?

Agree w blueY re salad. Good to eat but must make sure wash properly, which means wash yourself. Outside salads we will never know how much if at all they wash it. Anyone who works in F&amp;B line?

Re stingray: my MIL said cannot eat so I didn't eat in her presence. She's the don't ask why just don't eat type. And there is a whole long list of stuff. Those that I never wanted anyway I guai guai follow. The rest like cannot eat mutton cos child will get fits (name sound alike) I still eat. Don't think Malay n indian babies get more fits than Chinese lor. When my hb argue why cannot, my grandMIL said their genes diff fr Chinese. Champion lor.

Re gender. I really have no idea what gender. Don't mind girl then can share clothes with my number 1. Boy also good cos different n my PIL want boy.

Are you already doing research on baby carriers? I am coz I'm very particular coz of my backache.

I found this carrier: Manduca which is not bad. I went down to the shop to try as well and realised the weight distribution is quite good.

Emailed Manduca's website (http://www.manduca-baby-carrier.eu) and they will ship to Singapore! Shipping plus price of item is cheaper than the retail price in sg. You guys can consider ordering direct from them. (^_^)

Jus sharing some info! Hope it helps some of you mummies!