(2012/01) Jan 2012

Prediction - think mine is gonna be a boy!

#1 thinks so too, & somehow we kinda 'feel' that baby would be a boy (had a 'feeling' when preggers with #1, and was right too)
Plus this pregnancy feels the same as #1 - no MS, no cravings, etc. & #1 was a boy.

Btw, you can google "chinese gender predictor" & double check - based on some ancient Chinese manuscript found & suppose to be 99% accurate.

gingerleaf - yes, I think even if we want to visit people during CNY, they might not like it. Not sure about people coming into our homes to visit though, I think immediate family would be fine...else would be so sad, being stuck at home during CNY
Then again, depends on how pantang you are - like my SIL, she is preggers now & don't allow anyone to visit her at all - not even my MIL! We haven't seen her for months now. And she is not attending any weddings the entire 9+ months, even that for her own close relatives...think that is abit too drastic already.

joy: I predict a boy. In fact my hubby wants a first boy. keke. but after this horrible MS experience, I don't even know if I want a #2. So boy for now!

My hospital is Thomson Medical

gingerleaf, joyojoy - I guess cos her's was an ultra difficult pregnancy (tried for years, had a couple of miscarriages, & now after TCM, finally got preggers.) Was on MC for quite abit during the 1st trimester too. She usually doesn't join us for family gatherings, so hardly even see her, except during days like PILs Birthdays, CNY, etc. At least then, my MIL would still go visit her in their place, but now, apparently cos my MIL is born in the year of the tiger, she was 'banned' from visiting cos tigers & rabbits (the baby) are not compatible? Something like that. And cannot attending weddings cos 2 positive occasions (wedding & pregnancies) becomes a negative one? So she skipped her own close relative's wedding & my BIL went instead. Speaking of weddings, I am attending one this Friday!

hello everyone I am back from lunch - please congratulate me - i managed to finished a fillet O fish in 45mins yeahhhh LOL

Re: Cream and lotion for tum
I like the blamy kind, I forgot the name can get easily from Waston, its brown words and white bottle, later this evening i go home and check.

Now I using Bloom and blossom - gift from hb for bday,can be for mummy and baby massage and also J&J baby oil, best after bath skin absorb easily.

Ohh please do patch test first before buy esp the expensive ones cos our hormone level a bit crazy now, so might react even organic

wow MayC yr SIL really consider many factors wo... I wonder if additional stress.

I only know preggers not so good to attend funerals ...

I had porridge and soup for lunch. then went toilet and out came the soup. haiz...

cannot wait for 2nd tri to be here soon! I wan to indulge!!

MayC,

hi, I'm a silent follower so far. Just would like to just say be a bit more tolerant to your SIL. I can understand her phobia. I had a miscarriage at 10 weeks in Nov last, the very same week I visited my relative in hospital after she gave birth. She & her baby are born in Year of Tiger.

It's very rare to be able to pinpoint the exact root cause of niscarriage, though in the scientific way, most docs would say there's just something wrong with the baby & they just don't make it through natural selection. But there's always this painful lingering question: Did I kill my own child by going to the hospital & "clash" with my relative's birth? Did her 'tiger' ate my 'rabbit'? It's these questions, without a clear answer, that will keep coming back to haunt you.

Lush, haiz.. i had porridge too and now waiting for it to puke out.. The feeling is there already

MayC, wow. Your MIL quite pantang? I thought mine is very already. I suffered real hard for my confinement during #1 time. Cried daily. Not depression but ....long story

hq, yes. preggers not good to attend wake. Same for baby that just born.

CNY visiting:
Its true that if we are on confinement, we are consider " dirty" and people will not come and visit. Unless those very close relatives and they do not mind.

I prefer to rest at home. During confinement, we still need to adjust to the breastfeeding schedule, baby sleeping hours etc etc. Its a good time to rest too. Perhaps our HB can go out visiting and people pass angbaos to him for our baby lor ..lol

Birdbrain, big hugs!

I normally ask if the other party is pantang before attending weddings or baby showers. I like to bask in the mood of celebrations so I do not mind.
As for funeral, will avoid. My hb's maternal granny passed away last week n I was told by my in laws to stay Hm.

Anyone thinking of confinement ladies already???
Had a very bad experience with one previously so am thinking of just making do with catering this time.

birdbrain - Am sorry to hear about your earlier MC & congrats on this pregnancy!

Am not saying we are not being tolerant with my SIL. I do understand how difficult it has been for her to get pregnant, so of cos you want to be ultra conservative & just rest alot. I guess it just comes across as being weird, since it is the 1st time anyone of us have heard of clashes between tigers/rabbits etc. My hubby is a tiger & I am a dragon, so technically, we shouldn't be having a rabbit baby as well i guess?

jowinbaby - nope, its not my MIL being pantang, but SIL.

gingerleaf - am just gonna order tingkat food as well. Let me know if you come across good recommmendations

ginger : who help you with bathing bb and washing/household if no CL?

From my 2009 thread - i was an silent observer then, I know it's good to start early asking ard. Cos esp near CNY timing the price and timing need double confirm.

joyojoy: My EDD is 19 Jan 2012, Dr LC Cheng (TMC), #1, and I am guessing it's a boy because my MS isn't too bad, and according to the Chinese gender predictor calendar, it's gonna be a boy! Thanks!

peanut & hg: Thanks. I am feeling much better now. I half suspect it is the vadai that i ate for breakfast that cause me to major puke. I think #2 dun like indian food, coz 2nd time that dat happen liao.

MayC: That's quite drastic leh. Ur MIL oso cannot visit her coz of her zodiac. But mayb bcoz try very hard den finally pregnant so she is taking all precautions ba. But when i was preg with #1, my parents & pil oso dun allow me to attend weddings.

Have anyone booked their confinement nanny yet?

MayC, i see. Sorry i misread. So its your SIL.

CL : I am also looking around for CL pricing. My #1, never hire. So this time, i wanna thought of hiring CL, cos its tough for mum to look after #1 and baby.

amasing, you are with LC Cheng too. Is he back from holiday? I am still seeing his associate gynae. Have not make up my mind if i wan to continue LC or Benjamin Tham. How's is his waiting time now??

joyjoy, since i do not have any predict of gender, i also follow the chinese gender predict calendar ba.. It a BOY.. haha

Talking abt being pantang, so that means we cant attend weddings at all now for fear of clashing? I din know about wedding + pregnancy (+ve & +ve = -ve!)

Im having my own wedding in Sep and am told not to attend other weddings 1 month before and after my own.

Now, I have another wedding in Nov, Dec and Jan. Will I be able to attend??

N I attended a baby shower when I was pregnant but din know I was preggy den. Hope ignorance is bliss!

piggyB : btw i am hq not hg hee hee hee ,
glad that you know what was it that caused you to feel lousy.

pinko: I would guess if you are preggy now and planning wedding at the same time ... seems lesser activities might be better. more rest and concentrate on your own planning. If good friends they will be understanding, maybe they pantang also LOL - no offensive.

opps..sorry hq. =P

pinko: My parents will ask me not to attend, coz clash. I think for the baby shower should be ok since duno mah..Bt normally u tell the couple coz pregnant dats y cannot attend normally they will understand. When i was preg with #1, I din tell my ex-colleague the reason y i cannot attend her wedding. Bt when i meet up with her, she told me she ardi guess coz i am pregnant.

Looks like most mummies will guai guai stay at home for confinement. I guess if my relatives wanna come visit, then I'll let them, else I'll just save on my red packets :p

It's so strange to say that first month (confinement) is considered dirty. Some Chinese beliefs really very.. -.- more like I'll be afraid that people would come spread viruses to my BB. Haha.

hq,

My 1st CL came under the reccomendation of my SIL, so I was under obligation to take her as well as she looked after all the grandkids on my Hb's side.
She cooks decent but tend to be oily, but cfment food uses alot of sesame oil, so that Im fine with, but she really painted my kitchen wall with oil each time she cooks, n by the end of her mth stay, my kitchen was extremely sticky and even the ceiling got light sticky yellow oil spots!
She mops the oily kitchen n proceed to mop whole hse with same mop w/o rinising! Hb had to re-mop the floor after her and from then on, she only mops the kitchen floor.(still oily)
She changes poopy diaper n proceeds to handle food or my EBM w/o washing
she doesnt wash our clothes or baby clothes!
Once I was wiping my gal and found poo in her vagina. CL prob cleaned from back to front. Poo was found on diaper cream cap too.
The only useful thing she did was for night feeds and bathing the baby.

She caused me alot of stress back then and I was crying very often at night. But we couldnt send her away coz she is closely related to my SIL.
So this time, I told hb that since CL dun really do much, might as well I cater confinement tingkat for myself, cater normal tingkat for hb & #1, then DIY myself all the way. Hb is pretty hands on with such things, so his role will be helping to look after #1, help wash milk bottles n breast pumps. I will still touch water n such la, coz I was quite a notti gal for my previous confinement too, by showering everyday.
As for cleaning the floor, I can set my irobot to clean the floor daily and mopping once every other day. OR hire back part time domestic helper that comes in once a week.

However, hb is still thinking abt my proposal la. lol. He is very concerned abt who IS gg to do the night feedings altho I already said Im gg to be doing it. He did gave a incredulous look when I said that but hey! I was the one who did the night feedings last time too.

MayC,
thinking shld be trying natal essentials http://www.natalessentials.com/

2 mummy frds from this forum tried them for their #1 and like it.

btw, a frd of mine from this forum, same month as my #1, will be joining us soon, after her 1st tri. lol. She is prob reading but refraining to post!
She enquired with a CL, her rates normally is $2k. since its CNY period, must add on $1k, so that makes it $3k! This is including the 2-3 days leave she will take for CNY. If have older kids, must add on $100, coz she will be cooking for them too.

Do note that some CL do not cook for hb, so if request them to cook, either they are nice enuff to shun bian or they charge.

Thanks mummies. I'm just taking each a day at a time and hope my baby will stay with me.

MayC,
Yah, I guess your SIL is being very conservative. I'm also unsure now how pantang to be or to just behave like normal. For my #1 I attended relative funeral, went for weddings, exercised etc, ate whatever I want and it was all well. But lost my #2. And recently heard a lot of bad news from friends (miscarriage, molar pregnancy, ectopic pregnancy, baby died after birth). I guess as adults, it's till our own choice to make as to how conservative we want to go about.

Hello.. i am back.. fast hor..

from the scan, i am only 6 weeks.. no heartbeat yet.
I probably ovulated very very very late..
So, my EDD will be shifted to 6-Feb-12.. haha..

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD> EDD </TD><TD>Gynae </TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Birth order</TD><TD> Predicted gender</TD><TD> actual gender </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Carpe Diem</TD><TD> 31-Dec-11 </TD><TD>Dr Quek Swee Chong </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD> #1 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiny Bubu</TD><TD> 4-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maddie </TD><TD>7-Jan-12 </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>b_cup </TD><TD>8-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon</TD><TD> SGH </TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Felicia Low</TD><TD> 9-Jan-10</TD><TD> Dr Chen L.H</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>styliciously </TD><TD>10-Jan-12 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>CT (yoyoblue)</TD><TD> 10-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Suzana</TD><TD> kkh </TD><TD>#4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peanut (Veronica Chau) </TD><TD>11-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua (TLC)</TD><TD></TD><TD> #1 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tuetecotage</TD><TD> 11-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Anita</TD><TD> NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>(X) ttcx</TD><TD> 15-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Cheng JP </TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinko</TD><TD> 15-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bunnymuffin </TD><TD> 16-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Coyote </TD><TD>18-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Adrian Tan</TD><TD> TMC </TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly K</TD><TD> 18-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amaesing</TD><TD> 19-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>HQ</TD><TD>20-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Quek Swee Peng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>TBD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Echo</TD><TD>21-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jowinbaby </TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Cheng LC </TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>50/50  </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinko</TD><TD> 22-Jan-12</TD><TD> Dr Adrain Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Xie </TD><TD>24-Jan-12 </TD><TD> Dr. Hii Hoi Chin.Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>MayC </TD><TD>25-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr WK Tan </TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>PiggyB </TD><TD>26-Jan-12 </TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD> </TD><TD>#2 </TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blue_Y</TD><TD>27-Jan-12</TD><TD> dr eunice chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gingerleaf</TD><TD>30-Jan-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jallo </TD><TD>end Jan 2012</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheerbear </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD> </TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Steffy </TD><TD></TD><TD> dr koh cheng huat</TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Millie'sMum </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Echo </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SnowWhite </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chiffoncake (bigroundeyes) </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adel </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ZhuZhu </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>May (zanie98) </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> #2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>joyojoy</TD><TD>6-Feb-12</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>idk? All i want is heartbeat!</td></tr></table>

And yes, no twins.. only 1 sac

gingerleaf - thanks for the link, have bookmarked it.
The menu looks pretty decent, but I would have to request for no frog legs, tripe, liver :p Prices are not cheap though, but I suppose that is the going rate. At $1588, its almost the same as getting a CL for $1800+ (if not for the CNY period). I think TMC &amp; some other hospitals also offer confinement food delivery, so can consider that as well.

Like you, my CL made a mega mess of the kitchen too (e.g. I found a mould colony growing under the spice rack after she left cos she dropped alot of moist red dates under it!), took forever to cook &amp; doubled my gas bill (didn't even cook non-confinement food) &amp; didn't do much really. We hired her cos she was recommended by my mom's friend.

Thank goodness #1 pretty much just nursed &amp; slept through the month &amp; was a v easy baby. I did most of the night feeds myself too - she said he had to latch on else can't sleep, so don't see much value having a stranger in the house.
That being said, I think good CLs are still useful for 1st time mommies.

birdbrain - I guess to each her own. Like you mentioned, our experiences/friend's experiences would surely shape our outlook &amp; how pantang we want to be.

gingerleaf: I tried natal esssential last round..not bad..food portion is big..i can share with my MIL every meal..but there are some areas they dun deliver to..have to check

I should be using them this time again provided MIL wans to do my confinement..

Re: CNY Visiting
I think i will just stay at home...in no state to do any visiting oso..

People.. actually i am damn scared now!
Gynae say if by next monday no heartbeat, have to terminate..
How? What can i do now?

My LMP : 1 April 2011
But ovulation only on mid May? Funny huh?

MayC,
I think they are the most expensive confinement caterer, but they also have the best reviews ( from reading ard forums)Do share which one you will be choosing eventually! =D You reckon you be making own confinement soups?

Zhuzhu, is their soups nice? Im very concern abt soups.

Thinking of hiring a CL this 3rd time.
1st one was a breeze mil and mum took turns to look after n cook for me.
2nd one i ordered tingkat(forgot which company) but 2nd one was too naughty everyday oso cry(colic) until i oso scared depressed everyday cry with him.
so tis 3rd time die die oso got to hire a CL...but scared that CL will dirty kitchen....hehehe.Coz my mil came over and cooked confinement for me for my first.i already almost fainted coz my kitchen was so messy and oily....which i cant stand...(anyway i seldom cook that time...coz i hate to get my kitchen smelling of oil and seeing oil stains on my white top).

hi gingerleaf, tats abt the price i enquire too. With CNY, its $3K.

Your CL sounds bad.

haha, tell your HB. Its mother's instinct. No matter what, mother can do it

I surprisingly pass thru my confinement ordeal too. Alot of things and issue happened, plans backfired. Thank god that my HB is also very hands on. He managed to clear 2 weeks leave and stay at home to help.Do all the bathing for baby, clean her up and housework. i can concentrating on breastfeeding and all the feed. Typically just 2 of us during confinement. Cooking, my aunt just came , cook and go and its not confinement food cos she do not know. I wonder why i did not think of tink kat catering.

thanks zhuzhu!
yum yum!

Jowinbaby,
Heheheh, yeah, my baby slept thru the nite by 3rd mth, coz there were a few nights I slpt thru n forgot to feed her and she cried till she slept. =p
Thinking back, the most terrible phrases of preg and 1st year of birth is, nausea, night feeds and sore nipples. yikes!
And yeah, thank goodness for hands on hb. Mine helped to bath baby after CL left coz I was still nursing c sect wound.

joy: Dun worry. Be positive, if not like ginger said seek a second opinion.

Ya..it's really hard to find good CL. My CL for #1 is ok but can tend to be alittle rough with her. Coz i live in hse, she was complaining to me all the time that she has backache fm climding up &amp; dwn. She brings food up for me to the 3rd storey.

Hb is concern abt nite feed &amp; me walking up &amp; dwn to get food. So decided to go with a CL, but i think it is sooo ex during CNY. Most likely looking for a new CL.

Joy: Wait a while. Relax and think about bb-love.
I also lah, suppose to be 7weeks by calendar and LMP,but bb size 5wks only scare until I cannot sleep but 1 wk later ok.

ginger : I had that one with my sister's CL,I got a rude shock after I was carrying my nephew and tot he smelly after poopy diaper change, only to realised he got poop between his scrotum- my sister freaked out , then I had to go to her home very frequently to help check on the CL.

Jowin: maybe your husband can start business "Husband training for Confinement period" then all of us can save money on CL so ex and "exploit" us with dirty kitchen LOL

CL - i start to look ard too coz some CL will not take job during CNY esp if they r msian coz they prefer to hv time with the family.

so far checked 3 of them and quote me diff.. one for $3500 which she say is the norm for cny price.. 2nd one $3200 she say is i know her through my fren so deduct 300 (3500-300=3200) and another one via agency 3000 the cheapest but i very scare later no gd and waste $$.

mummies care to share ur research on CL

gingerleaf, zhuzhu - thanks for feedback on the confinement catering. They even provide red dates drink with every meal, so don't even have to prepare that ourselves. Will see what TMC has as well, &amp; decide between these 2. At least one lesser thing to worry about during the confinement month.

joyojoy - yes, think positive thoughts! Maybe you just ovulated later than normal? Better get a 2nd opinion before doing anything drastic!!

cheer bear - $3500 is indeed expensive! That is almost twice that of normal charges...wow.

Helps alot that hubbies are hands on during the early months so mommies can rest abit more.

MayC..
Yes, i will..

HQ..
Hope i am the same as you. 1wk later will have heartbeat!

But if i change EDD to Feb, you all dun throw me out here hor..
Hahahaha!!!

Confinement food - so turns out that my sis (due in Sept/Oct) is going to order from Natal Essentials for the confinement month, then Mom's Cooking (which I think is an affiliate catering company) for healthy tingkat food for the rest of the maternity leave. She will feedback to me then &amp; I can update interested mommies

Busy day n the thread move so fast!

Joyojoy: for my second preg also had long gap between period n pregnancy. But was breastfeeding so my periods were rather screwey.

Topic today is CL? Well I didn't have a CL for first preg n not planning to have for this one too. I didn't really want to have someone bossing me around n telling me' to eat this n do that etc. Mom cooked, helped with housework n baby in daytime. Hb took two weeks leave to run errands n do housework n help look after bb at night. Then again we were 'lucky' then cos my gal sick n stayed hospital more than a week. So I everyday cry n wish she can come home. By the time she came home I was so grateful I didn't have the heart to complain when she cried etc. This time I'm actually more scared cos we will have to handle my gal as well as bb. At least now we will have a maid to help with all the housework n washing up.

who should I ask to help me during my confinement period? My mum or MIL. Cuz I would sure be more comfortable with my own mum's food. But I should ask my MIL first?

I've tried to search for a CL. Got recommendation from my neighbour upstairs and this CL referred me to her agency instead. Turned out this particular CL is booked during that period le. But the confinement agency say will help to recommend someone else... Apparently their CL's all trained by Mt Alvernia de wor... PEM confinement. Have anyone heard about it? Any comments?

PEM confinement quoted me $2950 for confinement that includes any of the 1st 5 days of CNY. After that, starting from 28 Jan(6th day of CNY), price is $2350. For confinement starting after 8 Feb, price is $2050. These prices does not include govt levy of $165(if your child is Singaporean) The only thing is if I've placed a deposit for CNY, I cannot change my mind and change to a cheaper package.

Since my EDD is 28 Jan, I will most prob settle for the $2350 package. I told them I will confirm and pay the deposit of $650 only after my 2nd trimester

My#1 had a confinement lady. She is ok lah but just a bit rough and eats a lot (more than me and hubby combined). I choose to ignore most of what she says such as no washing of hair, no bathing with tap water etc etc... She also never cook red dates tea for me wor.... But this was 9 yrs ago so practices may be different then. =P

My hubby is not a hands on person... =( He would rather watch tv and play his computer than to help me with household chores. This is so even when I'm pregnant now. So am trying to get a maid before I give birth. Anyone has good maid agencies to recommend? Whats the current salary for Indo maids har?

Joyojoy: take care, try to bed rest more (this is what I learnt from the IVF thread) to an tai. Good luck! (^_^)