(2012/01) Jan 2012

pinko : we have same date
Hv u "secure" ur gynea and select the hospital? ;p

gd evening..hows the weekend so far?

Prune Juice - what i usually do (cos i freaking hate the smell and taste..hehe) i put a quarter of cup to half a cup of prune juice (i use Del Monte...or u can use the organic one too) then add more water.... then il just pinch my nose and down it....to me taste sucks but it does helps with bowel movement...

Eating prune will take a little longer cos its not that much and takes a little longer to spread down and digested...but it will of course help in the long run...hehe

But be warned....drinking prune juice will result in the most 'beautiful' farts...bad for couple time in bed...lol....

Blue_Y: The weekend's always good, but as usual too short. It's already half over
. How's yours?

It's interesting how everyone is commenting how nasty prune juice tastes. On all your recommendations to cure my constipation a couple of weeks earlier, I bought del monte prune juice, poured out half a cup, held my breath and gulped down, but found the taste ok. Maybe because I was expecting it to be really bad... Although it isn't good and wouldn't be my drink by choice, it's not as nasty as I had imagined.

I've just bought an organic one from Nature's Farm, will give that a try soon and see if I can similarly take the taste.

Hi mummies, eating dragon fruit will help with constipation too! ( eat 1 whole dragonfruit, pink or white doesnt matter the first thing in the am). I think this will help tremendously with constipation. And my gp told me its good for pregnancy coz it is a nutritious fruit! So can consider this option. Usually for me, I eat in the am, bowel movement will come around evening or before I sleep. Hope this works for all of you! :D

Btw, does any of you have backaches. I have pretty bad ones that will shoot down all the way to my legs causing numbness. The GNC sales people say its coz of insufficient calcium. Is this true? Can we eat calcium supplements? Esp at this stage of pregnancy? I read on the web tt some babies are born with hard skulls instead of the soft ones we would expect bbs to have, which is not good for the baby. So i dun dare to eat calcium supplments.

Anyone of u with backaches care to share remedies? Thks! (^_^)

Blue_Y : Gd idea to dilute with water. But does it take LONGER to swallow since more liq ? :p horrible taste!!!

I found tt my tastebud changed drastically - previously ok Liquid Calcium now taste like toxic!! Nausea after swallowing.. look like I hv to switch to pill-form

May : Serious? I had been taking calcium supplement all the while (for my aching legs)n I had stopped glucosamine now.
I had backache too, but doctor adviced better dun apply the chinese oilment!
Will like to hear any remedies too!!

May: This is the first time that I've heard that calcium will cause baby's skulls to be hard, I don't know whether this is true. Would you verify it and let us know if you can?

About backache, these are some simple stretching exercises I do in the morning (but not in the evening) which I do if I feel a little backache. I'll lay a thin mat on the floor before lying on a mat flat and raise my legs up so that my hips is off the floor and align my posture until my back (with my spine) is flat along the floor. So the spine from my buttocks up to just below my neck is flat against the floor. Just hold the position and relax so that the floor kinda lay against the spine.

I find that this helps my spine to straighten against the floor and align and feel relaxed. It's just at most a 3 min exercise but helps me relief my back pain.

However, I'm not sure whether this is suitable for pregnant women. It's something I do to relief backache before I was pregnant and something I feel is suitable to be done for me in the 1st trimester. I don't know whether I'll still do this when the bb is bigger on the 2nd trimester.

It does 2 things for me though. I'm prone to varicose veins and the feeling of blood flowing down from my legs to my body feels so good! I also don't have the feeling of pressure or blood being stuck in my legs aside from relief of pain in my spine.

I don't know whether it's suitable for you though, just simply sharing what is working for me. Errmmm... You may want to consult for medical advice before trying as we're all pregnant?

Ms carpe - yah.. Weekends are always too short.. Cant wait for ML so got 4 mths to bond with our children...

On calcium hardening baby skulls, from wat i know, all babies r born with soft skulls that will enable movement thru the birth canal easier. Their skulls will narrow abit entering the birth canal thts why the top part is called the soft spot...n wat i think i know is calcium r gd for baby bones to grow n form in our body, usually taken in last trimester...But if any medical evidence available let us know.. Quite interesting..

pinko: yes.. It will cause diahorrea if u drink both. Cuz once u drunk either of them, the stools are soft and it comes out real fast. So if u drink both, I think it's not too good

Hello Everyone ,
finally feeling better to get up. Gee MS getting quite furious never like this , keep salivating.

Mmm I also start getting backache can't sleep, for my #1 my gynae prescribe calcium in 2nd tri he say nowfolic acid and normal diet, but can't eat though...

Prune juice - hmmm...I actually like the del monte prune juice. I guess I am the only one?
Blue Y - prune juice causes farts? 1st time I have heard of it

May - thanks for the dragonfruit tip. I just so happen to buy 5 today!

MS - wow, hope mommies with MS get better soon. Hang on for a couple more weeks.

Mayc,
Thanks for the reply on perth! Will do more reading up at tripadvisor.

re: MS
Its killing me too if I go off the pills(its making me too drowsy) given by the doc. Come meal times, I can hardly eat even tho Im so hungry! I can only managed a few mouthful and my stomach starts to hurts and soon I'd feel like vomitting. Really hope it will go away asap.

Hope everyone is feeling better than me already!

lebebe - Yup im seeing Dr Adrain Woodworth and going to TMC. U? R u hoping for rabbit or dragon bb?

peanut - i get the feeling to sh*t but very little comes out and its hard so it makes me feel so constipated. shall go get some prune juice later!

pinko: I hope a dragon bb since 2012 already "fighting" with dragons for schooling
Most impt, I hope he/she is healthy and obedient.
Also if deliver after CNY, raw food will be cheaper ba..

Realised my sense of smell is getting worst!! I cooked my fav minestone soup, now its on stove boiling, n i feel like puking!! dunno how to continue cooking dinner this way

MS: Tks MayC hopes it gets better soon

Gingerleaf: I like yr description on MS , quite like what I feel too, hungry but can't stomach , but for me I almost totally reject food just wanna lie down

Pinko: me too feels like the bowel not totally empty then the bloated feeling continue

Lebebe: today my sense of smell totally off , my helper's powder smell on my son after she carried him was "threatening" to me i bathe him and changed his shirt haha

lelebe - I have the exact sentiments as u for dragon bb! So hoping bb dun come out too early but as long as healthy, im happy! hehe

tat will means confinement for us during cny. no bak kwa...! hahahaha

my sense of smell is still managable, ms has cut down and eating bigger portions now. only cant stand the stench/sight of waste food in bins at coffeeshop.

but im getting constipated now! need to get prune juice soon! sigh...

on the opposite scale of bowel movements. I had tat famous Upper Serangoon Nasi Lemak on Sat nite and this morning I LS like mad. My hb too. Initially I thought it's the cheese i ate for supper yesterday nite, but since my hb had the same LS symptoms as me, we concluded it must be the Nasi Lemak. GRRRRRR/... ban that place!! I didnt eat much, I only picked 30% from the plate that hb was having. sigh..

I'm quite worried, I hope bb is ok... I LS 3x this morning, now ok already... but am still worried, wondering if I should see gp even though I'm ok already. SIgh.

I'm usually very full at nite but every morning at about 5 - 6am, I will be so famished, I wake myself up. felt as if I have not eaten for days. So difficult to go back to sleep at 6am with a growling stomach. grrr... do u ladies get that?

CT: My MS also worsened in my 9th-10th week. You are not alone. Am sure as we go into 2nd trimester, it'll be better. Let's persevere!

Stella: How's your abdominal now? Better?

For those who dun like the smell of prune juice, you can add in ribenna to prune juice and mix with water ...the taste really better to drink.

I 'm having bad constipation and every morning i gotta drink so that i can "release"...really effective.

Re ms: mine worst this past week. Realized same as you guys now just past 10th week. Feel slightly better now.

Memory and thinking really bad. Forget this and that. Very unlike me. Also find it a challenge to manage household ie maid n daughter. Told my hb help switch on his brain plan meals etc. Jialat. Hope work not so bad. Although have made some boo boos already.

<font color="660000">ms Carpe Diem,
Pain still there but scan is normal. Doc at the kkh 24- hr clinic said it cld b constipation, urine infection or muscle strain. He jus gave me constipation pills n painkillers n asked me to monitor. If pain persists then go back to e clinic. In the end no answer to e pain but at least bb is fine

<font color="0077aa">Hi ladies!

I guess everyone's having the same complaints! I've been having bad constipation too.. thus, been having bad headache from friday to sat. No choice but ate 2 panadol extra. Lucky Sat was my visit to my gynea. My offical EDD is 13.1.12. Hehe.. I also got a memo with my EDD to let my workplace know. My gynea says actually suppose to give only after 12 weeks. Only at 9 weeks now. baby already have heartbeat.

Prune juice is good, though not my fave drink! My mum always nag at me to drink prune juice. I've been very low on energy these few weeks, so I started eating dates. Got a box of it from my mum. So far, so good. I will also make hot barley drink or drink with longan meat and brown sugar whenever I have the time on weekends.

Calcium supplements: Shd be ok to take according to directions coz the GNC prenatal pack has calcium pills as one of the pills. Now, I'm just taking folic acid - 800mg, iron pills and vommiting/giddy meds prescribe by my gynea. Usually I think gynae will give 400gm folic acid but i usually will take GNC folic acid 800mg. Daily shd not exceed 1000mg.</font>

Re MS again!

From what I have been reading abt MS going into 9-10weeks and getting worse is freaking me out! I had it much easier for my 1st one. MS for awhile only and totally gone!

Morning ladies! Am super sleepy now but juz thot to drop in...i juz realuzed my sensitive smell cant even take the smell of my baby even after bath! So sad leh.. I used to like her smell after bath, her hair etc.. Now i don do tht anymore... Sob sob...

But one thing gd currently is ive yet to show physically any sign of being pregnant but having not yet told even parents but having sleepy spells n tiredness certainly makes things bad for me.. Im hoping to wait out for as long as i can b4 letting the cat out of the bag..

Good morning all! My nausea pangs are getting worse. I'm only in week 7! Cannot imagine weeks9-10. haven't been eating well either. Ytd for the first time I finished a mcspicy burger on my own! Fiance was so surprised. Haha. Let's endure!!

Re: constipation
I am also having constipation..i rem my last round..costipation only starts when i was on Iron pill..think i better go get some prune juice liao..

Re:MS
For me, i think my MS is more at night...for dinner i usually have to split into 2 meal...otherwise cannot finished..

<font color="aa00aa">Morning mommies - another new work week....yawn

At least this is the week I finally get to see #2 for the 1st time. Yeah!
My 1st gyne appnt is this Saturday, can't wait!

Lush - wow, LS from the Upper Serangoon nasi lemak? That place is quite near where I live &amp; we always wonder why there is such an ultra long queue of people for nasi lemak! Anyway, hope your LS is clearing already.

CHARITY BAKE SALE
Btw, I am baking for a charity event together with some friends this Sunday - if you mommies can make it, please do come by ok! It is for the Assisi Hospices Charity, and will be at SJII Elementary, open to public from 10am. There will be free shuttle buses from Novena MRT station. Am gonna bake my potato-chip-choc-chip cookies to sell &amp; getting #1 to help me market it
All proceeds will go to charity, &amp; there would be loads of other food &amp; game stalls as well! </font>

Good morning ladies

Gynae appt tmr.. excited!!

So far, me no constipation, nausea, etc.. (touch wood)
Just a bit tired in the afternoon..

Anyone doing up a table?
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> Gynea</TD><TD> Hospital</TD><TD> Gender</TD><TD> BB#</TD><TD> Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>joyojoy</TD><TD>6 Jan</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>unknown</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>East</td></tr></table>

So fast monday already! Weekend is alwaz not enuff, yesterday managed to bake muffin with #1. =)

Sighz..now have major migraine..sianz anyway suggestion to make it better? I really dun wanna eat panadol.

wouldn't it be nice 5days weekend 2days weekday ... hee hee how wishful ...

piggyB : can you stomach water? if can, sip more,hydrating helps lessen the headache.

Joyojoy: Yoo hoo

Hi Morning Mommies

Had some spotting last wed, quickly went to my gynae and luckily #1 is alright and also can hear the heartbeat...Was so emotional that day...

Btw my EDD had changed to 24 Jan 2012 and my gynae is Dr. Hii Hoi Chin.

jowinbaby : jia you! I was on my back thru out most of the weekend. Head spinning and vomit till bile came out.

Btw if anyone started putting on weight, I am losing... hope it's not too bad.

joy
i think (X) has already started a table leh...

hq
losing a bit of weight in 1st trim is not dangerous, especially if your MS is bad or you are vomiting. Just make sure you don't get dehydrated. One of my friends had to be warded in her first trim cos of severe vomiting and dehydration.

weight lost - In a way, its good no, as long as its not to severe &amp; you don't end up dehydrated &amp; on a drip. At least you know you won't end up gaining too much by the end of the pregnancy!
I know of small built mommies who gained like 25kg, &amp; even after they lose the fats, the belly skin remains all floppy - can't get rid of that unless you go for a tummy tuck

actually I am more worried is the not drinking part, I usually like to drink water normal days but now I hardly make it thru 3 glasses of water... so sad.

I can only say absolutely different from my #1 experience. Just accept it I suppose...