(2012/01) Jan 2012

Came back from gynae, had a spontaneous miscarriage. Everything was dispel out naturally. Scan can only see lining. Gynae prescribed antibiotics for infection prevention n ask me to go out in 2wks time to make sure everything is clear.

Anyone can tell me what shld I eat now?

Zhuzhu: Could it be diff dosage? If not, should be different manufacturer so look different?

My hb wanna me to do c-sec coz he know he knows my tolerance for pain is low. I din do epi c-sec the last time coz my spine is 'S'-shaped so scare doc will have a hard time to administer the painkiller properly. But I really wanna to see my bb when it's out.

coyote: sorry to hear that, hugz hugz..
Maybe you should eat some confinement related food? Perhaps drink some DOM also?

PiggyB: no idea leh...tonite i go back and see if its diff dosage

Anyone take duphaston and get nauses? Now i duno if the nauses is from pregnancy or from medicine..

coyote
i'm so sorry to hear that. i hope you don't despair, can try again. maybe take more bu to strengthen your body to try again. take care.

oh dear coyote. Pat Pat.. please rest alot and take care.

C-sect:
I took epi c-sec. The epidural that injected on the back wasn't painful at all.

I had c-sect for #1 cos my girl is breech. She did not turn down afterall. Its dangerous to deliver with a breech baby. So have to go thru c-sect.All went well and i get to see my girl and breastfeed her very quickly.

My wound did heal properly. But the pain on the 2nd day was bad. Dun know is it because the nurses forgotten to give me the painkiller and i was forced to get down the bed cos the nurses wanna changed bed sheet. I thought i wasn't ready.

The 1st off the bed, i almost fainted. Felt a sharp knife just stab me on that wound and my legs went wobbled. Face turned pale and broke out in cold sweat. Subsequently, i could not even sit properly and walked properly. I had to be wheel chair to the baby class conducted on the 3rd day.

So this time, i really want to see if i can try VBAC this time. Yes, will seek advise from my gynae.

coyote: hugs!! can do a mini confinement if you want. just take a bit more ginger and confinement food, chicken essense...

zhuzhu: took duphaston for my first 2 preg. nausea is from pregnancy. duphaston makes it worse. stop multivits if really bad. resume those in 2nd trimester. first preg i didn't take obimin until 2nd tri.

baby bump: am almost 10 weeks, starting to show. in fact this 4-5 days bump grew rapidly n now quite visible esp if ppl are looking for it. this is after i lost 1 kg from eating less. sigh. still wearing post preg loose clothes so ppl haven't noticed.

coyote : Hugs!! take care..

x : thanks for the summary.. I still "shopping" for my gynea...will update when confirm...

btw, do u gals wake up by hunger at NIGHT?? it happen this 2 days, in addition to toilet trip
I tried to replace milo (liq) w solid food (bread) b4 zzz, still wake up...

echo : my pants already cant zip up, and i used a belt over my pant n cover with blouse(to prevent from dropping as I cant button up). Dunno how long this work-a-round can last. Then TOP-wise: already using bra extender... Cant believe its only 1st trimester already balloon

Experience mummies : may I kw when shall we start buying clothes? And undergarment cos mine already leaving marks on my hip
Dunno is stretch mark or panty-mark....

maddie: these 2 days, nauses is abit bad compare to other days..so i oso duno wat kind of nauses is it..

lebebe: for me, except for maternity pants, my tops are just normal top..opt for those bb doll top kind..I remeber the last time i bot my maternity pants in 1st tri..din rem exactly how many wks i was then..

Coyote: can get confinement food delivery , include the red date drink also. They also accept 2 weeks instead of usual 1 month. E.g. Www.Newbaby.com.Sg

Else, if self cook, add Ginger, sesame oil and martell/Dom. Take red date drink also + hv lots of rest.

lebebe
you can try buying a bellyband. i had that in my #1 pg and found it very useful. even used it postnatal to cover up my tummy when bfg in public.

echo : where to buy bellyband?? really need that..

Zhuzhu: wat abt panties? it leaving mark at my belly
guess too tight...

lebebe
can buy from Pupsik Studio (it's an online store, just google for their website) or Mothercare.

i also bought maternity panties last night. can buy the bikini type or the full belly type, depending on your preference. think i bought mine from Marks & Spencers.

Question: What do you say when people ask if you are expecting and you are not ready to announce until the first trimester is over?

amaesing : well, depends on the person who ask...
(1) not so close : R u implying I put on weight???
(2) close one : Unsure , but we are ttc
Will surely give u ample time to prepare bb ang pow!! LOL

haha amasing, i usually response my friends,i replied "You will know 3 months later." People who are sensitive , will know u not willing to announce now. * wink* .. People that i dun even wan to let them know, i will say , i m just not well

lebebe: u can buy 1 size bigger panties lor..i din buy maternity panties, just bot like normal size L or XL panties..anyway when ur tummy grows bigger, u will be wearing ur panties under ur tummy..

amaesing: I will say..I test liao then i let u know

Haha you guys are really good at this! Thanks for the tips! I'm definitely going to use them. I am so bad at this that I've even denied it outright to my mom's nosy neighbour when she asked. Then I started worrying after that my baby could hear me denying its existence!

Coyote - Hugs and pls take care!

Im going for my 2nd gynae appt tmr at 8wks now. Din manage to c bb hb 2wks ago. Hopefully I can see it tmr. Kinda paranoid upon reading so many mtbs saw hb at 6wks! haiz.. keeping both fingers and toes now! =(

And it really doesnt help when I need to prepare for wedding in sep and looking for job at the same time so I can be entitled to the 4 months of maternity leave!

How I wish I can go on holidays like many of u now! I love travelling! Has planned a Cambodia road trip in Jul, tix booked but cant go now cos hb dun allow.

SIGHHHHH~~

Coyote: hugs! Take good care of urself and observe some confinement practices.. Start prep for ur next one!

Sibling jealousy: for me not so bad coz #1 is already 9 and pretty independent. However, he is constantly changing his mind about wanting a didi or meimei. And he's been sweet. Last time we used to wrestle in bed and he would kick my tummy when i tickle him. Now he will just "ren" and wriggle but will not kick le. Hehehe... But this is after constant reminders to take care of mummy lah... :p

Trips: wanted to go Sydney next April for the Easter Fair. Guess might not b possible now, with bb's expenses and all.

(X): U have relatives in Ipoh? My mil is from Ipoh and we always go there every School hols to visit granny-in-law. But this time around, i guess must skip le. Sadzz coz totally miss the food there. Ipoh hor fun, beansprouts chicken, satay... Slurp!

Thanks all, we are alright. Pretty calm abt it as we are mentally prepared.

Just went to see my Chinese physician n she prescribed me 4 days of herbal tea to cleanse the system. She said is not unnecessary to eat confinement food but if I want I can take some chicken soup. Boil red dates n tan sheng n wolf berries to drink. Avoid catching cold.

Was super hungry earlier.. But after eating full meal, nauseous again! Eurgh! Hubby got nention one day we go eat Arnolds Fried Chicken kay.. I told him outright... The smell of chicken flesh make me nauseous... Gaiz.. Instead of having better appetite, the thought of any food turn me off.. How lyke tht...

Coyote - im so sorry to hear bout it, dear.. All the best n take care of urself.. Continue to eat well, take folic acid n who knows u wont be far off frm us.. Let us know anything yah..

Pinko - do not stress urself out too much yah... Hopefully things turn out well, juz the way u wan em to be...

blueY: Me too..duno wat to eat..now i think only those junk food can satisfy me..
i ate a small pack of chips b4 dinner...take a few mouthful of dinner..then go cook maggi mee..

I have the following to let go:
1) Babybjorn Baby Carrier Active (Dark blue/blue) at $180 (usual $249)
2) BabySafe Sling at $45 (usual $55)

Self collect at Queenstown MRT

Both items are almost brand new, tried less than 5times at home.

Pls PM me if interested. Thanks

Zhuzhu - my nauseous feeling till now...very sian....ate orange to try get rid of this feeling..cannot leh....i realise this time round, i cannot eat full meal..have to eat bit by bit...hungry eat agn...but the hungry feeling is the kind like never eat whole day..how to eat bit by bit...haiyohh...very diff from #1...
junk food - if u wana eat maggi, maybe can add in something nutritious like green vege or egg or tofu..so its still junk food but abit more nutritious..haha..can work lyke that or not...hehe

I'm currently into my 9th week. Baby is measuring small, 1 week size smaller during my antenatal checkup on Tuesday but gynae says it's acceptable. Edd should be 12th Jan 2012.

My morning sickness is driving me crazy especially the hunger pangs, every 1-2 hours.

Btw have anyone booked a confinement lady yet? Tried to book my previous nanny but she's booked already! So fast. Now headache don't know where to find a good one somemore my confinement will fall on cny.

Coyote: Really sorry to hear that, take care. Rest well and when you feel ready, hope you'll try again.

Lebebe: Hv you tried belt extenders? It worked for my friend in "extending" her usual pants/jeans until she's 7 months pregnant. I've bought it but hv yet to try it, depending on my stretchable pants, skirt currently. I've bought my belt extenders set from mothercare, usual price $29.90, currently they're having a 15% + 5% ("+" discount for members) discount

Jus came bk fr my gynae visit with Dr Adrain Woodworth. Finally got to see bb heartbeat n everything is normal at 7w6d! Big sigh of relieve! Hehe. EDD chg to 22 jan, cny eve! Now wondering if it's gonna b rabbit or dragon bb! So excited now cos it's my #1!

Pinko: Congrats! Wow, saw hb, my first gynae had said "most of the battle is won" and some websites had mentioned 95% success rate.

So would you prefer dragon or rabbit bb?

<font color="660000"> hi mummies,
I've been having very bad sharp lower tummy cramps for a few days already. I dunno if it's becoz of my horrible constipation, Over carrying my boy or something else. There's no bleeding or spotting. Anyone hv similar experience?</font>

Carpe Diem: Oh u mean once bb heartbeat is spotted normal, it will means 95% success rate of pregnancy? But i tot first tri is the most critical so if haven past that stage yet there still can have a risk of mc?

We hope for dragon bb since hearing so much tat dragons r gd but dunno why oso.. LOL moreover, its since its in the yr of dragons and will have to fight with other dragon bb in sch nonetheless so might as well have dragon but as long as its healthy, rabbit or dragon is fine as long as its jan bb! i dun wan year end bb so hopefully no premature...

Stella: I do get cramps here and there too with sharp pain suddenly too but gynae say its normal as uterus is expanding. I have abit of constipation too. Try not to carry ur boy and other heavy stuff k.. leave it to ur hubby! Go see gynae to scan for a piece of mind if there is a need to k?

<font color="660000"> pinko:
Thanks, can't not carry my boy coz my mil usually goes out in e evenings n leaves me alone w my son. N my hb usually comes back frm work aft my son sleeps so I hv to carry him ard. No choice. My mil isn't the very understanding kind. My gynea appt in 3 wks time. If very painful then mayb wil go to the kkh walk in clinic.</font>

stella
i also had bad cramps earlier this week, but I think it was due to my constipation. After i cleared my bowels, the cramps definitely improved. Maybe you can try some fybogel to help move your bowels?

Pinko: If those websites that I had read are accurate, then yes it does sound like the chances of babies whose heartbeats are heard passing through 1st trimester is very high (some of these websites say 95% chance). My first gynae did share that my bb then had a good chance after hearing a quick, seemingly strong hb (although he didn't commit to a statistic) of passing through 1st trimester although I was spotting then.

In general, 1st trimester is considered as less stable. Statistics shared in different websites put the figures as between 40-60% of embryos do not pass through the first trimester.

Carpe: Great to hear that. Cant wait for 1st tri to be over!

Peanut: Does eating prunes helps too? Im starting to feel constipated..! haizz

prune juice works better than eating prunes, pinko.

i'm hoping baby's born on EDD instead of earlier. 'cos im a dragon baby. haha!

<font color="660000">echo:
I'm trying Fybogel to see if it works. The pain is quite irritating, can't even lie down comfortably.
prune juice maybe I try tomoro. So much fibre will I get diarrhea instead?</font>

stella - I doubt you can get diarrhoea from prune juice, unless you consume the whole big bottle at one go
I have been drinking del monte prune juice &amp; eating prunes as well....but still having abit of difficultly moving bowels. In the 3rd trimester, have to make sure not to overstrain, else would end up with piles

gingerleaf - on perth, our plan is to get a free &amp; easy package with accomodation &amp; car rental. On what to do, check on tripadvisor for tips? Perth has lovely wineyards, and in our condition, its quite a pity cos we can't go for wine tasting anyways. Maybe see if there is a farmstay? Plus the zoo, and anything to do with nature would always appeal to the toddlers