(2012/01) Jan 2012

Dear all, have been reading for the past few weeks... Congrats to all of you here...

Ms Carpe Diem- the folic acid that u r referring to, is it the yellow small pill?

Ms Carpe - yeah.. My folic acid pills r from Guardian pharmacy. In fact u can buy it without consulting the pharmacist. Usually il b able to locate it under the pharmacy counter... Its the same as the gynae prescribed ones..

Im still able to wear my pants n clothes except for the fact that it felt much flabbier... Used to be leaner now its depressing.. Nowhere near looking pregnant yet so flabby looking... Haha

On medications, supplements.. In fact it is not a must for us to consume so much in the 1st tri.. Usually folic acid is sufficient n if u have weak appetite gynae will prescribe Obimin, a form of vitamin supplements. Tri two, you'll be taking in more as fetus are more formed.. Tri three will be calcium, iron n some neogobion for the growing brain of babies.. Impt in tri 1 is to eat healthily as its more for the mommies...

folic acid
i just did a quick google and the recommended dosage of folic acid is 400mcg a day if you are TTC and 600mcg a day if you are already pregnant. max dosage is 1000mcg a day. Blackmores Folate contains 500mcg. folic acid can also be found in foods like eggs, beans, milk, dark green leafy vegetables. however, if you have history of neutral tube disorders in your family, you should take more. hope this clears up the folic acid confusion!

Ms Carpe: u can just go to the pharmacy and get the folic acid..no need prescription..i thik guardian pharmancy just pack the folic acid over the counter n we just take and go..they had it in pack of 100 tabs..think $6++..I bot it b4 preggy..the last time I took folic acid all the way till i deliver..cos i got extras to finish

Wow, so many postings overnite! TGIF!
Maddie – * phew * its great to hear that this pregnancy is coming along well!

On having less time for #1, sometimes, we also do wonder how we can have so much love to share with both #1 & #2, and not compromise. Also, Kieran (#1) has been the best child I can ask for, & my worry is that #2 would fall short (like being slower to walk/talk etc) & its only natural that parents compare though we know each child is special in his/her own way!

Of cos, we are also worried that Kieran would feel pangs of jealously (after all, he is only 2.5 & I am sure it is normal to be somewhat jealous), but so far, he has been a very supportive & giving me double doses of kisses & saying "make sure you pass to prawn baby" (his nickname for #2). He is very mature for his age, & fingers crossed he will adapt well. We have also been prepping him about having a new sibling for months now, & he was the 1st one we told once the test kit showed positive. Meanwhile, I have friends who's #1 would step on #2 when the parents are not looking – scary!

Blue Y – My EDD is based on the online calculator for now, will have to wait for gyne to confirm when we see her…but mine will be an elective C-sec, so most prob deliver by mid-Jan. But don't worry, there are loads of mommies in this thread, so I am sure we would be visiting each other in our respective hospitals. When I had Kieran, there were other mommies giving birth at TMC the day before/after/on my day, so we were going up & down checking out each other's babies
Made the stay less boring!

Pregnancy showing - to me, I think it is, cos I never had a tummy & am usually in form fitting tops. Now there is a tiny bit of a bulge like I ate too much buffet. Showed hubby & he says I don’t look preggers at all, but men are never observant....The scales have gone up 1.5kg though. Argh. I am still carrying #1 occasionally and doing all the stuff we used to do, don’t feel that preggers yet.

Mscarpediem – folic acid can be easily bought off the shelves actually. I think its one of the cheapest supplement around – like $7+ a bottle from GNC. I stocked up on a lot & have been taking the last couple of months before the pregnancy. Now I switched to pre-natal vits with sufficient folic acid (800mcg I think) & have a couple of extra bottles of folic acid lying around.

Unity Pharmacy's folic acid (5mg) is 100 pills for $2.50. Should be the cheapest in town.

I have been taking that for my 1st pregnancy and during TTC.

thinking of food - I have been thinking of food ALOT! Are you mummies doing that too?

Like checking out food deals on Grupon & buying their vouchers...and looking for online baking recipes! Am gonna bake banana choc chip/cranberry muffins this weekend.

Zhuzhu: Thanks for info!

CT: Thanks for experience sharing on co-opting siblings in care of child. Just wondering when your 3rd child is born, how old is your 1st and 2nd children and what childcare tasks did you let them do?

Echo: Yes that's what I read on the internet as well, however when I had told the 1st gynae confidently that I'm already taking folic acid at 800mcg (bought off the shelf at nature's farm which I was taking before I was pregnant) he told me it's not enough and that was when he had prescribed the 5 mg tablets. My current gynae prescribed the same amount as well.

Folic Acid
My gynae also told me to buy at pharmacy. He said that it's much cheaper outside these days.

Sibling rivalry
My 2 1/2 years old girl is kinda excited that there's a new addition. She is dictating where the baby sleeps. So baby will sleep in between she and I. Daddy will move to the floor. Daddy is upset. =). These days she will also say old stroller for baby, buy new stroller for jiejie. *pengz* Don't know who have been teaching her all these.
MS
I also realise that if i don't eat, I will have a greater urge to puke. I am not eating as much as my first pregnancy.. don't like fish.. don't like milk..

hee hee MayC - Yes , I was happy I have had my Dim sum yesterday at Cathay Rest. cos they have lunch time 20% so very shiock... but after that suffer ms double cos too full haha

wah... talk abt folic acid and food!

Going on a road trip this weekend.
Driving to KL and Ipoh. Hope i can eat and eat. Wahahhaha....

Bump
It's definately showing!!! But i can still wear my low waist jeans. I have not told anyone in office except my gossip girls (my office pals). Told them to hush hush till maybe end of month.

Informing #1 abt #2
Well... we did try to prep #1. And when we ask, u want to be gor gor? Will u sayang baby? He'll affectionately lift my shirt up and blow raspberry onto my tummy, making it "moisturised" with his drool! Haha...

MayC: Yes, I'm aware that folic acid is available off the shelf. The highest concentration I had found was 800mcg which I had bought from Nature's Farm and regularly taking before I knew I was pregnant.

When I was trying to solve my "not enough gynae-prescribed folic acid at strength of 5mg", I had realised that these gynae-prescribed strength folic acid can be bought over the counter, and it is this knowledge I'm trying to share with all of you. For those who are not yet seeing your gynae, it is possible for you all to get it cheaply without needing to pay the gynae consultation fee. Someone else had mentioned here it is possible to get it without prescription which will be good news for these people.

Someone else had mentioned 5mg folic acid is possible to
be bought off the shelves at unity, this is something I don't know and may be useful info for people here.

(x) ahh that was the question in my head, I have a family trip planned in July and didnt expect bb to happen.

Is it ok to travel - by plane ... ahhh my air ticket how how how ... I suppose by then I am 10-11wk

mscarpediem - wow, 5mg of folic acid? Did you gyne say why you needed so much (don't need unless there is a risk of spinal cord problem)? Is there any side effect from over consumption? All along, i was assuming 800mcg was the recommended dosage & we were not to exceed 1mg unless there is a special need to.

hq - yes, its ok to travel by plane! I have work trips all the way till Nov actually, but airlines do not allow preggy mums to travel after week 28, which would be end Oct for most of us. For #1, I travelled right till then, and I remembered the airline tixt counter lady eyeing my belly with suspicion - as you get bigger, you also need a gyne letter to certify your EDD & that you are fit to travel.

X - remember to eat ipoh hor fun & the chicken rice balls! yumz

Hq - it is safe to travel if your gynae says your ok n give you the clearance paper. Il be travelling to states most prob in september with bump, baby n hubby. Hope i can make it to n back.. Planned initially for nov, but by 7th mth, pregnant moms are not allowed to fly...

hq,
Where are u planning to go to in July??
We are planning for a trip in end July too, but have not gotten tickets yet. Am wondering if I will still be suffering from any MS at the end of 1st Tri.

wowww ... sounds good.

but my parents/sister making a lot of noise about it (becos of my age and afraid/safety for me)... haizzz I am sooo looking for this family get away, my hubby very very disspted if i cannot go cos he also looking forward for the break.

MayC: No leh, both gynaes didn't give any indications that mine is abnormal pregnancy nor that I hv any indications of poor health.

The first gynae shared his opinion that 800mcg is not enough and my current gynae had simply prescribed me the same without any other communication from me (I didn't tell him my previous gynae had prescribed the same amount), so I'm under the presumtion this is standard gynae practice. Until someone in this forum commented that his/her gynae allows him/her to buy straight from pharmacy.

Don't know whether both my gynaes are over-cautious or what, haha. But as far as I know there's no r/s between these 2 gynaes lah, so I presume both are their own objective, neutral advice who happened to give me the same prescription for folic acid.

Trips
i was initially planning to visit HK disneyland in Sept, for #1 3rd birthday. But... think will have to postpone it. Maybe postpone till #1 is 5yo, by then, #2 shd be almost 2yo. Hee... still cheap to fly at infant rate. Haha...

we are going to phuket. Suppose for a dive but of course now cannot hee hee. just bump ard relax and all,no elephant ride,no rafting, no massage
my fav , I think some street food also cannot eat so maybe just bring the boy boy to sit the glass bottom boat and feed fish

gingerleaf ; i am so excited talking about it forgot about ms I also hope by then ok liao .if not super air sick hahaha

(X),
My hb wanted to bring me n #1 to HK disneyland to celebrate MY birthday in sept! lol. #1 celebrated hers there last year, so hb said this will be my last trip before I pop.

hq,
quite restricted on things that you can do in phuket! Worse is cannot anyhow eat(Im a glutton!hehehehe) But Im sure a relaxing trip is going to be great for the family as well!

mscarperdiem - ok, on the folic acid dosage, maybe the rest of us can check when we see our gynes too. Googled online & all typically recommended 800mcg unless there is a need for a higher dosage cos there are some side effects from overdosing. Maybe your gynes are ultra ultra conservative...?

Family trip - we are planning to bring #1 to Perth in Sept, but haven't made the arrangements yet. Thought we better do it before baby comes, cos it would be a hassle travelling with a toddler & an infant after that.

gingerleaf hahah my hb and #1 all sept baby too
exactly the eating part must be careful - fully cooked.

Mayc - we did plan for a later part of the yr to Perth cos my hb can book some chalet there and to visit my friend in Mel but will reconsider now w bump and tod ...mmm nice to go before pop thought also cheaper hee hee

One of my girlfriend went perth (cos child friendly), I saw her photos it was so enjoyable for the family , her boy then was 2.5yr she went w bump too

family trip: we were planning to go Jap in Oct..but now after the earthquake n radiation..no need to go liao..

now with #2..dun think i will be travelling anywhere soon..probably do a staycation instead

Hq
I am also going to phuket with my family in end-June! About 10 weeks by then. Gynae said it's okay to go, cos I have a normal pregnancy.

echo - NICE

I suppose when in 11days (next scan) I get clearance from gynae haha - let's see.

ZhuZhu : staycation also nice - same fun, no hassle of travelling.

Hi Ladies..

I may be a bit late.. but i just tested +ve this morning..
LMP - 1 April 2011..
EDD - 6 January 2012.. (thru online calculator)
Baby #1

Yet to see any gynae..
Any good lady gynae to recommend in the east?

Nice knowing all of you..

Ms Carpe- my gyna gave me folic 2.5mg... Before this I was eating those I bought from unity 5mg ones.
My gyna also did say can eat those bought outside on my own, but since mine was running out so just bought from gyna lor...
Tiring. I can't remember when was the last time I truely enjoyed a meal.

Joyojoy: Congrats! I am currently seeing Dr Eunice Chua @ TMC

Re: Looking pregnant
I think now I still don't look like pregnant, just a bump. Still wearing pre-preg clothes, just that pants can be quite tight and cannot button. I will use my bellybelt, pretty good to use. For my last pregnancy, I started looking pregnant abt 4 mths.

Re: travelling
Was planning either to go HK or phuket in Nov for a short trip just to relax with hb & #1. But now my hb say he scare wait i have fainting spell overseas. So most likely a staycation too..mayb thinking of booking a hotel room at Sentosa. A bit sianz..was really looking forward to go overseas

Re: Folic Acid
I dunno the dosage that was given to me by my gynae. Bt it comes in tab of 10 pills/tab & is a small orange pill. Anyone taking that?

Re: Overseas travelling
I just came back from a 8 days China biz trip. I didnt even know i was pregnant.
Felt very tired and the food all smells disgusting

PiggyB
Thanks! btw, where is Dr Eunice Chua's clinic?

joyojoy: Hi dear! welcome to the thread. I'm also with Dr Eunice Chua. She is in TLC clinic in Thomson. She is kinda good and warm.

Re: Overseas
I also thinking of travelling to Melbourne this August but because MS is so bad, am afraid I will get worse motion sickness (which I normally already have) and puke for the whole 8 hours. It would be awful. Reconsidering this step. hahaa

wow ladies, all talking about trip.

Travelling:
I planned for my taiwan / perth trip but think gonna change to a staycation at sentosa too or just nearby trip already.
Not sure how long my MS going to last. Last pregnancy is for 5 months. Sigh.

hq, my #1 is 2.5yr old.

joyojoy, congrats!

Holidays: Looks like a number of us are planning trips to Perth! We picked Perth cos its just 4 hours away & pretty toddler-friendly

joyojoy - congrats & welcome to the forum!

Blue Y - elective C-sec as is its a pre-planned C-sec, as opposed to an emergency one. Mine has to be via C-sec cos I had 2 cuts done on the bikini area already, & would be safer to deliver again via C-sec rather than natural birth cos there is a risk of the existing stitches bursting from exertion during pushing. Thankfully, I am totally pro-C sec, quicker & more painless in my opinion (of cos alot of mommies would disagree)...plus you know exactly when you would deliver rather than wait for the waterbag to burst. Elective C-secs are usually about 2 weeks earlier than the EDD, that's why I am assuming mine would be in mid-Jan

Hi MayC, Mine is elective C-sect become emergency C-sect, cos waterbag burst before my appointed c-sect date. Any idea what's the chances of having a VBAC this time.
Cos i heard alot of pple said, once c-sect, subsequent delivery also need to c-sect. Its been already 2.5yrs . The stitches would not burst right.

I dun like c-sect cos it is painful for me for weeks

Jowinbaby,
My gynae dun encourage VBAC. Old man... tell me not worth the risk. So it will be c-sec for me too. Also same at MayC, would be ard week 38.

So far, i only know/heard of 1 gynae that is pro-VBAC. If u want VBAC, better talk to ur gynae. If ur gynae is against the idea, u better change gynae to have ur wish fulfilled.

jowinbaby - check with your gyne? Alot of mommies manage to go for VBAC successfully,& since it has been 2.5 years, I think if you want to try for natural birth, it should be ok if your gyne says so. Btw, why did you opt for an elective C-sec for #1?

For me, its a no brainer to have another C-sec - having to endure a long labour & stitches at the perineum area ('down there') freaks me out! My C-sec was v smooth, went off painkillers the next day & scar healed v well, so I am just going to opt for C-sec again.

found myself tolerating fruits very well.Read that we cant eat too much watermelon and pineapple?Oh no....have been indulging since then...

jowin
can check with your gynae about whether you can do VBAC. some gynaes are more supportive, some are less keen to take the risk. depends on your individual case. why did you need a C-section for #1?

ladies, havs anyone tried strengthening your body using TCM? As I am spotting quite frequently (gynae suspect i may have polyps
), im wondering if TCM is better in strengthening body. I'm already eating Utrogestan though. Hmmm...

For me, I want to go for VBAC, but hb is not so keen. He keeps asking me to go for c-sec, he say easier. I had a GA c-sec the last time. But if this time really decide to do c-sec, i wanna go for epidural. Is the jab to the back very painful? I am freaking scare of needles. But my c-sec was smooth lah, scar healed well too.

joyjoy: welcome..

PiggyB: the folic gynae give me was little orange pill...the one i bot from guardian was a little yellow..duno why the diff oso

looks like some mummies are opting for staycation at sentosa..maybe one day we will meet there..

I had epi c-sec, coz wanted hubby by my side.
Doctor will inject a smaller needle to numb the back first before administering the epi jab (really thick needle!).

When he asked me to keep very still.... i was actually feeling damn stressed. Imagine a full 38 weeks tummy, and have to hunch back so that the jab can be administered. The more he say keep still, very still, now breathe in.... i just FROZE!

Its interesting to know our choices...
but i clearly remember on the 2nd day in hospital, we were supposed to go for baby care class at tmc.. So we were all looking eager n happy waiting for class to start. In came a young lady, in wheel chair n doubling up n looked so in pain.. Face so pale n the nurse was so worried. She asked the lady, "2nd day still so pain arh? Must go check with your gynae. Usually shld be better". Thereafter i think ouch.. I hope not to do c-sect if possible.. See the girl face so pitiful... Cant even sit straight..

Blue Y - I guess its really a case by case basis, depending on how the mommies' bodies react/pain threshold & the skill of the gyne performing the C-sec.

X- mine was an epi C-sec as well, so I was awake through the 45 minutes & could carry baby right after he came out
The most painful point for me was when they did 2 tubes of blood extraction from a vein on my hand - the hand near the fingers area, not the arm where they usually extract blood from - as part of the stem cord blood donation (pain level: 7/10) cos they took forever to insert the needle into my hand. After that, when I had the epi jab, it was like an ant bite (pain level: 1/10) & everything went numb after that...ahhh...(really admire those mommies who deliver naturally without epi).

piggyB - its your pregnancy & delivery. I think you should have the final say if you opt for VBAC/C-sec with your gyne, and not your hubby

PiggyB,
Maybe ur hubby dun want u to go thru the pain leh. Or, maybe he's scared to witness the birth of baby (no offence pls). So ask u go for GA c-sec.

MayC - Thanks!
Zhuzhu - Thanks!

PiggyB -
TMC too far for me le..
I have made an appt with Dr Geraldine Tan, also from TMC.. her clinic is at Katong.
Anyone has any feedback on her?