(2012/01) Jan 2012

Ginger: I tot is pineapple cannot take only. Pineapple tart also will affect ar..wah i love pineapple tarts.

Me oso got a lot nice gal gal clothes from #1. If boy den have to buy new clothes, hb more than willing to buy though. He hoping for a boy this time.

hg: I try to control dun take panadol.

Hq, I was just prescribed some of those cos he saw some blood in the ultrasound. He said its ok so long I take the hormone pills.

hi hq, i was prescribe Utrogestan too and gynae did mentioned about the effect. Will be nausea. Alternatively, he did suggest me to directly insert it deep into the vaginal. This lessen the side effect, instead of taking it orally.

MayC, i glow and my skin condition is very good when i have #1 too. #1 is a gal. This time abit opposite. Let's see the gender.

Adel - wat u mean detect blood in ultra sound? How they do tht?
N btw i lurve pineapple tarts too!! Pls lets not talk abt it if not i crave for it now then husband gona die finding gd one for me.. Hehe

BLue_Y don't know! He saw some cloud in the ultrasound scan. Said it's blood. But v lil. I read online, could be dirty blood or placenta slightly weak. That's why need hormones to strengthen.

adel - interesting I never heard can scan and detect blood. oh do rest well.

Utrogestan is for An tai/ hold baby tight tight to womb.

jowinbaby - my gynae never suggest that but then if have to insert daily a few time quite girly for me ahhh

gingerleaf : They are basically the same ; helps stablised baby in womb.
I did a search and got information overload , then I start to doubt= not very good for the emo - end up felt very frighten and dumb, then I tell myself just trust the doc.

Hq - hehe.. Tht phase in pregnancy im sooo looking forward to.. Hope we'll go thru it this time.. If not, less motivated... I dun really like pregnancy cos eating iron n calcium pills makes me super duper constipated. The thought of being constipated so bad makes me put off but now im going thru it agn...this is even when i drink so much water n eat fibrous foods..n when finally wana poopoo, it was so big n painful that i cried passing motion... Really hate it.. Sigh..any mothers with tht experience b4?

Mommies, how hungry are u getting? I have been eating every 2 hours today...argh...irritating.

Blue Y - I had some constipation towards the end of my pregnancy for #1. Just eat more prunes/drink prune juice/Fibrogel? Have to make sure you don't overstrain yourself, will get hemorrhoids!

Hi Blue, i had very bad constipation that piles came, broke and bleed at last trim of my #1, i had prescribed fybogel from gynae. Twice a day. It helps.U may call ur gynae if you can drink at 1st trim. If yes, can get it over pharmacy off the rack.

hi hq, haha.. to me, its like insert tampons la.

Hi Adel
oh, u had it same as me. Gynae also saw blood clot in me. Thats why maybe on n off i had pinky discharge. The ultrasound can see a patch.

insert through the vagina sounds scary.. hahaha

I can't take the hormones pills. Was prescribe in the the 4 weeks but then having so bad MS then I request to stop since I don't have spotting. After stop, I feel better, but now, MS again. Naturally. Hope to be over soon since I'm in my week 9. Doc say would be better after week 10

Hi mayC - hungry but cant really or dont feel like eating , dilemma lah, I think it good to eat 2 hrly , hungry makes ms worse.

Jowinbb - but tampon got the applicator this one dont have hahaha

wahhh lauu cant wait for 5.30pm to come wanna go home and crash, eyes cant keep open already. My poor #1 like so neglected....

hq, hungry will make MS worse. I try to eat bit by bit to curb tat hunger

Yes, my poor #1 too. Now that i cannot carry her, very tired. Did not play with her so much. I feel so guilty.

haha.. finger as applicator.

okie mummies ... me ciao for the day, Have a great evening and catch you later or tomorrow.

meanwhile eat well , rest well , sleep well.

toking abt hunger..i just snack on some crackers..makes me feel better..

I also taking a no.medicines this round..got folic, fish oil, negouine (duno how to spell) & duphston...i ask the nurse take so much medic..is it becos i am older already..

Zhuzhu and jtml: I was just thinking about how to verify the child is still growing within us. I wonder whether the home pregnancy kit may be a non-invasive, safe way of finding out that our child is still growing well? ie if pregnancy kit shows +ve, it's still growing well?

mscarpediem - that has been precisely what I have been doing cos I haven't had my gyne appnt yet. Been using a home pregnancy test kit to test every week! I have 5 used test kits lined up by the bathtub now
But...i googled & it is not all that accurate cos it measures our hCG levels, and even after a MC (touch wood), the hCG levels take up to 4 weeks to moderate back to non-pregnancy levels. Meaning that one could have had a MC & still test positive for another month using the home test kit

If we are ultra paranoid, the safest bet is to still use the doppler to check the heartbeat....anyway, once we all pass the 1st trimester & baby is fine, it should be quite safe. 80% of MCs would have happened by the end of week 12.

My gynae gave me Utrogestan too. and she ordered me to stay at home, bedrest, for a week. I have been having spotting everyday since the past 1 week. There was a day when it got really bad, I stained my whole panties. I was horrified to see that. Gynae say if no pain, then not so bad. But still, I'm worried...
And when I'm home, I'll start reading up on pregnancy stories and get myself all frightened and worried. Sigh. Am really praying hard that baby remains safe. I'm 9 weeks. *baby jiayou!*

hello... wow, busy day at work, no time to check work email even!

thanks ladies for your concern. reread my post and realised i wasn't clear. miscarriage was for my previous pregnancy. current one is ok, in fact went to see gynae today and saw my baby now 26mm at 9+ weeks. so cute, can see the head, arms and legs moving! so far this pregnancy is very smooth, no bleeding, baby grow well and hb strong. not like last one, and have to take duphaston to strengten the pregnancy. end up also cannot make it. think really depend on the baby lor. is nature's way.

who was asking abt obimin in first trimester. my first preg i didn't take cos MS very bad. apparently it makes the nausea worse so if really cannot tahan then just skip the multivit first. just take the folic acid. gynae said folic in obimin not enough so need to add. also take fish oil for brain devt.

re MS: eating small meals regularly helps. i find the lemon ginger tea helps. can put some honey. also strangely, grapefruit juice for me. =)

for those expecting #2 or #3 (or for CT, #4), how do you feel about having number 2? i sometimes feel that i don't think i can love #2 as much as i did #1. also feel bad that #1 has to get less of my time when she needs me now. she is so much more clingy to me and woke up every hour last night just to make sure that i'm around. yawn! lucky i was so busy i had no time to feel sleepy.

Ms carpe , yep mayC reply is correct, the hcg will stay in our bodies, so the kit will still show +ve.

Maddie so glad it a false alarm. Wahaha.

Gingerleaf what about mashed potatoes, I also can stomach mash potatoes. Chawamushi, sandwiches also. Tonight I tried Tom yum... Hiaz I itchy backside. bloated now but not as bad as previous nights.

Maddie my kids no. 1 & no.2 were 3 years apart. so by the time i pregnant no.2, Rayhan was indipendent. when no2 almost born rayhan when to nursery. So i got time wif newborn when rayhan in school. After school we spent time together watching Hi5, colouring. We bath no. 2 Danial together. rayhan will shampoo danial, wipe him n powder danial. dinner we eat as a family. by 8pm read books than almost 9pm sleeping time. No 3, 6 yrs gap with danial n 9yrs gap with rayhan. same routine but the biger boys got more duty.

As a family we unite, we do things together when we together... we share responsibility the bigger boys love no 3 sooo much.. They will tell their friends the funny things no3 does... so when i got unplan for no4, i declare to the bigger boys n they had aready prepare with new duties..

CT great job... Keke occupy the older boy cum teach them to care for others cum help u out. 3 birds 1 stone.

I now drinking the lemon Ginger tea to curb the vomiting sensation.

I was scrolling down the tabulated list of the Jan 12 mtbs...Piggy and MayC, we r from TMC and our EDD is super close..i think 25,26 and mine 27? who knows our babies will be side by side in nursery...hehe...cute...

i just felt that today seems like a Friday....its so tiring....cant wait for the weekend so i can spend more time with my fam...

Maddie - earlier, my lil 15mth old girl came to me and call out her endearment for mother to me...then it suddenly struck me..this little girl needs full attention and love...i felt so guilty...I love her so much too...i dont know if i can feel the same for #2...she clings on to me..hugs me and kiss me...and i feel ive done her injustice....told hubby and he felt the same way....now feeling really sad....we shldnt have and now the consequence is so clear in front of us when we show my lil girl the printed scan...she just see and throw like any other paper she has in her hand...goes to show she doesnt even know anything yet....feel sooo guilty..

many here are with #2...anyone else feel same way?

JTML,
thanks for sharing. Shall try that soon. my MS is so much under control now with meds! Managed to ate a chicken burger today. lol

Good morning mummies! =)

Maddie: glad to hear everything is fine for you!

BlueY: Ya, mine is on 26. Who knows we may be bedmates in the hospital. Hee

Ms carpe: May C is right. it take a while for HCG level to go down..so the test kit might not be able to tell..best is to go doc there n scan...sometimes it just make me wan to run to doc there every other day to scan..

Blue Y: My boy suddenly told me on mon, he dun have any bro n sis..he wans a real bro n sis..was a bit shock..cos haven tell him the pregnancy yet..only show him the scan pic..which he doesn't really noe..so now i try to prep him to get ready for a sibling lor..

Wah... seems like we have a few new Jan12 MTB.
Let me add on to the list.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Birth order </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Carpe Diem</TD><TD>31-Dec-11</TD><TD>Dr Quek Swee Chong KKH</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiny Bubu</TD><TD>4-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>#3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheerbear</TD><TD>7-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maddie</TD><TD>7-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>b_cup</TD><TD>8-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hak Koon SGH </TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Felicia Low (justfelicia) </TD><TD>9-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stella Rodrigues </TD><TD>9-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>CT (yoyoblue)</TD><TD>10-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Suzana, kkh</TD><TD>#4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>styliciously</TD><TD>10-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Chen L.H (M. Alv)</TD><TD>#3 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yong Hui</TD><TD>10-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peanut (Veronica Chau)</TD><TD>11-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua (TLC)</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tuetecotage </TD><TD>11-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Anita NUH </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>(X) ttcx</TD><TD>15-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Cheng JP (Mt E)</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Idali</TD><TD>15-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinko</TD><TD>15-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Coyote</TD><TD>18-Jan-12</TD><TD>Adrian Tan, TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly K</TD><TD>18-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>amaesing</TD><TD>19-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michele Xie</TD><TD>19-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Echo</TD><TD>21-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jowinbaby</TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Cheng LC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>lebebe </TD><TD>22-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>MayC</TD><TD>25-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan (TMC)</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>ZhuZhu</TD><TD>25-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr SP Teo</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>PiggyB</TD><TD>26-Jan-12</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>May (zanie98) </TD><TD>28-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Apple Khoo</TD><TD>30-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gingerleaf</TD><TD>30-Jan-12</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jallo</TD><TD>end Jan 2012</TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adel</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blue_Y</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chiffoncake (bigroundeyes)</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>h.fgaga</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>hq (coolcatmeow) </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Millie'sMum</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>SnowWhite</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#3 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Zhuzhu: Me oso try to prep my gal for another sibling. A bit worried coz she is the only great-granddaughther on both my hb &amp; mine side, so she has alot of attention. Scare when bb is out, she cannot tahan that we need to divide our attention bet her &amp; bb. M thinking of borrow books fm lib to read to her abt being a sister. Hope can be like CT. =)

Echo: Initially I was on Blackmores pregnancy Folate. I told my gynae and he told me that these vits do not contain enough dosage for our growing babies in the 1st trimester. So best is go and get a doctor prescribed Folic Acid. Some GPs also carry them, so do try and get some prescribed ones.

Yesterday I visited GNC and the staff also told me their Folate is not good enough, compared to the ones Gynaes prescribe. So... mummies who have yet to get their folic acid from doctors, try to do so soon?

I bought some DHA as supplements yesterday too. Heard from a colleague who gave birth recently its good for baby's brain development and for our memory (I had real bad memory during and post pregnancy of my #1.) Not sure if its ok to take these supplements for the 1st trimester but I guess no harm bah...

Blue_Y: My EDD is 28 Jan, 1 day after yours! (^_^)

Mummies, are you guys showing already? For those who are 6-8 weeks into your pregnancy? I think I already am. DH says: "wah, your tummy is growing bigger already hor?" Is this normal? I'm worried that its my fats and not baby that is growing... Coz I cannot put on too much weight and I've been eating quite a number of stuff....

Anyone of you showing le?

Dear Blue_Y and Piggy, thanks for letting me know where to get Yummy Earth! Will try and go find later. (^_^)

X: Thanks for consolidating the list! Great Summary!

Good morning all the lovely mummies it's TGIF yeah !!!

(x) tks for adding me in the list - I think my EDD is 20th Jan - I am w Dr Quek Swee Peng (MtA)

oh gee on the topic of #2
Maddie: i feel a bit like that .. than I will feel gulity , but I often tell my #1 , that he will always be #1 - first born , no one can take take away, not sure he knows or not hee hee

CT: Tks for sharing much to learn about handling #2 and so fore.

piggy B: my boy is the only grandson on my hb side..so the ah gong dote on him...
but for me, i think i just have to keep nagging to him every now and then that he is going to be kor kor soon..so hopefully by EDD, he will be all ready..

May
Me abt 7wks now..stomach abit bigger..but not to the extend that ppl can see dat i am preggy..now i wear my pants..i dun button..

I think the general dosage for folic acid in supplement are 1mg (e.g. Obimin) the one gynae gives are 5mg

May: I think for me it's my lose skin balance from #1 hahaha... it's the booby that need upsize liao , however lose clothes seems more comfy for me now. Due to the MS if tighter clothes make me wanna puke

(X): Thanks for compiling the list! I'm with Dr LC Cheng as well (same as Jowinbaby).

May: I'm now 8 weeks and I have always had a tummy, but it's definitely bigger now. Not sure if it's just gas though!

Blue, i m feeling guilty towards my #1. I cannot carry her now but to sit n hug.
Now she run to daddy to carry already. Whenever, she ask me to read her a story, usually after work, reach home and almost collapse. Cannot really spend alot of time with her. Very guilty.

Not sure if she aware that I am pregnant. Maybe no. But i show her the scan. She did request to see " baby" and "sayang" the pic. On overall, she likes babies but jealous when i carried other people' babies. Haiz

Piggy B - we have the same gynae too! Haha! Hope we wont give birth same time (same date can..:p) cos Eunice will have to rush to do both of us. Hehe

May - i was hoping bb will come out on 28 cos my #1 was born 28 feb...hehe. But i guess usually abt days earlier than edd...

Zhuzhu - wow.. He will have the sweetest surprise of his life cos mommy will b granting him his wish... Aww..

Its reasurring to hear that some of your tummies are getting bigger. Coz I also realised my pants are getting tighther.. =P

Yeah! Finally Friday. Rest day tomorrow. Work again Sunday....

Zhuzhu and MayC: Thanks for the clarifications! Boy seems like they are better pregnancy predictors rather than non-pregnancy indicators right? Looks like 1st trimester is a walk of faith.

Maddie: Really glad that your pregnancy is ok! Let's gambate in the race of our unborn new additions.

About gynae-prescribed quality folic acid, are you all aware that it is available via the pharmacy counter of pharmacies? I'm not sure under what conditions the pharmacists will prescribe though.

Sharing my personal experiences, since my gynae had arranged for me to see him only 5 weeks after my previous appointment, he had given me folic acid enough to last me till then to be taken once a day. For some reason I had mistaken his advice and had taken it twice a day. So earlier this week I had counted the remaining tablets and found I had only enough to last me for another 10 days. What to do? Shall I go all the way back to KKH to get more folic acid? Or pay another gynae's consultation just to get more folic acid?

I decided to try my luck at the pharmacy counter (Guardian for me) near my place. I explained to the pharmacist my predicament and showed her my remaining tablets which also has a sticker with the date of the advice. She dispensed to me enough folic acid to last me till my next gynae appointment. The folic acid she had dispensed is exactly the same as my gynae-prescribed ones.

Folic acid is sold in packs of 10. For 2 packs (20 tablets
total), I had paid a grand total of $1.65.

I'm not sure under what conditions pharmacists will dispense the folic acid tablets, but they are available via the pharmacy counter.

may
thanks for letting me know about the Blackmores Folate. Dunno why my gynae is so relax, just let me buy my own. I will read up on what is the appropriate dosage. If really the dosage is not enough, then I can just take more tablets.

sibling rivalry
maybe i'm a bit hard-hearted but i don't really feel guilty about having a #2. i think it is better for my girl to grow up having a sibling. they will be siblings for life, but the jealousy or guilt is only going to be for a short while. i am an only child and always envied people with siblings, so definitely happy that i can have more than 1 child. but it is important to keep your bond with #1. I always tell my girl, you are my #1 baby! she also sleeps with me at night and I am still nursing her, so I find that the bond is still good.

tummy showing
my pants also getting tight liao. i just keep wearing dresses at work, cos cannot tahan wearing pants. even though i haven't put on any weight, i still feel very uncomfortable wearing pants, think it's because of the bloating.

MsCarpeD: does your Folic Acid looks like little yellow pills and say on the back 5mg/tab Protect from light - Drug house of Australia (Asia) P/L Spore?

If yes, then these can get from the pharmacy w/o prescription. I took these on regular basis cos prep for #2

(X): thanks for adding to e list! My doc is dr C.K. Khoo frm kkh. This is my no. 2 pregnancy.

Blue_y: I feel a little guilty towards my boy coz he's still so young, only 8 months n can't really understand anything. I can't entertain him as much as before coz so tired n with the ms. The only consolation is that he's pampered by grandparents n daddy who cam spend the time with him. Downside is that he is very sticky to my mil and not close to me at all. Gynea says it isnt such a bad thing coz I will b able to concentrate on no 2 in the initial months. I believe as mummies we can divide our love to all our children equally. The spark always comes wen u first set eyes on ur newborn.