(2012/01) Jan 2012

I can hardly stomach food.
I eat certain food I get indigestion = puke.
hungry = puke.
Food I enjoyed smells really bad to me now. I can only stomach chinese steam eggs or chawanmushi.

Maddie, were you referring to current, or a past miscarriage?

bliss_ling - Hugs & sorry to hear the bad news. I guess this one was not meant to be. Have a good rest k!

Its so unnerving hearing so many cases of MC, esp if some can happen without signs (no spotting, no cramps)...argh!!!

adel - you are having colic? Don't only babies have colic & cry incessantly?

gingerleaf - welcome to the forum. While some mommies are leaving, its nice to have new ones popping up as well!

Getting full faster - I read that by week 8, our womb would have doubled in size since pre-pregnancy - so less space for the tummy. I am always hungry all the time, but after a couple of bites, get totally stuffed. Quite irritating cos if I finish a normal sized portion, I feel bloated for the next 2 hours!

A lot of smell and food turn me off... But i counter these with sucking my vit drops which r sourish n it helps.. So i have a big pack these days in my bag for times it feel real bad...hehe..

zhuzhu: my family members are very supportive, when i start to get paranoid & worried. They will assure me which puts be back at ease. I am still quite paranoid coz i eaten a small chuck of brie cheese.

amaesing: heehee...same here. Me cant concentrate well at all. Me feeling nausea doesn't help at all.

MayC: Totally know what you mean. I get hungry super fast & if i dun eat, I will feel like gastric. But if eat too much at a go, will feel bloated and wanna puke.

Anyway I was reading a book last night and it says that there are suggested findings that if we are having a boy, it will increase our metabolism much more thus feeling hungry faster.

A lot of smell and food turn me off... But i counter these with sucking my vit drops which r sourish n it helps.. So i have a big pack these days in my bag for times it feel real bad...hehe..

MayC, nope! Colic happens to adults too. Apparently.. Hahaha! My medication says treatment for colic.

BlueY recommendation please? I'm turned off even by food I craved.! Horrible feeling

gingerleaf: My nausea increased to the point of wanting to puke too when I get hungry too. Ironic isn't it?

I keep a box of wheatables nearby, when I feel hungry I'll bite a few crackers so that I won't get to the point of being hungry to the point of wanting to puke. See if you can take the taste of wheatables? Its smell is ok to me.

adel: For foods you crave that you're turned off by, are you able to get to the point of taking 1 bite of it with your hubby as standby to finish if you can't take it?

I find for me, after I've taken 1 bite, the nice taste actually overcomes the smell that turns me off and mostly I can take the majority of the remainder as well.

I was skimming through a book of nutrition for pregnant women, and it says that generally when we having cravings, those cravings also represent the vitamins and/or minerals our body need at that point. So it may be a signal to eat more of it (unless it's a craving for chalk which some pregnant women have.)

Carpe diem, same as you. My hunger(every2hrs)strikes and if i dun eat i will feel like puking.And the hunger is terrible.
Although this is my third pregnancy, its abit different from my first two.Maybe its still too early to tell.First two pregnancy i was nausea and tired easily during my first 4mths...and i slimed down instead of putting on weight.
This time round i am putting on weight and every2hrs have to eat.dun eat feel like puking or "gastric pain" kind.if eat...oso feel like puking.haiz...dun eat oso wrong eat oso wrong.

First two pregnancy 1st 4 mths is toilet hugging everyday.crazy hor...this pregnancy...same as most of your cant sleep...not tired but just feel uncomfortable...

BTW first is a gal and 2nd is a boy both i also vomit like hell...till abt 4 or 5mths...
Hope this round is different.

Now drinking American ginseng root water....wondering can drink or not...??

piggyB - So looks like we may have boys! Then again, I typically have a fast metabolic rate & need to eat regular meals, so might not be v accurate for my case.

I also read that if the baby's heartbeat is quicker (>140 bpm) then its more likely to be a girl...but I went back to check my old records for #1, & his heartbeat was 150 bpm at the 1st scan. So not always accurate.

mecarpediem - Craving chalk? Yuck. Maybe they need more calcium! I craved Burger King/MacD beef burgers when i was preggers with #1 & I usually don't even fancy beef(which is suppose to be a sign of having a baby boy).

adel - hah, ok. I always thought colic = wind in the stomach for babies.

Adel - i got myself the vit C organic drops from Yummy Earth.. They have it in lollies forn n also drops which i bought.. The taste sourish but since its organic sweets n no preservatives, i think i will feel less guilty in sucking more often.

Think most of us r having hunger pangs... I tried last night drinking warm milo, it helps settle the tummy... Will do it every now n then nightly if i feel real hungry. Wheatables r gd... How about Iko grain biscuits.. Think not bad too.. N wheetbix.... Shld b filling enough yet not so full to the point of puking...
Hope this phase will b over.. Talking abt tht, time flies n we'll b entering 2nd tri soon... Wow...

Btw, do u guys believe in maternal instinct? I think i might know my bb gender liow.. Juz an intuition... For my #1, my intuition n guess was right... Hav yet to tell hubby of my instinct... Hehe

SnowWhite80: Yes, it's the same.
But thank goodness, at least there's a ready remedy, we just have to make sure we're chewing something and not be too hungry. But boy, your first couple of pregnancies, puke until slim down, xing ku ni le.

American ginseng root water, what are you drinking it for? Is it because it helps you relieve some pregnancy symptoms or are you trying to drink it as a tonic for your child? If it's for the former, my gynae didn't warn me against TCM, so I guess it's ok. If it's for the latter, I heard that the nutrients for child physical development will only be absorbed from the 2nd half of 2nd trimester, so it may work less well if drank in the 1st trimester.

MayC: Yah, thank goodness I don't experience craving for that. But it does sound logical that a craving for chalk may indicate calcium deficiencies. Was your #1 a boy?

Blue_Y: I also have a feeling about the gender of the child, I'm not sure though whether it is my wishful thinking or it's really a maternal instinct. I'll wait for confirmation from scan and gynae, heh. But then right, even if it's a wild guess, the chance of getting it right is also 50-50, heh.

Do you have a preference for your child's gender?

Blue Y - so are you hoping for a boy/girl? Or is that a secret? I also have a feeling abt the gender (boy), as I did with #1, and was proven correct

mscarpediem - Yes, #1 was a boy. This time round, I am thinking baby might be a boy again (maybe like you said, its wishful thinking) - but my #1 thinks his younger sibling is a boy too, & #1 has been accurate on his predictions for a number of things
Anyway, lets all see who amongst us got it right in 3 months time!

Blue, no instinct, though i wish for a boy cos my #1 is a gal.

Went for my hormone jab today.. drop 1 kg despite my hunger pang...maybe i puke out too.

Snowwhite, not sure if can drink american ginseng anot. My gynae advise me to take tonic only after 3 months.

Craving:
I have no particular craving but lately found that the food are bland and tend to eat abit more salty.

Hi there MTBs, Congrats
I am just 7wk 6day on Tue , it's my 3p2c (3rd Preg,2nd child) My 1st is a 21month boy. 2nd one dont know why just stop no symptoms too, quite devastating to me.

So now extremely elated with this pregnancy.Praying hard for it to go well. Have been reading all yr posts. very encouraged and thankful for tips as this one is sooo different from my first. I love the Twinings lemon and ginger helps me loads, I lost weight tooo cant eat. and esp cant concentrate at work.

hee hee btw the sex of baby is already determined at conception depends on x or y chromosome of sperm, woman all x , xx - girl , xy - boy

MayC: Wow, your feeling's correct.
I can't wait to know the gender, then we can have fun thinking of names.

Jowinbaby: I hope you will get through this trying phase with your bb growing stronger and to get to 2nd trimester where we will feel happier with our pregnancy.

Me too, I tend to want saltier food also. But recently when I try the bland foods (e.g porridge, soup) which I don't prefer now but which I used to like, I find I still like the taste (although not the smell.)

Afternoon!! Im bck from my 1st gynae check up... Turn out i was wrong abt how far along i was in my pregnancy... My fetus is now measured to be 0.78cm n its in its 6wks6days.. Edd est to be 27 jan 12... All along i felt i was 8 wks... Hehe. Saw n heard the hb... At first coulnt locate waterbag cos she said my tummy full of air...then say can she do v-scan.. I saw the equipment think i wanna faint liow... So i say pls press harder hopefully can b seen... N tadaaa.. Saw the bag n the small heart beating.. Tell myself heng! Hehe..

Abt gender of bb, unlike some of u ladies, i prefer a lil sister for my princess.. Dunno why.. Hubby wants a boy... ... So haiz... Lets juz wait n c...

Mummies, I also had a strong instinct that my #1 is a boy and true enough, he is a boy.

Now I'm hoping #2 is a girl but I have the feeling its a boy again! My DH also disturb me saying this one is definitely a boy... =(

Aiyah, no matter what lah. Most importantly this child will develop to be healthy and born healthy. This is my biggest wish for this child now. (^_^)

Blue_y: May I know where did you get your yummy earth products from? I tried searching on the net but can't seem to locate a local retailer.

Ms Carpe Diem: Yea think he got the flow. lol. he waits for me to try my food first before ordering his! :p

Blue_Y! Thanks!

I just went to see Dr Lawrence Ang again. Told him I feel very nauseous and lethargic. He said "GOOD! Means your pregnancy is getting on well!" He then did a scan. My appt was supposed to be next Fri. He said baby has a strong heartbeat (YAY!!) and 90% healthy. Remaining 10% to be confirmed after a month when I'll take my blood test. EDD 29 Jan.

May: I normally buy yummy earth products from pharmacy. Guardian & Unity both sells.

Me think mite b be boy coz my skin suddenly become very oily. I heard if having boy, skin condition will be quite jialat. So far, my skin ok but it is usually oilier than normal.

Carpe Diem, thanks alot. I hope i can pass thru this phrase too. Waiting for next sat gynae appt. Hope all still alright.
I am glad that i still having MS, meaning baby is still with me, right?

Blue and Adel, congrats.. happy to hear that your babies are healthy and strong

May , agree. Its just a wish for gender. Most impt is healthy n good.

Congrats to mummies who just came back with positive scans! Any scan photos to share?

In a way, those of you who are having MS are 'lucky' - at least you know that baby is doing well. I don't have any symptoms at all (other than being hungry)& its really freaky to hear of mommies having MCs - can't wait for my 1st scan next Sat...and it still feels so far away! Feels like the longest wait ever....

piggyB, really? im having random breakouts. skin used to have breakouts near to menses period..

thanks jowinbaby!

congrats BLue_Y too!

btw, do all of you get folic acid from the gynae? i heard frm the clinic asst that some brands outside not suitable for pregnancy o_O thought of purchasing frm pharmacy before my package starts.

MS gotten so bad till Hb called Gynae office to see if we can get some meds. Dr isnt on duty today but he drop in the office just to check on me. So grateful for that. Was given a jab and some meds and Im feeling sooooooooo great now. No MS feeling AT ALL. Really thankful for the jab.
Did a scan and saw bb's heartbeat. Saw my cyst too, which is almost as big as the water bag. Hopefully it will go away on its own.

adel, you can buy New Obimin from pharmacy. My previous gynae used to prescibe that too.

Re: Skin breakout.
This time my skin got tons of little pimples. Never had them before.

adel
just make sure you get just folic acid, not mixed with others. my gynae said that i could buy my own, so i'm taking blackmore's. Obimin is actually a multivit, which my gynae said should only take in 2nd trim onwards. 1st trim, just take folic acid.

Ya i hope to pass this phrase too! But my next gynae appt is on 2nd July...so still a long wait. Keep telling myself, be positive & eat/rest well for bb.

adel: Good to hear bb is fine!

Blue: Ur bb so guai ar..hear you say that come out to let dr scan..=P

adel - I am taking pre-natal vits from GNC now, which containts sufficient folic acid. For my last pregnancy, my gyne also prescribed Obimin, but since I have yet to get that, am just taking the GNC ones for now.

hq - headaches are one of the possible side effects from pregnancies. My sis had that for both of her pregnancies...had to resort to panadol but of cos best to take in moderation (if at all).

gingerleaf - skin breakouts are supposedly linked to baby girls.

echo,
1st trim cant take obimin? I was given that for my #1. It contains folic acid too.
This time I was abit kiasu, when I tested positive, I went to get a bottle of that immediately. :S

Mayc

If thats the case, I will be very happy to get another bb girl! But my #1 is a girl and I didnt had any breakouts at all. My skin was perfect and I was glowing. So now my symptoms all very different from my #1, so wondering if its gg to be a different gender.

hg: U too! I tot i am the only one. Get headache on & off too..that's y finding it hard to concentrate & work.

Echo: My gynae gave me New obimin & folic acid to take liao. Anyway my mum says Obimim very heaty, ask me to take a bit of orange juice everyday so will not get too heaty.

ohh thanks all. :D okay think i'll stick to folic acid given by my gynae. Dr Ang actually said I shld take sweet drinks and food when I feel tired. hahaaha he's really unconventional! said cold drinks, pineapple, watermelon and what-nots are fine too.

gingerleaf: my girl friend went to a gp to get medicine to relief nausea. apparently safe for pregnancy. maybe go to a gp next time? can save some $$

gingerleaf
my gynae said that the folic acid in obimin is not enough, so better to just take obimin on its own. he also advised that these multivits are more suited to be taken in 2nd trim onwards, but he didn't say why.

skin breakouts
i heard that oily skin means it's a boy and good skin means it's a girl. my #1 was a girl and i had great skin. with this #2 preg, i keep getting pimples. hope it means i'm having a boy!

tks MayC , maybe will check with my my gynae in next 2 weeks visit to scan - very excited. If cant tahan then call him if can take panadol.

gingerleaf - I had bad breakout during my#1 during 1st trimester by 2nd was ok and was told mummy ugly baby will nice nice :p , ok I can deal w that , oh my #1 boy

adel,

thanks for the advice on gp. Shall do that next time! =)

Are pineapples safe to consume? Frd's frd ate 10 pineapple tarts during CNY and had spotting. Had to get a jab to stablise her pregnancy at 4 mths. Dunno if its related.

yeah piggyB, I tot it's something else so I read a bit but i think if I can share w real life pp make more sense ... so ok I normal hee hee , beside the MS then still have the headache sometimes a bit hard to bear lor

I think pineapple is very liang. SO i m not allowed to take pineapple, cold drinks, watermelon etc too.

Obimin and folic, i was subscribe by my gynae during 1st pregnancy. N there is 1 more, fish oil. Can't remember the brand though.

I have pimples popping out too. Not sure is it due to the hormones jab i took weekly.

I know from my first pregy was the hormones change/increase so face become oily then pimples come out.

my gynae very cute he gurantee that it will go away. So mummies dont worry it will, just dont press press them or will leave marks

hq
panadol is definitely safe to take during pregnancy but of course if you can, try not to take so much. i was prescribed panadol during my first preg when i had flu.

btw, ask you mummies, do you find that you are more heaty nowadays? i thought 1st supposed to avoid cooling foods, but i find that i have ulcer and constipation (which is signs of heatiness for me). is the vits that are making me heaty?

on the safe side, best not to take the liang food.
i stopped most of my supplements 'cos i'm not sure if they are safe.. will stick to only hormone and folic pills.

@gingerleaf i'm sure u can sell them online, or even to any of us here.

MayC - like Echo, with my #1 which is a girl, i got super gd skin... Like as though go facial... N my hair NvR drop at all... So happy then.. Was hoping conditin stay but after give birth bck to normal liow.. Now #2, i got breakouts once in awhile.. Oh no? Its a boy? But watever it is, i just hope its born healthy.....thts all...;)

Im now looking n holding my scan print out... Cute.. Like egg yolk.. Hehe

Gingerleaf - i was given obimin too. I bought folic acid at guardian pharmacy the moment i realise i was positive...

PiggyB - lucky bb listen... I cant imagine that long thing in me... Im quite afraid of those things.... Doc laugh n say 'then i guess uve nvr gone for papsmear?' haha.. Of course not... Dun ask me how i got pregnant..haha.. Twice! *faint*

skin breakouts - ok, so seems like there is no linkage, since different mommies had great/bad skin for boys/girls for #1 & vice versa! I guess we will all just have to wait patiently for the 5th month scan to find out

gingerleaf - i just had pineapple juice during lunch! Doubt the spotting & pineapple tarts are related (hope not).

Folic acid - I started on folic acid about 3 months before we got preggers when we started planning for this baby. For #1, I also took pure fish oil from about 2nd trimester & continued until I stopped BFing.

Tks echo - , Oh yes I have constipation this pregy so different. gynae say cannot eat grapes and chocolate - lucky no craving - if not bigger headache

Blue_Y , you reminded me , yes the hair was really beautiful very full and nice never bad hair day one hee hee looking forward to that phase

btw was someone asking abt Utrogestan in earlier post, I am taking them cos I am 高龄, it made me sooo drowsy + the ms and tired, I found out that if taken on empty stomach and just before sleep less of the side effect