(2012/01) Jan 2012

Coyote: Jia you and rest well!! **HUGS**

BLue_Y : u r not alone.. these few days,my hungry strike almost every 2 hr in the day..No better at night, I tried to make milo or cereal (easier cos add hot water), end up hv to go toilet more freq
cant sleep properly nowadays....
I ever tried to ignore when hungry strike, end up gastric pain. Gynea said can take antacid (veregel)... I hestiate and endure the pain cos I wasn't sure of side effects...
Bottom line: Eat when hungry and forget the weight gain :p

BlueY & amaesing: For 1st my pregnancy, my sense of smell became more sensitive. For #1, it was quite bad that i have to tell hubby to remove our car airfreshner. I also cannot wear perfume. For #2, it is ok, I still can tahan the air freshner in my car & wear my perfume.

Maddie: Cannot take orange ar? I think the key is take in moderation bah. But even since preg, I crave for vegs & fruits alot. Me take abt 2-3 apples a day. Sometimes mite eat cherry tomatoes.

Blue, ya, u are not alone. My hunger strike depends. If my lunch is satisfying, i can last for 4 hrs. and start to feel hungry. If no, i can be hungry in another 2 hours time. Its very irritating as i do not know what i want to eat. I cannot take chocolate , milo or anything that contain cocoa. I just puke.

Very sensitive to smell too. Foodcourt turn very smelly, market selling fish smells , perfume no etc. I need fresh air.

Maddie, ppl say take oranges , next time the child has lots of phelgms. but i think in moderate ba. I suddenly love oranges and asked my HB to buy me a huge bottle of sunkist orange juice. Surprisely, even a sip of the orange juice, it can "cure" my nauseas for that while.. So i dun care already, on n off drink abit.

MayC,
Week 12, fingernails start developing...
Reminded me of Juno! I loved that movie. Haha... Watched it while i was preggy with #1.

Wa! This thread is moving very fast. Must come in regularly or will have lots to catch up.

BlueY/amaesing: I am super sensitive to smell too. I was on course yesterday and for breakfast it was chwee kuey for everyone. I couldn't take it. The whole room smelt so "oily". I had to come out to take regular breaks. I "banned" cooking at home. Only allow cooking for my # 1.

jowin/blue_y: I also have hunger strikes at night. There's one night.. I made my hubby go and buy taiwanese porridge.. then when he came back after 45 minutes, I took 4 mouthfuls and threw up. Felt so guilty. Since then, I will take biscuits or drink milo.

Maddie: I like oranges too. I have been having an orange a day. But i am those types that don't really "stop" myself from eating. I still drink coke and milo..

coyote: rest well! Stay positive. Hope to hear good news from you.

X: I like juno too. I think she's very cool. hee!

Amaesing: Wa! my BB seems small as compared to yours. She's only 7mm @ 6w5d..

Haha! Agree, (X)! I think it's not very accurate also because it's so small to measure! My friend told me mine is small because his son was already 20+mm at 8 weeks.

I think they grow a lot in terms of mm on a daily basis and every mm difference sounds a lot at this stage when they are so small. Found this chart which gives a rough guideline, but please take it with a huge pinch of salt because I don't think it takes into account growth spurts. I measured 2.1mm at 5 weeks 6 days (table says 4mm) and today at 7 weeks 6 days, the bean is already 15.6mm (table says 14mm). Still, I am told mine is small. But whatever! Adults also got big and small

http://www.baby2see.com/medical/charts.html#CRL

i'm feeling a bit crampy today. uterus feels tight and have the 'pang sai' feeling. hope it doesn't mean anything...

Dear Mummies to be,

I have a new tin of Friso Mum gold (Ex:31/5/12)for sales, 1 dumex Mamil Gold Mama sample pack (Ex:11/12/11), 2 Anmum Materna sample packs (Ex:2/6/12) and 2 Anmum Lacta sample packs (Ex:25/11/11)for free . PM me or email me at [email protected] for price or other details. Thanks.

(X)
I just checked and no spotting. i have been experiencing cramps on and off in the last couple of weeks, just that it is worse today than previously. but it is probably nothing. maybe my uterus is just expanding more today than other days.

I am new to this thread. Just tested positive on last thursday after missing my menses for 1 week plus. This is an unexpected pregnancy as me and my husband had given up hope after trying for about 3 years after my no 1 is born.

Will be seeing gynae next wednesday to confirm. If confirm, my EDD will be around 30 Jan 2012. Meanwhile, this will be my no 2. My no 1 is 6 yrs old this year.

Echo,
Generally, no spotting means good news. If really uncomfortable, then give ur gynae a visit for peace of mind.

Apple,
Welcome! Wah ur #1 already 6yo. P1 registration this year. Are u in panic mode?

piggyB: i dunno about the oranges. i still eat.

Apple: congrats! this thread got quite a few 'surprise' baby hor.

echo: think uterus and ligaments expanding will feel cramps. but ya, if got spotting better go check.

hi ttcx,

yap, P1 registration coming. Quite panicky initially but more calm now cos already more or less decide on the school liao. Will enrol her to the school opposite our house. Dun want to stress her... Let her study at her own pace

apple - welcome & congrats!
Its good that your firstborn is abit older, then at least there won't be issues like jealousy & she can help take care of the little one. My sis's #1 is also entering P1 next year, & she is due to deliver #2 in a couple of months time, same age gap as yours.

Meanwhile, time is crawling today - am so bored at work...argh...bored & hungry, but trying not to snack too much cos I am going for yummy dim sum dinner later!

Oranges - didn't know it is a no-no, first time I am hearing this. Again, everything in moderation should be fine.

Announcing your pregnancies - have you gals done this already? I have yet to even tell my parents! Would most prob tell them after my 1st gyne appnt next Sat to confirm that everything is fine (quite discouraging hearing so many cases of MCs in this thread) & upload scan photos on Facebook to make it official.

I am pretty paranoid about this pregnancy coz I migrated from the IVF thread and I've read lots about foetuses suddenly found without a heartbeat in the early stages of pregnancy.

Would like to ask, if there is no spotting, is it guaranteed that the foetus is fine? Would the foetus heart suddenly stop beating without mummies knowing? I'm so paranoid tt I would want to go to different gynaes each week for a scan just to make sure everything's fine...Hehehehe...A bit too paranoid hor? But this is a very precious pregnancy so am a bit gun cheong. Somemore the big mouth me never bother to pantang and announce to the world tt I am preggie liaos... My mum told me not to announce before 12 weeks, so now a bit panic mode liaos... =P

Hi May,

What you can do is to get a Fetal Doppler. It allows you to listen to bb's heartbeat.Spend $ on a good one rather than going to the gynae for the scan.
hope it helps.

Anyone encounter the same as me? Has been running to the toilet many times just to pass urine....Bladder very tight but when urine, not a lot come out..Fainz...

Anyone having same problem as me??

Been running to the toilet many times to urine..almost 10 mins once..Bladder very tight but each time only a bit of urine come out. Fainz..

May,
Not that i want to scare u. But it can happen even w/o spotting. Just that spotting is the more obvious signs.

Every baby is precious. And if can, we wish we can scan/see/hear/feel that it's growing well within us. We just have to believe. Pray for the best... but... be prepared too. (touchwood)

May,

I got it from my friend whom she bought it at Mustafa that cost $39 which I find it pretty good enough to listen to the heartbeat. You might read up on it first before deciding whether to buy.

http://www.babycenter.com.sg/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/testsandcare/dopplersafeexpert/

You can also check with your gynae where can u get the doppler. Some even have monitor to look at the scan. but will be costly i guess. Hope it helps. Take care and dont think too much.

oh, counting down to go back home. Another 30 mins...Hurray.

I will be on leave tomorrow to take my gal for a dental checkup..Talk to you gals on Friday again if I have the time, see you.

nap 30mins, suddenly eyes open.. stomach start growling terribly.. aiyo... here i m sitting now,eating 2 small potatoes again... feeling like a pig

coyote: jia you jia you jia you...

May C: for me i decide to announce offically after my 2nd gynae check up..which by then should be around 10weeks..this pregancy abit different from my #1..my MS not dat bad..then sometimes like no symptons like dat..so I rather wait till next scan, when everything is more stable then announce..

dear all, it been awhile since I logged in.. Have been going to see gynae on weekly basics..

Went to see gynae and was informed that baby not growing & can't detect heart beat thou last week it got faint heart beat.

Going to take out this Friday cos with detailed scan at tmc this morning. Cmf no heart beat liao ..

Take good care ladies... Shall join the thread soon

Hi bliss_ling, oh dear...im sorry to hear of the sad news.....stay strong and take care of yourself..hope to hear from u again soon aite...

May - I understand your concerns very well..but as a mtb with a lil one growing in us, we have the inbuilt instinct whether our lil one is alright or not...On fetal doppler, it can work both ways...one, it is very exciting for mtbs and close family to hear the sounds of the lil one's movement inside us...Secondly, it can be very distressing if we are not able to hear the sounds we want to hear..perhaps heartbeat sound? even though we try everywhere..cos baby do turn somersault in tummy....if that happens when u cant hear anything, ul panic and send rushing to hospital but eventually the doc with experience will be able to locate better than us... I know, cos for my #1, i used a heartbeat detector(a simple off the shelf one)...try all my might, i cant get any heartbeat at all....for the whole 9mths...i hear sloshing sounds...perhaps baby perhaps tummy...?
it was frustrating and scary cos i kept saying how come no heartbeat..no movement...but it turn out baby's sleeping quietly...When i asked gynae how come i didnt get to hear the heartbeat, she said hospital's doppler is sensitive enough to capture everything..and advise me against getting a real doppler for myself cos the excess exposure to the frequencies can sometimes affect the babies...That is why if there is nothing wrong, she'll only do scan once monthly and not more...

But not refraining you from buying...but im just saying that sometimes it can be a disappointment like me..hehe

Bluey I went harboirfront mothercare to look for Doppler and found 1 cost about 120 sing dollars. Then it say 100% detection at 20 weeks. Hiaz, actually we wanted one that can detect earlier , so din buy. Scared if cannot find then how???...Both hubby and me very gian to buy because of previous missed miscarriage- no spotting no cramps... We got to find out in a scan.

My miscarriage also happened without any sign. Found out at dr visit when scan no hb. Was worried already cos baby didn't grow last visit. Also preg symptoms disappeared. No longer tired, nauseous. To me no point getting Doppler. If we cannot find the hb doesn't mean it's not there. Know no hb also what can we do. No more hb already. Just do out best to keep ourselves and diet safe for bb. The rest is up to bb, and god, if you believe.

JTML, Maddie : understand what u mean... Me as tht time 1st time mother also eager, what more with u guys who suffered b4... But maybe i do not know where to locate, thts why i cant hear.. Who knoes u guys got betta luck? No worries, diff pple, pregnancy diff experience... But one advice still prevails, tht is dont do it too often... We do not know what tiniest harm it can do to our fetus if done excessively..

Had constipation for the last few days. But diarrhoea and colic today. >_< struggling to get to work now cos I've alr taken 2 days mc last week.

bliss_ling &amp; Maddie: Sorry to hear about it. Stay strong &amp; positive. Take care ok!

Zhuzhu: me oso same as you. After my second visit to my gynae on 2 Jul, everything ok I will tell my colleagues. So far I only told my immediate fanily members.

Im new to this thread n my edd is around 30 Jan.

How do you girls cope with MS? All the remedies that worked for me for my #1 is not working for me now. Nothing is working &amp; Im going crazy from all the vomiting.

maddie &amp; blissling: take care and rest well.

JTML: reading up on the doppler, I am also very gian to get one..but then think think no point lar..just guai guai wait for the next scan lor..at least during the scan, can see the bb..

even though being a 2nd time mother, seeing a few cases of miscarriage, i oso start to worry..but i just tell myself..if its mine..its mine...

Maddie - didnt realise u were talking abt current one. So sorry to hear that... Hope u stay strong k... Get better and nvr give up...*hugz*

Anybody have this sensitive smell?even i find myself have a smell...haiz..
My appointment with gynae is next friday...such a long wait.

Snowhite80,
Im highly sensitive to smell too. Strong scent makes me puke. Just 2 days ago hb had to change the bedsheet 3 times coz it smells strongly of softener to me. I can even smell freshly brew coffee from my neighbour's, which is a big turn off.

Maddie: Sorry to hear that.

Snowwhite80 and gingerleaf: Me too. I bought curry puffs (1 for me, 1 for my hubby) after dinner yesterday coz i was thinking of enjoying it. In the car, the smell nauseated me and i was turned off. However when I asked my hubby what his response to the smell is, he says it's making his mouth waters!

Anyway, since I become hungry 30min later, I disregarded the smell and bit into it, and it tastes really nice! I even asked by hubby to give me his curry puff jokingly.

These few days I had counter-intuitively ordered and eaten stuff that I had used to enjoy before pregnancy but which does not smell good to me now... Porridge, soup, curry-puff... Surprisingly I'm at least ok with the taste although mostly I had the same enjoyment as I had before.

Not sure if you will have similar experiences as I had if you go back to eating food that now turns you off with the smell. Suggestion is to try it with your hubby on standby, prepping him to finish your stuff if you can't eat it.